View Full Version : 18. Matthew Lloyd
He hinted today at my school, during a pathway program to the Western Jets/Calder Cannons training session, that he was going to retire when his contract expires next year...He also stated that McVeigh will be the leading candidate for captain when he has retired in his opinion...
What did he exactly say?
GreaT SourcE
5 May 2008, 22:05
What did he exactly say?
I asked Lloydy, ' Who do you think will be our next captain..? Stanton..? McVeigh..?' A kid from the school yelled out, ' McVeigh's too old! ' Then Lloydy respnded, 'I think McVeigh certainly has to be next in line, a terrific player, wheres his heart on his sleeves and really is looked up to by the young players.'
Darealrath
5 May 2008, 22:34
I asked Lloydy, ' Who do you think will be our next captain..? Stanton..? McVeigh..?' A kid from the school yelled out, ' McVeigh's too old! ' Then Lloydy respnded, 'I think McVeigh certainly has to be next in line, a terrific player, wheres his heart on his sleeves and really is looked up to by the young players.'
You should apply for a job at the Herald Sun. That is a lot to construe from that quote.
And is it from that quote that you think he'll retire at the end of 2009 or did he say something else?
I think he has another 3-4 years left in him (barring any major injury of course) and that quote doesn't change my mind.
GreaT SourcE
5 May 2008, 22:55
And is it from that quote that you think he'll retire at the end of 2009 or did he say something else?
I think he has another 3-4 years left in him (barring any major injury of course) and that quote doesn't change my mind.
No, that's not giving any hints away there at all, it is what he also said.
A kid form the school said,'How much longer do you think you've got left in the game..?' and Lloydy replied,'Well..(Pause), I think I will have a good look at how I'm travelling, form and fitness wise, and where the club wants to head. McVeigh will be a ready replacement when I retire I'd imagine for captain, whenever that might be..Any other questions..?'
It's not so much what he said, but his body language & voice tone didn't look/sound to promising imo...
he doesn't have to be the captain in his last year or 2
Lance Uppercut
9 May 2008, 12:38
he doesn't have to be the captain in his last year or 2
in fact it's Essendon tradition that he isn't...
windyhill
20 May 2008, 19:58
+1 = 848
bomber69
20 May 2008, 21:25
Reckon he will ever reach 1000?
I'd like to think so as he should have at least about 3 more good years in him.
I really hope so, he deserves it.
I'm gonna hate it when he retires. Other clubs supporters will know him as the diving poof. When he isn't. I'm always getting bagged by my mum's boyfriend when we do crap. And he's always bagging Lloyd.
Imagine if he hadn't been injured so much in the past 5 years! He'd have already passed that 1000 mark.
walshy 4
21 May 2008, 20:30
I really hope so, he deserves it.
I'm gonna hate it when he retires. Other clubs supporters will know him as the diving poof. When he isn't. I'm always getting bagged by my mum's boyfriend when we do crap. And he's always bagging Lloyd.
Imagine if he hadn't been injured so much in the past 5 years! He'd have already passed that 1000 mark.
LLoydy has been unlucky in the last couple of weeks his put his hand up and making a extra effort to go in hard but unfortunatly there hasnt been to much reward for his efforts
Gumbleton4Life
22 May 2008, 17:50
I've always thought that since he broke his arm (i know it's ancient history now) but he seems to be mistiming his leads. As in too early or too late, but maybe thats the midfield not delivering it to him properly.
Thoughts?
yeah i think he hasnt been playing all that well since his hammy injury, especially his kicking on goal. Essendon has the worst disposal out of the middle in the AFL which makes things hard for him. Put him in the Geelong side and he will still be a dominant forward, with bartel, ablett and selwood putting it down his throat.
Still a great leader on the field, but needs Scotty Lucas back to play the traditional CHF role, Lloydy is better closer to home.
cbreban
25 May 2008, 00:10
+4 = 852
rule of four
25 May 2008, 00:46
Sitting at the footy it really annoys me when 'supporters' pay out on lloyd, when he is one of the few always trying out there
He cops a lot of close attention, and umpires are reluctant to give him free kicks due to his reputation as a 'diver'. And it really annoys me when all anti-lloyd people bring out this argument. as Dermott once pointed out that Lloyd has the unique ability to, at the end of a lead, jump towards the ball gaining an extra metre on his opponent and unspoilable. Its just that nowadays the delivery is so bad that he ends up going to ground and not marking the ball either
that being said, he still needs to work on not going to ground in one-on-one contests, just like half of the rest of team who seem to fall to ground whenever under pressure, perceived or real.
windyhill
25 May 2008, 01:31
+4 = 852
Oi !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
One thing over-looked from last night...Lloyd got his 850th goal!
Congrats to him!
EDIT This post was made on the main-board where it was over-looked. I see it wasn't here...
matthewlloydwebber
25 May 2008, 13:43
shame no-one followed his lead last night, champion through and through.
He has played a couple of great games this year. If he plays for three more years, injury free he should make it to 1000, which would be great.
I don't mind defending Lloydy to the hilt but it's starting to run a little thin on me. In a marking contest he simply cannot keep his feet any more which kills us because he doesn't take anywhere near as many grabs as he used to. Also, his efforts of putting his head over the ball were embarrasing tonight. I know it was slippery but he was almost standing still and just collapsed on top of it when he felt pressure. Not good signs I'm afraid.
windyhill
1 Jun 2008, 00:57
+1=853
windyhill
8 Jun 2008, 00:18
+2=855
+2=855
This could be a long thread Windy:p
IsDonIsGoodes
8 Jun 2008, 21:28
ill be honest i haven't read the whole thread so if this has been said my apologies :)
lloydy needs to add another dimension to his game, coming up the ground is all well and good but he panics under pressure and really doesn't hugely benefit the team by doing so. im just thinking out aloud (or typing out aloud) but maybe he needs to bring a bit of dog back into his game. a few years back he used to hit packs pretty hard. last night i saw him on the lead, one of the hawks rucks dropping back, rather than hitting the ball hard he took a dive. what he couldve and probably shouldve done was contest the ball, hit the ball hard, maybe give the free kick away but i bet the next time the same situation arose the ruck maybe would at least hesitate, if only for a second
just my 2c...cant really teach an old dog new tricks
bIG_cOLE
11 Jun 2008, 19:59
ill be honest i haven't read the whole thread so if this has been said my apologies :)
lloydy needs to add another dimension to his game, coming up the ground is all well and good but he panics under pressure and really doesn't hugely benefit the team by doing so. im just thinking out aloud (or typing out aloud) but maybe he needs to bring a bit of dog back into his game. a few years back he used to hit packs pretty hard. last night i saw him on the lead, one of the hawks rucks dropping back, rather than hitting the ball hard he took a dive. what he couldve and probably shouldve done was contest the ball, hit the ball hard, maybe give the free kick away but i bet the next time the same situation arose the ruck maybe would at least hesitate, if only for a second
just my 2c...cant eally teach an old dog new tricks
what the should do is trade him for a draft pick even if it a second round pick i think the would still be better off his best is past him and he will never get back to were he was
Ess V WCE:
+0=855
he is playing on darren glass this week. good luck to him.
Pawtucket Patriot
11 Jun 2008, 20:37
Ess V WCE:
+0=855
Who will play on Lucas? Although he has only been back two weeks he is very capable of kicking a bag on Friday night.
windyhill
11 Jun 2008, 20:38
Ess V WCE:
+0=855
5 this week.
DazBurg
12 Jun 2008, 12:22
with lloyd i know his out of form at the moment and what i'm about to say is probly the reason
but i've noticed lately (except for that nice mark against hawthorn).that when he goes on a lead and jumps for the ball he bends both feet up behind him which is why he always lands on the ground and his usually just a little to far under the ball.now as i said this could be because his out of form....what i'm asking is do you think this is the reason or his picked up a bad habit?
btw 2 against west coast for lloyd
4 for lucas
Who will play on Lucas? Although he has only been back two weeks he is very capable of kicking a bag on Friday night.
hunter will play on lucas. i reckon neagle is the wildcard if he plays. he'd get the worst defender and if we use him properly he could kick a bag
loopy_cam
12 Jun 2008, 23:15
He always bent his feet up behind him. It's why everyone calls him a diver.
Ryder Is God
13 Jun 2008, 02:22
with lloyd i know his out of form at the moment and what i'm about to say is probly the reason
but i've noticed lately (except for that nice mark against hawthorn).that when he goes on a lead and jumps for the ball he bends both feet up behind him which is why he always lands on the ground and his usually just a little to far under the ball.now as i said this could be because his out of form....what i'm asking is do you think this is the reason or his picked up a bad habit?
btw 2 against west coast for lloyd
4 for lucas
He has done it his whole career.
Centurion
13 Jun 2008, 09:21
An article from todays Herald sun by Mike Sheahan.
Lloyd, like Dons, a shadow of past
AT season's end in 2004, Matthew Lloyd was 26 years old with 695 goals to his name.
After 96 goals that year, he was more than halfway towards Tony Lockett's AFL record of 1360, and motoring.
With the totally reasonable expectation of another 7-8 seasons, Lockett's total seemed a realistic target.
After all, "Plugger" was 33 when his career effectively ended in 1999 (he played three games in 2002, kicking three goals).
Sadly, it has been downhill for both Lloyd and Essendon since 2004.
A broken arm in a practice game delayed his start to 2005 (59 goals), and the Bombers tumbled to 13th.
The following year, after 12 goals in the first two games, he ripped a hamstring tendon off the bone, his season done by Round 3.
He returned in 2007 with 62 goals in a team that finished bottom five for the third year running.
Now, midway through the 2008 season, Lloyd, on 855 career goals, and Essendon are struggling as never before.
After a month of indifferent form that has netted him just eight goals, the murmurings have turned into a roar.
Lloydy is "gone", they're saying. Not only has Lockett's record become the impossible dream, now the 1000-goal target might be out of range.
Given his fitness and form of the past 18 months and the current predicament of the team, 145 goals in the next 18 months -- the term outstanding on his contract -- is out of reach.
Lloyd will be 31 at the end of the 2009 season, having played 15 seasons, with a goal total in the low 900s.
On current indications, a contract extension would be a debatable proposition. For both parties.
So, where did it all go wrong?
Simple answer, he isn't the player he was; the Bombers certainly aren't the team they were.
Lloyd looks cumbersome, struggles to get clear on the lead, isn't as sure above his head, goes to ground more than he should, and has lost a little penetration in that once unfailing left leg.
He endured 54 minutes without a kick in the game against Hawthorn last weekend -- from the 23-minute mark of the first quarter to the 17-minute mark of the third quarter.
Then there are Essendon's problems. In Lloyd's case, the issue is the team's inability to take the ball inside the forward 50 with acceptable regularity.
The Bombers are averaging 44 inside-50s a week, 15th in the competition and down from 51.4 in his most recent outstanding year (2004).
In Rounds 5-11, they averaged 39.1, last and by a long way.
In the two games Essendon registered 50 or more entries - North Melbourne and Carlton - he kicked six and four goals.
The poor supply is a problem compounded by the quality of delivery. Midfield disposal efficiency of 71.9 per cent in that period also is the lowest figure in the competition.
Lloyd approached preparations for the 2008 season full of enthusiasm. He was fit, impatient and optimistic - it's an open secret he had pushed for a change of coach and endorsed Matthew Knights.
As it's turned out, Knights has been tough and uncompromising, and the man once known as the Velvet Sledgehammer hasn't escaped the coach's iron fist.
Figuratively speaking, of course.
Lloyd has kicked 26.8 from 10 matches this year after a promising start (10 goals in the first three games).
A modest total by his standards, yet he is the only Essendon player in double figures. David Hille, Adam McPhee and Mark McVeigh are next with nine.
That's the issue: Lloyd isn't what he was, but he was a star. Surely his detractors aren't implying the team would be better off without him.
Better off with . . . ?
Lloyd's confidence is down, yet his history against West Coast is encouraging.
In 11 games in the 2000s, he has kicked 44.15. His most recent "bag" was eight . . . back in 2004
his hands are still good, but when the ball hits the ground he has the mobility of an old man. a couple of times last week croad just exploded away from him
Stretcher Boy
13 Jun 2008, 13:47
He sucks he is too old trade him or make him retire
^this man knows what he's talking about.
Sigmund
13 Jun 2008, 14:06
He sucks he is too old trade him or make him retire
Stretcher boy... you are clearly what your name suggests - a boy. To say that the all time leading goalkicker at our clubs "sucks" is very simple of you. There is some fair debate about whether he is as good as he was, but your comment is so simple that most will hopefuly not take note of it.
Centurion
13 Jun 2008, 14:15
Stretcher boy... you are clearly what your name suggests - a boy. To say that the all time leading goalkicker at our clubs "sucks" is very simple of you. There is some fair debate about whether he is as good as he was, but your comment is so simple that most will hopefuly not take note of it.
Too late Sigmund, his a bloody tool. Im sick of tired of people bagging him. Leave him the hell alone.
DazBurg
13 Jun 2008, 14:47
He has done it his whole career.
true true maybe it's just more noticable now since his a little out of form
but he'll come good i'm tipping he'll do great in the second half of the season he may have let croad get away a few times when it hit the ground but the pack mark he took showed his coming back :thumbsu:
bipolarbeaR
14 Jun 2008, 00:06
Stood up today and really played well in a Richo-esk role! :)
windyhill
14 Jun 2008, 01:32
+2=857.
Beautiful tonight, just beautiful.
cbreban
22 Jun 2008, 19:27
I'll do the honours.
+4 = 861.
Champion.
Hitting form now. Should get a bag against Freo.
windyhill
23 Jun 2008, 00:21
I'll do the honours.
+4 = 861.
Champion.
Hmmmmmmmmm. i will let you off bruvver. !
windyhill
29 Jun 2008, 20:48
+1 = 862
Was quiet today goal wise, but ahh well. We still won.
His delivery to players today was superb. Pin point accuracy.
Darealrath
29 Jun 2008, 23:37
His delivery to players today was superb.
So was his leading/marking at CHF. That one over the freakshow was especially great :thumbsu:
Darealrath
13 Jul 2008, 12:50
Does anyone still think he lacks leadership?
Just loving how he keeps sticking it up those who wrote him off.
loopy_cam
14 Jul 2008, 17:15
Good article in the 'Four Quarters' magazine on Lloydy. Done by his brother.
Thanks for the heads up about that. Picked up a copy this morning and it was a great read :thumbsu:
windyhill
21 Jul 2008, 22:54
+2= 868
Hmm, if he plays after next season he'll make the thousand. Hopefully he can. :thumbsu:
Windas_Magic
21 Jul 2008, 23:17
Don't think he will reach the 1000. He needs 132 more goals and if he does retire at the end of next year, he would need to average 4.7 goals from a maximum of 28 games (barring finals of course). And you would expect him to have an injury niggle here and there causing him to miss some games.
loopy_cam
21 Jul 2008, 23:22
But if he goes on another year, which I think he will, he'll only need 132 from 50.
Only just over 2 and a half per game. About 55-60 a season.
bomberstomake8
21 Jul 2008, 23:23
Don't think he will reach the 1000. He needs 132 more goals and if he does retire at the end of next year, he would need to average 4.7 goals from a maximum of 28 games (barring finals of course). And you would expect him to have an injury niggle here and there causing him to miss some games.
lloyd is 30, he wont retire at the end of next year. forwards who maintain great form (as lloyd is doing) play until they are 35. expect him to play to the end of 2011.
Windas_Magic
21 Jul 2008, 23:27
lloyd is 30, he wont retire at the end of next year. forwards who maintain great form (as lloyd is doing) play until they are 35. expect him to play to the end of 2011.
I would think he'd play to the end of 2010 at best. It will be interesting because if Gumby and Jay were to get a full season next year, you would think that Knights would want to play them as our key forwards the year after that and with both Lucas and Lloyd, it would be extremely tough to play all four of them in the same side.
panda boy
21 Jul 2008, 23:30
Champion
bomberstomake8
21 Jul 2008, 23:48
I would think he'd play to the end of 2010 at best. It will be interesting because if Gumby and Jay were to get a full season next year, you would think that Knights would want to play them as our key forwards the year after that and with both Lucas and Lloyd, it would be extremely tough to play all four of them in the same side.
imo the only reason lloyd wouldnt make it to the end of 2011 is if he though it would inhibit the development of the youngsters or if he wasnt contributing enough, imo he will be a good forward until the end of 2011. the point you raise every essendon supporter has thought about but at this point its largely irrelevant, neagle is pretty much as injury prone as gumbelton, lloyd gets little injury niggles every now and then causing him to miss games... lucas is the only one that has a good run with injuries, we will struggle to get all of the park....
i think we could still work with 4 tall forwards. we just wouldnt play them close to goal. if gumby got his fitness up he could very easily play on the wing.
if not we could use lloyd in the role he is now leading up the ground, gumbelton too (if not on the wing) and lucas and neagle back in the 50... given that we have a slight worry when it goes to a FB at the end of next year when fletch retires lucas is also an option to move down back if need be.
he'll play at least 2 more seasons
Bombers42
26 Jul 2008, 21:03
Played well today again, its amazing what decent dilivery and a bita confidence can do to a champ FF
+4 = 872
5 games left, doubt He'll make 900 this season. But definately next season!
windyhill
27 Jul 2008, 00:17
Everyone is very keen to update after a win...........
CarlosHernandez
28 Jul 2008, 12:53
Again tackled like a man possessed against Collingwood. Has laid out some solid hits recently, which is awesome to see from our leader!
WindyHillWatcher
28 Jul 2008, 17:20
love the guy, been in wicked form over the last 6 weeks and I really hope he sticks around for a couple more years and makes it to 1000. he deserves it.
I'm really liking the hardness in his game at the moment and watching him crash bodies in packs and go hard at the man with the ball. I took down a bunch of my carlton buddies over the weekend who were dissing on him and questioning how we the essendon faithful could actually like a guy like lloydy. wtf???
their first argument was "he's soft" (laugh if you will)
my argument - when he knocked chris judd over, he was back up instantly... judd didn't play for a couple of weeks.
1 - 0
second argument - he's not a nice guy.
in comparison to the gorilla in the carlton goal square lloydy comes up with the goods again. I've never heard of lloyd doing anything bad outside of the game, whereas, the question is how can they support such an unsavory character in fevola who beats up irish barmen, cheats on his wife, pisses on bar windows and is basically just a drunken buffoon, yet despite the loyalty carlton have shown in him... he has the nerve to "check out his options" before re-signing.
2 - 0
argument 3.
"he's not a good forward or captain"
when was the last time (if ever) a carlton player kicked 872 goals and still going? as for being a poor captain? well lloyd's excellent form over the last 6 weeks has been second to none and had a direct influence on every single game. leading by example and kicking the goals when they count.
3-0
I read his article in 4 quarters as well, that someone mentioned before, he's a lot more interesting than I gave him credit for and his will to succeed and general manners and respect for others I believe, are really important to our young kids coming through.
well done Matty, I'm glad you've hit back at the critics from earlier this year and keep doing what you do best as we finish off the year... come what may.
Ryder Is God
2 Aug 2008, 18:42
I'll do the honors.
+8 = 880
The Dustbin
2 Aug 2008, 19:23
You freaking star.
:thumbsu::D:thumbsu::D
hugorune
2 Aug 2008, 19:25
coming up on Before the Game apparently.
windyhill
2 Aug 2008, 19:34
read it and ****ing weep
Lance Uppercut
2 Aug 2008, 19:36
majestic
loopy_cam
2 Aug 2008, 22:09
Congrats to Llody for breaking into 8th aswell. Absolute CHAMPION.
On track for the 1000. I'll fly anywhere to see the game he gets his 1000 in. One last excuse to run on the pitch.
At least untill Gumby and Neagle rack up a ton. :D
Lloyd just has to play like this for the last 4 games and he'll have the 900. :)
He only needs 5 a game to get to 900 actually.
Darealrath
3 Aug 2008, 21:58
All he's even needed was half decent supply. He's just so good.
I don't know where the hell that leap came from though. FFS that was massive.
Can't wait till he overtakes Matthews.
TheDon35
4 Aug 2008, 21:13
I would love to see all who were as disrespectful enough to write rubbish articles about him early on in the year, completely disgregarding the fact that we were playing as poorly as anyone in the league and malligning a champion of the game who was playing FF in this team, stand up and apologise.
This bloke is one of the greats of the game. Simple. He will go down as one of Essendons best ever and I just hope he can hold up to reach his 1,000.
Lloyd you champion.
All he's even needed was half decent supply. He's just so good.
I don't know where the hell that leap came from though. FFS that was massive.
Can't wait till he overtakes Matthews.
Honestly, early in the game I was thinking after Lloyd went for a high flyer; "He seems too big (Muscle wise) to get up high."
Then he went for that mark and I jumped up in my lounge room and shouted "AWW WHAT A MARK!!!!". For the next 5 minutes I was laughing and just saying "What a mark! That was huuuge!"
Mum thought I was mental.
30-year-old Bomber Matthew Lloyd is back on top
LUCKILY for Matthew Lloyd, he was at work at the MCG Saturday, for he may have knocked himself out at Telstra Dome - on the roof.
Lloyd soared to what he later described as the highest mark of his illustrious career en route to his sixth goal, underlining a remarkable return to favour.
Some of us - yes, "us" - feared for his future just eight weeks ago. Those with honour will own up, even if it's so much easier to back away from bold statements made in the electronic mediums.
I was in no doubt he was in trouble; it is now equally apparent he is back at or near his best.
In seven rounds since that fateful appraisal in the Herald Sun, Lloyd is averaging 17 possessions and 3.6 goals a game.
It is an amazing comeback for a 30-year-old in his 14th season.
It seems I was the lone voice on those reservations eight weeks ago, but, let's not rewrite history.
Lloydy, like Essendon (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/club/0,26579,19764,00.html), laboured during the first half of the season.
He looked cumbersome, struggled to keep his feet, lacked conviction overhead and even seemed to have lost power in his famous left leg.
He averaged 11 possessions in 10 appearances to Round 11, and had kicked 26.8.
I did make the concession back then that Lloyd was playing in a team averaging 44 inside 50s a week, 15th in the competition.
In the past seven rounds, the average has jumped to 56.4, equal with Geelong at the top of the table.
Essendon has won six of its past seven games, its only loss by four points to Richmond.
Only Geelong has performed better in that period.
The Lloyd resurgence certainly has shocked me and others in the wings.
He is marking on the lead, in packs and over packs, even pouncing on the spillage.
He also is kicking with what was his trademark power and accuracy.
His accuracy is outstanding at 51.14. That's a conversion rate of 80.6 per cent.
Lloyd might be in his best form and a 96-goal season.
Why? A mix of increased supply, improved confidence, renewed self-belief. He looks sleeker, sharper, and obviously is enjoying his work.
The whole Essendon story is a revelation, a credit to first-year coach Matthew Knights. The Bombers, remember, were 2-9, having lost eight in a row.
Knights stuck to his guns, the West Coast came at the right time and the rest is history.
When several clubs bemoan their injury list, they should check the Essendon figures.
Those missing against Melbourne on Saturday included Scott Lucas, Mark McVeigh, Kyle Reimers, David Myers, Alwyn Davey, Jay Neagle, Jason Winderlich and Scott Gumbleton.
Lucas has played nine games for the season, McVeigh 12, Davey five. Those three are among the club's seven or eight most important players.
Knights is doing it his way, and it's working. He is strong and resilient, and adventurous.
Andrew Lovett plays up, is suspended for two matches, Knights ignores the temptation to bend and the Bombers win without him.
In the form they're in, they can win three and maybe even all four of their remaining games. Four would earn them a finals berth, two or three would cement them as an emerging force.
Winners all round. Bar one.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,24129361-19742,00.html
Finally Mike Sheahan admits he was wrong.
Lloydy, love ya mate!
windyhill
10 Aug 2008, 20:14
+3=883
MadBomberfan
10 Aug 2008, 20:16
Took pretty much every opportunity again today. :thumbsu:
loopy_cam
13 Aug 2008, 20:28
Lloyd reveals 300 game wish
Captain, Matthew Lloyd, today revealed he believes he can reach 300 games as he prepares to play his 250th against Adelaide this weekend.
Speaking to media during a 3 Mobile store visit, he revealed his change of role into a more mobile forward should prolong his career.
“This time next year, if it’s going like it is now I would say yeah I am ready to go again,” he said.
“So I think from the end of next year I will look at it as a year-to-year basis but, body wise, I am in pretty good knick so I don’t see why I couldn’t (play 300 games).”
To watch the Lloyd interview on Bomber.tv click here (http://www.essendonfc.com.au/bombertv/login.asp)
The 30-year old Bomber champion said he always thought he would come back from a serious hamstring tear in 2006 and is currently feeling great.
“I always thought that, at 28, I had the chance to come back but the last few years have been trying times,” he said.
“I always felt that if I didn’t have another injury I would get there (to 250 games).”
Lloyd now sits at eighth on the all-time AFL goal kicking ladder and says the improvement of the young Bomber players will inspire him to play on as has occurred at Hawthorn with Shane Crawford.
“A few years ago he was ready to finish but he plays his role and he can see that there is a premiership not far way and that would make you want to keep playing,” Lloyd said.
Lloyd says he wouldn’t change a thing about his career and added he enjoyed fans running on the oval after he kicked his 100 goal (twice) but understands the AFL not wanting it to happen again.
“I loved every minute of it,” he said.
“The first year, against the Kangaroos, it wasn’t really run very well so it stopped the game for 10-15 minutes but I had an absolute ball. The second time around I was off the ground within two-three minutes by security, the crowd enjoyed it and there was no harm.
“I reckon if you are ready to go, and the security is ready to get Franklin or Fevola off the ground, the fans get their fun and I am sure those two guys would love for it to happen if you ask them also.”
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=6009
It'll be good to see him play 300 and it means he'll probably get the 1000. What a champ.
bomber69
13 Aug 2008, 21:37
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=6009
It'll be good to see him play 300 and it means he'll probably get the 1000. What a champ.
You beauty!
Jonesy1987
13 Aug 2008, 23:02
Should post that on the main board so people stop ranting on about essendon being stuffed when he retires next year:rolleyes:
Ryder Is God
14 Aug 2008, 03:37
IT'S hard enough challenging a great player in print, more daunting yet again confronting the player after he has risen to the challenge.
Having announced Matthew Lloyd's imminent demise in these pages two months ago, it seemed only fair to personally acknowledge the resurrection.
The Essendon skipper was gracious enough to accede to a request to review a roller-coaster 2008.
He seemed at peace with the world when we met on Tuesday afternoon.
The self-proclaimed homebody was at home in Brighton, insulated from the bleak weather, with his favourite two girls, wife Lisa and daughter Jaeda.
The Bombers may have dropped a game in Perth at the weekend they expected to win, but, after six wins from eight games and his own return to form, life's good.
Much better than it was 10 weeks ago, when his team was in a trough and he was seen in certain quarters to be on the slippery dip.
While relaxed and friendly this week, he exercised his right to make a few points on the June 13 story bluntly headed: "Lloyd, like Dons, a shadow of the past."
"I thought it was a massive call based on what I had done and on such a small period of footy," he said.
"While I wasn't happy with the way I was going, I thought it (the story) was going a bit far considering I've always been fairly consistent.
(Lloyd had kicked 26 goals from 10 games at Round 11, after 10 in the first three rounds. Essendon was 2-9.)
"Everything was magnified by the way the team was playing. Everyone's watching you, like they are with Kosi (Justin Koschitzke) at the moment.
"There were parts of my game which I saw on tape and thought, 'Gee, that doesn't look good. I've got to get better here'.
"(But) they were things I knew I could work on, not be career-ending.
"That, (keeping his feet), my chasing, my tackling, those were the areas I wanted to get better at. That night against West Coast (Round 12), they were the only things I was thinking about going to the game. It was amazing how everything just grew from there.
"I went into a different role (playing up the ground as a roaming forward) and just thought, 'I'll win my own ball'.
"You can't rely on other people. I just took things into my own hands playing up the ground - present hard, work back. Getting possessions earlier in games helps, too.
"My confidence was low; I'd been starved for opportunities in that lean time."
Eight rounds on, he has 54 goals to his name, is playing with the confidence and poise of his first 10 seasons, and Essendon has six more wins.
Lloyd, 30, admitted his confidence deserted him and he became introverted away from the football club.
"At times, you can feel worthless. I was embarrassed with people coming up to me and saying, 'What do you reckon it is? Do you think this or that?' People ask you all those things and you go insular.
"You go within yourself and then you play a good game and you feel comfortable again. It makes it a better week, not only for your ego, but for your own self-worth."
He said the feeling of relief was accompanied by a sense of reward for all those who invest time and emotion into his career: his wife, his extended family, and two or three confidants.
He names Essendon's long-time high performance manager John Quinn and Fremantle coach and former Essendon player and assistant coach Mark Harvey, but declines to name the other.
Basically, he says, he is happier dealing with his problems his way.
"I'd prefer people didn't call me wanting to help me, but, to be honest, I've never had a longish sort of period (of struggle) and I've always felt the wheel is going to turn on ability and also on work-rate."
Lloyd admitted first-year coach Matthew Knights, whom he had backed for the job, had not spared him at the depths of his struggle.
"Yeah, he can be brutal. It's not all about (kicking) goals, it's all about the little things. That's what he cares about.
"I was fine. I'm not one for holding grudges or thinking I'm too precious, like, 'How can you talk to me (like that)'.
"I saw it myself. While I thought I wasn't getting anything on a platter, or that the midfield wasn't doing me any favours, I'm not one that ever hides away from what I might be doing wrong.
"He sat me down (after the loss to Hawthorn in Round 11) and said, 'Just feel like we've got to start developing other players, and I feel it would be best for the side that you have more of an impact for us up the ground'."
The coach wanted Jay Neagle to play full-forward, alongside Scott Lucas, with Lloyd at half-forward.
"I did have a bit of angst because I've found the role sometimes hard (previously).
"There's no doubt he was disappointed with some of my efforts and it was highlighted during the week.
"That was probably when I knew there were some areas that, if I could fix those up, it would turn around.
"We played West Coast the following Friday and it's been pretty consistent ever since.
"I feel like I've played pretty solid footy now for a few months. It was probably just three or four games that were really poor."
Lloyd, who will play his 250th game against Adelaide at Telstra Dome on Saturday, has a little unfinished business.
He is looking no further than 2009 and the last year of his current contract, but he wants to play finals next year and to become only the sixth player in history to kick 1000 goals.
He needs 117 more, which means he needs to play another two seasons.
"I'm contracted for next year and I say that from next year on, it will all depend if I'm happy with how I'm playing, because I'm not scared of retiring if I'm not performing at the level. I hope that in three years' time, I'm still loving it and performing, like Hirdy was at 33."
He said the positive by-product of the form struggle and associated criticism was his development as a captain.
"Through those eight weeks I felt like I grew. I'm as comfortable now with being captain as I've ever been.
"I probably used to manufacture things a bit, now I feel it's just natural.
"Through the week, I put a lot into the team and, game days, I'm very much, 'The best way I can lead is by performing to my best and playing well'.
"I never get bogged down by the captaincy and I've never been too embarrassed by the way I've gone to think I can't say anything, because the players know I do everything I can to play well and I think they've always respected me."
Nice to see you back, Lloydy.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,24177017-19742,00.html
Longy413
14 Aug 2008, 09:50
I wonder whether the Quinn bashers will give credit where credit is due.
I'm a quinn basher, possibly his biggest and i have no hesitation of giving him credit for some of his efforts but by the same token he is and has been head of our worst performing area within the club for year after year so it is about time he has been held accountable.
No one is totally bad and provides nothing and he obviously has and did a great job with Hirdy also and i'm sure there are others that aren't advertised as much.
Great to see Lloydy turning his form around.
MadBomberfan
15 Aug 2008, 17:40
Congrats on the big 250 Lloydy. May there be at least 50 more, and a premiership cup for you thrust skywards! ;)
And to my wife, this vindicates my selection of Lloyd as the name for our Bull Mastiff in 1999! :D Alessio my arse.
MadBomberfan
16 Aug 2008, 18:35
+3 = 886.
Congrat's on your 250th, Lloydy. And what a fitting way for your 'mates' to honour a club champion's 250th game. I'm disgusted. :thumbsd:
Yep, deserved better Lloydy. Still chipped in with 3 goals which was good. Went for a couple of hangers again. :p
bombaman
22 Aug 2008, 17:47
I would love to see all who were as disrespectful enough to write rubbish articles about him early on in the year, completely disgregarding the fact that we were playing as poorly as anyone in the league and malligning a champion of the game who was playing FF in this team, stand up and apologise.
This bloke is one of the greats of the game. Simple. He will go down as one of Essendons best ever and I just hope he can hold up to reach his 1,000.
Lloyd you champion.
Thats pretty rich coming from you. You have made rubbishing players an artform your the last person to stand up and apologise. Its like you actually want these players to fail.
Ryder Is God
22 Aug 2008, 23:21
+4 = 890
TimeIsRunningOut
22 Aug 2008, 23:32
If he bags 5 next week he will have a 70 goal season. Astounding to think people were doubting this champion at the start of the year.
Ryder Is God
22 Aug 2008, 23:35
If he bags 5 next week he will have a 70 goal season. Astounding to think people were doubting this champion at the start of the year.
He'll need 9 to get to 70.
TimeIsRunningOut
22 Aug 2008, 23:42
He'll need 9 to get to 70.
Yep, you're right. Checked his stats, didn't think his tally would be up to date already and added tonights 4. Regardless my point still stands. The guy is a champion and I don't know why anyone ever doubted him.
Bombs Away
23 Aug 2008, 00:04
Extremely solid yet again tonight. People want to realise that he always kicks more goals in the 2nd half of the season. Still the best FF in the comp and he's ours
windyhill
23 Aug 2008, 00:28
Everyone`s in on the act now !
windyhill
1 Sep 2008, 00:13
+1 = 891.
Ryder Is God
1 Sep 2008, 00:21
950 next season.
windyhill
1 Sep 2008, 00:34
agree.
Windas_Magic
1 Sep 2008, 18:37
I'm not so sure that he'll reach 950 next year. He'll be playing up the ground with Lucas, McPhee and hopefully Neagle and/or Gumbleton up forward.