View Full Version : The best player the have ever played at carlton???
footy.mad
17 Jul 2007, 22:17
me and a few of my mate have been chattin about carltons best player ever and i was just wondering what a few of you guys think about it.... thanx
footy.mad
17 Jul 2007, 22:23
me and a few of my mate have been chattin about carltons best player ever and i was just wondering what a few of you guys think about it.... thanx
sorry for starting another thread but i stuffed up the spelling on the other heading so i started a new one so yous all could understand it!!!
Jezza The Best Ever
17 Jul 2007, 22:24
Please believe me - Jezza
Mate the guy was awesome - He was pure magic - Premierships, our top goal kicker, Captain,Coach.......... - Hell he made team of the century .............believe me it is Jezza
TorresIsGod
17 Jul 2007, 22:33
Jordan Bannister, easily
recently blue
17 Jul 2007, 22:35
Yeah, Jezza for me too. The other possibilities are Williams (2 Brownlows - should have been 3), Doull, Nicholls and SOS. Very privileged to have seen them all.
ericpascoe
17 Jul 2007, 22:37
Didn't see Big Nick, so for me
1. Jezza
2. Doull
3. Diesel
4. SOS
5. Braddles or Sticks (cant split em)
1.Gibbs or Murphy (Can't spilt em)
2. Jezza
3.s0s
4.Josh kennedy
5.kouta.
Best Coach:DENNIS PAGAN.
Please believe me - Jezza
Mate the guy was awesome - He was pure magic - Premierships, our top goal kicker, Captain,Coach.......... - Hell he made team of the century .............believe me it is Jezza
Cain Ackland
DamianBis
17 Jul 2007, 23:06
Adrian deluca. Maybe trent sporn or luke livingston
Thommo 42
17 Jul 2007, 23:08
Mick Maguane
walkers a legend
17 Jul 2007, 23:31
1 sos
2 jesulanko
3 williams
Sublime
17 Jul 2007, 23:38
Hey lets be amusing and post the worst players we can think of! Batson! Wow this is fun... :thumbsd:
Seriously, in my time the best players i can recall seeing would be:
SOS
Diesel
Kernahan
With a group of probably 5-10 players in close pursuit. Been some great names in years past.
Blues_Man
17 Jul 2007, 23:41
Didn't see Big Nick, so for me
1. Jezza
2. Doull
3. Diesel
4. SOS
5. Braddles or Sticks (cant split em)
I concur with your list ...but i really do need to add Wayne Harmes and Wayne Johnson to the list....now that i think about it ..put Kenny Hunter in there too.
The Old Dark Navy's
17 Jul 2007, 23:42
Jezza
Flying Doormat
SOS
Diesel
Big Nick
Sticks
Braddles
Dominator
Stephen Silvagni
Wayne Johnston
Bruce Doull
Stephen Kernahan
Very very hard to split these 4 if you ask me. Never saw Jezza and Big Nick play.
thylacine60
18 Jul 2007, 00:00
Secretly I know he isn't but The Doormat gave me more joy as a footy goer than any other. After him Kenny Hunter. I can't rate Big Nick and Jezza as I was a little too young to appreciate them at their best.
blues4flag
18 Jul 2007, 00:16
From my time watching footy, Kernahan and SOS are the two standouts.
http://www.menziesera.com/sports/images/vfl_jesaulenko.jpg
Anyone else sometimes wish they were a bit older?!?
In my living memory, you can't go past Sticks.
blues4flag
18 Jul 2007, 00:40
http://www.menziesera.com/sports/images/vfl_jesaulenko.jpg
Anyone else sometimes wish they were a bit older?!?
In my living memory, you can't go past Sticks.
Very happy with my age, thanks. :) If I were old enough to have seen Jezza, I'd be way too old.
james Dean
18 Jul 2007, 00:42
Sam Pleming
stakes12
18 Jul 2007, 01:01
mine would b greg williams
kernahan
bradley. never had the privelege to see doull and co play
sorry for starting another thread but i stuffed up the spelling on the other heading so i started a new one so yous all could understand it!!!
Jezza was good..........Sticks was pretty god but Fev is an absoutly a KING.He makes me cry..........FEV FOREVER
Collins-Langford-Ayres
18 Jul 2007, 02:56
John Nicholls (born August 13, 1939) is a former champion Australian rules footballer who played for Carlton Football Club in the 1960s and 1970s, winning B&Fs in 1959, 1963, 1965, 1966 and 1967, as well as All Australian: 1966, 1969 (Captain).
He played for Victoria a record 31 times in interstate football. He played in premierships in 1968, 1970 and 1972 (as captain coach).
He is regarded as one of the greatest ruckmen ever to play Australian football and was named in both, the AFL's and Carlton's, Team of the Century. He played from 1957-1974, racking up 328 games and booting 307 goals.
Blue Dawn
18 Jul 2007, 03:48
ALEX JESAULENKO.
Beginning in 1967, he played 256 games and kicked 424 goals with the club. A spectacular and popular player of the 1970s, Jesaulenko was renowned for his high marking and goal kicking. He kicked 115 goals in 1970 and played in the famous Grand Final that year before a record MCG (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MCG) crowd of 121,000 fans in which Carlton came from behind (44 points down at half-time) to win the premiership against Collingwood (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Collingwood_Football_Club). Popularly known as "Jezza", he was the playing coach of the 1979 Carlton premiership team, perhaps his finest moment in football. "Jezza" was the last playing coach in the VFL/AFL to win a premiership. He was All-Australian (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/All-Australian) in 1969 and 1972, and played in the 1968, 1970, 1972 and 1979 premierships with Carlton (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carlton_Football_Club).:thumbsu:
Dramoth
18 Jul 2007, 04:17
Big Nic, Jezza, Bruce Doull and SoS
You guys should know why those 4...
If you dont... go google them and look for the blueseum (http://www.blueseum.org/cfc/tiki-index.php)...
Sticks 4
18 Jul 2007, 09:16
Sticks Kernahan :thumbsu:
i still say to people that wayne harmes was the most dynamic player i have ever seen play the game. some of the things he did on the footy field in the late 70's and early 80's were truly amazing.
i reckon bruce doull is the best ever carlton player though.
I'll throw Diesel's name in the mix - for a couple of seasons there (especially '93 and the '94 Brownlow year) he was unbelievable, plus chipped in with the norm smith in '95. Should've won the 93 brownlow too as we all know.
Against that, he doesn't offer the longevity of some of the other candidates, give only part of his career was with us.
Punter_22
18 Jul 2007, 09:41
David Kernahan was good, John Dorotich had his moments, Murray Vance was a bit of a star, Luke Livingston was the best player to ever wear number 4, Mick Martyn added strength to our backline and Mick McGuane was all class when we had him.
Aussie Joe
18 Jul 2007, 09:42
Best players that I personally have ever seen play for the Blues is a tie between:
Wayne "The Dominator" Johnson
Greg "Diesel" Williams
Yes SOS, Sticks, Braddles, and Doull were champs. But when the Blues were in a hole I always looked towards these guys and they never let me down.
Punter_22
18 Jul 2007, 09:43
Ok, a more serious answer, my top 5 in order.
Nicholls,
SIlvagni,
Kernahan,
Jezza,
Williams
Notable omissions, Craig Bradley and Bruce Doull
Aussie Joe
18 Jul 2007, 09:47
David Kernahan was good, John Dorotich had his moments, Murray Vance was a bit of a star, Luke Livingston was the best player to ever wear number 4, Mick Martyn added strength to our backline and Mick McGuane was all class when we had him.
These guys had nothing on Michael Mansfield. His blind kicking out of defence had me dragged out of many a footy ground by cops while I was screaming obscenities at him.;)
one_twelve112
18 Jul 2007, 10:18
Jesaulenko - Imagine Diesel with speed, flair, a huge leap and Sticks like leadership skills. Played every position except ruck and once kicked
Originally Posted by JIMTHEGREAT
10 Re: CFC's Greatest Player of all Time
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Jesaulenko you beauty!!!
Came to Carlton in 1967 as a Centreman
3rd in Brownlow 3 times (including his first year in 1967) from 3 different positions HFF (67), FF (70) HBF (75).
At just 5'11" kicked 115 goals in 1970 from FF in just his 4th season finishing 3rd behind Peter Hudson (146 goals) and Peter McKenna (143)
Become Captain-Coach in 1978 at round 7 after Ian Stewart resigned after round 4, after losing the players completely. We were bottom with 1 win after round 6 only to just miss the double chance after losing in round 22 of that year and finish 4th (just to show the coach does make a difference). Premiers the next year and the start of a run of 3 flags in 4 years (the last 2 under Parkin).
A champion in many positions, HFF, FF Centre, HBF. Remembering him playing on Leigh Matthews one day in 1979 from the Back Pocket and literally destroying him
Freakish ball skills, unsurpassed by anyone in this game, whether in the air (took the 2 marks of the year in 1970, the winner being the famous one in the GF) or even more so at ground level.
4 time premiership player
B & F winner
7 Goals in a GF playing FF in the 1972 GF
1972 in a game against Essendon he kicked 6 goals in 12 minutes during a second qtr where we kicked 12 goals (Ah.....those were the days)
Last Captain-Coach to win a premiership (1979) playing in the Centre
A freak!!
So Jezza gets my vote ahead of some absolute superstars.goals playing centre.
J-Train
18 Jul 2007, 10:20
Steve Silvagni for mine! The way our defence is leaking at the moment, I'd still chuck a guernsey on him and slot him straight in at full back! :D:thumbsu: Go SOS! Courage personified!
BluesRules
18 Jul 2007, 10:58
Jeremy Dukes.
Jumpin' Jimmy
18 Jul 2007, 11:02
Bruce Doull
Jimmy Buckley
Ken Hunter
I didn't see too much of the early 70's players, so for me in no particular order:
Doull, Ashman, Johnson, Harmes, Buckley, Kernahan, Bradley, Silvagni, Madden, A.McKay, Ratten
zoofest43
18 Jul 2007, 14:10
1. John Nicholls (he WAS Carlton for 17 years,superior football brain)
2. Alex Jesaulenko (more gifted than Gary Ablett and twice the bloke)
3. Anthony Koutafidies (inside/outside,midfield/forward/back,genuine freak)
4. Greg Williams (gifted ball winner,sublime skills, mega tough)
5. Stephen Silvagni (games' greatest ever defender)
I've only been watching since 1964 so I can't go any further back.My late father loved Vallance and Chitty and Deacon
I_was_there_in_87
18 Jul 2007, 17:24
Oh for just one or two of those greats now, the dominator was one of the reasons i started supporting carlton.... on to williams and fraser brown.
Maybe not the best ever, but one of my favourites and i am sure he bled blue was Peter Dean - will never forget him being polaxed by schwass or running of the field with his shoulder hanging halfway down his body - champion.
Dramoth
18 Jul 2007, 17:42
Oh for just one or two of those greats now, the dominator was one of the reasons i started supporting carlton.... on to williams and fraser brown.
Maybe not the best ever, but one of my favourites and i am sure he bled blue was Peter Dean - will never forget him being polaxed by schwass or running of the field with his shoulder hanging halfway down his body - champion.
That incident with deano running off the ground with his dislocated albow was sickening... his forearm flopping all over the place. And he didnt want to come off at that point either.
He is definitely on my list of favorite blues players :D
Johnny Utah #9
19 Jul 2007, 15:10
In no particular order:
* Stephen Kernahan: Greatest captain in Carlton and AFL history, our all time leading goalkicker, State of Origin legend, an inspiration to all, personified the label of "big game player". His loyalty to the club is second to none. Kernahan IS Carlton.
* John Nicholls: A fearless leader. A giant on the field. Possibly the most intimidating man ever to stride onto an AFL field. According to my old man when he debut for Carlton at age 16 he just dominated all over the ground like no one they have ever seen before.
* John James: A freak of a player according to people i've spoken to who watched him play.
* Craig Bradley: Games record holder. Out & out champion, still dominating games even in his final season. One of the most consistent players ever.
* Stephen Silvagni: Hands down the best full back of all time.
* Wayne Johnston: A Finals and Grand Finals specialist. Nobody lifted for a big game more than the Dominator. Epitomised the culture of grand final success we have at Carlton as opposed to a culture of choking at Collingwood.
* Bruce Doull: Champion. Would be hard to find a better or more consistent CHB to have ever played the game.
* Alex Jesaulenko: A more talented and versatile player then Gary Ablett and a better big game performer as well. A freakish player who could do it all. A tragedy that there is very little video footage of his first few seasons when his high marking was at its best.
krusher
19 Jul 2007, 17:52
In no particular order:
* Stephen Kernahan: Greatest captain in Carlton and AFL history, our all time leading goalkicker, State of Origin legend, an inspiration to all, personified the label of "big game player". His loyalty to the club is second to none. Kernahan IS Carlton.
* John Nicholls: A fearless leader. A giant on the field. Possibly the most intimidating man ever to stride onto an AFL field. According to my old man when he debut for Carlton at age 16 he just dominated all over the ground like no one they have ever seen before.
* John James: A freak of a player according to people i've spoken to who watched him play.
* Craig Bradley: Games record holder. Out & out champion, still dominating games even in his final season. One of the most consistent players ever.
* Stephen Silvagni: Hands down the best full back of all time.
* Wayne Johnston: A Finals and Grand Finals specialist. Nobody lifted for a big game more than the Dominator. Epitomised the culture of grand final success we have at Carlton as opposed to a culture of choking at Collingwood.
* Bruce Doull: Champion. Would be hard to find a better or more consistent CHB to have ever played the game.
* Alex Jesaulenko: A more talented and versatile player then Gary Ablett and a better big game performer as well. A freakish player who could do it all. A tragedy that there is very little video footage of his first few seasons when his high marking was at its best.
Sticks is the most inspirational player since early 80's and Diesel the most skillful although his effort last year to reclaim a brownlow was dissappointing
How about we add the most under-rated players to this thread as i think we get the gist with sticks, diesel, jezza doull etc
The most under-rated players in my time have been :
Peter Dean was a massive part of the great defence we used to have (maybe we can get these guys back as backling coaches ?!?!)
Justin Madden best tap ruckman ever
Rhys-Jones behind all the crap was a very skilful footballer with a fair bit of mongrel
Earl Spalding - opened up the forward line tks melbourne
blueskies
19 Jul 2007, 18:00
It's probably Williams.
I remember one game at Princes Park, I think against West Coast, he had about 43 touches and was firing off handballs in directions no mortal man could have known there was a teammate. He was in the zone and handballed like I have never seen before or after. Absolute superstar player of the highest order and not surprisingly in the all time great AFL/VFL side.
Doull was also a marvel.