View Full Version : 39. Heath Hocking
gussy6isagun
16 Jul 2007, 14:53
If Rama wasn't on da rookie list i recckon hocko would have been elevated instead of him. I think he is something special.
Has been an interesting discussion point recently with some debate over how people see his skills. Having seen him play a good portion of his footy for the last 3 years i feel i am in a good position to discuss him.
For a start he has good skills. All along he has been good at hitting targets. Very rarely kicks to ball directly to the opposition. If he makes a mistake it is usually that he kicks one just short of his target or puts it over their head. Particulary when he gets a bit tired. He is pretty creative in close and he does have good vision. A number of times i have seen him when under pressure spot players over 30 meters away and switch play and hit them on the chest. He isnt ever going to be called the most skillful at a club but he is good in the area and has a very decent long left foot kick.
Becasue of injury last year and a few niggles this year he hasnt always spent a lot of time in the midfield. Has often seen the half forward line or the bench due to rotations.The game against the Bullants last week was the first time he has spent a full day in the midfield this year and he was very good. He has averaged over 20 possessions (lowest 14 , highest 36) this year and has been as good as any of our other young midfielders. Has kicked a few goals but his set shots for goal havn't been great this year.
Another of his upsides is his tackling. He is very strong and very good in this area and he has a good enough build to be very hard at the footy.
There is a question mark over his pace. It is not that he is slow but more that he doesnt really have what you would call explosive pace. He can excellerate nicely but thats about it as far as speed goes.
I think the best way to describe him is a Jason Johnson type player with a bit of a upgrade in skills.
Can he make it ? Well it is still very much 50/50 but he has done enough this year to deserve a shot IMO.
retroparty
16 Jul 2007, 15:14
He played a good game for Bendigo on the weekend
Bombs Away
17 Jul 2007, 13:59
Has been an interesting discussion point recently with some debate over how people see his skills. Having seen him play a good portion of his footy for the last 3 years i feel i am in a good position to discuss him.
For a start he has good skills. All along he has been good at hitting targets. Very rarely kicks to ball directly to the opposition. If he makes a mistake it is usually that he kicks one just short of his target or puts it over their head. Particulary when he gets a bit tired. He is pretty creative in close and he does have good vision. A number of times i have seen him when under pressure spot players over 30 meters away and switch play and hit them on the chest. He isnt ever going to be called the most skillful at a club but he is good in the area and has a very decent long left foot kick.
Becasue of injury last year and a few niggles this year he hasnt always spent a lot of time in the midfield. Has often seen the half forward line or the bench due to rotations.The game against the Bullants last week was the first time he has spent a full day in the midfield this year and he was very good. He has averaged over 20 possessions (lowest 14 , highest 36) this year and has been as good as any of our other young midfielders. Has kicked a few goals but his set shots for goal havn't been great this year.
Another of his upsides is his tackling. He is very strong and very good in this area and he has a good enough build to be very hard at the footy.
There is a question mark over his pace. It is not that he is slow but more that he doesnt really have what you would call explosive pace. He can excellerate nicely but thats about it as far as speed goes.
I think the best way to describe him is a Jason Johnson type player with a bit of a upgrade in skills.
Can he make it ? Well it is still very much 50/50 but he has done enough this year to deserve a shot IMO.
Great report ant and I also think he deserves a shot at being put on the list.
Just an observation on Hocking over the last two weeks and that is the club must be impressed with his motor becasue he is the one midfielder that they dont rotate off the ground. He has more times than not been sent to half back to pick someone up when he has been out of the middle.
Against the Bullant's he was only rotated to the bench 4 times and yesterday he only went to the bench twice and the second time was not a rotation. He had to come up after being hit head high in a marking contest.
It doesnt seem to effect him a lot as he is still going hard at the end of games. The only real worry for him is i think he starts to feel his legs a bit when he kicks late in the game and he doesnt get the same penetration as early on.
donsman4eva
23 Jul 2007, 11:23
I hope he does get elevated at years end. From what I've seen and heard, it sounds like he can really add something to our midfield.
Had a big game yesterday for Bendigo in the VFL final. 31 possessions 3 goals,9 tackles, 9 marks and clearly our best player. Great game that IMO should cement a spot on the list for next year.
If we dont promote him someone else will pick him up as i know a couple of other clubs have put out the feelers for him.
Definately should, there's more than enough dead wood to get rid of to use draft picks and promote Hocking and even Rama if we wanted to.
RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
22 Sep 2007, 22:21
Should definitely get promoted to the senior list for next year, and hopefully cement a spot in the 22. Hocking should have become a key midfielder and develop into the hard running inside midfielder with good skills we've been needing. Will be very suprised if he doesn't get promoted and in the side week in week out next year.
TheDon35
24 Sep 2007, 09:23
Should definitely get promoted to the senior list for next year, and hopefully cement a spot in the 22. Hocking should have become a key midfielder and develop into the hard running inside midfielder with good skills we've been needing. Will be very suprised if he doesn't get promoted and in the side week in week out next year.
Have to disagree with you on Hocking. Doesn't look like he has enough tools to make a meaningful impact at senior level over a number of seasons.
So i guess the interest shown by a couple of other clubs is based on something other than football tools ;)
kelvin_sheedy
24 Sep 2007, 10:11
Agree.
We don't need any more B grade midfielders.
Longy413
24 Sep 2007, 11:06
Agree.
We don't need any more B grade midfielders.
Not even to replace the C grade midfielders?
kelvin_sheedy
24 Sep 2007, 11:50
Not even to replace the C grade midfielders?
Nope.
We've been replacing C grade midfielders with B grade for too long and those B grades have quickly become C.
Either trade for a better player(Judd,Prismall) or invest in Dempsey, Hislop, Houli who have a much higher upside.
He can only replace Pev or JJ. JJ for mine is finished and Pev has a year to go as transition and backup for the younger guys.
Why is Prismall better than Hocking? Both have dominated at VFL level, and Prismall hasn't taken the next step with the chances he has gotten.
kelvin_sheedy
24 Sep 2007, 13:43
Why is Prismall better than Hocking? Both have dominated at VFL level, and Prismall hasn't taken the next step with the chances he has gotten.
Prismall is a class above VFL.
Hocking is just another very good VFL player.
prismall's foot skills are quite sublime, whilst hocking's are bad they aren't as good as prismall
Hocking is just another very good VFL player.
Who is 19 and 7 months old. The dominance he displayed in the match against North Ballarat suggests that he is above VFL level or will be very soon.
Longy413
25 Sep 2007, 10:20
So was Mark Alvey, Ben Haynes, Mark Bolton...
kelvin_sheedy
25 Sep 2007, 11:14
So was Mark Alvey, Ben Haynes, Mark Bolton...
Maybe you can make an argument for Alvey but Haynes and Bolts were never a class above.
Prismall is a much better player than any of those guys.
How Haynes was on our list for a few years still baffles me.
Longy413
25 Sep 2007, 20:11
Because he was a damn good footballer, but a nut case.
kelvin_sheedy
25 Sep 2007, 21:06
Because he was a damn good footballer, but a nut case.
Haynes? :confused:
Ben Haynes?
You feeling alright?
Haynes shows about as much as dyson does dont understand why we have dyson but not haynes. Both as bad as each other!
Longy413
25 Sep 2007, 21:31
Haynes? :confused:
Ben Haynes?
You feeling alright?
Very good kick on both sides.
Good pace, not overly quick but not slow.
Read the play well and had very good hands. Good on the lead.
Had all the tools, but was soft, pea hearted and lacked work rate.
Ben Haynes was a good footballer, but he never had the ticker to get the most out of himself.
Ryder Is God
25 Sep 2007, 21:40
Longy, who would you compare Hocking too?
kelvin_sheedy
25 Sep 2007, 22:02
Very good kick on both sides.
Good pace, not overly quick but not slow.
Read the play well and had very good hands. Good on the lead.
Had all the tools, but was soft, pea hearted and lacked work rate.
Ben Haynes was a good footballer, but he never had the ticker to get the most out of himself.
Not a good kick at all. Looked good but it was deceptive and he turned it over a fair bit.
Not quick or slow but got caught plenty because his awareness was not good enough.
Nothing about ticker.. he didn't have the tools to become a good AFL footballer.
TheDon35
26 Sep 2007, 08:17
Prismall has proven to be a more complete footballer at VFL and also proved that he would be a quality contributor at AFL standard. Unlucky for him that he was injured earlier in the year as he'd more than likely be playing in a GF on Saturday (with the best side all year).
Hocking is not of the same quality as Prismall. I would trade our second round for Pris' and offer a bit of cash over three years to get him over to Bomber land.
If Pris came over, he'd probably start in the middle each week. Hocking will be very lucky to get a game with us next year injuries aside (in one of the worst midfields in the comp).
Longy413
26 Sep 2007, 09:18
Longy, who would you compare Hocking too?
A much better skilled version of Pev.
But he finds space in the corridor rather than out wide.
Not a good kick at all. Looked good but it was deceptive and he turned it over a fair bit.
Not quick or slow but got caught plenty because his awareness was not good enough.
Nothing about ticker.. he didn't have the tools to become a good AFL footballer.
Absolute crap.
All he had was his skill level and evasive skills, it's the sole reason he got as far as he did.
Prismall has proven to be a more complete footballer at VFL and also proved that he would be a quality contributor at AFL standard. Unlucky for him that he was injured earlier in the year as he'd more than likely be playing in a GF on Saturday (with the best side all year).
Hocking is not of the same quality as Prismall. I would trade our second round for Pris' and offer a bit of cash over three years to get him over to Bomber land.
If Pris came over, he'd probably start in the middle each week. Hocking will be very lucky to get a game with us next year injuries aside (in one of the worst midfields in the comp).
You said nothing in three paragraphs....
Why has he proven to be a more complete player? What's a more complete player?
Why is Hocking not of the same quality as Prismall? Prismall ahs had 3 AFL preseasons and is yet to cement himself in senoir football. You can argue Geelong is too good, but Tenace was getting a game...Tenace! Hocking is younger, and hasn't had as much opportunity. He has IMO a bigger motor than Prismall and has more versatility, in that throughout the VFL he has been played in various positions. Prismall has dominated VFL games, but did you catch Hocking's effort in the final?
I'm not neccesarily saying Hocking is better than Prismall, just more that everyone needs to calm down about Prismall.
TheDon35
26 Sep 2007, 17:34
You said nothing in three paragraphs....
Why has he proven to be a more complete player? What's a more complete player?
Why is Hocking not of the same quality as Prismall? Prismall ahs had 3 AFL preseasons and is yet to cement himself in senoir football. You can argue Geelong is too good, but Tenace was getting a game...Tenace! Hocking is younger, and hasn't had as much opportunity. He has IMO a bigger motor than Prismall and has more versatility, in that throughout the VFL he has been played in various positions. Prismall has dominated VFL games, but did you catch Hocking's effort in the final?
I'm not neccesarily saying Hocking is better than Prismall, just more that everyone needs to calm down about Prismall.
Settle down there tiger...
A more complete player is someone who is better equipped / has more tools to be a good player. I would have thought being a more complete player was pretty self explanitory but you obviously find it difficult to understand simple points.
My arguement was that Prismall was well and truly in the side before he got injured and unluckily for him has just missed the mark though would be playing in any other side because of his class - ability to win the ball penetrating / game breaking disposal, balance, ability to find space, carry the ball etc. These are traits that are important to taking the step up to AFL standard. Moreso, these traits once finetuned give a player a far greater upside than a player such as Hocking.
Hocking at AFL would only ever be a scrapper - great trait to possess but his skills, pace - both across the ground and pace of achieving effective disposal at AFL level are against him in my mind.
Here's a simple fact - Prismall would be in our starting midfield if he was in our side and we were playing next week. No questions asked. Hocking would not make the squad of 25.
Settle down there tiger...
A more complete player is someone who is better equipped / has more tools to be a good player. I would have thought being a more complete player was pretty self explanitory but you obviously find it difficult to understand simple points.
My arguement was that Prismall was well and truly in the side before he got injured and unluckily for him has just missed the mark though would be playing in any other side because of his class - ability to win the ball penetrating / game breaking disposal, balance, ability to find space, carry the ball etc. These are traits that are important to taking the step up to AFL standard. Moreso, these traits once finetuned give a player a far greater upside than a player such as Hocking.
Hocking at AFL would only ever be a scrapper - great trait to possess but his skills, pace - both across the ground and pace of achieving effective disposal at AFL level are against him in my mind.
Here's a simple fact - Prismall would be in our starting midfield if he was in our side and we were playing next week. No questions asked. Hocking would not make the squad of 25.
Prismall got dropped before he was injured. He injured himself in the VFL...
Here's another simple fact, Prismall is 2 years older than Hocking- he'd wanna be ahead of him. Saying Prismall would be in the team is like saying Pev would be in the team therefore Pev better than Jetta, Houli.
Prismall won't be elite, people need to calm down about him. There's a chance that he'll be a good player, but everyone talks him up to be a superstar. Have people even seen many of his games? He's good but he isn't completely amazing. Hocking doesn't have great pace, but Prismall isn't lightning quick either.
RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
26 Sep 2007, 18:21
A much better skilled version of Pev.
Everytime i see him play he reminds me of Jones from Melb, but that's just how i see it. What do you reckon Longy?
TheDon35
27 Sep 2007, 13:04
Prismall got dropped before he was injured. He injured himself in the VFL...
Here's another simple fact, Prismall is 2 years older than Hocking- he'd wanna be ahead of him. Saying Prismall would be in the team is like saying Pev would be in the team therefore Pev better than Jetta, Houli.
Prismall won't be elite, people need to calm down about him. There's a chance that he'll be a good player, but everyone talks him up to be a superstar. Have people even seen many of his games? He's good but he isn't completely amazing. Hocking doesn't have great pace, but Prismall isn't lightning quick either.
Mate you live in a dream....
The discussion regarding Prismall is on the table due to the fact that we're looking at getting some quality players onto our list. Simply put, to suggest that Hocking has as many qualities to allow him to thrive at AFL level shows ignorance. Seen plenty of Prismall and as I said, would be playing in any other team and still may play this week for Geelong.
Fact of the matter is that due to the strength of Geelongs list, Prismall has had limited opportunity. This makes him a realistic target for the Bombers that we woudn't need to give up much for due to salary cap pressure on Geelong. Given his qualities and the fact that he's rated very highly by the vast majority of the football world (except you), we should go after him.
That and if we got him, he'd be in our best 3 midfielders.
Some of you need to get the Essendon goggles off.
RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
27 Sep 2007, 18:29
Yes, Prismall would be a in our starting 22, but next year so will Hocking IMO. The only difference between Hocking and Prismall (i think) is that Hocking put better pressure on the opposition, is better tackler and is more inside than Prismall, where as Prismall has just got better skills than Hocking and is a classier player. Prismall would be one of our best midfielders (maybe top3), but it just shows how poor our midfield is ATM, not that Prismall is necisarely an awsum player.
i kind of agree with you R & B, prismall would make our best 22, but he wouldn't be in our top 3 midfielders. stants, mcveigh, winders, lovett and potentially dempsey have him covered.
if hocking is to be in our best 22 next year, and i'm not saying he should be, it will mean that pev, jj and maybe even jobe won't be playing. we can't have too many guys in the midfield that lack that burst of pace that is so vital in the modern game, just look at port's midfield.
Some of you need to get the Essendon goggles off.
You need to get the Prismall goggles off. He ain't no superstar as of yet.
TheDon35
28 Sep 2007, 15:54
You need to get the Prismall goggles off. He ain't no superstar as of yet.
Go back and get your facts right.
I never said he was a super star. I just said he was clearly a better footballer currently and with a bigger upside than Hocking, he would be in our top 3 midfielders and that given the Geelong situation with pressure to fit everyone into the cap, he ticks the boxes for someone we should target....
Or should we just forget about trading and be totally insular as to just seek players from the rookie list....
You clearly have a very limited understanding of footy.
sausageroll
28 Sep 2007, 15:56
Hope we end up with both Prismall and Hocking next year.:thumbsu:
Both going to be guns imo
Slattery_20
17 Feb 2008, 12:27
Bump
Laid some absolutely HUGE tackles
prismall's foot skills are quite sublime, whilst hocking's are bad they aren't as good as prismall
if hocking is to be in our best 22 next year, and i'm not saying he should be, it will mean that pev, jj and maybe even jobe won't be playing. we can't have too many guys in the midfield that lack that burst of pace that is so vital in the modern game, just look at port's midfield.
neither is heath
i take this all back. i am officially on the hocking bandwagon. ant for the first and last time, you were right and i was wrong.
heath has the makings of a really good footballer and it was really disappointing to see him miss the second half against the saints. i'm hoping though that it was a sign that knighta is expecting to pick him in the side for round 1 and they didn't want to take any chances with his groin. he is quick enough, strong as an ox, has good foot skills and he runs all day. i hope and expect him to be picked in the side to tackle the roos in round 1
Longy413
4 Mar 2008, 07:59
heath has the makings of a really good footballer and it was really disappointing to see him miss the second half against the saints.
I think you might find he has a bit of a groin niggle.
does anybody know, ant probably does, just how serious this groin injury is???
will he be fit by round 1???
this isn't a supercoach question
Windas_Magic
11 Mar 2008, 16:17
I'd prefer Hocking in the team than Pev to be honest. Peverill won't be in our next priemership side and i trust that Hocking is good enough and ready for a full season.
Schmick
11 Mar 2008, 16:51
I'd prefer Hocking in the team than Pev to be honest. Peverill won't be in our next priemership side and i trust that Hocking is good enough and ready for a full season.
That's a given.
Basically the same sort of player except Hocking has better footskills and is probably a bit quicker.
Hocking>Peverill>JJ
The same goes for Lonergan replacing JJ. I fully expect that by the end of the season that JJ and Pev will have been all but replaced by Hocking/Hislop/Lonergan.
Schmick
11 Mar 2008, 17:08
The same goes for Lonergan replacing JJ. I fully expect that by the end of the season that JJ and Pev will have been all but replaced by Hocking/Hislop/Lonergan.
Agree aswell. If it came down to these two battling it out for one spot in the 22 it'd be interesting to see who would come out on top?
I suspect Hocking would.
Agree aswell. If it came down to these two battling it out for one spot in the 22 it'd be interesting to see who would come out on top?
I suspect Hocking would.
I would too but Lonergan has not put a foot wrong this preseason and most importantly has not got an injury cloud hanging over his head so he would be ahead for round 1. I hope they both make it as 90% of the really good midfields are made up of a large core of strong bodied midfielders (see Geelong, Adelaide, Sydney, North Melbourne, Port 2004, Brisbane 2001-4 etc.)
Hocking>Sammy>Pev>JJ
hopefully only one of these guys is in our best 22 as it would mean we would have a strong side. if two of them have to play lets hope its the two young fellas, and if there is a time when both pev and jj are in the side we'll know we are in trouble
Longy413
12 Mar 2008, 08:03
does anybody know, ant probably does, just how serious this groin injury is???
will he be fit by round 1???
Unlikely.
Round 2 best case from what I can gather.
favourites
24 Mar 2008, 21:07
He has got a bout of OP, could be out for a while, if he comes back earlier he will prob not be 100%.
Merv Neagle
25 Mar 2008, 10:14
He has got a bout of OP, could be out for a while, if he comes back earlier he will prob not be 100%.
Source ?
favourites
27 Mar 2008, 00:25
Source ?
His mother, obviously take it with a grain of salt if you wish, but it's the truth.. I used to play junior footy with him and our mums are still good friends, I've got no reason to make up a rumour about him.. it isn't as serious as some but its def OP.
Pawtucket Patriot
30 Mar 2008, 19:10
Get fit soon as we need you back in the team.
we missed his agression and attack on the ball today. i reckon he would have been the perfect matchup for bartel. i hope we bring him straight back in the 1's rather than playing vfl
Here_we_come
1 Apr 2008, 21:22
On the efc website it says that Hocking is out for an indefinite period. Does this mean his injury is serious??
favourites
1 Apr 2008, 21:25
Yeh looks as though the OP is more serious than first thought. Unlucky as he looked like he was ready to break into the senior team.
Jonesy1987
2 Apr 2008, 07:50
Terrible news, he is the type of player we need in the side atm last week we could have done with some more strong bodied midfielders we got killed at contested plays
Al Scorcho
6 Apr 2008, 22:19
Yeh looks as though the OP is more serious than first thought. Unlucky as he looked like he was ready to break into the senior team.
shattered for the kid, new him as a youngen and have been following his progress, he cant seem to shake the injuries, broken wrist before the vic metro game, broken foot in is first (or was it second?) season and now when he gets elevated the dreaded OP, hopefully he can recover for at least the second half of the year, comes from the same stock as sammy mitchell (bimbadeen heights PS!:D)
he played a half for the bendigo reserves on the weekend. hopefully he can play a full game for the bendigo seniors this week
out of action for 3 months with a groin problem it seems. Just when we need some big bodies to rotate through the middle they all get ____ing injured.
bomber69
7 Apr 2008, 22:53
out of action for 3 months with a groin problem it seems. Just when we need some big bodies to rotate through the middle they all get ____ing injured.
Hocking is no big body mate;)
Still, his contribution will be missed.
Ryder Is God
8 Apr 2008, 07:32
I really like Hocking, it's a shame he's out. He's not a star, but he knows his role and does it well week in and week out.
He is in our midfield.
In terms of midfielders 187cm and 87kg is definitely a big body.
Update on the injury front for Heath.
He has come through the op really well , training has gome well so far and at this stage he is a 70/30 chance to play for Bendigo against Nth Ball in a couple of weeks :thumbsu:
loopy_cam
12 Jun 2008, 22:19
Beautiful.
Hopefully he can get in and play the last 4 or 5.
bomberz08
14 Jun 2008, 09:57
Hey i know hocking is injured and has played just the one game but does anyone have some inside knowledge or has seen him at juniour level.
seeing as i havent seen much of him i want to know how you guys rate hime:)
Kinda like Sammy, I think. Haven't seen or heard anything from for a while...
Pawtucket Patriot
14 Jun 2008, 11:27
Hey i know hocking is injured and has played just the one game but does anyone have some inside knowledge or has seen him at juniour level.
He is sort of like Peverill, but better. :D
favourites
17 Jun 2008, 15:16
Is a Mid/Half Forward, built pretty big, not the quickest but does have some skill. Not sure he'll make it but you should def give him another year. Remember he comes from the home of Sammy Mitchell!
he'll make it alright. knighta is a big fan and if he was fit he would've started in the centre square against the roos round 1. expect him to play most of the the games after the split round
Slattery_20
18 Jun 2008, 11:02
Big tough bullocking midfield or half back
Accountable & decent but not fantastic skills
Similar style to M Voss
TheDon35
18 Jun 2008, 18:34
Big tough bullocking midfield or half back
Accountable & decent but not fantastic skills
Similar style to M Voss
You are the biggest _____ on this board!!! By a mile.
Most rediculous statement i've heard.
I don't know what to say...:eek:
Most rediculous statement i've heard.
He said style. He did not claim that he was anywhere near as good.
Schmick
18 Jun 2008, 21:36
Can't wait to see Hocking back, about time. This kid will be a gun midfielder for us, I can just see it now.
michael7
19 Jun 2008, 14:33
can anyone tell me what type of player Hocking is, where he is likely to play inour team when he comes back and whether or not he will turn out to be a fairly high quality midfielder pretty close to elite standard? because i'm hearing some good things about him
Cheers in advance:thumbsu:
michael7
19 Jun 2008, 14:36
Sorry i just went to the page before and saw some info about him dont worry about it, my mistake, I should've looked first;)
can anyone tell me what type of player Hocking is,
Exactly the same as Michael Voss... exactly.
Hell yeah.. should be captain already... A definate in for the game against carlton.. :P
Anyways, was so annoyed he went down at the start of the season, i reckon he would have been good to have in the side. Would love to see somone in the team who really does gut run, like pev did, but without the mistakes of pev.
Slattery_20
21 Jun 2008, 12:18
____ing idiots
"Style"
I even made it in italics, so you prats would be able to spot it. This website gets worse and worse
didn't play today for bendigo, neither did sloppy for that matter, but both should be right for the next week hopefully
____ing idiots
"Style"
I even made it in italics, so you prats would be able to spot it. This website gets worse and worse
Champ relax, we were all just making fun of TheDon35 for being a moron. We saw it.
TheDon35
22 Jun 2008, 08:26
____ing idiots
"Style"
Yep, same style clown.
Dominates stop plays
One of the greatest leaders the games seen
Magnificent disposal
Performs individual efforts that very few could imagine doing aka James Hird
Intimidator
Perfectly clean one grab hands.
The only similarities are that they are both not quick and inside ball winners.
TheDon35
22 Jun 2008, 08:27
Champ relax, we were all just making fun of TheDon35 for being a moron. We saw it.
Good for you champ...
Any non bias person who came and had a look at this board would be having a good laugh at you and the great Slattery aswell.
Unfortunately too many kid themselves on this board.
Moron.
TheDon35 is such a moron. It's pretty entertaining.
TheDon35
23 Jun 2008, 17:24
TheDon35 is such a moron. It's pretty entertaining.
Obviously doesn't take much to entertain your little pea brain.
eth-dog
25 Jun 2008, 21:38
Obviously doesn't take much to entertain your little pea brain.
If he has a pea brain, that means you have none
Windas_Magic
2 Jul 2008, 23:46
Determined Hocking eyes AFL return
http://essendonfc.com.au/images/spacer.gif Wednesday, 2 July 2008
Craig Rowston for essendonfc.com.au
Page 1 of 1
Forgotten young midfielder, Heath Hocking, has set an ambitious goal of playing the last five games of the 2008 season with Essendon.
“It would be terrific to get back and be part of the senior team and if that happens three games out or five games out I am not worried but that is what I would like to have happen,” he said.
The twenty-year-old – who played his only AFL game in the Round 20 win against Carlton last year - will make his long awaited return to football with Bendigo in the VFL this Saturday against Port Melbourne following a serious groin injury.
“It (the injury) was a process of over-use and I only really felt the major part of it during the NAB Cup when I played against St Kilda and at half-time it just wouldn’t let me go on,” he said.
“They rested me for the first five weeks and hoped it would go away and then we went and saw a surgeon in Sydney who said I needed an operation.
“I got the tendon released 11 weeks ago and nearly played last week but I woke up on the weekend not feeling 100% so pulled out.”
He has been working closely with rehabilitation coach, Mark Cera, and has improved his upper body strength while recovering from the groin injury.
After 16-weeks out of the game he is excited to be returning and desperate to join the Bombers’ emerging list of young guns.
“You want to be part of it because there are blokes I got drafted with that are playing with Essendon, like Sam Lonergan, who I would like to play alongside,” he said.
“It will be good to get back out this weekend in the VFL and play my normal game and hopefully it will all slot into place.
“I don’t have any match fitness, which obviously you only get from playing, so I will probably blow up in the first few minutes but I still have normal fitness.
“I am doubting whether I can still find the ball but you just have to think more about team things like tackling and chasing and then the ball will come to you hopefully.”
Hocking was placed on the Bombers’ rookie list for 2006 and 2007 and, after impressing Matthew Knights, was elevated to the senior list.
Knights rates him as an important member in the Bombers’ best team and thinks he can develop into a Cameron Ling strong body type player.
“The coach sees me as being a good solid contributor to the team, when I am fit and well, through the midfield hopefully,” Hocking said.
“He wants me to run with a good opposition player and not just play defensive, play more attacking and I am happy to do that because I know I can as I’ve done it a couple of times last year and it’s a good role.”
Essendon fans will be watching closely and hoping another young Bomber can put their name on the AFL map before the season is over
Finally:thumbsu: I was really impressed with his tackling and attack on the ball in the NAB Cup.
Forgotten young midfielder, Heath Hocking, has set an ambitious goal of playing the last five games of the 2008 season with Essendon.
Not forgotten by me essendonfc.com.au, not by me. I called Lonergan and Hocking ages ago, and now Sammy is finally seeing good game time he is coming along at a nice pace. Hopefully Hocking can get a few games towards the end of the year, get some more experience, was looking good in the bank cup.
Had a dream last night that he came in and played against Brisbane and collected close to 30 touches.
really looking forward to watching him play on saturday. could be a very important player for us next year
TheDon35
4 Jul 2008, 07:25
Yea, great to see him back.
Still don't think there's room for Welsh, Watson, Lonergan, Slattery and Hocking in the same side but will be great for our depth and for mine could easily jump ahead of Slattery and Welsh by next year.
cAsEy_18
7 Jul 2008, 20:31
Yea, great to see him back.
Still don't think there's room for Welsh, Watson, Lonergan, Slattery and Hocking in the same side but will be great for our depth and for mine could easily jump ahead of Slattery and Welsh by next year.
Agreed there, however obviously Watson will be in the side, and i'd like to see Hocking and Lonergan in the side. Leaves Slattery and Welsh. Happy to have Slattery in the side to play on small fowards, which leaves Welshy in trouble, Happy to swap them over now and again Welsh and Slats.
Longy413
8 Jul 2008, 09:07
He actually looked like he had some pace about him on Saturday.
Yeah that is a very good sign for someone who has just had op.
True, has a lot of natural ability. Can't wait to see him play again.
even in his first game of the year he proved he is a class above the vfl