View Full Version : 20. Henry Slattery
Done a lot of good jobs this year
bomberlegend2007
16 Jul 2007, 15:59
The taging job he did on kerr this year was hes best performence this year
By far his best work is done tagging. Should have played on Cooney on Saturday.
retroparty
16 Jul 2007, 16:10
Nah other wise Johnson wouldve kicked 10
Ryder Is God
16 Jul 2007, 16:16
Slatts is one of my favourite players at the club.
He's a great tagger, but I think he just needs to get more of the ball.
He has never kicked 10 before. A 3 goal, 31 possesion game from a midfielder who is as clean as Cooney is almost as bad.
danielcanberra
16 Jul 2007, 18:53
This article is worth keeping here
Slattery will get you somewhere
08 June 2007 Herald-Sun (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,21868883%255E20322,00.html)
Jon Anderson
IT WAS late in Round 8 match at Telstra Dome when Henry Slattery displayed the courage that makes him such a favourite with the Essendon coaching staff.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,5516634,00.jpg
Slattery
Respect: Henry Slattery, who is studying Argriculture Science at Melbourne University, is blossoming at Windy Hill because of his courageous nature. Picture: Michael Klein
The game was done and dusted with the Bombers 10 goals up and there was no need for Slattery to enter dangerous territory.
But there he was, the 21-year-old from West Adelaide running back into a pack that contained Brisbane Lions powerhouse Jonathan Brown and his none-too skinny Bombers' teammate Mal Michael.
He not only survived the onslaught but managed to tap the ball over the line, before hitting the deck and getting up to look for the next contest.
Players who seek such danger are always going to be respected and while Slattery is far from Sam Mitchell in terms of prolific ball-winning, he does a job and he prides himself on that.
"I don't get many possessions but I like to get in and under. I've always liked that sort of stuff, taking on a bloke who's bigger than me. It's all in your head," said 186cm Slattery, who has picked up 62 possessions in eight games this year.
"I don't want to put myself down as a tagger, I'm just a normal player and would like to to end up on the ball, maybe wing."
This season he's been playing largely in defence, picking up goalkicking forwards such as Kayne Pettifer and Brett Burton, saying he does what the coach asks of him.
That coach, Kevin Sheedy, was a man Slattery knew little about when he first came to Melbourne after being drafted at 46 in the 2004 national draft.
"I had no idea what to expect from him when I arrived. He's someone with a lot of ideas and he won't leave any stone unturned," Slattery said. "It was hard for everyone last year but this year I think there is more passion about him. I like coaches with a lot of passion because they give their players confidence through that.
"He's stressed we have to learn how to become a winning side. It will take a lot more to become a good side, but we are on the right track and we beat Sydney at their own game.
"We've had good starts to every game this season, but don't really carry on with that lead. I don't know whether we take it easy or not, or play defensive. We can go back into our shells when we start chipping it around rather than being attacking. We let sides back in when we shouldn't."
If he sounds articulate, it's because he is. Slattery is halfway through a three-year degree in agriculture at Melbourne University. On completion he wants to add a law or commerce degree before heading bush and working in his area of expertise - the study of plants, trees and crops.
One of four boys and a product of Adelaide's Rostrevor College, Slattery has played 20 games in three injury-interrupted season.
A knee operation in 2005 was followed by hip problems last year, but Slattery is finally getting the chance to string some games together and cement a place in the side. Or has he?
"A big part of our improvement has come from all the new young players with their attitude and the pressure they are putting on everyone," he said.
"Alwyn Davey, Tom Hislop, Leroy Jetta, Bachar Houli, Kyle Reimers, they have a lot of talent and want to go somewhere with their footy.
"A realistic goal for me is to play 100 games because you have to look further than 50. And it's hard to play 100 these days.
"James Hird has been unbelievable. His wisdom and one-on-one chats before a game have helped me a lot. He's such an inspirational person."
Bombs Away
17 Jul 2007, 13:46
I have said this in other threads, reminds me of a young gary o'donnell. will be part of the midfield as some stage in his career.
windyhill
12 Aug 2007, 19:35
Here`s a tip Slatts, when gaining posession try and give off or spot up a teammate who does not have someone hanging off him.
i wouldn't be surprised if mj came in for slats next week.
i just reckon he needs a run in the vfl to get his hands on the ball
he is only averaging 9 touches a game
i know he's a tagger, but he isn't exactly shutting his opponents down
Sam the RAMA fan
26 Aug 2007, 15:31
Slatts looks like he will do us good in the future.
I think he is alright,seems to go in hard and put pressure on his players.
That game against W.C on Kerr...just awesome.
Would love to see more of that..
Look forward to 08.
MarkMiller93
23 Sep 2007, 12:36
he will be an under-the-radar champ for essendon.
won't get much of it maybe at his best he might average maybe 15 possies but his tagging jobs are great for a new one still.
TheDon35
1 Mar 2008, 11:45
Not in our best side.
kelvin_sheedy
1 Mar 2008, 14:52
Has looked a yard slower.
Not sure what we do with him.
Is no where near in our best side...
Slattery_20
2 Mar 2008, 20:38
EDIT: Don't know about 'no-where near'. He'd be close to it, if not in it
Has looked a yard slower.
Not sure what we do with him.
Play him when he's got a match-up, don't when he doesn't
Will get plenty of games toward end of season as younger bodies tire
p3zd1sp3nx0r
2 Mar 2008, 20:49
I think i prefer rama in the back pocket for now. Has a cooler head, better disposal and showed that he can spoil really well.
Slatts needs to get a bit more pace. IMO
rama got outmarked by dal santo and birss though. play basher in the back pocket ahead of both of them
If your not picking a bloke on the basis of two incidents, one of which was quite excusable, I'm very thankful that you're not picking the side.
And Bachar Houli in the back pocket? Seems like quite a royal waste to me. Bachar thrives in a role where he can run through the middle, whether that be off half back or the wing, or through the centre. The back pocket not only takes away his opportunity to do that, but pressures his biggest weakness; awareness.
As long as Rama doesn't play on Brad Johnson types (of which there are few), he won't be exploited much overhead.
Rama has the cool head and the clean skills that our backline's been calling for, he and Nash should be great down there this year.
i'm not excluding him because of those two incidents, i'm excluding him because that incident showed he can be exposed. would you call birss a brad johnson type.....no.
he had been good up until the last quarter the other night, but i'm worried opposition teams will try to exploit him. i would prefer rama to play than slats in the back pocket though
nash and DC will be our bank flanks, so the only position left for basher will be back pocket or tagger. that is if he is to be in the side.
i'm not excluding him because of those two incidents, i'm excluding him because that incident showed he can be exposed. would you call birss a brad johnson type.....no.
he had been good up until the last quarter the other night, but i'm worried opposition teams will try to exploit him. i would prefer rama to play than slats in the back pocket though
nash and DC will be our bank flanks, so the only position left for basher will be back pocket or tagger. that is if he is to be in the side.
All defenders get out-marked at some stage every game, including Glass, Scarlett ect, Rama is still good at getting a fist in and can use the ball better than anyone.
As for Bachar's position he can play HBF, Dempsey and Nash won't play their every single minute and he can also rotate through the middle and on the wings to spell everyone else who won't play in the same position for every single minute
IhateMondays
16 Mar 2008, 17:41
Is a tagger, but without the pace to keep up with Judd, Kerr, Ablett, Bartel, Burgoyne and company. Only good for jobs on Mitchell, Cross, Carr etc
These players are not exactly fast and were held by Slattery last year.
Slattery_20
18 Mar 2008, 19:14
All defenders get out-marked at some stage every game, including Glass, Scarlett ect, Rama is still good at getting a fist in and can use the ball better than anyone.
As for Bachar's position he can play HBF, Dempsey and Nash won't play their every single minute and he can also rotate through the middle and on the wings to spell everyone else who won't play in the same position for every single minute
FFS
We've already got about 20 of them already
Easily has the class to play half forward & we really do need better delivery into the 50 than we've been getting from Stanton & co
Andre 2000
22 Mar 2008, 07:42
He is so underrated by fans. His close-checking, discipline, team play, tidy foot skills and ferocious attack is invaluable when we need an opposition player taken out of the game. There's at least half a dozen match-ups each game that he can be used.
Pretty versatile too. Can play either end of the ground. Has the tank to play on a gun midfielder or play on someone taller because of his strength and natural aggression.
When Sheedy was in charge, or now Knights, it seemed the coaching staff certainly rated him. I'm thankful for that.
At the moment, I see Henry as the 'safe' option.
He's the guy that we can count on to do a reasonable, and sometimes better than reasonable, tagging job. I don't see any upside with Henry, but he fills a role that otherwise wouldn't be filled anywhere near as reliably.
Eventually, I hope we can find a better lock down player (Heath Hocking could be one) but right now, Henry's probably our best bet.
Slatteryexpress
23 Mar 2008, 18:19
He is so underrated by fans. His close-checking, discipline, team play, tidy foot skills and ferocious attack is invaluable when we need an opposition player taken out of the game. There's at least half a dozen match-ups each game that he can be used.
Pretty versatile too. Can play either end of the ground. Has the tank to play on a gun midfielder or play on someone taller because of his strength and natural aggression.
When Sheedy was in charge, or now Knights, it seemed the coaching staff certainly rated him. I'm thankful for that.
Couldn't agree more, hopefully now too the coaching staff take McVeigh out of a shut down role and put him in the midfield or across half back, with Henry the #1 tagger.
Slattery can't really be anything else but a tagger as he struggles to find enough of the footy but facts are he is pretty darn good at what he does and had some nice scalps last year.
Slatteryexpress
23 Mar 2008, 19:02
Slattery can't really be anything else but a tagger as he struggles to find enough of the footy but facts are he is pretty darn good at what he does and had some nice scalps last year.
I thought his best was restricting Kerr to something like 14 disposals in the game against WC @ the dome when we won by a point.
TheDon35
24 Mar 2008, 09:05
Needs to perform in first couple of rounds or should be replaced.
Slattery_20
24 Mar 2008, 19:10
What else have you got showing on that crystal ball?
"Facts" are he was played as a tagger in 2007, and did well. Let's not forget that there are plenty of guys on our list (and most other clubs) who have used tagging/back pocket as a stepping stone into the "normal" midfield - McVeigh for one, Peverill's another, Mark Johnson was a handy addition too.
No-one's arguing or pretending that Henry is an outrageous talent & will win the next 5 Brownlows. But to state with such confidence that he NEVER will be more than just a tagger? Arrogance at best
Knights seems to want to go for a more even approach to defensive mentality. Let's just wait and see what this means for Henry before we say anything silly, shall we?
LOL, guess we will wait and see
Slattery_20
25 Mar 2008, 19:24
That's all I ask
TheDon35
30 Mar 2008, 15:35
Not good enough.
Only there to stop players and consistently caught on wrong side of opponent and ran off.
Would like to see the likes of hislop playing in his place over second half of season.
lamaros
30 Mar 2008, 17:07
Not good enough.
Only there to stop players and consistently caught on wrong side of opponent and ran off.
Would like to see the likes of hislop playing in his place over second half of season.
Yeah, because when everyone else on your team is dropping marks or missing kicks it's really your fault that you're caught out of position. Right?
HighettBomber
30 Mar 2008, 17:45
I'd love for Henry to be good, but he's not. The only thing he does well is tackle.
Windas_Magic
30 Mar 2008, 18:48
There is no way he'll be in our best 22 by seasons end
Had a shocker today.
Consistently was found on the wrong side of his opponent, had trouble sticking with them to begin with and his disposal was woeful.
I'm not sure we can replace him with anyone that can fill his role better, but I think we've certainly got to keep a look out.
Schmick
30 Mar 2008, 18:57
Im sick of him, the sooner he's dropped the better.
IN: Hislop OUT: Slattery
Im sick of him, the sooner he's dropped the better.
IN: Hislop OUT: Slattery
I'm not sure Tommy's the man we'd looking for to replace Henry, not just yet anyway.
He's still very much in the learning stages as far as accountability goes from what I've observed.
Pawtucket Patriot
30 Mar 2008, 19:09
Had a shocker today.
Consistently was found on the wrong side of his opponent, had trouble sticking with them to begin with and his disposal was woeful.
I'm not sure we can replace him with anyone that can fill his role better, but I think we've certainly got to keep a look out.
What about Pev?
I'm not sure Pev's been anything special in the tagging department for a few years now.
In fact, I'd say last year he spent a hell of a lot of his time working off his opponent and playing receiver.
With some lazy foot skills, and not a very long future ahead of him, I think he's an option we should skip over.
Pawtucket Patriot
30 Mar 2008, 19:18
I'm not sure Pev's been anything special in the tagging department for a few years now.
In fact, I'd say last year he spent a hell of a lot of his time working off his opponent and playing receiver.
With some lazy foot skills, and not a very long future ahead of him, I think he's an option we should skip over.
Fair enough.
Was absolutely exposed pace wise when tagging Ablett today. What made it harder for him was the fact that the Cats midfielders were on top from the word go. Not his best game but he wasn't alone.
i can't see henry ever being a important part of our side. and i think it is wrong for us to persist with someone who doesn't have that much talent. drop him and bring in someone who may give us something in the future.
TheDon35
31 Mar 2008, 16:11
Yeah, because when everyone else on your team is dropping marks or missing kicks it's really your fault that you're caught out of position. Right?
Inexcusable when your playing as a hard tag on Johnson in the first quarter to be not be goal side at the boundary throw in. This resulted in one goal directly and should have resulted in another but it was missed.
He then went onto stopping rolls on other players and was exposed all over the ground.
This has nothing to do with team mates dropping marks...
Windas_Magic
31 Mar 2008, 16:17
His carrer at essendon is slowly ending im afraid. Doesn't find the ball enough and most importantly, he doesn't use it. The only spot i can find for him in the back-pocket or as a tagger. Hocking and Hislop are slowly creeping up on taking his spot. Really like the way he goes about it and i hope he can find some form
Yep, Spot on there, Does some OK jobs as a tagger but his performance against Geelong was shocking.
bush_tucker77
2 Apr 2008, 10:30
would 1 bad game against the best team we've seen since the brisbane sides of 02-03 warrant being dropped to Bendigo?
I know that im a collingwood supporter but i wouldnt do the same if say a dale thomas or scott pendlebury or even chris egan were upstaged by the might of geelong this early into the season
just my 2 cents, sorry to intrude
would 1 bad game against the best team we've seen since the brisbane sides of 02-03 warrant being dropped to Bendigo?
I know that im a collingwood supporter but i wouldnt do the same if say a dale thomas or scott pendlebury or even chris egan were upstaged by the might of geelong this early into the season
just my 2 cents, sorry to intrude
Thomas, Pendlebury and Egan are different type players to Henry Slattery, in that they've all got plenty of natural talent.
Henry's an honest battler that's made his name restricting the influence of opposition stars, and when he's not doing that, he's not anything to our side whatsoever.
He has major trouble finding the football, and his skills were a long way off acceptable against Geelong.
He's now a senior player, and he has to learn that performances like his last weekend are not acceptable.
Longy413
2 Apr 2008, 15:19
He's now a senior player, and he has to learn that performances like his last weekend are not acceptable.
He's played two more games than Ryder and was beaten by the best player in the comp and is adjusting to a new role.
Is Ryder also a senior player?
You're a hard task marker, do you not think he has the character to have already learnt that last week wasn't acceptable?
I'd drop him this week too, but those that think he has no skill need to look back to the class he showed in his first two games.
Those that think he can't do a job need to look back on his first 32 games.
Those that think he has no future need to look at the way in games gone by he has lifted others around him with his aggression.
The kid should be afforded the time to develop. Garry Ablett will make plenty of blokes look silly this year.
TheDon35
2 Apr 2008, 16:06
He's played two more games than Ryder and was beaten by the best player in the comp and is adjusting to a new role.
You're a hard task marker, do you not think he has the character to have already learnt that last week wasn't acceptable?
I'd drop him this week too, but those that think he has no skill need to look back to the class he showed in his first two games.
Those that think he has no future need to look at the way in games gone by he has lifted others around him with his aggression.
The kid should be afforded the time to develop. Garry Ablett will make plenty of blokes look silly this year.
How poetic. Was able to lift those around him that much that we finished near the bottom 2 years in a row. All these players that we've had that apparently lift those around them however we've been pumped for the last 3 years.
Longy413
2 Apr 2008, 16:30
How poetic. Was able to lift those around him that much that we finished near the bottom 2 years in a row. All these players that we've had that apparently lift those around them however we've been pumped for the last 3 years.
So you can't make your side better and still lose?
Thanks for clearing that up.
If you don't think Slattery has made a positive contribution to the side, that's fine. I think he has.
What you've just said there is pretty soft though.
I think we should send him back to Bendigo, and maybe just experiment with him as a attacking midfielder and maybe it could help him to become a better player and win a bit more of the ball. It'd be interesting to see how he goes.
But IMO, i think he will be replaced by Hocking, and he will take on the defensive roles in the team. He's Slattery but quicker, slightly better skills, bigger motor and attracts alot more of the pill. Hocking played well when he was played as a tagger last year for Bendigo and i reckon he'd probably do a good job at AFL level as well. Would like to see it happen for sure.
I think he is a senior player. He's been considered a first team player for the last 2 years, this his third. That's longer than plenty of guys in or around the senior side.
Ryder on the other hand played no more than development games in 2006 and only stepped up to be worthy of a week in, week out spot last year.
And is he adjusting to a new role? It's certainly not drastically different.
I have no doubt he realises that last week wasn't acceptable, I expressed that wrongly. More of what I was getting at is that for a player at his point in development, a dropping is in line for performances of last week's quality.
I'm remaining hesitant on his skill level and ability to consistently do a good holding job, but I'm not saying he's a write off. I think it's time he shows us a lot more though.
Longy413
3 Apr 2008, 08:15
And is he adjusting to a new role? It's certainly not drastically different.
It is drastically different.
He's now a rotation midfielder, even though tagging he still rotates in and out of the midfield. He doesn't follow his player forward, back and to the bench.
There is now an emphasis on him winning more footy, which he still needs to improve and it's why I'd send him back to Bendigo this week.
But that's a big change for him, he's now playing a Mark McVeigh role rather than the complete lock down role and he's going to play bad games because of it.
I'm remaining hesitant on his skill level and ability to consistently do a good holding job
I reckon he proved that last year, however the challenge is now to hold and find footy and from what I've seen of the last two weeks I've got no doubt that's what's been asked of him.
He managed to improve against the Roos IMO and was towelled up by Ablett. But Ablett's the best in the business at the moment.
As for the Ryder, Slattery comparison in experience, Slattery went into last season having played 12 games, Ryder 9.
Not a lot of difference.
Windas_Magic
3 Apr 2008, 09:08
Longy, even if hes played around the same amount of games than Ryder lets not forget he is 22 and ryder is 20. In his career, hes hit the 15 possession mark only twice and thus why i think he should be dropped to develop the confidence and ball winning ability.
Longy413
3 Apr 2008, 09:46
Longy, even if hes played around the same amount of games than Ryder lets not forget he is 22 and ryder is 20. In his career, hes hit the 15 possession mark only twice and thus why i think he should be dropped to develop the confidence and ball winning ability.
I said he should be dropped.
Alwyn Davey is the same age as Chris Judd, should we be comparing them or are they at different stages of their development?
Slattery has been in the system one year longer, but has been injured for a lot of his first two years.
It's games that fast track development, not your birth certificate.
They are very much at the same stage of their development.
run with role on Stevens. he has and will shut quality players like that
do north ballarat have a bloke called stevens???
HighettBomber
4 Apr 2008, 08:33
Henry has heaps of aggression and tries really hard, but these are things that can be found in players every local competition. An AFL player needs skill, decision making ability and to be able to read the play, Henry does not have an overabundance of any of these.
The thing that really annoys me about him is that when the ball is in dispute he lloks for his apponent rather than attacking the ball.
Slattery_20
4 Apr 2008, 16:37
He's now a rotation midfielder, even though tagging he still rotates in and out of the midfield. He doesn't follow his player forward, back and to the bench.
There is now an emphasis on him winning more footy, which he still needs to improve and it's why I'd send him back to Bendigo this week.
But that's a big change for him, he's now playing a Mark McVeigh role rather than the complete lock down role and he's going to play bad games because of it.
yup
Was poor, but plenty of other guys have also struggled with the different game plan & their role within it. Here's hoping he can use his time @ Bendigo to improve his skills & push for selection later on in the year, we'll probably need stronger bodies as the season progresses
Personally, I don't believe that's a drastic change.
Probably more change than I was giving credit for, but it comes down to basic versatility.
As for the Ryder, Slattery comparison in experience, Slattery went into last season having played 12 games, Ryder 9.
Not a lot of difference.
There's a lot in determining seniority than a simple games tally.
In 2006, Ryder played 9 games for development, he was a long way off our best side. Slattery may have missed many games, most due to injury, but he was in or around our best side. He's had an extra year as a first team player.
Also, Henry's age puts him older than half the list which in my opinion, puts him in the more senior area, especially as a guy who's played more games than more than half the list.
HighettBomber
20 Apr 2008, 14:41
I've been pretty harsh on Henry, to be blunt I think he's absolutely crap. But credit where credit is due, he was pretty good on Friday, it was the first time I've seen him attack the ball with a little confidence. I'm still not convinced, but he has at last shown something other than being able to tackle.
kelvin_sheedy
25 Apr 2008, 23:02
Two good games in a row and one of the few players playing with heart.
Keep up the good work Henry :thumbsu:
Two good games in a row and one of the few players playing with heart.
Keep up the good work Henry :thumbsu:
I give it 10 mintues before someone comes in here and say he's shit:o
Dang it. I was wrong. Oh well.
loopy_cam
25 Apr 2008, 23:19
I give it 10 mintues before someone comes in here and say he's shit:o
HE IS SHI...
Nah he's been much improved in the last two weeks. Been bagged too much. He should keep his spot.
he was terrible. his mistakes resulted in 5 goals. he sucks
HighettBomber
26 Apr 2008, 20:26
Anyone who thinks he played well against Collingwood is deluded, he was a disgrace. His skill level, vision and decision making are at about D grade Amateur level. He attacked the ball better again this week, but if he can't choose a decent option the majority of the time and develop at least a reasonable level of skill there is no place for him on our list.
DING DING DING......we have a winner
Anyone who thinks he played well against Collingwood is deluded, he was a disgrace. His skill level, vision and decision making are at about D grade Amateur level. He attacked the ball better again this week, but if he can't choose a decent option the majority of the time and develop at least a reasonable level of skill there is no place for him on our list.
Ok, One of the main reasons we lost on Friday was the fact that almost all of our players never do anything defensive. So we are gonna drop one of the very few players who do defensive work? Pretty bad logic IMO
As for skill level. I think everyone knows that. Sadly, Slatts was one of the few working hard to create space. It says a lot about our team right now when Slatts was one of the best options to kick too. He was working hard whilst other players just expected the ball to come to them without having to do anything...
Plenty of other people to drop before Slatts IMO.
he is just a dumb footballer
Slattery_20
29 Apr 2008, 19:15
What's dumber? A less skilled guy having a crack, or some of the other supposedly "better" (& definitely higher rated on here) half-backs not sticking to their man & not even trying to create space from half back
I think it's sad that we need Slatts. But we do. We lack cahunas and have done for many many years. IMHO he will get a game until all of Reimers, Hislop & Hocking at least are established
there's a difference between dumb and selfish. selfish players can be spoken to. dumb footballers stay that way
TheDon35
30 Apr 2008, 15:41
What's dumber? A less skilled guy having a crack, or some of the other supposedly "better" (& definitely higher rated on here) half-backs not sticking to their man & not even trying to create space from half back
I think it's sad that we need Slatts. But we do. We lack cahunas and have done for many many years. IMHO he will get a game until all of Reimers, Hislop & Hocking at least are established
What's dumb is drafting a bloke who can't play.
Slattery_20
30 Apr 2008, 15:52
You think?
TheDon35
1 May 2008, 11:37
You think?
Yep...
TheDon35
18 May 2008, 18:05
Do yourself a favour hank and jump over to Bendigo.
You're not up to it.
TheDon35
25 May 2008, 17:54
Imposter.
why did we re-sign this dud in April???
why not wait until the end of the season. i can't imagine there would be too much demand for this joke of a footballer
TheDon35
27 May 2008, 06:54
why not wait until the end of the season. i can't imagine there would be too much demand for this joke of a footballer
I hope you're having a lend here mate.... Was he realy re-signed in April?
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5753
unfortunately this is not a dream
Due to the complete lack of small defenders atthe club...
than trade or draft for them. don't re-sign a dud footballer well before the season ends. no premiership team of the future should have henry slattery in it
I think the game against Richmond was his worst AFL game in his career. I don't think he is currently up to a small defenders role. He isn't hungry enough there, or plays closely enought. He plays better as a tagger in the midfield. Give him some more time.
Slattery_20
8 Jun 2008, 16:55
Ran off Cyril pretty well last night, important step to getting some confidence back
Bombers42
9 Jun 2008, 03:05
So many people are harsh on slats, his not a bad tagger.
but he's a bad footballer
bipolarbeaR
9 Jun 2008, 16:04
Don't call him "Slatts" its an insult to Michael Slater.
Bombers42
9 Jun 2008, 22:53
Where did this hate come from?
since he continually stuffs up
i appreciate the fact that he is one of our few defensively minded players, but he just gives me the shits. hopefully he can turn into a solid defender, but at the moment he is struggling
reincarnated
21 Jun 2008, 15:31
This is a feather in his (Henry's) Cap...
"Originally Posted by CarltonFan http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=11431584#post11431584)
We need to watch Slattery. Henry Slattery is a gun and will be the difference between winning and losing this game imo."
Ps - I think he was being sarcastic
Slattery_20
21 Jun 2008, 16:00
On a serious note, been pretty good & consistent the last few weeks
Like a few others, he floundered at the start of the year (hardly unexpected with a change in coaches) but is starting to come good
Bombers42
22 Jun 2008, 18:37
Get well soon Henry:p
good courage slats. wouldn't expect anything else though
eth-dog
23 Jun 2008, 16:18
Get well soon slatters
Windas_Magic
26 Jul 2008, 20:07
I think he deserves some credit, he has been in pretty good form lately and he showed enormous courage by getting in the way of a collingwood player's lead (may have been Cloke), a similar instance that got him knocked out against Carlton.