View Full Version : SFL clubs joining the VAFA for 2008

Jascave
17 Jul 2007, 20:18
I reckon there's 6-12 SFL clubs that is totally unhappy with the SFL as a whole and wants to join the VAFA for season 2008.

Any thoughts on this?

Cardio Carl
17 Jul 2007, 20:51
I reckon there's 6-12 SFL clubs that is totally unhappy with the SFL as a whole and wants to join the VAFA for season 2008.

Any thoughts on this?

Crikey!...are we struggling to deliver meaningful threads for discussion.

The proposition is the biggest Subjective wank I have heard in along time..

"I reckon there's 6-12 SFL Clubs...." 6-12 clubs!...not 5-6 or 7-8?
are you across each one of these clubs?

They are unhappy with SFL and want to join the VAFA....what are they unhappy about?..

Put some factual meat onto the proposition then we can take the thread seriously - as quite frankly die hard Ammo's could not give a stuff about the SFL.

They have raped and piilaged our players for years and are now finding it hard to compete with the big player payments and want an easy out.

You will find a significant announcement from them in 4-5 weeks post Phil Stevens departure.

Jascave
17 Jul 2007, 21:08
Here's the reasons why some Southern Football League clubs are VERY unhappy with the SFL and want to join the VAFA:

1) The continued poor form by the SFL rep side against the VAFA. Since the rep games first started in 2002, the VAFA has won every game. Most of the players that are picked for the SFL wants very little to do with representing the SFL and take a half-hearted interest in it, while the VAFA would give 110% in these games all the time.

2) The resignation by the then SFL CEO Phil Stevens has left a feeling of unease and anxiety among the SFL clubs, with most of them feeling that the SFL has hit a brick wall with nowhere to go and are at the most serious crisis point in the SFL's history, while the VAFA goes from strength to strength thank to a very good executive and a administration that is able to help VAFA clubs out if they are in some trouble.

3) In 2004 Highett from the SFL Div 1 played against Hampton Rovers who were in C Section at that time in a practice match-and lost by 10 goals. Highett officials later said they wished they were playing in a strong comp like the VAFA, while Highett has to play in a sub-standard comp playing against low-level sides.

Cardio Carl
17 Jul 2007, 21:22
Here's the reasons why some Southern Football League clubs are VERY unhappy with the SFL and want to join the VAFA:

1) The continued poor form by the SFL rep side against the VAFA. Since the rep games first started in 2002, the VAFA has won every game. Most of the players that are picked for the SFL wants very little to do with representing the SFL and take a half-hearted interest in it, while the VAFA would give 110% in these games all the time.

2) The resignation by the then SFL CEO Phil Stevens has left a feeling of unease and anxiety among the SFL clubs, with most of them feeling that the SFL has hit a brick wall with nowhere to go and are at the most serious crisis point in the SFL's history, while the VAFA goes from strength to strength thank to a very good executive and a administration that is able to help VAFA clubs out if they are in some trouble.

3) In 2004 Highett from the SFL Div 1 played against Hampton Rovers who were in C Section at that time in a practice match-and lost by 10 goals. Highett officials later said they wished they were playing in a strong comp like the VAFA, while Highett has to play in a sub-standard comp playing against low-level sides.

Jas, again all subjective wank.

1) Rep side gets beaten a few times - lets pull up the pegs and shift our team to the winning competition. If that happens then lets cancel rep sides as teams will be jumping from one to the other every 2-3 years

2) Stevens leaves - and only report at moment is due to personal reasons - and teams again pulling up the pegs - come on, really.

3) This one is the doozy - A team gets beat by 10 goals in a practice game and knowing Highett officials they would have been on the sauce stating they want to move on. Crikey, if I remember I believe St Pauls gave Beauy a thrashing in their praccy game this year, no complaints

Jas - your trying hard however all the above is 'jelly' with no substance - read your 3 points again and tell us if your fair dinkum

Sausage roll
17 Jul 2007, 22:04

1) Rep side gets beaten a few times - lets pull up the pegs and shift our team to the winning competition. If that happens then lets cancel rep sides as teams will be jumping from one to the other every 2-3 years

2) Stevens leaves - and only report at moment is due to personal reasons - and teams again pulling up the pegs - come on, really.

3) This one is the doozy - A team gets beat by 10 goals in a practice game and knowing Highett officials they would have been on the sauce stating they want to move on. Crikey, if I remember I believe St Pauls gave Beauy a thrashing in their praccy game this year, no complaints

Jas - your trying hard however all the above is 'jelly' with no substance - read your 3 points again and tell us if your fair dinkum

Perhaps Cardio, you should check the mid winter thread by BS for an explanation as to the departure of Mr Stevens.

Very interesting

Cardio Carl
18 Jul 2007, 08:52
Perhaps Cardio, you should check the mid winter thread by BS for an explanation as to the departure of Mr Stevens.

Very interesting

Blimey - how did I miss that one from BS.

I had different mail as to why.

Sausage roll
18 Jul 2007, 10:38
Blimey - how did I miss that one from BS.

I had different mail as to why.

What was your mail cardio?

I heard something very similiar to what BS said.

Cardio Carl
18 Jul 2007, 16:12
What was your mail cardio?

I heard something very similiar to what BS said.

Along the lines of certain performance criteria (can't expose too much here) - however under BS scenario perhaps he has exposed more than his 'bottom line and is now very much in the red'

Cardio Carl
18 Jul 2007, 17:07

Any thoughts on this?

Jas - +280 views and only ONE response should show level of interest/care in this one.

Do you work for the VAFA? - are you the new editorial guy using this forum to float ideas from the League?...

looking at your other posts you seem to be placing alot of 'what if' questions to the posters relating to the VAFA

Don't worry if you are as I reckon its a good idea - just need clarity.

harper
18 Jul 2007, 17:18

Any thoughts on this?

Jase, could you please name the clubs as I would like to know if I need to organise any 'clash' jumpers. If I order them now Hugh Lyon may have them ready by 2008 or 2009.

Jase, do you think the VAFA will open a D5 section to cope with the clubs leaving the SFL?

The Demon
19 Jul 2007, 11:32

Got to agree with your views here Cardio! Ridiculous and pointless thread!

Jascave
22 Jul 2007, 19:30
To give you an idea of just how bad the situation about the SFL is, there was a report in the Sunday Age this morning that SFL Divison 3 club Black Rock has hit upon the novel idea of auctioning off the senior coach's (who happens to be my cousin, former Hampton Rovers premiership skipper Steve Anderson) job for the game against South Yarra on August 4th. I would like to ask ALL VAFA forum users for their thoughts on this.

harper
22 Jul 2007, 19:34
Jase, could you please name the clubs as I would like to know if I need to organise any 'clash' jumpers. If I order them now Hugh Lyon may have them ready by 2008 or 2009.

Jase, do you think the VAFA will open a D5 section to cope with the clubs leaving the SFL?

Jase, still waiting............

Jascave
22 Jul 2007, 19:51
I think some of the clubs like Balwyn, South Yarra,Ringwood, Skye for example might be interested in jumping ship, don't know of any other clubs at the moment. If the SFL allow the Black Rock 'coach auction' to go ahead, then there may be a few more SFL clubs thinking about joining the VAFA, because the VAFA wouldn't allow a club-any club, no matter what section it is from-putting up the senior coach's job as an auction item.

The Tiger's Nuts
22 Jul 2007, 20:08
Bullshit, Jascave, is the word that sums up a lot of your recent threads and posts.

They're offering a "dream come true" opportunity as a fundraiser. Big deal. One of the country teams did the same thing last year on ebay and made a few hundred bucks.

It's ebay item 110150512802 and in big print it says:
"With the increasing costs of local football our committee has decided to seek alternative ways to raise funds to cover costs, hence this unique idea."

OK so its not unique but for $500 it'd be a great birthday present for an ex-footballer Dad or similar.

They've already got a listed playing coach and I'm sure that if the SFL arcs up the winner can just be there as an "advisor". I'd be fairly surprised if it hadn't been run past the SFL for an OK anyway.

I spent $500 a couple of years back to drive trains down at Korumburra for the day. It didn't make me a train driver, and it didn't make for nonsensical forum posts about "just how bad the situation about the South Gippsland Railway is" either.

Get a grip, mate, and I'm not talking about what you're already gripping with your non-typing hand.

harper
22 Jul 2007, 20:17
I think some of the clubs like Balwyn, South Yarra,Ringwood, Skye for example might be interested in jumping ship, don't know of any other clubs at the moment. If the SFL allow the Black Rock 'coach auction' to go ahead, then there may be a few more SFL clubs thinking about joining the VAFA, because the VAFA wouldn't allow a club-any club, no matter what section it is from-putting up the senior coach's job as an auction item.

Balwyn and Ringwood are in the EFL, give us some facts Jascave!

Uncle Mick
23 Jul 2007, 10:45
Got to agree with your views here Cardio! Ridiculous and pointless thread!

Yet you choose to reply and keep it active.:confused:

Abba Lonie
23 Jul 2007, 11:26
Haven't read much from this bloke in the past, is he 'all there', so to speak?

muesli
27 Jul 2007, 16:52

Balwyn and Ringwood are in the EFL, give us some facts Jascave!
You beat me too it haper.

lol, Ringwood? they have never played in the SFL.
Balwyn moved to the EFL this year & from what i've heard are extremly happy with there move.

Jack Mihocek
28 Jul 2007, 00:17
You beat me too it haper.

lol, Ringwood? they have never played in the SFL.
Balwyn moved to the EFL this year & from what i've heard are extremly happy with there move.

Well the way Ringwood are going perhaps the only spot they would get a win would be SFL.

As for Balwyn with their recruits it wouldn't matter where they went they would have been succesful, may not win a flag this year but will be in the finals!

SFL does look somewhat irrelevant compared with other suburban and ammo comp. Having said that lets hope they can hang on we need to preserve as much grass roots as possible.

My North
31 Jul 2007, 00:18
Has Jascave gone missing from this thread after some of his/her post being caught out

Phantom Strobler
6 Aug 2007, 00:00
Well the way Ringwood are going perhaps the only spot they would get a win would be SFL.

As for Balwyn with their recruits it wouldn't matter where they went they would have been succesful, may not win a flag this year but will be in the finals!

SFL does look somewhat irrelevant compared with other suburban and ammo comp. Having said that lets hope they can hang on we need to preserve as much grass roots as possible.

Do we need to preserve these so called grass roots clubs that have pillaged the VAFA clubs. The SFL are made up of predators and mercenaries. Let the SFL sink and if the ammos are smart they wont bother with this rabble. Even Phil Stevens worked it out.

The Rider
6 Aug 2007, 12:17
Do we need to preserve these so called grass roots clubs that have pillaged the VAFA clubs. The SFL are made up of predators and mercenaries. Let the SFL sink and if the ammos are smart they wont bother with this rabble. Even Phil Stevens worked it out.

Just a stupid, dumb comment :mad:

Phantom Strobler
6 Aug 2007, 14:48
Just a stupid, dumb comment :mad:

Work it out rider. Look at what they are doing to themselves. Moorabbin kangaroos - raped and pillaged, Parkmore - raped and pillaged and gone. They eat their own. Word is Murrumbeena are on the skids as well. Wonder where the Dimaski's, Cassets, Sheehans etc will go if the money runs out at St Kilda City. Open your eyes Rider.

The Rider
6 Aug 2007, 16:27
Work it out rider. Look at what they are doing to themselves. Moorabbin kangaroos - raped and pillaged, Parkmore - raped and pillaged and gone. They eat their own. Word is Murrumbeena are on the skids as well. Wonder where the Dimaski's, Cassets, Sheehans etc will go if the money runs out at St Kilda City. Open your eyes Rider.

Are SFL clubs the only clubs that pillage VAFA clubs? Correct me if I'm wrong but I'm pretty sure you are referring to one individual when you mention Moorabbin and Parkmore. Does this one person mean that the whole of the SFL is full of predators and mercenaries? I think not.
Over the last couple of seasons Murrumbeena have had a lot of departures and retirements. They are struggling at the moment, but are currently rebuilding with a young side and a lot of juniors coming up through the 16's and 17's. The future is bright if they can retain these juniors.
Will Dimachki, Cassett, Sheehan (spastic) go if the money runs out at City? Who knows.