View Full Version : 17. Jay Nash

Pages : [1] 2

DaSawx
16 Jul 2007, 13:05
Blossoming

Darealrath
16 Jul 2007, 15:55
Just about my favourite player.

Has the best mix of composure, pace and skills in our midfield IMO.

Aussie Assault
16 Jul 2007, 16:00
How old is he?

Jono B
16 Jul 2007, 16:03
21 and 6 months.

retroparty
16 Jul 2007, 16:16
So we got him for 10 years unless traded or form downfall which results in delisting

KING-JAMES
16 Jul 2007, 16:45
Lovely kicking action, and good vision. Will be an important player.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
16 Jul 2007, 17:19
Bye Bye Dyson, IMO Nash has secured Dyson's delisting at the end of the year. One of our most impressive youngsters, Classy with awsum disposal, Great Vison and great pace, over the moon with the development of Nash, couldn't be any happier with how things are going.

Pawtucket Patriot
16 Jul 2007, 17:20
Definately has the potential to develop into a quality midfielder if needed although it would be good if he could play off the half back flank in a role similar to Gilby.

bring it on
16 Jul 2007, 17:49
is a gun... star this year in his few games.......

looks to be most popular sofar on this board with 9 posts....

hulld
16 Jul 2007, 18:41
will be much better next year as well as he will have a full pre-season, touchwood, where he will lose a bit of the puppy fat

Lance Uppercut
16 Jul 2007, 18:43
his poise is super-impressive

jnash196
16 Jul 2007, 19:11
He made one mistake on the weekend (stepping out of the goalsquare), otherwise he was really skillful.

Still a bit unaccountable for my liking but that doesn't matter if he plays the attacking role he should be playing

hulld
16 Jul 2007, 19:23
so will he be a attacking defender in the future or will he push into the midfield???

Tambu
16 Jul 2007, 19:28
I'd love to see him in the midfield some time soon.
He could become very dangerous with his foot skills hitting targets in the forward line, and also kicking some goals himself.

DaSawx
16 Jul 2007, 20:13
With the amount of skill we have in our midfield we need him getting forward as much as possible. He has fantastic skill and great goal-kicking ability, we need more midfielders kicking goals and a consistent basis, it's hard to name someone who bobs up for 1 or 2 most weeks in the midfield.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
17 Jul 2007, 01:59
so will he be a attacking defender in the future or will he push into the midfield???
Which ever role we need him to play the most. He could play either and would probably do an awsum job at both. As long as he's in the 22 i don't really care, i just love seeing players that can actually kick the ball and don't turn it over.

Bombs Away
17 Jul 2007, 14:34
Has been what I've come to expect, has had injuries and was a young age recruit but is now showing the faith we put in him. Runs the lines well and great disposal. Hopefully part of future midfield with Watson, Hislop, Monfries, Stanton, Lovett, dempsey, Davey and Winderlich (thats my ideal midfield past next season - young, classy and quick)

Crumpler83
29 Jul 2007, 21:40
Gun. Has great composure and skills for a youngster. Goes in hard and tackles really well. Will be a fixture for us for many years to come I reckon. Great young talent...

HighettBomber
29 Jul 2007, 22:12
He's a really important player for us, as we don't have too many that can deliver it like him. He stuffed a couple of kicks today, but that is pretty unusual from the other games I've seen him in. I didn't realise what a good tackler he is until today either.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
30 Jul 2007, 18:19
He's a really important player for us, as we don't have too many that can deliver it like him. He stuffed a couple of kicks today, but that is pretty unusual from the other games I've seen him in. I didn't realise what a good tackler he is until today either.
Either did i, after seeing him against the crows, i want to him to start playing midfield week in week out. He's a great tackler, great pace and excellent disposal. It would be great Nash playing midfield and supplying our forwards with awsum delievery, they'd be unstoppable.

DaSawx
30 Jul 2007, 20:10
Was fantastic when the ball was in dispute on the ground, kept it to our advantage numerous times

go_the_bombers
30 Jul 2007, 21:30
Nash now has his own fan club when channel 7 does Essendon games :thumbsu:

Bruce and Schwarz love him

bring it on
30 Jul 2007, 22:26
everyone loves him... i love him... i think he is one of the best in the team... i rate him top 5............... i am obsessed with him........ he is a gun..

jnash196
31 Jul 2007, 19:42
Commetti and Bruce's love for Nash>>>>>>>>>>>>>My love for Nash, it is almost unnatural

danzan22
31 Jul 2007, 19:54
I <3 Nash, very good young playey who is underated by the opposition.

Raskolnikov
1 Aug 2007, 16:52
I'm on his bandwagon. Gun.:thumbsu:

jnash196
1 Aug 2007, 18:43
I <3 Nash, very good young playey who is underated by the opposition.

You are learning well Danzan

Bomber32
1 Aug 2007, 22:07
Very impressed with Nash. His skills and disposal are first class.:thumbsu:

donsman4eva
2 Aug 2007, 11:38
I must say I didnt think he was going to makethe impact he has so soon. Good on him. Hopefully he will be a gun in years to come.

jnash196
5 Aug 2007, 21:25
His lack of accountability is still a concern

hulld
5 Aug 2007, 22:47
he seems like the type of player who would be really good in a good team

bring it on
8 Aug 2007, 13:59
he seems like the type of player who would be really good in a good team

he is...

hulld
8 Aug 2007, 20:00
we are currently a ok team

jdwood
9 Aug 2007, 20:34
Has been really impressive this year.

His taking down of two Adelaide players in one tackle, was arguably the best thing I've seen all year...

jnash196
18 Aug 2007, 19:44
Wasn't bad today

God he's good

hulld
19 Aug 2007, 11:16
a handy game

Essendon_2000
26 Aug 2007, 22:39
I think this guy deserves Hirdy's number 5:thumbsu:

hulld
28 Aug 2007, 18:24
i don't

Essendon_2000
1 Sep 2007, 13:33
i don't
who do u think?

jimmy5
14 Feb 2008, 15:05
Hoping Nash has a big one on Saturday (if he gets a run:rolleyes:).. Was one of my favs last year , sure i'm not the only one that was impressed with his composure. Hope his improvement continues this year .. Don't hear alot about him (not that its a bad thing) . Got under the radar a couple of times last season.. He and Leroy are the two i'm most excited about this year...

acebomer
10 Mar 2008, 11:27
nash looks like a gun. I dont think he should continue to play at HBF throughout his carrer. Any chance that he will turn into a quality midfielder in the future?

WindyHillWatcher
21 Apr 2008, 13:43
I was really impressed with his performance on friday night. I'm officially on the bandwagon for this guy. I foresee a great player emerging. Keep up the good work mate.

hulld
21 Apr 2008, 17:31
his good kicks are great but he kicks too many floaters. i think he panicks sometimes and kicks it without looking

danzan22
22 Apr 2008, 00:31
his good kicks are great but he kicks too many floaters. i think he pancks sometimes and kicks it without looking
It's funny, when ever the commentators talk up his kicking he shanks it. :p

hulld
22 Apr 2008, 10:50
it's also costly

Slattery_20
26 Apr 2008, 14:56
Does anyone actually watch him? Very very unaccountable, part of the reason we had such struggles
Rapidly losing faith, would rather a _______ who has a crack than seeing free men everywhere

kelvin_sheedy
26 Apr 2008, 16:58
He's been terribly disappointing the last few weeks.

I'd be looking at dropping hin but there's about 6 others also!

Blind Blink
26 Apr 2008, 21:30
Apperently he wants to go to Essendon's 2nd team that's doing better than our 1st team. Freo, that is.

kelvin_sheedy
27 Apr 2008, 00:11
Apperently he wants to go to Essendon's 2nd team that's doing better than our 1st team. Freo, that is.

Who has apparently told you this?

Ryder Is God
27 Apr 2008, 01:48

Well they have one less win, so they're not doing better.

Slattery_20
29 Apr 2008, 20:18
He's been terribly disappointing the last few weeks.

I'd be looking at dropping hin but there's about 6 others also!
This is our quandary
We are forced to put up with less than perfect performances
Nash is rapidly losing any of my respect
You can forgive him his trespasses in his first games, when he was put on Chapman & Buckley. You can forgive him in his 1st few seasons when he was up and down. But he's meant to be a half-back for fck sake & he does not man up.

Windas_Magic
29 Apr 2008, 20:31
I really like him but his decision making is something he is lacks at the moment. Kicking to two on ones (opposition's favour) is something he has been doing but seeing him run throught the centre is a good sign and he has been quite good off half back this year. Needs to work on his defensive side but he has only played 26 games yet has shown much more than that.

Slattery_20
29 Apr 2008, 20:57
I want to like him. He adds a bit of sparkle, size & seems to be alright taking it out of the backline
But I note that whenever we get pasted I seem to be hating him
Maybe it's a bit of a harsh or unwarranted criticism, but he does tend to not stick to his man when we get thumped.
26 games but 5(?) years on the list. I'm not as worried about the decision making, that is improving (as you say) with time & with games - it's the defensive efforts which haven't improved.

(Maybe he was asked by Knights to play a different role on Friday, just seems odd to me though to have him running forward & Winders playing back pocket)

hulld
29 Apr 2008, 23:08
I want to like him. He adds a bit of sparkle, size & seems to be alright taking it out of the backline
But I note that whenever we get pasted I seem to be hating him

my exact feelings. there's just something about him. he should be a lot better than what he is.

Schmick
4 May 2008, 22:36
Sick of Nash, the most unnaccountable bloke to play football, drop him.

Windas_Magic
4 May 2008, 23:07
When Salopek was on the wing by himself, Nash had the opportunity to man him up so Port didn't have an extra man in the midfield but he decided to play as the loose man in defence. He turned it over a few times but at least he had the balls to kick the ball.

Schmick
4 May 2008, 23:32
I can't beleive Salopek basically had no opponent for most of the match, i was in disbelief. He ended up with 11 inside 50's and was most likely BOG, what a disgrace.

hulld
5 May 2008, 12:00
jay nash's number 1 priority is jay nash

Longy413
5 May 2008, 12:11
Not good enough, has to go.

Refuses to play in front of his opponent or employ the basic skill of having his arm across.
Gets lost in traffic.

Reckon he was responsible for 10 goals last night.

Down hill skiier of the highest order.

go_the_bombers
5 May 2008, 16:05
jay nash's number 1 priority is jay nash

Theres a few other players in the team playing like that

daffo
28 May 2008, 14:34
With the ball in his hands, i quite like him. He does have a strong kick. His problems playing (eg not maning up) really should of been sorted out by now. He is old enough.

bomberbill22
1 Jun 2008, 16:59
bloody star love his work you pricks stop bagging him

bipolarbeaR
1 Jun 2008, 22:35
not Good Enough, Has To Go.

Refuses To Play In Front Of His Opponent Or Employ The Basic Skill Of Having His Arm Across.
Gets Lost In Traffic.

Reckon He Was Responsible For 10 Goals Last Night.

Down Hill Skiier Of The Highest Order.

Atkinson Time! :d

daffo
2 Jun 2008, 17:41
Jays game on the weekend was pretty good.

Smyth94
8 Jun 2008, 10:28
Not good enough, has to go.

Refuses to play in front of his opponent or employ the basic skill of having his arm across.
Gets lost in traffic.

Reckon he was responsible for 10 goals last night.

Down hill skiier of the highest order.

This post epitomises Jay Nash.

With the supposed 'footskills' that he has he seems to make a lot of costly kicking errors. I've had enough of him.

Spikey
8 Jun 2008, 11:34
Sounds like he had another awful game...:(

danzan22
8 Jun 2008, 14:00
Sitting on the last line, he shanks the kick to roughead about 35 out.

Was poor last night and the 'awesome disposal' he once had was shocking.

Jem
8 Jun 2008, 14:29
Sounds like the #17 curse may have struck again...

TheDon35
8 Jun 2008, 17:16
Another who really hasn't come on at all this year and if anything has gone backward.

Looks overweight especially around the legs.

For a bloke who is supposedly a lovely kick, he butchers the hell out of it too often. Another who get's lost defensively in the back 50 and is often a liability.

go_the_bombers
8 Jun 2008, 18:16
Seems to be playing with no confidence :(

IsDonIsGoodes
8 Jun 2008, 21:14
hasn't really lived up to the hype, isn't our worst but doesn't seem to be improving as most have expected

hulld
8 Jun 2008, 23:22
where did the hype come from anyways?

Slattery_20
9 Jun 2008, 15:43
Most of his first games where he wasn't expected to hold a man, run & carry is good & his kicks (when he gets it right) are beautiful
Now he's been around for a few years & more is expected of him, he's not quite up to the required levels of defensive pressure yet.

Really needs to get locked in a cage match with Dyson. Whoever manages to HTFU and KO the other gets a guernsey.

Spikey
9 Jun 2008, 18:28
Get off his back. His so underated it's not funny. Doesn't help we have f__cking spuds like Lovett-Murray and Jetta running around in the side

I agree, People are bagging Lloyd and Stants while this guy pretty much gets off scot free...

TUBE22
9 Jun 2008, 21:46
I agree, People are bagging Lloyd and Stants while this guy pretty much gets off scot free...

Wtf his trying his heart out. It's hard when you have duds like Jetta and Lovett-Murray in your team.

Smyth94
9 Jun 2008, 21:52
^lol

Trying his heart out? The guy doesn't know the meaning of "man up" and he continually tries to be a smart arse with his kicks going for the around the corner rubbish.

Needs to be dropped immediately and taught how to stick on your man and run off when needed.

hulld
10 Jun 2008, 00:50
couldn't agree with you more. sooner or later he'll get the message

TUBE22
10 Jun 2008, 01:02
^lol

Trying his heart out? The guy doesn't know the meaning of "man up" and he continually tries to be a smart arse with his kicks going for the around the corner rubbish.

Needs to be dropped immediately and taught how to stick on your man and run off when needed.

Has a heart unlike Jetta or Lovett-Murray

danzan22
10 Jun 2008, 01:10
Has a heart unlike Jetta or Lovett-Murray
What is your obsssion with these 2 players? NLM jsut came off one of his best games for the year, jetta however was quiet but i don't see how you can question his heart.

kelvin_sheedy
23 Jun 2008, 14:48
Defensively he's been diabolical the past 2 weeks.

Can't wait till we get any of Houli, Dempsey, Hocking back to take his spot.

The goal that Fev kicked from the boundary in the last few minutes should have been stopped but Nash was not smart enough to get across. :thumbsd:

eth-dog
23 Jun 2008, 17:16
Defensively he's been diabolical the past 2 weeks.

Can't wait till we get any of Houli, Dempsey, Hocking back to take his spot.

The goal that Fev kicked from the boundary in the last few minutes should have been stopped but Nash was not smart enough to get across. :thumbsd:
dude, nothing could stop that. you cannot blame a player for a freak goal like that

kelvin_sheedy
23 Jun 2008, 23:19
dude, nothing could stop that. you cannot blame a player for a freak goal like that

Just saw a replay on On the Couch.

Nash should have corralled Fev. Any defender with a bit of nous should have known what was going to happen.

Fisher was going to block Fletch after the handball and Nash should have cut across quicker and anticipated the shot on goal.

Piss poor defending.

There was also another instance in the first or third quarter where he was jogging alongside Kade Simpson and allowed him to get another 10 metres before delivering the ball deep into the 50 for a goal. Shocking.

Spikey
23 Jun 2008, 23:24
To think, I almost named my account after him!

Longy413
24 Jun 2008, 10:35
His ball use and strength over the footy the last few weeks has been much improved.

However, Kelvin is correct, his defensive ability (being a defender makes it even worse) his shocking. He gives up position too easily and for a player with his speed he drops behind far to often.

If he can fix that, we have a player capable of playing a useful role. If he can't, he goes.

NewBabyBombaz
5 Aug 2008, 22:40
see him as being an Andrew Mackie type of player, great disposer of the ball, setting up a lot of plays. He also has strong overhead marking ability however players can often just cruise around him, he is un-agile and unaware for instance the Cale Morton bork then shot at goal, Nash played that stupidly and there have been several other cases where players have simply cruised around Nash using a side step or Bork

CarlosHernandez
6 Aug 2008, 00:31
baulk:)

hulld
6 Aug 2008, 00:43
he needs to get some intensity in his game

Smyth94
6 Aug 2008, 09:00
I reckon he's another player thats been quietly getting better.

I criticised him earlier but it was deserved. His decision making is improving in leaps and bounds IMO.

warney7
6 Aug 2008, 11:42
While we're not making threads each week about how he should be delisted, then there's no problem with him.

He's just quietly going about his business, glaring mistakes not all that common, his clean passes into the forward line often overlooked.

Nashy goes alright!

daffo
6 Aug 2008, 14:11
One of the best field kicks in our team. We would be crazy to delist him.

hulld
6 Aug 2008, 17:47
he wont be delisted but he has a tendency to be lazy sometimes with his ball drop. this often results in him kicking "floaters".

daffo
6 Aug 2008, 17:54
I fell as though he sometimes 'ball watches' and is drawn to the ball instead of sticking with his man, which can kill you as a defender.

His kicking over this year has greatly improved and i can't remember him making a mistake in the last 3 weeks or so.

Pawtucket Patriot
17 Aug 2008, 12:26
Seemed to have a more defensive mindset yesterday, but also managed to get plenty of the ball. He had a fair few spoils. Needs to play like this (i.e. more accountable) more often if he is to stay in the team.

Here_we_come
17 Aug 2008, 20:35
Very impressed with his game yesterday.

There was one stage in the game in particular, where NLM was floating in the defensie 50 as an Adelaide player was lining up for a shot at goal.

Nash saw there was space and signaled NLM to fill it which ended up cuting off a lead by Johncock, and i believe helped avoid a goal.

Well done Nashy! Slowly improving each week! :thumbsu:

hulld
20 Aug 2008, 16:18
easily his best game for the club. finally showed some intensity in the one-on-one contests

TheDon35
21 Aug 2008, 16:10
Don't think he's got the mongrel in him to do it every week. Is poor under pressure and stuffs up too many kicks for someone who carries the ball out of defense.

Also loses his man to often in back 50.

Is obviously pretty natural in the way he reads the game and has the ability to really cut the game open but hasn't come on this year like I would have liked.

kelvin_sheedy
31 Aug 2008, 23:09
Another disgraceful performance today.

Missed targets, handball straight to the opposition under pressure and refused to come across and defend.

Stick a fork in him he's done.

larson
31 Aug 2008, 23:30
While he continues to get a game we are not good enough

hulld
1 Sep 2008, 12:03
he will never string good games together until he has a massive pre-season. lose the puppy fat nashy. get some tone

eth-dog
1 Sep 2008, 17:39
honestly not in my first 22, Nat-Rat and Myers ahead of him