17 Jul 2007, 18:46
Cocky

KING-JAMES
17 Jul 2007, 18:47
Cocky

So is Aker :cool:

hulld
17 Jul 2007, 18:48
star potential. that doesn't grow on trees.

windyhill
17 Jul 2007, 18:49
So is Aker :cool:

Aker can afford to be, he has the score on the board.

KING-JAMES
17 Jul 2007, 19:24
Aker can afford to be, he has the score on the board.

Thats true but some players play well off there confidence, for example Lance Franklin. As long as he isnt overly cocky it shouldnt be a problem. Would like him to train as hard as Bachar Houli though. Allen Iverson in the NBA has been critisised for his training despite playing well, people still think he could have been a much much better player if he applied himself like Michael Jordan. I dont want to look over Leroys career and see the same thing. Although i would like a player of Iversons ability in a football sense :p

Pawtucket Patriot
17 Jul 2007, 20:20
If he plays this week he really needs to take the opportunity with both hands. Definitely has the potential, but his attitude is questionable.

hulld
17 Jul 2007, 21:55
as long as he wants to play for the efc i reckon he'll be fine. as none of really know that answer i'm not sure if we can comment on his so called attitude problems

Darealrath
17 Jul 2007, 22:11
Best name in the AFL.

Really hoping he makes it as a gun midfielder like a Burgoyne rather than just a flashy forward.

ant555
18 Jul 2007, 09:55
Their are a few questioning his attitude but i think he will be ok. I know that i reported his body language didnt look that good in one of his Bendigo seconds games and there where some questions on his work ethic before the draft but these are problems that will be over come. He is a big stage player and he is cocky but that is what will make him better than the average player. Buddy Franklin had the same question marks on him before the draft and in his first two years. For a young kid Jetta did do the team things well when he was in the seniors.
He has been troubled by a persistant groin problem for a while now which has slowed his progress but in the future with him and Davey scouting around our forward line you will some freakish and exciting things.

hulld
23 Jul 2007, 23:50
i saw him with some of our other youngsters before the game on saturday. he was laughing and seemed to get on with the boys really well.

i know it is just a small thing but it can't be bad sign

Sam the RAMA fan
1 Oct 2007, 22:45
:thumbsu: Cant wait to see him back out there 08.
Love his speed and skills. Would be great to see both him and Davey running down the field. :thumbsu:

hulld
1 Oct 2007, 23:29
i repeat what i said in the davey thread.

this kid just has so much natural ability.

smcateer
3 Oct 2007, 12:49
I hope Knighter can get the most out of him.

I miss him so. Can't wait for '08.

DaSawx
4 Oct 2007, 12:28
Is it true he's pumped for a big pre-season?

Nibble
4 Oct 2007, 14:57
Raw talent. if that talent is exposed will become on of the most exciting and better players in the competition. same as Davey

Ryder Is God
4 Oct 2007, 14:57
Is it true he's pumped for a big pre-season?

Yes. He's been in the gym working hard, and wants to make an impact in the midfield.

DaSawx
4 Oct 2007, 16:00
Yes. He's been in the gym working hard, and wants to make an impact in the midfield.

SWEET!!

made from beer
27 Oct 2007, 12:36
even the euro car makers are excited about this kid!

http://www.volkswagen.com.au/jetta/default.asp

is a sponsorship deal on the cards? :p

Darealrath
27 Oct 2007, 12:53
even the euro car makers are excited about this kid!

http://www.volkswagen.com.au/jetta/default.asp

is a sponsorship deal on the cards? :p

:thumbsu:

I'd say they've got it spot on:

"Sporty elegance (yep). Deceptively inexpensive (slipped in the draft). Volkswagen's Jetta embodies an unrivalled synthesis of style (yep, he's damn good to watch), substance and innovation (yep, he's creative), with incomparable value for money (damn straight)."

made from beer
27 Oct 2007, 13:31
looks very promising! and i do seriously believe hes got the cred to burn it up very very soon. . .

ant555
7 Nov 2007, 13:50

He may want to make an impact in the midfield but reality is going to say he will have to make do with being a small forward for a while yet.

The Donners
7 Nov 2007, 14:47
He may want to make an impact in the midfield but reality is going to say he will have to make do with being a small forward for a while yet.

Not that it has a great deal with his motor, John Quinn says that you couldn't recognise his body at pre-season training from the body that come to the club last season... he's worked extremely hard in the gym!

ant555
7 Nov 2007, 15:58
Not that it has a great deal with his motor, John Quinn says that you couldn't recognise his body at pre-season training from the body that come to the club last season... he's worked extremely hard in the gym!

That part i already knew, had seen him at the club just about evertime i have been there to have lunch. Nothing wrong with his attitude or aplication.

hulld
7 Nov 2007, 18:11
today on bombertv was the first time i have heard leroy speak. now after hearing all the crap about his so called "attitude problem", i was expecting him to you know......without being racist, have the classic aboriginal accent.

but he spoke so well and it seems as if he is really down to earth. even when he was asked if he wanted to play more senior games next year he just replied that his main goal was to get himself fit.

to add to that he looks great and i'm expecting a good year out of him in the forward pocket

Lance Uppercut
8 Nov 2007, 15:54
Best. Name. Ever.

Ryder Is God
8 Nov 2007, 16:28
Best. Name. Ever.

What about Steele Sidebottom? ;)

The Dustbin
13 Dec 2007, 21:11
I can't wait to see Leroy in action next year. Hopefully he continues his hard work and gets rewarded with games.

I reckon he is ready to explode!! :D

gossy
14 Dec 2007, 13:07
It'll be great to see him running around in the preseason games. Will certainly be one to look out for at the intra matches. Can't see him starting in the midfield unless his fitness levels have changed incredibly. But I think he could rotate through there and have a short sharp gamebreaker effect. If he can turns the glimpses we saw last year into a consistent game he will be a very handy player.

Windas_Magic
21 Dec 2007, 13:54
Jetta and Davey i think will be a big part of our forward line with their harassing, tackling and pressure.

DaSawx
21 Dec 2007, 14:02
Jetta and Davey i think will be a big part of our forward line with their harassing, tackling and pressure.

More than big, would probably not have beaten Adelaide or Freo early last year without those two

iluvessendon
22 Dec 2007, 07:44
Jetta and Davey - good combination. Lloydy must love having those two around.

smcateer
13 Feb 2008, 16:38
Are Leroy's shorts on backwards? Not a good look!
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/08/samsungShorts3.jpg

Schmick
13 Feb 2008, 17:56
Wearing your shorts backwards is "in" ATM, don't tell me you still wear your shorts like Alwyn here does.

Pawtucket Patriot
13 Feb 2008, 18:07
Wearing your shorts backwards is "in" ATM, don't tell me you still wear your shorts like Alwyn here does.

Wearing your shorts backwards is the coolest.

smcateer
13 Feb 2008, 22:43

What? You don't think I don't know that? You think you're soooo cool! Mum reckons I'm hansome with my shotrs on front-ways.

*sob*

Bombers1234
13 Feb 2008, 22:45
woah his tatts on his forearms look cool

smcateer
13 Feb 2008, 22:56

Left: "MUM"
Right: "DAD"

He's a good boy! Except for his deviant short-wearing life-style choice.

beastie
14 Feb 2008, 10:44
Its essendon's version of Kriss Kross.

Pawtucket Patriot
14 Feb 2008, 11:11
Its essendon's version of Kriss Kross.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qbe63MtOv5o

Longy413
14 Feb 2008, 12:32
Are Leroy's shorts on backwards? Not a good look!

It was a Samsung promotion, wouldn't have seen the Samsung logo otherwise.

The Dustbin
14 Feb 2008, 12:46

Mum & Dad

GoDons
15 Feb 2008, 12:41
Leroy's quite the model these days:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SJF3eLwhG9c

jetta2davey
15 Feb 2008, 18:30
good on him, wonder why he chose to do it?

smg1602
17 Feb 2008, 17:30
I wish leroy all the best in 2008, Hope he has an injury free season. With the tatts on his arms he is a family man. I play football with his dad, and i see how leory got his talent his a gun. All the best leory

Jonesy1987
22 Feb 2008, 20:32
Very impressive tonight 16 touches and 8 tackles, has class and composure looking forward to a big 08

GoDons
22 Feb 2008, 21:27
Showed exactly why he should be in the side tonight.

Every time he has the ball we're better off, and every time he's near the ball carrier we're dangerous.

Bombers42
22 Feb 2008, 21:30
yer Knights said once he can play more consistently he will be a gun

kelvin_sheedy
22 Feb 2008, 21:39
Just knows what to do when he has the ball in his hands.

Makes the right decisions and his skills do the rest.

Still not ready for a full season of AFL though.

GoDons
22 Feb 2008, 21:45
Still not ready for a full season of AFL though.

This is probably true.

I think it was Longy that brought this up a while ago, it was in regard to Geelong's management of Joel Selwood last season. Instead of sending him back to the VFL, they completely rested him a few times. I think Collingwood did that with Martin Clarke as well.

I think it's an extremely good move for Essendon if guys like Jetta, Houli and Myers start playing regular senior footy.

It refreshes them, takes the load off their body and allows us to trial further young players.

Slattery_20
23 Feb 2008, 08:24
Agree completely
Teaches these young blokes that it's better to throw the body in & come out sore than to play at half-intensity in the magoos

hulld
23 Feb 2008, 10:23
i was watching him before the game, and his foot skills are so good. he was hitting targets at will and he makes it look so easy

Slattery_20
24 Feb 2008, 10:33
He's silky isn't he?

hulld
24 Feb 2008, 13:35
sure is

FandangoDingo
28 Feb 2008, 14:37
Lovin' Leroy! :thumbsu:

bloods01
28 Feb 2008, 14:42
I love the way he tackles. As you said he had 8 the other night. Will he be in the side come Round 1? Or will he be more likely to be a fringe player?

loopy_cam
28 Feb 2008, 15:07
I'd say in the side.

hulld
28 Feb 2008, 16:08
in the side

Slatteryexpress
23 Mar 2008, 18:39
I don't think he should be in tomorrows side. Everyone seems to expect miracles from him at the moment, should be at QEO oval for the first few rounds to show he can really dominate.

DaSawx
23 Mar 2008, 18:50
Already has a Volkswagon series named after him :thumbsu:

Andre 2000
23 Mar 2008, 21:19
Has done enough for me. His defensive pressure has improved out of sight. A good pre-season has been the catalyst. Davey will need help with opposition players looking to block him at every opportunity.

Has the pace, skills and genuine confidence to have an impact on the scoreboard.

TheDon35
24 Mar 2008, 08:56
I don't think he should be in tomorrows side. Everyone seems to expect miracles from him at the moment, should be at QEO oval for the first few rounds to show he can really dominate.

Was one of our better players over the pre-season and has shown considerable improvement from a flashy bit player last year.

Definately in our best side. No point in wasting time with him at Bendigo.

Tonche
24 Mar 2008, 17:32
Showed his stuff today.

Him and Davey rotating off the bench is going to be big problems for opposition!

Slattery_20
24 Mar 2008, 20:59
Was one of our better players over the pre-season and has shown considerable improvement from a flashy bit player last year.

Definately in our best side. No point in wasting time with him at Bendigo.
Agree after today

GoDons
24 Mar 2008, 21:15
He's brilliant when he's got the ball, and just as good when he doesn't.

Definately makes us a better side.

David_Hilley#19
24 Mar 2008, 23:03
He should get more of a run in the midfield. Has very good awareness and his handball-ing skills are immaculate. Hope he has a big year!

Lance Uppercut
27 Mar 2008, 11:31
out and out class

TheDon35
18 May 2008, 18:13
Need more from the little guy.

HighettBomber
18 May 2008, 20:49
Needs to get more of the ball, 5 touches is not good enough for someone with his ability.

Schmick
18 May 2008, 21:02
Needs to get more of the ball, 5 touches is not good enough for someone with his ability.
Doesn't help when he's playing in the pocket the whole game, shove him in the middle, then we'll see what he's really made of.

Santoz
19 May 2008, 09:48
He's obviously playing sore. His running was very restricted yesterday.

HighettBomber
19 May 2008, 13:55
Doesn't help when he's playing in the pocket the whole game

If Jake King can get plenty of the ball playing out of a back pocket, Leroy should be able to also. I hope he was restricted by injury as that would be a good excuse for his lack of performance, but he shouldn't be playing if this was the case?

Barts
19 May 2008, 14:46
If Jake King can get plenty of the ball playing out of a back pocket, Leroy should be able to also. I hope he was restricted by injury as that would be a good excuse for his lack of performance, but he shouldn't be playing if this was the case?

Mate, its a bit of the difference when Jake King has the ball coming down 10 times a qtr to him. Leroy has about 3 or 4 chances a qtr at most.

lemon chicken
19 May 2008, 17:29
Still getting to the right spots just lacking some cleaness. No need to be too concerned. A push in the back paid in the goal square early in a game can do wonders for a young players confidence. ;)

hulld
20 May 2008, 12:27
i thought he was pretty stiff on sunday. he laid a few really good tackles that weren't rewarded and then he was penalised a few times for holding the ball where he hardly had a chance to think. plus the ball was continously kicked to his feet all day. he chased hard and remained positive throughout i reckon

HighettBomber
21 May 2008, 10:33
I'm glad there are reasons. I'm not knocking him, I really like him actually, just been a bit concerned with his low possession tallies, he's one bloke we need to get the ball to because his disposal is very good.

bomberstomake8
21 May 2008, 10:41
I'm glad there are reasons. I'm not knocking him, I really like him actually, just been a bit concerned with his low possession tallies, he's one block we need to get the ball to because his disposal is very good.

its jetta's work off the ball which is so valuable, before he did his hammy he had almost twice as many tackles then any other player on our list.. he also lays shepheards, does all the 1%ers... already a very important part of our side i reckon... he still plays mainly in the forward pocket where the ball very rarely enters due to our poor midfeild... he will slowly be turned into a midfeilder and one that it think will be bordering on elite when he gets up and going, just my opinion though

HighettBomber
21 May 2008, 13:27
1%ers are great, but iIn the words of the great Ron Barassi "Possessions, I want Possesions!"

Agreed, it is difficult playing in a forward pocket, he needs to be played up the field, probably on a wing where he can use his pace to greatest affect.

HULK HOGAN
25 May 2008, 15:02
1%ers are great, but iIn the words of the great Ron Barassi "Possessions, I want Possesions!"

Agreed, it is difficult playing in a forward pocket, he needs to be played up the field, probably on a wing where he can use his pace to greatest affect.
Must be traded asap no room for him when Alwyn comes back anyway.
Not up to it bad draft pick!

TheDon35
25 May 2008, 17:39
Hard watching him struggling like this and seeing Rioli doing what he's doing.

Leroy's going to be a good player in a good team but looks like he'l struggle in a poor team. Still young and I have high hopes for him.

Needs a week at Bendigo to get going then hopefully he'll have a good second half of year.

Smyth94
25 May 2008, 19:35
Hard watching him struggling like this and seeing Rioli doing what he's doing.

Leroy's going to be a good player in a good team but looks like he'l struggle in a poor team. Still young and I have high hopes for him.

Needs a week at Bendigo to get going then hopefully he'll have a good second half of year.

Especially when that poor team struggles to get it inside 50 with any fluency.

Definitely needs a week or two at Bendigo, play him through the middle and let him get as many touches as possible.

He has all the weapons to become a very good player, just needs more confidence.

bomber69
26 May 2008, 20:48
Your an idiot

daffo
27 May 2008, 08:33
Jetta had a game where he got 20+ possessions pre-season, so he can do it. He is still very young and is coming back from injury. We won't trade him unless we get someone along the lines of a kerr who is out of contract. He will stay a bomber for at least two more years even if he doesn't play another game. Talk about him getting traded is plain stupid.

bipolarbeaR
28 May 2008, 11:54
Jetta, Neagle, Gumbleton, Davey, Myers and Ryder are all guys I hope we don't trade off. Jetta will be a star he is a little clone of Neon Leon Davis when it comes to crumbing and angled goal kicking. He has that X-factor that will be able to switch momentum to us in games.
Davey needs to be Mid-Field and Jetta is in the perfect position for his skill. His chase down ability and tackles will cause goals off the Full-back kick out.

HULK HOGAN
29 May 2008, 17:22
Your an idiot
Lets just say I have an eye for these things sweetheart.
How many other sides would he get a game in love and where would he play?

Lance Uppercut
29 May 2008, 17:30
Lets just say I have an eye for these things sweetheart.
How many other sides would he get a game in love and where would he play?

no you are an idiot, or a troll, unsure which.

There are about 15 other teams that would love Leroy on their list, simply because he's going to develop into a sublime player.

I have no respect for your "eye for these things" :rolleyes: What sort of knob writes off one of the most talented junior players on the list after less than 2 seasons?

An idiot or a troll.

HULK HOGAN
29 May 2008, 17:41
no you are an idiot, or a troll, unsure which.

There are about 15 other teams that would love Leroy on their list, simply because he's going to develop into a sublime player.

I have no respect for your "eye for these things" :rolleyes: What sort of knob writes off one of the most talented junior players on the list after less than 2 seasons?

An idiot or a troll.
I have no respect for you either goose.
He's more value traded now he's never gonna be a midfielder and he's far to layed back for his own good, look at the differance between him Davey and Rioli.
There is no room for him and Alwyn in the forwardline Ok lets leave him there for the next 10 yrs cause he gets 3 tackles a game.
TAKE OFF THOOSE ROSE COLOURED GLASSES !!!!!!!

Smyth94
29 May 2008, 17:58
I have no respect for you either goose.
He's more value traded now he's never gonna be a midfielder and he's far to layed back for his own good, look at the differance between him Davey and Rioli.
There is no room for him and Alwyn in the forwardline Ok lets leave him there for the next 10 yrs cause he gets 3 tackles a game.

You clearly have no idea what you're talking about given that you're willing to strike a cross through Jetta's name whilst he has played just over 10 games.

I'll give you a tip - outside Essendon he is very highly rated and a club such as the Eagles would pounce on a deal to secure Jetta.

He has been made to look worse than he is because of our woeful lack of entries to the forward line - watch our game against North and you will see what he is capable of.

"Eye for these things" pfft...

Jonesy1987
29 May 2008, 18:34
:rolleyes:I have no respect for you either goose.

No room for 2 small crumbing forwards? Haven't taken a look at many lists these days?
Geelong: Steve Johnson, Matthew Stokes, Paul Chapman.
Collingwood: Paul Medhurst, Leon Davis, Alan Didak.
Hawthorn: Cyril Rioli, Mark Williams, and the tallest pocket player in the game Lance Franklin ;)

But we dont have room in our forward line for Jetta and Davey... Good thing davey is out for the rest of the year otherwise Jetta would never get a game:rolleyes:

HULK HOGAN
29 May 2008, 18:36
You clearly have no idea what you're talking about given that you're willing to strike a cross through Jetta's name whilst he has played just over 10 games.

I'll give you a tip - outside Essendon he is very highly rated and a club such as the Eagles would pounce on a deal to secure Jetta.

He has been made to look worse than he is because of our woeful lack of entries to the forward line - watch our game against North and you will see what he is capable of.

"Eye for these things" pfft...
OK we shall see sorry is he going to be a marking forward or a crumbing forward? saw Jake king run straight past him the other night, it didnt look good obviously you coach or play the game at a resonable level?

HULK HOGAN
29 May 2008, 18:42
:rolleyes:

No room for 2 small crumbing forwards? Haven't taken a look at many lists these days?
Geelong: Steve Johnson, Matthew Stokes, Paul Chapman.
Collingwood: Paul Medhurst, Leon Davis, Alan Didak.
Hawthorn: Cyril Rioli, Mark Williams, and the tallest pocket player in the game Lance Franklin ;)

But we dont have room in our forward line for Jetta and Davey... Good thing davey is out for the rest of the year otherwise Jetta would never get a game:rolleyes:
The players listed above all play with more intensity and will or do spend more time in the midfield which is what we need Jetta taking marks I dont thik so thats what williams can do running through the midfield like Chapman (with a heavy body to bust packs) i dont think so Hey Shoot me its my Educated football poinion:thumbsu:

Jonesy1987
29 May 2008, 18:43
The players listed above all play with more intensity and will or do spend more time in the midfield which is what we need Jetta taking marks I dont thik so thats what williams can do running through the midfield like Chapman (with a heavy body to bust packs) i dont think so Hey Shoot me its my Educated football poinion:thumbsu:

Lol.. your opinion it may be but hardly sounds educated

Smyth94
29 May 2008, 18:43
OK we shall see sorry is he going to be a marking forward or a crumbing forward? saw Jake king run straight past him the other night, it didnt look good obviously you coach or play the game at a resonable level?

Okay genious, you tell me what would be a reasonable output from Jetta, considering that:

1. He's still just a kid; (just over 10 games)
2. He plays in a woeful team and thus gets limited opportunities; and
3. Has just come back from an injury

I'm getting sick and tired of clueless simpletons who attack young players because they haven't done a Judd and dominated from Day One.

If in 2 years time (after at least 30-40 games) Jetta is still producing < 10 touches a game (from increased midfield exposure), then yes, we can start worrying but definitely not now.

So sit back and watch him develop because I am (and a lot of Essendon supporters are) confident that Jetta will become a very good player for us in the future.

Smyth94
29 May 2008, 18:45

lawl...you're comparing Jetta to established guns? Yep well done buddy - you have such an indepth knowledge of the game :rolleyes:

bomber69
29 May 2008, 18:50
Because everyone really peaks in their first two years:rolleyes:

and dont call me sweetheart u pedo freak

bipolarbeaR
30 May 2008, 11:02
I like his tatts "mum + dad" on his forearms :)
He shows a whole lot of promise for a 10 gamer!

gg-bomber
30 May 2008, 23:20

Very amusing. Did you see those two late goal assists? Still not in great touch but players with such good vision don't grow on tree's. Will be a fine player for the bombers for a long time.

bomberbill22
1 Jun 2008, 15:57
____ing dud going nowhere. Up there with Ronnie Burns

Dude_01
4 Jun 2008, 22:44
heyyy
Leroy Jetta has been my favourite player, ever since he was picked at number 15 in the Draft of 06
many of my friends tell me, whats it like to idol such a S**T footballer
i ignore there comments
As u can see in my myspace www.myspace.com/maco_david (http://www.myspace.com/maco_david)
i am loyal to Leroy and i think he will come up as one of the competions better Forward pockets/midfielders

tristo
5 Jun 2008, 10:52
____ing dud going nowhere. Up there with Ronnie Burns

whats this in depth analysis based on?