View Full Version : 35. Tom Hislop

Pages : [1] 2

DaSawx
16 Jul 2007, 13:00
Looking like a very nice pick-up

Lovett Lover 13
17 Jul 2007, 18:16
looks very good from his first 2 games looking at a big future in the red and black

hulld
17 Jul 2007, 19:29
one of few who chased hard and could hold the head up high knowing he gave 100%

Tambu
19 Jul 2007, 02:03
Will be an absolute gun. Should be kept in the side for the rest of the year.

ant555
19 Jul 2007, 12:50
When he sorts out his kicking he will be even better. Currently he kicks to many dinky up and under pass's. You have to love his attack on the ball and his efforts to do the one percenters.

kelvin_sheedy
19 Jul 2007, 15:13
First real footballer we have drafter for a long time.

Will have a real impact next year.

hulld
19 Jul 2007, 19:46
i'm very happy he wasn't dropped for this week's game. we should play him on o'bree and give him a decent run in the midfield

Pawtucket Patriot
19 Jul 2007, 21:39
The game against the Pies should suit him as he can go head to head with O'Bree and Burns who are good players, but hardly quick and more in and under type players.

donsman4eva
20 Jul 2007, 19:14
Wouldnt like to see him against Burns, he has been very good this season, despite lacking pace.

johnmason
21 Jul 2007, 18:29
worst game he's played

hulld
21 Jul 2007, 19:38
hope we don't drop him. he is the future

Lovett Lover 13
21 Jul 2007, 19:40
hope we don't drop him. he is the future
sheedy is smart he wont do that he knows the talent of the kid
well hopefully

DaSawx
22 Jul 2007, 23:02
sheedy is smart he wont do that he knows the talent of the kid
well hopefully

Why not, we're still hopefull of finals and only 1 game out, if Sheeds think's someone else gives us a better chance to win then he'll pick them, Hislop would be happy with a taste as all the draftees would have been

Strike Swiftly
25 Jul 2007, 19:49
out for the season. six weeks at least with a knee injury

Lovett Lover 13
25 Jul 2007, 19:55
out for the season. six weeks at least with a knee injury
thats really disappointing news after the way he was playing.A youngster coming in and generally wanting the footy going in hard at it is great . Cant wait to see him next season

TheDon35
19 Sep 2007, 10:34
High quality footballer written all over this kid.

Look forward to him getting over injury and playing majority of games in a revampt side full of youngsters next year.

Thoughts?

acebomer
23 Nov 2007, 10:59
wat position does hislop play? centre or ruck rover

tristo
23 Nov 2007, 11:03
wat position does hislop play? centre or ruck rover

Is there really a difference between these 2 positions??

Hislop will play in the engine room.

acebomer
20 Dec 2007, 09:38
can anyone name a a current afl players who is similar to hislop?:confused:

GreaT SourcE
20 Dec 2007, 09:43
can anyone name a a current afl players who is similar to hislop?:confused:

Hislop is a bit like Mark Johnson, in the way that they are both pretty aggressive and they can both be pretty handy up forward......

hulld
20 Dec 2007, 10:29
luke ball

GoDons
20 Dec 2007, 15:50
luke ball

A pretty good comparison actually.

The same strengths in that they go in hard, almost too hard, and are very good from the bottom of a pack.

The same weaknesses in that they both lack kicking penetration and both have injury concerns.

Nice.

iluvessendon
23 Dec 2007, 19:41
Tom Hislop will be a star. :thumbsu:

And he's pretty hot too. :p

tiger trooper
20 Jan 2008, 19:51
What do essendon fans think of Tom hislop?

WIll he be in round 1 ?

What amount of games will he play?

Would you recoomend him as a cheap but GOOD pick-up?

Slattery_20
24 Jan 2008, 11:19
What do essendon fans think of Tom hislop?

WIll he be in round 1 ?

What amount of games will he play?

Would you recoomend him as a cheap but GOOD pick-up?
Very little idea on any of that
He came in late last year, didn't look out of place, until he picked up an injury (v Geelong)
IIRC he didn't go anywhere near the middle though
He's a good mark for his size, but has a bit too much aggression which sees him reported every 2nd game

hulld
24 Jan 2008, 20:39
don't do his supercoach work for him

Ryder Is God
24 Jan 2008, 20:52
http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j191/bombersforever/bomber%20stuff/IMG_0256.jpg

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j191/bombersforever/bomber%20stuff/more%20bomber%20stuff/IMG_0366.jpg

Ready to destroy teams!

PressureCooker
23 Feb 2008, 10:06
When will he be fit to play? I can't wait to see him in full flight:thumbsu:

matthewlloydwebber
23 Feb 2008, 10:13
not exactly safe to train wearing a watch is it? yep i've yet to see him play. peachy keen.

Slattery_20
24 Feb 2008, 11:35
Might be a heart-rate monitor thing?

The Great Barry Besanko
26 Feb 2008, 21:40
Anyone heard how he's going pre-season? Is he still injured? training the house down?

bomber69
30 Mar 2008, 23:32
Looking very likely to break into the senior side next week vs carlton

hulld
30 Mar 2008, 23:46
hopefully

Schmick
31 Mar 2008, 10:09
Looking very likely to break into the senior side next week vs carlton
Fingers crossed. Ill be very disapointed if he doesnt get a game.

hulld
1 Apr 2008, 13:19
bloody injured again. hurt his wrist on saturday and he could be out for as long as a month

acebomer
8 Apr 2008, 22:33
we desperately need inside midfielders right now and the spot is there for him, but at the same time he got injured, just like gumby== injured in the worse time. cant wait to see those two get back.

bomber69
14 Apr 2008, 17:49
Recovering well, two more weeks and he's back:D

Windas_Magic
14 Apr 2008, 17:53
It's strange that last week it was reported 4-6 weeks and now its only two weeks.

hulld
14 Apr 2008, 18:28
if they rush him he'll breakdown again

Schmick
17 Apr 2008, 18:32
Can't wait until get get's back for injury. Hopefully he only has to play a week or 2 before he gets selected in the senior team (assuming he plays well in those 1-2 games).

go_the_bombers
22 Apr 2008, 11:13
Hislops Brother (I think its his brother :p) Played for the Tassie Mariners on the weekend against Bendigo and was named in Tassies best

TheDon35
18 May 2008, 19:00
Great effort by star of the future.

Schmick
18 May 2008, 22:10
Looked at home out there tonight. Hopefully he'll improve on this weeks game and NAB himself a rising star nomination next week.

hulld
20 May 2008, 13:28
awesome 1st half by the slop. can keep his head up high as he held his own with the best in and under team in the business. was on the bottom of sooooo many packs

GoDons
21 May 2008, 00:50
He's got a great attitude.

Goes at everything without question.

His kicking was good as well.

It's fearless competitors that form the building blocks for Premiership teams, and in he and Reimers I think we've drafted a couple.

Hands Open
23 Jun 2008, 21:48
How far away is he from getting a game now? Love watching him play

fishguts
23 Jun 2008, 21:51
Available this week.

Moore14
27 Jun 2008, 22:53
Mate this guy is an absolute star. Even though he didnt get a kick against the crows :confused: (he did go down with a shoulder injury)

bomber69
28 Jun 2008, 11:22
Mate this guy is an absolute star. Even though he didnt get a kick against the crows :confused: (he did go down with a shoulder injury)
Got injured very early

woods_gun
28 Jun 2008, 16:27

this guy is just the biggest Damon. Hislop is a sheepdog just like this poster.

Moore14
28 Jun 2008, 16:30
Got injured very early

I was at the game sitting in members behind the bench keeping a close eye on hislop. he didnt get injured early mate

bomberstomake8
28 Jun 2008, 16:37
I was at the game sitting in members behind the bench keeping a close eye on hislop. he didnt get injured early mate

yeah he did, he was injured in the 1st quarter, came back on in the second realised he couldnt do anything then went off again

TheDon35
29 Jun 2008, 11:22
Great to see him back.

Big game today then back in for the next round of senior footy hopefully.

His game against Sydney was a highlit of the season for me.

hulld
30 Jun 2008, 01:26
was for me too. by all reports he played well today for bendigo, so if houli is not right for the brisbane game he should come in

Windas_Magic
17 Aug 2008, 01:16
Is this guy ever not injured?

Pevers-Legend
17 Aug 2008, 01:20
Is this guy ever not injured?

Sadly he is part our of our nearly constantly injured brigade. Either injured or suspended (love his attack on the footy/man!!! :D)

Tambu
11 Sep 2008, 22:11
Anyone have any idea why we haven't re-signed this kid yet?

I'm a little concerned, I think he could become a very good player.

Merv
11 Sep 2008, 22:23
Anyone have any idea why we haven't re-signed this kid yet?

I'm a little concerned, I think he could become a very good player.

I'm not sure but i don't buy into all the hype on this kid and while he has some talent, as shown against Sydney, he has a very very long way to go and a lot of flaws in his game.

I wouldn't be surprised if they might consider seeing if he has any value in the market, not saying they are.

kelvin_sheedy
11 Sep 2008, 22:27
I reckon he'll do a Lonergan + 25% next year. From what I've seen he really does excite me.

Tambu
11 Sep 2008, 22:37
Hope he stays, he's good at winning the footy. Very tough player, just what we need with JJ and Pev now gone.

Like Merv said though, he has a long way to go yet, but I think in a couple of years he'll show why he was taken high in the draft.

Spikey
11 Sep 2008, 22:40
They tried, but Tommy broke his hand whilst trying to sign the contract....

Ryder Is God
11 Sep 2008, 22:48
I think he can be a good player but I feel a lot of people overrate him because of his toughness.

dave_27
11 Sep 2008, 23:45
up for trade

Tambu
11 Sep 2008, 23:53
up for trade
Trade him for what?

ant555
12 Sep 2008, 10:59
I'm not sure but i don't buy into all the hype on this kid and while he has some talent, as shown against Sydney, he has a very very long way to go and a lot of flaws in his game.

I wouldn't be surprised if they might consider seeing if he has any value in the market, not saying they are.

I with Merv on this. He is one of the more hyped players on our list. Some supporters have taken a few pumped up draft reviews on this kids and have pumped him up to nearly a demi god.
He has a lot of areas to improve in.

hulld
12 Sep 2008, 12:52
the sydney game was proof enough he could be a very good player for our footballer. how many 2 year players havent got areas they need to improve in. you dont trade top 20 picks after 2 years in the system.

dirtywhitepacker
12 Sep 2008, 13:26
I believe this kid has a big future at Essendon. This guy is better than a Demi God! I agree he has a long way to go, but so do the majority of second year players, let along those who have struggled through some injuries in their start to senior footy. The reason why I like... sorry, LOVE the look of this kid is because of his toughness, given a couple of more years in the system and I think he'll be turning heads. Get his body right and the skills etc. will come.

Besides, I don't want to change my sig... :o

Pevers-Legend
12 Sep 2008, 14:36
I think what most like about him is what we like about Reimers - they are tough and we have had too mnay squibs on our list for too long.

We love the tough rugged ball players and he fits the bill. Plus he can find the pill and won't take a backward step. Injuries have stopped us from seeing what type of a player he will become for us.

howiehowie
12 Sep 2008, 14:53
Wouldn't say he is a demi-god. But I am excited by him. Love the way he plays and does not take a backwards step.

lemon chicken
13 Sep 2008, 04:29
I think what most like about him is what we like about Reimers - they are tough and we have had too mnay squibs on our list for too long.

We love the tough rugged ball players and he fits the bill. Plus he can find the pill and won't take a backward step. Injuries have stopped us from seeing what type of a player he will become for us.

This is the thing I just dont get. I dont find players that show agro in dead situations to be tuff. Mentally ATM Hislop has some queries. If cops one high, he has to get a payback, I dont like it and proves nothing. I think he is better than that.

Ryder Is God
13 Sep 2008, 15:22
This is the thing I just dont get. I dont find players that show agro in dead situations to be tuff. Mentally ATM Hislop has some queries. If cops one high, he has to get a payback, I dont like it and proves nothing. I think he is better than that.

Agreed. That's what I love about Lonergan, he cops it and goes even harder at the next contest.

bomber69
15 Sep 2008, 20:12
I with Merv on this. He is one of the more hyped players on our list. Some supporters have taken a few pumped up draft reviews on this kids and have pumped him up to nearly a demi god.
He has a lot of areas to improve in.
But dont all first/second year players? Myers missed alot of targets by foot, not many people jumped on his back. But thats the beauty of being at that stage in your career, there is improvement left in everyone.

ant555
16 Sep 2008, 15:56
But dont all first/second year players? Myers missed alot of targets by foot, not many people jumped on his back. But thats the beauty of being at that stage in your career, there is improvement left in everyone.

When i say there is a lot of areas to improve in i am not just talking about on the field.......

Ryder Is God
16 Sep 2008, 16:04
What could you possibly mean by that, ant? :p

dirtywhitepacker
16 Sep 2008, 17:08
When i say there is a lot of areas to improve in i am not just talking about on the field.......

Are you saying he likes to go out on the town and have a drink, or worse? Or are you implying his attitude to training and preparation are not up to scratch?

If it was the first I'd be concerned, if it was the second, I believe this is something that some kids take longer to develop. And at his age I wouldn't be OVERLY concerned about. Or are you talking about something different all together?

ant555
16 Sep 2008, 17:24
Are you saying he likes to go out on the town and have a drink, or worse? Or are you implying his attitude to training and preparation are not up to scratch?

If it was the first I'd be concerned, if it was the second, I believe this is something that some kids take longer to develop. And at his age I wouldn't be OVERLY concerned about. Or are you talking about something different all together?

You may not be overly concerned about it but the coach is hence the current situation with his contract. Lets just say the clubs evaluation of the situation and Hislops thoughts on the situation are in different suburbs.
As far as the second goes, if you can not get this right under Knights then you are finished. Profesionalism and Preperation is what the list is going to be about and if you cant get with the program, well you can hit the road ;)

Spikey
16 Sep 2008, 17:26
He's Tasmania isn't he? Who knows what he does off field. Or who.

;)

kelvin_sheedy
16 Sep 2008, 19:30
No chance in hell he'll be traded or let go by the club.

Once again the rumour mill starts on somebody and people try and find any angle to make it sound as if they know what they are talking about.

A person who's got a never die attitude on the field can always have his off field stuff sorted out.

GoDons
16 Sep 2008, 23:30
You may not be overly concerned about it but the coach is hence the current situation with his contract. Lets just say the clubs evaluation of the situation and Hislops thoughts on the situation are in different suburbs.

Is this fact or an assumption?

Gus2Gumby
17 Sep 2008, 00:12
He's Tasmania isn't he? Who knows what he does off field. Or who.

;)

:thumbsu:

ant555
17 Sep 2008, 10:02
No chance in hell he'll be traded or let go by the club.

Once again the rumour mill starts on somebody and people try and find any angle to make it sound as if they know what they are talking about.

A person who's got a never die attitude on the field can always have his off field stuff sorted out.

You can belive what you wan't Kelvin.
How often have i been way out of the ball park when it comes to these issues ?
A person has to recognize they have a problem before it can be fixed ;)

ant555
17 Sep 2008, 10:03
Is this fact or an assumption?

Well if they where on the same page as far as the contract goes it would have been signed by now ;):)

hulld
17 Sep 2008, 12:53
so ant in your opinion is it more likely that he'll:
a) be traded
b) walk out for nothing
or
c) sign a new contract

ant555
17 Sep 2008, 14:32
so ant in your opinion is it more likely that he'll:
a) be traded
b) walk out for nothing
or
c) sign a new contract

If they can get a bit closer with the issues that have prevented any contract signings so far then i would say c.
At the moment the whole thing is up in the air from what i have heard. I doubt that the club would wan't to see him walk for nothing so i would say that some sort of trade would be on the cards if it could be arranged.

TheDon35
22 Sep 2008, 14:38
Trading 19 and 20 year old blokes isn't the way forward for this club.

He's shown in an injury smashed couple of years that he's got a huge amount of talent and could be a very good AFL player. I would be devastated if they went down the trade option with him.

bomba4eva
22 Sep 2008, 14:43

He's shown in an injury smashed couple of years that he's got a huge amount of talent and could be a very good AFL player. I would be devastated if they went down the trade option with him.
Yep. My exact sentiments. Sign the bloke up lads. A top 20 pick from only 2 years ago should not be let go for free or traded so quickly:mad:

Merv
22 Sep 2008, 20:18

You would prefer to trade players that are in the age range we lack and have shown can actually play.

Apart from the Sydney game what has "Hissy" as you call him, actually shown you for you to say that he has " a huge amount of talent"?

What are these specific qualities you speak of?

Lance Uppercut
22 Sep 2008, 21:32
You would prefer to trade players that are in the age range we lack and have shown can actually play.

Apart from the Sydney game what has "Hissy" as you call him, actually shown you for you to say that he has " a huge amount of talent"?

What are these specific qualities you speak of?

I think he looked pretty good in the packs on the few occasions he's got a gig. Of course, I have no knowledge about his off-field attitude, apart from the scuttlebutt you hear, so I can make no judgement on that side of things. But he was a talented junior from all accounts, and I thought he looked pretty composed and clean for a youngster in the few opportunities he got. "Huge amount of talent" might be counting your chickens, but he's certainly shown potential IMO

Sigmund
22 Sep 2008, 22:14
I think he looked pretty good in the packs on the few occasions he's got a gig. Of course, I have no knowledge about his off-field attitude, apart from the scuttlebutt you hear, so I can make no judgement on that side of things. But he was a talented junior from all accounts, and I thought he looked pretty composed and clean for a youngster in the few opportunities he got. "Huge amount of talent" might be counting your chickens, but he's certainly shown potential IMO

Agreed Lance

ant555
23 Sep 2008, 13:49
He is way over hyped. His was reasonably good during the champs but he was never the super star he was pumped up to be. He got a lot of attention becasue he crashed into packs and other kids got out of the way. His disposal has never been great.
Since coming to us he has found that crashing in hard does not give the same results as in the under 18's. All it has given him is injuries and suspensions.
He goes ok but in all his Bendigo games and AFL games i can only remember three where i walked away and though he played extremely well. On top of this i have been told his attitude is a bit of a problem.
Not sold on him at all.

Bombs Away
21 Oct 2008, 13:30
Still no contract signed, and cant be traded.

Starting to worry about where we sit on this one, if he walks now he walks for free.

Lets hope that a contract (even if its just 1 year) gets signed real soon

ant555
21 Oct 2008, 14:08
Still no contract signed, and cant be traded.

Starting to worry about where we sit on this one, if he walks now he walks for free.

Lets hope that a contract (even if its just 1 year) gets signed real soon

Says who ?

dirtywhitepacker
21 Oct 2008, 22:45
Says who ?

Do you have news that we don't? If you do, don't hold out!

Windas_Magic
22 Oct 2008, 15:55
Might as well get rid of this thread now...

TheDon35
22 Oct 2008, 16:43
What a disgusting decision.

ant555
22 Oct 2008, 17:20
Well he put himslef in the situation he is in so he only has himslef to blame.

Sam the RAMA fan
22 Oct 2008, 17:21
Very dissapointed.
I think he should of been contracted for another year..
has potential and I wish him all the best for the future. :thumbsu:

stander
23 Oct 2008, 20:40
What a disgusting decision.

Do you understand the term "recidivism" ?

Strike Swiftly
24 Oct 2008, 14:34
http://nwtasmania.yourguide.com.au/news/local/sport/afl/hislop-booted-out-as-bombers-clean-house/1342014.aspx

Hislop booted out as Bombers clean house
FOOTBALL BY JONATHAN MALLINSON
24/10/2008 9:48:00 AM
ANOTHER local football talent has felt the pain of being delisted by an AFL club.

Former Burnie boy and Burnie Docker Tom Hislop was delisted from the Essendon Football Club on Wednesday, but is keeping quiet on his future plans.

In recent years there has been a string of young Coastal boys not able to handle the intensity of playing AFL full-time, resulting in them being delisted.

These include Andrew Hill, Jesse Wells, Andrew Lee, Barry Brooks and Luke Shackleton.

Hislop, during his time at the club, had issues with discipline and behaviour.

He was suspended from playing any pre-season matches in 2008 due to an alcohol-related incident that caused him to miss a 10am training session.

This combined with injuries to his wrist, hip, shoulder and groin and only playing four games for the whole 2008 home and away season didn't help his bid to stay with the club.

At the end of the 2008 season, clubs were eager to delist any under-developed talent to make room for young draftees on their lists before the Gold Coast franchise enters the fray in next year's national draft.

Taken at pick 20 in the 2006 national draft, Hislop was a hard in-and-under player playing off half-back.

Hislop is still undecided on where his future will lie next season and the club would not comment on the reasons for his delisting.

Strike Swiftly
24 Oct 2008, 23:07
too true. may have cost him his career