View Full Version : 39. Heath Hocking

Pages : 1 [2]

Slattery_20
12 Jul 2008, 18:37
Agreed there, however obviously Watson will be in the side, and i'd like to see Hocking and Lonergan in the side. Leaves Slattery and Welsh. Happy to have Slattery in the side to play on small fowards, which leaves Welshy in trouble, Happy to swap them over now and again Welsh and Slats.
Are you kidding? Welsh has had awesome form the last few weeks!
I don't think you can ever have enough good, hard contested footballers; & it's a great argument to be having

favourites
17 Jul 2008, 00:32
Looks like he will play against Collingwood. Will play one more week of VFL. (what his family has been told if all things go to plan)

loopy_cam
17 Jul 2008, 00:40
With our current injury list if he's fit he'll play.

hulld
17 Jul 2008, 14:28
he's played one game since february. not sure if he'd be fit enough for next week

bipolarbeaR
7 Aug 2008, 20:26
:D
I am so excited about Heath playing this week, Him and Lonergan will be headbutting each other going in hard at the ball.
Is he any relation to Whiskaz Hocking at all?

kelvin_sheedy
24 Aug 2008, 14:26
I have to fess up and say I was wrong.

After seeing him a few more times I reckon he'll make it.

Very strong around the hips and add to that great endurance and neat skills then you have a really good chance of succeeding.

Knights has said that he's a part of our best 22 and I can see him there next year.

HighettBomber
24 Aug 2008, 21:20
He has slotted in very well to senior footy. Seems to have improved his skills as well compared to last year. Very strong, good in the stoppages and runs very hard, he's going to be an important player for us I think.

Longy413
25 Aug 2008, 10:22
If Slattery played a game like Hocking did on Friday night, people would be calling for his head.

I was a fan last year, I don't like anything I've seen of him this year.

kelvin_sheedy
25 Aug 2008, 11:16
If Slattery played a game like Hocking did on Friday night, people would be calling for his head.

Gee, not like you to have a go at one of your pet players. Must have seen something.

He's had no continuity due to injury so I'd cut him some slack. I like his size and strength for his age and I don't think his skills are as bad as I thought last year.

I still believe he's competing with about 5 or 6 blokes of similar ilk who are better than him though.

Longy413
25 Aug 2008, 11:43
Gee, not like you to have a go at one of your pet players. Must have seen something.

He's had no continuity due to injury so I'd cut him some slack. I like his size and strength for his age and I don't think his skills are as bad as I thought last year.

I still believe he's competing with about 5 or 6 blokes of similar ilk who are better than him though.

He looks fat and slow to me.
Injuries or not, he doesn't look in the right condition.

I don't think he runs to the right spots, I don't think he makes good decisions.

You're right, Lonergan, Hislop, Dyson (yep even Ricky), Houli, Reimers are all about the same age and all well ahead.

That's before you count McVeigh, Stanton, Slattery, Watson, Winderlich, Welsh.

Wouldn't be surprised, or unhappy if he wasn't at the club next year.

ant555
25 Aug 2008, 13:27

I don't think he runs to the right spots, I don't think he makes good decisions.

You're right, Lonergan, Hislop, Dyson (yep even Ricky), Houli, Reimers are all about the same age and all well ahead.

Well he will be on the list next year.

Jono B
25 Aug 2008, 13:29

He just came off OP and it was his 3rd game at senior level. Many players struggle with the pace of AFL in their first 3 games it is even harder after you have just returned from OP which you only have to look at Judd to see how much effect it can have on a players pace.

Despite this he did show some good skills and contained his opponent.

He is far more likely to be signed for 2 years at the end of the year instead of being delisted.

Longy413
25 Aug 2008, 13:33
Well he will be on the list next year.

Insightful...

He just came off OP and it was his 3rd game at senior level.

He's 91kg's.

He shouldn't be 91kg's, OP or no OP.

Jetta had OP and came back in better shape than when he started.

To put that into contrast, he's 5kgs heavier than David Myers (who is a big boy) and Myers is 4cm's taller.

There's also a big difference between struggling with the pace of the game, and generally lacking pace. Griffen (who is quick, but not that quick) embarrassed him for pace.

ant555
25 Aug 2008, 13:34

Just out of interest Longy what did Hocking do wrong on friday night ? He could have worked a bit harder to get into attacking positions when we had the ball but his defensive efforts where good. He had Griffen until half time and Griifen had 8 possesions to Hockings seven. He had to be put back onto Griffen after he had 6 possesions playing on Monfries in the first half of the third quarter. Griffen did not get a kick once Hocking went onto him.
In the last Quarter he had Cooney in defence who only had 3 possesions and then he had Shaun Higgins who did not get a kick.

The other week you made mention to a few people that they should stop bagging Welsh because he was playing injured which was hindering his form a bit. Well maybe you had better take some of your own advice in this case;)

Longy413
25 Aug 2008, 13:37
The other week you made mention to a few people that they should stop bagging Welsh because he was playing injured which was hindering his form a bit. Well maybe you had better take some of your own advice in this case;)

Not making a judgement on one game that he shouldn't have been playing in anyway.
I don't think he could of worked harder to get into attacking positions because I'm not convinced (AFL or VFL) that he knows where to run to.

He held the ball too long, looked sideways first (Sam Huntesque) when he had the ball in hand.

Anyone who has groin problems shouldn't be putting on a significant amount of weight.

It's not about one game.

He's being quite a few others, I think we can do better.

bipolarbeaR
25 Aug 2008, 13:42
If fat in the AFL is 91kg at 185cm then I would be obese lol.

ant555
25 Aug 2008, 13:42
Insightful...

Take it how you want. We will see who is right.

He's 91kg's.

He shouldn't be 91kg's, OP or no OP.

Jetta had OP and came back in better shape than when he started.

To put that into contrast, he's 5kgs heavier than David Myers (who is a big boy) and Myers is 4cm's taller.

Seriously i thought you would more into using facts Longy. Jetta was put away and had his op pre season so he could get back into the action. Hocking had 7 weeks of minimal training before he went for the operation and then 9 weeks off. On top of that he has had a couple of other injury issues since he has been back. The comparision with Jetta is a joke. Jetta had a whole pre season to get into shape.
You are right he should not be 91kg but there is a reason for it . it is called a lack of preperation becasue of injury.

There's also a big difference between struggling with the pace of the game, and generally lacking pace. Griffen (who is quick, but not that quick) embarrassed him for pace.

The opponent that he contained had four goal assists and eight inside 50's.

Exposed him once for pace. As for your other stats maybe you should go back and check exactly who was playing on Griffen when he had most of his disposals.;)

ant555
25 Aug 2008, 13:47
Not making a judgement on one game that he shouldn't have been playing in anyway.
I don't think he could of worked harder to get into attacking positions because I'm not convinced (AFL or VFL) that he knows where to run to.

He held the ball too long, looked sideways first (Sam Huntesque) when he had the ball in hand.

Anyone who has groin problems shouldn't be putting on a significant amount of weight.

It's not about one game.

He's being quite a few others, I think we can do better.

If it was only the groin problem then that may be the case but there are a couple of other minor niggles.;)
As far as the rest well thats an opinion which everyone is entitled to have. I dont think he will ever be a star but he goes ok. Guess we will see how it turns out.

Lad of the Manor
25 Aug 2008, 14:01
If Hocking played a game like Slattery did on Friday night, people would be calling for his head.

Correction

Longy413
25 Aug 2008, 14:22
If fat in the AFL is 91kg at 185cm then I would be obese lol.

He's far too big.

Take it how you want. We will see who is right.

Not interested in a "my dick is bigger than your dick" contest.
At the time, you left that and nothing else on the topic.

I'm not claiming he won't be there, I just gave my opinion, not reporting a fact.

Seriously i thought you would more into using facts Longy. Jetta was put away and had his op pre season so he could get back into the action. Hocking had 7 weeks of minimal training before he went for the operation and then 9 weeks off. On top of that he has had a couple of other injury issues since he has been back. The comparision with Jetta is a joke. Jetta had a whole pre season to get into shape.
You are right he should not be 91kg but there is a reason for it . it is called a lack of preperation becasue of injury.

What the hell are you talking about?

Jetta came back to preseason lighter than when he went away.
IE Post rehab he was fitter than pre-op.
Hocking was the opposite.

It wasn't a direct comparison, it was to highlight that you can't use injury as an excuse for being too big. Plenty of players are injured and maintain shape.

Exposed him once for pace. As for your other stats maybe you should go back and check exactly who was playing on Griffen when he had most of his disposals.;)

I edited my post, once I thought about it again, but I guess it's easier to be patronising.

Griffen exposed him for pace a number of times, not just the chase down the wing, but in general play as well.

If it was only the groin problem then that may be the case but there are a couple of other minor niggles.;)

It doesn't matter what the reasons are.
When should we ever use injuries as an excuse for not being in shape?

Not match fit, yes, I agree.
But not out of shape, 91kg's is a poor condition to be in.

Rama was out for the best part of four years and didn't blow out.

Hocking was out for 6 or so months.

Longy413
25 Aug 2008, 14:23
Correction

Other than Lloyd and Pev, Slatts was the only bloke who had a consistent crack on Friday night.

He had a good game.

yaco55
25 Aug 2008, 14:23
Hocking is being groomed to take Peverill's role in the team.

Longy413
25 Aug 2008, 14:25
Hocking is being groomed to take Peverill's role in the team.

You mean the role Welsh and McVeigh (and sometimes Slattery) play?

High Ryder
25 Aug 2008, 14:51
Gotta say i was disapointed with him having watched him a bit last year. That chase onGriffen was embarrassing, Griffen was cruising and still Hocking couldn't make an impression. I have massive question marks over his pace now.

ant555
25 Aug 2008, 14:56
What the hell are you talking about?

Jetta came back to preseason lighter than when he went away.
IE Post rehab he was fitter than pre-op.
Hocking was the opposite.

It wasn't a direct comparison, it was to highlight that you can't use injury as an excuse for being too big. Plenty of players are injured and maintain shape.

Jetta came straight off a season of footy and was playing up until he had the operation. Hocking had a break of 8 weeks where he could not rain fully before he had the operation. The comparison is not the same at all. Yes they had the same injury but their lead into the operation was completely different.

I edited my post, once I thought about it again, but I guess it's easier to be patronising.

:confused:

Griffen exposed him for pace a number of times, not just the chase down the wing, but in general play as well.

And how many times did this exposure lead to Griffen getting away and damaging us ? Lets face it Eade moved Griffen from the wing to defence and back to the wing at various stages to get him away from Hocking. There where more times in the game that the ball was kicked over Griffens head becasue Hocking was directly behind him chasing than there was times when Griffen was used as the link man. Two of Griffens possesions in the first half where a result of us kicking the ball straight to him.

It doesn't matter what the reasons are.
When should we ever use injuries as an excuse for not being in shape?

Well normally he probably would not be playing given the light preperation he has had. Are you suggesting he does not work hard enough ?

Not match fit, yes, I agree.
But not out of shape, 91kg's is a poor condition to be in.

Rama was out for the best part of four years and didn't blow out.

Hocking was out for 6 or so months.

And in the future world where everyone is cloned to be perfect size and shape to fit various positions then you could make a comparsion.
Come on Longy they are different people. Rama has never been a solid bodied player. They are different body types. On top of theat Rama has had chemotherapy a couple of times so it was not like he was going to put on a stack of weight.
Just out of interest how do you know Hocking is 91kg ?. He was 87kg pre season so its not like he has blown way out if he is actually 91kg.
I will ask again are you suggesting that Hocking is not working hard enough ?

ant555
25 Aug 2008, 14:58
Gotta say i was disapointed with him having watched him a bit last year. That chase onGriffen was embarrassing, Griffen was cruising and still Hocking couldn't make an impression. I have massive question marks over his pace now.

He was never quick. That was always the question mark on if he would make it. Don't know how you could end up with that question mark now.
At least Hocking chased him all the way , one of our other mids would have given up after 20 meters.:eek:

High Ryder
25 Aug 2008, 15:05
He was never quick. That was always the question mark on if he would make it. Don't know how you could end up with that question mark now.
At least Hocking chased him all the way , one of our other mids would have given up after 20 meters.:eek:
Yet still of gotten closer to Griffen than Hocking, he is slower than Watson.

ant555
25 Aug 2008, 15:14
Yet still of gotten closer to Griffen than Hocking, he is slower than Watson.

You would not wan't to put your cash on that ;)
And i was not talking about Watson when i made the comment :)

Lad of the Manor
25 Aug 2008, 15:19
Other than Lloyd and Pev, Slatts was the only bloke who had a consistent crack on Friday night.

He had a good game.
Please tell me your kidding there was at least 3 or 4 times that his stuff up costs us goals. Overall half or close to half of possession were clangers. He played atrociously

Longy413
25 Aug 2008, 15:23
Jetta came straight off a season of footy and was playing up until he had the operation. Hocking had a break of 8 weeks where he could not rain fully before he had the operation. The comparison is not the same at all. Yes they had the same injury but their lead into the operation was completely different.

Jetta lost weight in his rehab, Hocking put it on.

And how many times did this exposure lead to Griffen getting away and damaging us ? Lets face it Eade moved Griffen from the wing to defence and back to the wing at various stages to get him away from Hocking. There where more times in the game that the ball was kicked over Griffens head becasue Hocking was directly behind him chasing than there was times when Griffen was used as the link man. Two of Griffens possesions in the first half where a result of us kicking the ball straight to him.

Griffen rotates between wing and half back every game he plays.

Well normally he probably would not be playing given the light preperation he has had. Are you suggesting he does not work hard enough ?

I don't know what happens behind closed doors.

But if you can't manage injuries and come back in the right shape, then you're going to struggle to build an AFL career.

And I just don't think he'll be a very good player, I of course hope I'm wrong.

Longy413
25 Aug 2008, 15:24
Please tell me your kidding there was at least 3 or 4 times that his stuff up costs us goals. Overall half or close to half of possession were clangers. He played atrociously

Name them.

Spikey
25 Aug 2008, 15:45
I thought the Slattery bashing had ended....

ant555
25 Aug 2008, 15:46
Jetta lost weight in his rehab, Hocking put it on.

To use one of your old standards. Why not answer the question ? How do you know he is 91kg ?
Do you know that any weight gains Hocking may have had where as a result of having to do more gym based work while injured and building muscle rather than just being fat ?
Do you know what his skin folds are and can you say for certain that is is out of shape becasue he put on weight as fat ?

Griffen rotates between wing and half back every game he plays.

Who is being patronising now. If you where at the game you would have seen clearly that the Bulldogs where trying to get Griffen away from Hocking so he could provide some rebound from half back. Twice during the thrid quarter they dropped Cross out of the middle at the last minute and put Griffen in for a center bounce to try and free him up.

I don't know what happens behind closed doors.

Well you know his exact weight and have made the asumptions that he is doing something that is not working or wrong so you must have been told something otherwise you have flat out made it up.

But if you can't manage injuries and come back in the right shape, then you're going to struggle to build an AFL career.

Once again how do you know exactly what is going on. How do you know he has not put on a bit more muscle. How do you know that he has not managed his injury well ?

And I just don't think he'll be a very good player, I of course hope I'm wrong.

Of course he may not be and you could be correct. At this stage it is a varying opinion that everyone has and is entitled to.

Longy413
25 Aug 2008, 16:06
To use one of your old standards. Why not answer the question ? How do you know he is 91kg ?

I was told.

Do you know that any weight gains Hocking may have had where as a result of having to do more gym based work while injured and building muscle rather than just being fat ?
Do you know what his skin folds are and can you say for certain that is is out of shape becasue he put on weight as fat ?

In order to muscle on, you need to put fat on first.

Who is being patronising now. If you where at the game you would have seen clearly that the Bulldogs where trying to get Griffen away from Hocking so he could provide some rebound from half back.

There you go again.

I was at the game, Griffen does that each and every week.
You're giving far too much credit to Hocking.

Once again how do you know exactly what is going on. How do you know he has not put on a bit more muscle. How do you know that he has not managed his injury well ?

Should a player with a history or groin and soft tissue injuries be undertaking significant weight gain?

Muscle or fat.

Of course he may not be and you could be correct. At this stage it is a varying opinion that everyone has and is entitled to.

Bang on.

I'm not having a go at anyone saying he will have a good player or having a go at anyone's reasoning for that (you're the one doing that).

Another poster asked me for my reasoning as to why I don't rate him, I provided that.

ant555
25 Aug 2008, 16:37
I was told.

Well then you can't say you know what goes on behind closed doors if you are being told.

In order to muscle on, you need to put fat on first.

So you are flat out saying he did not look after himself and has got fat?

There you go again.

I was at the game, Griffen does that each and every week.
You're giving far too much credit to Hocking.

WTF do you mean there i go again ? All i said was if you where at the game. It is a simple statement based on the fact that not personally knowing you i would not have known if you where at the game on Friday night or you watched it on TV.Nothing more , nothing less.
At the end of the day Griffen had 7 possesions playing on Hocking in 2 1/2 quarters. In the other 1 1/2 quarters he had 12.

Should a player with a history or groin and soft tissue injuries be undertaking significant weight gain?

Muscle or fat.

That is a question you should be asking John Quinn or the strength and conditioning coach. I had questions early in the year as to why a few players with groin issues where doing heavy squats as part of their weights program.

Bang on.

I'm not having a go at anyone saying he will have a good player or having a go at anyone's reasoning for that (you're the one doing that).

Another poster asked me for my reasoning as to why I don't rate him, I provided that.[/QUOTE]

I never had a go at your opinion that he does not get to the right spots or the fact that you don't think he will make it. Go back and take a look.
The only thing i questioned was some of your comparison in regards to injruy and parts of Friday nights game.

Longy413
25 Aug 2008, 17:01
Well then you can't say you know what goes on behind closed doors if you are being told.

I didn't say I know what goes on behind closed doors.

I said I don't know what goes on behind closed doors.

So you are flat out saying he did not look after himself and has got fat?

I'm saying he isn't in the condition he should be and injury isn't an excuse for that.

The rest, we're going around in circles on.

yaco55
26 Aug 2008, 00:08
What a strange debate ?

Hocking curtailed Griffen ( one of the Bulldogs guns ) allowing him to have a limited impact on the game.

I can guarantee that if Hocking did a job like this for all 22 games in 2009, that he would finish top 5 in the B and F.

dirtywhitepacker
26 Aug 2008, 10:46
Just weighing into the comparisons between Hocking and Jetta's respective conditioning after long term injury. I honestly can't believe this is being brought up. They are COMPLETELY different builds. Hocking is a solidly built guy, and when you can't be doing any sort of cardio training for an extended period of time, and the mental side of being out of it for a long period of time, it is VERY easy to put on weight if that is the sort of build you have. Jetta is a lean guy, very high metabolism it would seem, so his extended lay off would probably just mean he would lose conditioning muscle wise. If Hocking has only put on around 4 kilo's after being out of it for all of nearly 6 months, then that's a bloody good effort... Give him a pre-season and he'll come back fit and firing in the perfect shape. This guy works harder than any, he had to coming off the rookie list. I would never question this guys desire and work ethic, the kind of guy you would want at the club.

As for his game Friday night, I thought he was solid without being outstanding, and it was promising taking into consideration the season that he has had to endure. Keep it up mate, doing a fine job. :thumbsu:

Longy413
26 Aug 2008, 11:10
Well done on completely missing the reasons for the comparison.

It had nothing to do with body shape, or size.
Give me some credit, I do understand that they have completely different body shapes.

Hocking is behind the eight ball, because he was injured, because he isn't in shape.
A player coming back from injury out of shape shouldn't be used as an excuse, it's a flaw in his conditioning and it is a concern. He's going to get injuries throughout his career, it's a given, hopefully none as long term as this, but if he puts on weight each time he gets injured then he's going to remain behind the eight ball.

ant555
26 Aug 2008, 11:30

Give me some credit, I do understand that they have completely different body shapes.

Hocking is behind the eight ball, because he was injured, because he isn't in shape.
A player coming back from injury out of shape shouldn't be used as an excuse, it's a flaw in his conditioning and it is a concern. He's going to get injuries throughout his career, it's a given, hopefully none as long term as this, but if he puts on weight each time he gets injured then he's going to remain behind the eight ball.

Ok now that i know where you are coming from there is one thing . This would have been the first time he has gained a little weight (i trust your figure is correct an will go with it ) during an injury period. Now they know this certain aspects of his rehab/training could be modified to achieve a different result. If they know that despite him doing everything they set out then they modify what they do to try and get a different result.
The way you keep wording it Longy you are making it sound like he is Dean Rioli out of shape. At 91kg he is only a couple of kg out for a 187cm player.
Sometimes when your diet during the week is based around playing on the weekend and then you end up pulling out the day before the game you can end up with an extra kg or so .

kelvin_sheedy
26 Aug 2008, 15:06

Isn't this the same problem with Jay Neagle?

Longy413
26 Aug 2008, 15:42
Isn't this the same problem with Jay Neagle?

He started big, before he was drafted and gained condition.

TheDon35
27 Aug 2008, 07:45
What a strange debate ?

Hocking curtailed Griffen ( one of the Bulldogs guns ) allowing him to have a limited impact on the game.

I can guarantee that if Hocking did a job like this for all 22 games in 2009, that he would finish top 5 in the B and F.

An inditement on our list and club.

stander
29 Aug 2008, 16:02
[/b]

An inditement on our list and club.

Lets raise the bar a touch; I'm sure you meant indictment. It's not too hard.

yaco55
30 Aug 2008, 02:51
What a silly argument.

Rawlings of NMFC and Ling of GFC are stoppers who regularly finish in the top 5 of their respective clubs B and F.

I would like to be where the Kangaroos or Geelong are ?

Slattery_20
30 Aug 2008, 11:45
New flash: We had 160 points kicked on us. 15 of our blokes were not sighted for the night, and you choose to focus on one of the guys that is? My advice is follow a different team

kelvin_sheedy
31 Aug 2008, 23:04
He got absolutely pantsed by Hayes today.

I thought he might have a chance of making it after I wrote him off last year.

He won't cut it.

ant555
1 Sep 2008, 10:08
You change your mind quickly :)
He got a lesson of Hayes in the first quarter. He was better on Hayes in the second but the damage had already been done in the first.
Thought he was good in the second half at half back. Even though he was only on Gardiner for most of that time he held him to 3 possesions after Gardiner had 8 in the first half.Was not an easy job being a defender in the second half.
I am going to give him a big wrap for one thing that would not have shown up on TV. He was prepared to leave his man and cover another oppostion player to try and stop them from getting the ball.The only problem there was his team mates did not exactly help him out much and he got burnt a couple of times becasue his direct opponent was left free to get a possesion while he was someone elses man. If only a few more of our players would take this part of his game on and be prepared to pick up loose players or a team mates opponent we would be a much better side.

Over he got well beaten by Hayes in the first half but came out after quarter time despite being beaten and still had a crack unlike a few others who simply went through the motions.

Longy413
1 Sep 2008, 10:20
I am going to give him a big wrap for one thing that would not have shown up on TV. He was prepared to leave his man and cover another oppostion player to try and stop them from getting the ball.

Big improvement on last week in this aspect.

yaco55
1 Sep 2008, 13:49
It is no disgrace for 4th gamer to be defeated by Lenny Hayes.

Hayes is an underrated player and is in fact an elite mid fielder.

Longy413
1 Sep 2008, 16:22
You're right, it is no disgrace.

If he brings something to the team and I don't think he does.

Could be the new Mark Bolton.

kelvin_sheedy
1 Sep 2008, 16:24
Hocking on Hayes was like I was watching Reynolds on Fev or Bradley on Richo all over again.

ant555
1 Sep 2008, 18:18
Opinions on his ability aside you do have to take into consideration that he has played the last 4 weeks coming of a less than ideal preperation. Lets face it most players will strugle to find their absolute best after missing 16 weeks during the season. In any other year he would of played out the year with Bendigo or at least a few more games with them before getting a crack at senior footy in the last round.
He was always going to struggle a little coming off a very short preperation.
At the end of the day the coach rates him and i know a couple of other Melbourne clubs rate him and that is all that counts.

dirtywhitepacker
1 Sep 2008, 18:52
And I rate him, obviously less than ideal preperation, did a decent job last week, ok job this week considering the situation. Wait until this guy has a full pre-season and gets through a full season with minimal injury worries. Will come out of no-where like little Sammy Lonergan. Going to be an influential player in our premiership side Hocking...

kelvin_sheedy
1 Sep 2008, 20:09
Opinions on his ability aside you do have to take into consideration that he has played the last 4 weeks coming of a less than ideal preperation. Lets face it most players will strugle to find their absolute best after missing 16 weeks during the season. In any other year he would of played out the year with Bendigo or at least a few more games with them before getting a crack at senior footy in the last round.
He was always going to struggle a little coming off a very short preperation.
At the end of the day the coach rates him and i know a couple of other Melbourne clubs rate him and that is all that counts.

Injuries are one thing but his main weapon is his endurance.

Players like him don't need 8 weeks to get back into the swing of things. He should be ready to go almost immediately because that's the one thing he excels at.

Like you said Ant, at the end of the day Knights rates him and he'll be given a few more chances next year. He does have a lot of core strength about him and always busts his gut to compete unlike a number of others.

Hopefully he can come good but it's 1 step forward and 5 steps back for me.

Longy413
2 Sep 2008, 10:28

Which is what will keep him at the club next year and probably why he will get games ahead of others next year.

He also rates himself, which isn't a bad thing by any stretch (before you get carried away, not in the Damien Cupido way of rating himself).

ant555
2 Sep 2008, 16:05
Which is what will keep him at the club next year and probably why he will get games ahead of others next year.

He also rates himself, which isn't a bad thing by any stretch (before you get carried away, not in the Damien Cupido way of rating himself).

You are right he has always had confidence in his own ability He hasn't got a huge ego but he is confident that he can make a go of it at AFL level.

HighettBomber
5 Sep 2008, 18:18
He's a bloody good player. I can't beleive he's getting bagged so much. His form wan't that bad considering his preperation.

Slattery_20
6 Sep 2008, 16:20
He got absolutely pantsed by Hayes today.

I thought he might have a chance of making it after I wrote him off last year.

He won't cut it.
It was clearly only Hocking that had a shit game, eh?

Midnight Vultures
12 Sep 2008, 13:50
Can someone clear up for me whether Hocking is signed 'til 2009 or 2008?

Windas_Magic
12 Sep 2008, 14:24
Can someone clear up for me whether Hocking is signed 'til 2009 or 2008?
Contracted to the end of 2009

Merv
12 Sep 2008, 15:13
Contracted to the end of 2009

I think it's this year but there does seem to be some conjecture on this subject.

It's not really important as it's not as if any other team is going to chase him.

Windas_Magic
12 Sep 2008, 15:42
I think it's this year but there does seem to be some conjecture on this subject.

It's not really important as it's not as if any other team is going to chase him.
It's in a section of the article regarding the McVeigh contract on the website: http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=6074

McVeigh and Laycock are among a number of players to commit to the Club this season. Others include; Scott Gumbleton (signed until the end of 2010), Heath Hocking (2009), David Hille (2010), Bachar Houli (2010), Leroy Jetta (2010), Sam Lonergan (2010), Angus Monfries (2010), David Myers (2010), Kyle Reimers (2010), Henry Slattery (2010) and Jobe Watson (2010).

Merv
12 Sep 2008, 15:54
It's in a section of the article regarding the McVeigh contract on the website: http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=6074

Thanks for that :thumbsu:

Midnight Vultures
12 Sep 2008, 15:56

Cheers :thumbsu:

lemon chicken
13 Sep 2008, 04:16
Have never seen him as a defender or tagger, more a wing/midfield role for mine. He is better than your average VFL player. Lets just wait and see how he goes next year.

ant555
17 Sep 2008, 14:42
For those who bagged his game against Griffen , i hope you have watched the influence that he has had on games since including last friday night where he went for a run against McVeigh and took three bounces and kicked a goal. At least Hocking kept up with him even though he never was a chance of catching him.
Lenny Hayes has been in pretty good form as well. Has given a lesson to more experienced players than Hocking in the last two weeks ;)

Smyth94
17 Sep 2008, 15:39
For those who bagged his game against Griffen , i hope you have watched the influence that he has had on games since including last friday night where he went for a run against McVeigh and took three bounces and kicked a goal. At least Hocking kept up with him even though he never was a chance of catching him.
Lenny Hayes has been in pretty good form as well. Has given a lesson to more experienced players than Hocking in the last two weeks ;)

Griffen is a gun and in a few years should be one of the better midfielders in the competition. He's also a jet, once he gets going not many players would be able to run him down.

IIRC he destroyed WCE's midfield a few years back when the Dogs beat WCE during their prime at the 'G

Longy413
19 Sep 2008, 12:52

So because McVeigh got caught ball watching, we should excuse Hocking for it?

TheDon35
20 Sep 2008, 08:05
slow and one dimensional

DaSawx
20 Sep 2008, 10:55
Not overly fussed at all, ok for depth