View Full Version : 27. Jason Laycock

Pages : 1 [2] 3

TheDon35
23 May 2008, 19:08
He's carrying a distinct lack of talent, effort and football smarts.

Play Davey on crutches in the ruck ahead of Laycock. He is useless.

The sad thing is he's actually got a crap load of tallent. He's just a soft, whinging, sook who's not prepared to do the hard work on the ground to become a good player.

Spikey
25 May 2008, 14:03
I blame his kids. He was sorta ok before he decided to have like 2 kids...:(

TheDon35
25 May 2008, 18:52
Would be a shocking mistake to bring him in after getting a couple of kicks in the two's this week.

He needs to go back and learn over a number of weeks that playing league footy is a privelage and not something given to players on potential.

GoDons
31 May 2008, 14:14
I blame his kids. He was sorta ok before he decided to have like 2 kids...:(

I had a kid before he even started in the AFL, I believe.

GoDons
31 May 2008, 14:16
Would be a shocking mistake to bring him in after getting a couple of kicks in the two's this week.

There's no game this week, so he certainly won't be brought back on that basis.

BacharHouli_43
1 Jun 2008, 23:07
I hope people stop giving him a hard time, coz he actually has talent. only problem is that he picks and chooses when to perform. He is terrible as a permanent forward but a much better player in the ruck and personally i think we should play ryder in the ruck for most of the year. But Laycock definitely has a lot of talent and should be persisted with.

Smyth94
2 Jun 2008, 14:24
I hope people stop giving him a hard time, coz he actually has talent. only problem is that he picks and chooses when to perform. He is terrible as a permanent forward but a much better player in the ruck and personally i think we should play ryder in the ruck for most of the year. But Laycock definitely has a lot of talent and should be persisted with.

The reason he gets bagged is because he has talent. Attitude is a major problem for Laycock, or so thats what is perceived from our supporter group. If you have talent but not contributing - then the logical assumption is lack of effort.

Laycock should be aiming for 15+ possies a game along with 20 hitouts, he doesn't have to be a Dean Cox but he needs to contribute.

daffo
2 Jun 2008, 17:40
If we could get that from him then he would be in the side now. He should be thankful we don't have a 3rd ruckman gunning to get in the side, coz he would be traded at seasons end.

hulld
2 Jun 2008, 18:02
will probably come in this week with paddy playing on franklin

timbo3195
4 Jun 2008, 11:07
If we could get that from him then he would be in the side now. He should be thankful we don't have a 3rd ruckman gunning to get in the side, coz he would be traded at seasons end.

We do, but he's not getting a chance ):

Jonesy1987
14 Jun 2008, 05:03
I've been quite hard on young Laycock but he showed something against West Coast. Hopefully keeps on developing as he has the potenial to be very good:thumbsu:

kelvin_sheedy
14 Jun 2008, 11:04
I thought he got pushed off the ball way too easily last night. I wasn't happy.

Spikey
14 Jun 2008, 11:08
I've been quite hard on young Laycock

Am I the only one who laughed? I hope not...

CarlosHernandez
14 Jun 2008, 12:08

Maybe a couple of ruck contests, but overall he went in a lot harder than usual. Was even chasing opposition players, and took some strong pack marks.

Very solid game from a very out of form player.

Pawtucket Patriot
14 Jun 2008, 12:25

I don't think he is a bash-and-crash ruckman, like Hille, he seems to be more of a finesser (made up word, but it will do the trick) of the ball. Seems better suited to sharking the oppostion ruckman's taps than creating his own. He is great once the ball hits the deck, he becomes like an extra rover.

HULK HOGAN
14 Jun 2008, 15:58
Maybe a couple of ruck contests, but overall he went in a lot harder than usual. Was even chasing opposition players, and took some strong pack marks.

Very solid game from a very out of form player.
Yep thought he was Good Last night.
I would lie a job at the Essendon footy club, just as they are about to run out oto the ground my job would be to go to jason slap him across the face a few times and tell him to get ANGRY and I honestly think he would be a 200 game player.

Ben the Gooner
14 Jun 2008, 17:25
I would lie a job at the Essendon footy club, just as they are about to run out oto the ground my job would be to go to jason slap him across the face a few times and tell him to get ANGRY and I honestly think he would be a 200 game player.

If that works, they should pay you 300k or more a year.:thumbsu:

A fully firing Laycock means an exceptionally dangerous Essendon, in the ruck, and in the forward line.

GoDons
14 Jun 2008, 18:07

He's a timid personality. I know you're joking, but that kind of thing has consistently been shown to be completely ineffective.

What he needs is more self belief. He's got to set a standard for himself.

HULK HOGAN
14 Jun 2008, 18:11
He's a timid personality. I know you're joking, but that kind of thing has consistently been shown to be completely ineffective.

What he needs is more self belief. He's got to set a standard for himself.
Couldn't possibly be completely ineffective as everyone is different he just needs to toughen up self beleif is the soft cop out he wouldn't have been drafted if he had a lack of self belief.

GoDons
14 Jun 2008, 18:30
Couldn't possibly be completely ineffective as everyone is different he just needs to toughen up self beleif is the soft cop out he wouldn't have been drafted if he had a lack of self belief.

Everyone is different, but that doesn't mean people aren't similar.

People have different amounts of self belief in different settings. Playing AFL football is a lot different to running round playing club football in Tasmania.

I don't think he believes he can play consistently good games. I think he sees himself as a fringe player and plays accordingly.

But I don't know him personally, so my opinion's fairly irrelevant.

loopy_cam
22 Jun 2008, 22:44
I think Laycock may be crucified after this game but I don't think he played as bad as his stats will show.

Did alright in the ruck and showed he is dangerous in the forward line. Shouldn't be dropped IMO.

NewBabyBombaz
23 Jun 2008, 00:26
I think Laycock may be crucified after this game but I don't think he played as bad as his stats will show.

Did alright in the ruck and showed he is dangerous in the forward line. Shouldn't be dropped IMO.

Yeh I agree, his snap goal was absolutely crucial, I think he can be a very relaible player and seemingly an important back up to Hille

Grey Smith Bar
23 Jun 2008, 01:13
I was surprised to see how low his stats were when I got home, I thought he had a pretty good game.

stander
23 Jun 2008, 13:13

When you consider who played in the ruck for Carlton, I thought Laycock was bordering on lamentable. There is very little intensity in his approach to the game, and if he gets another contract I would be surprised. I've been on his case for a couple of years now hoping he would turn it around. Lucky Laycock is his name, footy is not his game.

kelvin_sheedy
23 Jun 2008, 14:41
^^^ Agree.

He just doesn't seem strong enough or aggressive enough in the contests.

I think he looks to be trying a lot harder but gets out bodied and muscled by his opponents too easily.

He needs a lot of work in the gym.

We have to persist as we don't have anyone to take over just yet. I can see him staying around for another 2 years to see if we can get anything out of him.

hulld
23 Jun 2008, 14:41
they won't drop him. we need to experienced big guys against sandilands

Pevers-Legend
30 Jun 2008, 14:56
Another weak performance by Laycock.

Some of his efforts are just so soft. He needs a pre-season in the gym. What good is skill if you have no guts and determination.

Dropped marks and one time chickened out ofbacking back to mak a contest.

I like him - but he needs to start showing something.

Ben the Gooner
30 Jun 2008, 15:16
I was happy with his game yesterday. He showed a lot of poise in the backline.

Centurion
30 Jun 2008, 16:15
I was happy with his game yesterday. He showed a lot of poise in the backline.

I heard totally contradicting reports by Sen and callers after the game. I still believe he needs a rocket up the arse!!!

Spikey
30 Jun 2008, 16:16
I heard totally contradicting reports by Sen and callers after the game. I still believe he needs a rocket up the arse!!!

No. He needs a good old fashioned Reimering

sausageroll
30 Jun 2008, 16:18
I've still got some hope for Laycock.
He seems to be trying hard at the moment. If he can play a blinder sometime soon he might find some more confidence. Hope it all clicks for him

NewBabyBombaz
30 Jun 2008, 18:36
Yeh, he was alright, showed some alright skills, but his courage is questionable, how soft was his dropped uncontestable mark in the last few minutes in defence, also got fended off way too easily by Pavlich when he was the last chance at saving a crucial goal, he is important but if he doesn't improve then i think its time to look elsewhere!

loopy_cam
30 Jun 2008, 19:31
Yeh, he was alright, showed some alright skills, but his courage is questionable, how soft was his dropped uncontestable mark in the last few minutes in defence, also got fended off way too easily by Pavlich when he was the last chance at saving a crucial goal, he is important but if he doesn't improve then i think its time to look elsewhere!

I can understand the dropped mark as he was expecting the contact from behind. As you would. I don't know how he had a chance at an uncontested mark in the 50 at a time like that.

I still have hope for him. He will never be a first ruckman but he can be a very valuable second ruck. If he can play a third of the game in the ruck and win more than half of the taps. Then play forward for the rest of the time and kick 2 goals a game, we'll have a very effective ruck duo with Hille and Laycock.

OldMav
30 Jun 2008, 19:37
I can understand the dropped mark as he was expecting the contact from behind. As you would. I don't know how he had a chance at an uncontested mark in the 50 at a time like that.

I can't. He should of taken that, every other defender or player we have on our list would of taken that. He might of been expecting the hit but the hit still has to come for him to struggle taking the mark.

Can't see keeping him on the list is going to improve us at all

Windas_Magic
30 Jun 2008, 19:47
Every time i watch him play i just think to myself, does this guy want to be here? He is lazy and still doesn't look fit enough. I'm getting sick of him to be honest.
He squibbed when going for a mark in defence and he didn't push himself to contests, needs to lift big time

Gaitors
6 Jul 2008, 17:53
Get Rid of him.
Usless player.
gets like 3 touches a game.
wouldnt b suprised if he is delisted if we pick up a ruckman in the Draft.

S.C[BANKS]
13 Jul 2008, 00:13
WHY!! OH WHY!!!

How come you get pushed off so easily by a guy half your size?

Besides that he was good up forward (Brisbane game), I'll persist but hopefully he comes good.

sausageroll
13 Jul 2008, 00:45
I hope he keeps getting opportunities. He shows flashes of brilliance at times but has a lot of weaknesses. I think he might be a bit low on confidence. Once he gets more confident I think he'll be very valuable.

He's getting to the age now where he needs to get more consistent. We need him to step up for the rest of the season to prove his value. He could be a huge key to our next premiership push.

Still a potential gun imo. But could be a dud too

Crumpler83
19 Jul 2008, 17:47
I don't like to get caught up in the emotion of a devastating loss and start bagging our players willy nilly but this bloke just gave us NOTHING today.

How many more chances is he going to get? Can only live on potential for so long in footy...needs to harden up,show some more effort and maybe perhaps chase once in a while because he just comes across as an extremely lazy footballer.

loopy_cam
19 Jul 2008, 20:47
Will be good.

bomber69
19 Jul 2008, 21:02
Will be good.
Second that

windyhill
20 Jul 2008, 00:13
ruckmen take time you stupid *****.
Be patient.

stander
20 Jul 2008, 10:42
ruckmen take time you stupid *****.
Be patient.

Its a well worn cliche, nearly expired with this bloke.

Ruckmen I've seen also show some spine early on.

Daytripper
20 Jul 2008, 10:45
I don't like to get caught up in the emotion of a devastating loss and start bagging our players willy nilly but this bloke just gave us NOTHING today.

13 possessions
7 contested
3 contested marks

Gave us quite a bit actually.

bombaman
20 Jul 2008, 12:10
Its a well worn cliche, nearly expired with this bloke.

Ruckmen I've seen also show some spine early on.

Could of said the same thing about hille last year....

Ben the Gooner
20 Jul 2008, 12:19
Some people need to think before they start bagging people.

Chook has been injured all his career until this year, and then, when he's ready for a break out year, is held back by playing second fiddle to the dominant ruckman in the competition. It's hard to be good when you're not getting much time in the ruck. As a ruckman myself, it takes time to get into the swing of things in there each game, and by the time Chook is ready to start dominating the hit-outs, Hille's ready to come back on, and Chook goes forward.

It must be incredibly frustrating as it is, let alone having almost every man and his dog bagging him, no matter what he does.

stander
20 Jul 2008, 13:05
[quote=Ben the Gooner;11770151]Some people need to think before they start bagging people.

Chook has been injured all his career until this year, and then, when he's ready for a break out year, is held back by playing second fiddle to the dominant ruckman in the competition. It's hard to be good when you're not getting much time in the ruck. As a ruckman myself, it takes time to get into the swing of things in there each game, and by the time Chook is ready to start dominating the hit-outs, Hille's ready to come back on, and Chook goes forward.quote]

I've had a good think and I played in the ruck too, and injuries go with the job, and invariably you carry them through. From where I stand, Hille looks ready to go from the first bounce, so why isn't this laggard ready to go when he gets his 7 minutes ??

Ben the Gooner
20 Jul 2008, 13:51
I mean to the point where your timing your leaps absolutely perfectly, having got a sense of the umpire's bouncing ability, and putting yourself in the best possible position to win every tap.

Maybe it's solely because I'm not very good, but I find the first bounce the hardest, because you have no idea how high the umpire will bounce it.

It's very rare for Chook to get the two-three centre bounces (bounces around the ground, and boundary throw-ins are completely different) he needs before Hilley's back.

It's not a huge thing, but let him ruck a game without Hille before people begin to cast aspersions on his rucking ability.

And I'm talking about major injuries, not just corkies and the like. Stress fractures, mainly.

MadBomberfan
20 Jul 2008, 14:13
The worst that I saw of him yesterday were the one-handed efforts. They really shit me because it comes across as a lazy half-arsed effort. But he was far fom our worst yesterday. He wasn't the only one to miss gettable goals and IMHO his were more excusable given the pressure. What excuse does Leroy have for his first q clangers? (granted, may be too unselfish or lacked confidence).

HULK HOGAN
20 Jul 2008, 15:40
13 possessions
7 contested
3 contested marks

Also kicked 1 goal 4, had he have kicked 2-3 we probably win, he nearly goes in our best players??????????

Crumpler83
20 Jul 2008, 17:04
13 possessions
7 contested
3 contested marks

Did you watch the game or are you just quoting stats??

13 possies is hardly a massive effort,and it's what a player does with his possesions that count,not sheer numbers.

Anyway just because I'm being critical of him doesn't mean I don't want him to succeed. The guy just frustrates a hell of a lot of supporters because we know he has the skills but the application seems rather lacking for the most part.

Spikey
20 Jul 2008, 17:08
13 possies is hardly a massive effort

It is for a second ruckman....

ManWithNoName
20 Jul 2008, 17:31
Absolute pathetic joke of a footballer. Piss him off to Bendigo and play Bellchambers. He can't possibly be worse than this useless prick.

timbo3195
20 Jul 2008, 18:35
Absolute pathetic joke of a footballer. Piss him off to Bendigo and play Bellchambers. He can't possibly be worse than this useless prick.

Well, thanks for your highly intelligent opinion.

Ben the Gooner
20 Jul 2008, 19:06

Believe me, he can.

How many 18 year old ruckmen can play well in the AFL?

ManWithNoName
20 Jul 2008, 19:13
Well, thanks for your highly intelligent opinion. f***wit
Laycock adds nothing and does nothing. Whenever we put him in the ruck we get obliterated in the middle. Which means Hille has to do more than he should which means he gets tired quicker.

Laycock is lazy and does NOT have the talent to back it up. Early in the 4th quarter yesterday he had a shot at a game breaking goal, about 15 metres out in the pocket. No-one around him, had all the time in the world. The shot he took was the most lazy kick you'll ever see and he missed. Cost us the game? Perhaps. Those one handed grabs he kept trying to take reeked of arrogance and laziness. He is completely and utterly useless. Bolton was shit but at least he tried his heart out every single week. Laycock does nothing of the sort. Play Ryder in the ruck, I don't care. But get rid of this useless tosser.

Ben the Gooner
20 Jul 2008, 19:50
He does have talent, he just hasn't been able to show it consistently yet.

ManWithNoName
20 Jul 2008, 20:01
He does have talent, he just hasn't been able to show it consistently yet.
One good game doesn't mean he has talent.

YoungBomberJuzzy
4 Aug 2008, 15:53
he needs to improve dramatically beacuse at the moment his lucky not to get the sack nd the only reason he isn't is coz we don't have any other tall guys atm his just a plan waste of space

hulld
5 Aug 2008, 15:00
he was useless until the last quarter where his only highlights were a couple of one percenters

BacharHouli_43
11 Aug 2008, 21:26
Over the last 10 weeks or so, Jason Laycock has been the whipping boy of Essendon fans and media. He has been the joke of the club.

I know that i am in the complete minority but i reckon he is not that bad. It wasnt that long ago that Hille was an absolute dud and a clutz, dropping everything and giving away frees, now look at him.

Laycock can take a mark and he is a better kick than most ruckmen. At the end of the day, quality ruckmen are few and far between, laycock is clearly not one of them but if we delist him what will we replace him with? Ryder? I think we may as well keep Laycock as he has no trade value and there are far worse ruckmen in the comp than him.

Maybe its my lack of rating for average ruckmen that is coming out here, but hitouts are virtually useless unless to advantage, (if a coach was daring enough, you could use a 'third man up' at every contest) and Laycock can take a strong mark and is okay with his kicking which is more than can be said about most ruckmen.

The Dustbin
11 Aug 2008, 21:54
Can't believe you started another thread on Laycock. :eek:

hulld
12 Aug 2008, 12:57
he obviously has talent bacharhouli, but it is his lack of intensity and consistently that pisses us all off.

he should be a good player but his output is minimal

HighettBomber
13 Aug 2008, 14:48
I'm as frustrated as everyone else with his seeming lack of effort. But, he has a lot of talent, he is a great mark, a good kick and he is pretty mobile when he puts in some effort. He will be around fore a while because those attributes will buy him time.

adii_7
16 Aug 2008, 23:57
One good game doesn't mean he has talent.

OMG NOT LAYCOCK

hes fast. mobile

runs down the best players in the afl

if essendon chuck him out, they wud of wasted a possiblity of a first round draft pick for him!!!!!

will captain essendon wen matty retires, go on and bag 15 a game , get 50 clearances a match etc.

SAVE THE LAZYCOCK.... NOT

ManWithNoName
17 Aug 2008, 00:59
Well played today Chook, very, VERY good effort.

The Dustbin
17 Aug 2008, 01:19
Well played today Chook, very, VERY good effort.

I smell sarcasm...

:cool:

ManWithNoName
17 Aug 2008, 14:36
I smell sarcasm...

:cool:
Read my post in the "Weekly Laycock Whinge" thread. I was very impressed with Chook yesterday.

ant555
17 Aug 2008, 17:49
The thing that disapoints me the most about him is the fact he has no physical presence. For a bloke his side he puts no fear into anyone at all and rarely stamps himself on a contest.

Smyth94
17 Aug 2008, 18:39
The thing that disapoints me the most about him is the fact he has no physical presence. For a bloke his side he puts no fear into anyone at all and rarely stamps himself on a contest.

Out of all of Laycock's attributes this is easily the worst - not only does he fail to provide physical presence in a contest he gets thrown around like a rag doll by much shorter and lighter opponents.

yaco55
17 Aug 2008, 19:27
IMO Laycock could more of a physical presence but his tacking skills need to be developed.

Laycock ' cant stick a tackle '.

dirtywhitepacker
18 Aug 2008, 17:54
When I was younger, much younger, my Rugby coach told me that the thing preventing me from being a great player was my "mongrel". I had to introduce some "mongrel" into my game, think like a hungry animal when you're out there playing. If you are in a contest, think like an animal. From that moment, I really took it to heart, and it improved my game out-of-sight. It probably concerned the other kids playing under 12's at the time that they were being creamed by a kid growling like a dog, but god it worked.

Maybe Laycock needs to implement the same sort of philosophy in his game to bring out his best and indeed impose his stature in the contests...

dmc333
23 Aug 2008, 09:09
In the local paper today, thought I'd stick it up for you all.

ESSENDON forward and former East Devonport footballer Jason Laycock almost walked away from the AFL midway through this season. Laycock, 24, has struggled with injury and form this year and just when he had a chance to finally cement his spot in the absence of No1 ruckman David Hille, he was himself injured.
He will miss the remainder of the season with a foot injury.
His on-field performances have been criticised in the Melbourne media, which he admitted had hurt him.
"Halfway through the season I was going to pull the pin," he said.
"That was until I saw the AFL Players' Association psychologist, who gave me some useful tools to deal with it.
"The majority of the criticism was unjustified, but it still affected my confidence a lot," he said.
Laycock said his eventful season had probably made him mentally stronger.
"It's been a tough year for me, but hopefully I will learn from it," he said.
Last week, he was jeered by some Essendon supporters after a poor first half.
Essendon coach Matthew Knights said rather than sympathising with Laycock over the crowd's treatment, he hoped Laycock would use it as a positive.
"He knows as well as I know that he's got to continue to lift his intensity to be a quality ruckman in this league," Knights said.
"I'm not in the business of feeling sorry for people, I've got to work with him and teach him."
In five years, the talented tall has been a marginal player and has twice this year had a chance to step into the No1 ruck role in the absence of Hille, only to be injured himself.
Knights had been hoping he could use the extra responsibility of Hille's absence to step up.
Laycock said the club had told him it wanted to retain his services, despite speculation in the Melbourne media he could be de-listed or traded to another club.
"Essendon have told me they want me around for a few more years at this stage," he said.
The Bombers are hoping to take advantage of Laycock's height and develop him into a leading forward, possibly to take over from skipper and spearhead Matthew Lloyd.
"They're (the media) wrong about Lloydy too - he's not about to retire and he's really had a great season this year," Laycock said.
"I'm not in a hurry to take his job."
Laycock, who was drafted in 2003 but only played his 50th game with the Bombers this season due to a run of injuries, said he was hopeful of a full senior season in 2009.
"I need to become a bit fitter, gain more confidence, listen to my coaches and don't pay any attention to the crap in the media," he said.
Laycock's injury is one he has been carrying for some time and involves a spur on a bone in his left ankle.
"It's been like it for about eight weeks and it's caused a lot of swelling in my ankle joint," he said.
"If we were playing finals, I'd keep going, but because we're not, it's time to get it fixed."
Laycock was due to consult a surgeon yesterday. Arthroscopic surgery is the likely outcome.

http://nwtasmania.yourguide.com.au/news/local/sport/afl/i-wanted-to-quit/1251858.aspx

Hirdismyhero
23 Aug 2008, 10:28
Wow.

Great article.

I'm actually really remorseful that I thought badly of him- He just needs to up his intensity a bit and then we'll be flying. Let's hope that he can do it.
Onya Chook!

Spikey
23 Aug 2008, 10:45
Hopefully that should put a end to stupid people saying he will be delisted....

Valve Bounce
23 Aug 2008, 10:51
This guy needs to be a helluva lot more aggressive. Last week, I think he got pissed off and started to fling opposition players around in three good tackles.

AndyLesPaul
23 Aug 2008, 10:54
This guy needs to be a helluva lot more aggressive. Last week, I think he got pissed off and started to fling opposition players around in three good tackles.
How could he be more aggressive wen his teams supporters (including me)
are telling him to **** off the ball

dapto
23 Aug 2008, 10:55
I dont think posters have any idea how influential forum boards are in the making of public opinion.

All the journo's read them and by and large most of their stories come from them. All the radio guys have the boards in the back of their minds and regularly pick up on the language from the boards. Certainly the producers have a daily canvas across the boards fro ideas and topics starters. It goes on ...and to think that players dont read the stuff is madness.

It would be nice, as a board, as a EFC out-station, if such topics were wound in before they blew all constructive criticism away for the hysterionics that occassionally engulfs

Bomber57
23 Aug 2008, 10:58
"The majority of the criticism was unjustified, but it still affected my confidence a lot," he said.

The inner demons are sometimes hard to fight off, it really is a mind game. :rolleyes:

un_eggs
23 Aug 2008, 11:01
I dont think posters have any idea how influential forum boards are in the making of public opinion.

All the journo's read them and by and large most of their stories come from them. All the radio guys have the boards in the back of their minds and regularly pick up on the language from the boards. Certainly the producers have a daily canvas across the boards fro ideas and topics starters. It goes on ...and to think that players dont read the stuff is madness.

It would be nice, as a board, as a EFC out-station, if such topics were wound in before they blew all constructive criticism away for the hysterionics that occassionally engulfs

well said.

I would like to add that Knighter shows excellent leadership in saying that he's not going to feel sorry for him but instead will teach him. He impresses me more and more as acoach.

saints
23 Aug 2008, 11:13
He's a hack. Coming out and saying these kind of things doesnt change the fact he's been in the sytem for 5 -6 years and produced nothing. He's just like Kosi at the saints. Potential will only get you so far.
The bombers should be keeping a hold of Lovett and get rid of the likes of Laycock.

un_eggs
23 Aug 2008, 11:16
He's a hack. Coming out and saying these kind of things doesnt change the fact he's been in the sytem for 5 -6 years and produced nothing. He's just like Kosi at the saints. Potential will only get you so far.
The bombers should be keeping a hold of Lovett and get rid of the likes of Laycock.

Go away mate...

addog
23 Aug 2008, 11:30
i got so excited when i first saw the words laycock and quit, then i realised it said wanted to quit and i was shattered! seriously who are you morons that think laycock is any good? the only sensible thing written on this thread is from a st kilda supporter. all the other clubs are laughing at us for persisting with this guy. in the end if knighter has any sense he will delist laycock in the next few weeks.

David_Hilley#19
23 Aug 2008, 11:33
If Knights has come out and supported Laycock, saying that he will be at the club the next two years, then i think it is time we lay off him a bit. This time last year David Hille was copping it and everyone was saying that Hille could only ever play one game in a row, and Laycock was the better of the two. And while i have been one to criticise him i think it has reached a point where no matter what he does it is no good. Laycock needs to pull his finger out and over the next 6 months he needs to give his all in the hope that he will improve. But if we all continue to bag the crap out of him then nothing good will come of it. We need to let him be and focus on the good things to come out of this year.

saints
23 Aug 2008, 11:34
Go away mate...

Clever response. But be realistic with yourself. The Bombers will be a force in 3 years with the young players you have but get rid of the crap now.

Ben the Gooner
23 Aug 2008, 11:48
Clever response. But be realistic with yourself. The Bombers will be a force in 3 years with the young players you have but get rid of the crap now.

If you're going to make a post about another club on their board, think before you do so. We are already desperately short of ruckmen, and we won't delist our second best one.

Spikey
23 Aug 2008, 11:59
i got so excited when i first saw the words laycock and quit, then i realised it said wanted to quit and i was shattered! seriously who are you morons that think laycock is any good? the only sensible thing written on this thread is from a st kilda supporter. all the other clubs are laughing at us for persisting with this guy. in the end if knighter has any sense he will delist laycock in the next few weeks.

Addog, I have a challenge for you. Make a post that isn't about bagging Laycock out. Or Dyson. Until you start posting stuff about other players, no one cares what you say

un_eggs
23 Aug 2008, 12:05

Absolutely sick of the negative mouthing off about players (including kosi) being hacks on a forum. It isn't constructive and reeks of little faceless people trying to be big incognito... clever enough smart arse?

ManWithNoName
23 Aug 2008, 13:21
In the local paper today, thought I'd stick it up for you all.

http://nwtasmania.yourguide.com.au/news/local/sport/afl/i-wanted-to-quit/1251858.aspx
You soft prick Laycock. You absolute whinger. HTFU if you want to be an AFL footballer or get lost.

Geez, I've been defending him lately too and then he comes out with this girly whinge.

yaco55
26 Aug 2008, 00:15
Laycock needs to be mentored by someone like McVeigh who can take him under his wing and give him extra training.

warney7
26 Aug 2008, 00:44
Please tell me that article didn't say they have plans for him to take over the leading forward role currently filled by Matthew Lloyd!!!

If he wants to think the criticism was unjustified, well good for him......Just show us how wrong we all are!!

I don't like to bag our own, but at least have a crack. If you don't want to be there, that's fine, don't stick around.

Some of the comments here might seem harsh, but the trolls on this matter are generally on the money. He teased us on Anzac day a few years back, and since then has provided nothing but frustration.

I don't want to hear his problems, because it doesn't change what he's produced. If he comes out and plays great footy next year, I'll be happy to say I was wrong.

And FFS, don't put yourself in the same basket as Lloyd.
Lloyd got criticised, shamefully by Essendon supporters and came back like the champion he is.
Laycock gets criticised, then backs it up with more half arsed efforts.

Bellchambers is coming.............

loopy_cam
28 Aug 2008, 16:36
Do people seriously believe he goes out there to play bad?

timbo3195
28 Aug 2008, 17:05
Must be favourite for B&F?

The Dustbin
11 Sep 2008, 17:14
Must be favourite for B&F?

Throw in Dyson for the quinella.

Sam the RAMA fan
11 Sep 2008, 18:05
Laycock needs to be mentored by someone like McVeigh who can take him under his wing and give him extra training.

To right. :thumbsu:
If Laycock got something like that he might be more willing to go in hard,
pick up the pace and put pressure on his opposition.
But at the moment, he lacks something...alot of things :(

Ben the Gooner
11 Sep 2008, 20:34
To right. :thumbsu:
If Laycock got something like that he might be more willing to go in hard,
pick up the pace and put pressure on his opposition.
But at the moment, he lacks something...alot of things :(

I actually agree with that. A bit of Spike's passion, and Chook will be a star. Having said that, not many players have anywhere near as much passion for their club as Spike.

BigBomber09
3 Oct 2008, 15:21
His not very good. under skilled and looks un-co at times.

He doesnt try hard enough i don think.

2009 is make or break for him.

Pawtucket Patriot
3 Oct 2008, 15:29
His not very good. under skilled and looks un-co at times.

He doesnt try hard enough i don think.

2009 is make or break for him.

Very enlightening. ;)

warney7
3 Oct 2008, 17:38
Well I'd say 2010 is make or break because he'll still be there..........or at least we'll be paying out his contract in 2010 :p

BigBomber09
3 Oct 2008, 17:52
Starting to show signs

signs of getting a kick lol :p