View Full Version : 12. Andrew Welsh

Pages : [1] 2 3

DaSawx
16 Jul 2007, 11:13
Been solid, good year.

ant555
13 Aug 2007, 10:24
He has had a pretty good season this year playing as a half forward and keeping the running half backs under control . Has proven dangerous around the forward line . He fell of the rails against Freo yesterday giving away a few 50 meter penalties but in general he has been good at keeping control this year.

kelvin_sheedy
13 Aug 2007, 10:30
Not sure if he's the type of player that can help us win a flag.

Longy413
13 Aug 2007, 14:01
Not sure if he's the type of player that can help us win a flag.

A player that does his job every week and does it very well, has extremely good leadership skills and is hard at the footy despite the scoreboard can't help win a flag?

You're kidding yourself aren't you?

kelvin_sheedy
13 Aug 2007, 14:26
A player that does his job every week and does it very well, has extremely good leadership skills and is hard at the footy despite the scoreboard can't help win a flag?

You're kidding yourself aren't you?

Yep, he does all that but I think he's missing something that premiership teams require.

He's competent at a lot of things but doesn't have any X factor.

I see him as a poor mans Paul Barnard.

windyhill
13 Aug 2007, 16:40
I agree.

Longy413
13 Aug 2007, 16:58
Yep, he does all that but I think he's missing something that premiership teams require.

He's competent at a lot of things but doesn't have any X factor.

I see him as a poor mans Paul Barnard.

Not every bloke has to have an "X Factor."

Sometimes you just need a group of blokes you can rely on to do a job.

What X factor did Dempster, Kirk, Bolton and co have?

You have 22 blokes that do their job every week and you win a flag, X factor or no X factor.

dave_27
13 Aug 2007, 17:54
He has had a pretty good season this year playing as a half forward and keeping the running half backs under control . Has proven dangerous around the forward line . He fell of the rails against Freo yesterday giving away a few 50 meter penalties but in general he has been good at keeping control this year.

Agree, definitely found a spot for him up forward.

Like Mcviegh, he has relished finally getting out of the back line.

danielcanberra
13 Aug 2007, 17:59
Woosha is fine. He is going to shine.

Boris_Bewick
13 Aug 2007, 19:36
Has had a solid year, apart from yesterday, where he was poor and soft. Definitely see a spot for him though. Would be a very good player in a great side.

kelvin_sheedy
13 Aug 2007, 19:51
Not every bloke has to have an "X Factor."

Sometimes you just need a group of blokes you can rely on to do a job.

What X factor did Dempster, Kirk, Bolton and co have?

You have 22 blokes that do their job every week and you win a flag, X factor or no X factor.

Where do you see him in the next few years?

I can't find a spot for him.

Forward? No. We have better options in Davey, Jetta, Lovett, McVeigh + 3 or 4 talls.

Midfield? No. Just can't play there.

Back? Maybe. But we'd rather someone that can run and carry with really good disposal like Nash. NLM,McPhee,Slatts have him covered

He's basically getting a game because we are an ordinary side at the moment. He has no tricks up his sleeve to warrant a spot in the 22 of a top 4 side.

For us to be top 4 and challenge then he has to be pushed out of the best 22 and be used as a depth player.

Longy413
13 Aug 2007, 20:03
I can find a spot for him on every line. He does his job every single week.

The way he took a hit in the last quarter when we were 10 goals down is exactly why he should remain in our side. He does the team things over and over and over again, uses the ball well, takes his opponent out of the game and links up himself.

His performances this season as a defensive half forward have been outstanding and the catalyst in a number of our wins.

You don't not play a bloke who performs his role every single week because he doesn't have some mythological x factor.

hulld
13 Aug 2007, 20:14
i would like to see him go back into defence this week. i reckon he could play on someone like a russel or a jackson.

welsh can take the midfielder who rotates through the forward line

kelvin_sheedy
13 Aug 2007, 20:30
I can find a spot for him on every line. He does his job every single week.

Here's a hypothetical team for next year. Who does he get a game instead of?

B- Slattery Michael Fletcher
HB- Mcphee Ryder NLM
C- Nash Stanton Winderlich
HF-Lovett Gumbleton Davey
F-Lucas Lloyd Jetta

R-Hille Watson Mcveigh

I/C- Dempsey,Pev,Ramanauskas, Laycock

Emg - Monfries, Welsh?, Hislop, Houli, No. 4 draft pick, Bradley

Tambu
13 Aug 2007, 20:40

HB- Mcphee Ryder NLM
F-Lucas Lloyd Jetta

R-Hille Watson Mcveigh

Jetta and Dempsey won't take Welsh's spot. They'll get games here and there next year, but Welsh is a bloke we can rely on and need him in the side aslong as he's available.

kelvin_sheedy
13 Aug 2007, 21:10
Jetta and Dempsey won't take Welsh's spot. They'll get games here and there next year, but Welsh is a bloke we can rely on and need him in the side aslong as he's available.

So we can rely on Welsh to make sure we finish bottom 4 again. :confused:

We need pace and run in the side. We've been getting smashed there over the last 5 years.

We need Jetta and Dempsey to be in our best 22.

Longy413
14 Aug 2007, 09:16

HB- Mcphee Ryder NLM
F-Lucas Lloyd Jetta

R-Hille Watson Mcveigh

Presuming we don't have any injuries....

Jetta, Dempsey, Pev and Rama aren't best 22 players just yet.
I'd pick him ahead of any of them and probably Slattery as well and I'm a big fan of Henry's work.

If Davey and Jetta are both demanding a spot in the best 22, they will have pushed Lovett out of the side.

Longy413
14 Aug 2007, 09:18
So we can rely on Welsh to make sure we finish bottom 4 again. :confused:

We need pace and run in the side. We've been getting smashed there over the last 5 years.

So Welsh is to blame for finishing bottom 4?

Please, if everyone performed their role every week we wouldn't be in the bottom four. Welsh does that, a lot of others don't.

Welsh gives us run, he also kicks goals and stops a good player. But hey, goals and defensive skills, nor toughness and courage aren't important in the modern game.

Smokin
14 Aug 2007, 09:35

Yea maybe, but our real problem is too many guys who are too weak in contested situations, at stoppages or otherwise. That is our REAL problem.

Welsh is one of the very few in our team who you can rely on in those situations.

Generally, when we get the ball, we go ok (run is overrated, all teams look good when they have it, slow when they dont), but our real problem is contstantly getting hammered before "run" can play it's part.

Contrary to your previous post, Welsh is exactly the sort of player you DO build premiership teams around, he is not a weak link. Premiership sides have no, or very little, weak links when it's hot in the kitchen. We have too many. That is our problem.

Im starting to think it is necessarily a personel problem 100%, but perhaps we arent trained in with that blue collar mentalility that others are.

kelvin_sheedy
14 Aug 2007, 10:06
So Welsh is to blame for finishing bottom 4?

Please, if everyone performed their role every week we wouldn't be in the bottom four. Welsh does that, a lot of others don't.

Welsh gives us run, he also kicks goals and stops a good player. But hey, goals and defensive skills, nor toughness and courage aren't important in the modern game.

Come again... Welsh gives us run. :confused: Gilbee, Mcleod, Shaw, Swan, Nash, Corey, Birchall, Young, Kenelly, Gram are players that provide run and have better skills.

He does not kick goals. 9 in 14 games this year. Lovett, McVeigh, Davey, Monfries have all kicked more than him.

He's got toughness and courage but is ill disciplined - he gave away a crucial 50m penalty on Sunday in the first quarter when we were on top.

So you'd pick Welsh ahead of Pev whose been instrumental in a few wins this year and could possible win the B&F. That's a complete joke.

Jetta, Dempsey and Rama have more to offer the team then Welsh. They will continue to improve and push the likes of Welsh out. If we want to be a top 4 side again we need these guys not Welsh to be playing well.

Your infatuation with Welsh is almost as bad as some of the Dyson lovers on this board.... all though some of those guys are coming to the realisation that he's no good.

stander
14 Aug 2007, 13:29
He's got toughness and courage but is ill disciplined - he gave away a crucial 50m penalty on Sunday in the first quarter when we were on top.

Your infatuation with Welsh is almost as bad as some of the Dyson lovers on this board.... all though some of those guys are coming to the realisation that he's no good.

You need someone with a bit of mongrel, and we don't have many. Sometimes it percolates too much, but he's O.K.

Longy413
14 Aug 2007, 13:46
Come again... Welsh gives us run. :confused: Gilbee, Mcleod, Shaw, Swan, Nash, Corey, Birchall, Young, Kenelly, Gram are players that provide run and have better skills.

If you reckon Corey, Swan and Young have better skills than Welsh you really are kidding yourself.

Welsh led the club in running bounces last year from memory.

He does not kick goals. 9 in 14 games this year. Lovett, McVeigh, Davey, Monfries have all kicked more than him.

So he's average a goal a game whilst playing forward.

That's a great result for a defensive forward.

I would have said bullshit 50 but each to their own.

So you'd pick Welsh ahead of Pev whose been instrumental in a few wins this year and could possible win the B&F. That's a complete joke.

Jetta, Dempsey and Rama have more to offer the team then Welsh. They will continue to improve and push the likes of Welsh out. If we want to be a top 4 side again we need these guys not Welsh to be playing well.

And Pev will improve?

Seems like you're twisting your arguement to suit yourself.

Welsh plays a specific role and does it extremely well. He has great leadership skills and lifts others around him with his agression.

Pev doesn't do that. It's Pev that should be pushed out, he has obvious short comings. Welsh does not, good mark, good kick, isn't slow, great defensive skills and does his job every single week.

I don't have an infatuation with Welsh. I have an appreciation for the role he plays and the job he does. He makes our side better.

windyhill
14 Aug 2007, 15:20
We all love and acknowledge Welsh`s attack on the ball. Longy, you said that the 50 he gave away on Sunday was a bullshit 50, I agree, but that is the problem it was so bloody un-necessary, typical of Welsh. I reckon we should throw his name up come trade time and see what un-folds. He`s just a good trier Woosha, not taking us anywhere.

kelvin_sheedy
14 Aug 2007, 15:32
So he's average a goal a game whilst playing forward.

That's a great result for a defensive forward.

Pev doesn't do that. It's Pev that should be pushed out, he has obvious short comings. Welsh does not, good mark, good kick, isn't slow, great defensive skills and does his job every single week.

Davey is a defensive forward and has averaged more goals.

Pev should be pushed out with Welsh. These two should be replaced by the likes of Dempsey, Hislop, Houli, Jetta, Reimers, Chris Masten ;).

When this happens we will become a good side again.

Longy413
14 Aug 2007, 15:42
Davey is a defensive forward and has averaged more goals.

Pev should be pushed out with Welsh. These two should be replaced by the likes of Dempsey, Hislop, Houli, Jetta, Reimers, Chris Masten ;).

When this happens we will become a good side again.

Davey isn't a defensive forward.
He has defensive skills and he can tackle, but he doesn't play in the defensive role ala Welsh. His objective isn't to stop an opponent, it's too kick goals and keep the ball in the forward line to create opportunities.

Davey has also played every game in the forward line, Welsh has played midfield and down back.

Welsh has often this year played on the oppositions best attacking defender and kicked goals himself. The likes of McLeod, Bassett, Malceski etc.

All good teams need a bloke that flys the flag, Welsh does that. Welsh makes young players stand taller, he makes young players better with his leadership.

Only Hislop of that group looks to bring what Welsh does to the table, but he will apply his trade in the midfield.

Welsh is our Daniel Chick.

Margim
14 Aug 2007, 16:13
Welshy rules!!

hulld
14 Aug 2007, 16:26
send him back to defence

TheDon35
18 Sep 2007, 14:44
Andrew Welsh is undoubtedly the most over-rated player at Essendon for the last 20 years.

He consistently turns the ball over both by hand and foot and inevitably costs us goals at the other end.

The bottom line is that if we are relying on Welsh as part of a core player group to take us to a position of strength then we are kidding. Trade him now while for some reason someone may want to give up something for him.

He has been the posterboy for Essendons mediocrity for 4 years. Get him out of the system and give someone else a go.

hulld
18 Sep 2007, 16:16
richmond were keen on him last year. trade welshy and pick 6 for their number 2 pick so we can get cotchin

TheDon35
19 Sep 2007, 08:53
Good call on the Richmond trade.

I'm not overly across this years draft but by the sounds of it, the top 4 or 5 will be huge then then from about 6 - 15 there's not much in it.

I don't reckon the Tigers would want Welsh though.

TheDon35
21 Sep 2007, 07:53
Word is the Dons won't trade Welsh.

We really are kidding ourselves with this bloke. I am sick to death of people suggesting how tough and skillful he is.... Get a grip.

With regard to his skills, i'd love to see the stats on turnovers. He'd be right up the top somewhere. It's not just that he turns it over, it's how scared he looks when there's people around him.

A real shocker. Get rid of him.

dazzledavey36
30 Dec 2007, 14:39
i was at the clubs last night and saw andrew standing right near me. i have always thought he was an arrogent prick but my thoughts changed straight away! went up to him said gday (didn't talk footy) had a photo and offerd me a drink! after that bought him a few more drinks and headed off with him mat little and jesse smith to the pizza shop. he shouted us a pizza and was a really really top bloke! i didn't relise how tall and bulky he was!! he massive! u all probably dont care but i thought id tell ya.
top bloke!

Ryder Is God
30 Dec 2007, 14:42
Nice to hear. Always thought he was a top bloke :thumbsu:

Slattery_20
30 Dec 2007, 14:58
I heard he eats babies
Live babies
you probably don't care

thebigboy
30 Dec 2007, 15:42
Another top essendon bloke:). It must be in the water down at the club.

Which club was he at?

TheDon35
30 Dec 2007, 17:32
Another top essendon bloke:). It must be in the water down at the club.

Which club was he at?

Petty he can't play!

And no wonder he bought you a beer, he's the most overpaid and over rated player in the league.

Windas_Magic
30 Dec 2007, 17:39
Petty he can't play!

And no wonder he bought you a beer, he's the most overpaid and over rated player in the league.
I think you are being harsh. Welsh does a good job week in, week out without standing out. He plays a great role when playing as a defensive half-forward but he also can become a dangerous forward (remember his first quarter against Geelong). But most importantly, he bleeds for the club and his work-rate is always high.

DannyJames13
30 Dec 2007, 17:58
I heard he eats babies
Live babies
you probably don't care

Gees, the rumors are true.

But besides the baby thing alway seemed like a good bloke. :thumbsu:

Longy413
30 Dec 2007, 18:00
Petty he can't play!

Yep.

Gus2Gumby
30 Dec 2007, 18:28
i was at the clubs last night and saw andrew standing right near me. i have always thought he was an arrogent prick but my thoughts changed straight away! went up to him said gday (didn't talk footy) had a photo and offerd me a drink! after that bought him a few more drinks and headed off with him mat little and jesse smith to the pizza shop. he shouted us a pizza and was a really really top bloke! i didn't relise how tall and bulky he was!! he massive! u all probably dont care but i thought id tell ya.
top bloke!

Always great to hear...

As as asked above i'm also interested... Which club?

danielcanberra
31 Dec 2007, 05:46
Duh!!

I've always been saying what a great bloke he is!

His community work for the club, working with young kids keeps him grounded. Plus you need to be pretty special to be able to do it - patience, communication skills, etc etc

thebigboy
31 Dec 2007, 07:48
Petty he can't play!

Very harsh comment on the guy. He busts his guts for the club every week in various positions.

Theres a lot of players on our list could take a leaf out of his book in commitment.

bomberz08
31 Dec 2007, 08:01
Petty he can't play!

no way mate....this season was his coming of age he started to prove his worth as well as mcveigh....he kicked a fair few goals when lloyd or lucas werent deep forward and hew kept most players quiet....how can u call your self an essendon supporter calling him over paid i'd like to see u stack up angainst him in a match...i'll have $100 on welshy kicking your butt

bomberz08
31 Dec 2007, 08:02
I think you are being harsh. Welsh does a good job week in, week out without standing out. He plays a great role when playing as a defensive half-forward but he also can become a dangerous forward (remember his first quarter against Geelong). But most importantly, he bleeds for the club and his work-rate is always high.

well said age your compleatly rite

Not a Wellman
31 Dec 2007, 10:21
At one of the 6 a side cricket games against the aussies he came around the fence and had a chat with everyone he could and so did jobe watson. You could tell welshy rated himself but he had time for everyone there.

If their are 2 blokes you know what type of effort your going to get out of them come game day it's welshy and lucas if you think he's over rated, you should watch his game closer becuase he blocks for people and does the selfless jobs every game. He is always taking an oppistion player out of the game others at Essendon would not do this.

Azzballz Deluxe
31 Dec 2007, 11:45
top bloke!

Are you a hot chick? ;)

Houli2Gumbleton
31 Dec 2007, 12:02
top bloke:thumbsu:

anti.
31 Dec 2007, 12:04
ben cousins buys me heaps more when i see him at the clubs. all types of cool things.

Azzballz Deluxe
31 Dec 2007, 12:15
ben cousins buys me heaps more when i see him at the clubs. all types of cool things.

Dummys?

retroparty
31 Dec 2007, 16:40
Top bloke, my favorite player for essendon.

dazzledavey36
1 Jan 2008, 11:10
nar he is up here in yarrawonga along the lake. the club im talking about are the ski clubs. like i said he was with mat little ex hawk player and jesse smith who was on carltons list.

Philzsay
1 Jan 2008, 11:40
so you shared a pizza...makes you practically a mate...so did you ask him about his night in the house of Hilton? ;)

GreaT SourcE
1 Jan 2008, 11:47
nar he is up here in yarrawonga along the lake. the club im talking about are the ski clubs. like i said he was with mat little ex hawk player and jesse smith who was on carltons list.

Doesn't Jesse Smith play for the Kangaroos buddy....?

Spikey
1 Jan 2008, 11:56
Doesn't Jesse Smith play for the Kangaroos buddy....?

I think the Blues have a Jesse Smith too

GreaT SourcE
1 Jan 2008, 12:01
I think the Blues have a Jesse Smith too

I just had a look at Carlton's list, seniors and rookies, and I couldn't see him there...:confused: It was probably a typo which are easy to do...:rolleyes:

Charliebrow 16
1 Jan 2008, 12:22
no way mate....this season was his coming of age he started to prove his worth as well as mcveigh....he kicked a fair few goals when lloyd or lucas werent deep forward and hew kept most players quiet....how can u call your self an essendon supporter calling him over paid i'd like to see u stack up angainst him in a match...i'll have $100 on welshy kicking your butt

I agree,
But not on the last bit, surely you'd put a bit more than $100 on Welshy right? :thumbsu:

Juddtastic
1 Jan 2008, 12:59
I just had a look at Carlton's list, seniors and rookies, and I couldn't see him there...:confused: It was probably a typo which are easy to do...:rolleyes:

He must have been delisted this year cos their was definitely a Jesse Smith for Carlton last year...

GoDons
1 Jan 2008, 13:06
Jesse Smith was a midfielder for Carlton that got delisted at the end of 2006.

He only played a couple of games, was nothing special.

DonMania#5
1 Jan 2008, 13:40
Always knew he was a top bloke, does heaps of community work for Essendon.

danielcanberra
1 Jan 2008, 13:55
Looks like we are having a massive Andrew Welsh love-in finally.

Next?

donsman4eva
1 Jan 2008, 14:08
About time this bloke got some decent publicity on these boards. Most of the stuff on here over the past year has been negative, which is a shame, because Andrew Welsh bleeds for Essendon. He is the most commited player on our list, the younger players should look to take a leaf out of his book.

jodo27
2 Jan 2008, 06:17

For what it is worth ...Matt Little is a first cousin of a bloke who used to play for Essendon called ...um ...Hird ....James Hird :thumbsu:

dazzledavey36
2 Jan 2008, 17:57
well durr! thats how i knew him ;)

TheDon35
24 Feb 2008, 17:43
What an unskillful, lost, weak game he played on Friday.

Spent the night playing for free kicks and diving on the ground. Pathetic.

When he did get it, he takes that long to move the ball forward - as has been the case since he started, that it became a bomb to nobody.

Fell out of our best side a long time ago and it's about time he served time at Bendigo. He's not going in the same direction as the rest of the side.

DaSawx
24 Feb 2008, 18:00
You're an absolute joke.

Were you looking the other way when he took some strong marks on the lead?

Missed his tackling?

Missed his pass to set up Laycock's goal?

loopy_cam
24 Feb 2008, 19:17
You're an absolute joke.

Were you looking the other way when he took some strong marks on the lead?

Missed his tackling?

Missed his pass to set up Laycock's goal?

Agreed.

I have always admired Welsh. He gets alot of stick but he is a very important player for us.

GoDons
24 Feb 2008, 22:21
It's a joke that this guy isn't rated by all Essendon supporters.

It's not only the case that this guy tries as hard as anyone, he's also a pretty handy footballer.

If you can't see that, you're blind.

DaSawx
25 Feb 2008, 07:02
He set up at least two (Laycock & Houli), and that was just directly

Led hard all night, tackled hard all night and kicked a couple himself, oh yeah, and the players love playing along side him.

Margim
25 Feb 2008, 09:13
Welsh is a gun. Never flashy, always reliable, determined and does what's asked. I'd go so far to say the most consistent contributing footballer we have on our list.

hulld
25 Feb 2008, 16:21
he is not a gun

TheDon35
25 Feb 2008, 16:22
Welsh is a gun. Never flashy, always reliable, determined and does what's asked. I'd go so far to say the most consistent contributing footballer we have on our list.

I guess we're in trouble then.

He's pathetic

Slattery_20
26 Feb 2008, 21:36
http://baysideproducts.com/store/images/victoria_cheval_mirror.jpg

Houli2Gumbleton
1 Mar 2008, 11:07
What an unskillful, lost, weak game he played on Friday.

Spent the night playing for free kicks and diving on the ground. Pathetic.

When he did get it, he takes that long to move the ball forward - as has been the case since he started, that it became a bomb to nobody.

Fell out of our best side a long time ago and it's about time he served time at Bendigo. He's not going in the same direction as the rest of the side.

what did u think about his game this week?:D

TheDon35
1 Mar 2008, 11:39
what did u think about his game this week?:D

Thought he was ordinary. Couple of nothing goals. One was off a rebound from the post so doesn't count in reg season.

Went missing when pressure was on in second half. Takes far too long to get rid of the ball and subsequently bombs to 50 50 contests.

No way in our best side.

Houli2Gumbleton
1 Mar 2008, 11:44
Thought he was ordinary. Couple of nothing goals. One was off a rebound from the post so doesn't count in reg season.

Went missing when pressure was on in second half. Takes far too long to get rid of the ball and subsequently bombs to 50 50 contests.

No way in our best side.

He was in our top 5 players last night. To get 16 possies in a game playing at hf, i think it is pretty good. He didn't play much in the second half either. 2 goals and 8 strong marks. I was very happy. His kciking was very good imo.

TheDon35
1 Mar 2008, 15:39
He was in our top 5 players last night. To get 16 possies in a game playing at hf, i think it is pretty good. He didn't play much in the second half either. 2 goals and 8 strong marks. I was very happy. His kciking was very good imo.

His decision making capabilities are shocking. That is why he takes far too long to get rid of the ball which results in bombs to 50 50's. Seems to be rated only by bomber fans. Every mate i've got who supports other teams laugh at him.

Longy413
3 Mar 2008, 08:23
His decision making capabilities are shocking. That is why he takes far too long to get rid of the ball which results in bombs to 50 50's. Seems to be rated only by bomber fans. Every mate i've got who supports other teams laugh at him.

Are they the same people that call James Hird soft and Matthew Lloyd a diver?

SOT4
3 Mar 2008, 10:23
Every mate i've got who supports other teams laugh at him.

Yeah but they are obviously bad judges, I mean they're mates with you. ;)

Gotta love the notion that a player is bad because people who don't watch him much think he's worse than people who watch him play regularly.

kelvin_sheedy
3 Mar 2008, 10:40
I've always thought Andrew Welsh is indicative of our club the past few years.

A good average player who's more average than good.

Boris_Bewick
3 Mar 2008, 12:21
I've always thought Andrew Welsh is indicative of our club the past few years.

A good average player who's more average than good.

I don't often agree with you (which there is nothing wrong with) but I agree with this.

Has a crack, a great crack, which is why I think he should be in the side, but will eventually be passed.

TheDon35
3 Mar 2008, 14:59
Are they the same people that call James Hird soft and Matthew Lloyd a diver?

Na mate, just people who are capable of judging footy without Essendon bias.

Longy413
3 Mar 2008, 15:11
Na mate, just people who are capable of judging footy without Essendon bias.

Everyone has biases...

Slattery_20
4 Mar 2008, 18:50
I don't often agree with you (which there is nothing wrong with) but I agree with this.

Has a crack, a great crack, which is why I think he should be in the side, but will eventually be passed.
I'm in complete agreement
He's no-where near the hack that some people think, but he shouldn't be indispensable

loopy_cam
13 Mar 2008, 14:20
Named by Nick Maxwell on afl.com.au as our Most underrated player. This is what he had to say.

Essendon - Andrew Welsh
Is very flexible, giving the coaches multiple roles in which to play him in and playing as a real ‘team man’. Kicked goals as a defensive forward while shutting players down and is just as effective in any other role.

TheDon35
13 Mar 2008, 18:58
Named by Nick Maxwell on afl.com.au as our Most underrated player. This is what he had to say.

Essendon - Andrew Welsh
Is very flexible, giving the coaches multiple roles in which to play him in and playing as a real ‘team man’. Kicked goals as a defensive forward while shutting players down and is just as effective in any other role.

He's sh*t... Not in our best 22

hulld
13 Mar 2008, 22:59
he's our most overated player

Longy413
14 Mar 2008, 08:16
He's sh*t... Not in our best 22

He'd make Geelong's best 22.

hulld
14 Mar 2008, 10:02
which premiership player are you taking out clown???

GoDons
14 Mar 2008, 10:32

Rooke, Hunt, Byrnes...

CaptainDavey
14 Mar 2008, 10:34
He has the same birthday as me! Love the lad, wish he played for the Dees. Got such a big heart and so much passion for the club, very admirable

Longy413
14 Mar 2008, 10:38

Can't debate without getting personal?
Pretty petty champ.

Being a Premiership player doesn't automatically put you ahead of everyone else in the competition. Besides that, they've already lost two Premiership players.

He is at the very least he is better than Hunt and Byrnes and no worse than Rooke.

All that aside, his best and fairest results the last two years and his preseason form put him in our best side.
His leadership skills alone and his ability to lift others get him a game.

stander
14 Mar 2008, 16:13
Rooke, Hunt, Byrnes...

Yes, good one pal- Hunt the man who can hear footsteps a mile away. I'd take Welsh, the man delivered from Westmeadows Tigers any day.

Don't worry Longy, they may call you a clown, but to balance the ledger, I'll still call you surly, if its any consolation.

GoDons
14 Mar 2008, 17:55
Yes, good one pal- Hunt the man who can hear footsteps a mile away. I'd take Welsh, the man delivered from Westmeadows Tigers any day.

Is the use of 'good one pal' meant to be in the ridiculing sense?

Just confirming that I'm definately on Welshy's side of the fence here.

hulld
14 Mar 2008, 18:14
i used the word "clown" in tongue and cheek longy.

hunt did a good job on ebert in the granny, rooke provides a bit of grunt and aggression, whilst byrnes is an effective player who provides team balance. they are all important players of geelong's side

welshy is currently being played as a lead up/defensive half forward. so therefore he would have to take the spot of one of s.johnson, stokes, chapman or kelly. i don't think so.

stander
14 Mar 2008, 19:30
i used the word "clown" in tongue and cheek longy.

hunt did a good job on ebert in the granny, rooke provides a bit of grunt and aggression, whilst byrnes is an effective player who provides team balance. they are all important players of geelong's side

welshy is currently being played as a lead up/defensive half forward. so therefore he would have to take the spot of one of s.johnson, stokes, chapman or kelly. i don't think so.

sigh......, good, grunt,effective- take a bow Mr.Welsh.

hulld
14 Mar 2008, 21:20
he doesn't play in defence anymore, he doesn't scare or intimidate opposition players and i would expect any experienced afl player to be effective. but that doesn't mean he has an impact on a game

TheDon35
15 Mar 2008, 09:03
He'd make Geelong's best 22.

Who would he push out of the side at Geelong?

loopy_cam
15 Mar 2008, 22:18
Who would he push out of the side at Geelong?

He is at the very least he is better than Hunt and Byrnes and no worse than Rooke.

All that aside, his best and fairest results the last two years and his preseason form put him in our best side.
His leadership skills alone and his ability to lift others get him a game.

About five posts up. ;)

GoDons
15 Mar 2008, 23:28
he doesn't play in defence anymore, he doesn't scare or intimidate opposition players and i would expect any experienced afl player to be effective. but that doesn't mean he has an impact on a game

He may not play in defence anymore, but that doesn't make him incapable. He was fine as a defender, and since filled a very useful role in the forward line. He wasn't moved out of incompetence.

He doesn't scare or intimidate opposition players? Probably not. But do you seriously think opposition players are worrying about Max Rooke tackling them? What Welshy does do is set a 100% commitment standard out there, and that is not dissimilar to Rooke.

He doesn't have an impact on the game? Load of rubbish. Welshy provides invaluable 1%s, reliable skills, the occasional goal or two and accountability. He doesn't rip games apart, but how many players do? All Shannon Byrnes provided was pace in the forward line, Welshy brings a hell of a lot more than that.

stander
16 Mar 2008, 08:47
Is the use of 'good one pal' meant to be in the ridiculing sense?

Just confirming that I'm definately on Welshy's side of the fence here.

No ridicule intended.