View Full Version : 20. Henry Slattery
loopy_cam
27 Jul 2008, 20:00
Agreed. Has been very good in our run of form.
Who was he on? Forgetten, either way. Been in good touch
CarlosHernandez
28 Jul 2008, 12:46
Since coming back from his cheek injury he has backed into two or three similar situations to help out Fletcher or Ryder.
Courageous player, and has backed it up with steady games too!
eth-dog
28 Jul 2008, 19:29
much improved in the pocket. stick him on Wonnaemirri this week
bomberstomake8
28 Jul 2008, 19:36
Who was he on? Forgetten, either way. Been in good touch
im pretty sure he was on didak, probably collingwoods best player imo
he did a pretty good job
didak had 16 posessions 2 goals (was pretty ineffective for the night though which is shown by his supercoach score of 50)
slatts had 11 possessions supercoach score of 67
we are a team that seems to struggle against small forwards, slatts does a good job.... unless tom hislop can start playing great footy then i think slatts role in the team is pretty secure
Wasn't Atkinson on Didak? I think he was on Anthony or Thomas
slats played on davis and did as good a job as anybody has on davis this year.
lemon chicken
10 Aug 2008, 21:48
Has justified the contract extension over the past couple of months. Doesnt get nearly enough credit.
DapperDon
11 Aug 2008, 17:11
After losing me at the start of the year he has really turned up his game in the past month or so, he loves the hard contest and has turned into a handy defender. He gives away silly free kicks, but that's his style I guess, I'd rather him go hard all the time and give one away here and there than not go hard at all.
He has won me over and slowly becoming one of my favourites.
Keep it up Slatts:thumbsu:
The Dustbin
15 Aug 2008, 18:41
Congrats Henry on 50 games and your last month of football.
The quiet achiever.
:thumbsu:
eth-dog
16 Aug 2008, 11:13
AA BP next year? shutting down SF's? of the other 15 clubs he could play on:
Crows: Burton
Brizzy: Hooper/Corrie
Carlton: Betts
Collingwood: Thomas
Freo: Farmer
Geelong: Gamble/Chapman
Hawthorn: Rioli
Kangaroos: Thomas/Cambell
Melbourne: Wonnaemirri
Port: Grey
St.Kilda: Schneider
Sydney: Buchanan
West Coke: Wirra
WB: Johnson/Gia
HighettBomber
16 Aug 2008, 22:52
Crows: Burton
Brizzy: Hooper/Corrie
Carlton: Betts
Collingwood: Thomas
Freo: Farmer
Geelong: Gamble/Chapman
Hawthorn: Rioli
Kangaroos: Thomas/Cambell
Melbourne: Wonnaemirri
Port: Grey
St.Kilda: Schneider
Sydney: Buchanan
West Coke: Wirra
WB: Johnson/Gia
I hope i never see him play on Burton again. We would have beaten them in Adelaid if he had done even a vaguely reassonable job. AA, get real!
Slatts has certainly improved this season, but he has a long long way to go to be a good AFL player
IIRC, Burton did most of his damage when Welsh was on him. And the one goal Burton kicked on Slats he did it out of mid-air....
HighettBomber
17 Aug 2008, 20:46
IIRC, Burton did most of his damage when Welsh was on him. And the one goal Burton kicked on Slats he did it out of mid-air....
That's BS. But regardless, he had goals kicked on him by pretty much everyone he played on that game, he was awful. Glad he has been playing better lately, and I hope I'm wrong about him.
Longy413
18 Aug 2008, 09:27
That's BS. But regardless, he had goals kicked on him by pretty much everyone he played on that game, he was awful. Glad he has been playing better lately, and I hope I'm wrong about him.
That's not BS, Slattery did a reasonably good job on him considering what had happened before.
You're well off the mark.
Slattery also did a good job on him the year before.
TheDon35
21 Aug 2008, 16:15
If we are fair dinkum about getting better as a team and getting out of the bottom lot, players like Slattery need to be replaced with guys with more strings to their bow.
Too slow, unskillful, un natural and ordinary to be part of a side that would challenge for a flag.
Harsh on a bloke that clearly gives everything he's got but he's not good enough.
2 months ago i totally shared your thoughts. however slatts has been really really good since the carlton game. has cemented his spot in our best 22 so good on him
Pevers-Legend
21 Aug 2008, 23:06
If we are fair dinkum about getting better as a team and getting out of the bottom lot, players like Slattery need to be replaced with guys with more strings to their bow.
Too slow, unskillful, un natural and ordinary to be part of a side that would challenge for a flag.
Harsh on a bloke that clearly gives everything he's got but he's not good enough.
So we should just have skillful attcking players?
You need your hard tough nuts who can negate - every team has em - its only cause Geelong are so good that they don't have to play em all the time.
i like slattery and he's good to have at the club for depth but tend to agree that for ultimate success players in the back half like dempsey and myers will take us further.
slattery has deficincies in skill and pace whereas these guys don't. i'd certainly have slattery getting regular games though as the side should be rotated to reduce the load etc.
Longy413
22 Aug 2008, 10:21
If Myers and Dempsey played the roles that Slattery done, any advantages that they have in skill and pace would be negated by the fact that they are playing a hard tag on a quality player.
It's having blokes like Slattery in a side that allows blokes like Myers and Dempsey to become attacking weapons.
How effective do you think Myers or Dempsey would be playing on the oppositions best attacking half forward?
I'd much rather have Slattery in that role thanks.
Slattery_20
30 Aug 2008, 11:52
You're making the crazed assumption that the All-Australian selectors actually pick back pockets. More often than not they go with rebounding Gilbee types and (at least) 3 talls
Crumpler83
1 Sep 2008, 18:58
Hmm well Slatts certainly showed me in the second half of the season.
I was a big critic of his early on but he's come on in leaps and bounds this season I reckon. Has become a very sound defender who also has the capacity to move up forward and bag a goal or two.
One of the most courageous acts of the season running back with the flight of the ball and getting poleaxed by Fev too :thumbsu:
TheDon35
20 Sep 2008, 12:31
You're making the crazed assumption that the All-Australian selectors actually pick back pockets. More often than not they go with rebounding Gilbee types and (at least) 3 talls
He's also making the assumption that Slattery is good enough to be AA. Possibly the most rediculouse statement i've heard on this board.
Memo to Knights: Please let's see some talent next year playing across our backline and let Slattery have a full season at Bendigo before being delisted at the end of the year.
A sad state of affairs when blokes like Henry Slattery are considered in the better players at our club.
bomberbilly
20 Sep 2008, 13:00
He's also making the assumption that Slattery is good enough to be AA. Possibly the most rediculouse statement i've heard on this board.
Memo to Knights: Please let's see some talent next year playing across our backline and let Slattery have a full season at Bendigo before being delisted at the end of the year.
A sad state of affairs when blokes like Henry Slattery are considered in the better players at our club.
Sorry but your statement is even more ridiculous if you think slattery should be delisted. There is more chance of slattery being AA than being delisted. The club absolutely love having this guy. :confused:
cAsEy_18
20 Sep 2008, 14:57
Sorry but your statement is even more ridiculous if you think slattery should be delisted. There is more chance of slattery being AA than being delisted. The club absolutely love having this guy. :confused:
And for good reason, a backline actually having a small defender who shuts down his opponent? :confused: What is this?
TheDon35
22 Sep 2008, 14:29
Never said anything about delisting him. Just don't rate him and would much prefer to see other young talent in his place next year.
Slattery_20
23 Sep 2008, 23:11
Well if you only intended to drop him, that's completely different ;)
Just don't like him do you?
I think it's entirely possible that others will replace him
I don't think we've got anyone else at the moment
& Even then, Henry as a 22yo is hardly at the age you start dropping for youngsters
Still - if you can't see the improvement over this year, you won't ever see anything good about him. And I think that's pretty sad.
TheDon35
1 Oct 2008, 19:06
Well if you only intended to drop him, that's completely different ;)
Just don't like him do you?
I think it's entirely possible that others will replace him
I don't think we've got anyone else at the moment
& Even then, Henry as a 22yo is hardly at the age you start dropping for youngsters
Still - if you can't see the improvement over this year, you won't ever see anything good about him. And I think that's pretty sad.
Don't be sad.... you self claimed 'highly inteligent human'.
The game is going past players who can only really play a lock down roll on a small forward (or very slow midfielder).
If you think this guy is a shining light of the bombers side then it speaks very very very low of the rest of the team.
Ordinary skills
Non versatile
Slow
Poor under the footy
un natural in his reading of the game
one sided
prone to getting pantsed....
and so on and so on.
Ryder Is God
1 Oct 2008, 19:10
He's so bad he'll finish top 10 in the B&F :rolleyes:
Predictable comeback from TheDon35: "Well thats an indictment on our team"
Slattery_20
1 Oct 2008, 20:52
I truly think it's sad that you watch a young player for Essendon who's doing absolutely everything asked of them and steadily improving, and get annoyed by it.
Top stuff Henry.
The game is going past players who can only really play a lock down roll on a small forward (or very slow midfielder).
The game will NEVER go past guys that do their job each week.
Henry's form was woeful at the start of the year, but he's got better and better, and finished the year as a very reliable defensive option.
However, it's clear as day that you operate on preconceived prejudices against players, so there's no point arguing with you.
Longy413
2 Oct 2008, 09:41
The game will NEVER go past guys that do their job each week.
Henry's form was woeful at the start of the year, but he's got better and better, and finished the year as a very reliable defensive option.
However, it's clear as day that you operate on preconceived prejudices against players, so there's no point arguing with you.
Well said.
I'm all for healthy debate and for critisism of our players.
Even to the extent of writing players off, I've done it myself.
But subjective critisism helps no one and makes these boards a rather tedious place.
TheDon35
2 Oct 2008, 13:23
Well said.
I'm all for healthy debate and for critisism of our players.
Even to the extent of writing players off, I've done it myself.
But subjective critisism helps no one and makes these boards a rather tedious place.
Bla bla bla,
What's subjective about pointing out the FACTS that he's
Slow
Gets turned around easily and is often lost under the ball
Is one sided
Is not a natural reader of the game
Is one dimensional in the positions he can play
has just ok skills
Sure, I can balance this by saying thate he's
Super competitive and tries his guts out each week
Relatively strong
Capable of shutting down players on occasions if the match up permits
courageous
Fact is that in my opinion his negatives outway his positives and for that reason, I hope to see the likes of Hislop & Pears getting a game ahead of him next year.
It is time to start building a side that can win a flag and I don't think he. would get a game for too many top finals sides.
TheDon35
2 Oct 2008, 13:26
Yea that's right moron.....
In a side that was crap for a large portion of the season, had most of their better players miss large chunks of the season through injury and finish in the bottom 5 again (fourth year in a row)
What top class player did he beat out that played any significant portion of the season?
Longy413
2 Oct 2008, 13:26
Okay, let's replace subjective with WRONG.
Ryder Is God
2 Oct 2008, 13:29
Yea that's right moron.....
No need for personal insults.
kelvin_sheedy
2 Oct 2008, 14:47
I've defended him at times this year and whacked him also.
To finish 10th in our best and fairest is a sad reflection on the club.
I've defended him at times this year and whacked him also.
To finish 10th in our best and fairest is a sad reflection on the club.
Or maybe he ended up having a pretty decent year
kelvin_sheedy
2 Oct 2008, 15:44
Or maybe he ended up having a pretty decent year
I'd give him a 4.5/10 for his year.
TheDon35
2 Oct 2008, 16:05
Okay, let's replace subjective with WRONG.
What part of what I said was wrong einstein?
TheDon35
2 Oct 2008, 16:14
No need for personal insults.
When you make statements implying that Slattery is good because he finished in the top ten (b&f) in one of the worst teams in the league, you probably deserve then to be honest.
Some people here need to understand that if we are happy with having Welsh, Slattery, Winderlich, McPhee, NLM as our better players, then we'll continue to be crap. We need to develop our 21 and under players if we are to win a flag. If this is at the expense of 'OK' middle age players (and our middle age players are just OK) then hurry up and do it.
Ryder Is God
2 Oct 2008, 16:48
Where did I say he was good?
Longy413
2 Oct 2008, 17:01
All of it, with the exception of getting lost under the ball.
He still needs to rectify that.
Ben the Gooner
2 Oct 2008, 17:21
What top class player did he beat out that played any significant portion of the season?
McPhee who had his best year since the AA year. Sam Lonergan. NLM. Reimers, Lovett. He beat a lot of people, and deservedly so.
Easily the best small defender at the club. I said on another thread that Ryder, Fletch, Slats, Hille and Laycock are the only players who don't have much competition for places when the team is fully fit.
Talk of dropping him is ridiculous.
What do you say of his performances when freed up? He often went forward and kicked goals.
lemon chicken
3 Oct 2008, 04:56
It is just incredible that some people dont realise how hard it is to be a defender who gets moved onto players who are towelling us up.
Campbell Brown was pretty good in the Grand Final I thought. The type of role that Henry could play for the next sucessful Essendon side hopefully.
TheDon35
3 Oct 2008, 08:40
All of it, with the exception of getting lost under the ball.
He still needs to rectify that.
So by your comments:
he's a natural reader of the ball...... but gets lost under the ball
Slattery is a fast player
Slattery doesn't spend the vast majority of his time looking to get onto his left side
Isn't one dimensional despite playing the same (or very similar) roll every week.
Honestly mate, get a clue.
TheDon35
3 Oct 2008, 08:42
Where did I say he was good?
Well this is going around in circles. Was implied by your original comments....
You don't think he's good then?
Longy413
3 Oct 2008, 10:03
he's a natural reader of the ball...... but gets lost under the ball.
Um...there is a difference between reading the flight, which he needs to improve and reading the play.
In the second half of the year, he ran off his opponent more and more and gave us a lot of drive. Not once did he get caught out doing this.
You need to be able to read the play to do this.
Slattery is a fast player
You don't have to be Alwyn Davey to not be slow.
One of your worst comments, there are a lot to draw from.
Slattery doesn't spend the vast majority of his time looking to get onto his left side
He's a left footer, all left footers try to go to their left side.
Matthew Lloyd does it, Scott Lucas does it, Rick Olarenshaw did it, Rama did it. They all do it.
The only left footer I've seen not do it is John Barnes.
He's capable on his opposite side, I've seen it.
Isn't one dimensional despite playing the same (or very similar) roll every week.
Because he plays the same role, doesn't mean he can't.
This is like the argument years ago when everyone said Leppitsch was better than Fletcher because Fletcher never played in the forward line. Fletch never had to.
Slattery can play in the midfield, small back or small forward.
He's gone into the middle and done jobs, he's gone into the middle and won footy, he's gone forward and kicked goals.
Just because the coaches pick him in one position, because he's the best equipped on our list to play that position, doesn't make him one dimensional.
Honestly mate
I'm not your mate.
get a clue.
I've got you covered.
Comfortably.
Ben the Gooner
3 Oct 2008, 10:17
It is just incredible that some people dont realise how hard it is to be a defender who gets moved onto players who are towelling us up.
Campbell Brown was pretty good in the Grand Final I thought. The type of role that Henry could play for the next sucessful Essendon side hopefully.
That's what I'm hoping for as well.
He can certainly go forward like Brown can.
TheDon35
3 Oct 2008, 14:21
[quote=Longy413;12685426]Um...there is a difference between reading the flight, which he needs to improve and reading the play.
Reading the flight of the ball falls into reading the play and the game. Unfortunately you're not capable of understanding this and are trying to get off on a technicality.
You don't have to be Alwyn Davey to not be slow.
For his size and position, slattery is slow and lacks agility by AFL standards. Deal with it.
He's a left footer, all left footers try to go to their left side.
Matthew Lloyd does it, Scott Lucas does it, Rick Olarenshaw did it, Rama did it. They all do it.
One of you're more rediculous comments. The players you mentioned here are / were class acts. They are capable of creating space which enables them to operate on one side without harming their output. Slattery is not in this league.
Because he plays the same role, doesn't mean he can't.
Anyone can play any roll, it's weather or not they can do it well. In my opinion the only roll that Slattery can consistently play is a lock down roll on a small / mid size forward or slow midfielder.
I'm not your mate.
Figure of speach d!ck head. No you definately are not my mate. They have far more inteligence than you.
I've got you covered.
Comfortably.
Yep, just ask yourself and your biased Bomber mates unable to view the game objectively.
Ryder Is God
3 Oct 2008, 14:32
Well this is going around in circles. Was implied by your original comments....
You don't think he's good then?
I think he's a solid player.
Longy413
3 Oct 2008, 14:50
They have far more inteligence than you.
I really don't think I need to say anything else in this thread.
You've done my work for me.
TheDon35
5 Oct 2008, 16:56
I really don't think I need to say anything else in this thread.
You've done my work for me.
But you're obviously not satisfied because you keep coming back with more rubish. As I just said, explain to me why we've been crap for so long and if you can't lay some major blame on the lack of ability in many of our players as compared to similar roll players at successful clubs then you may as well go and follow golf or croquet.
Longy413
6 Oct 2008, 09:28
What does any of it have to do with Henry Slattery?
Henry Slattery does his job.
Slattery_20
6 Oct 2008, 22:06
& IMHO we paid for a long time for guys not being prepared to get their hands dirty. Back anyone who puts their head over it. Simple as that.
TheDon35
7 Oct 2008, 18:44
What does any of it have to do with Henry Slattery?
Henry Slattery does his job.
According to you.
Slattery_20
7 Oct 2008, 19:35
According to you.
And the coach. But he doesn't matter as much
Longy413
8 Oct 2008, 08:50
According to you.
And I'm right.
TheDon35
9 Oct 2008, 19:35
And I'm right.
Slattery does his job on occasions and get's made look rediculous on other occasions.
Go and get a clue on the game and then come talk to me. You clearly are a little bit empty between the ears.
TheDon35
9 Oct 2008, 19:36
And the coach. But he doesn't matter as much
The coach also has been quoted as suggesting that Brent Stanton is an 'elite' midfielder of the competition.
I wouldn't have thought that he would have been overly thrilled with quite a few of his performances, particularly early on in the season.
The coach also has been quoted as suggesting that Brent Stanton is an 'elite' midfielder of the competition.
So you reckon you're a better judge of a footballer than Matthew Knights?
I wouldn't have thought that he would have been overly thrilled with quite a few of his performances, particularly early on in the season.
And Henry played the price for that with an omission from the side, as Angus Monfries did on the back of his poor pre-season.
What happened after that was virtually improvement every week, and you can't ask for more from a young player.