View Full Version : 19. David Hille

DaSawx
16 Jul 2007, 11:25
Way too up and down

Jono B
1 Aug 2007, 23:47
Great game from him. Actually looked like a proper tap ruckman.

donsman4eva
2 Aug 2007, 10:22
Needs to find consistency.

hulld
2 Aug 2007, 16:40
would be good to see him play two games in a row

Jono B
2 Aug 2007, 17:42
would be good to see him play two games in a row
Ummm he did. Collingwood and Adelaide were both good.

hulld
2 Aug 2007, 18:39
he was only good for a half, if that, against the pies

FootyGuru
6 Aug 2007, 22:31
play him forward and on the bench untill laycocks tired in the ruck

hulld
7 Aug 2007, 16:07
classic hille, good one week, useless the next

hulld
12 Aug 2007, 22:06
useless today

kelvin_sheedy
12 Aug 2007, 23:37
He's essentially a good second ruckman asked to play a leading role.

dave_27
27 Aug 2007, 11:36
Pitiful last night and copped a brox cheer for it from our own fans just like Justin Murphy copped in round 20' 05 and it turned out to be his last game for the club.

Has Hille played his last game for the club?

Is he on the table come trade week?

silk
27 Aug 2007, 11:41
Trade him while he has some value.

donsman4eva
27 Aug 2007, 11:42
We should look far a trade IMO, but we ned to be sure that Ryder is ready to play 30-40% of the game in the ruck, otherwise Hille is still needed, unless we trade for a ruckman anyway.

rainman06
27 Aug 2007, 11:43
I am sick to death of his mistakes. He has absoloutely no footy smarts. How was the time in the last quarter when he stood 1 metre away from the ruck contest and decided to spectate as Tuck sharked it and goaled across his body ? Laycock has clearly taken over from him as our number one ruck, and Laycock himself has plenty of flaws but at least he tries his guts out and does plenty each week to show that he is going to get better and better. Hille just does nothing.

SOT4
27 Aug 2007, 12:46
Hille isnt a bad footballer. He didn't play well yesterday but that doens't take away from the fact that he can be a good ruckman, not great but good. Trading him is a risk, as it means Ryder will have to ruck and he may be mroe useful elsewhere. However, Laycock looks 5 times better when he is allowed to ruck the majority of a game and Hille obviously doens't like being the number two ruckman. If we can get a great deal, which is possible as a 24 year old ruckman who has shown a bit and has more improvement in him is a rare trade commodity, then we should maybe look at a trade.

donsman4eva
27 Aug 2007, 12:52
Hille isnt a bad footballer. He didn't play well yesterday but that doens't take away from the fact that he can be a good ruckman, not great but good. Trading him is a risk, as it means Ryder will have to ruck and he may be mroe useful elsewhere. However, Laycock looks 5 times better when he is allowed to ruck the majority of a game and Hille obviously doens't like being the number two ruckman. If we can get a great deal, which is possible as a 24 year old ruckman who has shown a bit and has more improvement in him is a rare trade commodity, then we should maybe look at a trade.
He is good around the grounds, when he can go body on body. But in the centre bounce, he is useless. He mistimes his jump and doesnt try and hit the other player, which he should try and do seeing as though he would be one of the heaviest ruckmen going around.

Bomber Stu
27 Aug 2007, 13:33
Seems to be low on confidence more than anything, new coach might change things around.

Can't see him being trade bait.

Will Ryder move into the ruck on a permanet basis? I thought he was the next CHB

eb075
27 Aug 2007, 13:39
What about developing him more as a Jonathon Brown type CHF. He's the same body type and I've seen him kick some huge goals from the 50. Pity, I thought last year was the making of him, but he's definately gone backwards this year :(

donsman4eva
27 Aug 2007, 13:40
Yeah, because we are really lacking in CHF's :rolleyes:

Runknisse
27 Aug 2007, 13:41
Simply put, he can be a good player, but he should not be crucified for last night's shithouse effort. And he was shit.

jules101
27 Aug 2007, 15:05
I am sick to death of his mistakes. He has absoloutely no footy smarts. How was the time in the last quarter when he stood 1 metre away from the ruck contest and decided to spectate as Tuck sharked it and goaled across his body ? Laycock has clearly taken over from him as our number one ruck, and Laycock himself has plenty of flaws but at least he tries his guts out and does plenty each week to show that he is going to get better and better. Hille just does nothing.

Maybe if Scotty Lucas could manage to kick the ball on to the guys chest not 5 metres in front of him it would help....

Stants_24_Legend
27 Aug 2007, 15:39
I remember saying something like this about 12 weeks ago....

HE IS A DUD bad thing is...he has become so shit we wont get anything for him..

jules101
27 Aug 2007, 15:40
I guess none of you bagging him remember that goal he kicked from 55 that went through half way up or the one he got in the goal square... Yeah what a dud.. Did more then a lot of other players yesterday

donsman4eva
27 Aug 2007, 15:42
I guess none of you bagging him remember that goal he kicked from 55 that went through half way up or the one he got in the goal square... Yeah what a dud.. Did more then a lot of other players yesterday
Yeah, but that was after the worst marking attempt in the history of the game. He went for it one handed, and turned his head. He broke the 2 basic rules of marking: two hands and keep your eyes on the ball. It was embarrasing as far as im concerned.

Stants_24_Legend
27 Aug 2007, 15:43
yeah he did do more...more turnovers than anyone else...look i wouldnt mind if he did play at CHF great kick for goal...but he continuly is rucking...he is too worried about the man coming at him....use his 110kg body and no one will stop him... BUT FFS DONT RUCK HIM!!!

jules101
27 Aug 2007, 15:45
Yeah, but that was after the worst marking attempt in the history of the game. He went for it one handed, and turned his head. He broke the 2 basic rules of marking: two hands and keep your eyes on the ball. It was embarrasing as far as im concerned.

Scott Lucas' was 1000000 times worse.. Caused a goal too.. I'd take a dropped mark where the guy makes a second effort and gets a goal then one where he drops it and the other team gets a goal

jules101
27 Aug 2007, 15:47
yeah he did do more...more turnovers than anyone else...look i wouldnt mind if he did play at CHF great kick for goal...but he continuly is rucking...he is too worried about the man coming at him....use his 110kg body and no one will stop him... BUT FFS DONT RUCK HIM!!!

Ok, it would help if the team decided to kick the ball to a guy who is 6'6 on his chest instead of 5 metres infront of him.. What do you expect is going to happen.. If our midfielders cant kick to him so that he can mark it of course he will turn it over. Gumby did the same things that hille did and didnt get 2 goals.. LETS GET RID OF HIM TOO!!! :rolleyes:

wasupwidat
27 Aug 2007, 16:07
we need sum1 like a charman

itsintheblood
27 Aug 2007, 17:02
Pitiful last night and copped a brox cheer for it from our own fans just like Justin Murphy copped in round 20' 05 and it turned out to be his last game for the club.

He has ability IMO but is horribly slow and looks outta shape. Looks like he's running on the spot. A trade may be the way to go.

footy_paul
27 Aug 2007, 17:08
his problem is he stuffs up then instead of going back and grabbing it, he dives and tries to tap it off the ground. He cant ruck when the ball is in the air, what are his chances hitting a moving ball of ther ground too a team mmate. trade if we can

FootyGuru
27 Aug 2007, 17:29
hille would be looked at by numberous clubs, he is young, big, strong, great kick for goal, good mark, and solid around the ground. id like to throw him on the table and see which club comes up with what and see if its sufficient. carlton might wanna have a look at him, and we could ask for one of there midfeilders, or draft picks. but i think we would have to look at getting another ruckman by trade or draft. laycock is allready our number 1 ruckman, and ryder could play second fiddle in there when needed, but is ryder better suited somewhere else. thats what the coaching staff need to decide.

warney7
28 Aug 2007, 22:57
I like the guy.

He probably just hasn't done enough to be considered a really good player.

If Laycock is our top ruck then it's hard to find a spot for Hille though.

He's a great booming kick for goal, but he can't afford to spend a whole game forward, week in week out, from what I've seen.

It's an interesting one!

DaSawx
29 Aug 2007, 10:30
We should look far a trade IMO, but we ned to be sure that Ryder is ready to play 30-40% of the game in the ruck, otherwise Hille is still needed, unless we trade for a ruckman anyway.

If we were to trade Hille we'd have to bring in another ruckman from somewhere, if Laycock went down injured we'd be screwed

dave_27
29 Aug 2007, 20:07
Straight swap:

Hille for Cameron Wood. :o

danzan22
7 Sep 2007, 20:09
Saw Hill at my school today ( his dad is the principal), he was speaking to the year 12s i think.

IhateMondays
16 Mar 2008, 17:34
Getting set for a big year

IhateMondays
16 Mar 2008, 17:35
Hille for Wood??? Hille for Seaby more likely

David_Hilley#19
24 Mar 2008, 23:01
Had a great game today, hopefully he can maintain this for the enitire year, unlike past seasons.

Santoz
25 Apr 2008, 17:58
Absolutely disgusting today. If he watched the ball at the centre bounce instead of the other ruckman he might occasionally get his hands on it and help out our rovers. We were belted out of the guts this arvo.

Pawtucket Patriot
25 Apr 2008, 18:06
Absolutely disgusting today. If he watched the ball at the centre bounce instead of the other ruckman he might occasionally get his hands on it and help out our rovers. We were belted out of the guts this arvo.

Spot on. This is where we really lost the game. Watson was our lone clearance winner.

IsDonIsGoodes
8 Jun 2008, 21:04
Needs support.. STAT

bipolarbeaR
13 Jun 2008, 21:00
THIS... IS HOW YOU PLAY HILLE!
13 Possessions and a goal at half-time :D

Big Blow Hard
13 Jun 2008, 22:15
Fantastic David Hille. Schooled Big Cox. Is he the man to take Cox's mantle as best ruck in the league next year? I think so.

bipolarbeaR
13 Jun 2008, 23:02
He played a scorcher tonight :D
NEVER swapping Hille off!

Bombers42
14 Jun 2008, 00:55
Great game by Hille definatly worthy of the 3 votes

NewBabyBombaz
14 Jun 2008, 02:06
Do you think there is any chance of Hille getting an All Australian birth, if he has a strong last half of the year. Obviously it would seem that Cox will get the number one, but on the bench I believe Hille must be considered, especially after the Eagles game. I suppose Jolly, Sandilands and White will make it tough but is it out of the question??

Altair
14 Jun 2008, 17:06
Do you think there is any chance of Hille getting an All Australian birth, if he has a strong last half of the year. Obviously it would seem that Cox will get the number one, but on the bench I believe Hille must be considered, especially after the Eagles game. I suppose Jolly, Sandilands and White will make it tough but is it out of the question??

Not out of the realms of possibility.

Absolutely stellar game last night, took on the best ruckmen in the competition and played him right off the park.

loopy_cam
22 Jun 2008, 22:32
Would be leading our B & F at the moment wouldn't he? I can't think of smeone who'd be ahead of him.

hulld
23 Jun 2008, 13:42
all australian ruckman???

Crumpler83
23 Jun 2008, 13:58
Great to see Hille back up last weeks stellar effort with another dominant performance against the Blues.

As most of us know, consistency has always been one of his biggest problems but hopefully he's turned the corner and will continue to dominate for the rest of the season.

Lance Uppercut
23 Jun 2008, 14:24
finally, he's becoming the player I always hoped he would be. Awesome, just awesome!

windyhill
5 Jul 2008, 23:45
All-Aust. Bench ? Christ I`d love that. Almost as good as when Scotty Lucas saluted for his best and fairest. Fingers crossed for the big fella.

Gaitors
6 Jul 2008, 16:55
Way too up and down
I Disagree with that.
last 4 games have been Fantasic.
have always loved Hille.
Dandenong boy. Great player. will be the back bone of this team.
and will be all aust. ruckman

Spikey
6 Jul 2008, 16:58
I Disagree with that.
last 4 games have been Fantasic.
have always loved Hille.
Dandenong boy. Great player. will be the back bone of this team.
and will be all aust. ruckman

That was last year. Though it describes Laycock right now.

Gaitors
6 Jul 2008, 17:04
That was last year. Though it describes Laycock right now.
yeah. i dont like Laycock. need to get rid of the kid.
will be nothing fantastic.

windyhill
18 Jul 2008, 18:12
Looking forward to the excuses the "all australian selectors" pull out ala Scott Lucas , when they fail to put the big man in.

The Dustbin
21 Jul 2008, 16:54
finally, he's becoming the player I always hoped he would be. Awesome, just awesome!

Same. He has been sensational this year. Got the heart of a lion.

Keep up the good work David. :thumbsu:

crazysteve
21 Jul 2008, 21:12
This guy has really lifted his game this year and is in career best form IMO. This guys works his ass off and deserves a spot in the AA team. The impact he has had in games has lifted the entire team and probably won us a few of our games.

I do feel for him though. He gets barely any help in the ruck division with Laycock struggling to find any form and out of sorts and Bellchambers not ready for the senior level as we saw against Hawthorn. I just wanted to say for the load he carries on his shoulders, he is doing a fantastic job. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

GreaT SourcE
21 Jul 2008, 21:14
Fantastic player..? Yes
AA this year..? Yes
Worked his butt off..? Yes
Vital player in our team..? Yes
Champion..? Not as yet, probably not though.

gizmorox
21 Jul 2008, 21:17
I agree, i have been watching Hille for several years and i think he is a

genuine top class ruckman :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Bomberz_pacers07
21 Jul 2008, 21:17
Some old bird next to me on saturday said he was useless.

crazysteve
21 Jul 2008, 21:18
Some old bird next to me on saturday said he was useless.

sure she wasnt talking about laycock?:D

David_Hilley#19
21 Jul 2008, 21:20
Every week we seem to have a David Hille thread.

Windas_Magic
21 Jul 2008, 21:33
Every week we seem to have a David Hille thread.
He deserves them;)

Bomberz_pacers07
21 Jul 2008, 21:41
sure she wasnt talking about laycock?:D

Nah im afraid not....She seemed to like laycock for some reason:confused:

Windas_Magic
21 Jul 2008, 21:45
Nah im afraid not....She seemed to like laycock for some reason:confused:
She obviously loves the ****.

MadBomberfan
22 Jul 2008, 07:52

Trade him while he has some value.

Seriously LOL at the early posts on this thread. :rolleyes:

dave_27
22 Jul 2008, 15:39
Seriously LOL at the early posts on this thread. :rolleyes:

Nice hindsight mate.

My comments were fair and reasonable when they were made after round 21 last year.

Bombers42
23 Sep 2008, 02:19
should have polled better at the brownlow they robbed him of some votes

yaco55
23 Sep 2008, 04:35
None of the leading ruckman polled well in the Brownlow.

loopy_cam
4 Oct 2008, 12:03
Only Essendon player to make Mike's top 50. In at number 49. Only three ruckmen in there so it's a pretty good achievement.

Great year for the big fella. Here's hoping for more of the same in 09.

Thrust
5 Oct 2008, 10:13
Only Essendon player to make Mike's top 50. In at number 49. Only three ruckmen in there so it's a pretty good achievement.

Mike's top 50 sucks though...

Ben the Gooner
5 Oct 2008, 13:39

Had a much better season than Sandi and Petrie.