16 Jul 2007, 11:07
Gettin there

bring it on
16 Jul 2007, 16:32
he is a gun.... really steped up this year... missing him at the mo

how far away is he?

DaSawx
16 Jul 2007, 19:18
1 or 2 weeks at least unfortunately, he is fastly turning into on our more important players, has speed, run, skill, can chase and runs hard all game.

Jono B
16 Jul 2007, 19:24
Could have used his run and polished disposal on Saturday.

bombersno1
16 Jul 2007, 20:22
Seems to be a bit injury prone though.

Bombs Away
17 Jul 2007, 13:45
Seems to get injured just when about to turn it on, same happened last year. Hopefully we get to see the best of him for long periods.

KING-JAMES
30 Jul 2007, 20:33
There is a certain lift in the crowd we he gets the ball in space, and goes for one of those runs. i was convinced he could make it after his VFL game against Tassie last year and he certainly has not let us down. This bloke is a gun and has the potential to be anything.

hulld
31 Jul 2007, 00:36
how good is it going to be next year

winders, stants, lovett, davey, jetta, dempsey, nash, dyson

it's going to be an exciting year

~RFM~
31 Jul 2007, 15:25
Loved him from the first time I saw him play...speed kills :cool:.

Jono B
31 Jul 2007, 17:42
Only thing to come out of Thorpdale that isn't a spud.

B-Bomber
31 Jul 2007, 22:05
Only thing to come out of Thorpdale that isn't a spud.

Thats gold. :):thumbsu:

FootyGuru
13 Aug 2007, 22:53
love it how he kicks it to a contest then makes the next contest and gets it again

Spikey
4 Oct 2007, 15:02
Gun :thumbsu:

windyhill
4 Oct 2007, 18:34
Next level ? If he could consistently finish his gut running 50-60 yard carries onto someones chest more frequently we may be looking at our next elite midfielder.

WindyHillWatcher
19 Mar 2008, 13:55
havent heard much about this bloke over the pre season. Really enjoyed him last year, hope he can really make an impact. Anyone have any news?

hulld
19 Mar 2008, 18:05
has had a problem with one of his disks in his back. has trained fully the last two weeks and will play for bendigo this week. if all goes well he'll be back in the side for round 2

kelvin_sheedy
30 Mar 2008, 21:36
Looked really good today in his first game back.

I think he might become our best midfielder by the end of the year if he can remain injury free.

Pawtucket Patriot
30 Mar 2008, 21:42
Looked really good today in his first game back.

I think he might become our best midfielder by the end of the year if he can remain injury free.

Yeah he moved really well straight through the central corridor and really straightened us up.

hulld
30 Mar 2008, 22:06
he can hold his head up high. provided a bit of run, used the ball well, and for the first time in years steve johnson didn't tear us a new one

GoDons
4 Apr 2008, 17:50
he can hold his head up high. provided a bit of run, used the ball well, and for the first time in years steve johnson didn't tear us a new one

When has Steve Johnson 'torn us a new one'?

And I'd say Rama can take most of the credit for holding Johnson, at least when I was watching him anyway.

Winders certainly provided a bit of run though, not a bad output for his first game back.

hulld
4 Apr 2008, 23:25
rama played on chapman for most of the game

Windas_Magic
21 Apr 2008, 21:17
He's been playing a bit off the half-back line but personally, i'd like to see him on the wing all game. Maybe he needs to get his match fitness up but he runs extremely hard to find space and is a player who can break the lines through the centre of the ground

CarlosHernandez
22 Apr 2008, 14:42
He has the ability to execute a beautiful laces out pass while still running at top speed, although his only lead up target has been McPhee the last couple of weeks.

Maybe starting further up the field would put him in for a few shots on goal himself?

TheDon35
22 Apr 2008, 19:39
Time to lift and contribute more as a now senior member of the club.

Has got by on potential alone for too long.

lamaros
22 Apr 2008, 20:07

Forgotten about last year already?

CarlosHernandez
22 Apr 2008, 21:25

He set the middle of the ground alight on many occasions last year, and was a very consistent performer!

Is still getting back to match fitness after a pre season hammy injury, so should return to '07 form soon. (His run through the middle that involved 2 pinpoint passes and a handball receive is hopefully a sign of this!)

SOT4
22 Apr 2008, 21:34
Does TheDon35 ever get anything right?

TheDon35
23 Apr 2008, 07:01
Does TheDon35 ever get anything right?

Played reasonably well last year but had done bugger all prior to that. Has been ordinary this year - granted he was coming off an injury.

Again, unfortunately, too many on this board view the Dons through rose coloured glasses.

gg-bomber
23 Apr 2008, 07:30
Played reasonably well last year but had done bugger all prior to that. Has been ordinary this year - granted he was coming off an injury.

Again, unfortunately, too many on this board view the Dons through rose coloured glasses.

He's played 3 games this year after coming back from injury and had 19, 15 and 17 disposal games and while i haven't seen an efficiency statistic i would predict that it is very very good. If you can find this and prove me otherwise i would be very surprised.

Has been very easily in our best 22 and in my opinion close to our best 12 (and will only get better with more match fitness).

Longy413
23 Apr 2008, 15:48

Who was his opponent last week?

What role did he play?

TheDon35
27 Apr 2008, 15:42
What an embarrassing effort that was on Anzac day.

Longy - Who was his appononent - he's never had an opponent.

What role has he been playing - lurk across the backline and try to find as much space as possible so he doesn't get hurt.

fatgutz
27 Apr 2008, 15:46
we r shit just like Bendigo Bombers! 70 points loss, have we got any talent at essendon? or are we pulling our puds?

hulld
27 Apr 2008, 20:59
he isn't a back pocket. bad coaching move to play him on medhurst

bombersno1
28 Apr 2008, 10:47
Well he SHOULD be able to defend, bad coaching move or not and I don't disagree, but he frankly has not got one ounce of a defensive game, which is why although he looks flash is a player I don't have that high hopes for. He frankly looks like a frontrunner- great when it is easy, very poor when it is not easy!

Smyth94
28 Apr 2008, 15:42
Due to his limited preparation this preseason he's been played out of position in defence - I wouldn't mind seeing him as a half-forward to fill the role of Davey whilst he builds up his fitness base.

Longy413
2 May 2008, 16:54
What an embarrassing effort that was on Anzac day.

Longy - Who was his appononent - he's never had an opponent.

What role has he been playing - lurk across the backline and try to find as much space as possible so he doesn't get hurt.

This is a poor effort on your behalf.

If you're not capable of watching the game on a meaningful level, it's probably not best to cast such critisism.

Against StKilda Winderlich tagged Luke Ball.
He didn't play as a defender, or a midfielder. He played as a tagger.

Luke Ball kicked two goals, one from a stoppage where Winderlich was blocked out, the other when Luke Ball cheated forward at a contest.

He had 12-13 disposals.

He was smashed by Medhurst, but he isn't a defender. Medhurst is a small forward that plays big, it was never going to work.

Hopefully, when he gets back on the park he goes back into the wing half-forward position that saw him lead our goal assists last year.

TheDon35
4 May 2008, 09:03

If you're not capable of watching the game on a meaningful level, it's probably not best to cast such critisism.

Luke Ball kicked two goals, one from a stoppage where Winderlich was blocked out, the other when Luke Ball cheated forward at a contest.

He had 12-13 disposals.

He was smashed by Medhurst, but he isn't a defender. Medhurst is a small forward that plays big, it was never going to work.

Hopefully, when he gets back on the park he goes back into the wing half-forward position that saw him lead our goal assists last year.

Was reffering to the pies game champ. Had no refference to the Saints. poor effort.

Jono B
4 May 2008, 11:04
Was reffering to the pies game champ. Had no refference to the Saints. poor effort.
So did Longy. Don't you read the posts you are responding to?

TheDon35
4 May 2008, 11:24

He had 12-13 disposals.

Another point.

Everyone keeps carrying on about Winders not being a defender. He's actually played a shite load of footy across half back. An attacking half back granted but still with a direct forward apponent.

My point about him not having an apponent is that he plays an uncontested shootout style brand of footy. Of course he's had other roles - Luke Ball point in case. That being said, his output is rarely a great deal better than his apponent.

I fear he's going to be another first round draft pick he produces very little.

kelvin_sheedy
4 May 2008, 22:27
6 season and every year he's missed a chunk of footy due to injury.

Will always be injury prone and then lose pace and effectiveness or the fitness staff will get his body right and he'll string a few seasons together.

Longy413
5 May 2008, 11:14

The post you replied to was made before Anzac Day, so why reply to a post and change the subject?

If you were talking about Anzac Day and you had no idea who his opponent was (your said so) then again, you're struggling.

Big difference between playing attacking half back and playing on a deep forward who is good overhead.

TheDon35
5 May 2008, 16:39
The post you replied to was made before Anzac Day, so why reply to a post and change the subject?

If you were talking about Anzac Day and you had no idea who his opponent was (your said so) then again, you're struggling.

Big difference between playing attacking half back and playing on a deep forward who is good overhead.

Yea you're right. Was more just reffering to the fact that he doesn't tend to play on an apponent and that his output is generally less than who he's playing on.

His output throughout his time at the club would tend to validate this.

I don't like bagging our own players, the fact is though, for the past 4 years we've had to many pretenders. You can't get by in today's foot by being a half back / midfielder who has very little defensive effort and isn't very damaging going forward.

Longy413
5 May 2008, 16:54
Isn't very damaging?

He led our goal assists last year and didn't play every game.
This is the team that was the fourth highest scoring team in the comp and he created more goals than anyone.

He is one of few midfielders that runs hard both ways, McVeigh does, Lonergan does, Winderlich does. That's it.

Lovett is starting to do it.

Winderlich defensively is a good player, he proved that on Luke Ball.
He isn't great overhead, that's why Medhurt burnt him.
There is a big difference in playing on Luke Ball and Paul Medhurst.

TheDon35
5 May 2008, 17:05
Isn't very damaging?

He led our goal assists last year and didn't play every game.
This is the team that was the fourth highest scoring team in the comp and he created more goals than anyone.

He is one of few midfielders that runs hard both ways, McVeigh does, Lonergan does, Winderlich does. That's it.

Lovett is starting to do it.

Winderlich defensively is a good player, he proved that on Luke Ball.
He isn't great overhead, that's why Medhurt burnt him.
There is a big difference in playing on Luke Ball and Paul Medhurst.

Hang on, Paul Medhurst gets the majority of his marks on the lead, not taking pack marks. Yes he does take the odd hanger but he predominantly kicks his goals by getting away from his apponent - as he did with Winderlich. He didn't beat Winder's by being a better overhead mark than him. He beat him by getting off him and finding space.

I'm sure you will real off another stat here. Fact is mate, I don't look at the stats all that much. Just watch the game closely.

Yes Winderlich is probably one of our better players at the moment. Fact is, of the mature players, he doesn't have much competition does he? With that in mind it's easy to find a stat that will back up your limited arguement. You've also been good at finding stat's to back up other duds like Welsh who CAN'T PLAY.

Longy413
5 May 2008, 17:17
I haven't used stats at all, unless they are black and white.

Goal assists is black and white, you said he offers nothing going forward. You were wrong.
When you are doing that in the team that is the fourth highest scoring in the comp, you have plenty of competition.

You've proven watching just watching the game isn't good enough, because you've failed to realise the role Winderlich has been playing.

I've said in this thread that Medhurst was a leading forward, I said he plays more like a FF than a small forward. Why are you trying to prove me wrong with a point that I've already made?

Where did I say Medhurst takes pack marks?

Medhurst is a marking forward, regardless of how he takes them, that is how he relies on getting his footy. Winderlich, not being good overhead, was never the right option for him.

Again, I'm not sure what your point was trying to prove, but if you were trying to prove me wrong, you missed the target again.

Fact is, Winderlich is a good footballer.
I don't need stats to prove that.
He runs hard both ways, he uses the ball well going forward, he is a good tackler, he doesn't front run, but runs hard to space when we have the footy (who else does that?).

I'd also like you to find where I've used stats to suggest Welsh is a good footballer...

TheDon35
6 May 2008, 07:59
I haven't used stats at all, unless they are black and white.

Goal assists is black and white, you said he offers nothing going forward. You were wrong.
When you are doing that in the team that is the fourth highest scoring in the comp, you have plenty of competition.

You've proven watching just watching the game isn't good enough, because you've failed to realise the role Winderlich has been playing.

I've said in this thread that Medhurst was a leading forward, I said he plays more like a FF than a small forward. Why are you trying to prove me wrong with a point that I've already made?

Where did I say Medhurst takes pack marks?

Medhurst is a marking forward, regardless of how he takes them, that is how he relies on getting his footy. Winderlich, not being good overhead, was never the right option for him.

Again, I'm not sure what your point was trying to prove, but if you were trying to prove me wrong, you missed the target again.

Fact is, Winderlich is a good footballer.
I don't need stats to prove that.
He runs hard both ways, he uses the ball well going forward, he is a good tackler, he doesn't front run, but runs hard to space when we have the footy (who else does that?).

I'd also like you to find where I've used stats to suggest Welsh is a good footballer...

Simply making the point that you've tried to make an excuse for him by saying he's not good overhead. The real problem with him playing on guys like Medhurst is that he gets lost by opponents who are clever. Nothing to do with him not being able to spoil overhead. \

Anyway enough of this. I think he's an ok footballer. Just don't think we've got the value for money for him yet.

Longy413
7 May 2008, 10:34
You're focussing on one point.

I said he can't play on leading forwards or guys who are good overhead.
Medhurst is both of those.

You're trying to argue against me by agreeing with.

TheDon35
18 May 2008, 17:56
You're focussing on one point.

I said he can't play on leading forwards or guys who are good overhead.
Medhurst is both of those.

You're trying to argue against me by agreeing with.

Another special game by a special player.

Can't play on marking forwards and can't play in the midfield. Just the sort of mature age bloke we need to be steppin g up

Jono B
18 May 2008, 20:04

Can't play on marking forwards and can't play in the midfield. Just the sort of mature age bloke we need to be steppin g up
Not many can when they clearly are not 100%.

Schmick
18 May 2008, 21:04

Exactly what Jono said, he wasn't even 100% and it showed, shouldn't have even been playing.

Once he's fit, you'll eat your words.

DaSawx
19 May 2008, 21:30
Did we have no one else to pick, thought Knights wasn't going to play unfit players, Winders is a lot better player than he's able to show at the moment

kelvin_sheedy
19 May 2008, 22:03
I hope it's not one of those groin injuries that needs to be managed like Ball and Judd.

Don't think Winders can contribute enough with it slowing him down if its the case.

efcboy
19 May 2008, 23:54
Did we have no one else to pick, thought Knights wasn't going to play unfit players, Winders is a lot better player than he's able to show at the moment

you're right - knights has obviously been under the pump so given the pressure i think he's gone back on his word playing some of the better players even though they weren't 100%. i wish he'd just stuck to his guns and kept his policy.

Smyth94
20 May 2008, 08:56
He's clearly not 100% fit...it was sad watching Jolly being able to tackle him when last year he would've burnt him off with ease.

Smyth94
20 May 2008, 08:57

Were you in the country at all last year?

TheDon35
23 May 2008, 18:04
Were you in the country at all last year?

Yes I was. And the year before that, and the year before that, and the year before that.

Just a player.

Smyth94
24 May 2008, 08:54
Yes I was. And the year before that, and the year before that, and the year before that.

Just a player.

Clearly you would've seen what Winderlich is capable of then?

Its a bit hard to run when you've got groin issues.

TheDon35
25 May 2008, 09:11
Clearly you would've seen what Winderlich is capable of then?

Its a bit hard to run when you've got groin issues.

Yep i've seen what he's capable of.

An ok ball carrier who can cut the lines and get his 20 odd touches. Super quick and uses it ok.

Goes missing for large sections of games. Played ok last year which has been his only ok season to date. Soft by midfielder standards and is suspect under physical pressure. Get's exposed on decent forwards.

Spikey
25 May 2008, 12:03
Get's exposed on decent forwards.

Why could that be? Could it be cause he's a midfielder?:rolleyes:

TheDon35
25 May 2008, 13:01
Why could that be? Could it be cause he's a midfielder?:rolleyes:

A midfielder that's spent a hell of alot of his career to date across half back

loopy_cam
25 May 2008, 21:53
Yet led our goal assists last season when fit.

High Ryder
25 May 2008, 21:55
Worked hard last night.

TheDon35
26 May 2008, 06:11
Yet led our goal assists last season when fit.

So what's your point

loopy_cam
26 May 2008, 17:14
So what's your point

That he's a good footballer who doesn't deserve all the flack your giving him.

TheDon35
26 May 2008, 19:33
That he's a good footballer who doesn't deserve all the flack your giving him.

Well given that you've tried tell me he's a good footballer by saying he lead us in goal assists last year. Here's a couple of other stats on a bloke that people in here rate as a star.

Been at our club 6 years

has averaged 13 possessions per game. His best season last year where he was a 'star' with 18 possesions per game.

Has kicked 17 goals in his 6 years - for someone who spends a hell of a lot of time in the middle, a pretty poor stat.

Zero brownlow votes in 6 years.

For those that like to consider him a midfielder, he converted the following disposals in last years break out year:

West Coast - 12
Richmond - 12
Hawthorn - 6
Adelaide 12
Melbourne 7
Richmond 10
Brisbane 11
North Melbourne 14
Hawthorn 3
Fremmantle 13

Granted some of these games would have been in defence however for a gun midfielder. This output is inconsistent at best.

I'm not a huge fan of stats but seeing how any ordinary players are vindicated on this board by one stat or another, I think many of these stats tell a story which suggest that he's inconsistent and hasn't set the world on fire to date, despite having some solid tools in his kit.

daffo
28 May 2008, 13:17
I would love to see a stat on his possessions compared to who his playing against. For someone with 'pace' have you ever seen him lay a tackle from behind? He is overrated in my opinion. Overrated + Young = trade potential.

Windas_Magic
30 May 2008, 23:26
Looked good up forward, he was able to keep Johncock quiet but also has the smarts to get front and centre then feed off with the handball

Santoz
30 May 2008, 23:37
Played well up forward. I'd definitely keep him there. He adds some zip and bite :thumbsu:

Smyth94
31 May 2008, 00:02
I've been saying for weeks that he should be used up forward and it paid off tonight...Keep him there.

TheDon35
31 May 2008, 10:12
I reckon the most complete game i've seen him play last night. Critical touches in close, kicked goals, crucial contested footy.

Well done.

whirl
31 May 2008, 11:01
Looked much fitter and closer to the Winderlich of last year. His marking on the lead was great.

Schmick
31 May 2008, 11:21
Still doesn't look 100% IMO, but still managed to play a very good game last night. Will be awesome when his fitness improves and is 100%.

Pevers-Legend
31 May 2008, 12:24
Turn over merchant.

He is in the McPhee category for indecision. If he thinks, he is dead.

He is a high draft pick who has had how many go past him?

Stanton, Watson, Houli, Reimers, Lonergan, Hislop, ......

Even Nash has been easily as serviceable and people are calling for his head.

He tries hard, but his kicking is as bad a s Peverill's

whirl
31 May 2008, 13:06
Turn over merchant.

He is in the McPhee category for indecision. If he thinks, he is dead.

He is a high draft pick who has had how many go past him?

Stanton, Watson, Houli, Reimers, Lonergan, Hislop, ......

Even Nash has been easily as serviceable and people are calling for his head.

He tries hard, but his kicking is as bad a s Peverill's

Turn over merchant?

He'd average one clanger a game, and of the players that actually get the ball a bit his disposal efficiency is second only to Fletch, if you were to exclude players that have only played a game or two. 7th or 8th from memory for the full list.

Business is bad for the turnover merchant, he's not selling enough.

To head off the likely reply of "that's just stats, it's observation backed up by stats. The stats merely back up what I believe about his disposal skills. I think they are pretty solid.

I can understand criticism of him taking time to make a decision, though I think that tends to look worse that in it is.

Darealrath
31 May 2008, 13:48
Can't believe people bag him.

His talent is so obvious and he's been putting it together the last couple seasons when fit.

Very impressed but not surprised with how he played last night.

TheDon35
1 Jun 2008, 08:45
Turn over merchant?

He'd average one clanger a game, and of the players that actually get the ball a bit his disposal efficiency is second only to Fletch, if you were to exclude players that have only played a game or two. 7th or 8th from memory for the full list.

Business is bad for the turnover merchant, he's not selling enough.

To head off the likely reply of "that's just stats, it's observation backed up by stats. The stats merely back up what I believe about his disposal skills. I think they are pretty solid.

I can understand criticism of him taking time to make a decision, though I think that tends to look worse that in it is.

Inconsistance has been his major problem. Yes he strung some good games together last year but there were plenty of shockers mixed in there as well.

I'm not overly fussed with his kicking but over the course of his career, he's been too prone to go missing. That has been one of his biggest problems.

As a midfielder, he doesn't find enough of it consistently, as a defender, he's often exposed. Played forward on Friday he looked sensational. Lets hope that he doesn't fall below that high standard.

Slattery_20
1 Jun 2008, 17:10
Half forward rotating into midfield is his position. Unfortunately not very versatile but is a good player.
Don't know how much you can read into output when he was being played back, out of position in a pretty average side

On an aside - 35: Could you please refrain from putting words into people's mouths (posts)? Can't see anyone saying he's the next Judd, a legend or a star, just a "good" player. Argue if you want against that, but don't write a massive post telling people why he's not something they haven't ever said he is

TheDon35
2 Jun 2008, 19:42
Half forward rotating into midfield is his position. Unfortunately not very versatile but is a good player.
Don't know how much you can read into output when he was being played back, out of position in a pretty average side

On an aside - 35: Could you please refrain from putting words into people's mouths (posts)? Can't see anyone saying he's the next Judd, a legend or a star, just a "good" player. Argue if you want against that, but don't write a massive post telling people why he's not something they haven't ever said he is

How about this. Quit sifting through your thesaurus to use words you don't even understand and get a half interesting opinion on football.

If you don't like my posts then don't read them. I have argued that he's not a star / gun because many in here rate him as a gun. I don't. I never put words into anyones mouth.

So on an aside, go and get a half decent understanding of the game, understand that we are in the bottom few for the fourth year in a row. Naturally because of this there will be players up for criticism floating around on our list.

TheDon35
2 Jun 2008, 19:50

Again, just thought i'd have a quick look back at his board and what a suprise:

page 1: 16 July from Bring it on
30 July from King James
4 Oct from Spikey

First page I opened on his board and bang 3 posts suggesting that he's a gun. Couple that with the hundreds of other posts on main boards and maybe then your pea brain will get your head around where i'm coming from.

I accept your apology.

Slattery_20
6 Jun 2008, 18:26
Never heard of any of them before, & you're still banging on about it 6 pages later
Not really interested in your opinions anymore, but you do tend to post absolutely everywhere so another for the burgeoning ignore list
Sorry if my vocabulary astounds you, not my fault

TheDon35
7 Jun 2008, 07:56
Never heard of any of them before, & you're still banging on about it 6 pages later
Not really interested in your opinions anymore, but you do tend to post absolutely everywhere so another for the burgeoning ignore list
Sorry if my vocabulary astounds you, not my fault

I'm glad your impressed with your own vocabulary. It's good to see something is going right for you.

Again, I accept your apology re' your arrogant and misguided previous posts.

bomber69
25 Jun 2008, 22:29
Winderlich out for the season
Emerging Essendon midfielder, Jason Winderlich, will miss the remainder of the 2008 season with a back injury.

The 23-year-old will have surgery on Monday to repair an on-going problem that has troubled him since preseason.

The surgery will leave Winderlich bed-ridden for the next month but team manager, David Calthorpe, says the operation is the right move for his long-term playing career.

“We are disappointed for him because he was starting to find some really good form, not only through the midfield, but he was a damaging player for us in the Adelaide game when he went up forward," Calthorpe said.

"He had shown signs that he was going to finish off the season strong and it would have been an added bonus for us to have him in the side.”
The decision to rest the midfielder - who has played 56 games for the club - came after Winderlich experienced severe pain following Essendon’s Round 11 match against Hawthorn.

"I knew I wasn’t good when I woke up the morning after the Hawthorn game and couldn’t really feel the back of my left leg,” Winderlich said.

“I knew then that it was something major but having surgery is not something I am looking forward to.”

Winderlich’s diagnosis involved visits to a back physician and neurosurgeon before MRI scans revealed he had a prolapsed disc.

Medical staff eventually decided on surgery to eliminate the problem for good so he could resume preseason training in early November with the rest of the team.
Although apprehensive about the thought of delicate surgery, Winderlich is looking forward to an uninterrupted preseason

“I had a split disc this preseason and I missed 10 weeks of training straight after Christmas which involved missing a heap of conditioning work that meant I was always behind the eight ball coming into this year,” he said.

“I had only played about three quarters in a VFL practice match before I came into the side which resulted in a pretty slow start to the season.

“Trying to play football without a proper preseason is hard these days with the amount of running you have to do. At least after the operation I will be fully conditioned and ready to go by the time preseason starts this year which is the key.

“I don’t want to keep waiting for it to heal itself.”

Winderlich is expected to be in hospital for up to four days.

Following surgery, he will be unable to drive a car for a month and will only be allowed out of bed for four short walks a day. For the first two weeks, he will be unable to bend over at all.
In other injury news, Essendon's No.2 overall draft pick in 2006, Scott Gumbleton, is recovering well from surgery on a broken collarbone he sustained while playing for Bendigo.

“He has had scans this week and everything is tracking along as expected,” Calthorpe said.

“The surgery went really well and he should be back running in two to three weeks.

“The club has made no decision as to whether we push him back to play footy this year because realistically he still has at least six weeks before he can play again. It is unlikely we will risk him for just one or two VFL games but the decision hasn’t been made on that yet."

Despite having suffered three major injury setbacks this season, Calthorpe said Gumbleton has maintained a positive state of mind.

“He has been pretty good considering,” Calthorpe said.

“His mum has been down and spent some time with him. His attitude and demeanor around the footy club has been positive considering it's his third setback this year and he said during the week that the support that he is getting from his teammates and the staff here at the footy club has really helped him get back on track."
Jason Johnson, who is recovering from a calf injury, has suffered a minor setback during training and is now likely to resume in a month.

:(

smilingassassin6
16 Sep 2008, 18:22
Will he be at the bombers next year?

B-Bomber
16 Sep 2008, 18:23
No doubt

dirtywhitepacker
16 Sep 2008, 18:28
Absolutely, unless someone offers us something we cannot refuse, which wont happen. This guy has out and out skill, just needs to remain on the park.

Slattery_20
16 Sep 2008, 19:52
Will he be at the bombers next year?
He'll go one of two ways
Either he'll be a good player for us for a number of years into the future
Or
He won't be able to get his hammies right and will retire at about 25

The Donners
17 Sep 2008, 13:37
Can't believe people bag him.

His talent is so obvious and he's been putting it together the last couple seasons when fit.

Very impressed but not surprised with how he played last night.

Are we still referring to Winderlich?

Not just you mate but talk about rose-coloured glasses! :D

Pevers-Legend
20 Sep 2008, 15:18
Winderlich epitomises our blind faith and why we have been laughed at for a few years now.

He is an average football player who is far too injury prone. He is 23 and has not put in 1 bog performance yet - hardly a great sign.

I hope he proves me wrong, but come Feb/March he will have to fight for a spot in the team because he sure don't have the runs on the board.

bomba4eva
20 Sep 2008, 15:30
Straight into the best 22 when fully fit.

dave_27
20 Sep 2008, 21:02
this bloke has had what 2 seasons injury free since drafted in 2002? '05 and last year and he still did his hammy twice last year.

Massive question marks over him.

He's in our best 22 IMO but dont expect more than half a season from him before he breaks down AGAIN.

Clean Heels
22 Sep 2008, 01:59
Its a shame this kid cant get himself right, he is a gun..

Sublime footskills, lightning fast - and can kick at full speed..

I sure hope his back problems get corrected, he is a good bloke.

Slattery_20
22 Sep 2008, 11:27
Winderlich epitomises our blind faith and why we have been laughed at for a few years now.

He is an average football player who is far too injury prone. He is 23 and has not put in 1 bog performance yet - hardly a great sign.

I hope he proves me wrong, but come Feb/March he will have to fight for a spot in the team because he sure don't have the runs on the board.
He's better than average. Worthwhile player, probably in our best 22 if fit.
Without knowing his medical status, I'd still persevere with him

Smyth94
22 Sep 2008, 11:41

Do people just suffer from amnesia when it comes to Winderlich? He is in our 18 when fully fit let alone 22 - to suggest he would be fighting for a spot in the team is absurd.

GoDons
22 Sep 2008, 11:47
Do people just suffer from amnesia when it comes to Winderlich? He is in our 18 when fully fit let alone 22 - to suggest he would be fighting for a spot in the team is absurd.

Precisely.

It's as though some of those games in 2007 never happened.

Jono B
22 Sep 2008, 11:52
Precisely.

It's as though some of those games in 2007 never happened.
....or his last 2 games of this year.

TheDon35
22 Sep 2008, 13:36
Would love to see him up for trade.

If he's as good as everyone in here says he is then as a relatively young bloke, he should have some currency.

Time to move on and make some hard calls.

Smyth94
22 Sep 2008, 13:51
Would love to see him up for trade.

If he's as good as everyone in here says he is then as a relatively young bloke, he should have some currency.

Time to move on and make some hard calls.

Winderlich is capable of being a very good player, we have seen it, some of us choose to forget it, or are completely ignorant.

He offers 120 minutes of hard, fast running attacking and defensively with good kicking skills.

People look to his contribution overall and say he has underachieved given his current age (compared to players like Bartel), but they fail to recognise that he has had only one, just one uninterrupted season (2007), and in that very season he delivered his very best football.

He is still young and has only played 56 games, so there is definitely scope for improvement. Essendon would be folly to trade Winderlich away, look at a similar type player in Chance Bateman who was exactly in the same position as Jason Winderlich, Bateman is now extremely vital to Hawthorn's midfield, who happen to be challenging for a flag this Saturday.

TheDon35
22 Sep 2008, 14:43
Winderlich is capable of being a very good player, we have seen it, some of us choose to forget it, or are completely ignorant.

He offers 120 minutes of hard, fast running attacking and defensively with good kicking skills.

People look to his contribution overall and say he has underachieved given his current age (compared to players like Bartel), but they fail to recognise that he has had only one, just one uninterrupted season (2007), and in that very season he delivered his very best football.

He is still young and has only played 56 games, so there is definitely scope for improvement. Essendon would be folly to trade Winderlich away, look at a similar type player in Chance Bateman who was exactly in the same position as Jason Winderlich, Bateman is now extremely vital to Hawthorn's midfield, who happen to be challenging for a flag this Saturday.

Beg to differ, I would say that we'd be folly not to look at any trade for a middle age player that could benefit our return to the top. If the right trade were offered for him, we should accept it.

Just because he's showed a bit of promise shouldn't make him untouchable.

bomba4eva
22 Sep 2008, 14:56
Winderlich's trade value would be at its lowest now so it is a stupid proposition. At full fitness I'd much prefer him at our club then having released him for a pick between 15-25 yet alone the pick 40-50 we'd get for him currently.

Slattery_20
24 Sep 2008, 01:22
Beg to differ, I would say that we'd be folly not to look at any trade for a middle age player that could benefit our return to the top. If the right trade were offered for him, we should accept it.

Just because he's showed a bit of promise shouldn't make him untouchable.
Well yeah
He'd fetch between 3 and 4 fifths of **** all at the moment, & so not worth trading

Clubs are unwilling to take on injury cases from other clubs
cf Steve Johnson, failed a medical from Collingwood & Essendon a few years back (although whether it was sunscreen related ankle I'm not entirely sure)