DaSawx
16 Jul 2007, 12:59
Like his potential

bomberlegend2007
16 Jul 2007, 16:29
Same here looks like a very good player. Should get a shot Next Year

KING-JAMES
16 Jul 2007, 16:44
Needs to stay fit, and he will be good. Knows how to kick a goal and impressed me in the pre season playing on big Mal.

Jono B
16 Jul 2007, 16:59
Needs to stay fit, and he will be good. Knows how to kick a goal and impressed me in the pre season playing on big Mal.
How did he go on Mal?

bomberlegend2007
16 Jul 2007, 17:06
He kicked 3 of 4 goals i think

KING-JAMES
16 Jul 2007, 23:32
He kicked 3 of 4 goals i think

Yer pretty sure it was 4 and he did it twice. Kicked 6 i think in either a VFL practise game aswell i think i remember.

DaSawx
16 Jul 2007, 23:35
However many it was there was some damn fine contested marking to boot

Jono B
17 Jul 2007, 03:13
Thats pretty good for a 19 year old key forward. I am pretty sure he kicked 7 in the practice match. What is his kicking like?

ant555
17 Jul 2007, 09:51
He is a very strong mark and reads the play very well . Times his leads very well too.

Bombs Away
17 Jul 2007, 14:32
Hopefully can get fit and get a preseason then we will have neagle and watson playing for the dons again. Has oodles of talent.

Pawtucket Patriot
13 Aug 2007, 21:11
Who is he comparable to in the modern game?

Longy413
13 Aug 2007, 21:13
Who is he comparable to in the modern game?

Probably Aaron Edwards/Chris Tarrant at the moment.

With an improved tank I could see him playing a bit of a Embley/O'Keefe role.

Given the opportunity, I have absolutely no doubt this kid will make it. None at all.

hulld
13 Aug 2007, 21:16
although it probably wont happen, i wouldn't be surprised if he came in this week and with scotty to play in defence.

if not this week maybe the next

Pawtucket Patriot
13 Aug 2007, 21:22
Probably Aaron Edwards/Chris Tarrant at the moment.

With an improved tank I could see him playing a bit of a Embley/O'Keefe role.

Given the opportunity, I have absolutely no doubt this kid will make it. None at all.

If he is anything like Embley or O'Keefe that would be awesome. As long as he can kick better than Taz then he should be fine ;).

Longy413
13 Aug 2007, 21:28
If he is anything like Embley or O'Keefe that would be awesome. As long as he can kick better than Taz then he should be fine ;).

He's not anything like them at the moment, but he has raw power and extremely good hands above his head and at ground level.

He's a better kick than Taz.

He has a tonne of raw ability.

FootyGuru
13 Aug 2007, 23:41
possibly that thid floating medium forward we will be looking for after hirds retirement

danielcanberra
30 Aug 2007, 08:32
http://realfooty.com.au/news/news/in-with-the-new-/2007/08/29/1188067189852.html

Winds of change at Essendon

Steve Butler and Martin Blake | August 29, 2007

ESSENDON coach Kevin Sheedy has promised to blood the son of one of his old guns against West Coast at Subiaco Oval this Saturday, as he bade an emotional farewell to Windy Hill yesterday.

A rowdy mob of Bombers fans gathered in the stands as Sheedy and his star player James Hird took part in their final public training session in Melbourne before flying to Perth today.

Players, supporters and the two men themselves all looked unsure of which emotions to let out. But storming out of the goal square alongside captain Matthew Lloyd was Jay Neagle, who will make his long-awaited debut against the Eagles, possibly as a key forward.

The hulking 19-year-old son of 203-game Essendon and Sydney star Merv Neagle was a 2005 father-son selection and has fought off frustrating stress fractures in both ankles.

Merv Neagle said last night it would be slightly surreal to watch his son run out in the same colours he wore in his 1977 debut and under the same Bombers coach he had in the 1984 premiership year. He said his son ran 20 metres in 2.78 seconds compared to Alwyn Davey's 2.75 and weighed nearly 100 kilograms compared to his own playing weight of 79 kilograms.

"I'm more nervous for the young bloke than I was when I was doing the same as him against Collingwood at Victoria Park 30 years ago, but I'm just rapt," he said. "It's a reward for a kid who's just persevered when things haven't gone right for him."

Sheedy said he had allowed Hird to help choose the side for his 253rd and last match. Veteran defender Dustin Fletcher will return, and he revealed that he would definitely play out his contract, which runs until the end of next season, and may even look for a new deal beyond that. He said he was also desperate to end the year on a good note for Hird and Sheedy.

"I'm looking forward to getting out there and playing well and doing my best for two blokes who I've grown up with and played a lot of footy with," Fletcher said.

As part of yesterday's emotion-charged session, Rats of Tobruk federal president Murray Burles presented cancer survivor Adam Ramanauskas with a bravery award.

http://realfooty.com.au/ffximage/2007/08/30/wbFOOTYneagle.jpgEssendon's Jay Neagle will wear the number 34, which was worn by his father.
Photo: Vince Caligiuri

Pawtucket Patriot
1 Sep 2007, 20:50
Showed some good signs today.

windyhill
1 Sep 2007, 20:59
He was very good, then all of a sudden, gone, must be injured I thought. Leave him bloody well on !! First kick in senior football, goal, beautiful.

Jono B
1 Sep 2007, 21:37
He knows how to make an impact when he gets it. Can't wait until next year.

hulld
2 Sep 2007, 00:25
great size about him

Darealrath
2 Sep 2007, 10:34
Very impressive. If that's a sign of things to come our forward line is in very good shape.

Styles
2 Sep 2007, 11:03
Liked what I saw of him, would like to see Gumby get some of his size.

NathanS
3 Sep 2007, 22:30
I liked what I saw of him against West Coast. He at the very least makes a contest. He's a medium sized player who looks like he can take a nice grab, as well as being quick enough to be more then useful as a small forward. He looks a little difficult to match up on. He's just got to make sure he gets an interrupted pre-season, and he should be able to play more senior games.

Smyth94
4 Sep 2007, 19:44
I liked what I saw of him against West Coast. He at the very least makes a contest. He's a medium sized player who looks like he can take a nice grab, as well as being quick enough to be more then useful as a small forward. He looks a little difficult to match up on. He's just got to make sure he gets an interrupted pre-season, and he should be able to play more senior games.

Actually he's pretty huge, 190cm and around the 95 kg mark

hulld
4 Sep 2007, 22:13
where do you get medium sized from???

Jono B
4 Sep 2007, 22:31
190 cm it is medium sized seeing that the current generation of key forwards are above and around 195 cm.

GoDons
4 Sep 2007, 23:41
If had a feeling for a while that Jay's future lies at CHB.

He didn't do anything imparticular that pointed that direction on Saturday but I love the way he positions himself in marking contests. I feel he is always in a great position to get hands on the ball.

It is that that makes me think he could work well as a defender. Not only is he athletic enough to go with the Nick Riewoldt-types, but he's good enough to stand in their way and make it as hard as possible for them to mark it.

I'm still not convinced that he works perfectly as a leading forward either.

In my mind at least, defense calls.

NathanS
5 Sep 2007, 02:39
Actually he's pretty huge, 190cm and around the 95 kg mark

I stand corrected.... he's about Jobe Watson's height, and a few kilo's heavier. He seemed to move well for his size.

Longy413
5 Sep 2007, 10:04

He's a big boy, but I reckon he's going to play more like Brad Johnson/Andrew Embley than Matthew Lloyd.

kelvin_sheedy
5 Sep 2007, 20:39
Has always looked out of shape and needs a hell of a lot of work on his fitness.

Might be very injury prone if he can't get his body right.

Has very little chance of playing like Brad Johnson of Andrew Embley.

Maybe a Micky 0 type forward or a cross between Fevola and Aaron Edwards.

I see him maybe turning into a Firrito type defender to cover Mal and Fletch in the future.?

Longy413
5 Sep 2007, 20:56
Has always looked out of shape and needs a hell of a lot of work on his fitness.

Might be very injury prone if he can't get his body right.

Has very little chance of playing like Brad Johnson of Andrew Embley.

Maybe a Micky 0 type forward or a cross between Fevola and Aaron Edwards.

I see him maybe turning into a Firrito type defender to cover Mal and Fletch in the future.?

So he has little chance of turning into an Embley type, but could turn into someone like Firrito that covers more ground than most in the comp...

kelvin_sheedy
5 Sep 2007, 22:09
So he has little chance of turning into an Embley type, but could turn into someone like Firrito that covers more ground than most in the comp...

Firrito in terms of undersized defender that beats the taller blokes with strength and bulk.

Why do you think he can turn into an Embley type?

Has he displayed any running capabilites throughout his junior days?

hulld
5 Sep 2007, 22:24
stop with the talk about him turning into a half forward or a undersized player. he is a big boy

wazzabp
5 Sep 2007, 22:46
I was very happy with his efforts. I watched him play for Bendigo Bombers last year against North Ballarat, and since then he has lost a lot of puppy fat and looks a lot fitter. Its just a shame that hes had a few injuries along the way. With another full pre season, I'd say he will be well on his way to a permanent spot in the seniors.

Longy413
6 Sep 2007, 10:23
Why do you think he can turn into an Embley type?

Because he can kick, he can turn, he can run, he can jump and we need a player like that.

He's been tried on the wing in small doses at VFL level and in practice matches. He has the raw ability to play that role.

Has he displayed any running capabilites throughout his junior days?

As far as stamina, not really.
He hasn't had a full pre-season at any level.

He only had one year at U18 level and at Gippsland he would have only been training once a week. When he came to Essendon he had done no weights, I don't think he'd even done a beep test. He's as raw as they come, but despite all those limitations on Saturday he still ran around well.

stop with the talk about him turning into a half forward or a undersized player. he is a big boy

Kepler Bradley is a big boy too, but it's well documented that his best positions is across half forward.

Andrew Embley only a shade off Neagle's height and weight.

Make no mistake, Neagle is going to trim down. He isn't at his ideal playing weight, he still has puppy fat to rid himself of.

Jay Neagle could well develop into a full time full forward, but in my opinion that would be a waste. Because he does have the tools to spend time further up the ground and become a link man and impact player at times.

I don't think anyone is pretending he doesn't have the ability to play tall, I'm definately not. I'm just think he also has the ability to play small as well.

bombersrbest05
7 Sep 2007, 20:27
Did he show enough against West Coast or will he be delisted at end of the year?
Your thoughts?

donsman4eva
7 Sep 2007, 20:36
He would be very unlucky to be delisted IMO

hulld
8 Sep 2007, 00:20
no chance that he will delisted

NathanS
8 Sep 2007, 02:50
Why would they delist him? He's far from short on potential. In fact he shows excellent promise.

The Woodsmen
13 Sep 2007, 18:27
Did he show enough against West Coast or will he be delisted at end of the year?
Your thoughts?

Are you joking mate???????

TheDon35
19 Sep 2007, 10:06
No delisting here.

This guy will be a 10 - 12 year player. Still bloody young. Covers the ground really well for a big bloke, can take contested overhead marks inside 50 consistently and but packs open.

Ground work is excellent for a big feller.

Stress related injuries are pretty common for youngsters in their first couple of years so no problems there.

Was taken underage and would have gone top 10 in last years super draft.

Will be a bomber champion!

Eccles
19 Sep 2007, 12:22
The question on him is the same as it was with Jobe in his first few seasons. Is the lack of conditioning due to the injuries restricting his work rate in preseason and training, or are the injuries occuring due to a lazy attitude and low work rate causing a lack of conditioning?

KING-JAMES
23 Sep 2007, 01:05
Pretty sure his attitude has improved out of sight compared to when he got to the club. He still could get into better shape but his build looks nice to me at the moment. I'm confident he will be a good player for us.

Longy413
23 Sep 2007, 13:41
The question on him is the same as it was with Jobe in his first few seasons. Is the lack of conditioning due to the injuries restricting his work rate in preseason and training, or are the injuries occuring due to a lazy attitude and low work rate causing a lack of conditioning?

I don't think his attitude is an issue.

He came from a very low base, he'd only played on year of TAC Cup footy and the downside of playing at Gippsland is that he was only training once a week.

No weights either.

He was a long way behind the 8 ball.

Amazing Bombers
4 Jan 2008, 14:35
Neagle's Summer Scoreboard

Friday, 4 January 2008
What do you want for Christmas?
My two front teeth

What is the worst Christmas present you have been given?
A pack of salted nuts

Where do you usually spend Christmas day?
Back home with the family

What are your plans for your time off over Christmas and New Year?
Catch up with mates and relax…oh and train!

What is your best cricket memory?
A hat trick in the backyard

Who is your favourite cricket player?
Roy

What is the best thing about Melbourne in the summer time?
The ladies

What are the three crucial items to a successful bbq?
Snags, flies and good company

Who is going to win the female draw of the Australian open?
A woman

Who is your favourite male tennis player?
The Fed train

Pool or beach?
Beach

Song that reminds you most of summer?
Love generation

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5538

Windas_Magic
4 Jan 2008, 15:00
Neagle's Summer Scoreboard

Friday, 4 January 2008
What do you want for Christmas?
My two front teeth

What is the worst Christmas present you have been given?
A pack of salted nuts

Where do you usually spend Christmas day?
Back home with the family

What are your plans for your time off over Christmas and New Year?
Catch up with mates and relax…oh and train!

What is your best cricket memory?
A hat trick in the backyard

Who is your favourite cricket player?
Roy

What is the best thing about Melbourne in the summer time?
The ladies

What are the three crucial items to a successful bbq?
Snags, flies and good company

A woman

Who is your favourite male tennis player?
The Fed train

Pool or beach?
Beach

Song that reminds you most of summer?
Love generation

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5538
What:eek::confused:

loopy_cam
4 Jan 2008, 17:13
A woman

I'd have to disagree. :p

Azzballz Deluxe
4 Jan 2008, 23:13
I'd have to disagree. :p

True, Mauresmo will win for sure

Bomber Billy
15 Jan 2008, 19:51
I see him more as a Fevola than an Embley. He has a great mark, size, speed off the mark and booming kick. If he gets his body right and fit he should fill the vacancy Lloyd will leave when he retires. However Lloyd and Lucas still have some time left and I can see him slotting in nicely as a third tall (will have to beat Gumby though) or maybe even CHB. I can remember last preseason Sheeds had Neagle learning abit about the position and could've had him in mind for CHB but then he broke down through injury again.

XIsDonIsGoodX
27 Jan 2008, 08:40
I see him more as a Fevola than an Embley. He has a great mark, size, speed off the mark and booming kick. If he gets his body right and fit he should fill the vacancy Lloyd will leave when he retires. However Lloyd and Lucas still have some time left and I can see him slotting in nicely as a third tall (will have to beat Gumby though) or maybe even CHB. I can remember last preseason Sheeds had Neagle learning abit about the position and could've had him in mind for CHB but then he broke down through injury again.

Totally agree. I have some high hopes for this boy. Especially seeing as I already have his autograph:D

Seriously though, if he can get his body right I think he could be our next FF.

Slattery_20
28 Jan 2008, 14:40
If we can keep him out of moonboots for a few years he might play some decent footy
Unfortunately the bloke's got his own pair he's had to wear them that often

bomber39
29 Feb 2008, 22:27
Just though Jay Neagle's prescence on the ground rtonight was something special for basically his first real crack at senior footy. A few contests made me smile with antiiaption as he mucled out some of the saints players as if he had been doing it for years! Just interested in peoples thoughts on what they saw tonight!

Last Line Hero
29 Feb 2008, 22:29
Just though Jay Neagle's prescence on the ground rtonight was something special for basically his first real crack at senior footy. A few contests made me smile with antiiaption as he mucled out some of the saints players as if he had been doing it for years! Just interested in peoples thoughts on what they saw tonight!

Muscled out Raph Clarke and Sam Gilbert :o

Not ready, too much puppy fat on him.

mxett
29 Feb 2008, 22:32

What? More than the tomahawk?

He's ready for about 12 games this year.

Where was Houli tonight? we missed him I thought.

abers47
29 Feb 2008, 22:33
Doesn't matter who he muscled out - he went into the pack like we love to see! Great effort Jay! Looking forward with anticipation to the 'proper' season!

SirJimi05
29 Feb 2008, 22:42

He has less puppy fat then Hawkins did last year, nuffa. :rolleyes:

bomber39
29 Feb 2008, 22:43
Doesn't matter who he muscled out - he went into the pack like we love to see! Great effort Jay! Looking forward with anticipation to the 'proper' season!

by the way sorry about my spelling, it is woeful hahaha, i typed that up way too fast!

FullFathom5
29 Feb 2008, 22:50
Question is, how's he going to fit into the forward line when Lloyd, Lucas, Laycock and Hille have to be included? Okay, one ruck may be out but three talls who aren't at the speedster side of things may be a little too sluggish for good offense.

kelvin_sheedy
29 Feb 2008, 23:19

Spot on.

Not even close to ready. Got few soft goals which will pump up his tyres.

I'm hoping he can stay on the park all year cause I'd like to get a look at how he's going after 10 or so rounds.

Ryder Is God
29 Feb 2008, 23:21

Tom Hawkins board.

Last Line Hero
29 Feb 2008, 23:36
Spot on.

Not even close to ready. Got few soft goals which will pump up his tyres.

I'm hoping he can stay on the park all year cause I'd like to get a look at how he's going after 10 or so rounds.

Great to see a proper and informed response, without resorting to soft quibbles about Tom Hawkins (who by the way I am the first to say is not ready for AFL football at this stage).

Spikey
1 Mar 2008, 10:37
Good work Merv;)

Houli2Gumbleton
1 Mar 2008, 12:06
veery good game

TheDon35
1 Mar 2008, 12:41
Will say it again. Will be a standout player for us in years to come. Great signs last night

thebigboy
1 Mar 2008, 13:31
Was sitting only a few rows from the benches last night and i noticed that physically he can still develop a fair way.

His arms can improve a lot more, making him even tougher to defend.

Windas_Magic
1 Mar 2008, 13:43

The thing is, with Lloyd and Lucas in the side, he'll be taking the third or fourth defender anyway.

Last Line Hero
1 Mar 2008, 14:13
The thing is, with Lloyd and Lucas in the side, he'll be taking the third or fourth defender anyway.

Lloyd. Lucas, Neagle, Hille rotating. Way too top heavy, won't work.

Neagle played the focal point role last night, he was the target Bomber players were forced to go to leading out of the square.

When players return, he won't be that, he'll be hidden in a pocket, quickly lose consistency and form, have little to no impact and be back playing for Bendigo. It's only natural, he's young, I'm just saying that you won't get much out of him at all when the real stuff roles around.

Ryder Is God
1 Mar 2008, 15:22
I doubt many of us expected much out of him this season anyway. I just hope he can stay fit and finally get through a season without injuries.

tristo
1 Mar 2008, 18:20
I doubt many of us expected much out of his this team season anyway. I just hope he can stay fit and finally get througha season without injuries.

Amen to that!

Longy413
3 Mar 2008, 09:27
Neagle played the focal point role last night, he was the target Bomber players were forced to go to leading out of the square.

Where does your assumption that he has no running ability and is poor at ground level come from?

Last Line Hero
3 Mar 2008, 19:06
Where does your assumption that he has no running ability and is poor at ground level come from?

The fact that he's shown no such ability in that role at the top level.

Where is your assumption that he does have those skills and will be able to adapt them to the AFL early on coming from, when he hasn't at all shown them?

It's only natural that at this stage of his career, if he does play, he will pushed into a pocket or flank, and quickly lose influence because he is nowhere near ready or capable to play a role that involves anything other than leading and marking from the square.

Jonesy1987
3 Mar 2008, 19:47

Needs more fat then he can be the next plugger:thumbsu:

acebomer
3 Mar 2008, 19:50
The fact that he's shown no such ability in that role at the top level.

Where is your assumption that he does have those skills and will be able to adapt them to the AFL early on coming from, when he hasn't at all shown them?

It's only natural that at this stage of his career, if he does play, he will pushed into a pocket or flank, and quickly lose influence because he is nowhere near ready or capable to play a role that involves anything other than leading and marking from the square.

just because he hasnt shown it in the top level doesnt mean he doesnt have the abillity. i havent seen you play footy before, so you have no ability to play football, is that right? is that a fact? it is a fact according to you lol
Also check the meaning of "rotation" please. Rotating means all 4 talls wont play at the same time in the fowardline, one will be on the bench or somewhere else on the ground. therefore theres nothing bad about playing 3 talls, as many teams plays 3 talls in the forwardline these days, so How is that " TOO HEAVY"?

Last Line Hero
3 Mar 2008, 20:05
just because he hasnt shown it in the top level doesnt mean he doesnt have the abillity. i havent seen you play footy before, so you have no ability to play football, is that right? is that a fact? it is a fact according to you lol
Also check the meaning of "rotation" please. Rotating means all 4 talls wont play at the same time in the fowardline, one will be on the bench or somewhere else on the ground. therefore theres nothing bad about playing 3 talls, as many teams plays 3 talls in the forwardline these days, so How is that " TOO HEAVY"?

I'm not saying he doesn't have the skills, I'm merely stating that in his physical state at this point in his young development, he would struggle gravely at AFL level to adapt to any other role other than that of a prototypical lead and mark forward, which he won't be able to be when Lloyd returns, and it's INCREDIBLY difficult to play such a role from the pocket. Thus if he does play I can't see him maintaining decent consistency at this point, and his influence will probably wane fairly hastily.

I'm not bagging the kid out, he looks talented. But my mode of thinking is only logical.

I'm sure when he's fitter and trimmed down, more agile, within another 1-2 pre- seasons, he could and will be used far more effectively.

You've also got Gumbleton too, so who's got preference out of Neagle and Gumbleton, I'd say the latter. That's probably those 3, with Hille rotating through there. It's very, very big, which as history has proven doesn't always work.

wazzabp
3 Mar 2008, 20:07
I reckon he will start on the bench in round 1 and will start at FF if Lloyd isn't fully fit.

Jonesy1987
3 Mar 2008, 20:09
I'm not saying he doesn't have the skills, I'm merely stating that in his physical state at this point in his young development, he would struggle gravely at AFL level to adapt to any other role other than that of a prototypical lead and mark forward, which he won't be able to be when Lloyd returns, and it's INCREDIBLY difficult to play such a role from the pocket. Thus if he does play I can't see him maintaining decent consistency at this point, and his influence will probably wane fairly hastily.

I'm not bagging the kid out, he looks talented. But my mode of thinking is only logical.

I'm sure when he's fitter and trimmed down, more agile, within another 1-2 pre- seasons, he could and will be used far more effectively.

You've also got Gumbleton too, so who's got preference out of Neagle and Gumbleton, I'd say the latter. That's probably those 3, with Hille rotating through there. It's very, very big, which as history has proven doesn't always work.

Knights has stated that Lloyd will be playing up ground more this year which I dont agree with, but it would leave room for Neagle to get quite a bit of development time playing at FF

GoDons
3 Mar 2008, 23:20

I'm in agreement.

Jay was great against St Kilda, but he did receive a far greater degree of priority than he would alongside Lloyd and Lucas. In addition, with that priority he still only had 6 touches of the football.

Right now, he's not fit enough to play a lead up role at half forward and probably won't be enough value to us as a third tall forward to warrant sacrificing another midfielder from the rotation.

He'll do better developing in greater role at Bendigo where he'd be more of the 'go to' man. As his fitness grows there might be a few opportunities in the seniors on a forward flank.

Longy413
4 Mar 2008, 08:58

It's not an assumption, I've seen it.

WindyHillWatcher
25 Mar 2008, 10:25
any chance of this guy coming into the side against the cats?

lamaros
25 Mar 2008, 10:50
No. Knights said both him and Gumby are 4 weeks off still.

Vulture_72
25 Mar 2008, 10:55
No. Knights said both him and Gumby are 4 weeks off still.
He said he was 4 weeks off full fitness, not necessarily 4 weeks from playing in the seniors.

lamaros
25 Mar 2008, 11:36
He said he was 4 weeks off full fitness, not necessarily 4 weeks from playing in the seniors.

The question was something like "with lucas out will Neagle or Johns come into the team?" and he replied "yes they're the options for his position, but they're about 4 weeks off being ready/fit/etc".

More likely to see CJ come in and play back with Ryder or Fletch forward than Neagle or Gumby IMO.

GoldenboyHird_5
25 Mar 2008, 17:30
gumby's only 2 weeks away from fitness though

Merv
25 Mar 2008, 19:04

Knights has said he won't be rushed. Don't expect to see him in the seniors for at least 4 weeks.

bomber69
25 Mar 2008, 22:09
only 1 week away from returning to full training/bendigo.
still, 4 weeks sounds about right for when we will next see him in the senior side.

DaSawx
25 Mar 2008, 22:13
only 1 week away from returning to full training/bendigo.
still, 4 weeks sounds about right for when we will next see him in the senior side.

Gumby for Anzac Day Medal :thumbsu:

Schmick
25 Mar 2008, 22:50
Gumby for Anzac Day Medal :thumbsu:
I'd buy another 5 memberships if I saw that happen.

WindyHillWatcher
26 Mar 2008, 10:38
I'd buy another 5 memberships if I saw that happen.

start saving...

jetta2davey
26 Mar 2008, 10:57
i listened to the interview and knights said that gumby was at least 4 weeks away from appearing in the seniors, and that neagle has had an ankle niggle and may not be fully fit to play this week. he also hinted that johns and winderlicjh may come into the side.

strangely there was no mention of lovett or monfries when discussing team selection.

bomberz08
31 Mar 2008, 15:12
havent seen a whole lot of neagle....[a couple of matches]....is he faster than gumby and johns?:)

DaSawx
1 Apr 2008, 15:46
havent seen a whole lot of neagle....[a couple of matches]....is he faster than gumby and johns?:)

Not faster than either but his footy brain is 10 times that of Johns and is a better contested mark.

The Dustbin
2 Apr 2008, 16:24
We'll be seeing Jay sooner then later thanks to the Lucas injury. Smokey to come in this week, I reckon.

Looking forward to seeing Jay in action. Very promising.

Johnnyprinias
4 Apr 2008, 10:41
Cant wait to see him play, has lots of potential. Needs to stay fit

hulld
4 Apr 2008, 10:55
he'll play against the pies if he has a solid games this week in the vfl

Classyecho
17 Apr 2008, 14:55
Can somebody let me know about Neagle? When will he play? Sorry to sound stupid. Cheers.

hulld
17 Apr 2008, 17:46
when he's 100% fit

Play_Jay
17 Apr 2008, 22:25
Classyecho you stole my thunder!!

Signed up especially to ask that same question. This is a perfect opportunity for Jay to play and prove himself with Lucas out and LLoyd under an injury cloud, but its unfortunate that he's not 100% himself.

Saw him in the NAB cup and was highly impressed and have been dying for him to play. Can anyone give us an update on his progress as I can't seem to find any information anywhere.

Classyecho
18 Apr 2008, 11:20
Play Jay, I'm with you. HullD seems to know something, but gave a very shady reply to my question (as in I'm no better off for reading it). I can't find Neagle's name on the injury list and he was brilliant in the pre-season. If he's not playing now, given our monstrous injury-list, he's never going to play! Hopefully we know more soon...

Vulture_72
18 Apr 2008, 11:30
Play Jay, I'm with you. HullD seems to know something, but gave a very shady reply to my question (as in I'm no better off for reading it). I can't find Neagle's name on the injury list and he was brilliant in the pre-season. If he's not playing now, given our monstrous injury-list, he's never going to play! Hopefully we know more soon...
He didn't play last week but is picked to play at Bendigo. If he gets through the next few weeks and shows some form then he will be playing with the seniors. There is no point throwing a kid who is not match fit into the seniors just for the sake of it.