View Full Version : 9. Adam Ramanauskas
Inspirational.
Nothing more, I've lost family to cancer (as I'm sure others who post here have), and seeing him ot there is nothing short of remarkable. It was an honour to be at his first comeback match, and now to witness his second, well I did have a tear in my eye.
Bombs Away
17 Jul 2007, 13:56
A class act both on and off the field, just a pitty that like hird injuries have cruelled us of his best years.
Pawtucket Patriot
17 Jul 2007, 17:45
His skills are sublime and he is so cool under pressure. Once he gets his match fitness up he will cause many problems for the opposition.
What role do people see Rama taking on in 2008?
Personally, I'd like to see him running off half back and delivering to CHF with his neat skills.
Alternatively, he could well be used as a small defender, a tagger or even an impact player through the centre.
It'll be great to see a fit Rama back running around. You never know, he might surprise us a bit with his output next season.
loopy_cam
22 Dec 2007, 20:29
I might be wrong but wasn't he high up in the B & F in his last full year.
Hopefully he can get back to the form he had in the early 2000s. He could be a real asset for us this year. Not only on the field but giving guidance to the younger guys.
the collingwood v essendon game was on foxtel last night and there were patches of play where you could see rama has just as much class as anybody on our list. if he can get back to his best he will be a very handy addition to our side
And it was Rama that sparked us through the midfield in the Carlton game at different times.
He certainly can still play football.
[LEFT]Rama spreading the word in South Africa
2:20 PM Sat 22 December, 2007 |
By Mic Cullen
Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network
ESSENDON premiership player Adam Ramanauskas is spreading the football gospel in South Africa as the AFL ramps up its push into that country.The 27-year-old is providing expert coaching at an AFL South Africa high-performance training camp in Pretoria.
The camp is the first event of its kind, with 40 young hopefuls from 20 locations across South Africa attending. At least six of those players will be selected to represent the South Africa under-19s when they play a team on the upcoming AFL Indigenous Youth tour of the country next year.
AFL South Africa Head Coach Mtutuzeli Hlomela said it was a great opportunity for the youngsters.
“The chance to play at SuperSport Park in a curtain-raiser to the AFL Challenge match between Fremantle and Carlton has provided great incentive for these young players to try their best over the two-day camp with some encouraging results. We are looking forward to unearthing some new talent to compliment the strong base we already have at under-19 level,” he said.
Ramanauskas said the speed at which the players absorbed the coaching was amazing.
"Look, their skill level is very raw, but there's some kids who have picked it up really fast," he said. "Some of the drills I did with them yesterday, the improvement from start to finish was amazing. Once I demonstrated how to do it, they would just continually do it.
"The kids have been fantastic. I had a full day with them yesterday and their enthusiasm and willingness to learn is just amazing.
"They just love the shape of the ball and the pace of the game.
"I was eating my lunch yesterday and the kids finished early so they were back out on the field, practicing again. They just want to learn.
"It's made my time and my job here so much easier – they just want to learn. They're like little sponges – they just want to learn as much as they can about our game."
The AFL's push into South African continues early next year with Collingwood travelling to the North West Province in January for a training camp in Potchefstroom before heading to Capetown in the Western Province for a community camp.
Then on February 2, Carlton and Fremantle will play an exhibition match at Supersport Stadium in Pretoria after Community Camp visits into the North West Province and Gauteng.
The exhibition match will also feature a curtain-raiser fixture between the AFL under-16 Indigenous team and the South African Youth team as the focus on development continues.
To complete an exciting six months, the AIS-AFL Academy squad will tour South Africa in March/April 2008.
http://www.afl.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=208&newsId=54472
Windas_Magic
23 Dec 2007, 10:13
Thats why Rama is such a great person, he always gets out of his way to help others, especially kids.
Big Blow Hard
23 Dec 2007, 13:47
Rama is now and will remain the HEART of the Essendon football club. If any players need inspiration for whatever reason, the don't have to look too far at all. :)
Bomber Billy
17 Jan 2008, 18:31
Can anyone recall what Rama was like at the fitness side of football. Like would he be a standout in the 3km, etc. Haven't heard anything about him this pre-season. Does it take a while to regain full fitness after cancer or is Rama just not much of an athlete?
Rama was a very good midfielder, running in between the 50 marks delivering the ball perfectly most of the time.
He has every chance of being a very fit midfielder for season '08
Smyth94
18 Jan 2008, 06:01
The forgotten player...
BF carries on about how we lack a superstar midfielder however Rama is that superstar midfielder, such a shame that his best footy was so cruelly taken away from him - alas he is healthy now and that is all that matters :thumbsu:
I still believe that he can be very, very good for us
Longy413
18 Jan 2008, 08:01
Rotations will help his cause, plus his ability to play half back and half forward.
His skills haven't dropped at all, neither has his want.
Looking forward to seeing him surprise everyone, myself included.
twice in the last quarter he was outmarked by dal santo and birss which was very costly. i reckon he lost his spot for round 1
windyhill
24 Mar 2008, 19:31
I`ve mentioned it elsewhere I`ll mention it again, 15 clubs got all warm and fuzzy " Yeah we`ll let Essendon rookie list Rama, no worries" It will bite all 15 clubs on the arse. Best hands in the league.
warney7
24 Mar 2008, 19:34
He showed in patches last year that he will again be a very, very good footballer.
He brings a lot of class to our side, and has always been underrated!
He's in my dreamteam midfield and scored 98 today! :)
After a full pre season, he is clearly in our best 22 and with form like today, will play all 22 if fit!
GO RAMA!
The Dustbin
24 Mar 2008, 19:36
Rama was excellent today. Well balanced and used the ball well. :thumbsu:
What a legend... That half back-line has never looked so good!
WindyHillWatcher
24 Mar 2008, 19:36
rama was pretty solid today. his experience and expertise showed when it counted. congratulations on a good win and good luck to you again this year rama. always been a big fan mate
SirJimi05
24 Mar 2008, 19:40
We have missed his poise and clean skills coming out of defence.
Good to see the inspirational one back playing good footy.
Schmick
24 Mar 2008, 19:44
He was absolutely magnificent today. Was impressed with his defensive skills that went along with his silky skills.
WindyHillWatcher
24 Mar 2008, 19:48
He was absolutely magnificent today. Was impressed with his defensive skills that went along with his silky skills.
thats exactly it mate! well said. Never give up Rama, we're always behind you mate
Was absolutely sensational today.
I think his 2004 form, on the back of no Pre-season, clouds people's memories of how good he can be.
He hasn't yet hit the heights of his early 2003 form or his 2002 form, but he's the fittest he's been since then and he'll only get better and better as the season goes on.
Look forward to watching him.
caboose
24 Mar 2008, 20:01
I`ve mentioned it elsewhere I`ll mention it again, 15 clubs got all warm and fuzzy " Yeah we`ll let Essendon rookie list Rama, no worries" It will bite all 15 clubs on the arse. Best hands in the league.
This should never be an issue of whether "it will bite all 15 clubs on the arse". Each of the clubs took a position that was decent and principled and should be commended for it, not ridiculed.
As for Rama's performance today .. tremendous. Great to see him going so well. He deserves everything in the way of good things that come to him. Terrific footballer, and a great human being.
BABYBOMBERS2007
24 Mar 2008, 20:29
Fantastic game today.
What 15 clubs did that was decent and respectful was done for Rama, not the Essendon Football Club and not for Bombers fans.
Rama has earned that respect and not one opposition club would wish him any less than an ongoing football career with individual success.
Beat me to it WH with this thread title...
Outstanding performance today from the kid from Noble Park:thumbsu:
Minglis
25 Mar 2008, 09:48
The year before his diagnosis my circle of bomber fans had him pegged as captain in waiting.
That might not happen but the player is still there, good to see him back and playing great footy :)
DonMania#5
25 Mar 2008, 12:13
Was spectacular, well done Rama :thumbsu:
windyhill
25 Mar 2008, 20:16
This should never be an issue of whether "it will bite all 15 clubs on the arse". Each of the clubs took a position that was decent and principled and should be commended for it, not ridiculed.
My feeling is that the majority of the clubs were quietly saying " He`s finished let them do it"
NewBabyBombaz
30 Jun 2008, 17:44
Loved his game against the Dockers, his two snap goals were a-grade, composed as they come, never write off this guy. I hope he stays at the club for a few more years, nurturing and teaching the younger bombers all he knows, what an inspiring guy
I have a feeling though that he will be forced to 'retire' at the end of the year.
TheDon35
4 Jul 2008, 09:40
Will probably get hung for this but i'd have to agree that it may be time to move on at the end of the year.
Has played well at times this year though has been ordinary at other times and looks to me that his best footy is behind him.
With the likes of Dempsey, Hislop, Myers all emerging, I would rather see them all huge upside playing next year.
Longy413
4 Jul 2008, 09:47
Will probably get hung for this but i'd have to agree that it may be time to move on at the end of the year.
I tend to agree, but I wouldn't be surprised if the temptation is to see what another preseason will do for him.
Also wouldn't be surprised if he retired given he'll be a father before the 2009 season starts.
He'll play another year and the club will give him that.
You only had to see his reaction to snapping a goal in a crucial part of the game last week to see how pumped he still is for playing football.
kelvin_sheedy
4 Jul 2008, 11:44
You'd be crazy to not give him another pre season.
He still has enough pace in his legs. He still has immaculate skill and has so much time on the ball.
You have to remember that this is his first season back from being out for a while. How many people who do their knee come back and have really good seasons first up?
He looks much fitter than he did late last year and I reckon he can get there after another pre season. He's 27 going on 28 and he should be able to get his body back to a level where he'll be a very valuable asset.
Lance Uppercut
4 Jul 2008, 11:51
^^ completely agree
i'm happy for them to give him another year but i hope they dont give him games just because he is rama
Sam the RAMA fan
4 Jul 2008, 16:59
I would love to see him at the club for another year.
Give him a one-year contract and see how he goes..he still has passion :thumbsu:
Many players become fathers and keep on playing..
but best of luck to him in his decision!
Congrats to Rama...
look forward to the announcement 'Adam and Belinda are proud parents of a healthy baby BOY' ;)
windyhill
5 Jul 2008, 23:49
He still has immaculate skill and has so much time on the ball.
These are the key words.
Sam the RAMA fan
6 Jul 2008, 14:56
ADAM Ramanauskas is unsure of his next challenge. There are few genuine battles left when you have twice beaten cancer. Coaching and an involvement in sport are on his radar, but the truth is he spends little time stressing about the future.
At season’s end the inspirational Bomber is out of contract, but with familiar optimism he is unfazed.
"There’s no concern for me whatsoever," Ramanauskas, 27, said.
"When the time’s right we’ll sit down and we’ll talk, and we’ll go from there. It’s not a concern to me.
"I’m just happy to be playing footy again and, more importantly, just enjoying myself and enjoying a healthy life.
"I’m still young, so hopefully there’s a couple of good years left in me yet."
The Ramanauskas file is a remarkable feel-good story of courage and determination. He didn’t play in 2006 and managed only five games last season.
He started well this year, but the signs were ominous when he was dropped in Round 9.
Ramanauskas admits he was underdone and he decided he simply needed to work harder.
He earned a recall in Round 12 and has since shown the versatility which makes him a valuable member of the line-up.
He is comfortable with his predicament and relationship with coach Matthew Knights.
"At the time he (Knights) just said to go back and get a little bit of form," Ramanauskas said.
"That’s the great thing about him, he’s very honest with his players, and we can be open and honest with him, too, about how we’re feeling.
"So it was no worry at all in terms of playing in the reserves. You’re still an important part of the team.
"I could be back there at any time of the year, but while you continue to just play good football, you let that worry about itself.
"I always miss footy (when he’s not playing), the competitive side of it and the camaraderie of the boys. For me, it was about getting back and that was my sign that I was fit and healthy again.
"And that was at whatever level – didn’t matter if it was AFL or VFL or local footy. That was a sign that I was up and going again as a person.
"I’m very fortunate that the club had faith in me to keep me around.
"Last year was going to be a bit tough because I hadn’t trained. And this year things are going OK.
"While I’m not setting the world on fire, I feel I can contribute in certain areas where we need help in the team."
A premiership player and an Australian representative, Ramanauskas knows he has much to offer Essendon’s young list.
He is impressed by the recent newcomers, particularly the club’s first-round pick last year, David Myers. He likes to see a strong work ethic and is proud "they’ve all shown a real thirst for making it in the AFL".
"It’s quite strange, I guess I see my role to definitely help develop those guys," he says.
"It’s well-documented that the first and second-year guys are the future of our club and we need to fast-track those guys, they’re the real future of our club.
"It’s necessary to help the senior guys have some success before they finish up."
Without hesitation, Ramanauskas speaks of imminent success. The evidence is there – the developing side has strung together three wins in a row.
A rare triumph on the road against Fremantle last week provided further encouragement.
"I kicked a few goals and got a bit excited, which is a bit unlike me," Ramanauskas said.
"It was a bit of a reunion over there with Mark Johnson, ‘Solly’ (Dean Solomon) and ‘Harvs’ (Mark Harvey) and ‘Wally’ (Dean Wallis).
"It worked out nicely with Johnno’s 200th and we celebrated with him. It was really nice to beat them.
"We started the year real well and then we had a stretch where we played poorly. Hopefully now, with a little bit of momentum, we can continue it to the end of the season.
"It was always going to take time for the guys to learn how ‘Knighter’ wanted us to play for him. His style has been well-documented – a real up-tempo, attacking style. But at the same time we had to concentrate on the defensive side of our game and I think that’s what we’ve done in recent weeks.
"It was never going to be like the new coach walks in and we were going to understand what he wanted us to do straight away. It was always going to take time and it will continue to take time.
"We might not be playing the way he wants us to until halfway through next year.
"I think all our boys have got a really strong understanding of what he wants now and what he expects."
Ramanauskas developed a close relationship with Knights on a leadership trip to Japan. He said it had been an enjoyable transition from the post-Kevin Sheedy-James Hird to the new Knights-led phase.
A friend and mentor, Ramanauskas has no doubt Knights is the right man for the job.
"It’s funny, things have to come to an end and you move on, but at the same time we’re a proud club and we try to celebrate our history and remember our history," he said.
"And those two guys (Sheedy and Hird) have been an integral part of it.
"(Knights’s) passion and enthusiasm that he shows to one, the club; and two, the playing group is amazing.
"I think a lot of the players actually work off his energy. The way he prepares the team and individuals for the coming game is just great.
"The best thing about him is you always know where you stand and for me personally that’s all you ever want."
THE BEST STORY IN FOOTBALL
HERE is no doubt in Kevin Sheedy’s mind what is the greatest achievement he has seen during his time in football.
"‘Rama’s probably the best," Sheedy said.
"I believe you’ve got 10 great stories in your life as a coach and his is unmatched.
"Rama’s got one of the best attitudes of all time and just lives for the day."
Two brave comebacks, in 2003 and 2006, have defined the journey of Ramanauskas.
This season has been most rewarding because he has continued his clean bill of health.
"I’m feeling great, obviously I still get my regular checks and I can’t complain," Ramanauskas said.
"It’s quite good to play a season of football without the worry of what might happen. I’m just playing and enjoying myself and enjoying football."
He has also been kept busy working on a new business venture called FitDeck, which uses a deck of playing cards that provide exercise routines for all abilities.
It is hoped they will soon launch overseas.
"I was doing all sorts of exercises at home, but these gave me more of a guide," Ramanauskas said.
"When I learned more about it, I just became passionate about it. We’re a bit of a lazy nation at the moment and we don’t do too much. This is something that is just simple.
"The main message really is the healthy lifestyle and healthy wellbeing as well. That’s what we’re trying to get across to people. There is a bit of an obesity problem and this can help in some way so it’s something good to do outside football."
Ramanauskas is also steadily rebuilding his physical strength with the help of long-time friend and club conditioning coach John Quinn.
"It’s more just continually getting that fitness base back again," he said.
"I missed a few pre-seasons so it’s getting that back into you and that hardens you for an AFL year. I think I’m as close as I can be to what I was, within the limitations that I’ve got."
Sheedy, who was in Perth last week watching the Bombers’ inspiring win over Fremantle, said Ramanauskas still had plenty to offer the side.
"He didn’t even rotate off the bench (last week), he played all over the ground like a vacuum cleaner," Sheedy said.
"Without Rama’s two goals they don’t win. He’s probably a player who you could say gets 75 per cent of game time, similar to (Michael) Voss and (James) Hird in their final years.
"That’s the value of four on the bench and he’s a classic case for why you have it." heraldsun.com.au
While your at it..
check out the fitdeck website.
www.fitdeck.com.au
I am hoping Rama does get signed up for another year..
he still has alot to offer. :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
MadBomberfan
10 Aug 2008, 19:32
I think that will be it for Rama. Thanks for everything, champ. Hoping he will announce it before the end of the year so he can receive the most amazing, and most likely emotional, thank you that he deserves.
May he enjoy good health, good luck and good wealth in retirement. For anyone needing inspiration to provide strength through tough times, don't look any further than Mr Adam Ramanauskas. :thumbsu:
farewell games for johnson, ramanauskas and peverill in R22 would be appropriate.
i think rama still has the skills there but all the treatment and his knee reco have slowed him down and his stamina isn't there. its a shame as he was our best young midfielder at the turn of the century. one of my all time favourites.
we all appreciate his efforts but he was a liability today. as harsh as it sounds i hope he doesn't go on next year coz he isn't up to afl footy anymore.
TheDon35
13 Aug 2008, 16:15
Very dissapointed in Knights's comments on his future last week suggesting that he wouldn't make a decision on Rama's future. That if Rama wanted to go on, he'd back him to go on. If he decided to hang them up he'd back him aswell.
Show some spine, be a man and don't take the easy option.
Footy clubs need strong figure heads. Players need strong personalities to work under in order to improve.
Shocking statement, regardless of where Rama's career is at.
Longy413
13 Aug 2008, 16:35
Isn't he just saying Rama is a required player but will leave the decision to him.
That's way I read it.
Makes sense to me.
TheDon35
13 Aug 2008, 17:06
If that were the case then he's made a decision that he's staying on the list next year.
If he's already made that decision with 3 or 4 rounds to go and on the back of his performances this year (and as a 29 year old next year) i'd be worried about his judgement.
bombaman
14 Aug 2008, 16:54
If that were the case then he's made a decision that he's staying on the list next year.
If he's already made that decision with 3 or 4 rounds to go and on the back of his performances this year (and as a 29 year old next year) i'd be worried about his judgement.
Do you ever write a positive thing about efc or any of its players?
Or is it just your thing? Knifing people in the back.
I wouldn't mind if he was given another year; play him in the forward line, with davey and jetta their his pace wont be an issue; his brains will get him by.
lucky to get a game this week. perhaps the farewell tour has begun......
TheDon35
15 Aug 2008, 07:04
Do you ever write a positive thing about efc or any of its players?
Or is it just your thing? Knifing people in the back.
I write plenty of positive things on here mate.
Obviously your a selective reader.
By the way it's a forum to express your opinions on the club and it's players. We've been pretty average for a number of years now so if you think it's all positive then you've got your head in the sand.
Pevers-Legend
16 Aug 2008, 17:01
Another very poor game from Rama - he is one of our biggest passengers.
Please retire and do the right thing (I don't want him to play on and be remembered as a schite player when he finished).
Play for Bendigo next year in the middle and help the developing kids.
bombers2011
16 Aug 2008, 20:01
Another very poor game from Rama - he is one of our biggest passengers.
Please retire and do the right thing (I don't want him to play on and be remembered as a schite player when he finished).
Play for Bendigo next year in the middle and help the developing kids.
i reckon that's a pretty fair assessment. I think he is only getting a game cos we don't have anyone else. I would be really surprised of he comes back for more next year.
The Dustbin
16 Aug 2008, 23:36
Thanks for the memories Rama.
Looks slower and slower every week, another one where the game is now just too quick.
Blowfly
22 Aug 2008, 14:30
I think some of us have been too quick to write Rama off. Given how much footy he missed, can we expect that one preseason is going to return him to his peak fitness and performance?
I would love him to come back for next season, even in the event of another poor season I can't see his reputation being sullied as Pevers-Legend suggests. Knights is dead right to let Rama decide - he is probably best placed to know whether he can get more out of his body than he currently is.
he's not going to get any quicker or stronger is he??? unfortunately he is just no longer up to it
dirtywhitepacker
22 Aug 2008, 18:44
Agreed, Rama is not getting quicker, and his body would be really feeling the stress after all it's been through. An absolute credit to him, but it would be unreasonable for himself, or others to think that in another 6 months time he is going to have the speed or the strength to compete at this level for another full season. I'd hope he gives it away whilst he is on a high and has achieved all he needs to achieve. Move into a coaching role or play with the VFL affiliate and still be around the club's youngsters helping those fella's out. Think about what his body has been through, the guy is a champion for making it back. I'd be concerned if he thinks he can go around for another year. If he does though, I'd love nothing than him to smash a thousands eggs all over my face, and I'll gleefully lick that egg off my face. I just don't see it happening though... :o
FBDonkey
26 Aug 2008, 01:21
well played Rama. Thanks mate
good on ya for making the correct decison rama