View Full Version : 36. Sam Lonergan

Pages : [1] 2

DaSawx
16th July 2007, 12:02
Unlucky not to get a game earlier, future iffy

Tambu
16th July 2007, 17:52
Absolutely. I rate him pretty high.
He's only 20 so we should definitely hang on to him and give him some games next year.

hulld
16th July 2007, 18:37
you'd think that only 3 maybe 4 of pev, jj, mj, hocking and sam would be on the senior list next year.

i hope that sam remains as he has more upside than pev, jj and mj

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
17th July 2007, 01:09
Why don't we try and get something for Pev or MJ in trade week? What do you reckon we could get for them? I definately think we should keep Lonergan on the list next year, i think he is a tad better than Hocking and if we had to choose between the 2 it would be Lono. By the way, does anyone know what's happening with him, on injuryupdate.com it has him listed as an unknown injury and will be back rd16 but the Essendon site has nothing on him, does anyone know what his injury actually is?

ant555
17th July 2007, 08:55
Currently im pretty sure he has a lower back problem. I think that he will miss this week as well:thumbsd:
As a player he is a ver solid in and under type. Isnt overly fast but makes up for that with his attack on the footy and the fact that he is a strong overhead mark. Can play the samll forward role very well. He does have days where his kicking for goal can fall apart but on other occasions he has been very solid in front of the sticks. He is on the borderline now. He could well be finished but i guess it will come down to how much they think we can get out of the bottom end of the draft.

Bombs Away
17th July 2007, 13:31
Future still undecided due to fact that jj, mj, pev, jobe, hislop can all do the same role and are further advanced. if lose mj and pev he might stay otherwise looks like his last season in the red and black. Bit of a shame as had potential but seemed to get injured when he was ready to break into the seniors.

kelvin_sheedy
17th July 2007, 16:15
I actually like the look of this kid.

Every time I've seen him he has impressed me.

I would like him on the list next year and I hope he strings a few good games at Bendigo and gets a run in the AFL.

hulld
29th July 2007, 10:48
good perfromance yesterday, good goal sense and he is tough

he might get a game in the last couple of rounds if we aren't in the finals race

kelvin_sheedy
17th January 2008, 14:39
Anyone know how he's traveling this preseason?

Do you think he'll can get a few games this year?

Bomber Billy
17th January 2008, 18:23
I don't think he'll get much games this year but I think if he was given a string of consecutive games he could show alot of people that he could be a good player.

GoDons
20th January 2008, 17:44
It's not going to be easy for Sammy.

He's just got so much opposition for a spot and, at the moment, he's just about at the bottom of the pile.

He's going to have to take apart the NAB Cup and Bendigo, and if he gets an opportunity, he's got to grab it.

Even though it's only his 3rd year of football, it's quite possibly a make or break year for him.

Pawtucket Patriot
16th February 2008, 21:25
Played fairly well up forward and in contested situations tonight. A strong mark for his size.

Slattery_20
19th February 2008, 09:28
Played fairly well up forward and in contested situations tonight. A strong mark for his size.
I agree
Just a bit of a poor-mans Monfries for me though
Nothing wrong with him per se, just doesn't grab me

kelvin_sheedy
19th February 2008, 09:31
I wasn't overly impressed.

I liked him in the VFL but maybe the step up in pace will find him out.

hulld
23rd February 2008, 10:24
i loved his game last night. he played the most game time out of any of our midfielders and he was hard at it all night. imo he has eclipsed peverill and johnson in being the side's tough nut

IhateMondays
16th March 2008, 18:03
Can definitely play

IhateMondays
16th March 2008, 18:04
Is he the brother of Tom Lonergan from Geelong? If so, whos better

Merv Neagle
16th March 2008, 18:18
Is he the brother of Tom Lonergan from Geelong? If so, whos better

No he isn't

hulld
16th March 2008, 23:00
sam is better none the less

DaSawx
17th March 2008, 09:17
we wish

SOT4
17th March 2008, 09:54
sam is better none the less

Haha no he definitely isn't.

hulld
17th March 2008, 11:11
what's tom lonergan ever done????? he won't be making geelong's side this year. whilst sam has shown in each of his pre-season games that he has the potential to be a good inside midfielder

kelvin_sheedy
17th March 2008, 21:07
Does anyone think he's gone past JJ and Pev for a game?

He seems to be the quiet achiever during pre season just doing the business.

hulld
17th March 2008, 23:21
i'd be picking him ahead of those two. the way i look at it is that he wouldn't do any worse than those two, but the difference is has room for growth unlike the other 2

Schmick
18th March 2008, 15:30
Does anyone think he's gone past JJ and Pev for a game?

He seems to be the quiet achiever during pre season just doing the business.
JJ yes. Peverill, probably not but i'd still be picking Lonergan ahead of these two for the same reasons hulld just mentioned.

Andre 2000
22nd March 2008, 07:46
His new found fitness, and form, has pushed himself ahead of quite a few players at the moment. He was good in the bank cup, and apparently even better at Subiaco. Made a difference in the centre clearances. Maybe we missed him a bit more than we realised against the Saints.

hulld
22nd March 2008, 09:03
told ya he'd play

Nobby8
23rd March 2008, 13:59
Lonergan made his only 2006 appearance in rd15 against St Kilda,showing in only 54 minutes what he is capable of with three contested possessions and five tackles. He spent the rest of 2006 in the VFL where he played 15 games and kicked 17 goals. As a junior,Lonergan excelled in contested situations averaging 11 contested possessions per game for Tasmania.

So says the 2007 edition of AFL Prospectus..

And this years edition said.....

Lonergan made his debut in 2006 but failed to add to that one game in 2007. He was a ball magnet at junior level who excelled in the contested situations. The inside-midfielder played 12 VFL games in 2007 for Bendigo and was named in the best 4 times. He has shown he can sniff out a goal at VFL level,booting 31 in the past two seasons.

I have to admit I don't really know much about this kid except for the reports on Bendigo games that have come from BF posters over the last couple of years. But even then,I can't remember much of whats been said about him..but I do know that most have given him the thumbs up on his performances.

Question is,how come it's taken so long for him to get into the side? And why didn't he get a go in the seniors last year?

There's a few Lonergan fans here, so can anyone share their thoughts on this promising young Bomber?

ant555
23rd March 2008, 14:05
Lonergan made his only 2006 appearance in rd15 against St Kilda,showing in only 54 minutes what he is capable of with three contested possessions and five tackles. He spent the rest of 2006 in the VFL where he played 15 games and kicked 17 goals. As a junior,Lonergan excelled in contested situations averaging 11 contested possessions per game for Tasmania.

So says the 2007 edition of AFL Prospectus..

And this years edition said.....

Lonergan made his debut in 2006 but failed to add to that one game in 2007. He was a ball magnet at junior level who excelled in the contested situations. The inside-midfielder played 12 VFL games in 2007 for Bendigo and was named in the best 4 times. He has shown he can sniff out a goal at VFL level,booting 31 in the past two seasons.

I have to admit I don't really know much about this kid except for the reports on Bendigo games that have come from BF posters over the last couple of years. But even then,I can't remember much of whats been said about him..but I do know that most have given him the thumbs up on his performances.

Question is,how come it's taken so long for him to get into the side? And why didn't he get a go in the seniors last year?

There's a few Lonergan fans here, so can anyone share their thoughts on this promising young Bomber?

Both times he was set to be named in the seniors last year he got injured during the week and missed out.
Last year he had a bit of a back problem that kept flaring up and giving him muscle spasm's. So far this year it has been ok. He did his medial late last year so he missed out on playing any of the games late in the year.
At his best he can find the footy in the middle and has proven dangerous around goals when used as a small forward. Has had some games where he has kicked a few points though.Is a pretty good contested mark for a small bloke.

Nobby8
23rd March 2008, 14:23
Both times he was set to be named in the seniors last year he got injured during the week and missed out.
Last year he had a bit of a back problem that kept flaring up and giving him muscle spasm's. So far this year it has been ok. He did his medial late last year so he missed out on playing any of the games late in the year.
At his best he can find the footy in the middle and has proven dangerous around goals when used as a small forward. Has had some games where he has kicked a few points though.Is a pretty good contested mark for a small bloke.

He must have shown alot over summer in the practice matches to get a spot in rd 1. I thought he played very well against WC and he ran his absolute guts out in that warm,humid night. At 182cm he's not really a small player but looking at him out on the field he looks short..if that makes sense.

Knights must have great confidence in him...more than his got in Monfries atm.

efcboy
23rd March 2008, 15:02
i hope he proves me wrong but i'm not a fan from what i've seen. his disposal is below average often kicking loopy up and under kicks making it difficult for team mates to mark without being spoiled. he does have a go though but he just doesn't have as much ability as others (monfries included).

i think he'll only last for round 1 then be back to the vfl.

i suspect knights has left out monfries to give him a bee up his bonnet so he works even harder. think most would agree guys like lovett and monfries have a lot of ability but just need to work harder - pretty happy knights has identified this and is making the right moves.

Ealesy
23rd March 2008, 17:45
Sheedy + Injury = Not many chances for Lonergan

ant555
23rd March 2008, 18:35
i hope he proves me wrong but i'm not a fan from what i've seen. his disposal is below average often kicking loopy up and under kicks making it difficult for team mates to mark without being spoiled. he does have a go though but he just doesn't have as much ability as others (monfries included).

i suspect knights has left out monfries to give him a bee up his bonnet so he works even harder. think most would agree guys like lovett and monfries have a lot of ability but just need to work harder - pretty happy knights has identified this and is making the right moves.

I suspect Knights has selected the side based on who has put in the hard yards and shown good form. Lonergans form in all three pre season games he played was pretty good.

Andre 2000
23rd March 2008, 20:57
It hasn't taken long. He turns 21 in a few days. It's a fairly typical age for a player to have a breakout season. Fingers crossed. Injuries have stopped him otherwise.

Nobby8
24th March 2008, 00:57
i hope he proves me wrong but i'm not a fan from what i've seen.
his disposal is below average often kicking loopy up and under kicks making it difficult for team mates to mark without being spoiled. he does have a go though but he just doesn't have as much ability as others (monfries included).

You sure you're not confusing Dyson with Lonergan?

:)

Slattery_20
24th March 2008, 18:25
And played well
To my mind he's the sort of guy who Paul Roos would like... tough at it, doesn't have uber pace or anything standout, but just does the right things and doesn't (well, not until the last quarter ;) ) waste a possession

pazza
25th March 2008, 10:02
Well after the game yesterday, I'm suggesting he could play quite a bit of senior footy. Good in the clinches and composed when disposing the footy (aside from the big bombs in the last). Tackles well and reads it pretty well. Could be a surprise packet this year.

Syd Kennets
25th March 2008, 13:29
Our very own Dane Swan.

Ealesy
25th March 2008, 14:26
Our very own Dane Swan.

Dane Swan??

Really, Dane Swan has always seemed more of an outside, running link midfielder to me.

Lonergan is a true in an under "I'll go and get my own ****ing ball" type for mine.

The Dustbin
25th March 2008, 14:30
Sheedy + Injury = Not many chances for Lonergan

Bulls eye. :thumbsu:

Darealrath
6th April 2008, 16:32
Thought he was fantastic last night.

Windas_Magic
6th April 2008, 16:42
Only touched the ball 7 times but whatever he did, he made it count. He had 5 tackles and kicked 2 crunch goals. Is a real team orientated player and i thought he played a great game

hulld
6th April 2008, 18:10
his tackling was superb

Schmick
6th April 2008, 18:28
Only touched the ball 7 times but whatever he did, he made it count. He had 5 tackles and kicked 2 crunch goals. Is a real team orientated player and i thought he played a great game
Agreed, well said :thumbsu:

Slattery_20
6th April 2008, 20:26
Yup
Exactly what we need right now, hard working

HighettBomber
6th April 2008, 21:16
He can also clear the ball from stoppages, something we're not to flash at as a team. He is worth persisting with and I think he will end up being a pretty good player.

Crumpler83
12th April 2008, 15:44
Has been a more than handy footballer for us so far this season. One of the more un-heralded young guns we have at the club IMO. His stoppage work before the injury last night was fantastic. Let's hope the hammy heals up quickly :thumbsu:

TassieSaint
12th April 2008, 18:18
I've been watching this guy the past couple of weeks and he is a champ. Doesn't star, but I love the way he's goes about his footy. Hard at it and at the same time clever. Set up 3 goals for you on Friday (more than any of your other players I'm pretty sure) with some clever kicks etc. shocking to see him go down with the hammy

hulld
13th April 2008, 12:48
he makes things happen. will be a significant loss

Tonche
13th April 2008, 13:09
He's like an offensive minded version of Slattery but with a great defensive aspect to his game as well.

Very clean, shame about the hammy just when he was securing his spot.

CarlosHernandez
14th April 2008, 13:36
I loved his hard ball win in the forward line (3rd quarter), then the hand pass to Stanton for the goal.

Great signs!

Deledio2Tambling
14th April 2008, 13:39
Will be a brilliant player. Hopefully the injury doesn't take too long to heal. I'm a big fan. :thumbsu:

loopy_cam
14th April 2008, 15:02
It seems Sam is developing quite a following.

SydneyDon
30th May 2008, 22:57
Tonight was his breakout game. Yes, he has shown a bit this year but tonight should give him the confidence to step up to the next level. Tackled really well and put his head over the ball. Good stuff Sam

Sam the RAMA fan
30th May 2008, 23:15
Was great tonight :thumbsu:
Did very well!

Santoz
30th May 2008, 23:33
Absolutely worked his guts out tonight. Great game. :thumbsu:

Pawtucket Patriot
30th May 2008, 23:38
He is quickly becoming my favourite player.

TheDon35
31st May 2008, 10:13
Super game

BacharHouli_43
31st May 2008, 10:36
Kicked a crunch goal in the final quarter with a penetrating kick when no one else could kick straight from over 30m out. He has the strong body and quick hands and looks like he can really damage with his kicking. Looking good for the future

Schmick
31st May 2008, 11:18
Awsome last night. Exactly the player wev'e been needing to come throug, absolutely love his attack on the footy, great to watch :thumbsu:.

Crumpler83
31st May 2008, 12:20
Getting better and better each week. Love the way Sam goes about his footy...no nonsense,all business.

HighettBomber
3rd June 2008, 21:42
I was at the game. I thought he was seriously good in the stoppages, just needs to link up a bit more when we have the ball. Very happy with his progress.

deano the hawka
8th June 2008, 11:14
is this kid good, or is lucky to play everyweek? What does Knights see in him?

thebigboy
8th June 2008, 11:21
He's doing a reasonable job. He's only played 9 games of footy so he's still going to be a little inconsistant at times.

I'd like to see him continue in the side, he's form hasn't been too bad and we need to develop players like him.

kelvin_sheedy
8th June 2008, 11:33
I thought he was good early going in hard and at the bottom of packs.

He's played alright in patches this year but has run out of puff and disappeared every now and then.

He should be persisted with and we'll see how he develops next year.

On what he's showed so far this year all looks positive and he can develop into a good player.

cAsEy_18
8th June 2008, 12:06
I think he's been fantastic. One player that i've seen all year (apart from when he was injured ofcourse) that every contest he hits, he attacks the footy, keeps his feet, his endevour at the ball often sees him come out infront in these contests. He isn't a 25+ possession player, but i have been very impressed with what he has done this year to date.:thumbsu:

Slattery_20
8th June 2008, 16:45
Touching on the last 2 posts - I have little doubt that he could be a 25+ touch player if he builds up his tank. Very very good ballwinner, if he can start being a true 4 quarter player he'll add a whole lot of steel to our midfield

IsDonIsGoodes
8th June 2008, 20:19
good in and under player - reminds me of dane swan more and more every week, definite keeper

hulld
8th June 2008, 22:21
love his endeavour

WindyHillWatcher
14th June 2008, 04:05
ok. i must admit at first i was not taken with this kid at first. But at this present moment in time (after eagles game) i am putting the big question out there... do we have a star here or what?
each week this kid is taking it up to anyone, really getting in and amongst it and gaining a hell of a lot of respect from me... does anyone else feel the same?

WindyHillWatcher
14th June 2008, 05:06
OK, each week sammy lonergan is just growing in confidence, skill, ability and what not. Are we on to something really good here or is it just a good month of football? A while back I thought similarly about Ricky Dyson, but Sammy is just hard at at and never gives up. Shows a lot more spirit and balls. What are your thoughts on sammy's long term future with us? Because right now I am convinced he is an up and coming star.

made from beer
14th June 2008, 08:56
yep at the moment he's a gun. love how hard he gets in there and has an innate ability of winning the hard ball. .

i hear what your saying though, dont wanna pump him up too early. but i reckon he definately looks long term prospect. .

Willow76
14th June 2008, 08:59
yep at the moment he's a gun. love how hard he gets in there and has an innate ability of winning the hard ball. .

i hear what your saying though, dont wanna pump him up too early. but i reckon he definately looks long term prospect. .

Will be a very good player for us Sammy Lonergan watched the footy with a mate who hates all Essendon players and bags all of them and he even admitted he looks to be a good find

TapRuck
14th June 2008, 09:14
Yeah this kid can seriously play, good vision, skills and ball winning abilities. Needs to keep diong it. If he does he'll be a star. Good work from Essendon's recruiting staff. Sorry to jump on your thread but this guy is pretty damn good.

HighettBomber
14th June 2008, 09:30
When he's fresh he is bloody good, fantastic at the stoppages, but he doesn't have great endurance yet. If he can build up his tank he's going to be a very good player.

There was one passage of play last night that really showed what a good football brain he has, when he drew the tacklers in and gave it off to NLM at the last moment sending him in to the open goal. I was screaming at him because i thought he was going to be tackled and pinged for holding the ball.

kelvin_sheedy
14th June 2008, 10:02
When he's fresh he is bloody good, fantastic at the stoppages, but he doesn't have great endurance yet. If he can build up his tank he's going to be a very good player.

There was one passage of play last night that really showed what a good football brain he has, when he drew the tacklers in and gave it off to NLM at the last moment sending him in to the open goal. I was screaming at him because i thought he was going to be tackled and pinged for holding the ball.

Yeah, I noticed that bit as well. Thought his way out of a tight situation. Also hit some really clean targets out of tight spots.

Fast becoming one of my favourites.

IsDonIsGoodes
14th June 2008, 10:31
Yep will be good. Gets his own ball and uses it well. Hope Knighter leaves on the ball all year and doesn't try to get too creative.

lemon chicken
14th June 2008, 11:18
Was an outstanding junior player only reason he's taken so long is injuries. One of our most valuable players ATM. When him and McVeigh both went down with hamstrings our midfield lost all its grunt.

Pawtucket Patriot
14th June 2008, 11:22
Sammy is a machine at clearances and it will be awesome when he and Watson work in tandem at the stoppages. One of my favourite players.

Crumpler83
14th June 2008, 12:29
Jeez I love this bloke :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Ben the Gooner
14th June 2008, 16:30
I love him, that Sydney game, which was the first that he played in this year (I think) that I watched on TV, and I saw how good he was in tight.

The one thing that worries me is that he doesn't seem overly confident in his kicking skills. A couple of times last night he handballed to players who seemed to be in worse positions than him, putting them under pressure, rather than kicking it himself. If he can get some decent skills, he could potentially be a Simon Black.

Spikey
15th June 2008, 20:05
They love him too...;)

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/08/r11-gsp-1.jpg

Spikey
16th June 2008, 10:39
Another good pic of Sammy

http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/152250.jpg

Crumpler83
16th June 2008, 21:19
They love him too...;)

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/08/r11-gsp-1.jpg

That is a GREAT pic!!

I reckon it just epitomizes the way he's played all season.

daffo
17th June 2008, 12:41
The game against West Coast was probably his best game ever. Getting better and better. I thought his game against Sydney was also great.

hulld
17th June 2008, 20:13
sammy, hocking and slop. 3 good in and under players for the future

MarkJohnson#1
21st June 2008, 02:57
Sam was on SEN earlier today (Friday) talking about the young playing group and how he's proud to be a part of it and how the players were aware of the work required of them to grow as a young team. It sounded like he has a real good head on his shoulders and spoke confidently and sensibly about his goals and the future objectives of the team. Was exciting to hear in fact, particularly for myself who didn't really know much about the kid until this year, but from the games he's played so far I can't help but love the way he goes about things.

He also mentioned his preference to keep the number 36 as opposed to inheriting Smokin Joes (or more recently Stants) number 24, for the fact that he started with 36 and wants to make a name for himself in this number because no Essendon player in history as played 100 games wearing #36. He also hinted that it was because it is only a number to him and that his performances on the football field will tell the real story. All in all an exciting young prospect who I am looking forward to seeing over the next few games and in years to come. :thumbsu:

Hirdy_5
26th June 2008, 14:48
Has any body else claimed him ? If not his mine :)

daffo
3rd July 2008, 08:35
He was claimed mid last year, not by me though.. damn

hulld
3rd July 2008, 13:38
there's an interview with sammy on bomber tv. he spoke really well and seems to have a great head on his shoulders

silk
3rd July 2008, 18:54
Has any body else claimed him ? If not his mine :)

Brian Taylor has claimed him on the Ms.

TheDon35
4th July 2008, 07:17
Hopefully still plenty of improvement left in him. Has been a good suprise for us this year (Having not seen a heap of him over the previous years).

I think he can still improve in his kicking penetration and with time will hopefully become a bit more of a game breaker to go with his toughness.

Hopefully he also starts to get just a little bit more footy as a genuine midfielder.

He's probably already the hardest small we've got at the contest, wins some unbelievable contested ball, has genuine pace and is great overhead for his size. Looking like a genuine replacement for JJ.

ant555
4th July 2008, 08:20
His hardness around the contest has been greatly under estimated by a lot of people over the last 5 weeks. One of the key reasons why we have been able to play better footy. He does not rack up huge numbers but he puts a lot of pressure on in close.

Ryder Is God
4th July 2008, 18:48
I've said this before, but he reminds me of Daniel Harris.

HighettBomber
8th July 2008, 16:50
His hardness around the contest has been greatly under estimated by a lot of people over the last 5 weeks. One of the key reasons why we have been able to play better footy. He does not rack up huge numbers but he puts a lot of pressure on in close.

When you see him playing live it is really noticable what a good player he is. It doesn't show up as much on TV. He has an influence on a very high percentage of stoppages where he is present, be that getting it out himself, allowing another of our players to get it out of simply stopping the other team.

The Dustbin
12th July 2008, 17:17
AM Lonergan had that awful sinking feeling in the pit of his stomach.

The Essendon midfielder was sprinting across Telstra Dome and away from Western Bulldog Lindsay Gilbee in Round 4 when his football career flashed before him.

Lonergan tore his right hamstring. Badly.

Injuries and form had restricted the 21-year-old Tasmanian to one senior game in the previous two years at Windy Hill and he limped to the interchange bench not knowing if he would return.

Combined with the fact he was not drafted by the Bombers until pick 50 in the 2005 national draft and the panic button was within reach.

"When it first happened and I realised it was a hammy, the disappointment hit me straight away," Lonergan said.

"But the worst part was walking down the race realising I was gone for at least three to four weeks.

"Mentally, coming back from the other injuries last year and having played three consistent games and finally starting to find my feet, knowing you're going to miss another four weeks was tough."

Lonergan knew 2008 would determine the course of his life. Offered a one-year contract extension during summer, it was the ultimate make-or-break season.

So when his hamstring tore for the first time, Lonergan was at his lowest ebb. It would be several days until the physical pain subsided, but the mental path back to full confidence started almost instantly.

"After the initial five to 10-minute period and then sitting back down on the boundary line, I sort of forgot about it and got caught up in the game again and did as much as I could to help the boys," said Lonergan of the loss to the Bulldogs.

Coach Matthew Knights, himself only a few games into his AFL coaching career, calmed the youngster's nerves when all appeared lost.

"It's amazing the amount of people the club employs to really zone-in on those areas and help you through it," Lonergan said.

"But at the end of the day, the most promising thing is talking to the head coach, and as long as he's positive, like Matthew was, it sets you in the right direction.

"It's the feedback and the positive voice, that important voice that looks over your career and guides you through it, and he did that remarkably well when I was going through that four-week period."

Surrounded by Knights' positive energy, and the belief born from the first three rounds that he could cut it at the highest level, it was only a matter of time before Lonergan returned to the side.

"You have an understanding of your own ability and whether you can play at that level," he said.

"The most important thing for me in those first three rounds was knowing I could play AFL and that I had the intensity to do so over a longer period of time.

"With any injury you start to pull your hair out at times, but everyone goes through them and it makes your journey that much more exciting. You enjoy what you've actually done and the hard work you've done to get there."

Lonergan returned from the hamstring injury against Sydney at Telstra Stadium in Round 8 and has not looked back, playing every game since.

Fourteen rounds into the 2008 season, the kid who could manage only one game in two years has played 11 this year and is contributing.

Lonergan's 44 tackles rank equal first at Essendon. Not bad considering the joint leader, midfielder Brent Stanton, has played three more matches.

"I'm pretty happy at this stage. I've developed a lot this year ... so I'm pretty happy, but there's still a long way to go," Lonergan said.

"Getting the one-year contract, it was my make-or-break year, I guess. I think this year I've come out and maybe made for another couple of years at least."

Tonight Lonergan faces the Brisbane Lions at Telstra Dome as a changed man in a reborn Essendon outfit on a three-game winning streak.

When draft-pick order once meant everything, the wiser Bomber now knows there is only one ingredient required to succeed at the highest level.

"It's amazing how much people look back to what draft-pick number you were and whether you were top 10 or top 20," Lonergan said.

"But once you get to the club and get some good guidance from senior players and help and support, the pick number goes out the window.

"Anyone can get there as long as you're willing to work hard."

heraldsun.com.au

Pawtucket Patriot
12th July 2008, 22:40
Even concussion cannot stop this hard nut. Great game tonight.

Spikey
12th July 2008, 22:42
I love him. In a straight way.

daveyboy3
12th July 2008, 22:49
This weeks rising star?

Kit146
13th July 2008, 09:50
if he doesnt get it now will he ever get it!!

im sick of us not getting any noms