View Full Version : 10. Mark McVeigh

DaSawx
16 Jul 2007, 11:10
The second Bomber I know of named McVeigh

B-Bomber
18 Jul 2007, 13:29
This guy will be ready to go this week. I think he's going to have a bit of aggro in him but he will direct it in the right spot!

windyhill
18 Jul 2007, 13:30
One bloke who you just know, knows what it means to pull on our jumper.

Ryder Is God
18 Jul 2007, 14:51
Underrated.

donsman4eva
18 Jul 2007, 16:16
Star.

hulld
25 Jul 2007, 21:57
bloody champion

he got us back in the game on saturday

look for him to go head to head with tyson edwards

Bomber32
25 Jul 2007, 23:25
He'll certainly be in the top three in our B&F at the end of the year. He has had an outstanding season to date.

Philzsay
29 Jul 2007, 22:39
Another fantastic game today over the crows...

He has really stepped up in the last two years.

windyhill
29 Jul 2007, 22:54
His passion for this club is supporter like.

Darealrath
30 Jul 2007, 00:06
His passion for this club is supporter like.

I could not possibly respect him more than I do.

He doesn't get the recognition but he's playing as well as some who will probably get AA honours this year.

S.C[BANKS]
4 Aug 2007, 18:44
star :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

HighettBomber
4 Aug 2007, 20:38
He doesn't get the recognition but he's playing as well as some who will probably get AA honours this year.

I agree. He beats his aponent every week, no matter who they are, and also contributes offensively. He also consitently imposes himself on the game when we need a lift.

Margim
1 Sep 2007, 20:42
Have to say, I don't know what the fuss is about with McVeigh. Quick enough, does a job, consistent, finally learnt discipline (for the most part) - but I've seen threads that talk about him being classed among the 'elite'. In all seriousness, does he deserved to be rated that highly? An automatic selection in our 22, yes, but elite?

windyhill
1 Sep 2007, 22:47
Not elite, agree on that. Should win the b&f this year.

Sam the RAMA fan
11 Oct 2007, 17:22
He is a gun.

Essendon Vrs Carlton rnd 20 this season..
Stanton was slowing down the game..to wind down the clock..
I was watching Macca and he was spitting chips.
Spit coming from his mouth...pretty much was saying "Keep going,keep going.....I was free!"

Stants did the quick motion of the hand telling him it's alright..siren should go soon.

I will never forget that...he was just so determined to keep going :thumbsu:

Would love to see him as Captain or Vice Captain.

TheDon35
12 Oct 2007, 09:02
Have to say, I don't know what the fuss is about with McVeigh. Quick enough, does a job, consistent, finally learnt discipline (for the most part) - but I've seen threads that talk about him being classed among the 'elite'. In all seriousness, does he deserved to be rated that highly? An automatic selection in our 22, yes, but elite?

Couldn't agree with you more there mate.

Was drafted to 10 in '98 and didn't make a consistant impact until last year. He's in our best couple of midfielders but is not a star. He wouldn't be in the best 20 midfielders in the league. Has another couple of strings in that he can do stopping roles in the middle and back and can kick goals.
That's what makes him a good player.

Longy413
12 Oct 2007, 09:45
It's his heart and passion that people love.

That kind of stuff actually makes other people better players.

And he hasn't had one consistent year, he's had three.

TheDon35
12 Oct 2007, 10:04
It's his heart and passion that people love.

That kind of stuff actually makes other people better players.

And he hasn't had one consistent year, he's had three.

No, 2 good years. Unfortunately the bombers fans benchmark on what is good has fallen over recent years.

Yep, love his passion and heart.

Even if you reckon 3. 3 consistent seasons out of 9 for a top 10 draft pick....

Point is, he's not a star. He's just been a good player for the last couple of years in a very ordinary side. Will be important for us over the next couple of years in bringing the next crop through.

Longy413
12 Oct 2007, 10:21
I think he's been harshly judged for a number of years.

Even in 2001 he was a very handy goal kicker in a good side.
In 2002 he went back and took him a while to adjust.

His 2004 was as good as his 2005, if not better.
He was rarely beaten down back, if ever in that time.

2006 he started to get more midfield time and got better and better with each game.

His 2007 was exceptional.

So it took him until 2004 to play consistent footy. Shock horror, it took him until he was 22 to become a consistent footballer at AFL level.

That's unheard of.

He's had 4 or 5 good years, if you're playing in the back pocket and you don't get beaten that is a good year. You can only perform the role you are asked to.

TheDon35
12 Oct 2007, 10:24
I think he's been harshly judged for a number of years.

Even in 2001 he was a very handy goal kicker in a good side.
In 2002 he went back and took him a while to adjust.

His 2004 was as good as his 2005, if not better.
He was rarely beaten down back, if ever in that time.

2006 he started to get more midfield time and got better and better with each game.

His 2007 was exceptional.

So it took him until 2004 to play consistent footy. Shock horror, it took him until he was 22 to become a consistent footballer at AFL level.

That's unheard of.

He's had 4 or 5 good years, if you're playing in the back pocket and you don't get beaten that is a good year. You can only perform the role you are asked to.

Each to their own. IMO he's been a good player for the past couple of years and inconsistent prior to then. He was beaten plenty in the backline in early days and was riddled with a lack of discipline.

One of the few established good players at the Bombers but no star.

Longy413
12 Oct 2007, 10:26
He's not a star, but he's his career has been on an upward curve since 2003.

His 2001 was very good given the game time he played and his inexperience.

TheDon35
12 Oct 2007, 11:23
He's not a star, but he's his career has been on an upward curve since 2003.

His 2001 was very good given the game time he played and his inexperience.

Agreed his career curve has been on the up which is great. Hopefully he can help pull through the 9 - 10 young future stars on our list.

hulld
12 Oct 2007, 18:35
he has the best foot skills at our club

The Donners
13 Oct 2007, 17:27
Not elite, agree on that. Should win the b&f this year.

I think McVeigh can consider himself elite, his past 2 seasons have been absolute crackers!

TheDon35
14 Oct 2007, 10:12
I think McVeigh can consider himself elite, his past 2 seasons have been absolute crackers!

Elite by current Essendon standards yes.

Campare his last 2 seasons to the 2000 team that one the flag. He wouldn't be in the best 8 - 10 players of that side.

He's not an elite player to anyone outside of Essendon, just a good one.

Don't get me wrong, I like him, it's just a bit of an indightment on Essendon that a player of his standard is in our best 3 - 4 players IMO.

Longy413
14 Oct 2007, 11:25
Campare his last 2 seasons to the 2000 team that one the flag. He wouldn't be in the best 8 - 10 players of that side.

Name our best 10 from that year.

On 2000 output, not reputation.

The Donners
14 Oct 2007, 16:05
Elite by current Essendon standards yes.

He's not an elite player to anyone outside of Essendon, just a good one.

Don't get me wrong, I like him, it's just a bit of an indightment on Essendon that a player of his standard is in our best 3 - 4 players IMO.

Essendon are arguably the most hated club in the competition, it's called the tall poppy syndrome, I don't expect opposing supporters to be giving any wraps to our players.

The Donners
14 Oct 2007, 16:09
Name our best 10 from that year.

On 2000 output, not reputation.

James Hird
Matthew Lloyd
Dustin Fletcher
Jason Johnson
Mark Johnson
Sean Wellman
Mark Mercuri
Damien Hardwick
Joe Misiti
Blake Caracella

Longy413
15 Oct 2007, 20:45
I think you need to reconsider Mark Mercuri and Jason Johnson's output in 2000.

McVeigh in 2007 was better than them both.

hulld
16 Oct 2007, 12:46
wasn't jj all australian in 2000, whilst mercuri was the steve johnson of 2000

Longy413
16 Oct 2007, 13:00
Mercuri was at his best in 1999.

JJ was AA in 2001.

TheDon35
16 Oct 2007, 15:03
Essendon are arguably the most hated club in the competition, it's called the tall poppy syndrome, I don't expect opposing supporters to be giving any wraps to our players.

Sorry mate. Die hard Bomber member here so you got that wrong. Just realistic about our list. I like Mcveigh but to suggest that he's an elite, A grade footballer is simply not true. Yes he's one of Essendons best players but as I keep saying, WE"VE BEEN TERRIBLE FOR 3 YEARS.

TheDon35
16 Oct 2007, 15:13
Mercuri was at his best in 1999.

JJ was AA in 2001.

To put Mercuri of 2000 into the same league as McViegh of 2007 is one of the more laughable suggestions i've heard.

Mecuri was one of the best players in the league in 99. His 2000 season while not quite as good was still sensational and was a better player than McVeigh in 2007. Mercuri's career obviously tappered off dramatically in his final few years however he was a jet in 2000.

JJ was a vital cog of a gun midfield in 2000. I would still suggest he was better in 2000 than McVeigh in '07 even given his better season in '01.

Longy413
16 Oct 2007, 15:49
JJ was a shadow of the player he was in 2001 as compared to 2000.

He averaged 18 disposals and half a goal a game.

McVeigh averaged 18 disposals and a goal a game in 2007 and played a lot of games as a defensive midfielder/small back as opposed to an attacking midfielder.

At the very least, McVeigh is on par with JJ in 2000. I think he was better, but I'm happy to concede to him being "as good"

Now given you had JJ as your 4th best in 2000 (if that was a ranking), then McVeigh comfortably makes our top 10 of 2000 on his 2007 form.

Mercuri's 1999 was one of the best individual seasons I've seen, his 2000 was scattered with plenty of quiet games as inconsistency crept in and continued to over the following years.

TheDon35
16 Oct 2007, 18:54
JJ was a shadow of the player he was in 2001 as compared to 2000.

He averaged 18 disposals and half a goal a game.

McVeigh averaged 18 disposals and a goal a game in 2007 and played a lot of games as a defensive midfielder/small back as opposed to an attacking midfielder.

At the very least, McVeigh is on par with JJ in 2000. I think he was better, but I'm happy to concede to him being "as good"

Now given you had JJ as your 4th best in 2000 (if that was a ranking), then McVeigh comfortably makes our top 10 of 2000 on his 2007 form.

Mercuri's 1999 was one of the best individual seasons I've seen, his 2000 was scattered with plenty of quiet games as inconsistency crept in and continued to over the following years.

The players listed were in no particular order so I should have probably pointed that out.

Happy to disagree on this one. Mercuri is one of Essendons greats and was a gun player in one of the best sides in the leagues history. McVeigh in my opinion is a good player in a poor side. As i've said previously, we need more players like him although just because he's one of Essendons best players, this doesn't make him an 'elite, star of the competition' as some have suggested.

Go Dons!

windyhill
16 Oct 2007, 22:10
To put Mercuri of 2000 into the same league as McViegh of 2007 is one of the more laughable suggestions i've heard.

Mecuri was one of the best players in the league in 99. His 2000 season while not quite as good was still sensational and was a better player than McVeigh in 2007. Mercuri's career obviously tappered off dramatically in his final few years however he was a jet in 2000.

JJ was a vital cog of a gun midfield in 2000. I would still suggest he was better in 2000 than McVeigh in '07 even given his better season in '01.

Agreed on all points. Excellent footballer in the mid 90`s as well Mercuri when he was on diddly squat $

Sam the RAMA fan
7 Mar 2008, 19:41
I absolutely love the passion and determination McVeigh has for this club.

On one occasion,
I remember seeing him (last season) yell and vent his frustration on a player who hadn't kicked to him when he was free..(not carrying on the way Richo does ;))
And the St.Kilda game (NAB) this season, just after we lost,
he had this look on his face..you could tell he was shattered..
and then he punched the ground...he couldn't help it.

He plays to win..his heart is pure Essendon.

(Not saying the other players arn't the same,but Macca shows it more I find.)

Spikey
5 Apr 2008, 20:59
26 possies, 7 tackles and 4 goals...What a player!

fishguts
5 Apr 2008, 21:07
Could be a smokey for the brownlow with 2 BOG, hopefully dosen't get sighted for the incident with fevola.

Slattery_20
6 Apr 2008, 20:31
Problem is, Judd was on the field and hence automatically garners the 3

hulld
6 Apr 2008, 23:00
fev gets the three

retroparty
19 Apr 2008, 16:24
Our performance on Friday night proves that McVeigh is an extremely important player in our team. We are going to miss his skills and ability to win the ball during the next 3 weeks.

The Dustbin
13 Jun 2008, 09:22
The Making Of Mark McVeigh

PRIVATE pre-season counselling from retired Essendon legend James Hird has prompted his close friend Mark McVeigh to instil the club's historical relevance into his younger teammates.

When the tears were wiped away from last year's emotional farewell to Hird and coach Kevin Sheedy in Perth, left in front of McVeigh was the stark reality that the Bombers were in for a tough overhaul.

Then when he stood in front of his No. 10 locker and saw the names above his of Essendon greats John Coleman, Alan Noonan, Garry Foulds and Gary O'Donnell, he decided to make a bold stand in what his Bombers knew would be a period of pain.

McVeigh said he knew a measured speech in front of the club's faithful at last year's best-and-fairest awards about his desire to help fill part of Hird's legacy would self-inflict an inescapable pressure to perform.

Fitter than at any point in his career, the former Sydneysider's 21.6 possessions a game this season are eight up on his career average, but he is also determined to ensure the long list of baby Bombers embrace the club's long-earned standing in the game.

West Australian-bred forward Scott Gumbleton says pointed words from McVeigh to find strength for the club had been a key motivation during his long and frustrating recovery.

In that, it is clear that McVeigh's commitment is already reaping valuable rewards.

Out of contract at the end of the year, but desperate to be a Bomber for life, the 27-year-old wants his final seasons to be his most meaningful. "I have to take that role on as a player because there's a real gap in our club in terms of age group where drafted players haven't come through or aren't there any more," said McVeigh, whose brother Jarrad plays for Sydney. "There's only myself and Adam Ramanauskas left from my draft year (1998).

"I came through an era when the club was invincible and I've seen how good it can be. I was passed down information from your Hirds, your Barnards, your Hardwicks, Alessios, Mercuris and Misitis, who are names you automatically put with Essendon.

"It's who I grew up with and it's how I want to see myself — Mark McVeigh, associated with Essendon. I'm Essendon through and through, it's my home and I have to lead the kids as much as I can because Matthew Lloyd can't do it all."

Ironically, McVeigh delivered Hird one of his cruellest injuries when his knee accidentally smashed through his captain's cheekbone during a 2002 game against Fremantle at Subiaco Oval.

Rather than bear a grudge, Hird has been one of McVeigh's most staunch supporters, to the point where he has now set him on an employment path after football with Melbourne-based brokerage firm Evans & Partners.

But his guidance for life in football remains more immediate.

"After that last game where James had finished, we had some private conversations about taking that next step and trying to fill that void of players who won't be there, himself included," he said.

"He would say a little, but it would mean a lot to me. I would take it away and it would give me that extra 5% to keep working and little trigger things that would ring out when you waver a little.

"At the best-and-fairest, I spoke about James' passion and dedication and taking a little bit of that with you and I knew the ramifications that would have on me because I put my hand up to be the one to take it on board.

"So I went away in the pre-season and put my head down and worked extremely hard."

And through the changes at the club, McVeigh has not had to look far to keep his club focus grounded.

"I enjoy finding out a lot about the guys who have gone before you … on my locker, I've got Coleman, Noonan, Foulds and O'Donnell. You're reminded of that every day when you go to your locker and at least once a week, you tell yourself you don't want to be the weak link in that chain."

McVeigh's frantic pre-season workload led to him tearing his hamstring in round four against the Western Bulldogs, but he has worked back to the best form of his career.

As he prepared to face West Coast at Telstra Dome tonight, he said he rated last year's one-point win over the Eagles as one of the best of his career and one that gave his mate Hird a lasting football memory.

McVeigh played nine games as an 18-year-old in 1999, one game in the club's premiership-winning season of 2000 and then 23 in 2001, including the losing grand final to the Brisbane Lions.

Now with 170 games under his belt, he has backed Essendon coach Matthew Knights to lead a revival. "It's been a huge turnaround in eight years and the list turnover has been massive," he said.

"I understand the potshots being taken at us because the whole club's changed and we'll be judged on wins and losses. But our club is very united in the way we believe in 'Knighta' and the way he's trying to rebuild the club.

"Although we're not happy with the position we're in and we don't like losing and it's frustrating as a player, we're good mates and feel if we iron out a few things we aren't doing great, we're on the right track to developing a team to be able to challenge for a finals series in two or three years."

The Age 13/06.08

Our next leader. No doubt. :thumbsu:

hulld
13 Jun 2008, 12:31
should be captain next season

Spikey
15 Jun 2008, 20:12
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/08/mcveigh-dome.jpg

Spike's angry...:p