View Full Version : The CAT'S achilles

Tommy the Cat
15 Jul 2007, 13:23
One goal from a key forward yesterday.

Big Cam is my no 1 Cat and his kicking was crap yesterday and last week as well.

Tommyhawk a big zero from FF and done bugger all since being reinstated at FF due to Nablett's injury.

If we've got a weakness, its our key forwards and even when Nablett is available, he is not really going to solve the problem.

If we are gonna take the flag this year, its gonna have to be without a key forward contributing, unless big Cam can learn to kick straight and assuming Nablett can nab a few when he returns, because right now its our biggest weakness.

Actually, I'd say its our only weakness.

The rabbi
15 Jul 2007, 13:41
Agreed. Mooney also kicked 3 goals 6 against Melbourne at the G. None of the shots were difficult. I mentioned on another post yesterday that this is an area where Geelong can improve. Hawkins has had a few shots at goal and has not managed to do any real damage to the score board. I don't know what his stats are and how much time he spent up forward.
He still shows a bit. His left foot kick across his body from the left forward pocket to the unmarked Bartel in the right forward pocket resulted in a goal that sealed the game. Good vision/decision making. But I would like to see him use his rather sizable frame a bit more. He shook off another tackle on Saturday similar to the one against the Dons. Could Hawkins, Nablett and Mooney all play in the foward line without upsetting the balance?

Team Chemistry
15 Jul 2007, 13:47
Agreed. Mooney also kicked 3 goals 6 against Melbourne at the G. None of the shots were difficult. I mentioned on another post yesterday that this is an area where Geelong can improve. Hawkins has had a few shots at goal and has not managed to do any real damage to the score board. I don't know what his stats are and how much time he spent up forward.
He still shows a bit. His left foot kick across his body from the left forward pocket to the unmarked Bartel in the right forward pocket resulted in a goal that sealed the game. Good vision/decision making. But I would like to see him use his rather sizable frame a bit more. He shook off another tackle on Saturday similar to the one against the Dons. Could Hawkins, Nablett and Mooney all play in the foward line without upsetting the balance?

i reckon they have to
we were at our best when we were rotating those three thru the forward line, it just provides us with that extra option all the time
and yeh i completely agree, for a while now our key forwards have not been doing the job and i reckon this is shaping up to be a worry for us
:eek:

The rabbi
15 Jul 2007, 14:00
Agreed. Mooney also kicked 3 goals 6 against Melbourne at the G. None of the shots were difficult. I mentioned on another post yesterday that this is an area where Geelong can improve. Mooney is obviously the key to our forward line as Nablett and Hawkins don't shave yet. The team cannot afford to have the key forward miss easy shots at goal. Those of us who are old enough can remember when that cost us a grand final berth. I am speaking of Peter Johnston. Marked everything that came near him but could not kick over a jam tin.

Hawkins has had a few shots at goal and has not managed to do any real damage to the score board. I don't know what his stats are and how much time he spent up forward.

He still shows a bit, but not enough to give him a KP. His left foot kick across his body from the left forward pocket to the unmarked Bartel in the right forward pocket resulted in a goal that sealed the game. Good vision/decision making. But I would like to see him use his rather sizable frame a bit more. He shook off another tackle on Saturday similar to the one against the Dons. Could Hawkins, Nablett and Mooney all play in the foward line without upsetting the balance?

PoidaCat
15 Jul 2007, 14:03
http://www.ipmc.cnrs.fr/~duprat/neurophysiology/images/brain2.jpg

This has always been our "achilles". It's all in the head.

The rabbi
15 Jul 2007, 15:07

Big Cam is my no 1 Cat and his kicking was crap yesterday and last week as well....Actually, I'd say its our only weakness.

Does anyone know what his stats were? He kicked 1 goal and how many behinds?

Tommy the Cat
15 Jul 2007, 15:58

definately

I would have Nablett on a flank or pocket depending on the conditions and rotate the players from the bench, he's mobile enough to pull it off and players like Varcoe are improving, but not dominating in their position

I'm not convinced Tommyhawk is the player that we thought he was gonna be, he is not getting better, actually his form has dropped off since his first 4 goal effort

The rabbi
15 Jul 2007, 16:44
definately

I would have Nablett on a flank or pocket depending on the conditions and rotate the players from the bench, he's mobile enough to pull it off and players like Varcoe are improving, but not dominating in their position

I'm not convinced Tommyhawk is the player that we thought he was gonna be, he is not getting better, actually his form has dropped off since his first 4 goal effort

Mate, understand something! Big fellas takes longer to mature as footballers than smaller blokes. Nablett will take a while yet. He still needs to develop his upper body but I'm am sure that he will be a top player. Hawkins probably dos not shave yet but he will be eating fullbacks for breakfast when he matures. He will take a while to learn to read the game. I would not woory about him. I have seen some glimpses of footy brain. Give the lad time.

Tommy the Cat
15 Jul 2007, 16:51
no doubt they'll both be given plenty of time if breeding is anything to go by

I can relate the the big man thingy, being 6'4" myself, but it's been a long time since I was a teenager and at their age I was playing high school rugby league

Mr.Chicken
15 Jul 2007, 17:57
I think most ppl understimate Nathan Ablett's value. He also didnt play very well the last few weeks before his injury, mostly because of the hard wet and windy conditions I believe. These last 2 weeks would have been perfect for Ablett had he played. Relatively dry, more attacking game. Even than, so far this season he has averaged 1-2 goals a match which is more helpful than we might think. Had it been the case yesterday, we would have won by at least 20.

Is that you Jimmy?
15 Jul 2007, 18:02
Sorry this is plain WRONG!!
Actually he has played much more rounded games since his early - lead, mark and goal success in the first few rounds. Yes his kicking for goal is off, but his improvement around the packs and up the ground has been good. Think back to his snap out of the pack against the Bombers. He is developing nicely. He will be a big part of Geelong's future.

crosby123
15 Jul 2007, 18:17
Sorry this is plain WRONG!!
Actually he has played much more rounded games since his early - lead, mark and goal success in the first few rounds. Yes his kicking for goal is off, but his improvement around the packs and up the ground has been good. Think back to his snap out of the pack against the Bombers. He is developing nicely. He will be a big part of Geelong's future.
Agreed. His 4 goal efforts were like Nablett's 4 goals against West Coast in one of his first games. Just 4 leads, 4 goals. Not actually working much around the ground. Whereas now Hawkins looks to be moving better around packs, finding some space to lead into up the wings, and breaking tackles like we want him to. He's still 18, plenty of scope for improvement.

The rabbi
15 Jul 2007, 20:13
I think most ppl understimate Nathan Ablett's value. He also didnt play very well the last few weeks before his injury, mostly because of the hard wet and windy conditions I believe. These last 2 weeks would have been perfect for Ablett had he played. Relatively dry, more attacking game. Even than, so far this season he has averaged 1-2 goals a match which is more helpful than we might think. Had it been the case yesterday, we would have won by at least 20.

Nablett is good at giving the ball off too. It is one thing to look at how many goals he kicks. When you assess Nablett you also need to also take into account his goal assists.

Ricardo
15 Jul 2007, 20:41
Agreed. His 4 goal efforts were like Nablett's 4 goals against West Coast in one of his first games. Just 4 leads, 4 goals. Not actually working much around the ground. Whereas now Hawkins looks to be moving better around packs, finding some space to lead into up the wings, and breaking tackles like we want him to. He's still 18, plenty of scope for improvement.

Hawkins, once he improves his fitness will be a great pressuring forward as he tries hard to chase down opponents, he just needs to kick a couple in a game just to gain some confidence....he'll improve, although most want to see him fire now.

The Don
15 Jul 2007, 20:51
If I was a cat's fan Mooney would be my big concern. Early in the game he seemed more pre occupied with arguing with the umpires than the game. He was even arguing with them after Geelong had scored a goal. Was very lucky to kick his only goal. What was he thinking with the bounce?? I have a feeling a silly suspension could be just around the corner which could leave you vulnerable with only two young KP forwards. I also feel your pain on his goal kicking.

ALso Chapman and Ablett are pure class.

betchsta
15 Jul 2007, 20:58
Im not worried about mooney at all at the moment , Id much rather see him fire at the most important time , In the finals of course & without a doubt i know he will produce the goods when it matters most, As for Hawkins as most have already said, he will only get better as time goes by, Its not really fair on the boy that we expect so much of him so early in his career.

didaka
15 Jul 2007, 21:05
Gee from what I saw yesterday I wouldn't be worried about a lot right now.

The way you move the footy through the corridor is just great to watch. I sat behind the goals in the top row yesterday for a change and watched Geelong hit the corridor running all day. I go to most pies games, and have watched a lot of footy this year live, and the 2 teams that impressed me most with their movement are sitting 1 and 2 on the ladder.

To me you fella's looked more dangerous than Hawthorn. Everytime you went forward yesterday it looked as though you could score. Fortunately our defence wern't overly bad, and the Cats missed a couple.

year of the cat
15 Jul 2007, 21:12

Big Cam is my no 1 Cat and his kicking was crap yesterday and last week as well.

Tommyhawk a big zero from FF and done bugger all since being reinstated at FF due to Nablett's injury.

If we've got a weakness, its our key forwards and even when Nablett is available, he is not really going to solve the problem.

If we are gonna take the flag this year, its gonna have to be without a key forward contributing, unless big Cam can learn to kick straight and assuming Nablett can nab a few when he returns, because right now its our biggest weakness.

I think you could probably say the same thing about every other team going around at the moment. Collingwood really only have Rocca and Cloke as tall forwards, Hawthorn rely on young, inconsistent forwards in Franklin and Roughhead, WC don't have a decent tall forward, Kangaroos have manufactured a forwardline all year, Adelaide have Welsh and the mop top (enough said). Probably the team with the best tall forwards are the Saints with Riewoldt, Kosi and Gherig and they are unlikely to play finals anyway.

Our forwardline has functioned well this year from a consistent input from everyone. Mooney is obviously crucial, but we have Steve Johnson who is a nightmare matchup for opposing teams, Chapman who is a gun, Varcoe and Stokes who are freeing Gazza up to play midfield and Nathan who is presenting well, even if not being a massive presence. We also have the luxury of putting Ottens down there as another marking option if need be.

It is not just the forwardline players that are responsible for the scoreboard ticking over. We are getting superb run from our backline and midfield this year which is resulting in our opposition backline being disorganised and lacking time to matchup when the ball enters our forward 50. It is a similar style that Adelaide have used in the last few years.

Assuming injuries don't become a problem I don't hold too many fears regarding our ability to score. Just need to take advantage of our opportunities when we grab them and not kick behinds.

crosby123
15 Jul 2007, 21:38
Hawkins, once he improves his fitness will be a great pressuring forward as he tries hard to chase down opponents, he just needs to kick a couple in a game just to gain some confidence....he'll improve, although most want to see him fire now.
Don't misunderstand me. I'm incredibly happy with Hawkins' progress so far. How many first year KPPs earn rising star nominations? You can even see how he has improved during the year, playing further up the ground. Hawkins, Nath, Mooney rotating through CHF/FF. Can't wait!

dustyy
15 Jul 2007, 22:22
What the hell is wrong with you guys??????? The Tomahawk is doing a great job. He is hard at it. Competitive and leads well. He is only 18 years old. This is what is wrong with Cats supporters. He is great. Give the kid some time and get over it. I am getting sick of doubting Cat's supprters. Wake up and smell the Roses. In Johnathon Browns first year he only played nine game and had far less possions that the Tomahawk has had. WAKE UP FOOOOOOOLS...............

Reg Hickey
15 Jul 2007, 22:26

What the ... ?!??!

The kid is just 18, kicked 7 goals in his first two games, and you think he's not going to be a player. Geez.

Here's a question for you. Last year's draft was billed as the KPP draft, and from memory I think 6 players over 190cm were taken in the top 10 - Scott Gumbleton, Lachlan Hansen, Matthew Leuenberger, Mitchell Thorp, Ben Reid and Nathan Brown. How have those blokes done so far? How many three or four goal hauls? I can tell you that two of them haven't even played a game yet, and the ones that have have played less than 10 between them, and have hardly covered themselves in glory. Yet.

Hawkins is WAY ahead of where we could reasonably have expected him to be at this stage, and to suggest otherwise requires complete ignorance of footballer development.

dustyy
15 Jul 2007, 22:32
Good on you Reg Hickey. At least someonelse can see the big picture. MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

dustyy
15 Jul 2007, 22:34
Hooooooooooooray. At last someone else on this thread understands Big men in Football.

Rosso
15 Jul 2007, 23:56
If I was a cat's fan Mooney would be my big concern. Early in the game he seemed more pre occupied with arguing with the umpires than the game. He was even arguing with them after Geelong had scored a goal. Was very lucky to kick his only goal. What was he thinking with the bounce?? I have a feeling a silly suspension could be just around the corner which could leave you vulnerable with only two young KP forwards. I also feel your pain on his goal kicking.

ALso Chapman and Ablett are pure class.

Mooney should be right now. His argueing with the umpires comes down to one thing, Shane "Cuddles" Wakelin. Whenever the ball is kicked deep to a contest Waklin wraps his arm around the forward and hangs on for dear life. Last week against Fraaaazz he got caught out and the Maggies went nuts...go figure. Cuddles has done the same thing to Otto over the last few years and in 2005 he practically dry r00ted him throughout the night but managed not to give a free away. It's not his fault though, he's been allowed to get away with it.

Cheshire Cat
16 Jul 2007, 00:13

I think you have a point, I've been saying it for some time. Our 'potent' attack is somewhat exaggerated. Steve Johnson and Mooney have been the only 'match-winning' forwards. That is, forwards capable of kicking a winning score in close matches. I think our forwardline is enough provided everyone keeps doing there part.

Hawkins has been fine I've been more than pleased with his season so far. Still very raw, as others have mentioned, other top 10 KPP such as Gumby and Hansen havent played yet. Its much harder to become a KPP than a midfeilder as Selwood has done. I have no doubt he will be star.

dustyy
16 Jul 2007, 00:57
I give up.... 10 in arow is not enough?????????????????????????????????????????????????????? ??????????

PoidaCat
16 Jul 2007, 01:37
I give up.... 10 in arow is not enough?????????????????????????????????????????????????????? ??????????

Everyone is happy with the 10 in a row. But surely it ISN'T enough. Only a Premiership will do. No one cares about teams that have winning streaks during a season.

sarah.13
16 Jul 2007, 10:49
Before everybody goes ape shit over Mooney's performances over the last 2 weeks I have been told by someone in the inner sanctum of the club the he is carrying a groin injury and has had to have pain killing injections to play.
This is directly responceable for his wayward kicking as he is usually very accurate.

Tommy the Cat
16 Jul 2007, 11:13
that explains Mooney's situation, he is normally more accurate than that

crosby123
16 Jul 2007, 13:36
that explains Mooney's situation, he is normally more accurate than that
Up to two weeks ago he was kicking two goals for every behind, I think.

Partridge
16 Jul 2007, 13:47
Hawkins has had a few shots at goal and has not managed to do any real damage to the score board. I don't know what his stats are and how much time he spent up forward.

I'll answer this first - yes. Very soon, possibly this year but definitely in the future, all 3 will be in our starting forward line. Without a doubt.

Personally I think Nathan Ablett's absence has been quite significant. It means we haven't had a second leading forward, and his skills at ground level are superb for someone his size. Hope he's back this week.

Mooney I think has played well, he's just been off with his kicking. He murdered Michael in the Essendon game but only inaccuracy cost him a bag. Marked well again on the weekend just again missed some sitters. I'd be much more worried if he wasn't getting the ball.

Hawkins I think is getting better with every game. Needs to convert some chances for sure, but he's looking more confident and assured at the top level. He certainly didn't look overawed by the occasion in any way. Obviously his fitness still needs to improve but he's getting there, bit by bit.

If all 3 were fit this week I'd be tempted to play them. Mooney and Ablett move very well at ground level and Hawkins isn't as slow as people think. The Dogs obviously rely on running power but I think all 3 up forward might cause the odd problem for them. Depends of course on the supply from midfield, as always.

And importantly - as long as Ottens never ventures into forward 50. If the round 1 loss to the Dogs wasn't evidence enough the first 10 minutes against Collingwood reinforced it. Ruckman yes, forward NO.

year of the cat
16 Jul 2007, 19:26
I'll answer this first - yes. Very soon, possibly this year but definitely in the future, all 3 will be in our starting forward line. Without a doubt.

Personally I think Nathan Ablett's absence has been quite significant. It means we haven't had a second leading forward, and his skills at ground level are superb for someone his size. Hope he's back this week.

Mooney I think has played well, he's just been off with his kicking. He murdered Michael in the Essendon game but only inaccuracy cost him a bag. Marked well again on the weekend just again missed some sitters. I'd be much more worried if he wasn't getting the ball.

Hawkins I think is getting better with every game. Needs to convert some chances for sure, but he's looking more confident and assured at the top level. He certainly didn't look overawed by the occasion in any way. Obviously his fitness still needs to improve but he's getting there, bit by bit.

If all 3 were fit this week I'd be tempted to play them. Mooney and Ablett move very well at ground level and Hawkins isn't as slow as people think. The Dogs obviously rely on running power but I think all 3 up forward might cause the odd problem for them. Depends of course on the supply from midfield, as always.

And importantly - as long as Ottens never ventures into forward 50. If the round 1 loss to the Dogs wasn't evidence enough the first 10 minutes against Collingwood reinforced it. Ruckman yes, forward NO.

Ottens should be used primarily ar a ruckman I agree. However, his mobility has improved markedly since round one and he has pinch hit successfully at FF on a few occassions this year.

I would certainly start him in the middle. It was no coincidence that he was put back into the middle after the pies kicked the first couple of goals on Saturday.

Tommy the Cat
16 Jul 2007, 20:47
yeah, Ottens definitely stays out of the forward line imo

His form has been great since moving to the ruck so why take a backward step and put him back in the forward line.

Reg Hickey
16 Jul 2007, 23:24
Before everybody goes ape shit over Mooney's performances over the last 2 weeks I have been told by someone in the inner sanctum of the club the he is carrying a groin injury and has had to have pain killing injections to play.
This is directly responceable for his wayward kicking as he is usually very accurate.

That is a worry for more reasons than just wayward kicking.

cat in sydney
16 Jul 2007, 23:28
That is a worry for more reasons than just wayward kicking.

Exactly right.
Sarah.13, is this a long term groin issue, or just a bit of soreness??

sarah.13
17 Jul 2007, 14:51
Exactly right.
Sarah.13, is this a long term groin issue, or just a bit of soreness??
Apparently been carrying it for 3-4 weeks.Not a major issue but could do with 1-2 weeks rest.
However, given his importance to the forward line this is not possible.Don't be surprised if he is given a week off just before the finals.

winty
17 Jul 2007, 18:46
Apparently been carrying it for 3-4 weeks.Not a major issue but could do with 1-2 weeks rest.
However, given his importance to the forward line this is not possible.Don't be surprised if he is given a week off just before the finals.

Probably one of the next two games, against Freo at Subi or Richmond at Skilled I would imagine.

Tommy the Cat
17 Jul 2007, 20:29
I think big Cam would play with a broken leg

maybe he can rest it up abit during the week if it is a real concern

Tommy the Cat
21 Jul 2007, 10:30
20 goals and still nothing from our FF last night, still not good.

A huge improvement from Big Cam's kicking last night kicking 4 and setting a few others up. He really dominated at CHF.