View Full Version : 15. Courtenay Dempsey
TheDon35
25 May 2008, 18:48
Get better please....
Windas_Magic
25 May 2008, 18:52
Will probably take another month to heal and i'm sure they'd give him at least one game at Bendigo. I wouldn't expect to see him playing AFL footy until round 15 or 16
TheDon35
25 May 2008, 18:53
Get better pleeeeeaaaseeeee...............
loopy_cam
12 Jun 2008, 23:21
Get better pleeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaasssssssssseeeeeeeee
Any updates?
WindyHillWatcher
23 Jun 2008, 03:28
Any chance of playing this weekend?
Club site says he's still 4 weeks away :(
EDIT: Just realised it hasn't been updated since 10/6
Will most likely come through Bendigo. I'm not the biggest fan of him, but will add to the team when he gets back.
loopy_cam
25 Jun 2008, 21:54
Will most likely come through Bendigo. I'm not the biggest fan of him, but will add to the team when he gets back.
You will be.
He's an absolute gun. If he gets on the park I believe he can be the best of all the youngsters. Or at least in the top two or three.
Windas_Magic
13 Jul 2008, 21:14
I'm really concerned with this guy. His injury is taking an awfully long time to recover and it seems he can't get through a month of football without doing a serious injury.
Will he ever get out on the park and be able to stay there?:mad:
HULK HOGAN
13 Jul 2008, 21:16
I'm really concerned with this guy. His injury is taking an awfully long time to recover and it seems he can't get through a month of football without doing a serious injury.
Will he ever get out on the park and be able to stay there?:mad:
definately with you there i just posed a question on the trade thread.
Can't wait to see this blistering pace come back
If we could get a first round for him, then i would do the trade.
Windas_Magic
16 Jul 2008, 18:07
If we could get a first round for him, then i would do the trade.
Which club would give up a first rounder for him? No one.
He hasn't done enough enough on the field but most importantly been on the park long enough to have much value.
I wouldn't trade him anyway, he has loads of potential and he'll be here next year, no doubt about it. A very talented player who could be a superstar, just needs to get his body right.
Which club would give up a first rounder for him? No one.
He hasn't done enough enough on the field but most importantly been on the park long enough to have much value.
I wouldn't trade him anyway, he has loads of potential and he'll be here next year, no doubt about it. A very talented player who could be a superstar, just needs to get his body right.
Thats why i said IF. i doubt we would get a 1st round for him, but if it happened then i would take it. I have seen stranger trades at Essendon in my life.
stop this crappy conversation now please
TheDon35
28 Jul 2008, 19:04
Didn't see the game but great to have him back on the park. Must have done a few good things.
was a class above vfl level even after a long lay-off. looking forward to seeing him come back into the ones in a week or two
Whats the progress with Courtney?
Is he back playing. Last I heard was when he injured his hamstring i think earlier in the year.
Can someone please fill me in.
Longy413
1 Aug 2008, 10:35
First game back for Bendigo last week, we'll see him in the seniors through the last few games if he stays fit.
if he stays fit.
Dont hold your breathe.
First game back for Bendigo last week, we'll see him in the seniors through the last few games if he stays fit.
Cheers mate
will look forward to seeing him play again!
please get through this week's game
dirtywhitepacker
1 Aug 2008, 16:55
Odds of being re-injured before the end of the season - $1.75
Out with the negativity :thumbsd:
cost of petrol to get down to frankston - $10
watching dempsey at full flight.......priceless
dirtywhitepacker
1 Aug 2008, 20:55
Out with the negativity :thumbsd:
Just giving realistic odds... The guy has had a horror run... I hope all mighty he remains fit, the guy is going to be a gun if he can get his body to hold up, I'm very excited.
go_the_bombers
3 Aug 2008, 19:09
Anyone know when Dempsey is contracted to?
Just wondering cause with CG17 just around the corner they could make a play at him
I hope he stays with the bombers
Anyone know when Dempsey is contracted to?
Just wondering cause with CG17 just around the corner they could make a play at him
I hope he stays with the bombers
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=457183 :thumbsu:. contract till 2009
windyhill
10 Aug 2008, 21:55
Running style slightly changed, still runs like greased lightning but not like a bat out of hell which in all probability caused the hamstring problems.
i reckon he only flicked the sprint switch once today.
very impressive performance seeing as he hasn't played an afl match since round 2
Dreadnaught
11 Aug 2008, 14:27
Fantastic to see Courtney at full stretch yesterday - was the most pleasing aspect of yesterday's game for me. Keep those hammies right and he will be a star next season.
Lance Uppercut
11 Aug 2008, 17:06
could be anything this boy. Excitement level 10
loopy_cam
11 Aug 2008, 23:16
could be anything this boy. Excitement level 10
Agree. If I had to put money on any current Essendon player winning a brownlow. Courtenay would get my vote.
bomber69
11 Aug 2008, 23:21
After missing 16 weeks of senior footy, a return of 25 disposals and 1 goal from 65% game aint bad at all.
TheDon35
13 Aug 2008, 17:07
As good an effort for a young kid as you could ask for coming in after missing basically the whole season.
So many strings to his bow.
Magnificent foot skill
Speed and agility
Ability to cut the lines and break the game open.
Seems to have a pretty good footy head on his shoulders.
Bring on 2009 and the Dempsey, Gumby, Myers, Houli, Pears, Reimers, Jetta, and Neagle show.
The Dustbin
14 Aug 2008, 08:36
Dempsey turns the heat up
Emerging defender, Courtenay Dempsey, has burst back onto the scene with an impressive display in his return to senior football against West Coast on the weekend.
He spent the majority of the day keeping Mark LeCras quiet and was among Essendon’s best players after collecting 25 possessions and kicking a goal.
“At the end of the day, it wasn’t the best result to have lost over in Perth but for me it was just about getting through the game at that pace and getting through it without injuries,” Dempsey said.
“I didn’t think I had that much of the football until I got back to Melbourne and my girlfriend told me. I didn’t think I would have had that much of an impact.”
Dempsey is confident he can repeat the performance when the Bombers clash with Adelaide.
“I think I can go out there and have the same amount of influence this weekend,” he said.
“I feel a lot more comfortable out there so I think I can post another solid performance.”
Dempsey, 20, was drafted to Essendon with selection 19 of the 2005 NAB AFL Draft.
During his three years at the club, injury problems have limited him to only nine senior games.
After completing a full pre-season earlier this year, Dempsey had the football world taking notice throughout the pre-season competition before injuring his hamstring in Round 2.
During his rehabilitation process, Dempsey suffered a stress fracture in his leg which sidelined him for almost ten weeks.
“Injuries were on my mind a bit at the start of the season but I have stopped worrying about it as the season has progressed,” Dempsey said.
“It does play on your mind a little bit but I am doing everything right as far as training and massages and those sorts of things go so my body is feeling pretty good.
"If I keep that up, hopefully I won’t have to worry about injuries again in the near future.
“I am really looking forward to next year when I can put my best foot forward and give the season a real shot.”
Dempsey says he wants to play a similar game to two star indigenous footballers and hopes to establish himself as a regular in the Bombers’ best 22.
“I try to model my game on McLeod and Wanganeen and try to do what they kind of do which is pretty hard because they are very talented players,” he said.
“I am trying hard and if I can stick to doing everything right maybe one day I could be as good as them.”
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=6011
I only watched bits and pieces after half time since i was eating dinner but i thought in the first half he was making more mistakes then proper possessions... Did he improve much in the second half ala aker?
Barnsey3150
14 Aug 2008, 10:48
His second half was a hell of alot better. Made alot less errors and really took the game on. He will definetely be someone to look forward to next year if he has better luck with injuries.
bomber69
14 Aug 2008, 21:11
I see a bit of Wanganeen in him. Which is why im worried about the new GC team:eek:
I don't think we could quite call him the rubber man yet though.
There's a lot of talk that with a Dempsey being a Queenslander he's going to want to defect to the Gold Coast. Facts are that he's a Cairns boy, his home wouldn't all of a sudden become within arms reach.
Climate is one of the few things that I could think of that would attract him up there.
He's apart of our best 22, he's got a place with us and with the Gold Coast not coming in till 2011, he should be fairly ingrained and few guys would want to put that at risk.
This is also not to mention that his daughter will be 3 by then, and he'll no doubt be looking to settle things down now, not merely making arrangements to bail on them in a couple of years.
There's plenty of reasons why he'll stay a Bomber.
High Ryder
14 Aug 2008, 22:07
Could well be the elite midfielder we've been looking for, looked a bit rusty at times on Sunday with a few costly fumbles but i put that down to a lack of match time this year. To be able to finsh the game off so strongly in the 2nd half was a great sign.
Looks like great drafting in 05 with Ryder, Dempsey, Neagle and Lonergan all looking likely to be quality AFL players.
windyhill
14 Aug 2008, 22:09
Gold Coast hovering.
bomber69
14 Aug 2008, 22:53
I don't think we could quite call him the rubber man yet though.
There's a lot of talk that with a Dempsey being a Queenslander he's going to want to defect to the Gold Coast. Facts are that he's a Cairns boy, his home wouldn't all of a sudden become within arms reach.
Climate is one of the few things that I could think of that would attract him up there.
He's apart of our best 22, he's got a place with us and with the Gold Coast not coming in till 2011, he should be fairly ingrained and few guys would want to put that at risk.
This is also not to mention that his daughter will be 3 by then, and he'll no doubt be looking to settle things down now, not merely making arrangements to bail on them in a couple of years.
There's plenty of reasons why he'll stay a Bomber.
I wasn't too serious mate, there was just a bit of resemblence with the two. I am very confident he will stay, he is great mates with Ryder and Davey and seems very settled here.
My comment was in regard to Dempsey's injury problems, suggesting that he may not be made of rubber like Wangas was.
TheDon35
15 Aug 2008, 08:02
The club needs to do whatever it takes to keep him. If he were to go to GC it would be our worst player loss since Hardwick and probably prove to be worse than that.
Absolutely critical to our next premiership challenge.
bombers2011
16 Aug 2008, 21:03
Knights loves him too much to let him go. Today's injury was a real heartbreaker. I really hope he has a killer pre season and toughens himself up a bit. Maybe our new fitness coach will have a vision for him? We'll see. He is definitely a gun!
Pevers-Legend
16 Aug 2008, 21:08
Gold Coast hovering.
Would take a priority pick for him in a heartbeat. All the talent in the world with a body which won't accomodate. If Gumbleton follows his path heaven help us.:(
kelvin_sheedy
16 Aug 2008, 21:17
Don't think he'll make it now.
Perennially injured and will never string enough games together to develop properly.
windyhill
16 Aug 2008, 23:51
Running style slightly changed, still runs like greased lightning but not like a bat out of hell which in all probability caused the hamstring problems.
What a ****ing joke.
dirtywhitepacker
17 Aug 2008, 00:18
Gheez, no one wanted a piece of that? I thought they were very good odds.
Trying to see this in the lightest possible way. But **** this. Why did he even have to play the remaining games of this season? I said it weeks ago. Leave him and some others off the park, let them get to ABSOLUTE 100% fitness. The Risk > Benefit. I shed a tear for the bloke when he went down the race, a ****ing shame. I hope the bloke can lift himself back up, but it's going to be hard. VERY hard. Prove us wrong mate. :(
Windas_Magic
18 Aug 2008, 21:48
Does anyone think the main reason why he is always injured is because of his body size? He is 185cm yet only 77kg. He is very skinny and has very little muscle with not much protection to his bones. If you look at his legs they are like sticks. I don't know, but he definitely needs to add some muscle if he wants to play AFL
TheDon35
21 Aug 2008, 16:12
Unbelievable... How do you break your leg just running along... The most frustrating run of injuries I can remember given this kids talent.
Longy413
21 Aug 2008, 16:15
The club needs to do whatever it takes to keep him. If he were to go to GC it would be our worst player loss since Hardwick and probably prove to be worse than that.
We got Welsh out of the deal, so wasn't all bad in the end ;)
Whispers
19 Sep 2008, 12:12
Just wondering what you think of him? Unlucky I know but is there still a future for him?
Smyth94
19 Sep 2008, 12:23
He could become a very good player if he could get on the park with any sort of consistency
ATM he's looking more damaged goods than a very good player, hopefully that can turn around.
DapperDon
19 Sep 2008, 12:31
I gave up on him after his latest injury, if he can't even run without breaking his leg then he's not cut out for top level football.
Just wasting a spot on our list I feel.
Pawtucket Patriot
19 Sep 2008, 12:32
I think he is good. :cool:
Pawtucket Patriot
19 Sep 2008, 12:34
I gave up on him after his latest injury, if he can't even run without breaking his leg then he's not cut out for top level football.
Just wasting a spot on our list I feel.
Considering the amount of time Johns and Dyson have been given, I think he deserves a bit more time.
Centurion
19 Sep 2008, 12:53
Considering the amount of time Johns and Dyson have been given, I think he deserves a bit more time.
That has been the whole problem.
When your part of this cut throat business, you can't afford to dish out charity.
Hence mediocrity creeps in.
Don Envy
19 Sep 2008, 13:15
Given that we have a few players in the same mould, I think he might be given one more year to prove himself, otherwise he might be heading to the GC in his home state.
Midnight Vultures
19 Sep 2008, 13:16
That has been the whole problem.
When your part of this cut throat business, you can't afford to dish out charity.
Hence mediocrity creeps in.
Except the few times Dempsey has played he's been excellent, unlike Johns. 25 or so disposals and a goal in his comeback game after 16 weeks on the sidelines? That's proof for me that we should persevere.
B-Bomber
19 Sep 2008, 13:18
I think that at worst if he gets his body right he'll be a rich mans Jordan McMahon. At best he could be anything.
I think that it would be highly negligent of the EFC to give up on one that is as talented as Dempsey Especially since he has shown that it is not drive and willingness to put in the effort that is his problem. Its two parts luck and probably one part genetics at this point and with the right management and better luck (which is bound to come) I'm sure he can overcome his issues.
I agree that players like Dyson and (maybe) Johns were given too long but they have not shown the potential talent of Dempsey!
dave_27
19 Sep 2008, 17:07
His body is a lost cause. wont make it.
Geez you can be a pessimistic bugger
he's quick, skilful and moves in a similar fashion to the burgoyne brothers. his first game back against eagles he got 25 touches - he's all class. should be given at least 2 more years. my biggest concern is we'll lose him to the gold coast - not whether he'll make it!
eth-dog
19 Sep 2008, 19:05
Love him, want him for next 10 years
dirtywhitepacker
19 Sep 2008, 19:26
I'll get flamed for this, but honestly, trade him to the Gold Coast for a top pick. Possibly package him with another fringe player and take one of those top picks off the Gold Coast. It pains me to say it, and trust me, being a Rugby man at heart, from a Rugby heartland also, nothing would please me more that to see this guy crack it big time. But the questions have been asked, and in my opinion answered on the bloke. The body is just not up to all the running. Once again, would love to have egg splattered on my face in 5 years time when this is proven a ridiculous suggestion. Time will tell on this bloke...
Windas_Magic
20 Sep 2008, 12:04
I'll get flamed for this, but honestly, trade him to the Gold Coast for a top pick. Possibly package him with another fringe player and take one of those top picks off the Gold Coast. I
And what makes you think we'll ever get something good for him?
If he continues to play 5-10 games a year, then he is worth next to almost nothing.
If he starts getting on the park and plays some good footy, then we keep him.
Lance Uppercut
21 Sep 2008, 12:02
**** me there's some chicken littles around here.
He's 21 for ****s sake :rolleyes: He's skinny and hasn't had the required conditioning to push his body at AFL level - at this stage.
If he's still breaking down when he's 24 you can call me an idiot, but until then I think anyone who says his body "isn't up to it" is a complete arse-clown.
I tell you, when he's 24 this guy will be ripping up the competitions best midfields, and if it's not the Bombers that he's with, we'll rue it big, BIG time
Lance Uppercut
21 Sep 2008, 12:05
Unbelievable... How do you break your leg just running along....
accumulated stress.
You must have no idea how much AFL players push their bodies. It's the same reason Gumbleton has had his woes.
Giving up now on these guys would be ludicrous
dave_27
21 Sep 2008, 20:22
Geez you can be a pessimistic bugger
Im sure you meant realistic bugger. ;)
You know Im right.
kelvin_sheedy
21 Sep 2008, 22:56
If his body is a lost cause then so is Jay Neagle's. Both played the same amount of footy in 3 years.
Gumby on track to match it and so are Pears and Daniher. ;)
Smyth94
22 Sep 2008, 14:20
If his body is a lost cause then so is Jay Neagle's. Both played the same amount of footy in 3 years.
Gumby on track to match it and so are Pears and Daniher. ;)
There's some severe over-reacting going on here by others Kelvin
The Dustbin
7 Nov 2008, 19:21
Anyone know what the new ink on his arm is?
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/08/20081107_09preseason41.jpg
looks to be in superb nick
Jonesy1987
7 Nov 2008, 19:52
Great to see he put quite a bit of size on, expect big things 09:thumbsu: