DaSawx
16th July 2007, 12:18
How do you pronounce his name again ;)

retroparty
16th July 2007, 16:26
hool-ie

mathew ollaik
30th July 2007, 18:02
Hope he plays this week!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Darealrath
30th July 2007, 18:39
On the train, these clueless blokes were waffling on, and one of them comes out and says the reason Houli hasn't played the last few is because he was out on the piss with Cole in Tassie. I didn't think we had fans that stupid!

hulld
30th July 2007, 18:56
i hate the fans who think they know it all but are too ignorant to realize they are full of s***

danielcanberra
4th August 2007, 10:55
Those dumbwits shouldn't be spreading rumours about Houli.

I hate it when people spout off about players they've never met. Essendon is one of the great clubs where supporters have many opportunities to meet players - like taking the time and effort to see training at Windy Hill, attending various events organised by the club etc.

I had a great chat with Houli at Monday training after round 8 and we chatted about his faith and a few other things. I got the impression that he has very strong principles. He's made it known that he doesn't drink alcohol. I believe him.

Who I wouldn't believe are dumbwits on trains who gossip and cast aspersions about a player who has principles to try and ruin his reputation.

danielcanberra
4th August 2007, 10:56
On the train, these clueless blokes were waffling on, and one of them comes out and says the reason Houli hasn't played the last few is because he was out on the piss with Cole in Tassie. I didn't think we had fans that stupid!

I hope you put them straight.

hulld
12th August 2007, 22:07
he deserves to come into the seniors this week

kelvin_sheedy
12th August 2007, 23:35
Give him the rest of the year in the seniors please.

Tambu
13th August 2007, 20:47
Agreed!

ant555
13th August 2007, 21:32
The reason he hasnt played was they wanted him to be more accountable over a number of weeks before he would be selected.;)

hulld
14th August 2007, 16:27
is that why campo is playing vfl aswell????????

hulld
16th August 2007, 19:54
i can't believe he isn't playing in the ones this week

BlacK'n'ReD
17th August 2007, 15:28
Bacahr goes to my Uni, I see him around sometimes. Looks much bigger in the flesh! I hope he gets a run in the 1's bloody soon, what's there to lose?

S.C[BANKS]
17th August 2007, 20:34
Bacahr goes to my Uni, I see him around sometimes. Looks much bigger in the flesh! I hope he gets a run in the 1's bloody soon, what's there to lose?

lol, i think you should get his autograph :thumbsu:

danielcanberra
18th August 2007, 14:46

Next time you see him, just yell out "hey Bachar". He's a very nice bloke and will probably go over and talk to you.

Ask him what he's studying and how that is going, before you start asking about football.

The only time I talked to him, he mentioned that his mates keep an eye on BigFooty.

BlacK'n'ReD
19th August 2007, 13:31
Yeah I might just do that, problem is he's always got a few mates/randoms around him. If I catch him alone might go over and say hi :)

Longy413
19th August 2007, 17:05
Next time you see him, just yell out "hey Bachar".

Yeah, because he'd love that....

danielcanberra
19th August 2007, 23:10
Yeah, because he'd love that....

That's a point. Away from Windy Hill or a game is another matter.

Probably best to introduce yourself at Windy Hill, then mention that you've seen him around on campus.

danielcanberra
24th August 2007, 18:42
Just received my August Bomber mag. Great article on Bachar Houli's debut (pages 20-21), written by none other than La Trobe university journalism student Angus Monfries.

Great work Gussy, even with the plug for yourself! :p

danielcanberra
13th September 2007, 21:13
Ramadan Mubarak. Peace be with you Bachar.

dp3[WLD]
13th September 2007, 21:30
player with immense potential

but then again

potential is a dangerous word

danielcanberra
17th September 2007, 10:42
Bachar Houli on fast track
17 September 2007 Herald Sun
Grant McArthur

ESSENDON is rethinking its training schedule for a Muslim player who needs to fast during the holy month of Ramadan.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,5658391,00.jpg
Laid back: outstanding young prospect Bachar Houli says Essendon has been helpful with his religious needs. Picture: Mark Smith

Promising 19-year-old Bachar Houli is one of 340,000 Australian Muslims who began fasting on Thursday for the holy month of Ramadan.

Now Houli and Essendon are already planning for next year when the holy ritual will coincide with the finals series.

"I will still do weights and things like that," Houli said of his off-season regimen.

"The hard part will be the intense stuff like sprint work which will be pretty solid, but at the end of the day you just have to be mentally strong.

"Next year it will probably affect me more because it will go back to the start of September, so if we make the finals it will be interesting."

Essendon has started studying methods used by overseas soccer teams to help Muslim players during Ramadan, and Houli appreciates the respect his religion has received at the club.

"It is going to affect me five years down the track so I just have to cope with it," Houli said. "They do studies overseas and they are going to bring it over here and put it into action for my football.

"They are very lenient and they have already planned things like I don't train in the morning, I train at night.

"It is just fantastic. It is great to see their respect."

However while his club has embraced Houli's faith, the same cannot be said for some of its supporters.

"With my first game this year my cousins were sitting in the crowd and comments were thrown around every time I made a mistake, such as 'Go back to your mosque'.

"These are our own supporters who have said that and at the end of the day you can't generalise everyone because of those supporters."

Houli said his 57-year-old mother had been abused while shopping and his cousins had had their head scarves ripped off.

Having seen an older cousin receive a long suspension after reacting to racist abuse in a suburban football final when he was 14, Houli said he learned patience was the only way to deal with intolerance.

However he can understand why depression is rife among discrimination victims.

"Being young there is only so much you can take and if someone is just continuously getting into you about your religion, about your faith and about your culture, it would get to you.

"I have seen a lot of people in our community not cope under pressure.

"They get thrown a racist comment and they get really physical about it and that is not the right way to go."

A VicHealth study found 45 per cent of people from non-English speaking backgrounds suffered discrimination at sporting and other public events.

VicHealth and Melbourne University have examined a combined 153 separate studies, finding depression was widespread among those who suffered from racism.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22429365%255E19742,00.html

TheDon35
19th September 2007, 09:18
I like the look of him.

Great balance, disposal, covers the ground pretty well, is dangerous up forward and wins the ball.

Seem to be a few question marks about his accountability although how would you know as an outsider. Maybe another question mark on willingness to put his head over the ball from what i've seen.

That aside, bloody good pick up for a 3rd rounder and will be a key to rebuilding our ordinary midfield.

Thoughts?

mathew ollaik
25th September 2007, 13:59
I saw Bachar Houli yesturday with his mates at a lebanese restaurant

Sanj
25th October 2007, 21:33
How he didn't get a game in the seniors for the last 5 to 6 Rounds is beyond me. That game against Hawthorn, I was so sure that he would get in the team. I just couldn't believe who we picked for that game, when we cleary knew we needed a strong midfield. And the result said it all.

Bachar will be a gun for sure. Love the way he handpasses. Just needs to improve his long distance kicking. I think he kicked 4 behinds and 6 behinds in two separate games.

hulld
26th October 2007, 12:09
i was asking that same question at the time

Bachar_Houli
8th November 2007, 12:21
Bachar Houli must play over 15 games this year in the centre bounces! He is a tank! he can handle big bodies! he can run all day and has pretty good disposal.

DaSawx
9th November 2007, 15:30
Bachar Houli must play over 15 games this year in the centre bounces! He is a tank! he can handle big bodies! he can run all day and has pretty good disposal.

15 is a lot, but should see some decent time in the seniors this year.

Skill could do with a little improvement

Awareness as well, looked a bit lost at times last year, some more games and hopefully he'll catch up to the speed of senior footy

Accountability needs a lot of improvement before he's a full time midfielder

dazzledavey36
9th November 2007, 15:44
i love bachar!! hope he becomes a 300 gamer for you games coz some senior older players like ben cousins should take a leaf out of this blokes book.. very quite and good natured who doesn't go out on the piss.. keeps to himself which i like and will do anything just to play footy

nicko99
28th November 2007, 18:57
Part of the Jet stream

http://werribee.yourguide.com.au/images/general/space.gif
http://static.yourguide.com.au/images/viewimages/?image=357674&size=2 (http://werribee.yourguide.com.au/viewimage.asp?id=357674) Hollywood lifestyle: Bachar Houli said the life of an AFL footballer is a just reward for all the hard work put it in to get into the system. http://werribee.yourguide.com.au/images/general/spacer.gif

THIS time last year, a devout Muslim named Bachar Houli was basking in the sun in Queensland, fielding calls from managers, before the spotlight shone after being selected at No.42 by Essendon in the 2006 national AFL draft.Now, the 19-year-old Tarneit resident reflects on his entrance into the AFL ranks, which led to a barrage of national coverage, more for his religion than his on-field feats.
"It was unreal, actually it's been overexposed I'd say. But at the end of the day, if you get it, you take it," Houli told the Banner.
"But you just don't get ahead of yourself. Especially if you haven't played many games, it can get to your head when you're young. But obviously I have a good head on my shoulders through the support of my older friends [just telling me] to stay patient and you'll get your go pretty soon," he said.
Houli predicts there could be up to three Jets - Callan Ward, Will Sullivan and Rhyce Prismall - join him in the AFL after this Saturday's national draft: "Callan Ward from Spotswood Football Club - which is good, another one from Spotty - it takes the pressure off me.
"Will Sullivan, who's a tall ruckman, pretty athletic. Rhyce Prismall, hopefully."
Prismall is the interesting one. The brother of Geelong's Brent, Rhyce was invited to the state screening camp, but snubbed for the AFL draft camp after an average season on the field, despite gathering momentum last year.
"I played with his older brother too. [They're] different players. They both played midfield but Rhyce is more of a taller player, quicker, more agile. Brent was unreal with his skills, he's dynamic with both sides of his body. All the best to Rhyce, all the best to the rest of the boys, the more the better. Every year, [the Jets] get one drafted - we've got to try and get two or three drafted."
Houli said he kept in contact with his former Jets teammates.
"I catch up with a lot of them in the streets. I say hello and a few words to see how they're going. But I haven't had a chance to go out and watch them too much this season just because of commitments through AFL football. It's the club I developed the most at and you don't forget your origin other than Spotswood Football Club."
Houli, a gun midfielder who recently finished third in Essendon's 3.2 kilometre time trial, believes there is enormous pressure on young players entering the game balancing VCE studies with football.
"There is a lot of pressure but the pressure is put on a lot within themselves.
"There's many players out there who have a great first year at TAC Cup level and then slack off second year because they think they've got it. But at the end of the day, it sends a message to everyone else, that there's no guarantees for anyone.
"You've got to work extremely hard and, when you know that you're there, you've just got to consistently work extremely hard because you can never stop learning because life's a learning process. Especially football, you can't be perfect."
Despite all the physical and mental hurdles, Houli said the AFL lifestyle is a just reward.
"Regardless of where you're at, you've got to treat every game of football as though it's your last game and work to your full potential. It's a great lifestyle, you train six days a week and you're with mates who are like brothers because you spend a lot of your time with them and it's a great job. You get paid for what you love doing."
Don't miss next week's issue for part two of an in-depth interview with Bachar Houli

This is part 1. Part 2 is posted as well

Merv Neagle
28th November 2007, 19:18
Bachar looks to be a leader (part 2)

http://static.yourguide.com.au/images/viewimages/?image=359501&size=2 (http://werribee.yourguide.com.au/viewimage.asp?id=359501) True leader: Bachar Houli wants to be a leader on the field. http://werribee.yourguide.com.au/images/general/spacer.gif

ENTERING the Houli household in Tarneit, you can understand why the media is curious about Bachar Houli.Silky, traditional Lebanese couches which have been used in most of his photo shoots, are noticeable as soon as you enter the tiled entrance.
Houli's mother Yamama keeps the house in pristine condition.
The 19-year-old warned that things be put back neatly when we moved the couch around for another photo in his lounge room.
Then you wander through to the kitchen and notice a framed picture of his Essendon jumper with tribute photos.
The eyes roll further left where there is a picture of his family after one of his brothers' weddings.
He points out how the women wear the hijabs and khimars so there's no attraction for other men, but underneath they're as beautiful as anyone else.
Houli said he planned to find a girl in his home country to marry.
He then produced the the Muslim holy book Koran, saying many Islamic people memorised every word in this book. He is still working on it.
Then there is the prayer room, where he will say prayers at specific times of the day.
He mentioned two words that stay entrenched in the mind: discipline and sacrifice. Those are two qualities that Houli lives by as a 19-year-old Muslim, playing AFL football.
Religion is a massive part of his life and he knows that as soon as he walks on to the football field in the red and black, it is very much a talking point.
"The players are usually fantastic. Occasionally, they might throw a joke. But they know when to stop and at the end of the day if you can't take a joke, then as they say - 'Go get a life'. You have to take a joke and that's how you form a good relationship with your mates."
Houli said his family and friends had taken time to adjust to the criticism off the field. "What happens in the crowd, stays in the crowd. It's just basically a bunch of supporters having a bit of fun at the footy.
"At the end of the day, it doesn't get to me. Even if it's in the streets, I'm very patient in that area and I've learnt to live with that. I'm out there to play footy, to get the best out of myself, I don't care what happens in the crowd."
He missed the Bombers' end-of-season trip in Las Vegas because he couldn't break his Ramadan fasting.
Yes, that's right: Las Vegas; a place where most 19-year-olds would run amok, spending thousands of dollars.
But Houli's lifestyle is a far cry from the party scene. Unlike your average footballer, he would rather hang out with a 35-year-old doctor than go out for a beer or to a party with a mate.
Consuming alcohol is, of course, against his religion. "It's all about discipline."
Treated almost like a prince at the Al-Taqwa Islamic College Werribee campus, there's no doubt Houli is a leader off the field. And he's looking to become one.
"I think with the 23 and unders, they're [Essendon players] waiting for another leader. No one wants to take that responsibility. So there's an opportunity to step up.
"Although, it's my second year, it's an opportunity to step up and be a leader because I might play whatever amount of games. But if I can get the most out of my football and be a great leader which I want to be, what more could I want."
From his junior days at Spotswood and the Western Jets, Houli is a born leader.
"I think it just comes naturally. There are different types of leaders. There are people who yap pretty loudly on the ground or off the ground; there are people that are great examples. I classify myself as one of those. What I mean by great examples is: doing things to perfection; wanting always to be professional; and at the end of the day, respect anyone around me and that's where I've got my respect."
He made his mark against the Kangaroos at Telstra Dome on May 11, the night before his 19th birthday, receiving a gift from a Kangaroo legend.
"I remember my first game when I played the Kangaroos and I had the ball in my hands and I had less than a second to get rid of it because Glenn Archer was on to me. He brought me to the ground. I looked up and he had the ball ready for a set shot. It's unreal, you have to adapt pretty quick to it and no doubt with experience I'll get better."
With four AFL games under his belt, he is hoping to thrive under new Bombers coach Matthew Knights after spending a lot of time with the former Richmond captain in the Bendigo Bombers last season.
"He [Knights] said he's going to give the youngsters a good fair go at it. At the end of the day, the ownership is within yourself."
A bulked-up Houli is thriving after finishing second in the club's 3-kilometre time trial.
"You've got to work hard and you've got to be super fit and your skills have got to be spot on. I'm pretty fit at the moment. There's always room for improvement and [my] skills are getting there. I'm going to give myself a good opportunity especially with a guy like Knighter. He's great and he wants to form a new relationship with the club, starting with youth."

Tambu
28th November 2007, 19:40
Looks like Houli along with Myers are set to become leaders of this club in the future. :thumbsu:

Can't wait to see Bash in action again in 08!

diesel1
29th November 2007, 19:12
I saw Bachar Houli yesturday with his mates at a lebanese restaurant

I was there with him having a bite! it was at Tiba's yeh?

matthewlloydwebber
2nd December 2007, 19:36
Bachar looks to be a leader (part 2)

http://static.yourguide.com.au/images/viewimages/?image=359501&size=2 (http://werribee.yourguide.com.au/viewimage.asp?id=359501)

blimey bachar sif upstage the captain with those guns.

boms
2nd December 2007, 19:40
Was on sen today..

Finshed off the jack clarke trophy 3k thing.
Got 10.14 on it

And also spoke very well

GreaT SourcE
2nd December 2007, 19:42
Was on sen today..

Finshed off the jack clarke trophy 3k thing.
Got 10.14 on it

And also spoke very well

What were the results with regards to that run thing happening today ??

boms
2nd December 2007, 19:45
What were the results with regards to that run thing happening today ??
Not sure yet mate. Should be coming up soon on the essendonfc website

GreaT SourcE
2nd December 2007, 20:00
Not sure yet mate. Should be coming up soon on the essendonfc website

Alright....thanks .... It'd be interesting to see who did well.....:)

Bachar_Houli
3rd December 2007, 14:50
I was there with him having a bite! it was at Tiba's yeh?

yep, a great restaruant.

danielcanberra
3rd December 2007, 16:53
Testing times for Dons
03 December 2007

Herald Sun
Gareth Trickey
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/files/bombers.jpg ESSENDON ventured into enemy territory yesterday for the Ron Clarke Classic athletics meeting at Geelong.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,5779435,00.jpg
Hot-footing it: Essendon's Brent Stanton leads teammates Bachar Houli and Henry Slattery in yesterday's 3km teams' event. Picture: Michael Dodge

Speedsters Heath Hocking, Bachar Houli and Brent Stanton led the charge in the 3km teams' event, but it was the boys from the Ocean Grove Football Club who took home the Jack Clarke Trophy for the fastest team.
Essendon finished a close second with Houli first across the line for the Dons, followed by Stanton and Hocking. Henry Slattery and Angus Monfries also competed.

Hocking, who won the club's pre-season time-trial, said he was disappointed Essendon was unable to defend the trophy it won last year.
"I reckon Brent Stanton got a bit of a lift from getting (James) Hird's No. 5 jumper the other day," Hocking said. "We all ran pretty solidly and we all finished within 20 seconds of one another which is good."

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22858708%255E20322,00.html

gg-bomber
4th December 2007, 05:49
Better times than our time-trial from memory. Nice work. Anywhere in the 10-11 minute range is a good effort. :)

ant555
4th December 2007, 07:55
Better times than our time-trial from memory. Nice work. Anywhere in the 10-11 minute range is a good effort. :)

You have remember that the Princes Park circut is actually just under 3.2km and yesterday was 3km so the times where similar to a fraction slower. It was pretty windy down there for the run so that knocked the times back a little.

gossy
14th December 2007, 13:13
I know he's been like this since he has been at the club, but how good shape does houli look in? His body looks ready to handle the pressures of AFL footy, despite only being one year in.

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/07/Ron-Clarke-Classic-002.jpg

DaSawx
14th December 2007, 13:34
If GO'D can improve his defensive awareness and his skills continue their natural improvement we'll have ourselves a player

Already has a good engine for his age and has good goal awareness for a midfielder, just need a few more refinements

jetta2davey
14th December 2007, 16:06
I have never seen a 19 year old with that sort of body, those arms are amazing!!!!

Longy413
14th December 2007, 21:51
Not sure what the fuss is, I saw a 19 year old last Saturday night that had a body that was much more impressive.

Her arms weren't amazing, but her "bust" certainly was.

I reckon you blokes are getting carried away.

jetta2davey
14th December 2007, 23:53
lol longy you old dawg

diesel1
15th December 2007, 20:44
His always had freakish abililty, if i recall it he kicked 110 goals odd in the U14s playing majority of the time as a midfielder. But I would have to agree, he needs to be a more complete player. Since I've known him, his never played in the back half. I'm sure Knights would of picked that up last year and would of told him to get it right during the preseason. But Essendon have picked a gem in Bachar Houli.

Schmick
17th February 2008, 00:18
Hooley Dooley, didn't he look good against the Lions. Will be in the best 22 come rd 1.

kelvin_sheedy
17th February 2008, 07:55
His zip and run throughout the middle was fantastic.

His kicking looked sublime and he hit targets and put it to our advantage every time.

He's the exact midfielder we've been missing the past 3 years.

On that form I can see him in our best 22 come round 1.

Pawtucket Patriot
17th February 2008, 08:51

His kicking looked sublime and he hit targets and put it to our advantage every time.

He plays as though he has been playing at AFL level for 10 years. Whenever he gets the ball you know it will be used well.

TheDon35
17th February 2008, 09:09

Spot on.

He's crucial to us moving on and becoming a contender. Must play round 1.

MAG87
17th February 2008, 14:58
played superbly yesterday. had 25 touches. hoping knights plays him round 1.

jetta2davey
17th February 2008, 16:23
what a performance last night. With his talent and work ethic he will become one of the premier mids in the comp, of that i have no doubt.

hulld
17th February 2008, 18:47
will be interesting to see if he above guys like jobe, jj and pev come round 1. because i reckon there is only 1 spot for the four of them if we have no injuries

MAG87
22nd February 2008, 23:26
another superb performance.

B-Bomber
23rd February 2008, 00:46
Loved watching him rack up possessions through the corridor. Not sure which guy I liked more Bachar or Kyle :confused:

Tony Delaney
25th February 2008, 21:18
Bashar is a gun player and bloke. At our local 2007 footy finals my wife was arriving outside the ground and the only person near her also was Bashar coming to watch. Needless to say she was surprised and happy that he came straight out with a polite hello to her. If you ever get the chance to have a chat to him don't hesitate. Not big headed at all.

He should play round one and hopefully heaps of games.

The Dustbin
26th February 2008, 07:40
Always looks well balanced and that left foot is lethal. HB is his spot.

:thumbsu:

Bombers42
26th February 2008, 14:40
yer hoping for a good season from him

TheDon35
26th February 2008, 16:50
What a star in the making. Great value bet for the Rising star award. Will be a huge part of our team this year

FandangoDingo
28th February 2008, 14:47
What a gem. Like everything about this kid. Looks sensational. Could turn into a champion!

hulld
28th February 2008, 16:09
i can't believe basher and remo were such late draft picks. i understand that remo was just 17, but look at the amount of talent he has. whilst basher just oozes class

fishguts
28th February 2008, 19:05
I truly hope that he gets all the oppurtunitys in the world because this guy could become great. Not James Hird Great, Possibly Simon Black like. But if he got anywhere near Black I'd be happy.

CarlosHernandez
29th February 2008, 05:03
Seems to be a lot more level headed since his few senior appearances last year, and uses his disposal well.

Seemed a bit rushed in his first game, which is understandable!

Longy413
29th February 2008, 08:13
The biggest change he's made in his game thus far is that he's now running in straight lines.

The move to half back has been a good one for him, it's taken the u-turn out of his game.

Houli2Gumbleton
1st March 2008, 11:08
we really missed him last night

TheDon35
1st March 2008, 11:40
we really missed him last night

Agree. I think he would have been the extra 5% last night. Ability to run through the line and break the game open, as well as pin point targets is critical for us.

DaSawx
1st March 2008, 12:43
Houli, Lovett and Winderlich all have good disposal which we missed, hopefully last night was a one off average performance

hulld
1st March 2008, 13:14
we missed basher's and dyson's speed and foot skills last night

diesel1
1st March 2008, 17:05
i can't believe basher and remo were such late draft picks. i understand that remo was just 17, but look at the amount of talent he has. whilst basher just oozes class

After looking at his CV, and seeing 1st hand how he dominated games, there would only be one reason why he slumped so low. Dont need to mention it on here, anyone with half a brain would know why he did.

Go get a copy of the carnival and you tell me if he wasnt impressive enough to be considered All Australian. Not to mention he was just coming back from a very serious injury and had very limited game practice.

Merv Neagle
1st March 2008, 19:41
After looking at his CV, and seeing 1st hand how he dominated games, there would only be one reason why he slumped so low. Dont need to mention it on here, anyone with half a brain would know why he did.

Go get a copy of the carnival and you tell me if he wasnt impressive enough to be considered All Australian. Not to mention he was just coming back from a very serious injury and had very limited game practice.

It was injury concerns and not what you are alluding to for him slipping to his pick.

Don't forget it was a very strong draft and there were many good players picked after the first round

RAW TALENT
2nd March 2008, 08:19
will Bachar fit in hes a wing/HBF player but essendon look so good he may miss out

Forward Line: Davey Lloyd A.Welsh
Half Forwards: Jetta Lucas Monfries
Centre: Lovett Watson Winderlich
Halfback: Dempsey Fletcher Houli
Backs: N.L.Murray M.Michael Peverill

Onball: Hille Stanton Dyson

Mcveigh,Mcphee,Laycock,Ramanauskas Bench I feel winderlich and houli may start bench and mcphee and Mcveigh play wings/Hbf

hulld
2nd March 2008, 16:21
get monfries out, pev tries hard but he can't kick. he is a liability

FandangoDingo
3rd March 2008, 09:59
will Bachar fit in hes a wing/HBF player but essendon look so good he may miss out

Mcveigh,Mcphee,Laycock,Ramanauskas Bench I feel winderlich and houli may start bench and mcphee and Mcveigh play wings/Hbf

Please try using some punctuation. I'm not being a stickler, it's just that really bad spelling, teamed with an absence of any punctuation makes it's really difficult to understand what you're trying to say. I'm tired of trying to decipher your posts. :o

Apart from that, you're doing much goodly! ;)

MAG87
8th March 2008, 14:16
had at least 25 touches last night. was superb. had a quiet 3rd quarter but was instrumental in the 1st half.

nameless
8th March 2008, 15:22
had at least 25 touches last night. was superb. had a quiet 3rd quarter but was instrumental in the 1st half.

yeah he was good last night, great foot skills i thought. He seemed to get the ball a lot from the kick ins.

Schmick
9th March 2008, 10:38
The bandwagon must be overflowing by now.......

MAG87
9th March 2008, 13:08
The bandwagon must be overflowing by now.......

been a houli supporter before he was even drafted.

SAINTS 4 07 FLAG
15th March 2008, 21:22
went to the bombers eagles came last weekend..cheered every time this champ got the pill,such a great bloke and such a good player. I was shocked to see that in Matt Burgans view he did not make the bombers best 22 on the bombers afl site "Flag Form Guide"

Ziltoid
16th March 2008, 12:06
went to the bombers eagles came last weekend..cheered every time this champ got the pill,such a great bloke and such a good player. I was shocked to see that in Matt Burgans view he did not make the bombers best 22 on the bombers afl site "Flag Form Guide"

You would think that if knights has been saying "We'll play the kids" that Burgan would have put some kids in there, such as Houli over Jason Johnson or pev.. Personally I'm looking forward to him playing and I hope he plays from round 1, he's deserved it so far with his performances in the pre-season matches.

Benno_900
17th March 2008, 01:03
Spoke to Bachar. Great bloke, said he'll play round 1 and will take it a week at a time from there. :thumbsu:

Ryder Is God
17th March 2008, 18:53
Muslim interest is booming

Author: Chelsea Roffey

A LEADING Islamic spokesperson says the popularity of Australian football among Muslims in Victoria is booming, thanks to Muslim role model and Essendon on-baller Bachar Houli.

At a diversity training session for AFL Victoria staff last week, Waleed Ali, a well known representative from the Muslim community and spokesperson for the Islamic Council of Victoria said ethnic tensions can make young Muslims feel alienated but he does not believe the current climate is causing them to withdraw from sport.

He said concerns centring on Muslim communities in south western Sydney and the ethnic divisions occurring at some rugby league matches were not issues affecting Australian football matches.

“In south western Sydney, which is probably the hottest area for these sorts of issues, they’re [Muslim youth] fanatical followers of the NRL. They’ve got Hassim El Masri playing for the Bulldogs,” Ali said.

“The feeling around the Bulldogs is in some ways a tribal one. It’s become almost an ethnic club, and it’s been expressed in unrest in crowds.

“They’re getting into sport but not necessarily in a way that is integrative.”

Ali said football provided Muslims in Australia ‘something to hang on to’ during times when groups risked alienation from the wider community.

“My feeling is that interest in Australian Rules among Muslims in Victoria is booming,” he said.

“There are a couple of reasons for that: One, increased numbers of the community are being born here, into their local game. It’s not a game they have to learn.

“Two, the emergence of Bachar Houli at Essendon has just set a fire through young sectors of the Muslim community, and the Lebanese community in particular.

“People who had no interest in football are suddenly mad Essendon supporters.”

He said role models like Houli provided young Muslims the opportunity to see themselves succeeding.

“That’s important because if you feel your identity prevents you from achieving anything then what you usually do is you construct an identity that’s much more antagonistic and oppositional,” he said.

http://afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=56425

Schmick
17th March 2008, 19:27
Spoke to Bachar. Great bloke, said he'll play round 1 and will take it a week at a time from there. :thumbsu:
That's a relief to hear :thumbsu:. I wasn't 100% sure whether knights would actually stick to his word and play the young blokes.

bomber69
19th March 2008, 20:14
should be definite starter on monday,
averaged 93 SC points in his 3 NAB cup games so looks to be in for a big year

Schmick
24th March 2008, 17:04
Surely he'll recieve a Rising Star nomination after this weeks performance and hopefully it'll be the 1st of many.

Boris_Bewick
24th March 2008, 17:59
I think Dempsey deserves the nom more than Houli after today's performance. Great to see Houli get so much of it, but Dempsey for mine was much more polished and important to our win. Houli got a lot of it late. Top games by both

Essendon_Hornet
24th March 2008, 19:35
Bachar well done mate, showed your talent last year and looks like you've had a good pre season. Good luck for the rest of the season.

WindyHillWatcher
24th March 2008, 19:45
bachar houli... hes like solomon with a brain! im on the bandwagon! love ya work mate. keep it coming.

aaronm46
25th March 2008, 17:57
congrats to houls well deserved

mojon95
26th March 2008, 17:27
He said that to him and most of the players, Knights was more like a friend and a bit of a joker. Thats show's he tries to create a good atmosphere at the club, which sounds great. He also said that "Religion came first but, religion is nothing without family, and religion tells you to get a job and enjoy yourself which i am doing playing AFL footy. Great to hear him soooo upbeat and reading fopr more action at the top level.
Thoughts???

The Dustbin
26th March 2008, 19:48
Fantastic young man. :thumbsu:

goal sneak
26th March 2008, 19:51
Every time i hear this kid speak i am left impressed. Very smart, speaks well. Can definately see him being a leader at the EFC in the future.

thebigboy
26th March 2008, 20:03
He was super impressive on monday. Just wanted the footy and when he got it he used it superbly.

Hopefully he can keep it up because with performances like that he will be vital for the long term.

Houli2Gumbleton
26th March 2008, 22:22
my fav player. Is a gun

bomber69
27th March 2008, 17:21
Who else is with me in saying houli got hard done by?

I just thought i would post this because i think the way in which the supercoach points were awarded on the weekend made me think - is it rigged?

Houli managed a 26 disposal game and only scored a 65

Johnson scored 5 goals (3 of them were imo lucky, the ball spilling out the back) and managed 182 points.

I just think that maybe the Herald Sun pay extra points to players that are more "famous" then others. I know some will disagree, as they do have a system in which points are awarded, but i still think there are ways to "cheat" it. maybe a "hard ball get" is payed to those of greater status more often?

sens_bombers
27th March 2008, 17:27
Houli's becoming my favourite player. He looked great on monday.

Andre 2000
28th March 2008, 03:02
Had a fitty on him at $21 for the rising star. I procrastinated though. Could've got him at $41, had I got my arse into gear a couple of days earlier. He's now $8, 2nd favourite behind Hawkins. Anyone else get on him?

jimmy j hird
31st March 2008, 15:26
Houli is a gun, keeps this up he will easily win the rising star award, and hopefully he keeps this up for many years to come.