View Full Version : 42. Nathan Lovett-Murray
DaSawx
16th July 2007, 12:16
Gun dancer
donsman4eva
16th July 2007, 16:03
I said at the start of the year he will be the next andrew mcleod. im sticking 2 my guns
Pawtucket Patriot
16th July 2007, 16:24
Played a fairly decent game on Saturday night after returning from a long term injury. His attack on the ball and dash from the back line were great. In the end got a bit of a toweling from Cooney, but I guess he justs needs a few more games under his belt to get back some match fitness.
Jono B
17th July 2007, 10:06
Did anyone see his spear tackle on saturday night?
Bombs Away
17th July 2007, 13:27
Gives great run and drive from the half back line, expect big things next season if can stay injury free and have a good pre-season.
donsman4eva
17th July 2007, 17:22
Imagine NLM, Nash, McPhee and a fit Richie Cole all running from defence. It would be awesome.
Jono B
17th July 2007, 17:46
Rebound out of defence was one of the problems we had early in the year at the G. Having Nash and NLM helps a lot in that area.
DaSawx
18th July 2007, 11:10
Imagine NLM, Nash, McPhee and a fit Richie Cole all running from defence. It would be awesome.
3/4 aint bad, maybe Rama when he gets fitter, we start to resemble a team that can run a little, then we'll just need some players in the middle
jhgoat
18th July 2007, 19:58
thankgod he's back, the no.42 jersey has been sitting on my shelf for far too long!
Longy413
18th July 2007, 21:05
Still needs to work on those ground balls, but I imagine he'll be better this week for the run.
He's an important player for us.
windyhill
18th July 2007, 21:17
I said at the start of the year he will be the next andrew mcleod. im sticking 2 my guns
Oh Jesus.....
jhgoat
18th July 2007, 21:19
Still needs to work on those ground balls, but I imagine he'll be better this week for the run.
He's an important player for us.
more than most people think..... paddy ryder has made his loss less obvious this season
Crumpler83
19th July 2007, 13:46
Knows how to handle himself ;)
Has great potential but unfortunately his season has been rail-roaded by injury.
Longy413
29th July 2007, 20:54
Anyone see him stop the group and point to the banner before the game?
His work ethic has improved out of sight.
kelvin_sheedy
29th July 2007, 22:12
Looks very quick, sharp and athletic out there.
I think he can really step up in the run home.
Jono B
29th July 2007, 22:54
Just getting up to speed now, should be very useful in the run home.
windyhill
29th July 2007, 23:04
His first shot for goal today, did he talk himself out of it or what ?
Longy413
30th July 2007, 09:30
His first shot for goal today, did he talk himself out of it or what ?
I reckon he did.
Got far too close tot he man of the mark, went back a lot further the second time around.
DaSawx
30th July 2007, 15:03
Never been the biggest fan, and I didn't see him point to the banner, but he is definately growing on me
loopy_cam
19th November 2007, 14:43
His 2008 will be as good as Andrew Mackie's 2007.
Tonche
24th November 2007, 10:16
His 2008 will be as good as Andrew Mackie's 2007.
Hope so, there's gonna be a lot of competition for those running half back spots in a couple of years. :)
Here_we_come
25th November 2007, 01:08
He is improving but i still cant help but get worried every time he goes near the ball. His skills just dont cut it for me yet. Hopefully he proves me wrong next year!
Bombers42
22nd February 2008, 21:14
Great game genst the doggies 2nite. I see him being important to our success this year.
Slattery_20
23rd February 2008, 08:25
Got amongst it nicely
Smyth94
23rd February 2008, 08:45
Has one of the cleanest hands at the club, if not the cleanest.
He's a unit too. Will give defenders nightmares if played off the HFF.
Slattery_20
28th February 2008, 14:47
Only one smythy?
Useful player, can play almost anywhere
CarlosHernandez
29th February 2008, 05:05
I've always been a big fan of NLM, just knows how to find the footy.
Loved his two "play-on" handballs to Scotty last week too!
The Dustbin
24th March 2008, 21:02
Best game for the club today in my opinion. I've been a critic of his disposal in the past, but after today not so.
4 goals is a great return. Going to be difficult to match up on, when he plays forward.
:thumbsu:
WindyHillWatcher
25th March 2008, 11:53
NLM, a true pocket rocket. Looking dangerous up forward and seems to be fresher with all the changes! keep up the good work Nath and hit em hard!
Slattery_20
25th March 2008, 19:28
Possibly got a leg up with Lucas' injury, clouds do have their linings
Bombers42
31st March 2008, 01:00
I was at the game today and late i saw him take himself off after running out on a lead. He didnt seem to be limping to at all so perhaps cramp hopefully? or maybe a little hamstring twinge..hope not
The Dustbin
19th April 2008, 02:11
Looks to be carrying an injury. Had no influence tonight, hardly took and any marks and was overall disappointing.
Might have to go back to Bendigo to regain confidence.
loopy_cam
19th April 2008, 11:58
11 disposals and 5 marks.
His defensive pressure was good though with 7 tackles.
Snagboy
4th June 2008, 16:42
I have watched a lot of this bloke over the years as half (dark side) my family barrack for the bombers.
This bloke is nearly 26 yrs old; played 70 plus games & he is ordinary....
Surely there are other youngsters at Essendon who could get a game before him.
soapie
4th June 2008, 16:44
You obviously haven't watched much of Essendon. He probably sneaks in our best 22. Doesn't say much for our list does it Snagbag.
anti.
4th June 2008, 16:45
yeah hes in their best 22, but will probably be pushed out as soon as the bombers younger players improve.
he's not bad, but he's nothing special.
Pawtucket Patriot
4th June 2008, 16:50
He brings a bit of mongrel to the side and will always take the game on instead of just waiting for things to happen.
Bombers42
9th June 2008, 03:08
One of his best games of the season against the hawks, he works his guts out, n sumtimes its clear to see his frustration at the way the games going.
Slattery_20
9th June 2008, 14:34
Unfortunate he's so injury prone
Plays 2 good games, out for 3 injured, 1 or 2 to get back to fitness, repeat.
Bombers42
14th June 2008, 00:54
The defence worked well tonight against west coast, a good contribution here tag teaming with fletch
TheGodDelusion
6th July 2008, 19:24
Read on another thread where someone said he spanked Tarrant. Aside from not being an overly large achievment IMO (I think Tarrant is a cat), he was lucky Tarrant didn't kick straight - he could have ended up on the wrong end of 5 goals. I know bad kicking is bad footy, but you cannot rely on your opponents failing to convert every week.
He runs well when we have the ball but going back the other way seems to stuggle - too often is well behind his man. Is he a valid thrid tall defender?
Having said that Knights seems to have a lot of faith in him.
I'm interested in what others think of him.
pulkrevolvingdoors
6th July 2008, 19:48
I'm a big fan of him, and I reckon he's having a great last few weeks in particular. His run off half back has been great to watch and really propels us into attack.
...has his own thread in Bomber Spotting sub-forum.
You Gotta Lovett!
6th July 2008, 20:01
Just want to say G'day to all my fellow Bombers out there! This is my 1st opinion I have placed on big footy! Firstly I just want to ask if anyone knows how I could edit my name coz ive got an "n" at the end of the "You" in my name!lol...I'd much appreciate some help!
Secondly, i thought Lovett-Murray was great when he burst on to the scene a few years ago and I have to say he has been a bit disappointing in my opinion! I agree his run off half-back is great when he gets going but if he is going to be our 3rd tall option down back he has to find a way to spoil more often! He'd have to be 1 of our faster players yet seems to be behind a mlot of the time when his opponent is leading!
S.C[BANKS]
6th July 2008, 20:05
Just want to say G'day to all my fellow Bombers out there! This is my 1st opinion I have placed on big footy! Firstly I just want to ask if anyone knows how I could edit my name coz ive got an "n" at the end of the "You" in my name!lol...I'd much appreciate some help!
Secondly, i thought Lovett-Murray was great when he burst on to the scene a few years ago and I have to say he has been a bit disappointing in my opinion! I agree his run off half-back is great when he gets going but if he is going to be our 3rd tall option down back he has to find a way to spoil more often! He'd have to be 1 of our faster players yet seems to be behind a mlot of the time when his opponent is leading!
The mods will help you out mate.
Oh yeah, this do belong in the Bomber Spotting sub-forum ;)
Slattery_20
6th July 2008, 20:50
Tarrant wasn't the ideal match-up for him, IIRC Fletch started on him before his injuries forced the change
That said, I thought Tarrant was good early but NLM was well on top later in the game
Merv Neagle
6th July 2008, 21:27
Welcome to BF mate.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=5668224&postcount=1
Pawtucket Patriot
7th July 2008, 11:59
Welcome. :thumbsu:
daffo
7th July 2008, 13:48
I think the time is right to trade NLM. If we could get a second round selection for him in next years draft i would take it in a heartbeat.
eth-dog
7th July 2008, 14:41
very good player. in first 22 easily atm
daffo
8th July 2008, 13:32
Agreed that he is in our best 22, which is why i think the time is right for a trade. He never plays tight as a defender and up forward never plays team footy. Other teams might think there is a spot for him in their side and if we get a 2nd round pick for him it would be great.
BomberAce7
19th July 2008, 17:33
Im going on today's game but where is Nathan's best position in the team? When he plays in defense he is always 2 or so yards behind his opponent & when the ball is on the deck he just doesnt have the defensive smarts.
e.g the goal Brown kicked in the last to put them in front. The ball goes to ground & Brown runs to the front, gathers the ball, snap goal. Lovett-Murray runs behind the pack! If he isnt a defender then he shouldnt be down back. I know we dont have alot of options at present but what do we do with Nathan?
essendon2008
19th July 2008, 17:42
Tough one. Good on the run but as you say no defensive side to his game.
Crumpler83
19th July 2008, 18:26
Also has pretty poor disposal skills by foot.
I was cringing every time he had the ball inside defensive 50 during the last quarter.
I don't think he's cut out to be a defender. Showed some good signs up forward earlier in the year...maybe we should put him back up there :confused:
AndyLesPaul
19th July 2008, 18:51
he gave away way too many frees which resulted in goals
what happened to fletch?
lemon chicken
20th July 2008, 15:09
Gee whiz there is some short memories in here. How about the month of very good football as a defender prior to yesterday. One bad game and the knives are out.
Pevers-Legend
20th July 2008, 21:21
Maybe we should trade all our mid tier players and just have alist full of kids.
Sheesh - he should be our attacking HBF but has to play tall at the moment due to wanting to relase Fletch or Paddy.
We need his agro - love the way he goes about it - and yes can be inconsistent - but take the good with the bad becuase there is more good than bad.
Bombers42
26th July 2008, 20:35
Has averaged 20 touches in the last few games, and finnally has been allowed to attack off half back, he does it brilliantly. Also a couple goals running up the ground have been handy, Knights seemed to move the whole defense up foward late in the last. All-in-all well done Natrat:thumbsu:
dirtywhitepacker
26th July 2008, 23:50
Maybe we should trade all our mid tier players and just have alist full of kids.
Sheesh - he should be our attacking HBF but has to play tall at the moment due to wanting to relase Fletch or Paddy.
We need his agro - love the way he goes about it - and yes can be inconsistent - but take the good with the bad becuase there is more good than bad.
I was out for his head before today. He won me over today with all the hits and bumps he laid out. Very tough at it, and just needs to refine the defensive side of his game and he should be a handy list player.
Bombers42
2nd August 2008, 17:28
One of his best games 28 touches 11 marks, and effective too, definatly his highest stats game, and one of his better 2
hulld
5th August 2008, 13:58
was one of the most influential players on the ground
sweet_as
6th August 2008, 00:00
alot of people dont care probably but im gunna jus tell ya about my experience on the weekend
i was at a local club in melbourne 'the loft' and me nd a few mates were dancing nd all of a sudden we see none other than nathan lovett-murray dancing on the podium... nd my mate went up nd sed hey nathan how r ya buddy jus friendly nd he goes im ***** awesome as did u see me play today?
nd i turned around nd sed geeze man u killed it today nd he goes yeah cos im a superstar :confused:
ended up with him getting kicked out for throwing water on a group of girls nd being dragged out by the bouncers lol
bit upset about how up himself he was... thats my story lol
Storyboy
6th August 2008, 00:10
Given, just for the moment, (since the anonymity of the internet is likely to encourage some less worthy individuals to 'embellish' details), that your story is true - did it seem like he was taking the piss just a little?
Despite the forcible removal, loutish behaviour is less correlated with inflated egos than it is with dimished responsibility.
For what my two bob is worth.
daffo
6th August 2008, 13:16
I have seen him out as well and i can believe this story. NLM doesn't play for the team, he plays for himself. It's great that he has played a couple of ok games now, its a great chance to trade him off.
Jetta was going down this path as well, but thankfully the club put their foot in and fixed him up.
Bombers42
7th August 2008, 16:25
Are we not forgetting he probably had a few in at the time. IMO thats would explain outlandish behavior and comments. Saying that he plays for himself is a rediculous statement as a half-back player cant do that, he'd be outta the team already mate.
GoDons
9th August 2008, 13:53
I have seen him out as well and i can believe this story. NLM doesn't play for the team, he plays for himself. It's great that he has played a couple of ok games now, its a great chance to trade him off.
Jetta was going down this path as well, but thankfully the club put their foot in and fixed him up.
You know Leroy and NLM personally, do you?
What a load of rubbish.
Windas_Magic
10th August 2008, 20:39
Soft as butter today, you'd expect more from a senior player
Enki
10th August 2008, 20:50
Soft as butter today, you'd expect more from a senior player
No I wouldn't. I'm not saying that he doesn't play well sometimes, but he seems to go missing and lack effort in hard games too often, well IMO. Not the worst player on our list, but I've never been a big fan.
efcboy
10th August 2008, 20:55
NLM needs to visit the alfred hospital and put his name on the waiting list for a heart transplant. his non-efforts in backing back were abismall today - he needs to toughen the #### up.
hulld
10th August 2008, 22:17
it was clear that last week's game went to his head. needs to realize that good players play consistently well
bombers2011
16th August 2008, 19:50
NLM needs to visit the alfred hospital and put his name on the waiting list for a heart transplant. his non-efforts in backing back were abismall today - he needs to toughen the #### up.
I second this emotion. It's time for him to go
Bombers42
23rd August 2008, 17:48
kicked a good goal agenst the doggies early, soccer style:D