Pages : [1] 2

DaSawx
16th July 2007, 11:28
Interesting one

Merv Neagle
16th July 2007, 14:38
Interesting one

Not to me anymore.

There are many excuses for why he hasn't produced yet and whilst they are valid i still believe he lacks a few key things to convince me he will make the grade.

Awareness - he has virtually none
Mobility - As above
Footy Smarts - as above
Versatility - as above

He is a one trick pony that has promised plenty and delivered little.

He struggles at VFL level and the sooner we get rid of him the better off we will be

ant555
16th July 2007, 14:43
Im going to have an indepth go here. Ok first things first . He suffers from the extreme hype that he managed to get on him early. One good half of footy for Bendigo (where the number of marks he was supposed to have taken grows every year) combined with some good early under 18's reviews have seen him to be thought of as the new Coleman/Lloyd/Locket rolled into one before he played a game. Now becasue he isnt that the fall out has been huge.
Down to the facts about him.
He has been around for a while but has really only been able to train at full speed for jut under two years and has only ever had one decent pre season. This has resulted in his base fitness being very ordinary.
Currently he has really only got one trick and that is to lead straight up the ground and take a mark. He doesnt read the play all that well ( and im not really surprised as he missed a lot of his development years with injury) and his second efforts are poor at best.
He has struggled to really stamp himself at senior level. He has had a few handy games but nothing outstanding. In saying this i have really questioned how we have used him at times. When Lloyd has been in the side i really wondered why we where playing him as he is not good playing on the flanks as he has to lead to nothing positions and keep out of Lloyd and Lucas's way.
When Lloyd has been out we still dont use him that well. The guys knows only one thing up forward , why the hell do we try a get him to play roles he cant do.
Anyway back to the player himself. The one thing that may save him is he has shown some sort of promise as a backman in the VFL. Despite having the top speed of a WW2 tank and a truning circle to match a truck he does have very good speed of the mark. When he has been playing in defence he has shown if he concentrates on his man he can get to a marking contest and spoil very well. With his size he is pretty good body on body. Also in defence he seems to get a better read on the play as he see's the ball coming in but doesnt have to decide where or when it is best to lead. He simply covers his man and his closing speed over a short distance gets him to the contest.Wether any of the above mentioned defence work will stand up at senior level who knows but at least he is learning something new.

ant555
16th July 2007, 14:46
Not to me anymore.

There are many excuses for why he hasn't produced yet and whilst they are valid i still believe he lacks a few key things to convince me he will make the grade.

Awareness - he has virtually none
Mobility - As above
Footy Smarts - as above
Versatility - as above

He is a one trick pony that has promised plenty and delivered little.

He struggles at VFL level and the sooner we get rid of him the better off we will be

Fair go Merv he has been as good if not better than a lot of our players at VFL level. Yes he has had a few ordinary ones but to say he struggles as a whole is wrong.

Merv Neagle
16th July 2007, 15:26
Fair go Merv he has been as good if not better than a lot of our players at VFL level. Yes he has had a few ordinary ones but to say he struggles as a whole is wrong.

LOL, here we go again ant, seems we always come back to discussing CJ.

To say that he has been as good if not better than a lot of our current VFL players is not a large recommendation as a lot of our VFL players are either out of form and most are unlikely to make it AFL level.

You see a lot more of the players than i do at training and in games so i can only go on what i have seen and that has been reported.

When i say he struggles at VFL level, whilst sometimes true, ie on Saturday, i mean more that if he was a good chance at making it at AFL level he should be consistantly kicking 4+ goals with the occasional bag.

I also understand that he has played in defense a bit this year, something i called for a year ago as i could see the writing on the wall back then.

I doubt he will make a backman either but i am convinced that he won't make a forward.

I would love to be proved wrong and make an apology post, but i doubt it will happen.

Trade him now while he still has some value.

ant555
16th July 2007, 16:24
LOL, here we go again ant, seems we always come back to discussing CJ.

To say that he has been as good if not better than a lot of our current VFL players is not a large recommendation as a lot of our VFL players are either out of form and most are unlikely to make it AFL level.

You see a lot more of the players than i do at training and in games so i can only go on what i have seen and that has been reported.

When i say he struggles at VFL level, whilst sometimes true, ie on Saturday, i mean more that if he was a good chance at making it at AFL level he should be consistantly kicking 4+ goals with the occasional bag.

I also understand that he has played in defense a bit this year, something i called for a year ago as i could see the writing on the wall back then.

I doubt he will make a backman either but i am convinced that he won't make a forward.

I would love to be proved wrong and make an apology post, but i doubt it will happen.

Trade him now while he still has some value.

Well i dont disagee with a lot you have said about him. I have pretty much mentioned a few negatives that you have pointed out. I was just pointing out that he hasnt struggled in all his VFL games. He has infact played 5 or so very good ones.
As far as kicking a bag as a forward and dominating in the VFL well he did. Early in the year in the last Bendigo practice game and then first two Bendigo games he kicked 4.3 , 3.5 and then 7.0 and did dominate the forward line for that period. He then played in the seniors for 4 weeks and did nothing. When he was dropped back to Bendigo he was sent to play in defence and had played limited time up forward until saturday where he was very ordinary.

I am not sold on him yet either infact if i was betting on him to make it i wouldnt even put your money on him :D
I just feel he cops a lot simply becasue the fact that he was hyped up way too much early and people have expected him to be something sensational right out of the blocks.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
16th July 2007, 16:39
I see him as a development player that will remain on the list for at least another 2 years. If Bolton get's to stay on the list for as long as he has, then i think Johns should have that opportunity. Sheedy has put a lot into Johns so i don't think he'd want him to goto waste. He just needs time and if Essendon have patience (which i think they will) he will come good and Essendon will be rewarded with a great player. If he was played as a #1 forward with another pre-season behind him next season (hypothetically), i think he would show all alot more of what he is capaple of.

Merv Neagle
17th July 2007, 00:46
Well i dont disagee with a lot you have said about him. I have pretty much mentioned a few negatives that you have pointed out. I was just pointing out that he hasnt struggled in all his VFL games. He has infact played 5 or so very good ones.
As far as kicking a bag as a forward and dominating in the VFL well he did. Early in the year in the last Bendigo practice game and then first two Bendigo games he kicked 4.3 , 3.5 and then 7.0 and did dominate the forward line for that period. He then played in the seniors for 4 weeks and did nothing. When he was dropped back to Bendigo he was sent to play in defence and had played limited time up forward until saturday where he was very ordinary.

I am not sold on him yet either infact if i was betting on him to make it i wouldnt even put your money on him :D
I just feel he cops a lot simply becasue the fact that he was hyped up way too much early and people have expected him to be something sensational right out of the blocks.

I totally agree and he had waaaay too much expected of him waaaay too early because of it.
You can blame Sheeds for that as he hyped more than anyone

and NOOO you can't use my money...:D

Bombs Away
17th July 2007, 13:40
I see him as a development player that will remain on the list for at least another 2 years. If Bolton get's to stay on the list for as long as he has, then i think Johns should have that opportunity. Sheedy has put a lot into Johns so i don't think he'd want him to goto waste. He just needs time and if Essendon have patience (which i think they will) he will come good and Essendon will be rewarded with a great player. If he was played as a #1 forward with another pre-season behind him next season (hypothetically), i think he would show all alot more of what he is capaple of.

My thoughts exactly, but with Neagle, Gumby and Bradley do you realistically think we will let him develop.

The best thing is that whilst we were blowing up his tyres others got to get through under the radar without all the media scrutiny (Stanton, watson, Nash. Slattery)

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
17th July 2007, 13:57
My thoughts exactly, but with Neagle, Gumby and Bradley do you realistically think we will let him develop.

The best thing is that whilst we were blowing up his tyres others got to get through under the radar without all the media scrutiny (Stanton, watson, Nash. Slattery)
This is how i would like to see them develop at Bendigo:
-Neagle as a Half Forward like O'Keefe
-Gumby as our CHF
-Bradley, a 2nd CHF to Gumby, so if Gumby is playing then just let him play HFF or maybe we could have 2 CHF's (not sure it that would work).
Leaving Johns with FF. So yes, do think we will let him develop as they have put so much into him and wouldn't want to see it goto waste as i said earlier.

Bombs Away
17th July 2007, 14:02
This is how i would like to see them develop at Bendigo:
-Neagle as a Half Forward like O'Keefe
-Gumby as our CHF
-Bradley, a 2nd CHF to Gumby, so if Gumby is playing then just let him play HFF or maybe we could have 2 CHF's (not sure it that would work).
Leaving Johns with FF. So yes, do think we will let him develop as they have put so much into him and wouldn't want to see it goto waste as i said earlier.

Interesting theory and one worth trying at BB level, might be sometihing they can take to next level (seniors) if works, would like to see Heffernan in the middle feeding and teaching them.

Lance Uppercut
17th July 2007, 16:05
I'm really confident he will become a good player for the EFC. More experience and a better fitness base, with the physical tools he has, will make him a force to be reckoned with in coming years, imo

retroparty
17th July 2007, 16:22
Courtney Johns is a battler. He really needs to tune up is fitness if he wants to become a regular senior player

kelvin_sheedy
17th July 2007, 16:23
Should be on a program next year to trim right down and get mobility and improve engine.

Needs to lose a bit of muscle mass.

I think he can make it at AFL level but needs a lot of work.

donsman4eva
17th July 2007, 17:30
I reckon he would be a good player if we have a midfield that is able to constantly feed him the ball on leads. Lloyd and Lucas arent really strong leading forwards. They are more workhorse type players where if on lead doesnt work, they will double back and go again. Johns is the opposite. He makes one lead and if it isnt honoured then he's spent. But when he gets on the lead it is usually goodenough to atleast shake his defender. The problem is that the spots he leads to sometimes arent the best spots and require a very good kick to hit him on the run. Once he learns this I think he can be very good.

And in all honesty, he wont get axed for 2 reasons:
1) He is our next best FF behind Lloyd. All our other forwards are more CHF type players
2)While Sheeds is there, Johns wont go anywhere. They have put too much time and effort into getting him good to go again just to chuck him out after one poor season.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
17th July 2007, 20:43
Should be on a program next year to trim right down and get mobility and improve engine.

Needs to lose a bit of muscle mass.

I think he can make it at AFL level but needs a lot of work.
Would a bit of Yoga or something like that help his mobility?

kelvin_sheedy
17th July 2007, 21:20
Would a bit of Yoga or something like that help his mobility?

Yoga... Karma Sutra... whatever it takes ;)

I reckon he should not touch the footy for 3 months and just do aerobic long distance running, swimming or cycling.

Merv Neagle
18th July 2007, 01:22

I reckon he should not touch the footy for 3 months and just do aerobic long distance running, swimming or cycling.

He gets plenty of practice in the horizontal gymnastics.

hulld
29th July 2007, 10:49
he was excellent yesterday. he looks comfortable in defence and he used his pace and mobility quite a bit.

used the ball very well as well

kelvin_sheedy
29th July 2007, 11:43
His mobility yesterday was non existent.

He was turning slower than the Queen Mary.

Looks to big and bulky for CHB. Can only play FB as the AFL CHF's will run him into the ground.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
29th July 2007, 14:07
he was excellent yesterday. he looks comfortable in defence and he used his pace and mobility quite a bit.

used the ball very well as well
Agreed, looked magnificent yesterday. If Fletch is out next week aswell i'd like to see Johns come in and see how he goes in defence at AFL level.

ant555
31st July 2007, 08:27
Thought he was really good on saturday. As Kelvin said he isnt mobile enough to be considered to play on most CHF but i think he can make a decent FB.
He does need to concentrate a bit harder as a few times he was caught out not watching his man and in that split second they got away.
It will be interesting to see his pre season ths year. Last year they increased his work load but it was still a modified program he was on aimed at a steady build up. I suspect it is pretty much time to really turn the screws and pump an ever bigger pre season into him. He has to drop a couple kg of muscle and increase his cardio work.

GoDons
3rd August 2007, 17:16

Courtney barely uses his aerobic system, his game as a CHF/FF or CHB/FB is almost completely reliant on his anaerobic system. As such, there's no real point in him taking a massive focus on aerobic training.

What Courtney has to improve his anaerobic endurance. I'd have him doing lots of shuttle runs so that he can work on repeat efforts which is the area of fitness that's letting him down at the moment. Aerobic training wouldn't help him at all with that and is mainly just for guys who play in the midfield/ruck.

BigBoPBope
27th August 2007, 16:45
Is Essendon going to delist Johns at the end of the year? Or will he get 1 more year to prove himself? What do you think the new coach will do with him?

hulld
28th August 2007, 17:22
he has a year left on his contract. so they only way he won't be here next year is if we trade him

GoDons
28th August 2007, 17:31
he has a year left on his contract. so they only way he won't be here next year is if we trade him

We can delist him and pay his salary out under the salary cap if we want to.

In saying that, I find it extremely unlikely we would do that.

daveyboy3
28th August 2007, 19:11
Courtney barely uses his aerobic system, his game as a CHF/FF or CHB/FB is almost completely reliant on his anaerobic system. As such, there's no real point in him taking a massive focus on aerobic training.

What Courtney has to improve his anaerobic endurance. I'd have him doing lots of shuttle runs so that he can work on repeat efforts which is the area of fitness that's letting him down at the moment. Aerobic training wouldn't help him at all with that and is mainly just for guys who play in the midfield/ruck.

The two systems are not as separated as that and work together. A well developed aerobic system means you are better able to recover from anaerobic efforts, through the increased removal of lactic acid etc.. The fitter you are aerobically also means you have a higher lactate threshold which means you are able to work at greater intensity before rapidly fatiguing.

hulld
28th August 2007, 21:33
We can delist him and pay his salary out under the salary cap if we want to.

In saying that, I find it extremely unlikely we would do that.

i know that, we aren't going to lose a 6 foot 4, 100kg guy who can take a grab and is quick off the mark for nothing

GoDons
28th August 2007, 22:11
i know that, we aren't going to lose a 6 foot 4, 100kg guy who can take a grab and is quick off the mark for nothing

But we could if we wanted to and that didn't seem to be taken into consideration in your original post.

GoDons
28th August 2007, 22:27
The two systems are not as separated as that and work together. A well developed aerobic system means you are better able to recover from anaerobic efforts, through the increased removal of lactic acid etc.. The fitter you are aerobically also means you have a higher lactate threshold which means you are able to work at greater intensity before rapidly fatiguing.

You're not quite understanding it.

Courtney is primarily an anaerobic athlete. That means he will specifically train his anaerobic components of fitness more than his aerobic components. That's the crux of it.

Aerobic training may help in the removal of blood lactate and metabolic bi-products but that takes at least half an hour with an active recovery. It's not like he's going to be recovering on the field.

A high lactate threshold is virtually irrelevant for an anaerobic athlete. The anaerobic threshold is the point in which lactate begins to accumulate and the body can no longer function aerobically. Given that Courtney wouldn't be functioning aerobically all that much to begin with, the time period that Courtney can function aerobically doesn't matter particularly.

This is not to say that Courtney won't do things like continuous training, because there is a small aerobic component to his game, but his pirmary focus will no doubt be things like interval training which means he'll be able to perform things like second efforts and leads a lot more.

This stuff really brings me back to the days of school...

warney7
28th August 2007, 22:47
Ok, just to put it simply.

He is too big to play AFL football.

He needs to lose bulk, become more mobile.

I've been a supporter of his for some years, but my patience is wearing.
He gets next year to show us what he can do, otherwise he has to go!

Darealrath
2nd September 2007, 09:49
With the potential shown by Gumby and Neagle and the continued good form of Lloyd and Lucas I reckon his time is up with us. I think he can play well as a FF and would suit a club like the dogs, I just hope they aren't scared off by the McDougall disaster.

akingofkong
2nd September 2007, 11:35
I reckon courtney should be put up as possible traid bait - he has had plenty of time to prove himself and has yet to show anything(delist or trade at trade period).

NathanS
3rd September 2007, 01:12
I wouldn't call 19 games "plenty of time". We're not talking Bradleys 49 games here.

I can't believe anyone would even consider to DELIST him with one year left on his contract, and with this years weak draft. Especially with some of the senior players retiring, who have to be covered. We've only got a few draft picks. Trading him to a club more able to utilize his attributes would be a sensible move... unlike delisting him.

His statistics are similar to those of Scotty Lucas after a similar number of games. Those who believe he's useless, or can't be a good player just need an education on how long it takes for the average key position player to develop. And a few just need to find a better scape goat.

He's got quite a few positive attributes: he's can take a strong contested mark, has great speed off the mark, great closing speed, enjoys the physical game and the contest, can crash packs, has seen both ends of the ground, and is now a nice kick. He needs to work on his endurance, needs to catch up on lost footy experience, concentrate on his second efforts, and some agility work. Provided he's allowed to RUN this pre-season, he'll lose some of his bulk, but he'll still be one of the stronger players going around.

I'd advocate either trading him, or giving him the next year to prove himself.

TheDon35
19th September 2007, 09:13
Shame as I reckon he's capable of kicking bags in the right club.

Never easy playing 3rd tall to Lucas and Lloyd but add to that, the worst midfield in the comp and it's near impossible.

I think would have been a good trade to the dogs for one of their runners.

GoDons
19th September 2007, 18:07
Word is that he is prepping himself to play CHB in 2008 on a permanent basis.

That's of course if he stays at Essendon.

hulld
19th September 2007, 19:24
wow, did you figure that out by round 10 or 11???

GoDons
19th September 2007, 19:29
wow, did you figure that out by round 10 or 11???

Johns was still used as a forward in the VFL and considered a forward option when he pushed for senior selection, the Hawthorn game being the only exception.

I can tell you that he doesn't consider himself a forward at the Essendon Football Club anymore.

hulld
19th September 2007, 22:28
he started the latter games in the vfl in defence and was moved forward in a couple of games because he wasn't 100%

GoDons
19th September 2007, 22:54
he started the latter games in the vfl in defence and was moved forward in a couple of games because he wasn't 100%

He did against North Ballarat, that's it except for the game where he had a shoulder complaint. Johns was moved around a bit.

But that's not the point. He considers himself a defender now which is a step forward from earlier this year where he wasn't all that rapt with playing down there.

Nibble
1st October 2007, 18:20
Matthew Knights needs to force Johns to have a big preseason and give him next season to become a regular in the senior line-up. if he fails to become a rugular next season use him as trade-bait as some clubs would be interested

bombersmad75
31st October 2007, 19:33
Hi guys just wondering where CJ will play for us next year? Would he get a regular apperance in the firsts?

bombersno1
31st October 2007, 19:42
Has been playing in the backline for Bendigo

NathanS
31st October 2007, 19:47
Knights had him playing down back last year, so I presume it'd be the same this year. He's very much in the early days in learning the position, and reading the play back there. I know that pre-season last year he was still considered a forward, but this year will be the first where he learns his position there (rather then being thrown in the deep end again).

Hopefully he works on his running and agility work as a priority - he doesn't need as much bulk as he has. Even so, CJ will only get a game if someone else gets injured. So I expect he'll get a few goes this year, and I'm hoping he'll show vast improvement (although that's very optimistic).

cAsEy_18
31st October 2007, 20:05
Perhaps we might see Courtney down back with Ryder pushed into the ruck with Laycock and Hille down to the 2nds?

ant555
1st November 2007, 08:03
Looks like Johns is putting in a pretty big pre season already. He was down at WH yesterday with Jay Nash doing some 200's. :thumbsu:

bombersmad75
1st November 2007, 08:50
That is great to hear heres hoping he will get some form and play most of the year in the firsts.:thumbsu::):thumbsu:

KING-JAMES
1st November 2007, 10:52
Looks like Johns is putting in a pretty big pre season already. He was down at WH yesterday with Jay Nash doing some 200's. :thumbsu:

Cheers mate, always a great source for training updates. Anyone else been down the club looking in great shape already?

ant555
1st November 2007, 21:02
Cheers mate, always a great source for training updates. Anyone else been down the club looking in great shape already?

I havnt been down there a lot but i know a good number have been drifting in and out at various stages. I saw Dempsey doing some running a couple of weeks ago. Jetta has been there a bit.

Ryder Is God
2nd November 2007, 14:50
Seen Gumby at all?

TheDon35
3rd November 2007, 16:36

I'd love to see the big fella come through this year and cement a position though he's got a few ahead of him at this stage.

I'm pretty suprised a few clubs didn't have a crack at him during trade week. Particularly Dogs, Tigers, Eagles. I would have thought he would have been a really good addition to their lists.

Though hasn't yet found his niche at senior level, he has some big tools to play huge games. Question is can he do it consistently? Unfortunately, I think it's going to take an injury to Michael, Lloyd and or Lucas for him to get a good crack at it as I don't think you could playe those four plus the 2 rucks in the same side.

GoDons
3rd November 2007, 16:54
Unfortunately, I think it's going to take an injury to Michael, Lloyd and or Lucas for him to get a good crack at it as I don't think you could playe those four plus the 2 rucks in the same side.

I think Johns could play alongside Michael, Lloyd and Lucas if he gets himself fit, gets better below the knees and plays in the back half. He's got the pace to go with quick forwards on the lead and that would complement Michael nicely.

However, I don't think Johns could play alongside Ryder, Fletcher, Michael, Lloyd and Lucas unless one of Hille and Laycock is missing and Ryder is used as a ruckman. We'd simply run out of runners.

In fact, I think we should be limiting this to defenders that he can play alongside. He's proven that he can't work with Lloyd and Lucas.

j2kboiz
28th December 2007, 17:55
just wondering what you guys think if CJ does not have a great year. will we try and off load him while he has some value or keep him.:confused:

GoDons
28th December 2007, 18:27
If CJ has a poor year it's extremely unlikely he'll have any value.

This is his last chance to prove something and if he doesn't, he'll be out the door.

hulld
28th December 2007, 18:37
he couldn't have a worse year than he did in 07

Merv Neagle
28th December 2007, 19:03
just wondering what you guys think if CJ does not have a great year. will we try and off load him while he has some value or keep him.:confused:

I have publicly stated and don't mind doing so here either.

He is an absolute dud and is a one dimensional footballer who will only make it as a FF in a lower division.

I have even defended my position with the fact that is i am wrong and he makes it as a KP defender at AFL level i will post my email apology to him on the Essendon board and the main AFL board.

I reckon i am pretty safe.......

ant555
28th December 2007, 19:12

He is an absolute dud and is a one dimensional footballer who will only mka eit as a FF in a lower division.

I have even defended my position with the fact that is i am wrong and he makes it as a KP defender at AFL level i will post my email apology to him on the Essendon board and the main AFL board.

But Merv Free Spirit told me have have less credability than Robert Walls so how could you know these things :p

Merv Neagle
28th December 2007, 19:26
But Merv Free Spirit told me have have less credability than Robert Walls so how could you know these things :p

That is a very valid point ant.

Now that i think about it, i would say the FS and Walls have a lot in common...........

saladin
28th December 2007, 20:25
they have fined Johns down a lot this preseason. presumably in a bid to increase his agility - which certainly needs some improvement. i don't agree with merve's assessment that he's a complete dud, but he's certainly coming from a long way back, and this year it's make or break.

ant555
29th December 2007, 12:02
That is a very valid point ant.

Now that i think about it, i would say the FS and Walls have a lot in common...........

I think FS is worse. He is like Walls with a dictionary:D

whomb
29th December 2007, 16:54

because that'd mean so much to him? :rolleyes:

Merv Neagle
29th December 2007, 17:05
because that'd mean so much to him? :rolleyes:

It's not about meaning anything to him it's about me doing my penance for being proved wrong.

j2kboiz
29th December 2007, 19:16

He is an absolute dud and is a one dimensional footballer who will only make it as a FF in a lower division.

Well Merv lets hope your wrong for essendons sake. However I think you are pretty safe aswell.

loopy_cam
16th February 2008, 21:46
I thought he did pretty well for the brief time he was involved.

Needs to be involved longer though.

GoDons
16th February 2008, 22:02
I thought he did pretty well for the brief time he was involved.

Needs to be involved longer though.

He's still building up, he'll be able to lengthen his involvement as the pre-season continues,

His corked buttock didn't help either.

hulld
17th February 2008, 18:52
i thought he played a bit like barry hall last night. led well and used his strength

loopy_cam
17th February 2008, 19:31
i thought he played a bit like barry hall tonight. led well and used his strength

Yeh, especially when he got the ball and ran. Blokes were bouncing off him.

geewhynot
18th February 2008, 13:00
Yeh, especially when he got the ball and ran. Blokes were bouncing off him.

id be happy with the way he looked in round one.. looked to have great speed for a big bloke to get to the ball first and used his strength well.
reading other posts it seems many bombers supporters dont rate him in the best 22? i thought he would be a good option this year after having another preseason under his belt

loopy_cam
18th February 2008, 15:37
id be happy with the way he looked in round one.. looked to have great speed for a big bloke to get to the ball first and used his strength well.
reading other posts it seems many bombers supporters dont rate him in the best 22? i thought he would be a good option this year after having another preseason under his belt

Problem is we have
Lloyd, Lucas as established talls.
Hille and Laycock to rest down there.
Mcphee there this year
and when they're not injured, Neagle and/or Gumby.

Too many options.

hulld
18th February 2008, 17:58
i hope we keep him on the list until lloydy and scotty retire. he will be ready made by then, if not by now

Merv Neagle
29th February 2008, 21:21
This guy is the biggest spud on our list.

He is a fraud and will never make it as an AFL footballer.

hulld
29th February 2008, 21:51
no, you're thinking of monfries

Merv Neagle
29th February 2008, 22:09
no, you're thinking of monfries

No I'm not.

kelvin_sheedy
29th February 2008, 22:15
Had his chance against a weakened Saints defence and came up short again.

I thought his future lied in defence.

Whatever happened with that?

ManWithNoName
2nd March 2008, 17:20
You can stick a fork in him. He's done.

Thrust
2nd March 2008, 17:34
hopefully when he's delisted freo pick him up

Slattery_20
2nd March 2008, 20:22
Every time the ball went near him, he almost marked it
Until that last goal, which was quality

Still not quite there in a few areas, doesn't kick & mark enough to be "just" a dinosaur full-forward

IhateMondays
16th March 2008, 17:50
Turn him into a full back using Leigh Matthews blue print. He turned Merret into a serviceable full back, and he will be better there than FF

IhateMondays
16th March 2008, 17:51
Matthews also turned Michael from a FF to FB, so there must be something there.

p3zd1sp3nx0r
2nd April 2008, 22:49
Johns has got ANOTHER corky... seriously this guy needs to harden the ____ up

WindyHillWatcher
23rd April 2008, 16:39
Please tell me he's not in the Anzac Day squad....

AJ121
23rd April 2008, 16:53
Squad hasn't been named yet, but Knights said he's a definite inclusion

Schmick
23rd April 2008, 18:26
Very happy to see Johns included in the side, hopefully he'll play a good game and continue to hold down a position down back.

hulld
23rd April 2008, 18:42
Please tell me he's not in the Anzac Day squad....

he's not in the anzac day squad..........he's in the team

good luck CJ

Santoz
25th April 2008, 18:03
It's not often that Robert Walls gets anything Essendon related correct but he was spot on the money today about CJ. He didn't cut the mustard today.

hulld
25th April 2008, 18:13
give up on the defensive experiment. he is a full forward

Sigmund
25th April 2008, 19:24
It is not about experimentation or trying him in different positions. Not all blokes are going to make it and that needs to acknowledged... He is simply not up to it .... in any position..

Crumpler83
26th April 2008, 09:17

Agreed 110%.

Either keep the bloke and try to develop him as a forward or just get rid of him. He's not a backman and never will be.

Schmick
26th April 2008, 16:17
Im starting to realise this, great backman at VFL level and poo in the seniors. Has played a few great games at FF at AFL level and if he's going to make it, it'll surely be up forward.

Should be sent back to Bendigo playing at FF until he starts kicking a few bags, then maybe he could be brought into the seniors (whilst Lucas is out).

TheDon35
27th April 2008, 15:44
How is it that with 2 key forwards out, we elect to play this bloke in the backline in exchange for Fletcher in the forward line???

Will never be a senior backline player that contributes anything meaningful to the side.

If we're going to play him. Play him in position. This backline experiment is a waste of time.

daffo
28th May 2008, 13:29
This backline experiment is a waste of time.

No, i think CJ is a waste of time

bipolarbeaR
1st June 2008, 21:29
I feel bad for this dude sorta. If Lloyd can't get good passes these days via the Essendon midfield who will?
Seems a little brainless too.

daffo
2nd June 2008, 16:42
Lloyd doesn't cost us 5 goals a game due to turnovers/free kicks.

asthebombersflyup
2nd June 2008, 16:57
Lloyd doesn't cost us 5 goals a game due to turnovers/free kicks.

neither does johns.

bipolarbeaR
2nd June 2008, 20:25
neither does johns.

Because he doesn't get a game :O

Lance Uppercut
2nd June 2008, 20:33
____ ya's all, I'm sticking fat with the big fella :thumbsu:

loopy_cam
2nd June 2008, 22:15
I admire your courage.

WindyHillWatcher
3rd June 2008, 11:56
I think he'd look great in a freo guernsey. The purple and green would really show his softer side.

asthebombersflyup
3rd June 2008, 12:33
____ ya's all, I'm sticking fat with the big fella :thumbsu:

i agree,
johns is a legend, i dont care what any of you say!

daffo
3rd June 2008, 13:14
He would look great in a Freo guernsey. I wouldn't mind if we de-list him and he goes over there.