View Full Version : Joel Patfull

Pages : 1 [2]

Lace Out
27 Aug 2008, 02:38
I can imagine him in a Premiership 22

Just need to sort out the other 21.

Grimreepah
27 Aug 2008, 21:51
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=66434)

The Swans are also expected to welcome back Michael O'Loughlin after five weeks out with an ankle injury, who Patfull expects to line up against.It will be the latest in a series of big match-ups for the hard working youngster, who had a torrid time against Hawthorn's Lance Franklin in round 19 before dominating Bulldog Robert Murphy a week later.
But Patfull said he considers himself little chance of selection for October's International Rules contests.
"I don't think I'll be up there, I think there's a lot of boys ahead of me at this stage," he said.

http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/4963/patfullts8.jpg

Cousin Jed
14 Sep 2008, 10:00
Joel is close to signing a new deal with the Lions.

Source: Sunday Mail.

Tim the Toolman
15 Sep 2008, 12:31
Hope you're right. He's much needed for our backline and is going to be a superstar soon.

AA in 09!

TheBrownDog
15 Sep 2008, 13:25
Hope you're right. He's much needed for our backline and is going to be a superstar soon.

AA in 09!

If he continues to develop the attacking side of his game that we saw glimpses of late in the season, then he must surely get an AA nod.

He's an unglamorous player playing for an unglamorous club. Mal Michael never got the nod for similar reasons.

The JPat is so important to our side, I feel like he is a gift from the footy gods to make up for losing Craig Bolton in our premiership years.

Tim the Toolman
19 Sep 2008, 11:17
Great comment. I remember Lethal playing Bolton on a massive forward early in his career and it turned him into a remarkable backman.

As you are all aware I'm an unabashed Patfull fan and am wrapped to see him re-signed. I'm looking forward to his improvement with Leppa giving him plenty of coaching for disciplined back man on man football. He's a true asset to the club.

Congratulations Joel.

Grimreepah
1 Oct 2008, 22:53
Link (http://afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=68486)

Coach's award for one-percenters: At 190cm and 89kg, centre-half-back Patfull often gives up size to his opponents, but he never concedes them heart. In 2008, the former Port Adelaide rookie had his best season at AFL level. Patfull ranked third in the competition for one-percenters (teammate Daniel Merrett was first), disposed of the ball with an 83 per cent efficiency rate, and also provided plenty of drive from defence.

http://img505.imageshack.us/img505/7426/patfull31df8.jpg

mINORITY
2 Oct 2008, 20:15
Joel has to be one of the most underrated defenders in the AFL, and one of my families favourite players. Good to see him getting some recognition :thumbsu:

TheBrownDog
2 Oct 2008, 21:57
Fun fact: in AFL Live 2004 on Playstation 2, a coding error resulted in Patfull's name being called out in the commentary instead of Matthew Primus.

Grimreepah
5 Oct 2008, 01:03
Link (http://afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=68636)

2008 Merrett-Murray Medal top ten:
1. Jonathan Brown - 53.5
2. Simon Black - 51
3. Luke Power - 46.5
4. Daniel Bradshaw - 43.5
5. Jared Brennan - 42
6. Michael Rischitelli - 41
7. Joel Patfull - 39.5
8. Joel Macdonald - 38.5
9. Travis Johnstone - 31.5
10. Jed Adcock - 29.

Best defender
Joel Patfull

Most improved player
Joel Patfull

http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/7884/patfull25wg8.jpg

2008 Merrett-Murray Thread (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=504720)

pod17
15 Oct 2008, 00:49
Does anyone know where i can get some good footage of Patfull playing?? I have been trying to find he's spoil on Brett Burton at the Gabba this year but have so far been unsuccessful. Cheers guys

TheBrownDog
15 Oct 2008, 00:57
Does anyone know where i can get some good footage of Patfull playing?? I have been trying to find he's spoil on Brett Burton at the Gabba this year but have so far been unsuccessful. Cheers guys

I believe there is a video on YouTube of his match-sealing goal vs the Bulldogs.

TheBrownDog
15 Oct 2008, 02:02
A young Joel Patfull (Norwood) takes a nice speccy against the Port Adelaide Magpies.

Wearing the number #24 as well.

GIh4B2jQNd0

pod17
15 Oct 2008, 11:13
Cheers. Thanks heaps mate

POBT
16 Oct 2008, 10:14
A little bit stiff, with his B&F finish. I reckon he was top 5. IMO, his season was the equal of Bradshaw's. Both fringe AA quality.

kizzel
16 Oct 2008, 19:01
A little bit stiff, with his B&F finish. I reckon he was top 5. IMO, his season was the equal of Bradshaw's. Both fringe AA quality.

Agreed! I actually thought Patfull might have been a chance to steal the gong.

I was under the impression the Lions players were voted with a rating of how well they did their job. Patfull did his job all year!...

Patfull was decent all year, where as someone like Rischitelli started veryyy slowly (people on BigFooty were calling for him to get the axe), yet he finishes the season strongly and leaps Patfull. :confused:

Would be one of our top-5 most valuable players.

TheBrownDog
16 Oct 2008, 21:21
Agreed! I actually thought Patfull might have been a chance to steal the gong.

I was under the impression the Lions players were voted with a rating of how well they did their job. Patfull did his job all year!...

Patfull was decent all year, where as someone like Rischitelli started veryyy slowly (people on BigFooty were calling for him to get the axe), yet he finishes the season strongly and leaps Patfull. :confused:

Would be one of our top-5 most valuable players.

Maybe they wanted Patfull to provide more rebound, he certainly seemed to add this to his game towards the end of the season.

Grimreepah
29 Oct 2008, 12:53
2007 Review (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=9389485&postcount=57)

2008 End of Season Review

Leigh Matthews said reputation trails performance by 6 months and that was very evident with Joel this year. He continued his good form from the 2nd half of last year and he soon went from a nobody to being in AA contention.

He played all 22 games and was very consistent all year, with probably only a few below par games in the middle of the year against Melbourne and Essendon. But towards the end of the year he looked in career best form. He has always been very good defensively but he was now giving the side more run and generating shots on goal. This was evident in round 20 when he had 17 disposals and kicked the match winning goal on Robert Murphy.

But despite this there is still a perception that he is a fill in CHB. Perhaps it’s his non-demonstrative demeanour that makes him seem diminutive. Perhaps it’s his ability to play small that makes people think he is. Perhaps it’s just old fashioned perceptions that think a CHB should be a monster. But the only player he looked helpless against was Franklin, and he wasn’t alone there.

Patfull was one of the few Lions players to progress in 2008. In just his 3rd year he has now played 58 games. He has maturity beyond his years and is one of the most consistent and reliable players on the list. He would now be considered a senior player.

http://img112.imageshack.us/img112/8559/patfullia7.jpg

http://i38.tinypic.com/23m0dph.jpg

*1%ers - 127 (2nd)