View Full Version : Possible team Selections for next week
The rabbi
14 Jul 2007, 21:29
On the strength of todays game, who would be in danger of playing in the VFL next week? As much as I love Travis Varcoe's work in keeping the ball in the forward line and his committment to chasing, he found it hard to get into the game today. If Nablett comes in next week, should they keep Hawkins in the side?
Bryceson
14 Jul 2007, 21:40
Yeh i reckon if nath gets up keep hawkins in and give varcoe a rest. No other changes needed.
Gogeelong
14 Jul 2007, 21:43
Varcoe out replaced by Byrnes (heaps more disposals even tough he sprays them)
Hawkins out replaced by Nathan
geelong16
14 Jul 2007, 21:46
id like to see hawkins have another week in the seniors but his past two weeks he hasnt shown much, varcoe has been the same many weeks aswell as josh hunt didnt do much but its only his first week back
Bryceson
14 Jul 2007, 21:50
I would probably just rather DJ in the team than Josh Hunt but you can't drop him after 1 week. From what i've heard he has been killing it in the 2's in recent weeks so hopefully he gets some good form in the next few weeks.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
14 Jul 2007, 21:52
You've got to be kidding me.
Given all fit, Ablett in for Varcoe.
Stokes-Selwood-Prismall
14 Jul 2007, 21:54
Hawkins out for Ablett
Varcoe to stay in the side for the year. He had his worst game for the club today but his pressure is ridiculously valuable to the team.
I wanna make Hawkins earn his spot, yeah hes played ok the last 2 weeks, but make him hungry and he'll hopefully bring more to the table when he gets re-called
Given all fit, Ablett in for Varcoe.
I'd go for that unless Gamble has another good game in the VFL tomorrow.Then I'd consider Gamble for Varcoe and NA for Hawkins.
Tonycam*
14 Jul 2007, 22:04
I'd go for that unless Gamble has another good game in the VFL tomorrow.Then I'd consider Gamble for Varcoe and NA for Hawkins.
I'd like to see Varcoe stay in , think he deserves another go, first real bad game.
I would tend to do the Hawkins / Nathan swap
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
14 Jul 2007, 22:05
Ridiculous thing to say, I think I'm right in saying Gamble has only been back playing for one week. I think we are at our best when we have a few options, both tall and small, in the forward line - especially against the undersized Footscray defence. Playing Nathan Ablett and Hawkins does this.
The rabbi
14 Jul 2007, 22:09
No, not Monty! We cannot afford to play those who waste the ball so often. I would rather have Tencae in the side. His disposal is not great but it is an improvement on Monty.
Ridiculous thing to say, I think I'm right in saying Gamble has only been back playing for one week.
I think you'll find it's probably closer to 6 weeks,maybe more.
Yep I think Byrnes/Gamble in for Varcoe, and Nathan in for Hawkins.
Sure, Gamble hasn't played a lot of games this year, but if he plays alright in the 2s, then surely he won't do any worse than Varcoe did today.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
14 Jul 2007, 22:25
I think you'll find it's probably closer to 6 weeks,maybe more.
I was wrong, but so are you. Going on an article the other day he's played three.
Yep I think Byrnes/Gamble in for Varcoe, and Nathan in for Hawkins.
Sure, Gamble hasn't played a lot of games this year, but if he plays alright in the 2s, then surely he won't do any worse than Varcoe did today.
Why are we dropping Varcoe? Surely not because of form, because I think he has been a valuable player thus far, and had his first quiet game today. You just don't drop players after one quiet game, especially when the side has won 10 in a row.
You can't tell me that Byrnes is going to add something to the side that Varcoe doesn't. Byrnes has had multiple opportunities, and quite frankly, doesn't deserve a spot at the moment.
Gamble looks the goods for the future but at the moment I don't think he's done enough to replace Varcoe.
In saying all of that, I would however leave out Varcoe if Nathan Ablett was fit, on strategic grounds rather than due to performance, in order to create a mismatch against Footscray.
The rabbi
14 Jul 2007, 22:58
I was wrong, but so are you. Going on an article the other day he's played three.
Why are we dropping Varcoe?
You can't tell me that Byrnes is going to add something to the side that Varcoe doesn't. Byrnes has had multiple opportunities, and quite frankly, doesn't deserve a spot at the moment.
Gamble looks the goods for the future but at the moment I don't think he's done enough to replace Varcoe.
I know that I started this thread with the suggestion that Varcoe may make way for someone. I am inclined to think that it may be the right thing to leave him in the side.
Why are we dropping Varcoe? Surely not because of form, because I think he has been a valuable player thus far, and had his first quiet game today. You just don't drop players after one quiet game, especially when the side has won 10 in a row.
Yes, I was talking about dropping Varcoe because of form... he really wasn't that crash-hot against the bombers last week either. I think its worth giving him a spell anyways.
And I am also not so sure that Byrnes isn't capable of playing the same role as Varcoe... ie - a tackling/chasing forward + goalsneak. Sure, Byrnes may spray the odd kick, but I think he would get much more of the pill than Varcoe, so it might be worth a shot. Byrnes has been in the best list the last couple of weeks in the 2s.
sarah.13
14 Jul 2007, 23:08
Perhaps we should wait till the other half of our lists play before we contemplate changes. :eek:
OMG noooooooo not Byrnes...
His turnovers are shocking. :eek:
Obviously Nath comes in if he's right but I think Bomber may leave Hawkins in the side. He hinted at playing both last week so it's not out of the question. Also does DJ come in to take Acker??? For those leaving Hunt out, don't forget his match winning performance against the doggies late last year.
thirtyseven
14 Jul 2007, 23:32
Oh my god how could anyone even suggest putting in Shannon Byrnes? He would have to be almost the worst player on the list!!! And as for Josh Hunt, I'm not even going there.................
smelly cat
14 Jul 2007, 23:38
Varcoe apparently had the flu, he should get another chance
Mr.Chicken
15 Jul 2007, 00:24
Striaght swap for Nathan in for Hawkins. Unless there is an injury, no other outs. It astounds me suggestions made by many people when these threads are posted up. Seriously, u shouldnt tinker with the team continously if u r winning! If u find a winning formula - which we have - just stick to it excusing injuries of course.
It astounds me suggestions made by many people when these threads are posted up. Seriously, u shouldnt tinker with the team continously if u r winning! If u find a winning formula - which we have - just stick to it excusing injuries of course.
Still room for some improvement I think...
Ricketts
15 Jul 2007, 01:08
What's wrong with going unchanged?
Has anyone noticed how often Bomber brings up Kingy's name in interviews?
He seems to be the only bloke south of Werribee that thinks the big bloke will play a part in the remaining season.
I can't figure which game it would be for, or which player/type of player that he would replace, but fair dinkum, I can smell it coming.
Read on, it gets worse.
As for next week -
Nathan definite starter if fit enough.
Tommy has had another taste of the big time and his day will come but he is probably the one too many tall forward if all are available for selection.
Like most Cat fans I love the defensive pressure that Varcoe has made his trademark this season, but unfortunately you have too have more to your game to be a part of a TOP side.
He would play all games for a team like Richmond, but at Catland I think he may have to go back to the magoos and learn how to win, or at least get, the ball on a more consistent basis.
Couldn't say who his replacement would be, however my gut tells me that Bomber has a bit of a soft spot for Gardiner.
I know, I know. He has a million chances but he has looked a bit too good for the VFL on occasions of late.
I can sense the headshaking out there already.
Hawkins was a bit of a liability against the pies. N.Ablett should come in for Hawkins. Varcoe is an important player. He has kicked more goals this season than Bynres has in his career.
I would look at resting Bartel though. Hasn't looked 100% for the last 3 games, might need a break.
Just do something
15 Jul 2007, 10:56
Obviously Nath comes in if he's right but I think Bomber may leave Hawkins in the side. He hinted at playing both last week so it's not out of the question. Also does DJ come in to take Acker??? For those leaving Hunt out, don't forget his match winning performance against the doggies late last year.
Would be a good move bringing in DJ for Aker looks like Aker is finding some form.
Johno has had his measure before.
Hawkins was a bit of a liability against the pies. N.Ablett should come in for Hawkins. Varcoe is an important player. He has kicked more goals this season than Bynres has in his career.
I would look at resting Bartel though. Hasn't looked 100% for the last 3 games, might need a break.
I know if I was a Bulldogs player or coach, and saw us rest Bartel for their game, I would treat it as a sign of arrogance. Play him in the forwardline if he isn't 100%. Mightn't get 25 touches, but will be a tough match-up as he's good both overhead and as a crumber.
For mine, I would bring Nathan in if he's fit, and DJ to nullify Aker, and drop Josh and Kelly. Having Moons, Nathan and Tomahawk in the forward line would stretch them, and having Varcoe and Stokes in the side would be crucial for crumbing the packs, plus Varcoe's pace will be vital to pressure the Bulldogs defenders on the rebound.
crosby123
15 Jul 2007, 12:28
Have to play Varcoe, especially against the Bulldogs. They generate all their run from the half-back line, so playing too many tall forwards is not the answer.
Hunt out, Johnson in. If Stevie J has issues with his ankles (which seemed possible, watching him limping), bring in Nablett. If not, swap Nablett for Hawk, though I do think Hawk has been quite good last two weeks.
Stokes-Selwood-Prismall
16 Jul 2007, 21:02
Have to play Varcoe, especially against the Bulldogs. They generate all their run from the half-back line, so playing too many tall forwards is not the answer.
Hunt out, Johnson in. If Stevie J has issues with his ankles (which seemed possible, watching him limping), bring in Nablett. If not, swap Nablett for Hawk, though I do think Hawk has been quite good last two weeks.
true
Varcoe is a must have in our foward line to stop the dogs run out of our 50.
I still have nightmares of gilbee strolling out of the pocket and no-one chasing him down.
He adds a lot to our side and i dont think that it is worth playing NAblett and Hawkins in the same side. It will make us too slow and the dogs can cover our big fowards anyway.
year of the cat
16 Jul 2007, 22:48
Dropping Varcoe against the bulldogs would be madness. He is exactly the player we need to provide defensive pressure in our forwardline that will be so vital against the dogs. They generate a lot of run from half back via Gilbee and McMahon. Match them up and they will (esp McMahon) turn it over.
I would bring back Nathan if fit and probably drop Hawkins. Though it would be nice to see and undersized bulldogs defense try to match up Mooney, Hawkins and Nathan.
Cannot see any other changes.
Partridge
17 Jul 2007, 11:41
Varcoe to stay in the side for the year. He had his worst game for the club today but his pressure is ridiculously valuable to the team.
I wanna make Hawkins earn his spot, yeah hes played ok the last 2 weeks, but make him hungry and he'll hopefully bring more to the table when he gets re-called
So let me get this straight - you'll leave Varcoe in for the year, although he's hardly touched the ball the last 2 weeks, but Hawkins has to earn his spot, despite having double figure possessions in both the last 2 games?
Don't get me wrong, Varcoe has added a dimension this year with his pace and pressure. But sooner or later he has to start getting the ball. Right now he isn't. Hawkins is.
And although some of you are having nightmares about Gilbee wandering out of our backline with no pressure, there's also the scenario of us actually kicking the ball well to Nathan Ablett - who will outmark him every time. If Ablett and Mooney are played up the ground both are pretty quick for big men. Leave Hawkins in the goalsquare, therefore taking Harris as well. Just a thought.
thejester
17 Jul 2007, 11:56
Surely that plan falls down around us kicking well to forwards.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
17 Jul 2007, 13:45
So let me get this straight - you'll leave Varcoe in for the year, although he's hardly touched the ball the last 2 weeks, but Hawkins has to earn his spot, despite having double figure possessions in both the last 2 games?
Don't get me wrong, Varcoe has added a dimension this year with his pace and pressure. But sooner or later he has to start getting the ball. Right now he isn't. Hawkins is.
And although some of you are having nightmares about Gilbee wandering out of our backline with no pressure, there's also the scenario of us actually kicking the ball well to Nathan Ablett - who will outmark him every time. If Ablett and Mooney are played up the ground both are pretty quick for big men. Leave Hawkins in the goalsquare, therefore taking Harris as well. Just a thought.
Yep. In Round 1, Gilbee did get plenty of the ball. However, Nathan Ablett also dominated up forward. I think they were matched up onto eachother, and we went down by a few goals - with Brad Johnson kicking eight.
That day we played a very indirect brand of footy, which surely favoured the Footscray defence. If we can play hard and direct footy like we have been in the past ten weeks, I can see three talls creating major problems for the Bulldog defence.
Partridge
17 Jul 2007, 13:58
Yep. In Round 1, Gilbee did get plenty of the ball. However, Nathan Ablett also dominated up forward. I think they were matched up onto eachother, and we went down by a few goals - with Brad Johnson kicking eight.
That day we played a very indirect brand of footy, which surely favoured the Footscray defence. If we can play hard and direct footy like we have been in the past ten weeks, I can see three talls creating major problems for the Bulldog defence.
It's a tough one. I can understand the argument to keep the extra small forward down there, be it Varcoe, Stokes whoever. But I'm conscious that the sides who have beaten the Dogs this year - and beaten them convincingly - were Adelaide, St.Kilda, North. These sides kicked the ball long to a tall forward line and backed themselves to eventually prevail.
Of course fast and accurate movement of the ball forward is absolutely crucial. But the most powerful I think we've looked all year was the Carlton game - with Mooney, N.Ablett and Hawkins all prominent. It might just be worth trying again this week.