View Full Version : 30. Paddy Ryder
Lookin good too :thumbsu:
Pawtucket Patriot
16 Jul 2007, 17:01
I think he could be a player similar to Michael Johnson from Freo and possibly even better. I think he has more talent than Johnson.
Ryder Is God
16 Jul 2007, 17:29
Superstar.
It's not often you see someone with the vision and skill for someone his size and age, oh yeah, and he can take a mark too
he has been great this year, but he is not always switched on. i thought he was terrible on saturday night. maybe a long season is starting to catch up on him.
remember he is only 19. maybe he could do with a week or two break
Bombs Away
17 Jul 2007, 13:48
he has been great this year, but he is not always switched on. i thought he was terrible on saturday night. maybe a long season is starting to catch up on him.
remember he is only 19. maybe he could do with a week or two break
Hope you are not right there hulld, we need him for the rest of the season so we can send hirdy out the way he deserves (a final hopefully in melbourne)
High Ryder
17 Jul 2007, 18:10
Sign him up now i dont want to here deluded West Coast and Freo supporters spreading stupid rumours that hes heading back to WA:rolleyes:
windyhill
17 Jul 2007, 18:44
Most improved all wrapped up. Rising star should be Selwood, Ryder,Pendlebury.
1-pendles
2-selwood
3-hurn
4-ryder
he has just dropped in the past 5-6 weeks. he started like a house on fire but those midfielders have been more consistent than paddy
Signed for two more years :thumbsu:
thebigboy
18 Jul 2007, 10:04
1-pendles
2-selwood
3-hurn
4-ryder
he has just dropped in the past 5-6 weeks. he started like a house on fire but those midfielders have been more consistent than paddy
Id Suggest he's still ahead of Hurn, however Ryders form has slowed a bit.
needs to lift his intensity levels, or grow some balls
it won't happen, but i reckon if he were dropped for a week it would be a wake up call for him.
although he was pretty good yesterday. his tapwork is at times amazing
wazzabp
19 Aug 2007, 10:19
One thing I noticed about Paddy against Freo was his deceptive body strength. He is stronger than he looks. He held his own against Chris Tarrant in a couple of marking duels.
SAM&PatrickRyder
8 Sep 2007, 17:31
patrick ryder is an extreamly good player for his age.
keep up the great marks paddy
Jonesy1987
20 Sep 2007, 07:56
Ryder was consistent all year playing CHB kinda role and at times dominated opponents. certain times throughout the year he was also thrown into the middle, his jump and tapwork were excellent.... begs the question where is better for him and for the club
wasupwidat
20 Sep 2007, 08:11
he also had some good stints at CHF too
Jörmungand
20 Sep 2007, 10:49
I don't know if I'd rather see him at CHB or in the ruck, but as far as difficult decisions go, it's not a bad one to have to make.
if laycock can stand up we would want to play him at CHB as we are a bit light for good key defenders
He had a great year but i have one concern that he has to iron out. Sometimes he just looks to casual or not interested. Has had a few games where he has missed easy tackles and even run past the opposition without trying to stop them. He needs to be on his game all the time. There is no doubting he has the tallent , lets hope he has the drive.
Patrick Ryder
Had a real break out year surprising most people with the way he handled playing in defence. Got to showcase his skill a bit more and showed that for a big bloke he had great skill and good pace. He was very composed under pressure in defence and his ability to read the game lead to him having plenty of time to do some smart things in pressure situations. His form dropped away a bit towards the end of the year but improved 200% on his first year and most of the time it looked like he felt he belonged at AFL level. His ruckwork was pretty good but he still has a long way to go with his around the ground work where he struggled at times to run with the oposing ruckman.
Strengths
Composure under pressure.
Very good skills.
Ability to play forward or back.
Great natural leap.
Very agile
Weakness
Does not always look like he is going at 100%
His around the ground work and positioning when in the ruck.
Tackling is not so good.
Prediction
His ability to leap and tap the footy gives him a huge edge in the ruck but he has a fair way to go with other aspects of the ruckman. Looks like he will be very comfortable playing KP forward or defence. A real future star in the making but does have to lift in the intesity stakes.
Alistair
29 Sep 2007, 15:58
Anyone notice Paddy running barefoot in the Grand Final sprint?
Got off to a horrible start, but his stride is HUGE and he came through in fourth.
RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
29 Sep 2007, 16:46
Anyone notice Paddy running barefoot in the Grand Final sprint?
Got off to a horrible start, but his stride is HUGE and he came through in fourth.
Yeh i thought it was a bit odd, was part of the reason he slipped at the start because he probably had no grip. Looks in good shape aswell, looks as if he's added a bit more weight to the frame but not too much. Should be good next season.
Patrick Ryder
Tackling is not so good.
Not sure I agree with that.
i'm guessing your thinking about the dale thomas tackle. but if you disregard that you find that he often tries to tackle blokes with his hands not his arms.
i think that this is linked in with his so called easy going or lazy nature
KING-JAMES
30 Sep 2007, 19:30
He could probably tackle with a bit more ferocity when he in the tight contest sitation but when running a man down he is about as good tackle you can get for a big man. I believe the mean streak in Paddy could come out over time with more confidence and as he matures.
He could do everything with a bit more ferocity, gets spoiled too easy at times because of his easy going nature on the field.
Hopefully Fletch hangs around for a couple more years so he can mould Paddy into another Fletch... has the capabilities to do that i think
jules101
4 Oct 2007, 15:06
He could do everything with a bit more ferocity, gets spoiled too easy at times because of his easy going nature on the field.
yeah he is not the hardest worker on the ground...
i'm guessing your thinking about the dale thomas tackle. but if you disregard that you find that he often tries to tackle blokes with his hands not his arms.
i think that this is linked in with his so called easy going or lazy nature
I wasn't thinking about any one tackle in particular, he got quite a number of holding the ball decisions in his favour throughout the year. It may not be a strength but I wouldn't have accounted it a weakness. I guess that's a reflection of the regard he's held in.
High Ryder
21 Oct 2007, 20:10
Patrick Ryder
Had a real break out year surprising most people with the way he handled playing in defence. Got to showcase his skill a bit more and showed that for a big bloke he had great skill and good pace. He was very composed under pressure in defence and his ability to read the game lead to him having plenty of time to do some smart things in pressure situations. His form dropped away a bit towards the end of the year but improved 200% on his first year and most of the time it looked like he felt he belonged at AFL level. His ruckwork was pretty good but he still has a long way to go with his around the ground work where he struggled at times to run with the oposing ruckman.
Strengths
Composure under pressure.
Very good skills.
Ability to play forward or back.
Great natural leap.
Very agile
Weakness
Does not always look like he is going at 100%
His around the ground work and positioning when in the ruck.
Tackling is not so good.
Prediction
His ability to leap and tap the footy gives him a huge edge in the ruck but he has a fair way to go with other aspects of the ruckman. Looks like he will be very comfortable playing KP forward or defence. A real future star in the making but does have to lift in the intesity stakes.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWd5RiWM2V4&mode=related&search= :thumbsu:
anybody should be able to tackle that little fairy
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWd5RiWM2V4&mode=related&search= :thumbsu:
Give me a break. Thomas ran straight at him. Dont just pull out single tackles. If you are going to have an unbiased opinion then you would know that his tackling is not always as good as it should be.
Think it comes with his easy going nature on the field, doesn't always attack the ball as hard as he should and can get spoiled quite easily by smaller men, hopefully Knights gets a bit more mongrel into him, it should also improve as he gets older and his confidence grows hopefully
KING-JAMES
23 Oct 2007, 16:04
I know what ant is saying. He can get some fantastic tackles but he too often tries to tackle with just his hands and not his full body. He could improve this and his overall general ferocity. His quite a unique player because of this easy going style but imagine how good he could be if he played at full stream all the time. I think it will come with his body and expierence.
TheDon35
24 Oct 2007, 06:39
Still plenty of areas of his game, tackling included that can improve, that's the great thing about him.
His improvement from the last game of '06 to his first game of '07 was a stand out. If he had the same improvement again to the first game of '08 then soon we'll be looking at one of the best players in the comp over 6'5.
We won't see his best footy for a while yet. Just as long as he keeps improving there's massive upside.
hmmm when I saw him coming down to the backline in the pre-season game against Carlton earlier in the year, I just thought "ohhhh No".
Then he handpassed the ball straight to Whitnall, and the Big Red turned around and kicked a goal. I seriously thought then Sheedy has stuffed up picking up this hopeless kid, similar to Bradley.
But he has turned it around...had a terrific year this year. But Bradley had a good second year too. Bringing in Mal in to the team and the development of Ryder kept Bradley out of the team. Hopefully Ryder takes the necessary next step.
jetta2davey
27 Oct 2007, 14:49
hmmm when I saw him coming down to the backline in the pre-season game against Carlton earlier in the year, I just thought "ohhhh No".
Then he handpassed the ball straight to Whitnall, and the Big Red turned around and kicked a goal. I seriously thought then Sheedy has stuffed up picking up this hopeless kid, similar to Bradley.
But he has turned it around...had a terrific year this year. But Bradley had a good second year too. Bringing in Mal in to the team and the development of Ryder kept Bradley out of the team. Hopefully Ryder takes the necessary next step.
Ryder is ALOT more promising that Bradley ever was.
Mate, Ryder has already taken the next step and was much, much better in his second year than Bradley was in his second year.
Paddy Ryder is a absolute GUN! Look at the work he produces now.. just IMAGINE what he can do in a few years time!!! Strong backman!! Cant wait to see what the future holds for this young gun :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Will Knights leave him down back and make him a corner stone of our defence?..or does he have the skills to go forward and take marks?
Can he kick straight for goal?
Big year coming up for young Paddy:thumbsu:
Ryder Is God
15 Nov 2007, 23:46
Paddy has impressed when he was played up forward. But I believe Knights sees him as a backman in the future.
Surely Knighta will play him mainly as a backman, but I'd like to think we'd use Ryder wherever we need him. He could be very good at either end of the ground.
Pawtucket Patriot
16 Nov 2007, 11:39
I still reckon he will make an excellant ruckman in years to come. A Ryder and Layock combination sounds good.
If Laycock fulfills his potential then I don't want Paddy to be a ruckman at all, he'd be a lot more usefull everywhere else around the ground.
If Laycock improves to be one of the better ones in the AFL then it would be better to team him with a B-grade ruckman, who in reality, won't see a tonne of ground time
Pawtucket Patriot
17 Nov 2007, 08:16
If Laycock fulfills his potential then I don't want Paddy to be a ruckman at all, he'd be a lot more usefull everywhere else around the ground.
If Laycock improves to be one of the better ones in the AFL then it would be better to team him with a B-grade ruckman, who in reality, won't see a tonne of ground time
Good point. :)
I would love to turn Ryder into a giant ruck-rover - in the Goodes mould. I can see him winning brownlows. Too much talent to be played down back.
I could see him becoming the ultimate utility player. Basically he could fill the role in which he is most needed. For example if Gumbleton goes down he could fill the gap across half forward. If we lose a ruckman he can play as a second ruck. If a backman is being beaten he could go to that opponent. He could probably play on a wing using his footskills and composure to hit targets.
so where does he start then???
loopy_cam
4 Dec 2007, 20:12
Well thats a stupid question.
Leftrightmiddlebackforwardroverwingruck of course.:p
Not sure. It would probably be where Knights thinks he would be most useful. But you would think he would play mostly in the backline given that his ability to play on talls and smalls.
Knights has stated he'll use him mainly as a defender.
I think next season he will be a defender once again. After that, who knows. He has a very effective tap when in the ruck, but I still don't think he is big enough for boundary throw ins etc. Also needs to go a bit harder at times. Hopefully this will come with a little bit of added weight and experience
Windas_Magic
28 Dec 2007, 20:33
I think that playing as a utility, Ryder would be very effective as he can play across half-back but can also be a very effective half-forward as he is a good mark overhead and looks like a good kick for goal.
I recently saw the Carlton game replay (rd 20) on foxtel and noticed that Ryder played a fair bit in the ruck for the first quarter. He looked really good to me, he times his leaps quite well, gets up high and taps well to advantage. I also noticed a boundry throw-ins, he blocked the opposing ruckman out well and tapped it down very well. That got me thinking that if Laycock turns out good, and Bellchambers shows something, then maybe we could have Ryder and Laycock as our top 2 ruckman and Bellchambers as our back-up. Hille could maybe be used as a forward (I wouldnt see him being effective there) or if he continues to play inconsistently, then maybe we could trade him. I think next year will tell us a lot about our future, with players like Dempsey, Monfries and Neagle etc. It will also be very interesting to see how Laycock goes because he has been plagued with injuries in the past but showed some good signs this year and can hopefully take the next step next season (lets not forget he was a first round selection).
Amazing Bombers
29 Dec 2007, 07:42
I think that playing as a utility, Ryder would be very effective as he can play across half-back but can also be a very effective half-forward as he is a good mark overhead and looks like a good kick for goal.
I recently saw the Carlton game replay (rd 20) on foxtel and noticed that Ryder played a fair bit in the ruck for the first quarter. He looked really good to me, he times his leaps quite well, gets up high and taps well to advantage. I also noticed a boundry throw-ins, he blocked the opposing ruckman out well and tapped it down very well. That got me thinking that if Laycock turns out good, and Bellchambers shows something, then maybe we could have Ryder and Laycock as our top 2 ruckman and Bellchambers as our back-up. Hille could maybe be used as a forward (I wouldnt see him being effective there) or if he continues to play inconsistently, then maybe we could trade him. I think next year will tell us a lot about our future, with players like Dempsey, Monfries and Neagle etc. It will also be very interesting to see how Laycock goes because he has been plagued with injuries in the past but showed some good signs this year and can hopefully take the next step next season (lets not forget he was a first round selection).
Top plan! Hille has no excuse to be a dud this year because if he does , he will be traded or delisted.
thebigboy
29 Dec 2007, 18:57
Top plan! Hille has no excuse to be a dud this year because if he does , he will be traded or delisted.
Who'd take him? If we were to loose him it would be for next to nothing.
Houli2Gumbleton
29 Dec 2007, 19:10
carlton:D
carlton:D
Even though a 0 game 18 year old player is their saviour?
Amazing Bombers
29 Dec 2007, 20:53
Even though a 0 game 18 year old player is their saviour?
That's what they've been saying for the last 3 years.
Lachrilly
30 Dec 2007, 07:52
Hille is a fantastic young player. But like Laycock, needs to lose a bit of pud to stop getting injured. He shows when fit he is a great player and can can take on any combo in the comp. Hille and Laycock watch for them in 08
Windas_Magic
30 Dec 2007, 11:52
Hille is a fantastic young player. But like Laycock, needs to lose a bit of pud to stop getting injured. He shows when fit he is a great player and can can take on any combo in the comp. Hille and Laycock watch for them in 08
From memory, Hille is almost 27 so he can harldy be called 'young'. What fustrates me about Hille is he jumps too early so many times in the ruck and needs to learn how to be a good tap ruckman. In games, Laycock will be doing pretty good in the ruck but when Hille comes on, he loses taps and in turn we lose more clearences.
Slattery_20
30 Dec 2007, 15:15
It was rumoured that Hille and the prvious coach didn't get along well in the last few seasons... will be interesting to see what impact - if any - Knights' appointment will have
Windas_Magic
30 Dec 2007, 15:26
It was rumoured that Hille and the prvious coach didn't get along well in the last few seasons... will be interesting to see what impact - if any - Knights' appointment will have
When he was dropped in the last month, im pretty sure it was for disciplinary reasons. So that rumour may be true.
iluvessendon
30 Dec 2007, 17:13
Paddy is a gun
Smyth94
12 Apr 2008, 10:30
Every time I watch him play I shake my head in disbelief thinking "how the hell did he do that"
I think we've got an emerging superstar on our hands
Ryder Is God
12 Apr 2008, 10:36
I love this guy. My favourite player.
High Ryder
12 Apr 2008, 11:06
Does he ever doing anything wrong? Ryder is indeed god.
AndyLesPaul
12 Apr 2008, 11:08
well the miss but can hardly be blamed for that
That was just Ryder's sense of justice at play, he knew it was a soft fifty. ;)
retroparty
12 Apr 2008, 11:43
What an entertainer. Lets hope he flies like that in the future for Essendon! Superb player. Probably in the top 5 players for Essendon last night.
bomber69
12 Apr 2008, 22:36
If he keeps up this recent form he'll hit All-Australian in the very nearby future. I can only see him going up from here.
Lance Uppercut
13 Apr 2008, 09:17
the undisputed Dux of '05
along with bock the in form CHB in the league. not too many defenders could towel up cam mooney, and than 2 weeks later play on the versatile murphy and take him to school
He's in mouth watering form at the moment.
He can go with just about anyone, can take one hell of a mark as well as having a real eye for setting up play.
I've never seen a 20 year old key defender do what he does.
Ryder is a abolute jet in the ruck, should be played there for the rest of the season instead of being wasted down back. Play one of Johns or Pears down back for the rest of the season whilst Paddy works his magic in the ruck I say.
loopy_cam
4 May 2008, 22:31
But he's so good down back. It's too hard to decide where to play him.
Has massive amount of potential if he ends up being played in the ruck. Quick, applies pressure and has a massive leap aswell as his taps being very effective.
If he played out the rest of the year in the ruck, he'd be our #1 ruckman by a mile IMO.
Wasted down back, should get one of the other many backman at the club to try and step up down there and take his position.
Just play Pears as a 3rd tall along Fletch and Mal like we did with Ryder and im sure he'll become a decent defender, that's the most obvious thing to do I think. Maybe get some gametime into Hooker? Who knows, as long as Paddy is being played in the ruck.
bomber69
10 May 2008, 13:33
I really liked him in the ruck. He got a fair few hitouts against arguably the best ruck combination in the competition. Huge leap, should be given the rest of the year to develop as our future number one ruckman.
Ben the Gooner
10 May 2008, 14:19
Not a huge fan of him in the ruck yet. He seemed to jump around the contest, and didn't challenge the other ruckmen enough. Give him a couple of years to bulk up before we throw him in.
bomberstomake8
10 May 2008, 18:07
Not a huge fan of him in the ruck yet. He seemed to jump around the contest, and didn't challenge the other ruckmen enough. Give him a couple of years to bulk up before we throw him in.
ruckmen dont need to be built like lade or hille to be good ruckmen.. look at cox for example he doesnt have the biggest buiild but he dominates..
if we can find a solid defender down back (johns/pears) then we could push him into the ruck.....
however we shouldnt give up on laycock just yet, he has a lot of potential just hasnt reached it yet
Ben the Gooner
11 May 2008, 20:45
I'm not saying that he needs to bulk up to just play in the ruck, I'm saying that he's trying to jump around contests, and doesn't seem willing to take much contact from the larger ruckmen, so needs to bulk up for that reason.
If that makes sense.
Which it doesn't.
Slattery_20
11 May 2008, 22:40
Nothing wrong with throwing him round. Has already shown he can play down back, has shown he can play ruck, now needs to show he can play everywhere. Showed glimpses v Port, I think he's capable of much more than that
Ben the Gooner
12 May 2008, 21:33
Nothing wrong with throwing him round. Has already shown he can play down back, has shown he can play ruck, now needs to show he can play everywhere. Showed glimpses v Port, I think he's capable of much more than that
Probably this season when he starts to get some real bulk on him. This season he's too lightweight for the ruck. Play him everywhere else (literally - play him on a small forward, on Franklin, at full forward, CHF, on the wing, in the middle) this year, and try to settle him down in a spot next year.
Jonesy1987
15 May 2008, 21:58
Probably this season when he starts to get some real bulk on him. This season he's too lightweight for the ruck. Play him everywhere else (literally - play him on a small forward, on Franklin, at full forward, CHF, on the wing, in the middle) this year, and try to settle him down in a spot next year.
With flexible players I think its okay to move them around, for me he is in the same mould as Goodes, tall and extremely mobile.
lamaros
16 May 2008, 11:03
With flexible players I think its okay to move them around, for me he is in the same mould as Goodes, tall and extremely mobile.
He is not yet as fit or as strong as Goodes though. Next pre-season he hopefully gets that right and really shows what he can do, as the moment he is a little light on still.
I know he's said in the past that he doesn't want to bulk up lose his agility but he can still get a bit stronger without having to add that much weight.
He's still a young kid though, his body will grow into it naturally also.
Windas_Magic
24 May 2008, 23:12
Doesn't look ready for ruck, would need to bulk up. Leave him at CHB i say
HighettBomber
25 May 2008, 09:19
really struggled last night. Is letting himself be dragged down by his team mates. Paddy needs to get some arrogance and demand the ball.
Smyth94
25 May 2008, 19:39
I'm really not liking the continued "chess-board" use of Paddy at the moment, I believe its contributing to his lack of form over the past few weeks.
We need to wake up that he's still 20 and needs to lock down a position (CHB) before we can start talking about ruck, rover, forward etc
WindyHillWatcher
26 May 2008, 02:59
I do like the look of him in ruck, but i feel more comfortable with him down back. should leave him there to assert his place as a defender for when (god forbid) fletcher hangs up his boots... Probably should be the ruckman in any contest within the back half to take the pressure of Hille.
He doesn't have the body for the ruck just yet. Ruckmen don't get any good until they have 3-4 preseasons in them. I wouldn't worry about him not looking good in their yet, you won't see that for another 2 years.
What is great is that we have had close to 50 games out of him already, and thinking that he is only 20 yrs old, he will only improve.
You could see that his confidence was down on sat, but that was because of how bad the team was playing.
Windas_Magic
8 Jun 2008, 12:06
I just watched the first half on replay and i have to say that he couldn't have done much to stop Buddy kicking most of his goals. When our midfield was applying pressure on the kicker he out positioned Buddy on a couple of occasions and it wouldn't have been a great feeling to have been 1 on 1 with Franklin in the F50. I don't think it Ryder was bad, it's just that Franklin's so dam good.
He needs to get some aggro in him, some intensity, just something that can spark him. He also needs to back his ability and to take the game on. He's a little low on confidence and one good game could see him back playing some good footy
IsDonIsGoodes
8 Jun 2008, 20:44
i think buddy will be a great learning experience for him.. he played on the best forward in the comp with one of the best midfields in the comp and still did ok, he had a bag kicked on him but you can't put the blame on him
he outmarked, out positioned, out bodied buddy a couple of times, something one of the greatest backmen the game has seen couldnt do (fletcher).
buddy looked to be a good matchup but he had everything going against him, ive always thought we'd benefit more with ryder as fwd but he definitely shows good signs as a key back
HighettBomber
12 Jun 2008, 16:09
Agree with the posts above, when he was given a chance he did well. He had little help from ther midfield and i don't think there was one lead chopped off by another defender. Paddy hasn't been playing well lately, but that was a pretty reasonable game by him, just pathetic by our overall back half and midfield.
Have to agree. As much as it sounds like a contradiction i thought he played reasonably well.
i think paddy has been struggling slightly over the past month or so with form. moving in and out of the ruck seems to have affected his confidence but I thought he was fairly good against buddy. i think buddy is going to be like carey or j brown, if you restrict them to 4/5 goals you've actually had a good day. so whilst 9 is well above that, he had no help from our mids and buddy had the F50 to himself for long periods. I hope the guys went through the tape and showed paddy all the great things he did and didn't focus too much on the number of goals kicked.. its more a case of buddy could've kicked 10-15 had paddy not done such a decent job.. if you get my meaning :)
Is it just me or is Paddy Ryder quickly becoming the most over-rated of our over-rated youngsters? The majority of our supporters are quick to label him as one of our most promising prospects and its easy to see why, his physical attributes alone make him one of the most desirable 20yo's in the competition.
But look beneath the surface, aside from the glimpses of brilliance this year he has had one solid 4 quarter effort. That was round 2 against the Cats where he beat Mooney convincingly and was our only shining light. I understand he is still young and we cant expect too much from him but I am not yet sold. I went to both the NAB cup games at the Dome earlier in the year and pointed out to my old man, that I thought he lacks intensity around the contest and he agreed.
Its quite a subtle flaw in his game but next time the ball goes to ground take note, its not quite as if he doesnt care but he lacks the mongrel and do or die attitude. Ive noticed it a couple of times since and this in conjunction with his mediocre form of late have left me concerned. How many more average games are we going to watch him play and still assume he is a star of the future, as a result of his reputation which is based on some promising signs in '07 and 1 good game out of 12 in '08? He has now played 40+ games and its not unreasonable to ask for some sort of consistency from a player with that amount of experience.
Bachar Houli
16 Jun 2008, 05:58
He needs confidence.. and putting people like Franklin/Fevola on him who will kick 9 goals isn't going to help. Thats why we have Fletcher.
Smyth94
16 Jun 2008, 07:04
Is it just me or is Paddy Ryder quickly becoming the most over-rated of our over-rated youngsters? The majority of our supporters are quick to label him as one of our most promising prospects and its easy to see why, his physical attributes alone make him one of the most desirable 20yo's in the competition.
But look beneath the surface, aside from the glimpses of brilliance this year he has had one solid 4 quarter effort. That was round 2 against the Cats where he beat Mooney convincingly and was our only shining light. I understand he is still young and we cant expect too much from him but I am not yet sold. I went to both the NAB cup games at the Dome earlier in the year and pointed out to my old man, that I thought he lacks intensity around the contest and he agreed.
Its quite a subtle flaw in his game but next time the ball goes to ground take note, its not quite as if he doesnt care but he lacks the mongrel and do or die attitude. Ive noticed it a couple of times since and this in conjunction with his mediocre form of late have left me concerned. How many more average games are we going to watch him play and still assume he is a star of the future, as a result of his reputation which is based on some promising signs in '07 and 1 good game out of 12 in '08? He has now played 40+ games and its not unreasonable to ask for some sort of consistency from a player with that amount of experience.
Did this really deserve a new thread? There's a separate place to comment about our players, "Bomber Spotting";
1 good game out of 12 in '08...I understand he's a little bit out of form but 1 good game out of 12? His start to the season was quite special.
I think our expectations of Ryder are too high, he's a 20 year old KP defender playing in one of the worst defensive teams in the league. Comapre him with other KP defenders the same age and he would be in the top 3 easily, if not the best.
Longy413
16 Jun 2008, 09:39
His first six weeks of the season were outstanding.
He was in near on AA form.
We're asking a lot for a player who isn't physically ready to play the role he's been asked to play. But he continues to show class and a cool head. The kid is a gun, there is no doubt about it.
JColeman
16 Jun 2008, 09:45
He is a gun bloody oath. But why not send Lucas to CHB and give Ryder a couple of weeks up forward to get his confidence up a bit? I think he could be one of the best forwards.