View Full Version : 33. Adam McPhee
Up and down a little lately, but been good mostly
bomberlegend2007
17 Jul 2007, 18:40
Been a good Defender but possible trade bait
i wouldn't want to trade him. we don't have too many AA quality footballers in our side
thebigboy
18 Jul 2007, 10:07
I think he has a future here. His best was brilliant and i don't think that he has past his best either.
Maybe more of a role in the middle or up forward as a pinch hitter could be good for him.
He, like many others, seems to be lacking motivation IMO. His best game of the year was against the pies when he was playing on Thomas and they had a bit of a scuffle which seemed to make him determined to dominate Thomas, which he did. I'd at least look to trade at the end of the year.
it wouldn't surprise me if he wasn't a sheedy fan
retroparty
6 Aug 2007, 16:48
Mcphee needs to work on consistent disposal. Sometimes its good, sometimes its bad
Aussie Assault
7 Aug 2007, 20:54
I would say probably 60% of the time his disposal puts another team mate under immediate pressure. He is very frustrating to watch at times.
it wouldn't surprise me if he wasn't a sheedy fan
It wouldnt surprise me if Mcphee is fan of himself and only himself.
i just think that he really hates losing. and when the team is down on confidence it puts too much pressure on mcphee to perform
Darealrath
19 Aug 2007, 11:04
Was pretty impressed with him up forward. Would like to see him play there again.
RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
19 Aug 2007, 11:23
Likewise, he was bloody brilliant up around HF/Wing. Looks much better there than at Half Back.
i said it a month ago that he should be playing up forward. i loved his game yesterday.
TheDon35
18 Sep 2007, 14:52
Attention anyone who may be involved with Essendon....
Please trade Adam McPhee while he still has currency
Plays his own game, turns the ball over, along with Welsh has been the heart of Essendons 'pretending' culture for the past 4 years.
For us to progress we need to move him on and stock up on quality for the next generation.
Lets see some hard calls to get some real quality back into this club and realistically challenge for a flag in the next few years.
at his best he is a gun.
i'd only trade him in a 3-way deal involving judd. we wouldn't get a top 10 pick for him, whilst mcphee plus a decent player would be too much to give away for a high pick
TheDon35
19 Sep 2007, 09:01
Not at his best enough and his worst is 'game loosing'.
See if we can trick Adelaide and swap him for Thomson.
danielcanberra
1 Dec 2007, 08:12
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,5777869,00.jpg
Is Don, is good: Adam McPhee trains in the afternoon heat at Windy Hill yesterday. Picture: Michael Dodge
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22850959%255E19742,00.html
He-Man or Skeletor?
Merv Neagle
1 Dec 2007, 09:06
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,5777869,00.jpg
Is Don, is good: Adam McPhee trains in the afternoon heat at Windy Hill yesterday. Picture: Michael Dodge
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22850959%255E19742,00.html
He-Man or Skeletor?
I will be happy with either of those nicknames as they are far better than Fumbles, which has been an appropriate nickname for the last 2 years.
It is now time for Mcphee.
I was all for trading him this year, if we could get the right players/draft choice but we didn't, so we now need him to step up and deliver.
He is now an important player from a leadership pov, with all the experience we have lost now, so we need him to take the next step or he needs to be shown the biggest step, out the door.
Now or Never..........
Im confident he'll be able to turn it around this year.
Knights has said McPhee will playing wing/half forward this year, and he looked very comfortable playing there when he was given the opportunities this year so i think that the more time he spends down there, the more dangerous he could become and will probably become a very hard player to match up on in the future.
Longy413
1 Dec 2007, 22:52
I'm going to have a nibble at him for the Brownlow.
I really hope he pushes into the midfield to tell you the truth.
That's where he can use his body and his pace to full effect in my opinion. In the last 3 years, I just feel that he's sat off it far too much in the backline. The midfield could be the place where he can be the dynamic running player that he was in 2004.
As Merv said, he has to be big in 2008.
DonMania#5
2 Dec 2007, 09:59
Confident that he will be back to his best in 08'. Hope he moves into the midfield.
KING-JAMES
2 Dec 2007, 10:03
I really hope he pushes into the midfield to tell you the truth.
That's where he can use his body and his pace to full effect in my opinion. In the last 3 years, I just feel that he's sat off it far too much in the backline. The midfield could be the place where he can be the dynamic running player that he was in 2004.
As Merv said, he has to be big in 2008.
He was always destined for a crack at the midfield and I think it could come off. His got the body to shrug off tackles and the pace to get the ball moving forward, I think its time to unleash him. His a much better kick when he isnt making a decision out of defence, and as seen in the past can kick a goal when he drifts forward. Might be the move he needs to get back to his awesome days.
Windas_Magic
21 Dec 2007, 15:22
I actually think that HFF will suit him. Hes got a strong body and is great overhead. Hes also got a thumping kick and is mobile. Many people on BF wanted him to be traded but i think hes still got a lot to offer and to become one of our leaders. He works hard and is always in great shape
BenCousins09
9 Jan 2008, 18:00
I think he is an Absolute Star!
I wouldnt want to Trade him unless we got a more then fair deal.
But I sometimes wonder what happened to His 2004 Form...
He Must Deliver this year.
How do you think he will Play as a HFF?
I'm not too sure How well it well Work with Lloyd and Lucas, They might smother him or something?
Re-watched the R20 game against Carlton yesterday and HF is definitely his spot, he was one of our major playmakers when we lifted, very tough to match-up on.
In off-field news re:Smokey, congratulations to him and his partner Bree Hateley who got married today :)
Adam McPhee in paradise with perfect mate Bree Hateley
Megan Miller
January 14, 2008 12:00am
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,23047249-5012974,00.html
BLOND Bomber Adam McPhee didn't think twice about taking the punt and marrying his long-time love Bree Hateley.
The couple, who have been dating for three years, wed yesterday in an evening ceremony at The Carousel overlooking Albert Park Lake.
Bree enlisted Aussie designer-to-the-stars Alex Perry to make her gown.
The Essendon star popped the question when the couple, who own Ascot Vale fashion boutique Sekushi, were on holiday in Queensland's Palm Cove during the team's mid-season break last year.
The newlyweds will honeymoon in Hawaii.
Some pics courtesy of the Herald Sun of Adam and Bree's big day:
Adam arriving for the ceremony - Bree's car broke down on the way
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5840141,00.jpg
Smokey arriving for the ceremony
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5840143,00.jpg
Bree arives
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5840147,00.jpg
A happy McPhee after the ceremony
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5840145,00.jpg
The new Mr and Mrs McPhee
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5840146,00.jpg
Adam and Bree at Albert Park Lake
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5840168,00.jpg
Matthew and Lisa Lloyd
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5840136,00.jpg
James and Tania Hird
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5840137,00.jpg
Matthew and Carolyn Knights
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5840140,00.jpg
Mark McVeigh with Leanne Tucker and Andrew Welsh
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5840138,00.jpg
Kevin Sheedy
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5840144,00.jpg
looks like spike has done very well for himself
In further off-field news congratulations to Adam and Bree on the announcement that they're expecting their first child in September :)
Bomber dilemma for September
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,23565227-2862,00.html
Jackie Epstein
April 20, 2008 12:00am
BOMBER Adam McPhee hopes to face a tough choice in September. The Essendon forward and his wife, Bree, are expecting their first child during the footy finals.
"I'd like to have a decision to make," McPhee says.
"It would be nice to play in finals, so I'll reassess if it happens.
"Bree's 4 1/2 months pregnant. We tried to plan it. But it's fallen this way. It's exciting."
McPhee has been busy in the couple's Ascot Vale fashion store, Sekushi, planning a jetski business and finding a family home.
He is also in a Taser stun-gun business with his father-in-law.
WindyHillWatcher
21 Apr 2008, 12:46
"that" goal has almost restored my faith in McPhee... almost....
He really should be filling the whole of Lucas, a big guy, strong mark, can kick a goal. If he comes good on Anzac Day he could potentially get the medal.
TBoyleSuperstar
26 Apr 2008, 14:13
G'day guys. Just curious about what your thoughts are on Adam McPhee. A few years ago he was being touted as the next generation footballer. The prototype of the modern footballer, being tall, quick, agile, and able to play anywhere. Seems to have stalled a fair bit, probably even gone backwards. Seems to be a bit a classic example of the Dons at present, talented capable of anything, but inconsistant.
Where is he at do you think??
Slattery_20
26 Apr 2008, 14:21
Has the kick & body to be an OK footballer
Doesn't have the brain to be a really good footballer
Has a crack every week though, so he gets some brownie points from me for that
The_Young_Gun
26 Apr 2008, 14:34
Has the kick & body to be an OK footballer
Doesn't have the brain to be a really good footballer
Has a crack every week though, so he gets some brownie points from me for that
:thumbsu::thumbsu:
TheDon35
18 May 2008, 18:14
Traaaaaaaaaaaaade
Schmick
18 May 2008, 19:42
Traaaaaaaaaaaaade
Shouldv'e been done a while ago.
Windas_Magic
30 May 2008, 23:16
Played much better with Lucas in the team, has to keep it up though
loopy_cam
31 May 2008, 19:00
Too damn slow to move it on.
Other than that good game.
bipolarbeaR
1 Jun 2008, 00:50
Adam McPhee
Fremantle -> Essendon
Draft pick #55
Ryan Crowley
Nice Trade :D
Played his best game for the year on Friday.
Not really surprising given it's the first opportunity we've had to play him in position all year.
JuddyisGod
4 Jun 2008, 02:16
Not really surprising given it's the first opportunity we've had to play him in position all year.
will he stay in position though?
As long as Lucas plays, he'll stay in position
Slattery_20
5 Jun 2008, 14:36
Immediately better player with Lucas in
Was he playing as a leading 3rd forward or as Half Back Flanker?
Forward.
danzan22
23 Jun 2008, 22:54
To all the McPhee baggers out their, i thought i would share this stat. Mcphee has 15 Goal Assist for the year, Ranked 6th (2 behind 1st), next closest for Ess is Watson with 11. He really is relishing this opportunity at HFF imo.
Darealrath
23 Jun 2008, 22:59
To all the McPhee baggers out their, i thought i would share this stat. Mcphee has 15 Goal Assist for the year, Ranked 6th (2 behind 1st), next closest for Ess is Watson with 11. He really is relishing this opportunity at HFF imo.
He's been massive all season. Makes mistakes but he has good skills, a huge engine (and the heart to use it) and great hands. Would be top 5 in our B&F, maybe top 3. All the while learning a new position.
underrated. could be a very good player. is a very good player.
when he puts HIS mind too it, love his boots. just like Kyle Reimers. love his boots too, i go to every Essendon Game in Melb. and i notice the amount of running he does. and he works hard. but he has to work on his Disposal.
Pelkanet
6 Jul 2008, 20:35
Very good player at times (eg. Bananna from boundry against saints), but makes a truckload of clangers, which makes him an good player.
bomba4eva
6 Jul 2008, 20:53
He's been massive all season. Makes mistakes but he has good skills, a huge engine (and the heart to use it) and great hands. Would be top 5 in our B&F, maybe top 3. All the while learning a new position.
Great post mate:thumbsu:
Agree with all of that. McPhee was thrust into a very difficult position at CHF when Lucas went down. He did an admirable job for a bloke that doesn't play that position. He runs himself into the ground every match and you know he will give you 100%. The contest with Schammer says it all. He will put his body on the line. Tough player to match up on and has a good mark.
Personally feel he should be trade bait as he certainly has currency. If that doesnt eventuate Ill be 100% behind him anyway. Great season and easily in our top few in the B & F.
retroparty
16 Aug 2008, 19:57
Trade him while he still has value.
Pevers-Legend
16 Aug 2008, 20:02
He busts a gut and you could never knock his endeavour. I think he is a very important cog when Scotty is up and running with Lloydy, but is he the clanger king of Essendon?
Plenty of worse players than him, but his clangers hurt - if he coudl iron them out, he would be a top player.
retroparty
16 Aug 2008, 20:45
He busts a gut and you could never knock his endeavour. I think he is a very important cog when Scotty is up and running with Lloydy, but is he the clanger king of Essendon?
Plenty of worse players than him, but his clangers hurt - if he coudl iron them out, he would be a top player.
Yes he busts is gut and I think he is a good player but I think he should be traded and we should try and get a young midfielder, maybe another draft pick. He has plenty of value and clubs would be willing to take him. With the progression of Neagle and Gumbleton (we will see him one day!) I can't see him cementing a position in the side. He would be playing lots of different roles and I can't see the point in that as we already have one player which does that (Lovett-Murray).
We need to take advantage of having players like McPhee, they are good trade value and I believe we can benefit from trading some of these players (NLM, Stanton, Nash, Lovett etc).
bombers2011
17 Aug 2008, 13:26
Yes he busts is gut and I think he is a good player but I think he should be traded and we should try and get a young midfielder, maybe another draft pick. He has plenty of value and clubs would be willing to take him. With the progression of Neagle and Gumbleton (we will see him one day!) I can't see him cementing a position in the side. He would be playing lots of different roles and I can't see the point in that as we already have one player which does that (Lovett-Murray).
We need to take advantage of having players like McPhee, they are good trade value and I believe we can benefit from trading some of these players (NLM, Stanton, Nash, Lovett etc).
I completely agree with everything you are saying, it seems to be no-one on the trade threads is really going down this route in the discussion. With the exclusion of Lovett form that group i think NLM, McPhee, Nash and Stanton all are potential trade bait and we should be seriously considering luring a good centre half back, midfielder and ruck option come the end of the season. Sheedy never successfully scored any mid career players from trades they all ended up duds. We could really really use a little bit more leadership in that 24/25 year old bracket. Players like Mcphee and NLM aren't stars and arent consistent or talented enough to be worth keeping at the club for another 5 years, NOW is the time!
bipolarbeaR
20 Aug 2008, 00:51
When is his baby boy due anyone know? :)
Might have another McPhee in 2025!
The_Young_Gun
21 Aug 2008, 21:52
Chuck McPhee back onto da' Half Back Flank!
Our defence is shithouse! He'll push our defence up a fair notch for this weeks game...
dazza wyatt
28 Sep 2008, 16:39
Where is he likely to play next year? What will you guys do with Lloyd, Lucas, Neagle, Gumby and Mcphee?
HBF should be his position in 09 in a full strength side
loopy_cam
29 Sep 2008, 15:42
I like him on the forward flank.
Keep him there.
The_Young_Gun
29 Sep 2008, 22:52
I like him on the forward flank.
Keep him there.
we wont be able to fit him in there...
Gumby, Neagle, Lloyd, Lucas, Davey, Monfries and Jetta all have to fit in there next year.
Not to mention we badly, BADLY! need him in our backline as well.
loopy_cam
30 Sep 2008, 12:44
we wont be able to fit him in there...
Gumby, Neagle, Lloyd, Lucas, Davey, Monfries and Jetta all have to fit in there next year.
Not to mention we badly, BADLY! need him in our backline as well.
F: Davey/Jetta, Lucas, Neagle/Gumby
HF: McPhee, Lloyd, Monfries
It has been said by people who are closer to the team than I that Gumby will play maybe half the season even if fully fit. Neagle and Gumby will be fighting it out for one position next year IMO. Unless injuries occur, I doubt they'll be playing together in the forward line for too many games. Davey,Jetta and Monfries can all have short bursts in the midfield.
McPhee plays the high forward role the best. He has the endurance that Neagle, Gumby, Lloyd and Lucas don't have. He provides an option coming out of defence.
Plus McPhee turns the ball over waaay too much in the backline.
The_Young_Gun
30 Sep 2008, 17:21
I still prefer him in the backline...
Knighta will work out a way to try and avoid Macca's turnover ability down back, but his endurance and hardness is well needed in our backline. He has strong hands and seems to be good in one on one situations. I'm sure Knightas' philosiphy of running the ball out of defence will also go in the favour of McPhee's abilities.
I guess we'll just have to agree to disagree.
SeeTheBombersFlyUp
30 Sep 2008, 17:42
Now I know he has been a great player for us since returning home from Fremantle, but surely Matty Knights and his panel would consider McPhee as trade bait next week. Dont get me wrong, I rate McPhee highly (except his turnovers by foot occur to frequently) but he isn't going to be getting any better now as age will start to take its toll....Your thoughts? I say only if the offer is worthwile but it cant hurt to throw his name around.
The_Young_Gun
30 Sep 2008, 20:41
He's 25... Turning 26, in 6 days...
I have no idea what you mean by his age taking tole on him.:D
To be honest, I'd be devistated if McPhee was traded away.
Do people forget all his bone-head brain fades playing in the backline? Had me pulling my hair out.
He plays a good team game up forward and I wouldn't put money on Lloyd, Lucas, Gumby and Neagle being fit every single week