Pages : [1] 2

DaSawx
16th July 2007, 11:44
Starting to show signs

Merv Neagle
16th July 2007, 14:33
Starting to show signs

I agree mate.

He has missed a lot of football and this season has at least been getting regular games.

He has a long way to go but he has certainly shown that he can be a quality ruckman if he keeps improving.

He is sensational below his knees, rare for ruckman, competant at tap outs, a very good mark and a noted goal kicker.

He needs to work on his fitness and mobility but that will come with fitness and experience and at 22 years of age he should keep improving and become a very very good player for us for the next decade.

Darealrath
16th July 2007, 14:56
It was obvious on the weekend that we did much better when he was in the ruck.

A big pre season and he could solve a glaring weakness next year.

Aussie Assault
16th July 2007, 14:59
At the start of the year I would have happily shown him the door, but he is starting to be more consistent now, and I agree, once he becomes fitter it'll help solve a few of our rucking issues.

retroparty
16th July 2007, 15:24
He is a very handy player, but I don't think he will be anything special so I don't rate him very highly. But is a very handy backup ruckman and can easily fill in the 1st ruckman spot

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
16th July 2007, 16:45
I didn't have much faith in him at the start of the year and was wondering whether we would ever see results from him. I think he is a very good talent and i think that come next year, he will be our #1 ruckman, a bit bulkier and fitter, and i just think he will be awsum next year. I love what iv'e seen from him and will play a huge part in the clearance work in the future, i think he will be much, much more than handy.

Ryder Is God
16th July 2007, 17:33
Needs to spend more time in the ruck. When he was, the team played much better. Just needs to gain some more bulk.

jnash196
16th July 2007, 18:14
Laycock=ruckman
Hille=forward

If Laycock got a bit less lazy he could become one of the best ruckmen in the league

Jono B
16th July 2007, 18:18
Needs to spend more time in the ruck. When he was, the team played much better. Just needs to gain some more bulk.
Strange, remember the "Laycock: the lumbering dinosaur" threads.

jnash196
16th July 2007, 18:19
Strange, remember the "Laycock: the lumbering dinosaur" threads.

He made up that nickname, I thought I made it up. Ah, I knew it was too smart for me to have made it up:o

Jono B
16th July 2007, 18:21
No I am not referring to him making up the nickname. I am referring to him saying Laycock needs more bulk.

hulld
16th July 2007, 18:25
his last month has been very good

it was laycock going into the ruck that started our run in the first quarter on saturday.

with a full pre-season he will be as good as hamish mcintosh if not better next year imo

Bombs Away
17th July 2007, 13:49
last month just starting to show signs of what he can do, best form since anzac day of couple of years ago

Bomber32
17th July 2007, 13:53
Laycock will develop into a great ruckman given time. I'd like to see him take over the number one ruckman spot and David Hille go down to the forward line.

donsman4eva
17th July 2007, 17:22
I really question whether or not he can be a good ruckman. I'd actually prefer it to be Hille in the ruck with Laycock as a Forward. Lets not forget thought that Ryder will eventually play in the ruck aswell, so when that happens, one of Laycock or Hille will have to be out of the team IMO.

DaSawx
18th July 2007, 11:14
Trade Hille to a team desperate for a ruckman ;)

When we're ready of course

Merv Neagle
18th July 2007, 13:49
I really question whether or not he can be a good ruckman. I'd actually prefer it to be Hille in the ruck with Laycock as a Forward. Lets not forget thought that Ryder will eventually play in the ruck aswell, so when that happens, one of Laycock or Hille will have to be out of the team IMO.

I'm not so sure about that.

I believe that Ryder might actually develop into a top line CHB and be the instant replacement for Fletcher.

Of course he could still pinch hit in the ruck.

Pawtucket Patriot
18th July 2007, 20:07
I'm not so sure about that.

I believe that Ryder might actually develop into a top line CHB and be the instant replacement for Fletcher.

Of course he could still pinch hit in the ruck.

I think that is the way to go.

biglaycock
18th July 2007, 20:34
I just love the way he is going about his footy now, the penny may have dropped that time waits for knowone to fulfill potential. Would love to see the duo of Laycock and Hille rucking and changing in the forward pocket as i think we can really stretch the pies thinned out defence.

ant555
19th July 2007, 11:55

After watching Saturdays game you can really say that. When he was in the ruck was when we played our best footy.
People have been way too impatient in judging this bloke. He still has more to do and areas he needs to improve a lot in but not many ruckman under 24 really make a lot of imapct.

donsman4eva
19th July 2007, 18:33
Luckily I was on a flight back from Bangkok when the match was played, so I can still stick to my previous assumptions until I see different.

hulld
21st July 2007, 18:38
useless today. didn't look interested

ant555
22nd July 2007, 08:15
useless today. didn't look interested

Did anyone look interested in the first half ? he wasnt alone in that area.

wasupwidat
22nd July 2007, 09:36
who else noticed the smother he attempted. ok fraser went down and ended up gettin a shot but if he hadve got it we woodve got a goal. these r the things that hille doesnt do

hulld
22nd July 2007, 09:44
laycock has one good game every 3 weeks, then we all get excited, including me, and say that he is looking very good.

he has to do it bloody consistently. it's starting to piss me off as i he has been given so many chances

Darealrath
22nd July 2007, 16:33
I'm surprised we've hardly used him up forward the last 2 weeks, especially vs the dogs.

hulld
22nd July 2007, 22:08
he's not fit enough. he needs the bench time to rest

ant555
22nd July 2007, 22:21
he's not fit enough. he needs the bench time to rest

Um no he needs as much match time as we can give him. He has missed too much time due to injury. He badly needs a fitness base.

hulld
23rd July 2007, 20:29
there's no point playing him for 100 minutes if he is buggered after 70

ant555
23rd July 2007, 20:33
there's no point playing him for 100 minutes if he is buggered after 70

So you dont belive in building fitness base for next year ? By the way against Melbourne he played the whole game without Hille and played well. He has missed that much match time so far that he simply needs to be played as much as possible.

hulld
23rd July 2007, 23:51
he'll build his fitness up over the summer. it's too late in the season to be trying to build your fitness up

ant555
24th July 2007, 09:17
he'll build his fitness up over the summer. it's too late in the season to be trying to build your fitness up

You dont know much about the fitness programs they are on do you ?
I will say it for you slowly .
Laycocks lack of a fitness base is what hurts him at times. For ruckman and midfielders the only way to build this base is to play constant footy along with the training. In the past three seasons he has had injuries that have resulted in him missing training and games. To get it back you need to be playing a decent amount of footy along with training. You cant just build it up over summer. You build it up over a couple of years of preperation.
Laycock needs time on the ground and not the bench. He has said himself that he finds it hard to keep his rythem going if he has to come on and off and that he plays more consistant footy when he can be left to play for extended periods of time.
He either needs to be playing 70 to 80 minutes a week in the seniors or a full game in the seconds. He does not need the bench.

kelvin_sheedy
24th July 2007, 15:53
^^^ Which is why he should be dropped for full games at VFL when we can get away with Hille and Ryder.

hulld
24th July 2007, 16:02
ant we can't be running guys into form or fitness in the one's, especially if they aren't a top tier player. all that does is put our chances of finals at risk.

ant555
24th July 2007, 19:01
ant we can't be running guys into form or fitness in the one's, especially if they aren't a top tier player. all that does is put our chances of finals at risk.

FFS where did i say he had to run up fitness in the ones . I was simply saying that playing him on the bench wont help his development. I do belive i said play 70 to 80 minutes in the seniors or a full game for Bendigo.

Which is why he should be dropped for full games at VFL when we can get away with Hille and Ryder

I think Ryder has come close to running out of legs for this year. His form has fallen away a little and running him in the ruck is the last thing he currently needs.

Look it is simple , Laycock is currently our number two ruckman. He played well against Melbourne. In the Bulldogs game when he was rucking we actually played better when he was on the ball. After Laycock who do we have ? Ryder who can only play short stints in the ruck and is still no good around the ground in that position anyway. Add to that that he is getting a little worn down.

Nuts4Bolts
24th July 2007, 21:34
Laycock needs time on the ground and not the bench. He has said himself that he finds it hard to keep his rythem going if he has to come on and off and that he plays more consistant footy when he can be left to play for extended periods of time.
He either needs to be playing 70 to 80 minutes a week in the seniors or a full game in the seconds. He does not need the bench.

It's a catch 22 isn't it Ant, do we run him into fitness in the seniors at the expense of having our No. 1 ruckman sitting on the pine or do we drop him to the magoos and give our No. 1 ruckmen little or no support.

hulld
24th July 2007, 21:56
exactly my point nuts

SOT4
25th July 2007, 00:10
Its not a catch 22 at all. Do we play a guy who played fantastically against Melbourne and was a major reason for our win, a guy who we also want to get senior games into him so that he develops for next season, or do we drop him and play with one ruckman. IMO very little chance of him being dropped- it would be ridiculous.

ant555
25th July 2007, 09:04
It's a catch 22 isn't it Ant, do we run him into fitness in the seniors at the expense of having our No. 1 ruckman sitting on the pine or do we drop him to the magoos and give our No. 1 ruckmen little or no support.

Or do we keep him as a deep forward when he isnt in the ruck , no catch 22 at all . The only catch 22 is if you are looking at this seasons results alone and not looking further down the track.
It is not like our number one ruckman is a super star of the game.

FootyGuru
6th August 2007, 21:05
i think laycocks a better tap ruckman than hille. whenever hille is up against someone alot worse than him he plays like a superstar. laycock has awesome hands and uses the footy really for a big bloke, the only thing holding him back is his lack of fitness. laycock manages to out tap on occassions anyone in the competition, and is one of the only blokes who can continually get away with grabbing it out of the ruck and booting it forward. how bout we play laycock as our number 1 ruckman and when he is tired play hille in there. hille can be in the forward line or bench. he is in form and will continue to improve, he spent the best part of 2 qtrs on the bench and still gathered 14 possies against the hawks

Pawtucket Patriot
7th August 2007, 18:33
i think laycocks a better tap ruckman than hille. whenever hille is up against someone alot worse than him he plays like a superstar. laycock has awesome hands and uses the footy really for a big bloke, the only thing holding him back is his lack of fitness. laycock manages to out tap on occassions anyone in the competition, and is one of the only blokes who can continually get away with grabbing it out of the ruck and booting it forward. how bout we play laycock as our number 1 ruckman and when he is tired play hille in there. hille can be in the forward line or bench. he is in form and will continue to improve, he spent the best part of 2 qtrs on the bench and still gathered 14 possies against the hawks

I totally agree. The more time Laycock spends in the ruck the better.

hulld
7th August 2007, 18:49
as i have said in the past, laycock is spent after 10 minutes in the ruck.

he should be better next year once he is fit and not carrying some extra puppy fat

hulld
12th August 2007, 22:06
useless today

Pawtucket Patriot
12th August 2007, 22:20
useless today

Most of the team was useless.

GreaT SourcE
17th January 2008, 22:53
Does anyone think Laycock will be our no.1 ruckman this year...??
I just thought I'd ask the question, given that Knighter has been talking him up most of the preseason...:cool:

Longy413
18th January 2008, 08:31
I think David Hille will be given the opportunity to prove that the 2nd half he played against West Coast, is an achievable level for him on a consistent basis.

Pawtucket Patriot
18th January 2008, 15:24
Does anyone think Laycock will be our no.1 ruckman this year...??
I just thought I'd ask the question, given that Knighter has been talking him up most of the preseason...:cool:

I hope he is given a lot more opportunities than he got under Sheeds. He plays his best, as is the case with most ruckmen, when he is given plenty of game time. If Hille is playing in the ruck then Laycock must stay on the ground and move forward and not vegetate on the bench. There is room for both on the field at the same time.

TheDon35
19th January 2008, 07:27
I hope he is given a lot more opportunities than he got under Sheeds. He plays his best, as is the case with most ruckmen, when he is given plenty of game time. If Hille is playing in the ruck then Laycock must stay on the ground and move forward and not vegetate on the bench. There is room for both on the field at the same time.

I would dissagre. Yes there will be occasions where they're both on the field at the same time however the game has gone past having your rucks go and rest in the forward pocket.

Also, If you were to play Laycock as a semi permanent forward then you're doing this at the expense of developing Gumbleton.

whirl
19th January 2008, 12:03
I would dissagre. Yes there will be occasions where they're both on the field at the same time however the game has gone past having your rucks go and rest in the forward pocket.

Also, If you were to play Laycock as a semi permanent forward then you're doing this at the expense of developing Gumbleton.

If we play Gumbleton then we lose a midfielder from the rotation.

bomberstomake8
19th January 2008, 13:44
Bring in Gumbleton and we lose a midfielder from the rotation.

nah cant do that our forward line would be way too tall with the likes of mcphee lloyd lucas gumbelton and laycock in it.. plus we need an extra midfeilder... if gumbelton is available and doing pretty well i think we should leave him in and we will have to have a combination of laycock and hille one on the bench one playing... it just depends on form, if hille doesnt improve i think he should be left in the VFL for a bit and have laycock as a number one rucken with maybe ryder having breif stints so laycock can have a rest

Slattery_20
24th January 2008, 07:45
I'm not keen either on playing Gumbleton for the sake of it
If he's kicking 6 each week in the magoos, play him, otherwise he can have another year at Bendigo
Our team normally lines up too tall IMHO, against Hawks, Pies, North they showed us up for lack of runners

TheDon35
24th January 2008, 08:29
If he's kicking 6 each week in the magoos, play him, otherwise he can have another year at Bendigo
Our team normally lines up too tall IMHO, against Hawks, Pies, North they showed us up for lack of runners

We wouldn't be playing him just for the sake of it. He proved last year that's he's up to it. He'll be better this year again and will become one of the best players in the league in a few years time. If he's up to it now then why not play him.

Slattery_20
24th January 2008, 10:15
We wouldn't be playing him just for the sake of it. He proved last year that's he's up to it. He'll be better this year again and will become one of the best players in the league in a few years time. If he's up to it now then why not play him.
If there's not a spot for him, don't play him
At TD games we can afford to have 1 less runner/flanker & stack the forward line, at a bigger ground we need all our runners & I can't see a place for him (injury notwithstanding)

Stargazer
25th January 2008, 13:03
You dont know much about the fitness programs they are on do you ?
I will say it for you slowly .
Laycocks lack of a fitness base is what hurts him at times. For ruckman and midfielders the only way to build this base is to play constant footy along with the training. In the past three seasons he has had injuries that have resulted in him missing training and games. To get it back you need to be playing a decent amount of footy along with training. You cant just build it up over summer. You build it up over a couple of years of preperation.

Well said. :thumbsu:
Knights has said both boys (Chook and Hille) will spend more time on the ground. Music to my ears. They should be out there either rucking or providing an option up forward, or helping out down back.
Nothing is gained by leaving one or other on the bench.
Laycock is a natural ruckman, and should take over the role this season.
He can also play chf at a pinch. A fine prospect indeed.

Stargazer
25th January 2008, 13:14

Playing Gumbleton has nothing to do with the state of our mid-field, Slats.
It's crucial we get games into Gumbo and have him learn from the likes of Lucas (who he will eventually replace) and Lloyd NOW.
The same goes for Laycock and Ryder - they must be persevered with in 2008
It's all about getting games into kids to help fast track their developement.
The coming year is a continuence of the work of the past few seasons,
not finals. Rebuilding.

Slattery_20
28th January 2008, 13:39
I'd rather our younger blokes get fewer opportunities in a better & more balanced team
We've failed in the past - how many times? - from having the completely wrong line-up
I'm keen to avoid seeing 4 opposition blokes run off our less-than-mobile forward line & play keepings off up the field
I'm keen to see 8 or 10 or 12 opposition midfielders matched up by 8 or 10 or 12 essendon midfielders, not 4 midfielders, 3 flankers and a KPP

Call me crazy

Schmick
28th January 2008, 14:12
I'd rather our younger blokes get fewer opportunities in a better & more balanced team
We've failed in the past - how many times? - from having the completely wrong line-up
I'm keen to avoid seeing 4 opposition blokes run off our less-than-mobile forward line & play keepings off up the field
I'm keen to see 8 or 10 or 12 opposition midfielders matched up by 8 or 10 or 12 essendon midfielders, not 4 midfielders, 3 flankers and a KPP

Call me crazy
I couldn't agree more with what youv'e been saying mate.

Lance Uppercut
28th January 2008, 14:55
hopefully it's all academic, and Gumby demands a spot by really strong performances, starting in the preseason cup!

Windas_Magic
5th February 2008, 18:32
From EFC http://essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5563
Stronger Laycock is ready to play

Tuesday, 5 February 2008
One Essendon player fans are expecting plenty from in 2008 is 23-year old ruckman, Jason Laycock.

Speaking at the 2008 Community Camp in the Gold Coast, the 202cm giant said he has built up strength over the pre-season and increased his bench press by 20kg while maintaining his biggest asset, his leap.

"It's more important for a ruckman to get the strength rather than size for things like the boundary thrown in and when you are fighting for position. It's crucial to have strength to get good position," Laycock said.

"When you are playing guys like Brendan Lade, who is strong, and also going up against David Hille at training, who is also very strong, it's really going to help me.

"But my best asset is my leap, and I have long arms, so this is where I get my advantage."

Laycock, who has played 42 games, said his main focus over the past few months has been improving his skills and fitness.

"I have missed a fair few pre-seasons since I was drafted so to get through this one without missing a single session has been really good," he said.

"I am injury free whereas last season I went into pre-season coming off a shoulder and knee operation and didn't get many sessions in. It was almost exactly the same the year before. Infact, the past two years I have missed most of the running so I am feeling much fitter now."

The former number 10 draft pick recently impressed the coaching staff, recording 11.27 minutes for the 3.2km time trial which is 10 seconds faster than his previous best time.

"I am pretty excited about the coming season and Knighta (Matthew Knights) has told me he expects Hille and myself to spend a fair bit of time on the ground by sharing the ruck work and spending some time up forward," he said.

"Hille and I have been doing a fair bit of work with assitant coach, Scott Camporeale, and the midfielders to get things right and Campo has told us about our roles and how important it will be this year.

"You expect to improve every year and I want to have a good year. I'd like to think I have improved but we won't know unitl 3-4 weeks with a few games under my belt.

"This Saturday's intra-club game will see me and Hille going full on against each other in the ruck for the first time in pre-season so that will be good."

Laycock says he expects Tom Bellchambers to be a good addition to the Essendon ruck stocks despite some pre-season injury setbacks.

"He has been abit unlucky with injuries but he is watching, learning and picking up a few things but he hasn't been able to thrown his weight around," he said.

"I have seen some tapes of him and his centre square work and he looks really good. He is a very strong sort of a bloke and should be a good player."

While Laycock is looking forward to a big year on-field, he is expecting an even bigger year off-field with partner, Alison, expecting with the couple's third child.

Good news:thumbsu:

DonMania#5
5th February 2008, 18:35
I think he will have his "breakout" year this season. Played a few great games towards the end of last season. Let's hope he can keep it up :thumbsu:

Bombers_Forever
5th February 2008, 18:39
The Chook is mutiplying at a fast rate!!!!!!!!! He has one of each and another on the way : )

Ryder Is God
5th February 2008, 18:57
High hopes for him this season. No excuses.

warney7
5th February 2008, 19:38
By the end of the season, people will be asking who Dean Cox is :p

TheDon35
6th February 2008, 05:39
Is moving incredibly well at training. His speed over the ground is what is really suprising.

I think he'll be a standout this year.

thebigboy
6th February 2008, 09:14
He's another one of those 2nd tier/young players who is really going to improve under Matty Knights.

He has all the ability in the world so if i can get his mind and body right, he will be one of the top ruckmen in the league.

bhorjus
6th February 2008, 10:01
Looking forward to seeing him this year. This will definently be his breakout year.

Giggidy Giggidy
6th February 2008, 10:49
He's another one of those 2nd tier/young players who is really going to improve under Matty Knights.

He has all the ability in the world so if i can get his mind and body right, he will be one of the top ruckmen in the league.

How will you do that?:D

Pevers-Legend
6th February 2008, 11:07
People forget he is only 23 - most rucks only start to mature around this age. Let's hope he does so we actually have a ruckman in the centre square. Hille is great for strenght around the gournd, but he has never been a ruckman who could hit the ball to one of our players.

Not a Wellman
7th February 2008, 15:07
The Chook is mutiplying at a fast rate!!!!!!!!! He has one of each and another on the way : )

The more kids they have the better improves our father son chances in years to come.

jimmy5
8th February 2008, 21:35
By the end of the season, people will be asking who Dean Cox is :p

yes our cocksy will be bigger and better than there cox...;)

loopy_cam
17th February 2008, 10:45
http://i253.photobucket.com/albums/hh73/loopy_cam/Laycocksimprovement.jpg

2003 -------------------------------------------- 2008

He's come a bloody long way. Let's hope he can step up. I think he can and will.

Lance Uppercut
17th February 2008, 18:03
http://i253.photobucket.com/albums/hh73/loopy_cam/Laycocksimprovement.jpg

2003 -------------------------------------------- 2008

He's come a bloody long way. Let's hope he can step up. I think he can and will.

makes you wonder how good Gumby could be if he could get some bulk in a few years

hulld
17th February 2008, 18:44
but can his hammys handle the bulk???

Big Blow Hard
27th February 2008, 16:01
Was working on a building site at New Gisborne Primary School yesterday. Jason Laycock and another Essendon player (unidentified) were taking the kids through some drills and generally entertaining them.

Great going Bombers. Good to see the clubs are still getting players to visit schools etc. :thumbsu:

evs05
11th April 2008, 09:26
Good article in todays HUN (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23519301-19742,00.html)about the big man. I knew he had injury troubles, but didn't realise he'd had so many operations. Let's hope the big fella can stay on the park this year and show us all what he is capable of. Just like Hille, I think his strength is that he is very good around the ground for a ruckman, can take a mark and knows where the goals are.

StealthBomber
11th April 2008, 09:49
Apart from having stints up forward with Hille, I believe this will be the perfect opportunity for Laycock to have an influence on the game; especially coming off a decent second halg against the blues last week.

We really need him to present well and control his marks; if he does that he should kick a few considering he gets the ball delivered to him well up forward.

Windas_Magic
12th April 2008, 00:28
Had a shocker tonight, needs to lift his work rate

kelvin_sheedy
12th April 2008, 00:31
Tried hard. Not up to it though. Trade bait at end of season if other clubs show interest.

Smyth94
12th April 2008, 08:49
I don't think we can afford to offload him

GoDons
13th April 2008, 13:01
Tried hard. Not up to it though. Trade bait at end of season if other clubs show interest.

If Laycock goes, that involves a Ryder move into the ruck.

Are we really in a position to do this?

Then again, I wouldn't mind seeing Jay Neagle trialled in Paddy's 2007 role, that's if he can get himself fit.

WindyHillWatcher
14th April 2008, 13:13
I'm becoming more and more infuriated with this clumsy goof each week. I just find his on field performance so damn disappointing. I hope to god we are already developing another young ruck so we can use him as trade bait at seasons end. I think he'd fit in well at richmond.

loopy_cam
14th April 2008, 15:00
I'm becoming more and more infuriated with this clumsy goof each week. I just find his on field performance so damn disappointing. I hope to god we are already developing another young ruck so we can use him as trade bait at seasons end. I think he'd fit in well at richmond.

Going on Bendigo reports, Bellchambers is looking the goods so far. Early days though. Might need a couple more developing years.

WindyHillWatcher
15th April 2008, 13:45
Going on Bendigo reports, Bellchambers is looking the goods so far. Early days though. Might need a couple more developing years.

Bring him him.

Andre 2000
16th April 2008, 14:41
Richmond didn't show patience in Ottens. Look what happenend.

hulld
16th April 2008, 14:46
ottens was an all-australian at richmond, hardly a fair comparison

Andre 2000
17th April 2008, 08:29
He was??!! When?

Giggidy Giggidy
17th April 2008, 09:08
He was??!! When?

2001 - Moreso for his efforts up forward (46 goals for the season; 15 possessions and 13 hit outs per match). Was named in the forward pocket alongside Lloydy. One of the main reasons they made the Prelim that year..... I remember both Ottens (4.0) & Richo (5.0) were unstoppable in Round 22 when they beat us (tanking?!?!)...... then Sheeds changed the match-ups for the final the following week and they only kicked 2 between them (and we won by 70) :D

hulld
17th April 2008, 11:01
happy days

The Dustbin
9th May 2008, 20:41
Needs a big game with Bendigo tomorrow. Interesting to see how he responds from being dropped...

TheDon35
18th May 2008, 18:10
Do something!

Schmick
18th May 2008, 21:08
Out: Laycock

IN: Pears, and send Ryder into the ruck.

Jem
19th May 2008, 20:49
Really frustrated me when Ryder had the ball in our defensive 50 with nowhere to go and being forced to go for the hospital handpass which ended in a Sydney goal and the seeing laycock just walking around in the background. The bloke just doesn't want it enough. You would have thought being dropped would have woken him up.

hulld
20th May 2008, 12:25
may as well bring in bellchambers. surely he couldn't do any worse.

Snagboy
20th May 2008, 22:30
G'day fellas,

I watched Laycock against us last year & he killed us, and he was good
in the last 6 or 7 games last year.

Read in the HUN a couple of weeks ago he was fit had confidence & was ready to fire.

Whats gone wrong? Is he carrying an injury?

ManWithNoName
20th May 2008, 22:30
He's carrying a distinct lack of talent, effort and football smarts.

Play Davey on crutches in the ruck ahead of Laycock. He is useless.

GoDons
20th May 2008, 23:46
It's time he used his body once in a while.

The guy weighs a 100kg, but he's still afraid to put his body behind the ball. There were multiple occasions on the weekend when he just stuck out an arm rather than actually putting in any physical presence.

He's playing low percentage, weak football and unless he's willing to lift his workrate and actually have a crack, he may as well go home.

B-Bomber
21st May 2008, 00:58
People were so enthusiastic earlier in this thread -- it's an interesting read when you see how most people were talking about Jason taking over from Hille as first ruck, stepping up, break out year, fitter then ever... then gradually it changes back to this.

I think we need to give him more of a chance before we crucify him -- he's become one of the scapegoats. I know, it's frustrating, we've been enticed with some really good work from him in the past and it seems like a world away now. But let's put this into perspective.

He's played 49 games. He's had injuries for most of him career up till now. Generally at his age, he would have many more games under his belt. Ruckman are one of the slowest positions to develop. He's not the worst ruckman in the comp.

The problems he's having this year are not unfixable -- workrate can be improved. Sure, the club, coach, etc need to put the hard line on him which I'm sure they'll do.

kelvin_sheedy
21st May 2008, 09:56
People were so enthusiastic earlier in this thread -- it's an interesting read when you see how most people were talking about Jason taking over from Hille as first ruck, stepping up, break out year, fitter then ever... then gradually it changes back to this.

I think we need to give him more of a chance before we crucify him -- he's become one of the scapegoats. I know, it's frustrating, we've been enticed with some really good work from him in the past and it seems like a world away now. But let's put this into perspective.

He's played 49 games. He's had injuries for most of him career up till now. Generally at his age, he would have many more games under his belt. Ruckman are one of the slowest positions to develop. He's not the worst ruckman in the comp.

The problems he's having this year are not unfixable -- workrate can be improved. Sure, the club, coach, etc need to put the hard line on him which I'm sure they'll do.

Agree.

We have to stick with him and give him a few more years... unless we can trade him and get a Warnock. :D

WindyHillWatcher
21st May 2008, 13:41
Bring me the head of Jason Laycock and bring forth Bellchambers. That will be all.

bombersno1
21st May 2008, 15:59
Bring me the head of Jason Laycock and bring forth Bellchambers. That will be all.

You bringing the axe or am I? I have had it with Laycock!:thumbsd: