View Full Version : Joel Macdonald
Lady Lawrence
19th January 2007, 14:59
over to you - Warwick
Warwick
20th January 2007, 11:09
I expect this to be the most visited thread on BigFooty.
Stayed tuned!
danielcanberra
20th April 2007, 23:29
http://www.lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=41544
Den Diaries: Joel MacDonald
3:00:00 PM Thu 19 April, 2007
for Brisbane Lions Football Club
News
Our football club returns to the scene of the crime this weekend where I ‘did’ my knee and had to have a reconstruction in May last year.
The team goes to Carrara for a big game against the Kangaroos, and I’m happy to say I’m at least training alongside the boys for most of the week now.
I’m doing all the main sessions, and more.
If they play on a Sunday like last weekend, they don’t train on the Monday, but we still do. I had a sore foot from doing so much running lately and missed Monday’s session, but was expecting to be lapping up more work today.
The rehab group also tends to do ‘extras’ on a Friday, as the main group usually play on the Saturday and have a light session.
The ‘extras’ usually include riding a bike at high intensity or boxing.
The boxing is great – it’s a good way to get some of the frustration out of your system, especially when you are injured.
The countdown is on for me now and I’m hoping to be able to play again in about three week’s time.
It has been a long 11 months.
That’s why it was really good to see Haddles back in the seniors and playing well last weekend. He has worked really hard, and it gives inspiration and confidence to guys like myself, Anthony Corrie and Pat Garner.
Mentally it is very tough to deal with such a long rehabilitation period, and doubly so for Haddles and now Paddy Garner, who did or have done their knees twice.
That’s why one of the best parts of my rehabilitation was going overseas with Haddles for a month in the middle of last year. We spent most of the time in Greece and had a ball.
The mental break and freshening up was the most important part. I honestly think that if I hadn’t have gone, I would have burnt myself out mentally by now. So it would have been critical for Haddles.
Doing all your rehabilitation alongside the same guys certainly brings you closer together.
You actually feed off each other and many of our rehab exercises like the strength sessions get quite competitive. It’s a really healthy competitiveness and that helps us all.
I’ve got to admit, I have been a terrible watcher of games until the start of this season. I struggled a lot and spent too much time using of energy frustration of not being out there, rather than concentrating on the next goal in my rehabilitation.
But I’m only three or four weeks away from playing now and I’ve got a completely different mindset.
I’ll be at Carrara on Saturday night treating it almost like I’m playing. I’ll be watching for all the places where different guys should be running in different situations and getting mentally prepared for when I do come back.
We might have lost to Sydney last week, but the whole feeling around the club has been awesome all year and nothing changed in that regard.
The guys are really fit and enthusiastic and there’s still a real bubble around the place.
- Joel Macdonald
Warwick
29th April 2007, 15:37
Will be making his return to the reserves very soon.
I'm excited.
The Flying Belgian
29th April 2007, 20:23
Will be making his return to the reserves very soon.
I'm excited.
Looks really fit ATM.
Grimreepah
4th May 2007, 14:00
Link (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,21662310%255E19746,00.html)
Lion vow to fight for spot
03 May 2007 Herald-Sun
Andrew Hamilton
THERE'S always incentive to run an extra lap or add another weight plate in the gym when you are recovering from a knee reconstruction -- seeing blokes who used to be behind you in the pecking order getting a senior game.
Which is why Joel Macdonald is bigger, stronger and fitter than ever. Macdonald makes his return for the Suncoast Lions this weekend, 10 days short of 12 months since he suffered an anterior cruciate ligament injury playing for the Brisbane Lions against Hawthorn at Carrara in Round 7 last year.
"I feel I'm fitter than I have ever been," he said.
"I haven't really stopped training since August. The boys had their off-season but I trained right through.
"The amount of running I've done is more than I ever have."
The Lions are now a different side. Players such as Cheynee Stiller, Scott Harding and Colm Begley have cemented spots in the seniors and Macdonald knows he has a battle to force his way back.
"It will be tough," he said. "I just want to get through this week, have a really good blowout and get through unscathed. Then I'll worry about trying to work my way back into the side."
He will play four 10-minute quarters for the Suncoast Lions, probably across half-back but his eventual goal is to get a start in the midfield.
"One of my strengths is probably my endurance and I like playing on the ball. But we've got a lot of elite onballers so sometimes I play in defence and sometimes forward."
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,5469559,00.jpg
Never fitter: Brisbane Lion Joel Macdonald yesterday. Picture: Glenn Barnes
JMac in front of the member's stand at the Gabba I presume?
His kicking might improve if he unties his leg from that post.
lol, the thing is, it might not ;)
Warwick
7th June 2007, 19:05
You beauty! The JMAC finally makes his return.
MacDonald returns for Lions
for lions.com.au
Joel Macdonald will play his first senior match for the Lions in over 12 months this weekend against the Western Bulldogs.
Macdonald injured his knee against Hawthorn in round 7 last year and required a full knee reconstruction. He played his first match with the Suncoast Lions last month and has since reclaimed his promising form.
Macdonald was one of three inclusions to the Lions side who also recalled Ashley McGrath and Marcus Allan.
Chris Johnson injured his foot against the Tigers last week and is set to miss up to a month while Scott Harding and Chris Schmidt have been omitted.
The Bulldogs included Queenslander Tom Williams, Robert Murphy, Farren Ray and Jarrod Harbrow in place of Jordan McMahon, Sam Power, Cameron Wightand Matthew Robbins.
The full Lions team is:
B: Colm Begley (46), Daniel Merrett (21), Jared Brennan (17)
HB: Jed Adcock (7), Josh Drummond (39), Robert Copeland (30)
C: Tim Notting (8), Nigel Lappin (44), Cheynee Stiller (32)
HF: Justin Sherman (11), Jonathan Brown (16), Troy Selwood (28)
F: Ashley McGrath (9), Joel Patfull (24), Mitch Clark (1)
Foll: Jamie Charman (19), Simon Black (20), Richard Hadley (14)
Emerg: Chris Schmidt (13), Albert Proud (34), Cameron Wood (31)
Time for the doubters to eat humble pie JMAC.
Shun the non-believers!
Hadley also named on the ball. How good will this week be?
TheBrownDog
7th June 2007, 19:41
Hadley also named on the ball. How good will this week be?
It looks like it says "Sherrin" to me.
konstas_87
7th June 2007, 20:30
It looks like it says "Sherrin" to me.
shhhhh!! dont do it.
Grimreepah
17th June 2007, 17:22
It definitely looks like Joel's disposal is a lot better, and even kicked a nice goal there, which I believe was his first ever. Good work Macca:thumbsu:
notting18
17th June 2007, 17:30
Agree, he also has a strong body which we need in the midfield with all our youth.
It would be good if we could get his name spelt correctly on this thread though - mods?
Grimreepah
1st July 2007, 13:31
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=46324)
Comeback kid believes Lions are close
12:48 PM Sun 1 July, 2007
By Simon White
for lions.com.au
DON’T try telling Brisbane Lions utility Joel Macdonald that it takes a player 12-18 months to return to his best following a knee reconstruction.
Three games back after a year out of the game, Macdonald has wasted little time in finding the form he displayed before tearing his anterior cruciate ligament against Hawthorn in round seven, 2006.
As the 22-year-old explained to lions.com.au, he made a conscious decision to ignore the train of thought that says players must ‘feel’ their way back from serious injuries.
“When you are coming back from the knee it’s all about the positives – and I didn’t want anything negative like that running through my head,” Macdonald said.
I had a lot of blokes tell me that you take 12 months or so to get back to where you were. But, to be honest, I don’t reckon it’s true.
“I used it as motivation. I said to myself, ‘Why do you have to wait 12 months to start playing your best footy again’, and I planned around making sure it wasn’t like that.
“I knew I wasn’t going to get a full pre-season in, so I’ve made sure I’ve worked on my fitness as much as possible and put in extra sessions.
“In terms of making sure my reading of the play was there, I made sure I watched as much footy as I could and really studied the guys who player similar positions to me.
“And I also knew my touch work wasn’t going to be as naturally sharp as normal, having not played for 12 months – so I worked really hard on that.”
Macdonald was among the Lions’ best in Saturday night’s heart-breaking seven-point loss to Port Adelaide at the Gabba.
Used mainly on a wing, he had 21 possessions, ran hard for 15 handball receives and was solid around the contest with a team-high six hard-ball gets.
“I’m pretty happy at the moment playing on the wing,” he said.
“I’m enjoying being able to support the other guys that play around the middle of the ground at the stoppages and use my run.
“At the same time, it was pretty good to slot back into defence in my first game back, because I’ve played a fair bit of my footy there.”
Having not joined in the club song since last May, Macdonald is understandably eager to celebrate a victory.
The Lions haven’t won since round six, but the Mt Gravatt product believes the Port game – which included a stirring and nearly successful last-quarter comeback – points to the fact that another victory isn’t too far around the corner.
“I thought we were really improved from how we played against Geelong,” he said.
“We were pretty stagnant in that game and against Port we moved the ball much quicker, started to play the way we want to play and kicked goals as a result.
“It’s about taking some risk, taking off when you have the ball in your hand and calling the forwards into leading out towards you into space.
“Sometimes it’s hard to take those risks. But we haven’t won a game for six weeks and we’ve got absolutely nothing to lose.
“Leigh [Matthews] isn’t going to be shouting at us for making a mistake when we’re having a crack.”
http://i13.tinypic.com/6fexf8w.jpg
lionsrock9
1st July 2007, 13:40
How can a player 12-18 months out return to his best following a knee reconstruction. And improve his disposal and evasive skills so much?
LuckyLuke
1st July 2007, 18:14
How can a player 12-18 months out return to his best following a knee reconstruction. And improve his disposal and evasive skills so much?
Maybe it the elastic band? :D
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,5469559,00.jpg
don vito of fitzroy
1st July 2007, 19:47
How can a player 12-18 months out return to his best following a knee reconstruction. And improve his disposal and evasive skills so much?The knee reconstruction straightened his leg for the first time.
BTW, he has been sensational so far. He played a great game against Port. I didn't see any big mistakes from him.
BigCat2
2nd July 2007, 00:28
A top game from JMac. Was hard at it all night, worked really hard and showed a bit of polish with some of his disposals. Isn't the quickest but has the ability to run all day (beep of 15+ I think?).
lionsrock9
2nd July 2007, 01:14
Maybe we should break his left leg and both his arms, Then he might be a better player 12-18 months later.....BTW jks;) don't take it seriously.
Seriously what could've happend, Positive thinking or meditation, yoga etc.
Grimreepah
2nd July 2007, 11:55
Not long ago a few people thought he might be on the scrap heap. Now he's looking like he can play an important role for us.
BigCat2
2nd July 2007, 12:01
Seriously what could've happend, Positive thinking or meditation, yoga etc.
JMac was more of an athlete first and footballer second. It's natural that skills and other footballing qualities continue to develop. Perhaps he'll never be top shelf in disposals, but judging by some of his recent improvements we'd hope that he can reach a standard adequate for AFL.
Grimreepah
7th July 2007, 22:52
I can't believe how well Macdonald is playing:eek: He looks so much stronger, and I think that's giving him a lot of confidence to stay composed under pressure.
Warwick
7th July 2007, 23:02
Played an absolute blinder tonight.
How often did he go in and get the footy out in the 3rd quarter!!
Certainly answered a few of his critics.
notting18
8th July 2007, 10:21
I have never the met the guy but you can just tell becuase after a knee reconstruction - he can come back and play the best football of his career, that this guy has guts.
Good to see quality people like that at the club.
The Flying Belgian
8th July 2007, 12:10
Is filling that Chris Scott role across halfback. Good physicality and what's more, composure. Great to see.
Kochie 16
8th July 2007, 16:03
Shruged the tackles and was VERY good with the ball! Can't belive I once doubted JMac!
Snuka
8th July 2007, 20:50
Just watched the game fellas and IMO the big story of the match was Jmac...in the 2nd and 3rd quarters really imposed himself on the game. Can't believe how strong he looked in the contests. Bullied his way to the ball and then bullied his way out (it looked Voss-esque at times) and disposal under pressure has improved immensely.
charles202
9th July 2007, 08:23
Not long ago a few people thought he might be on the scrap heap. Now he's looking like he can play an important role for us.
I was one of those ppl, and must admit that i was wrong.
Hugely impressed with him over the last two games, where did that footwrk come from!!!
ZoBlitz
9th July 2007, 11:37
He's showed alot of poise since he's come back. He hasn't panicked and he's usually picked the right option. And he's been effective with his kicks, not shanking them all over the place.
You have to give the guy credit for working really hard on his game since he's been out. The improvement level has been unbelievable.
Ceebee
9th July 2007, 13:08
He has been fantastic and it is an absolute credit to his strength of character. Well done Joel.:thumbsu:
lionsrock9
9th July 2007, 21:45
What can I say one of my favourite players this year, can't believe people once doubted you.
dlanod
13th July 2007, 09:22
I didn't think he'd ever be a star but I always thought he was a pretty solid player who was getting unfairly criticised. After seeing his play against WC, it was even more impressive than I ever expected of him. There was some real quality in his movement through traffic and vision ahead of him there.
joshhem
14th July 2007, 04:17
Can we please fix the spelling of his name in the title?
Ruse
14th July 2007, 10:31
Dude are you on crystal meth? you're still on your computer at 4:17 in the morning. aren't u a little tired?
The Flying Belgian
17th July 2007, 08:28
It is done.
Kochie 16
17th July 2007, 16:06
It is done.
Thank you, it was starting to get annoying!:cool:
Grimreepah
18th July 2007, 10:17
http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/2623/macdonaldnx2.jpg
I never knew his nickname was 'The Duke'.
danielcanberra
18th July 2007, 10:28
Thank you, it was starting to get annoying!:cool:
And I needed a good laugh this early in the morning.
POBT
18th July 2007, 11:17
The Duke brushes up on his Grammar (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=47479)
In-form Lions defender Joel Macdonald returned to his old Brisbane Grammar School to recognise a significant development in the private college’s sporting history.
AFL goalposts were erected on the school’s pristine No.2 Oval at Northgate as a symbol of its commitment to AFL Queensland’s Independent Schools competition.
Brisbane Grammar’s two AFL teams will play out of the facility for the first time, having rejoined the Navy Independent Schools Cup last season after several years in limbo.
Macdonald and Lions rookie Scott Clouston – who both represented Grammar in the Independent Schools Cup – as well as ruckman Beau McDonald, attended a one-hour AFL clinic to work with the students and inspect the facility for themselves.
Macdonald, nicknamed the Duke, has been among the Lions’ best players over the last month since returning from a full knee reconstruction.
Grammar’s AFL program is being fostered by the school’s Director of Cricket and AFL Darren Holder, who is heavily involved with Mt Gravatt in the AFLQ State league.
Why is he called The Duke? I've never heard that nickname for him.
The Queensland GPS schools have produced a number of AFL players. On our list, there is JMac and Clouston (Grammar), Harding (Churchie), Charman (Nudgee), Allan (Terrace). There might be more - I'm not sure if any of our Gold Coast contingent went to The Southport School.
It is a good sign about the status of Australian Rules in Queensland that those incredibly strong rugby strongholds are producing players of AFL standard. The Indy Schools competition has years where it is quite strong. It is played after the GPS rugby season is over and so you get a lot of athletic and strong rugby guys giving it a go alongside more established Aussie Rules players. It makes for quite a good competition considering Aussie Rules is lower on the GPS school totem pole than basketball, soccer, water polo, gymnastics and even chess.
Grimreepah
17th August 2007, 01:16
Link (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22258501%255E19746,00.html)
MacDonald in doubt
A KIDNEY complaint looks set to force Brisbane Lions utility Joel MacDonald out of tomorrow night's must-win clash with Sydney at the Gabba.
MacDonald, who has been in career-best form since returning from a year on the sidelines with a knee injury in Round 11, was last night named to take his place in the back pocket.
But he skipped training and it is understood he will be a late withdrawal, the third change from the side that fell to Hawthorn at the MCG last week. Rhan Hooper is out with suspension and Matthew Moody was omitted.
Club officials would not reveal the exact nature of MacDonald's illness last night, describing it only as a problem with his kidney.
http://img340.imageshack.us/img340/2065/macdonaldvd5.jpg
TheBrownDog
17th August 2007, 01:27
Link (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22258501%255E19746,00.html)
If JMac can't play... bring on the Sherminator!
BigCat2
17th August 2007, 01:28
Bring on the Sherminator!
Moods is also in the emergencies... :D
notting18
17th August 2007, 09:28
If JMac can't play... bring on the Sherminator!
Will might also be a shot - reports say he has been doing very well in HBF role for the 2s
Lace Out
17th August 2007, 09:42
We wouldnt want too many more injuries if we scrape the barrel and all that's there is Moody
Saints Premiers 2006
17th August 2007, 09:48
dempsey who is on essendons list went to bbc too
Warwick
17th August 2007, 09:55
The Duke brushes up on his Grammar (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=47479)
Why is he called The Duke? I've never heard that nickname for him.
The Queensland GPS schools have produced a number of AFL players. On our list, there is JMac and Clouston (Grammar), Harding (Churchie), Charman (Nudgee), Allan (Terrace). There might be more - I'm not sure if any of our Gold Coast contingent went to The Southport School.
It is a good sign about the status of Australian Rules in Queensland that those incredibly strong rugby strongholds are producing players of AFL standard.
I don't think Allan went to Terrace, but I could be wrong.
Tom Williams also came from Terrace but they refuse to have an aussie rules program. Nearly every other GPS school is good enough to give it a go. We tried to have the game included when I was there, but to no avail.
TheBrownDog
17th August 2007, 12:12
Tom Williams also came from Terrace but they refuse to have an aussie rules program. Nearly every other GPS school is good enough to give it a go. We tried to have the game included when I was there, but to no avail.
Yeah I went to a private school as well, winter sports were Rugby Union and Soccer... end of discussion. :(
Grimreepah
17th August 2007, 16:47
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22265192-5003410,00.html)
MacDonald contracted a virus that attacked his kidneys and forced him to spend three days in hospital before he was discharged last night.
"He should be OK next week but he has had a virus which affected his kidneys," Matthews said.
"He has been in hospital for a couple of days. He is out now but they still don't think he can play this weekend."
http://img118.imageshack.us/img118/8269/macdonaldzq3.jpg
TheBrownDog
17th August 2007, 16:48
Shermo!!! Shermo!!!
Snuka
8th October 2007, 15:47
Just thought i'd mention the fantastic effort to finish pretty well in the B&F despite playing only 9 games.
Fantastic effort by Mcdonald...really has come back an extremely improved player. Below shows joel asserting himself around the packs...
http://getcontagio.us/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2007/06/hulk.jpg
JOEL SMASH!
Grimreepah
3rd November 2007, 11:48
End of Season Player Review
The much maligned Joel Macdonald missed the start of the season as he was still recovering from a knee reconstruction that he underwent last year. Many were questioning his future before he did his knee, so it is fair to say he was under the pump in 2007.
Macdonald returned through the reserves, showing some good form, and got a senior call up for the round 11 clash against the Bulldogs. He started off with a few quietish games but in round 14 he had a career best game against West Coast, and continued to play very good footy for the rest of the season. Unfortunately his season was cut short when he contracted a virus that kept him out for the last 3 rounds.
As strange as it sounds, it is almost as if the knee reconstruction has been good for JMac’s career. He has returned a lot stronger, and is now doing a lot of the heavy work. He is breaking out of tackles and showing good composure in traffic. He is flying the flag whenever there is a scuffle to look out for the younger blokes. His kicking is much improved too and in general he looks a lot more confident in his play.
All of a sudden Macdonald has become an important player for the Lions, finishing the year 6th highest in votes per game at the B&F. He also adds versatility with his ability to play either in defence or in the midfield. Now with 41 games under his belt, and a full preseason to come, he is poised to have a very good 2008.
http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/813/macdonaldku4.jpg
dlanod
3rd November 2007, 13:22
After seeing some of his work through the midfield this season, brushing through and laying tackles coupled with pretty good disposing of the ball most of the time, it actually makes me think he could be the bigger-bodied midfielder that we're looking for if he keeps it up.
Ruse
3rd November 2007, 16:24
Who needs Hadley when we've got a better player in JMac.
TheBrownDog
3rd November 2007, 16:28
Who needs Hadley when we've got a better player in JMac.
Good point, very similar players.
MacDonald is a far superior athlete, and before the knee recos of both players, you would have had Hadley ahead on skill.
MacDonald now seems to be ahead of both fronts.
BigCat2
3rd November 2007, 18:37
Agreed. Based on this year's form I've put him in my starting 18.
Hadley is probably the better cricketer however.
konstas_87
4th November 2007, 01:15
Hadley is probably the better cricketer however.
:thumbsu:
brenjay
4th November 2007, 08:01
Tom Williams also came from Terrace but they refuse to have an aussie rules program.
whilst i was still living in brisbane a couple of years back - i attended Terrace and never saw one footy! In fact, mates would laugh at the thought of afl :thumbsd:
hopefully times have changed
Fairley
23rd January 2008, 12:36
I'm expecting Jmac to play a half back flank role this year providing some good dash out of the backline. Thoughts?
Ruse
23rd January 2008, 13:36
I'm expecting Jmac to play a half back flank role this year providing some good dash out of the backline. Thoughts?
So who do you think will fill the other hbf role for us this year? Sherman, begley, nuxy, stiller, johnstone, schmidt, kiel or another?
Fairley
23rd January 2008, 13:45
So who do you think will fill the other hbf role for us this year? Sherman, begley, nuxy, stiller, johnstone, schmidt, kiel or another?
Drummond i'd think mate. I personally what Sherman on the forward flank. Maybe Corrie on the back flank, we'll have to see i guess.
Ruse
23rd January 2008, 14:19
I'd like to see drummo at the back pocket. He just doesn't have the dash to take players on plus he does the kick in duties. We tried to play sherman forward earlier in the year with no success so maybe he really is not suited there. I also wouldn't mind seeing JMac in the middle this year. has great endurance and strength. Could be a really great inside mid in the future.:thumbsu:
Fairley
23rd January 2008, 14:58
I'd like to see drummo at the back pocket. He just doesn't have the dash to take players on plus he does the kick in duties. We tried to play sherman forward earlier in the year with no success so maybe he really is not suited there. I also wouldn't mind seeing JMac in the middle this year. has great endurance and strength. Could be a really great inside mid in the future.:thumbsu:
Along with the other 20 players we wouldn't mind seeing in the middle this year. Where are we going to find room to fit all these midfielders in? Haha. :p
lionbear
23rd January 2008, 17:28
Along with the other 20 players we wouldn't mind seeing in the middle this year. Where are we going to find room to fit all these midfielders in? Haha. :p
Well we can be the first team to have Pagan's Paddock in the forward and back lines;)
Grimreepah
23rd January 2008, 19:07
I imagine he'll spend most of his time down back, but he's probably someone that can be used as a Mr Fix It and will get thrown into a few different roles.
Grimreepah
6th March 2008, 14:09
Link (http://www.lions.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=5085&newsId=55916)
Less is more for Macdonald
Author: Simon White
11:46 AM Thu 06 March, 2008
WHEN footballers talk about not overdoing it during their holidays, they are usually referring to the process of unwinding from the rigorous home-and-away season.
For Brisbane Lions utility Joel Macdonald, however, taking it easy over the off-season will now mean taking a step back from his own personal fitness regime.
The 23-year-old missed the Lions’ first two matches of the pre-season following a groin injury and believes the ailment was partly the result of his desire to build on a strong 2007 - in which he came back from a knee reconstruction to play the best football of his young career.
“I had a pretty solid first two months of the pre-season and then I had to back off because my groin flared up and we had to be careful it didn’t turn into osteitis pubis,” Macdonald told lions.com.au.
“A big part of it was probably my own fault, because I was so keen to build on last year and had my heart set on playing all 22 games and stepping my fitness up to a new level.
“Obviously the three to four months of pre-season gets you pretty right to play footy but I think I did too much running of my own during the break and when I was away in Thailand.
“I guess I’ve learnt now to take a holiday as a holiday.”
While Macdonald’s late start to pre-season action wasn’t by design, he hopes to be part of a Lions side that will hit peak form when it is needed most.
The former Mt Gravatt junior joined Lions captains Jonathan Brown and Simon Black in playing his first game of the summer against Geelong at Carrara last Saturday night.
“If you’re peaking at this time of the year, during the pre-season, it’s not really a good thing,” Macdonald said.
“If you look at last year, we played right through to the final of the NAB Cup and although we started the season okay, we then had a lull where we really struggled.
“Going back to the years when the Lions were winning premiership, they weren’t peaking too early in the year and I think that’s what we’re looking at this year.
“I’m sure Browny (Jonathan Brown) or Blacky (Simon Black) will be in pretty good form and shape for Round 1 but they probably won’t start peaking until later in the year – which is what you need over such a long season.”
Because of his stamina and ability to play above his height, Macdonald has filled pretty much every position on the park since debuting in 2004 - from run-with roles against the likes of James Hird, to deputising at centre-half-back and operating as a mobile marking half-forward.
Last year, he settled across half-back and averaged a career-high 17 possessions-per-game.
“I thought I probably played my best footy I’ve every played last year, when I played on the half-back line,” he said.
“I’m probably a guy who benefits from settling down in a position, so hopefully I can play there again this year.
“In previous years it was sometimes a big difficult because I was playing so many different positions – one week I’d be specifically working on goal-kicking, then the next it might be spoiling and then the next it might be tackling or clearances.
“Last year I had a bit more continuity and I think it really helped.”
http://img144.imageshack.us/img144/414/macdonaldxa2.jpg
Ill Nino
6th March 2008, 15:32
^^ Knew he was a Nazi :p
POBT
7th March 2008, 14:47
^^ Knew he was a Nazi :p
You put your left arm in....
Grimreepah
17th March 2008, 11:19
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=56420)
Some people might say that playing West Coast in Perth is a big ask first up, but I love playing in Perth. It’s the biggest ground in the comp and it’s great to have some space to move in to be able to use your speed and endurance and go for a few bounces when you get the chance.
I often wonder how close I came to be playing on Subiaco more regularly because I had the West Coast recruiting manager visit my parents’ home before I got rookie listed by Brisbane. He made a big impression and really sold us on the idea of Perth.
http://img341.imageshack.us/img341/7223/macdonaldou5.jpg
Ruse
13th April 2008, 01:29
He was very good tonight. I keep praying that it's not just flash in the pan and then he'll revert back or the bad ol' days before the knee reco and it looks like God has answered my prayers. Must also be knocking on the door of a midfield berth i would think. perhaps when roe gets back in the defence.
TheBrownDog
13th April 2008, 01:37
He was very good tonight. I keep praying that it's not just flash in the pan and then he'll revert back or the bad ol' days before the knee reco and it looks like God has answered my prayers. Must also be knocking on the door of a midfield berth i would think. perhaps when roe gets back in the defence.
Would be knocking on the door of the "Top 10 hardest buggers to tackle in the AFL".
kizzel
13th April 2008, 02:20
Would be knocking on the door of the "Top 10 hardest buggers to tackle in the AFL".
Damn straight, he shrugs some tackles with ease. I would love to see this guy bursting out of the middle. When Drummond and Roey return I think the move will come..
Grimreepah
13th April 2008, 02:31
Damn straight, he shrugs some tackles with ease.
He has a great fend. It can be a risky tactic because tacklers like to try and pin the arm, but he is strong enough and smart enough to keep getting away with it.
I'm loving his work down back. He keeps getting us out of trouble and I feel confident when the ball is in his hands.
Ceebee
13th April 2008, 08:29
He is becoming one of our enforcers isn't he, brilliant transformation after his recon and it is great to see.
Go get em Joel.:thumbsu:
acuguy
13th April 2008, 09:49
Dare i say he is in "All Australian Form"
Ruse
13th April 2008, 11:52
Yes you may but I wouldn't recommend doing it too often in public.:D
TheBrownDog
27th April 2008, 18:52
Yup.
Ceebee
27th April 2008, 19:33
Another fantastic game.
His composure is amazing and when he has the ball you have complete confidence that he will make good use of it.
I am so pleased for him, it is great to see him doing so well..:thumbsu:
Jubair
28th April 2008, 22:15
I think he was re-made, bionically with parts of all the good things a player should possess. :P
Honestly he has been amazing since his comeback, i have so much confidence with him around the ball, he breaks tackles and seems to use the ball well. He has the agressive edge to him now, which helps him more.
Ruse
28th April 2008, 23:59
I'm salivating the day he moves to the midfield.
mpal6
29th April 2008, 00:32
I'm salivating the day he moves to the midfield.
Not far away, with Roe, Begley, Drummond back, we can alternate JMac and Brennan in the backline.. freeing up one of them in the midfield.. looks pretty ominous to me :)
Ceebee
29th April 2008, 08:47
Not far away, with Roe, Begley, Drummond back, we can alternate JMac and Brennan in the backline.. freeing up one of them in the midfield.. looks pretty ominous to me :)
Mmm, I like the sound of that.:thumbsu:
Cousin Jed
1st May 2008, 21:26
Tears For Macdonald
Link (http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,23630076-23211,00.html)
BLUNTING a rampaging Geelong is daunting enough - but it pales in comparison to what Brisbane Lions defender Joel Macdonald has had to overcome just to tackle the defending champions on Saturday.
Macdonald is the first to admit he cried to his mum as he battled a frustrating knee reconstruction.
No doubt Macdonald would have been tempted to reach for the tissues again when Lions coach Leigh Matthews was finished with him when he arrived late for pre-season training.
But what doesn't kill you makes you stronger and Macdonald has come back bigger and better in 2008.
He is averaging a career-best 21.2 disposals and 6.2 marks per game in 2008 - more marks than Daniel Bradshaw and Jonathan Brown and trailing only workaholic co-captains Simon Black and Luke Power in the club's leading possession stakes.
They are stats that would have been pure fantasy to Macdonald not so long ago.
Cut down by a knee injury after just three games into 2006, Macdonald faced a major test of character as he battled to full fitness.
“I had a lot of people telling me, when I was coming back from my knee, that it's almost a two year turnaround to get your form back,” he said.
“It started to really eat away and I broke down a couple of times to my mum, just saying this is bullshit, why does it have to take so long?
“What are previous players doing that is stopping them from getting back as soon as that year's up?
“So I looked at that. I looked at strength. (And) my kicking hasn't been the greatest, so I've really worked on that, and sort of reading the play was another thing that I needed to work on. You do a year of that, and obviously you're going to get better at it.”
Macdonald also got his “off-field” right.
“I just love playing football and I love my time away from football as well, and there were a few instances during the pre-season ... I was stuck at a Vegas airport and had to change some flights to get back in time after Christmas for the pre-season,” he said.
“I had a few stuff-ups with my flights and was like a day or two late. I got in trouble for that. It was dealt with appropriately and I apologised to the playing group. And so there were a few off-field things that I've really had to work on.
“It's amazing how they sort of correlate - once you've got your off-field right, your on-field stuff starts to get working.”
His off-field trials have given him on-field perspective - particularly against the unbeaten Cats.
“Geelong are obviously in good form, undefeated, but we think they can be beaten,” he said.
“We've got a few things cooking, you know, to try and make that happen.”
Meanwhile, Ash McGrath will play his 100th game after he was added to the 22 along with Mitch Clark, Troy Selwood and Albert Proud.
Scott Harding and Lachlan Henderson were listed as emergencies while Travis Johnstone (hamstring) and James Polkinghorne (shoulder) were unavailable.
In other news, the Lions will unveil a new away jumper against the Cats.
Gabbatoir
1st May 2008, 21:32
A few things cooking hey.
Like the sound of that :p
Grimreepah
1st May 2008, 23:35
What is talent?
It's easy to forget that Macdonald was rated about as highly as Moody is now when he did his knee. So how did a player with seemingly limited talent and limited potential turn into such a good player? Did we not see the talent, or is the concept a bit of a myth?
dlanod
2nd May 2008, 08:59
I think confidence is a huge huge part of it. If you're willing to back your own decisions, it makes it a lot less likely for kicks to drop short because you were in two minds, or get caught in tackles because you're hesitating before disposing, that type of thing. Seeing Joel bust through tackles is the type of thing where he might have previously avoided because he didn't think he could do it, but now he knows he can and has the confidence to be able to do so consistently, so we see this new angle on his game.
Old Den
2nd May 2008, 12:57
What is talent?
It's easy to forget that Macdonald was rated about as highly as Moody is now when he did his knee. So how did a player with seemingly limited talent and limited potential turn into such a good player? Did we not see the talent, or is the concept a bit of a myth?
Some players take longer to absorb experience and gain real confidence - sometimes they are delisted or traded before the improvement is seen - a notable recent example of this is Rodan (Richmond to Port)
danielcanberra
2nd May 2008, 19:51
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/macdonald-draws-strength-from-time-off/2008/05/01/1209235058784.html
Macdonald draws strength from time off
Andrew Stafford | May 2, 2008
BRISBANE Lions defender Joel Macdonald has admitted two incidents — one on the field and the other off it — forced him to confront his football mortality early and were behind his rise as one of the Lions' form players this year.
The first was nearly two years ago, when his knee buckled under the weight of a tackle in a game against Hawthorn at Carrara.
The ensuing reconstruction kept him out of football for the standard 12 months.
Before that, Macdonald had been unable to secure a place in the Lions' starting 22. On returning midway through last year, it was clear he had come back a different and better player.
"I had a lot of people telling me, when I was coming back from my knee, that it's going to take probably another 12 months once you come back, so it's almost a two-year turnaround to get your form back," he said.
"I broke down a couple of times, to my mum, just saying this is bull…., why does it have to take so long, what are previous players doing that is stopping them from getting back as soon as that year's up?
"I looked at strength. It was a good opportunity for me — I'm a skinny kid as it is — to put on a heap of weight. My kicking hasn't been the greatest, so I've really worked on that, and reading the play was another thing."
The other catalyst was in the lead-up to this year's pre-season, when Macdonald was late home after missing a connection in Las Vegas. He was left in no doubt that he needed to get his priorities in order.
"I had a few stuff-ups with my flights and I was a day or two late … I got in trouble for that. I apologised to the playing group.
"(There were) a few off-field things that I've really had to work on.
"It's amazing how they sort of correlate — once you've got your off-field right, your on-field stuff starts to get working."
Against Geelong at Skilled Stadium tomorrow, Macdonald's most obvious match-up is another reformed reprobate in Steve Johnson.
"He's another player that gets pretty slippery and a few of the boys might play on him at some stage, but yeah, I'll obviously be in defence," he said.
http://www.realfooty.com.au/ffximage/2008/05/01/wbAFLmcdonald.jpg
Grimreepah
3rd May 2008, 19:00
What are the odds of JMac winning the best and fairest this year?:eek:
notting18
3rd May 2008, 19:08
What are the odds of JMac winning the best and fairest this year?:eek:
I have him 3rd at the moment, behind Black/Bradshaw. A lot depends on how Black comes back from this injury, but we all know that our coaching staff reward "team performances" a lot more than the media, which will help JMac's chances...
Grimreepah
20th May 2008, 15:56
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=59862)
Joel Macdonald is set to play his 50th AFL match this Sunday against St Kilda at the Gabba. Macdonald was elevated to the Lions’ senior list in 2004 after being selected with Pick No.70 in the 2003 Rookie Draft. The Queenslander becomes the fourth Lions player this season to reach the 50-game milestone.
23 year-old Macdonald is in career-best form averaging almost 22 disposals and more than six marks per game this season. He currently leads the Club in total marks this season with 50 and is behind only co-captains Simon Black and Luke Power at the Club for total possessions. He also leads the Lions in rebounds from 50 metres and running bounces.
http://img181.imageshack.us/img181/3215/macdonalddc1.jpg
chopperduck
21st May 2008, 08:21
great to see quality players starting to get the games up. well done to jmac. has come back from major injury and stamped himself on the game. hopefully he has a big one. can't wait for sunday
Grimreepah
31st May 2008, 10:19
Link (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23786025-19742,00.html)
Department of Youth lifts Lions
Article from:http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_heraldsun.gif (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/)
Andrew Hamilton
May 31, 2008 12:00am
ALICE Cooper made millions with his rock anthem, Department of Youth. Perhaps that is why Joel Macdonald chose to dress up as the legendary rockstar for a recent Brisbane Lions promotional shoot.
Because Macdonald, Joel Patfull, Josh Drummond, Daniel Merrett, Jason Roe and Ashley McGrath are Brisbane's "Department of Youth", six bargain basement footballers returning major dividends on Brisbane's investment.
None has had a tougher path than defender Macdonald.
Three games into his 2006 season he tore his anterior cruciate ligament against Hawthorn at Carrara and required a knee reconstruction.
For a player who had been overlooked in the draft and forced to fight his way into the team from the rookie list, it was a cruel blow.
"I withdrew from footy and took off to Europe. I tried going to a few games but it was doing my head in," Macdonald said.
"It was selfish to some degree, but there was no benefit to anyone having me there.
"There were times when people would make negative comments and I'd break down to mum and dad.
"Then I'd take a look at Hads (former teammate Richard Hadley who endured successive knee reconstructions) and watch the way he went about getting back and thought life can't be that bad."
The 24-year-old is one of the few who can honestly claim to have returned from a knee reconstruction a better player.
But it was not just because he received a "wake-up" call, there were physical benefits as well.
"I'm skinny as it is and I did a lot of body building work with our strength coach Alex Moore to get that strength up," Macdonald said.
"I got a lot of confidence knowing I had an extra five or six kilos to break tackles, the knee thing was a blessing in disguise.
"And in regards to waking up . . . I was enjoying my footy but I might have been taking it for granted. It was a kick in the teeth I needed."
http://img50.imageshack.us/img50/6480/macdonaldyf1.jpg
blynd_freddie
31st May 2008, 11:26
Opposing-ly, I would have gone the 1973, a time when Alice was now becoming famous and being exposed to Rock Star overkill, Billion Dollar path. A song arguable about the dangers of overindulgence and also has a nice trivial bit of Yin and Yang balance with the background vocals being sung by Donovan, of "Mello Yellow” fame.
Interesting call on the album link, maybe it wasn’t a toss of the coin between “Department of Youth” and “Billion Dollar Babies” for Hammo, with the coinage maybe a link to Brownies new contract and “No More Mr. Nice Guy” possibly opening old “Aker” wounds.
Actually Joel, if you do head back to Europe, that Alice Cooper guise would go down well in Berlin. :D
Nice article by Hammo. - Sorry about musical tangent Grim.
The_Young_Gun
31st May 2008, 20:29
Joel Macdonald use to play for my junior footy side before him and his family moved to queensland... So did Nick Malceski before he switched clubs... Clinton Grybas was also a Warrandyte boy and the Clokes were local to us as well...
Warrandyte Footy Club:thumbsu:
We produce the goods!
Tim the Toolman
3rd June 2008, 12:57
"There were times when people would make negative comments and I'd break down to mum and dad."
Do you think he was reading BigFooty and in particular my comments regarding his performance?
It's great to see a bloke take a hit and get back up. He's done a massive turnaround and I'm wrapped he's doing well.
He was named in the Team of the Week on SEN at Half Back! Well done JMac! :thumbsu:
acuguy
4th June 2008, 06:32
JMac has turned his career around beautifully, his deficiencies use to hurt him eg. lack of strength, poor skills and poor decision making, he obviously has worked his arse off to become one of the strongest bodied mid sized defenders in the competition and his arguably one of the hardest players to tackle. He has also worked on his kicking skills and his improved confidence with his skills makes the decision making of what you are going to do with the ball alot easier. JMAC and Patfull must be knocking on the door of all australian selection.
blynd_freddie
4th June 2008, 08:53
http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/6639/jmacasacsf5.th.jpg (http://img147.imageshack.us/my.php?image=jmacasacsf5.jpg)
This is Joel re the above linked story. :D
Cousin Jed
11th June 2008, 23:02
Joel has made Champion Data's All Australian Team for the half year
Link - Bigfooty Post (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=11325330&postcount=39)
HALF-BACKS
Joel MacDonald: 3rd in rebound-50s, 1st in long kicks to adv., 2nd in running bounces, conceded 15 goals in 11 games.
xplo
12th June 2008, 10:12
Joel has made Champion Data's All Australian Team for the half year
Link - Bigfooty Post (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=11325330&postcount=39)
It's hard to comprehend how he got so good. I mean, even with the poor disposal issue, he didn't look like a potential gun to me.
I would have said:
Works hard and sticks to a job
Reasonable toe
Runs straight and hard
Now that's a good start for a footballer, but he didn't appear to have much more. This year he's obviously added the dramatically improved kicking, but IMHO he also adds:
Good aerial defensive skills
Very solid footy smarts under pressure
Backline organisation and leadership skills (he's probably the eldest most weeks
Not just mindless running, but coolly calculated attacking dash out of the back
I know all players mature and improve, but I can't think of anyone who's done what JMac has done. Amazing stuff.