View Full Version : 13. Andrew Lovett
Bit more consistency please
Lovett Lover 13
17 Jul 2007, 17:17
yer really needs to push on and finish the season on a good note
Pawtucket Patriot
17 Jul 2007, 17:41
He showed a bit more intensity on Saturday night, but there is still room for improvement. As others have said he needs to stop whining when things do not go his way and needs to just get on with playing footy. He needs to watch a tape of Alwyn chasing and tackling opponents and putting his body on the line (like when he broke his arm).
Lovett Lover 13
17 Jul 2007, 17:45
doesn't look like he wants the footy enough
donsman4eva
17 Jul 2007, 17:47
And when you are in the clear running towards goal, just run and then kick it, stop trying to bomb it from 50 all the time son!
Crumpler83
17 Jul 2007, 17:51
doesn't look like he wants the footy enough
I concur. Doesn't seem to want to do the hard stuff and gives up too easily. It would be an understatement to say I've been disappointed by his progress this season.
rule of four
26 Aug 2007, 23:24
showed a lot tonight i thought - especially in the fourth quarter. we kicked four goals three of which he kicked it to the goal kicker and kicked one himself as well. is beginning to use his pace when in possession of the ball.
Thought he was terrific tonight. Turning into a real midfielder now and looking the goods.
his last two games have been great.
those of you who wanted to trade him must have changed your minds
dave_27
29 Aug 2007, 20:14
He set up all 4 goals in the last quarter.
Finally starting to take some responsibility in the midfield, and he's going to need to with Hird, Pev, JJ etc not in the picture.
windyhill
29 Aug 2007, 22:45
He is maturing before our eyes. I cringed when he made that Australian team 2 years ago v Ireland, the head expanded 3 sizes. Has ended the season in fine style.
windyhill
1 Sep 2007, 20:02
Brilliant second half of the season.
Boris_Bewick
2 Sep 2007, 15:51
Has had a fantastic last month. Showing a lot more maturity
Will we see Lovett get close to elite status next year?
BurnleyBomber
2 Sep 2007, 15:54
No, he's just raised his trade value.
windyhill
2 Sep 2007, 15:57
He`s pulled his head in. Burnley , the offer for him would have to be a good one.
dodgyJim
2 Sep 2007, 16:07
Same sort of thread was floating around this time last season wasn't it?
Let's hope he puts it together next year for a full season
Darealrath
2 Sep 2007, 16:34
We need to keep him. We wouldn't get near his worth if he puts it together. A lot depends on how he responds to the new coach obviously.
Really needs to work on his endurance. He's a pretty handy player, but would be a much better player if he can run the whole game.
High Ryder
2 Sep 2007, 18:28
I criticised him earlier in the year but now i deff think we should keep him. Very good finish to the year.
thebigboy
2 Sep 2007, 19:39
I don't see the reason to trade him.
Agree with most so far, Needs Endurance and has pulled his head in.
Certainly someone worth keeping.
Really needs to work on his endurance. He's a pretty handy player, but would be a much better player if he can run the whole game.
been the best 4th quarter player for us the last 3 weeks.... appart form lucas scoring 7goals.
Pawtucket Patriot
2 Sep 2007, 19:48
I criticised him earlier in the year but now i deff think we should keep him. Very good finish to the year.
I did the same thing, but after his last couple of matches (including getting a few clearances yesterday and running away from Cousins in the 4th quarter) he should definately be kept. Hopefully he can carry this form into next season.
been the best 4th quarter player for us the last 3 weeks.... appart form lucas scoring 7goals.
Yeah, but hes on and off the bench, I'd like to see him spend more time on the ground.
Yeah, but hes on and off the bench, I'd like to see him spend more time on the ground.Our side lacks speed, thats why we need him and also why Davey was so important and how much we missed him so much for the rest of the year.
Has always had it. Just has had a lot of external stuff on his mind.
That said, I reckon there's a good chance he will be at Collingwood next year.
footy_paul
3 Sep 2007, 14:28
has been showing glimpses for so long, everytime he does i get so excited, but then so let down without the consistancy, i hope next year is his break through year
donsman4eva
3 Sep 2007, 14:46
Needs more consistency. I think we should consider a trade for him, if a good deal could be made, but we shouldnt put his head on the chopping block.
blumfieldisback
3 Sep 2007, 21:53
Has always had it. Just has had a lot of external stuff on his mind.
That said, I reckon there's a good chance he will be at Collingwood next year.
how is he going to be a collingwood next year, why would essendon trade him
this is going to sound really gay, but i want lovett to bring back the hair. what do i mean by this, have a look at these two pics:
http://essendonfc.com.au/images/07/r13-9.jpg
http://essendonfc.com.au/images/05/r3g19.jpg
you tell me which one looks better.
with the hair comes with confidence.......with confidence comes flair.....with flair comes brilliance.
BRING BACK THE HAIR!!!
TheDon35
9 Nov 2007, 05:21
this is going to sound really gay, but i want lovett to bring back the hair. what do i mean by this, have a look at these two pics:
http://essendonfc.com.au/images/07/r13-9.jpg
http://essendonfc.com.au/images/05/r3g19.jpg
you tell me which one looks better.
with the hair comes with confidence.......with confidence comes flair.....with flair comes brilliance.
BRING BACK THE HAIR!!!
Thanks Bruce Macavaney
no worries mate
BRING BACK THE HAIR!!!
IhateMondays
16 Mar 2008, 17:32
Needs a bit more commitment.
IhateMondays
16 Mar 2008, 17:33
Doesn't have the build to be anything but an inside mid
don't you mean outside mid?
Bombers42
7 Apr 2008, 16:32
what a brilliant game he had goal of the year contenders:thumbsu:
Lovett Lover 13
7 Apr 2008, 19:39
great goal, great game, great seeing his run through the midfield again
really played well hope that he can keep his form up for the rest of the yr
Ryder Is God
7 Apr 2008, 20:16
bjMyb6mR0zU
Lovett Lover 13
7 Apr 2008, 22:26
Amazing video thanks Ryder Is God
loopy_cam
8 Apr 2008, 21:43
Leroy was very good in that first goal.
Slattery_20
8 Apr 2008, 22:22
Leroy was very good in that first goal.
And about 4 others were involved in the 2nd
TheDon35
18 May 2008, 18:01
Disgusting. Weak as piss. Non contributor.
Pull your finger out.
Johnnyprinias
19 May 2008, 17:18
Disgusting. Weak as piss. Non contributor.
Pull your finger out.
Trade bait?
i didn't think he was anywhere near our worse. he didn't do a bad job on mcveigh and he tried pretty hard all day.
#10 Tough As Nails
22 May 2008, 01:24
bjMyb6mR0zU
Great stuff
He's almost unstoppable when interested
Just seems to fade out in crucial moments
Love watching this man play nonetheless
Keep him
Windas_Magic
24 May 2008, 23:37
His inconsistent habits of the past are creeping in...
he should do an ad with fabio - i can't believe its not butter...
TheDon35
25 May 2008, 17:51
Talk about sneeking under the radar....
What a soft, front running, selfish footballer this bloke is turning out to be.
Another who as a mature age player doesn't cut the mustard and is a major part of the problem with our team.
Played well tonight I thought but what the f_ck was that kick into the middle of ground at the end? I don't know how many Crow players I counted around the footy when it was marked. Where was his faith in Scotty?
Windas_Magic
30 May 2008, 23:51
One week he's lazy and the next he is committed and looks like gold. Attack on the ball was very good but consistency would be great Andrew
You Gotta Lovett!
8 Jul 2008, 18:32
Just had to put my 2 cents in for my boy!! If you have a look at my name...its named after him! Absolute massive fan of this bloke since that brilliant Anzac Day Medal winning performance! Now, I will also be the 1st person to tell you that he has been a little disappointing at times with his kicking and lack of use with that amazing speed! I know he is already mature aged at 25 but I urge Bomber fans to keep faith in him, as like Knighter said earlier in the year that he can see Lovett being a valuable part of this teams for the next 10 years or so! That gives him plenty of time!! Also, people need to cut him some slack about being "SOFT"!! Look at the size of this guy! He is not physically, therefore mentally, a hardnut! But let me just remind you all of the determination, and commitment it takes for someone to take a player on the way he likes to, now I think that takes a lot of GUTS for a "SOFT" player....don't you?
Talk about sneeking under the radar....
What a soft, front running, selfish footballer this bloke is turning out to be.
Another who as a mature age player doesn't cut the mustard and is a major part of the problem with our team.
Obviously this was said a few months ago - its what Andy has done in the following months that has impressed me the most. He's delivered, and added many more strings to his bow - he has chased, tackled, harassed and gone in for his own ball; I reckon he would be Top 5 in our B&F easily.
You Gotta Lovett!
8 Jul 2008, 18:46
Wow...top 5!? Wouldnt have thought that, but maybe! Interesting to see you said his chasing has been better. That's probably the 1 thing that annoys me about him. I reckon he is the fastest player in the league, but he doesnt seem to get those Alwyn Davey chase down tackles that I crave so bad without Alwyn there!. I know he has them in him!!!
danzan22
8 Jul 2008, 18:51
Our top 5 B&F so far imo would be
1. Hille
2. McVeigh
3. Fletcher
4. Lloyd
5. Watson
And Lovett around 6-9
You Gotta Lovett!
8 Jul 2008, 18:57
I would probably agree with your top 3! Hille has been awesome and should be in contention for All-Australian IMO! Wouldnt be surprised if Ryder and Slattery(if he gets back and plays some good footy) have nice finishes in the B & F! Yeah Lovett probably around 8-10!
Our top 5 B&F so far imo would be
1. Hille
2. McVeigh
3. Fletcher
4. Lloyd
5. Watson
And Lovett around 6-9
Fletch top 3? Bit of a stretch - he's been massive in a few games - he's also been down for a lot - Lovett would be in our top 5
danzan22
8 Jul 2008, 19:09
Fletch top 3? Bit of a stretch - he's been massive in a few games - he's also been down for a lot - Lovett would be in our top 5
You can pretty much gaurentee he will rank top 10 in most games in the B&F, usually being so consistent would get you high placing.
lemon chicken
13 Jul 2008, 18:08
Something was seriously not right with Andrew last night, 6 tackles :eek:. Was great to see.
Has been put up as trade bait according to Channel 10.
SeeTheBombersFlyUp
22 Aug 2008, 22:51
Has been put up as trade bait according to Channel 10.
Yeah, Channel 7 and 9 both reported that he will be traded after Knights has had enough of him not obeying club rules.
Confirmed on MMM later on.
I am still not convinced about all of this though......
Bombs Away
22 Aug 2008, 23:02
Yeah, Channel 7 and 9 both reported that he will be traded after Knights has had enough of him not obeying club rules.
Confirmed on MMM later on.
I am still not convinced about all of this though......
I hope they are tripping cause dont want to see him go until he has a norm smith medal in a premiership team. ;)
windyhill
24 Aug 2008, 10:20
Wouldn`t like to see him go but then again I wouldn`t mind seeing what was offered up for him. Definetly tradeable if the price is right.
Bombs Away
25 Aug 2008, 15:18
Wouldn`t like to see him go but then again I wouldn`t mind seeing what was offered up for him. Definetly tradeable if the price is right.
Everyone is tradeable if the price is right :D
WindyHillWatcher
25 Aug 2008, 18:55
I really hope he doesn't get traded. Although I agree he is lazy at times... his best is shear brilliance that only few in the league can match. it's too good a talent to offer up to another team which will inevitably bite us on the ass. On the other hand... the trade suggestion could be the rocket up the ass that he clearly needs to give 100% week in... week out. I stand by lovett and I don't want to see him in any other colours.
You Gotta Lovett!
25 Aug 2008, 19:33
I can understand The frustration that comes with Lovett....but I could not stand to see him in others colours, tearing us apart! I think the club just needs to sit him down over the off-season and make watch his 2005 Anzac Day medal performance over and over, and maybe throw in an Alwyn Davey chase-down-tackle mixtape! 1 more year I say....with hopefully a full year from Davey and Dempsey next season, I cant wait to see the defensive pressure of Davey, Lovett, Jetta, Dempsey harassing the opposition! Come'on Andy, pull your finger out....please!
essendon2008
25 Aug 2008, 19:36
I really hope he doesn't get traded. Although I agree he is lazy at times... his best is shear brilliance that only few in the league can match. it's too good a talent to offer up to another team which will inevitably bite us on the ass. On the other hand... the trade suggestion could be the rocket up the ass that he clearly needs to give 100% week in... week out. I stand by lovett and I don't want to see him in any other colours.
:thumbsu:
windyhill
25 Aug 2008, 20:30
Everyone is tradeable if the price is right :D
I would say 90% of a list is tradeable.10% untouchable.
WindyHillWatcher
26 Aug 2008, 01:20
I can understand The frustration that comes with Lovett....but I could not stand to see him in others colours, tearing us apart! I think the club just needs to sit him down over the off-season and make watch his 2005 Anzac Day medal performance over and over, and maybe throw in an Alwyn Davey chase-down-tackle mixtape! 1 more year I say....with hopefully a full year from Davey and Dempsey next season, I cant wait to see the defensive pressure of Davey, Lovett, Jetta, Dempsey harassing the opposition! Come'on Andy, pull your finger out....please!
Right on the money mate! :thumbsu:
I think when surrounded by the stars you mentioned and more experienced youngsters he just may flourish, definitely worth keeping him on if only for 1 year... just to see if it's correct.
Just imagine how much it would suck to see him playing in a collingwood or carlton shirt tearing one of our youngsters a new arsehole!
Myers Fanatic
3 Sep 2008, 17:01
I'm hoping like hell that Lovey doesn't leave the Dons. I couldn't bear seeing him absolutely carving up for another team next year...Please Knighter, dont trade Andy Lovett!!!!!!!!!!!
Plus, I think that his year, especially his form upon his return from the mid season suspension has been great, definitely been one of our best since then
probably was our best over the last month
His last couple of weeks weren't that crash.
Longy413
4 Sep 2008, 09:00
As good as gone I reckon.
About the best we can hope for is an early second rounder.
Hope we don't get what we want and we keep him.
Same here.
bomberbilly
4 Sep 2008, 12:46
i dont think we will get what we want for him and he will become a better player than ever next season. he really wants to stay.
If he really wants to stay, it doesn't matter what we're offered.
Contracted players can only be traded if there's a mutual agreement between club and player.
Nuts4Bolts
4 Sep 2008, 16:54
No doubt he wants to stay, but that would have to involve turning up to training on a semi-regular basis. Preferably sober as well.
It's a tough one for me, how do you deal with a bloke with freakish talent but without the necessary desire to cash in on it?
Knights and co. will earn their money on this call.
It surprises me that people are willing to put up with his lazy non existant efforts that he puts in for 70% of the game. Yes he has the ability to run hard and break through the middle but he doesnt do it enough. He needs to be running though the middle at spped 10 to 15 times in a game.
He also can't choose when he wants to go to a contest or chase someone.
He has a great asset in his pace but he is way too selective as to when he uses it.
His selective and lazy efforts are part of what is stopping us from being a decent side and players who don't want to lift to another level can jump on the next train out of town. It is about time we turned our list back into a hard dedicated unit that works for each other and not the soft ,lazy bunch that has resided at Windy Hill for the last 5 years.
Pawtucket Patriot
6 Sep 2008, 10:07
^^ Harsh, but fair ant. Daniel Wells seems to have the same problem and the media is always fairly critical of him.
Slattery_20
6 Sep 2008, 15:32
Such an odd way of showing it though, by not rocking up to training. A new coach (should) always shake things up - where Sheedy would have had patience with a fairly successful project player, Knights may see it as a case of fool me once, fool me twice...
Hope we can use him to upgrade a pick by a round or two.
That way we get another really quality prospect. Then if Skipworth comes onto the list (as hinted by Knights, speculation only, and he would be a late round or PSD pick) we don't lose all that much around that wing/half forward area or in terms of experience.
The trouble now is what we'll get for him in the draft.. I would've like the 'dons to have played their cards closer to their chest on this one. I guess people in the know still would've known that his name would be floated as a possible trade.
Bombertastic
7 Sep 2008, 22:07
I don't think we should give up on him. At least he's one player we have that can break lines and carry the ball at pace. Goes direct and fits our game plan. I would hate to see him go and say we should give him another chance.
Longy413
8 Sep 2008, 09:07
It surprises me that people are willing to put up with his lazy non existant efforts that he puts in for 70% of the game.
He makes us a better side, people understand that.
Lack of effort or not, I think most people are willing to punt on him pulling in his finger out rather than taking a punt on getting a player with equal ability in the draft.
Sometimes, it's just a case of better the devil you know. Especially when the devil is as gifted as Andrew Lovett.
TheDon35
8 Sep 2008, 17:32
Lack of effort or not, I think most people are willing to punt on him pulling in his finger out rather than taking a punt on getting a player with equal ability in the draft.
Sometimes, it's just a case of better the devil you know. Especially when the devil is as gifted as Andrew Lovett.
Hasn't made us a better side to often in 2008.
Not doubting his ability but it's time to move forward and if this means taking a punt to get some young talent in then so be it. Plenty of chances and has moved in the wrong direction this year.
Time to go.
we've been waiting for him to pull the finger our for a few years now - i gave up earlier in the year pointing the finger at him for being a soft frontrunner with no heart who has no place at a great club like essendon.
Longy413
9 Sep 2008, 09:05
we've been waiting for him to pull the finger our for a few years now - i gave up earlier in the year pointing the finger at him for being a soft frontrunner with no heart who has no place at a great club like essendon.
He averaged 18 disposals this season and had only three games where he had less than 15 and only three above 20.
18 disposals a game is a great return for the role he plays and he is in and around his average week in, week out.
He doesn't win games every week, only the likes of Ablett and Franklin do that. But over the last two seasons he's contributed in the majority of games he's played.
If you're looking for him to break the game apart and become an elite player, it probably isn't going to happen. If you want someone that is going to contribute, use the ball well and be part of our 22 for the next 5-6 years then we have him already, why take a risk in trying to replace him.
TheDon35
9 Sep 2008, 13:23
He averaged 18 disposals this season and had only three games where he had less than 15 and only three above 20.
18 disposals a game is a great return for the role he plays and he is in and around his average week in, week out.
He doesn't win games every week, only the likes of Ablett and Franklin do that. But over the last two seasons he's contributed in the majority of games he's played.
If you're looking for him to break the game apart and become an elite player, it probably isn't going to happen. If you want someone that is going to contribute, use the ball well and be part of our 22 for the next 5-6 years then we have him already, why take a risk in trying to replace him.
Because we need to get better and our current crop of middle age players are close to the worst in the league.
Yes he can contribute his 15 - 22 disposals a game and has the ability to break the lines and kick goals. I'm not doubting that. The fact is though that with the likes of Jetta, Dempsey, Davey, Reimers playing similar rolls (maybe not consistantly granted), he is a player we can afford to loose in the pursuit of a better list.
Additionally, he's shown that he doesn't value his opportunity the way he should and his game against St Kilda was one of a bloke who clearly doesn't care about the club.
Longy413
9 Sep 2008, 13:53
Yes he can contribute his 15 - 22 disposals a game and has the ability to break the lines and kick goals. I'm not doubting that. The fact is though that with the likes of Jetta, Dempsey, Davey, Reimers playing similar rolls (maybe not consistantly granted)
Similar roles because they are quick????
None of them play a similar role to Lovett.
The only one at the club that does, you haven't mentioned and that's Winderlich.
TheDon35
9 Sep 2008, 16:00
Similar roles because they are quick????
None of them play a similar role to Lovett.
The only one at the club that does, you haven't mentioned and that's Winderlich.
Maybe haven't played the same roll as Lovett in Essendon's senior side but are similar footballers.
Quick, highly skilled players, good in traffic, ability to kick a goal or 2, good footy sense
You're missing the point.
You are happy to keep putting along with a poor side and finishing in the bottom 5 each year.
I want the side to improve. Taking a risk and trading Lovett for possibly a second round pick is a positive move in the right direction for the club.
essendon2008
9 Sep 2008, 21:12
I can't decide how i feel with Lovett...
I would be disappointed if he left, however I would like it if we got something valuable for him.
Sure he is way too inconsistent and is quite aggravating to watch, however I feel this is a good problem to have compared to lack of talent or being in poor form.
I feel if we can get him more motivated and hungry he will do what he does so well, more often.
We should remember, even if we like him or not, that when he is playing well, the whole team lifts and he has a positive effect on the whole side (on the field at least).
He is a bit like Lucas is now, if he plays a solid game, the whole team lifts their work rate. I don't mean Lucas is not a very good player, but even when not quite right he adds structure to the team. I feel Lovett does the same through his energy.
essendon2008
9 Sep 2008, 21:15
You are happy to keep putting along with a poor side and finishing in the bottom 5 each year.
This is unfair. No Essendon supporter would turn down success. Longy just believes that Lovett is valuable to Essendon rising up the ladder.
Longy413
10 Sep 2008, 08:41
This is unfair. No Essendon supporter would turn down success. Longy just believes that Lovett is valuable to Essendon rising up the ladder.
Bingo.
Well said.
kelvin_sheedy
10 Sep 2008, 09:48
;)
While others like to play Russian Roulette.
TheDon35
10 Sep 2008, 17:39
;)
While others like to play Russian Roulette.
I'd rather be playing russian roulette and being in the game than just being crap each year.
loopy_cam
26 Sep 2008, 00:59
Based on his performance tonight, I say keep him.
Blowfly
26 Sep 2008, 07:28
?
What did I miss?
The Dustbin
26 Sep 2008, 08:58
?
What did I miss?
Performed in the players review on TFS. Did a solo, then team up with Rodan and Holland for the grand finale.
I think that's far more evidence we need to trade him.
From Michael Jackson to that...
Myers Fanatic
26 Sep 2008, 19:03
Lovett is all class! Lol, hes a GUN dancer ay?
But yeah, we need him at the Bombers next year, as loopy cam said, the thought of him carving us up, if he got traded is something that I would hate.
Gun dancer? No. Nigel Lythgoe would have cutg his ass in seconds ;)
The Donners
28 Sep 2008, 10:24
Lovett is all class! Lol, hes a GUN dancer ay?
But yeah, we need him at the Bombers next year, as loopy cam said, the thought of him carving us up, if he got traded is something that I would hate.
Well, it would all depend on which week we played against him, if he played well 3 weeks earlier then we might be in strife... but if it were 1-2 weeks earlier that he played well I think we'd be alright! ;)