View Full Version : Eddie Betts
Look I seriously seem to here hype about this guy, I have seen very little to show me why people here are talking like he is the next super star.
He seems way to small and yes, peter bell, libba and other players were small, but this guy seems to have done nothing over the last few weeks I have really watched, besides one good goal 2 weeks ago....
Just my thought
a1118374
17 Jul 2007, 02:11
agree. being shown up too much against bigger boddies. his defensive pressure is his strength but he couldnt grab the swans players they just brushed him off
blue_cookie
17 Jul 2007, 02:22
agree. being shown up too much against bigger boddies. his defensive pressure is his strength but he couldnt grab the swans players they just brushed him off
i reckon that he doesnt do his job properly. hes one of the smallest blokes in the afl, yet always seems to be going for big marks. i dont know why other players kick to him overhead coz he has no real chance of marking it. he should be at the big mens feet, crumbing it like a good small forward. i wouldnt be dissapointed at all if we delisted him and got an upgraded version.
a1118374
17 Jul 2007, 02:37
i reckon that he doesnt do his job properly. hes one of the smallest blokes in the afl, yet always seems to be going for big marks. i dont know why other players kick to him overhead coz he has no real chance of marking it. he should be at the big mens feet, crumbing it like a good small forward. i wouldnt be dissapointed at all if we delisted him and got an upgraded version.
often not his fault. but is at times. sometimes you see the long kick to him 1 on 1 with opponent and go WTF. brings us to the terrible decision marking with some....most of our team
I really hope we can trade him for a late draft pick. He would have to be the most overated player on our list so hopefully other teams think that he is good so we could get something for him.
Whats his contract like? And what do you think we could get for him?
Blue Dawn
17 Jul 2007, 03:22
Did kick the 'Goal of the Year' last year. Is also the best tackler in our team but has been struggling to have an impact or contribute enough of late. Needs to lift or we'd happily take a 3rd rounder i'd think.
Il Naso De Gastev
17 Jul 2007, 09:51
Would probably pick up some type of illness in a straight swap for Eddie.
Hopeless.
I really think that Eddie is worth persisting with. By the very nature of the position he plays, he can have a bad day just by the way comes off the packs - for instance, he could be front and centre, where a good rover should be, and if the ball doesn't fall in that area, then more often than not, the ball gets cleared.
Also keep in mind that he is just coming back from a hamstring injury, and he'd be a little short of match fitness.
If he can average 1-2 goals a week, and finish the season with 25-40 goals, I reckon that's a pretty good result.
Go_Blues!
17 Jul 2007, 10:16
Not hopeless - has pretty good goal sense but just to weak at the contest and lacks the body strength to play in that position. Also, to play as a small forward, you need to run in straight lines. Eddie is to afraid to take the hits and therefore does not get the ball when he should. When he does get the ball, his goal sense is pretty good, but generally, when Eddie gets the ball, he is not running in heavy traffic and therefore makes kicking goals a bit easier. I guess some people say that he gets a lot of contested posessions - well he is a forward!! Also, his defensive pressure is good, and that would be a great bonus if he could hit a contest as well, but since that is really the only positive side of his game, I don't think you can justify his position in the team. Maybe it is a bit like a midfielder who has great skills but can't get the ball - very useful to have good skills, but you need to get the ball.
Go_Blues!
17 Jul 2007, 10:21
I really think that Eddie is worth persisting with. By the very nature of the position he plays, he can have a bad day just by the way comes off the packs - for instance, he could be front and centre, where a good rover should be, and if the ball doesn't fall in that area, then more often than not, the ball gets cleared.
Also keep in mind that he is just coming back from a hamstring injury, and he'd be a little short of match fitness.
If he can average 1-2 goals a week, and finish the season with 25-40 goals, I reckon that's a pretty good result.
It is true that small forwards can have bad days, but it is more the way he goes about it. I think his goal average is a bit misleading since Carltons forward line is generally open with long kicks coming in to a contest - this is the perfect scenario for a small forward because if offers a lot of oportunity to pick the ball off the contest as it goes to ground. Also, I think that his problems existed way before he did his hamstring.
Problem is, I don't see too many options to replace him with. Good small forwards are very important and we don't have one....still, not the only position that we don't have quality.
Il Naso De Gastev
17 Jul 2007, 10:24
Fair enough he's dependent on supply of others to a degree and it's easy to have a bad day if the ball doesn't fall the right way, but he needs to be able to get the ball in his own right. He is not capable of beating any of his direct opponents one out.
At least he's better than Milne!
At least he's better than Milne!no he's not. milne is alot better than eddie.
Michael Jezz
17 Jul 2007, 11:24
He is a better player at 20 than either Milne or Leon Davis. You need a few on the list that are specific role players. If we delist him we will end up using a 3rd or fourth round pick on another crumbing forward instead of a tall or backman. There are 10 players you would delist before Eddie betts. Eddie is also going to kick betwenn 25 & 35 goals a year for many years to come. He came back after a serious hammy. He has the rare ability to do the freakish. One day he is going to win a final for us. The day we play finals again and you wake up in the morning and its pouring with rain and we make a late change and bring in Betts for Jacobs, you will thank Wayne Hughes for his fore sight in using a valueless PSD selection to win us a final.
He is a better player at 20 than either Milne or Leon Davis. You need a few on the list that are specific role players. If we delist him we will end up using a 3rd or fourth round pick on another crumbing forward instead of a tall or backman. There are 10 players you would delist before Eddie betts. Eddie is also going to kick betwenn 25 & 35 goals a year for many years to come. He came back after a serious hammy. He has the rare ability to do the freakish. One day he is going to win a final for us. The day we play finals again and you wake up in the morning and its pouring with rain and we make a late change and bring in Betts for Jacobs, you will thank Wayne Hughes for his fore sight in using a valueless PSD selection to win us a final.I disagree that he is a better player than Leon Davis at the same age. Every Carlton supporter would like to think that, but at the same age Davis was doing the same things as Eddie is now and more.
I agree however that we should hold onto Eddie for a bit longer.
EddieBettsIsAChamp
17 Jul 2007, 17:25
He's recently been troubled by injury so theres one thing to his credit, and although he rarely gets touches, he's allways around contests, chasing opposition and putting on superb pressure. And he's a little goal sneak aswell, you never know when or where he'll pop up. I'd keep him, my Big Footy Account depends on it!
drusswaylander
17 Jul 2007, 19:51
Look I seriously seem to here hype about this guy, I have seen very little to show me why people here are talking like he is the next super star.
He seems way to small and yes, peter bell, libba and other players were small, but this guy seems to have done nothing over the last few weeks I have really watched, besides one good goal 2 weeks ago....
Just my thought
Not sure why you didn't put this in the other thread mate;)
As an added bonus you would have been able to discuss Jonty Rhodes:D
I'm not sure that all that many people are calling him a future superstar. It seems that those putting the boots in are using that term and seem to be judging him on that status. He is a role player.
He is a cult figure which does not mean he is considered a star. People like him, but how often are cult figures the best player at a club. Some are, but most get the cult status for various reasons:)
drusswaylander
17 Jul 2007, 20:01
Not hopeless - has pretty good goal sense but just to weak at the contest and lacks the body strength to play in that position. Also, to play as a small forward, you need to run in straight lines. Eddie is to afraid to take the hits and therefore does not get the ball when he should. When he does get the ball, his goal sense is pretty good, but generally, when Eddie gets the ball, he is not running in heavy traffic and therefore makes kicking goals a bit easier. I guess some people say that he gets a lot of contested posessions - well he is a forward!! Also, his defensive pressure is good, and that would be a great bonus if he could hit a contest as well, but since that is really the only positive side of his game, I don't think you can justify his position in the team. Maybe it is a bit like a midfielder who has great skills but can't get the ball - very useful to have good skills, but you need to get the ball.
No offence mate, but how can you say the bolded bit. He is up to his ears in heavy traffic, that is part of his problem;) He doesn't just get a lot of contested possessions he gets more than most. Not sure that that is the profile of someone who is "not running in heavy traffic". Even Gastev would probably concede that as he loves to say he always gets "rag dolled"
walkers a legend
17 Jul 2007, 21:32
Did kick the 'Goal of the Year' last year. Is also the best tackler in our team but has been struggling to have an impact or contribute enough of late. Needs to lift or we'd happily take a 3rd rounder i'd think.
could be like sampi who took mark of the year and is going to be delisted
Bluebear
17 Jul 2007, 21:49
Cool, I have been waiting for someone to start this thread.:cool:
Eddie has had an ordinary few weeks coming back from a fairly major Hammy. Should go back to the two's this week to recapture some form. Grigg or Blackwell to get a chance.
Now, if only someone would start a Josh Kennedy thread or a sack Pagan thread.......we really should discuss these issues.:rolleyes:
Jonty Rhodes......a very capable player.:p
Eddiebettsisachamp He's recently been troubled by injury so theres one thing to his credit,"
thats what we give him credit for?
being injured.....
ITS A SAD DAY FOR EVERYONE THEN MATE
EddieBettsIsAChamp
18 Jul 2007, 21:58
Eddiebettsisachamp He's recently been troubled by injury so theres one thing to his credit,"
thats what we give him credit for?
being injured.....
ITS A SAD DAY FOR EVERYONE THEN MATE
Let me rephrase that then, he's just comeback from injury so theres one thing on his defence
Il Naso De Gastev
18 Jul 2007, 22:01
Cool, I have been waiting for someone to start this thread.:cool:
Eddie has had an ordinary few weeks coming back from a fairly major Hammy. Should go back to the two's this week to recapture some form. Grigg or Blackwell to get a chance.
Now, if only someone would start a Josh Kennedy thread or a sack Pagan thread.......we really should discuss these issues.:rolleyes:
Jonty Rhodes......a very capable player.:p
Betts = Dud
Jonty = Gun
Bluebear = Gleefully receives rectum intrusion:)
Blue Dawn
18 Jul 2007, 22:10
could be like sampi who took mark of the year and is going to be delisted
The obvious difference being that Eddie actually WANTS to play.;)
AndyWalkersGirl
18 Jul 2007, 22:26
Betts = Dud
Jonty = Gun
LMAO!!!
I dont know what this board would do without your wonderful sense of humour and your ability to make people laugh and smile all the time!
You crack me up Il Naso! :D:D:D
Hahahaha. You're so funny. i can't wait for BB to read this, because Im sure he'll agree that you should be doing stand up comedy in your spare time. You have a natural talent there. :thumbsu:
drusswaylander
18 Jul 2007, 23:05
Betts = Dud
Jonty = Gun
Fair dinkum:D
How old are you:o
blues4flag
18 Jul 2007, 23:34
Can kick the odd freakish goal, but is nothing more than crumber due to his lack of fitness. Keep him on the list, he has his role, will never be a star but if he can kick his 1 or 2 a week and provide pressure in the forward line, then he's doing his role in the side.
legendtofski
18 Jul 2007, 23:34
Eddie Betts has quickly become our version of Andrew Krakouer...
He's quickly becoming an Aboriginal version of Houlihan, and is no longer a 'legend' in my book..
Actually Eddie and Houla should be our prize crumbers, but both are too puny and soft.
Bentick's My Man.
18 Jul 2007, 23:57
I think Eddie will never be a superstar.
He will be a good player when on song who can kick a couple of exciting goals a game when he's at his best.
As all his fans say, his forward pressure is brilliant BUT..
All the newer aboriginal forward players have something on Eddie.
Travis Varcoe is taller, stronger, probably the same pace and a better tackler.
Alwyn Davey is a freak! So is his brother.
Eddie is an alright player but we cant expect him to be as good as those 3 will be.
A new coach might not see him in our future if Pagan goes?
Bluebear
19 Jul 2007, 12:40
Betts = Dud
Jonty = Gun
Wow, great arguement.
I can understand why you'd be afraid to make an arguement you consider to be intelligent after you were shot down in the other thread........but this fixation you have with Eddie and me is really bordering on a personality disorder.
Please contribute to the thread topic, but you can leave out the rest.
I'm board with it and it really adds nothing other than to show your true colours.
Not the same argument again!!!!!!!
MODS MERGE PLEASE.
...and forget about that annoying Rhodes character....
What about Ross Edwards??