View Full Version : 15. Courtenay Dempsey

Pages : [1] 2

DaSawx
16 Jul 2007, 11:19
Stay healthy please

hulld
16 Jul 2007, 17:40
it is really sad that he hasn't had a chance to impress as he oozes star potential

Bombs Away
17 Jul 2007, 13:50
needs to get on the park, fast, classy, skillful but injury prone (especially soft tissue injuries)

donsman4eva
17 Jul 2007, 17:23
he still seems way too skinny for AFL. he needs to put on atleast 5kgs of muscle IMO

hulld
17 Jul 2007, 18:34
the reason for his soft tissue injuries is that he bulked up too much too quickly over the summer

KING-JAMES
17 Jul 2007, 18:36
the reason for his soft tissue injuries is that he bulked up too much too quickly over the summer

I dont think thats the reason. The Essendon site list him a lot heavier but to me he still looks very light. I think it has a lot to do with his running technique and getting used to the AFL. Look out when his fit and firing though. He has stacks of potential.

thebigboy
18 Jul 2007, 09:57
His goal last year in the practice match at Optus against Sydney where he burned them off and took 5 bounces reminded me of Micheal Long.

ant555
18 Jul 2007, 10:00

He didnt bluk up all that much. He grew a little taller and added some weight but he is still very skinny. I think he is one of the players that has struggled with the increased training load this year.
The kid has pace and knows how to read the play. One area that he is suspect in is his kicking at full speed. He often hits them rather poorly and as a result they go in all directions.
Has signed for another 2 years :thumbsu:

FootyGuru
18 Jul 2007, 21:58
i love this bloke, lightling and can move and evade around opponants with ease

Crumpler83
19 Jul 2007, 13:47
Would love to see him in full flight next year with a clean bill of health and a full pre-season behind him. :thumbsu:

Bombs Away
24 Jul 2007, 15:51
Hopefully will play this and next week at bendigo, then he can have little taste of AFL before the season ends. Would love to see him Winders, Lovett all playing against Carlton in few weeks time (that is when I am taking my little girl to her first game - hopefully she sees some pace and a flogging).

hulld
25 Jul 2007, 21:55
looking forward to watching him play against sandy

saturday, 1pm, channel 2

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
9 Aug 2007, 20:40
Can't wait to see him back on the AFL scene soon. It'd be great if he Sheedy could give him a game in the seniors before the season, if he stays injury free in between now and rd 22 that is.

hulld
9 Aug 2007, 21:31
if he makes it through the next two games in the vfl i am sure sheeds will play him for the last two games.

sheeds loves him, he has talked him up in almost every press conference this year

hulld
20 Aug 2007, 19:20
will come in this week i reckon

Lance Uppercut
21 Aug 2007, 08:54
let's hope so. Can't wait for him to start consolidating a spot

David_Hilley#19
21 Aug 2007, 18:15
Must play in the next two games. A year without playing at the top will not help his self confidence and moral.

ant555
22 Aug 2007, 09:56
Must play in the next two games. A year without playing at the top will not help his self confidence and moral.

And pushing him too early and having him do another hammy wont either. A strong finish to the year with Bendigo will not hurt him at all.He will get a game this week against Geelong which will be close to an AFL game anyway given their list. Then he will have a finals game for Bendigo if he doesnt play seniors. If he is ready then yes we play him but he has only had one game back. I dont think his confidence or moral will be effected at all if he doesnt play seniors as he will know it was becasue of his injuries and not his form.

hulld
22 Aug 2007, 18:56
he has had two games back hasn't he

ant555
23 Aug 2007, 09:50
he has had two games back hasn't he

He has had a combined total of 3 and half quarters. His first week back he only played 30 minutes total.Last week he played probably 20 minutes in the first half and then most of the second half.

hulld
23 Aug 2007, 17:06
yer i know, i didn't realize you meant that when you said he had had just 1 game back

Pawtucket Patriot
26 Aug 2007, 21:02
Played a good game tonight. I think, however, he did his hammstring.

retroparty
26 Aug 2007, 21:09
Courtney Dempsey is an absolute gun!!! We need to get him right for next year. I like the way he can get the ball and carry it out of the pack without getting tackled.

hulld
26 Aug 2007, 21:26
now you guys have seen why i keep raving about him

ant555
26 Aug 2007, 21:30
His kicking was bloody terrible. It is no use him having pace and breaking the game open if he cant hit our blokes with his kicks. Tonight he had 4 turnovers, hit Richmond blokes inside 50 3 times and had two other inside 50's land no where near our blokes. To top it off he runs in and kicks a point from 25 out. All of this in 12 possessions.
Yes he is quick. Yes he is exciting but his kicking is way off and im not just talking about tonight. It has been the same all year and was a problem last year as well.

kelvin_sheedy
26 Aug 2007, 22:05
Composure and speed are absolutely fantastic.

Kicking needs work. If he sort that out then he can be an absolute superstar.

Oh yeah.. and he has to stop getting injured all the time. :(

SOT4
26 Aug 2007, 22:11
Played a good game, and actually contributed to the team with a few of his runs and clearances from pack situations. Didn't like seeing Hocking get dropped but IMO he gave us more than Hocking did last week so it wasn't all that bad (apologies to Ant for that comment). Hope his hammy isn't too bad.

ant555
27 Aug 2007, 09:35
Played a good game, and actually contributed to the team with a few of his runs and clearances from pack situations. Didn't like seeing Hocking get dropped but IMO he gave us more than Hocking did last week so it wasn't all that bad (apologies to Ant for that comment). Hope his hammy isn't too bad.

Did he actually give us more ? What point is it running down the ground like a super star if you are simply going to hit the opposition on the chest 2 times in 4 kicks inside 50 ? Of his four inside 50's two found the opposition and two found open space and where cleared by Richmond.He did not come close to hitting a target up forward.
Hocking while not having a huge influnce on the game was still involved in the set up of 3 goals including two pass's inside 50 that resulted in goals . Even the pass he stuffed up by not hitting McVeigh on the full still ended up being a goal simply becasue he didnt kick it straight to the opposition.
Dempsey obviously has more potential than Hocking becasue of his speed and excitment but he has a serious problem with his kicking and has kicked the footy the same way in every practice game , VFL game and now AFL game that he has played this year and he is prone to doing it on the training track as well. It is something that he currently can not sort out as it keeps happening time and time again.

Eccles
27 Aug 2007, 14:06
Did he actually give us more ? What point is it running down the ground like a super star if you are simply going to hit the opposition on the chest 2 times in 4 kicks inside 50 ? Of his four inside 50's two found the opposition and two found open space and where cleared by Richmond.He did not come close to hitting a target up forward.
Hocking while not having a huge influnce on the game was still involved in the set up of 3 goals including two pass's inside 50 that resulted in goals . Even the pass he stuffed up by not hitting McVeigh on the full still ended up being a goal simply becasue he didnt kick it straight to the opposition.
Dempsey obviously has more potential than Hocking becasue of his speed and excitment but he has a serious problem with his kicking and has kicked the footy the same way in every practice game , VFL game and now AFL game that he has played this year and he is prone to doing it on the training track as well. It is something that he currently can not sort out as it keeps happening time and time again.
I'm wary of posting in contradiction to your opinion ant because I always have the suspicion you know a lot more about these kids than I do... in this instance though I think you're being a little bit glass half empty.

From all reports he's a kid who was late to take up the game and is still very much in development skill wise... as essendon supporters suffering through another disapointing season I think we're just happy come round 21 to see a kid with obvious physical talent having a dash around the park and really taking the game on, and looking as though he's enjoying himself!!

I for one am sick of watching players looking and playing as though the weight of the world is resting on their shoulders. Watching Courtenay last night was a breath of fresh air...

And YES he needs to work on his disposal and composure...

donsman4eva
27 Aug 2007, 14:18
I thought he was in our best last night. Definitly was before he injured himself. He just seemed to have so much time to dispose of the footy. Unfortunately he did shank the footy a fait bit. BUT, I think there is more of an upside to him, even with his poor kicking. He showed composure under pressure, and he has shown he can be good in clearences. He is a player we need. If his kicking improves over the preseason, he could well become a permanent fixture in our midfield next year.

ant555
27 Aug 2007, 16:22
I'm wary of posting in contradiction to your opinion ant because I always have the suspicion you know a lot more about these kids than I do... in this instance though I think you're being a little bit glass half empty.

From all reports he's a kid who was late to take up the game and is still very much in development skill wise... as essendon supporters suffering through another disapointing season I think we're just happy come round 21 to see a kid with obvious physical talent having a dash around the park and really taking the game on, and looking as though he's enjoying himself!!

I for one am sick of watching players looking and playing as though the weight of the world is resting on their shoulders. Watching Courtenay last night was a breath of fresh air...

And YES he needs to work on his disposal and composure...

I am being a bit glass half empty for two reasons. Turnovers are the worst thing possible in the modern game. They simply kill you every time.
Second to that it disturbs me that i have seen the same problem with his kicking this year since early pre season and it has shown no signs of getting better. He has a nice kicking style when he is crusing along but currently he just cant kick at full pace. I love his potential and the way he moves and his ability to explode from contests but i seriously hate turnovers. Maybe it is just the coaching/player evaluation side that comes out in me. If he can sort out his kicking the kid will be a star.

warney7
28 Aug 2007, 22:49
I saw a few highlights of him from Sunday's game, and it was impressive viewing!

He just needs more experience...if he could stop getting injured!

He'll be an important part of our developing midfield next year!

Eccles
4 Sep 2007, 16:36
I am being a bit glass half empty for two reasons. Turnovers are the worst thing possible in the modern game. They simply kill you every time.
Second to that it disturbs me that i have seen the same problem with his kicking this year since early pre season and it has shown no signs of getting better. He has a nice kicking style when he is crusing along but currently he just cant kick at full pace. I love his potential and the way he moves and his ability to explode from contests but i seriously hate turnovers. Maybe it is just the coaching/player evaluation side that comes out in me. If he can sort out his kicking the kid will be a star.
Do you have any concerns about his capacity to rectify this flaw? It sounds as though his kicking "style" is technically fine, its probably more of a composure thing?

ant555
5 Sep 2007, 14:09
Do you have any concerns about his capacity to rectify this flaw? It sounds as though his kicking "style" is technically fine, its probably more of a composure thing?

The style is ok until he tries to kick at anything faster than half pace. Call it ballance or whatever the problem is when he tries to kick on the run at reasonable pace. Given his normal kicking is pretty good one would think the problem could be ironed out but it hasnt looked like being fixed so far this year. Maybe if he overcomes the injury problems he will be able to sort it out.

hulld
5 Sep 2007, 19:24
in the richmond game he did one really nice kick when he was almost standing still. so that suggests that it is just a technique thing when he is running at full pace.

i'm confident that this time next year we won't be talking about any negatives with DC

TheDon35
19 Sep 2007, 09:10
Gun written all over him...

Kicking will improve. We shouldn't judge his kicking on a couple of games when for the entire year he's been out with a Hammy.

Has got all the tools and is a game breaker.. Get on Dempsey. Alot of Burgoyne about him without the pollish at this early stage.

ant555
19 Sep 2007, 17:39
Gun written all over him...

Kicking will improve. We shouldn't judge his kicking on a couple of games when for the entire year he's been out with a Hammy.

Has got all the tools and is a game breaker.. Get on Dempsey. Alot of Burgoyne about him without the pollish at this early stage.

I didnt i have judged his kicking on all the games he has had and from what i have seen him doing at training all year ;)

TheDon35
19 Sep 2007, 17:46
He's been carrying a hammy all year. That's my point. His kicking will improve.

He's going to be a star!

ant555
19 Sep 2007, 18:05
He's been carrying a hammy all year. That's my point. His kicking will improve.

He's going to be a star!

And last year ? Or this pre season before he did his hammy ?
I did training reports all year for another site. I know when he was on and off the track ;)
His kicking problem has nothing to do with his hammy. It has to do with him having some sort of problem kicking at pace.

hulld
19 Sep 2007, 19:25
he just needs to learn to stable himself at the last moment.

however he tried to do that against richmond running into the open goal and he did his hammy

TheDon35
20 Sep 2007, 07:54
Kicking aside.

There's more talent in this blokes little toe than half the other pretenders on our list

ant555
20 Sep 2007, 08:20
Kicking aside.

There's more talent in this blokes little toe than half the other pretenders on our list

That is certainly true. He can play. Just needs to overcome the injury curse.

Schmick
9 Oct 2007, 20:32
Does anyone know where i could find the highlight of Dempsey in the practice match last year where he ran half the length of the field and took quite a few bounces then goaled from outside 50? I tried youtube but i can't seem to find it.

rines
10 Oct 2007, 12:54
I agree with Ant on this one. Kicking skills, Kicking skills, Kicking skills. In modern AFL any team will beat you if you turn it over. I think Dempsey is exciting, explosive and potentially very handy in the midfield but unfortunately it doesn't matter how quick you can run if you can't spot up a target at the end of it. Saying that, I sincerely hope he sorts it out before 2008... I'd love to see him running through the middle and hitting Lloyd a couple a times a game...!

Schmick
10 Oct 2007, 17:59
Cheers Spikey

smcateer
10 Feb 2008, 00:06
"Now we are able to see Courtenay with come training under him ... it makes him a much more dangerous player."

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5570

Best EFC website typo yet! This could explain some of his form over the last couple of seasons!!! You can't play AFL without the right kind of training.

In all seriousness though, Demps is looking more and more like a player to watch in '08. We saw glimpses last year; could be a real treat!

thebigboy
10 Feb 2008, 06:51
"Now we are able to see Courtenay with come training under him ... it makes him a much more dangerous player."

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5570

Best EFC website typo yet! This could explain some of his form over the last couple of seasons!!! You can't play AFL without the right kind of training.

In all seriousness though, Demps is looking more and more like a player to watch in '08. We saw glimpses last year; could be a real treat!

It's a good start but im never fully confident that he's over his injury problems. If he is then we have a superstar in the making on our hands.

TheDon35
10 Feb 2008, 10:52
It's a good start but im never fully confident that he's over his injury problems. If he is then we have a superstar in the making on our hands.

Star Star Star written all over him.

Just stay on the park please. Has potential to become a Burgoyne type.

AJ121
11 Feb 2008, 16:19
Fleet-footed Dempsey raring to run for Bombers

Jon Anderson | February 11, 2008 12:00am

SHOULD Courtenay Dempsey become the household name many at Essendon say he will, the AFL need look no further for a walking advertisement for its code.Born and bred in the rugby league heartland of Cairns in north Queensland, the indigenous speed machine was a surprise omission when squads for the under-13 league tryouts were named seven years ago.
Until then Dempsey had made all the junior representative sides for north Queensland so his promotion came as a shock to the then-12-year-old.
So when his physical education teacher suggested giving Australian Rules a go, Dempsey embraced the new game until it became time to choose between the rival codes three years later.
"I decided to go with AFL because it's the better game of the two, more fun to play and the AFL program was a lot better than what rugby league offered," Dempsey, 20, said from Essendon's community camp on the Gold Coast.
"The way people like Rick Hanlon from the AFL looked after me was first-class. I think rugby league didn't really think they needed to do much work to keep kids playing."
Dempsey's late entry into Australian Rules explains why he still lacks some of the complexities of the code.
But when it comes to pace - look out.
He is blistering over 5m, 10m and 20m and has been earmarked by new Essendon coach Matthew Knights as a running defender, a position where he can see the game in front of him and just take off.
After being drafted at No. 19 in 2005 - a year before his best mate Jarrod Harbrow was selected by the Western Bulldogs in the rookie draft - Dempsey played five matches in 2006 and just one last year after a succession of hamstring injuries.
He admits to struggling in Melbourne early; a combination of leaving his family, the city's winter and a general lack of confidence.
He now says he is "ready to really go", the thought of impending fatherhood (his girlfriend Danielle is due a week before the first AFL game) filling him with anticipation.
"A lot of indigenous boys get taken out of their comfort zone, which is hard because we are very close to our families," the 185cm Dempsey said.
"I did struggle early on but I'm handling it a lot better now. The other indigenous boys at Essendon have helped me get through and Kevin Sheedy was really good to all of us.
"I like the way he looked after Dean Rioli when he became homesick and he did the same for me.
"But now, with my girlfriend and my little baby due, I'm fine and just can't wait to start playing football.
"I can remember being intimidated playing with someone like James Hird until he came up and told me not to worry about who someone is - just get the ball and take off.

"That's what I'm planning to do."

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23191295-19742,00.html

Can't wait to see him play this year. Hopefully he manages to stay injury free.

hulld
17 Feb 2008, 18:53
i'm guessing the bandwagon is almost full. and for those of you who have seen both the nab cup match and the intra-club match, he hasn't used his full speed yet.

DaSawx
18 Feb 2008, 08:59
Will have some up and down moments in his new position but the former should out-number the latter

Slattery_20
18 Feb 2008, 09:00
Is it just me or does he have a bit of the Ronaldinho vampire look about him?

TheDon35
21 Feb 2008, 09:19
Is it just me or does he have a bit of the Ronaldinho vampire look about him?

It's just you clown.

Slattery_20
21 Feb 2008, 10:43
It's just you clown.

My my, aren't we impetuous. What happened - someone diss your favourite player? :D:D

Pawtucket Patriot
30 Mar 2008, 17:53
How long is he out for?

Schmick
30 Mar 2008, 19:00
How long is he out for?
Just a few weeks I think.

Very disapointing, Hopefully this is his first and last hamstring problem for the year.

Pawtucket Patriot
30 Mar 2008, 19:01
Just a few I think.

Very disapointing, Hopefully this is his first and last hamstring problem for the year.

Hopefully it was just precautionary.

Schmick
30 Mar 2008, 19:06
Hopefully it was just precautionary.
I hope so.

kelvin_sheedy
30 Mar 2008, 20:10
The reports stated it was the opposite to the one last year and is only a few weeks away.

I reckon we are telling a few porkies and he'll miss 4-6.

daveyboy3
30 Mar 2008, 20:36
anyone see it? what happened?

Pawtucket Patriot
30 Mar 2008, 21:40
The reports stated it was the opposite to the one last year and is only a few weeks away.

I reckon we are telling a few porkies and he'll miss 4-6.

Damn!!

hulld
30 Mar 2008, 22:09
anyone see it? what happened?

in the last 10 seconds of the 2nd quarter he was running at full speed and in an attempt to dive and spoil he did his hammy.

the annoying thing is that he spent the last 7 or 8 minutes prior to incident jogging around slowly. it was obvious that he was fatigued and if he had been taken off the injury wouldn't have happened.

:mad::(:mad::(

shattered

Slattery_20
30 Mar 2008, 22:39
Quickly turning into Ryley Dunn

hulld
30 Mar 2008, 22:46
take that back

loopy_cam
21 Apr 2008, 12:05
Any news?

Will he play for Bendigo when he comes back or straight into the seniors?

Merv
21 Apr 2008, 12:49
Any news?

Will he play for Bendigo when he comes back or straight into the seniors?

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=9634322&postcount=2

loopy_cam
21 Apr 2008, 15:08
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=9634322&postcount=2

My bad. :o

hulld
21 Apr 2008, 16:30
i can't see him playing in the 2's

Merv
21 Apr 2008, 16:39
I heard him interviewed and he said he will be playing for Bendigo this week.

hulld
22 Apr 2008, 09:50
thats a waste

Merv
22 Apr 2008, 09:59
thats a waste

Not at all.

What was a waste was when Sheeds used to bring players straight back into the seniors to see them do the injury again.

At Bendigo he can cruise around a 3/4 pace and get some needed miles into his legs and some touch.

go_the_bombers
22 Apr 2008, 10:07
Not at all.

What was a waste was when Sheeds used to bring players straight back into the seniors to see them do the injury again.

At Bendigo he can cruise around a 3/4 pace and get some needed miles into his legs and some touch.

Excellent Point Merv

Nothing wrong with easing him back through the VFL

TheDon35
22 Apr 2008, 19:43
Not at all.

He can cruise around at 3/4 pace on the training track.

If he's right to play then he's right to play. He's not coming back from a 10 week lay off. He's easily in our best team and therefore should be picked in the senior side if he's declared fit.

He would be just as likely to do his hammy again for Bendigo than he would with Essendon if it wasn't right.

GoDons
22 Apr 2008, 20:06

If he's right to play then he's right to play. He's not coming back from a 10 week lay off. He's easily in our best team and therefore should be picked in the senior side if he's declared fit.

He would be just as likely to do his hammy again for Bendigo than he would with Essendon if it wasn't right.

At Bendigo, his minutes aren't important. He can play a half, get a proper run into his legs and not over do it. It would ease him back nicely.

A lot better than chucking him into the seniors and asking him to play a match like any other.

By playing him at Bendigo, we can get a full gauge as to where he's at, and play him in accordance, and that's a hell of a lot better than finding him a touch tight at quarter time in the seniors, and having the conundrum of either losing a rotation, or risking an injury reoccurence.

Merv
22 Apr 2008, 20:09

I don't agree with one single thing in that post.

Of course that is no surprise.

kelvin_sheedy
22 Apr 2008, 20:15
Every player with soft tissue problems should come back via the VFL.

No risks taken whatsoever!

TheDon35
23 Apr 2008, 07:05

If the blokes hammy isn't ready to play senior AFL footy, then he shouldn't be playing senior VFL footy.

If it's ready, then he's missed 3 weeks of football. He's not coming back from a knee reconstruction.

A vast minority or senior players returning from a 3 week hamstring return through the reserves.

TheDon35
23 Apr 2008, 07:10

Your don't agree with these facts that were in my original post:

He can cruise around at 3/4 pace on the training track
He's not coming back from a 10 week lay off.
He's easily in our best team
etc etc.

Pretty hard to disagree with any of these I would have thought.

Merv
23 Apr 2008, 09:38

*Correction*

I agree that he is in our best team.

GoDons
23 Apr 2008, 12:05
If the blokes hammy isn't ready to play senior AFL footy, then he shouldn't be playing senior VFL footy.

If it's ready, then he's missed 3 weeks of football. He's not coming back from a knee reconstruction.

A vast minority or senior players returning from a 3 week hamstring return through the reserves.

And a vast minority of players have anything like the hamstring history of Courtenay Dempsey.

Until he's fully stretched out in a match, I'm not sure we can assert him as 100% fit and the last thing we want is a player that can't play his minutes.

By playing limited game time for Bendigo this week, we'll know exactly where he's at. And if he's not fully over it, we don't really lose anything by having sit out the match.

It's a precautionary approach, as it should be with any hamstring injury involving Courtenay Dempsey. The only other player where I'd issue similar caution is Scott Gumbleton.

whirl
29 Apr 2008, 10:08
Out for another 8 with stress fractures.

Lance Uppercut
29 Apr 2008, 10:12

what? Source?

____ me dead, talk about your annus horribilus :(

go_the_bombers
29 Apr 2008, 10:12

:eek:

Where did you hear this Whirl?

whirl
29 Apr 2008, 10:21
I wasn't there but it was apparently from the cocktail night or whatever function was on last night. It's been posted on Blitz.

Johnnyprinias
29 Apr 2008, 11:50
You have got to be joking? :mad:

hulld
29 Apr 2008, 12:28
when i heard this i felt like a punching a hole through a wall........now i have to explain a hole in the wall

bomber69
29 Apr 2008, 21:04
Nothing mentioned about it on the Essendon site which was updated last night.
I saw it on Blitz, but what you must remember about that is that it is a mixture of facts and what people have heard. 8 weeks sounds a bit long, but knowing our luck it could well be true.

Windas_Magic
29 Apr 2008, 21:07
I saw it on Blitz, but what you must remember about that is that it is a mixture of facts and what people have heard. 8 weeks sounds a bit long, but knowing our luck it could well be true.
Blitz is usauly reliable (depending on the poster) and it sounded legit. All we can do is wait and hope but im suspecting it's true.

reincarnated
29 Apr 2008, 21:18
That's good as season ending. He has had no luck at all. Poor guy.

whirl
29 Apr 2008, 22:05
well at least three people have said they either heard Knights say it, or they talked to Dempsey directly but I would love to believe they are wrong.

hulld
29 Apr 2008, 22:07
he trained with the modified group today...hopefully 8 weeks is off the mark but i have a bad feeling about this one

The Dustbin
30 Apr 2008, 13:24
Still no news or confirmation about his apparent stress fracture. I'll take that as a positive sign.

go_the_bombers
30 Apr 2008, 13:29
he trained with the modified group today...hopefully 8 weeks is off the mark but i have a bad feeling about this one

I heard he was absent from training!

hulld
30 Apr 2008, 15:05
he was in the mod group according to bomberblitz

whirl
30 Apr 2008, 18:12
he was in the mod group according to bomberblitz

The Blitz training thread had him as absent.

hulld
30 Apr 2008, 19:00
well there you go, probably not a good sign if he was absent

Windas_Magic
30 Apr 2008, 20:57
apparently he isn't too happy with the Windy Hill surface. Is is really that hard?

dons man
30 Apr 2008, 22:24
essendonfc website have confirmed courtenay has "shin splints"

i am a little worried, as they say hopefully it only puts him back 2-3 weeks, but it takes a lot longer to get over shin splints (if he really does have them) as they are usually an overuse/biomechanical issue.

all the best for him cos so far his body has given him donuts

danzan22
30 Apr 2008, 22:37
essendonfc website have confirmed courtenay has "shin splints"

i am a little worried, as they say hopefully it only puts him back 2-3 weeks, but it takes a lot longer to get over shin splints (if he really does have them) as they are usually an overuse/biomechanical issue.

all the best for him cos so far his body has given him donuts
blow for Dempsey
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/spacer.gif Wednesday, 30 April 2008
for essendonfc.com.au
Page 1 of 1
Emerging Bomber Courtenay Dempsey has again been sidelined with inury after developing shin splints in his right leg. Team Manager, David Calthorpe, said the club will monitor him over the next two or three weeks and, following that, will know if he can resume playing or needs further rest.

"This injury has only just been discovered and it's disappointing for Courtenay because he was at the end of his hamstring rehabilitation and was ready to resume playing," Calthorpe said.
"He is naturally very disappointed but he has a good attitude and will now put his head down and focus on getting his body right.
"We expect him to be close to playing within that two or three week period and look forward to him stringing some games together which is the most important thing for his development."
In other news, Damien Peverill will miss the next 3-5 weeks because of a fractured jaw.
The injury, which occurred during Bendigo's VFL game on Saturday, required plates being inserted in his jaw.
Despite the latest injury setbacks, Calthorpe said the club is starting to turn the corner with Scott Gumbleton, Dustin Fletcher, Sam Lonergan, Leroy Jetta and Mark McVeigh all expected to be available within the next two weeks.

They said they would monitor him over the next 2-3 weeks, so it will probably be longer :thumbsd:

Only a few more weeks until we can start seeing a resemblence of our best side.

go_the_bombers
1 May 2008, 08:53
They said they would monitor him over the next 2-3 weeks, so it will probably be longer :thumbsd:

Only a few more weeks until we can start seeing a resemblence of our best side.

It all depends on how the shin responds to rest and stuff!

lets hope Dempsey gets over this latest injury and gets back out on the field soon!