View Full Version : Our grand final
carnthedons07premiers
15 Jul 2007, 19:52
This our most crucial game of the year. Lose and say goodbye to season 2007. This should and apparently will be treated as a grandfinal,and better yet i hope the boys havent forget the dissapointment of anzac day. Us on bigfooty seeing as though its very unlikely we will be here on that one day in september should treat like grand final day. The football world has pretty much wrote us off so i reckon its about time essendon went out their and answered their criticts.:thumbsu: bring on the pies
You could say we will be playing Grand Finals for the next 3 weeks at least.
Brad-clare
15 Jul 2007, 22:26
Whats your prediction on a crowd figure for this week?
dave_27
15 Jul 2007, 22:27
70k.
retroparty
15 Jul 2007, 22:43
73173 providing good conditions
1980GFVideo
15 Jul 2007, 23:01
You owe it to Victorians to help keep Collingwood out of the top four. (I know you consider Carlton more the enemy but the rest of us hate the Pies)
A repeat of last year would be fantastic.
That Friday night win made sure the Pies were in the elimination part of the finals and the doggies did what they had to do.
PS-I would love to return the favour but we are going to be their percentage boost in about a months time.
Philzsay
16 Jul 2007, 08:54
At the Dome last week one of the Kevin Sheedy trivia questions was how many Grand Finals had we been in since Sheeds was coach. The answer was 7 of course..
Had the question been how many match's which Sheeds had lablled as our 'Grand Final'...well the answer must be around 50 to 60 if not more...
The last two week have been "mini-finals" and we haven't turned up to play. Why the hell would anyone think we would do any better this week, dubbing it a "Grand Final".
bruce29
16 Jul 2007, 09:11
The last two week have been "mini-finals" and we haven't turned up to play. Why the hell would anyone think we would do any better this week, dubbing it a "Grand Final".
Not sure about this...we certainly turned up to play vs. Geelong, but ran out of luck, but yes against Bulldogs we struggled. Its dubbed a grand final, because there are no second chances. If we dont win this one, we've all bust lost finals aspirations in 07. Lets hope it does fire up the boys!:thumbsu:
In simple terms, we're going to have to win at least 4 games to make the 8 and a win a few of them well.
Richmond and Carlton are must win games, if we don't win those games, 2007 is pretty much over.
From there, we must win 2 of Collingwood, Adelaide, Hawthorn, Fremantle and West Coast.
Collingwood is a game that is always winnable. A massive rival, a massive crowd, anything can happen. We're going to need a few things to go right though.
Adelaide have been up and down like a yoyo all year. Let's hope we get them on a bad week.
Hawthorn can be exploited by quick movement of the ball. Richmond led at quarter time through that. We are certainly up to doing that, it comes down to how long we can maintain it.
Fremantle could be anything. The finals dream looks over for them barring a miracle. Let's hope they're tanking.
West Coast have been deplorable the last 2 weeks. However, they have an excellent midfield and by then Cousins will be back and quite possibnly Chris Judd after a reasonable lay-off. Tough assignment.
We've just got to count on what happned in the first half of the season, that being winning games that noone thought we could win. Now's not the time to give up.
GoldenboyHird_5
16 Jul 2007, 21:42
In simple terms, we're going to have to win at least 4 games to make the 8 and a win a few of them well.
Richmond and Carlton are must win games, if we don't win those games, 2007 is pretty much over.
From there, we must win 2 of Collingwood, Adelaide, Hawthorn, Fremantle and West Coast.
Collingwood is a game that is always winnable. A massive rival, a massive crowd, anything can happen. We're going to need a few things to go right though.
Adelaide have been up and down like a yoyo all year. Let's hope we get them on a bad week.
Hawthorn can be exploited by quick movement of the ball. Richmond led at quarter time through that. We are certainly up to doing that, it comes down to how long we can maintain it.
Fremantle could be anything. The finals dream looks over for them barring a miracle. Let's hope they're tanking.
West Coast have been deplorable the last 2 weeks. However, they have an excellent midfield and by then Cousins will be back and quite possibnly Chris Judd after a reasonable lay-off. Tough assignment.
We've just got to count on what happned in the first half of the season, that being winning games that noone thought we could win. Now's not the time to give up.
Your right mate.
thats all we need to do, run bloody hard, get winderlich back and a 100% stanton.
our midfield is underestimated for its speed, jetta fits in there, straight up replacement for Davey and with better footskills while winderlich, lovett, stanton are all quick players. Add watson whos playing great ATM with his extraction.
BomberFletch31
17 Jul 2007, 00:46
I think that realistically, we can only win three out of the remaining games: Richmond, Carlton and Adelaide. Like you said, Richmond and Carlton are must wins, and I sincerely hope that we don't turn up with the side that barely beat the Tigers earlier this year. If we do, we won't beat them again. We need to turn up to play. Carlton is always a danger game, as they have a good recent record against us, but on paper I can't see any reason why we can't win. We beat Adelaide at AAMI, and Adelaide have never beaten us in Melbourne.
Unfortunately, I think Collingwood and Hawthorn are better than we are at the moment, and while we may be able to lift and challenge them for the first half or even three quarters, I don't think we have the legs to run with them for the whole game. I doubt very much that we can beat Collingwood without Hird.
Fremantle are tough to beat at home, but we can do it. Let's put this game down as a roughie ... we could win this, with our full strength switched-on side on the park. West Coast are a different story altogether ... I can't see us winning, especially since it will be the second time in three weeks that we travel to Perth.
So, three games are very winnable ... four at a stretch. So maybe we'll finish with 11-11 or 12-10, hopefully that'll be enough to get us into the 8. Our percentage sucks at the moment, though, so for the games that we can win, we really need to focus on winning big.
bomberstomake8
17 Jul 2007, 13:53
I think that realistically, we can only win three out of the remaining games: Richmond, Carlton and Adelaide. Like you said, Richmond and Carlton are must wins, and I sincerely hope that we don't turn up with the side that barely beat the Tigers earlier this year. If we do, we won't beat them again. We need to turn up to play. Carlton is always a danger game, as they have a good recent record against us, but on paper I can't see any reason why we can't win. We beat Adelaide at AAMI, and Adelaide have never beaten us in Melbourne.
Unfortunately, I think Collingwood and Hawthorn are better than we are at the moment, and while we may be able to lift and challenge them for the first half or even three quarters, I don't think we have the legs to run with them for the whole game. I doubt very much that we can beat Collingwood without Hird.
Fremantle are tough to beat at home, but we can do it. Let's put this game down as a roughie ... we could win this, with our full strength switched-on side on the park. West Coast are a different story altogether ... I can't see us winning, especially since it will be the second time in three weeks that we travel to Perth.
So, three games are very winnable ... four at a stretch. So maybe we'll finish with 11-11 or 12-10, hopefully that'll be enough to get us into the 8. Our percentage sucks at the moment, though, so for the games that we can win, we really need to focus on winning big.
i agree with most of that, i do think that we can beat collingwood this week, we did last year with james hird being ripped appart by clement in the first half and lloyd not playing of course.. we can win this week no doubt about that..
i also think west coast is a winnable game, they arent playing great footy and that game could quite possibly be a james hirds last game if we dont win, the dons will put all they have into beating them and given that we always are competitive with the eagles (even last year we were down by like 4 points until the eagles kicked 3 in a row in time on) and i think jimmy hird will once agains be enough to possibly get us over the line..