20th January 2007, 20:37
http://lions.com.au/portals/0/images/players/lions/__Joel_Patfull_001.jpg

Guernsey Number: 24
Height: 190cm
Weight: 88kg
Recruited From: Norwood (SA)/Port Adelaide Rookie List
Date of Birth: 7 December 1984

CAREER BRIEF
Previous clubs: Norwood, Port Adelaide (rookie list)
Draft details: No. 56 - 2005 National Draft
Joined Lions: 2006
AFL debut: Round 8 2006, v Port Adelaide, AAMI Stadium.
AFL finals: 0

Has played every game since his debut (would have started earlier but for a knee injury). Scored one goal in each of rounds 8, 12 and 18. Played good games during rounds 12/13 and 18/19/20.

Adelaide boy (Filomena to note).

danielcanberra
1st March 2007, 19:48
Joel played really well in 2007 NAB cup round 1 (two goals, and on the 'best' list).

I think he's going to come of age this year.

TheBrownDog
1st March 2007, 23:05
His goal on Friday night was a beauty.

POBT
6th March 2007, 14:23
Looks to be playing smarter. Never going to be the biggest or strongest player but plenty of nice little touches and intelligent leading. Could be just what our forward line is looking for.

Quigley
6th March 2007, 20:38
He is looking like a pretty useful utility I think. The coach can throw him forward or back if there is a problem and he will do the job. There is a lot of value in having a player like that in the 22 and Joel looks to be creating a nice niche for himself. He doesn't seem to have a high ceiling but he is coming along well, developing his skills and game and looking like he belongs at AFL level. That is certainly more than I thought would be the case when they drafted him last year and in those types of situations I am always glad to be wrong.

The Flying Belgian
7th March 2007, 06:53
Wait until we see his mark of the year auditions. The boy does like a climb.

thebadger
7th March 2007, 12:40
His role reminds me a bit of Martin Pike. Not the biggest guy out there but can play either end, even on a wing. Never going to be a star but could be very very handy. Just hope he doesn't go out for beers with Michael Bowers!

Grimreepah
7th March 2007, 15:54
Seems to have a fairly big engine, so I think he'll fit in well with Leigh's new running game plan.

navier-stokes equation
25th March 2007, 22:10
What does Bradshaw's injury mean for him? IIRC he was playing HB during the NAB and looked quite good there

Grimreepah
26th March 2007, 01:05
What does Bradshaw's injury mean for him? IIRC he was playing HB during the NAB and looked quite good there

His NAB Cup form has moved him into the starting 22 you would think, and Bradshaw's injury pretty much guarantees that.

I expect him to be played in various roles throughout the year but probably start as a roaming half forward. Like last year he may well be the fall guy for a few tricky matchups (I'm thinking particularly key position matchups), and he may get beaten now and again. Ideally he is suited to the midsized players like Robertson or Cornes, who he was very effective against last year.

navier-stokes equation
27th March 2007, 19:13
Thanks for that Grim,

How is his knee going? Is he fit for round one?

danielcanberra
6th April 2007, 09:39
1 MarchJoel played really well in 2007 NAB cup round 1 (two goals, and on the 'best' list).

I think he's going to come of age this year.

5 AprilJoel came of age tonight.

Will only get better, especially when we add Clark to the forward line.

One of many recruiting coups in the last few years.

Didn't take long did it BrownDog?

I was thinking of sponsoring Patfull end of last year. Just had a good feeling about it.

TheBrownDog
6th April 2007, 11:57
I was thinking of sponsoring Patfull end of last year. Just had a good feeling about it.

Get onto Judy again!

You may have to start selling some organs.

Warwick
28th April 2007, 22:47
Had a fantastic game tonight.

Sticky hands.

BigCat2
28th April 2007, 23:33
Is starting to look really good now with his confident leading and marking. Makes up somewhat for Bradshaw's loss. If our boys develop more confidence in Joel, that'll help take defenders' focus off Browny.

Grimreepah
28th April 2007, 23:36
Sticky hands.

Yep, and his kicking for goal looks a lot better than last year too.

The Flying Belgian
29th April 2007, 20:23
That two year contract he signed is looking a good investment.

ZoBlitz
30th April 2007, 10:50
He's certainly improved in leaps and bounds from last year. Good pickup for us.

Grimreepah
30th April 2007, 11:10
Tends to get thought of as a bit of a fringe player but he's now played 20 straight games for us. Durability is a good asset to have.

xplo
30th April 2007, 16:31
I don't think we're a great marking side, so he's difficult to replace.

I'd reckon right now he's only behind Brown and Bradshaw on our entire list in terms of pure, pound for pound marking ability -- ahead of blokes like Charmo, JBizzy, Notting and CJ.

danielcanberra
9th May 2007, 15:52
2007 will see the rise and rise of Joel Patfull.

Today, I am pleased to announce my sponsorship and support of Joel Patfull.

Please join me on his bandwagon... it is turbo charged!

Dr Pea P.I
6th June 2007, 19:41
Finally got around to watching the game against Richmond last night and just love how Patfull is coming along. He is a very good contested mark and will naturally improve. Even his work in defence was efficient - thanks Port for letting him go. Am curious to know where Leigh will play him when Bradshaw comes back (with Brown, Clark and Bradshaw would there be room for another medium-tall?). He is fast becoming one of my faves. Is there a nickname for him?

danielcanberra
6th June 2007, 22:47
According to the 07 season guide on page 64, Mr Patfull's nickname is 'Porky'.

I cannot bring myself to call him that. However, he does respond to the name 'Joel'. :D

Nice guy too.

BigCat2
6th June 2007, 23:27
However, he does respond to the name 'Joel'.

No way! :eek:

Grimreepah
28th June 2007, 10:57
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=46132)

Patfull hoping for more of the same

8:46 AM Thu 28 June, 2007

By Simon White,

JOEL Patfull will be hoping it’s a case of second time lucky when the Brisbane Lions line up against his old side Port Adelaide on Saturday night.
The 22-year-old, who spent 2003 and 2004 on the Power’s rookie list, enjoyed a dream debut against Port at AAMI Stadium in round eight last year, scoring a goal with his first kick in AFL football in a 69-point Lions victory.
“It ended up being a pretty good first game to play in and a really good win – hopefully we can do the same over here,” Patfull said.
“We played some great footy that day and a lot of the same guys will be down there (in the forward line) on Saturday night.”
Of course, one player who won’t be there is Daniel Bradshaw, out for the season with a knee injury.
Bradshaw and Jonathan Brown combined for 13 goals last time out against the Power and Patfull realises the rest of the forward line must work to cover for the absence of the two-time leading goalkicker.
Like most in the Lions camp, he thinks a drought-breaking win is within reach.
“Braddy has been a huge loss for us – apart from being a great player himself, he takes the focus away from Browny and stops other teams zoning off,” Patfull said.
“Whoever else is out there just has to do their best to offer a target and keep other teams from double and triple-teaming Browny.
“The last few weeks, the feeling amongst the group has been pretty good, but things haven’t quite been going our way.
“Earlier in the year, there were a couple of games we lost narrowly when we didn’t take advantage of our opportunities. We’ve got to make the most of them now.”
Although he is yet to taste finals action at the half-way point of his second season at the Gabba, Patfull believes his football is far advanced from where it was when he left Norwood at the end of 2005.
He has also enjoyed the famous Queensland weather – until the freezing temperatures of the last week at least.
“I’ve been a bit worried about the weather the last week and I much prefer the sunshine – it’s been a bit like in Adelaide in winter,” he laughed.
“The 15 games or so I got under my belt last year have helped me massively and being able to play regularly this year has helped me again.
“Playing so much has made me a lot more confident about my footy.”

http://img110.imageshack.us/img110/6447/patfull2ka5.jpg

danielcanberra
29th June 2007, 10:24
Named at full-forward for the Lions is Joel Patfull, who is looking to make it two-from-two against Port Adelaide, where he was a rookie in 2003 and 2004.

The 190cm Patfull is something of a “Mr Fixit” position-wise for the Lions, but says he is happy to play anywhere – so long as he is getting a game.

”I guess with my height I’m a little bit of an in-between size and that means I get used in a variety of spots,” Patfull said.

”I’m happy playing forward for the moment but I’ll gladly go and play down back when I’m needed down there. As long as I get to play I’m not going to complain.”

http://www.lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=46223

TheBrownDog
8th July 2007, 16:11
How good is he in defence!

So underrated.

A great selection by Brisbane in the 2005 National draft.

Grimreepah
8th July 2007, 16:18
Yeah, he's done some good work on the big forwards in Pavlich and Lucas in the past, but it was good to see him be able to shut down a small forward in Le Cras. Very versatile player. He was also good in the congestion to help set up our rebound out of defence.

Kochie 16
8th July 2007, 16:29
Should be in defense from now on!

notting18
8th July 2007, 16:33
Should be in defense from now on!

Yeah Joel is a defender and Brennan is a forward!

Kochie 16
8th July 2007, 16:36
Yeah Joel is a defender and Brennan is a forward!
:rolleyes:;)

Grimreepah
15th July 2007, 11:46
http://img464.imageshack.us/img464/6093/patfullkp3.jpg

Russell Robertson has struggled against Brisbane for the last couple of years, thanks to this man.

konstas_87
15th July 2007, 12:26
Patful is awesome in defence when a good match up comes along (ie Robbo). the even better thing is that he is replacing Brennan!
I dont mind brennan at the other end the worst thing that can happen is a behind, rather than an opposition goal.

Patful was awesome on Robbo last night, is a very handy utility for us.

Kochie 16
15th July 2007, 15:34
Well done patful, keeping Robo to just a single goal, easily the best defender on ground!

Grimreepah
16th July 2007, 14:50
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22077957-5003410,00.html)

Patfull aims to shut down stars

Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/?from=ni_story)
Ben Dorries
July 16, 2007 12:00am

GIANT-killing Lions utility Joel Patfull has set himself a fresh mission of blunting the game's most exhilarating forwards.
The hard-working South Australian product has been sent to defence – switching with Jared Brennan – in a move which has helped to reignite the Lions' season with consecutive wins over West Coast and Melbourne. Patfull was an unsung star of the Lions' 44-point win over the Demons at the Gabba, keeping brilliant Melbourne forward Russell Robertson to a single goal and eight possessions.
The 22-year-old, who is something of a reluctant defender after playing as a forward in his junior football and booting a goal with his first kick for the Lions last season, has won high praise from coach Leigh Matthews.
He is certain to be assigned another key defensive mission as the Lions shoot for three wins in a row against lowly Carlton next weekend, probably getting the duties on the elusive Brad Fisher.
"I've done a few decent jobs down back so they might stick me down back for a few more weeks," Patfull said.
"I was originally a forward but I've started to play a little bit back as I've got older. I don't mind it – it's good to do a job on someone – but I like kicking a goal as well."
Matthews described Patfull's stopping task against Roberston as "exceptional" and hinted the youngster would continue his new defensive role.
"Robertson was always going to be their most likely multiple goalkicker and I thought Joel was very good," Matthews said.
The Patfull move has also freed up the unpredictable Brennan to be an attacking wildcard, kicking two goals against the Demons and proving a great sidekick to six-goal star Jonathan Brown.

http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/4475/patfullip5.jpg

danielcanberra
17th July 2007, 18:35
Mods, do you mind correcting the name of the thread? Patfull with two Ls.

The Flying Belgian
18th July 2007, 10:25
Done.

notliondown
25th July 2007, 12:18
Its hard not admire Joel.

Anyone who takes a risk with his career and his future... the gamble he took in shifting without a commitment from the Lions... the fact that he just works hard and just commits to what ever needs to be done without the need for fanfare... I dunno. There just something admirable about a guy who's a workhorse and whos dependable and who just does what has to be done... like Bushie & Possum too I guess.

Its great to see his versatilty being used the way it is... hes a strong unit with a pretty good motor so I hope we'll find a place for him for a long time to come. Defense, attack... he just might be the pinch hitter we need for the next few years!

xplo
26th July 2007, 14:54
Its hard not admire Joel.

Anyone who takes a risk with his career and his future... the gamble he took in shifting without a commitment from the Lions... the fact that he just works hard and just commits to what ever needs to be done without the need for fanfare... I dunno.

I agree he's great, but don't know about "shifting without a commitment from the Lions". Jason Roe was rookied at the same time, so he wasn't available for senior selection when he arrived, but Joel was at least drafted, so he was on a base wage and immediately available to fight for a senior berth from the day he arrived.

notliondown
26th July 2007, 15:04
I agree he's great, but don't know about "shifting without a commitment from the Lions". Jason Roe was rookied at the same time, so he wasn't available for senior selection when he arrived, but Joel was at least drafted, so he was on a base wage and immediately available to fight for a senior berth from the day he arrived.

Oh... my mistake... I thought he moved before he was drafted... when he was told by Port he was going to be delisted before the end of the season. I thought he had started training up here to try and convince Brisbane to draft him during the end of season...:confused: For some reason I seem to remember his prospects of being picked up by a club being slim so he took this chance??

notliondown
27th July 2007, 16:08
"The 21-year-old was rookie listed by Port in 2003 and 2004, before spending last year in the SANFL with his club of origin, Norwood. A good season there caught the attention of Lions recruiter and forward scout Graham Wright, and led to an invitation to join pre-season training at the Gabba.

Patfull's willingness to take a chance and travel to Brisbane, along with his appetite for hard work, paid dividends – initially when he was taken by the Lions with the No. 56 pick of the November National Draft, and then with a debut that was all the more special being against his old club."

I copied this from his bio on the Lions site... am I right in thinking that he took a chance in moving with just an invitation to train and no guarantee of being taken in the draft by the Lions? I'm sure I can remember him having to make that decision to shift prior to the draft or to throw his hat in the ring in the draft anyway??

Do any of you far wiser and more knowledgeable guys know?

BigCat2
27th July 2007, 16:13
Well, sounds like he traveled up here for the training, but I imagine he would've only moved permanently after he'd be drafted?

xplo
27th July 2007, 17:10
If I remember rightly, there were a group of blokes invited to train with a view to impressing enough to be either drafted or rookied -- I think it included Benny Fixter, Ty Zantuck and that guy that played at Geelong and West Coast -- David Haynes, I reckon. Joel and Roey were the virtual unknowns amongst them.

I'm guessing it would have been about six weeks between getting the invitation to getting drafted in early December. I'm not running that down, but if you're a SANFL footballer in your early 20's and you get a second chance at the AFL, you wouldn't think it would be a huge gamble to come to Brisbane to train for a few months.

I'm sure if the Adelaide sides had offered, he'd have happily fronted there, but you'd have to infer that they didn't.

notliondown
27th July 2007, 18:28
If I remember rightly, there were a group of blokes invited to train with a view to impressing enough to be either drafted or rookied -- I think it included Benny Fixter, Ty Zantuck and that guy that played at Geelong and West Coast -- David Haynes, I reckon. Joel and Roey were the virtual unknowns amongst them.

I'm guessing it would have been about six weeks between getting the invitation to getting drafted in early December. I'm not running that down, but if you're a SANFL footballer in your early 20's and you get a second chance at the AFL, you wouldn't think it would be a huge gamble to come to Brisbane to train for a few months.

I'm sure if the Adelaide sides had offered, he'd have happily fronted there, but you'd have to infer that they didn't.

Yeah mate...I reckon that sounds right... I recall Ben Fixter in that group now you say that...

Still, I guess the point is I admire the way Joel (and a few others) just goes about his business... the gamble or otherwise just reinforces his desire to play... hes grabbed the opportunity with both hands and you cant help but think hes grateful for it too. Some guys don't like the move back to defense because theres little glory - its not sexy so to speak and yet he along with the rest of the guys back there this year have made it a source of pride... it hasn't seemed to phase him at all...

No matter where he plays its just great to see workmanlike players (not to be confused with a lack of skill because thats not the case) in the non glamor roles just do what they gotta do... I wonder if they wonder whether or not they are noticed?

Warwick
2nd August 2007, 22:53
I can't believe this guy is still only 22. He plays like a 30 year old (in the nicest possible way). Has had a fantastic month since being moved back into defence.

One of the best recent recruits we have done. Has got a big future in front of him.

Tim the Toolman
6th August 2007, 17:59
Red Alert Red Alert Red Alert: Man Crush imminent!

Snuka
18th August 2007, 23:19
Haven't watched the game against the Swans yet but interesting to see a few votes going Patful's way in the Player of the year thread. Didn't hear a lot about him on SEN during the play but Brit's mentioned after the game that he did yet another great defensive job on Micky O, particularly in the 1st half. Mentioned him being the guy that would take those athletic 2nd talls just over 6 foot that are usually pretty hard to match up on. No real point but agree with the sentiments.

Grimreepah
18th August 2007, 23:31
Patfull has a great ability to keep his feet in the contest.

notting18
19th August 2007, 00:53
Patfull has a great ability to keep his feet in the contest.

You "stole my line" Grim;) - i noticed the same thing tonight, and it saved us in defence quite a few times.

Tim the Toolman
21st August 2007, 15:08
He's really going to be put to the sword over the next fortnight and I honestly believe he'll be the decider for us playing in September or not?

Grimreepah
26th August 2007, 01:07
It's being reported that Patfull has a 'cracked collarbone'. Next week will (presumably) be the first ever game missed through injury after playing every game (36 straight) since his debut in round 8 last year.

notting18
26th August 2007, 10:03
It's being reported that Patfull has a 'cracked collarbone'. Next week will (presumably) be the first ever game missed through injury after playing every game (36 straight) since his debut in round 8 last year.

Bad luck for the guy - at least it is not a bad injury and will be back for the pre-season

Grimreepah
26th September 2007, 23:36
http://img464.imageshack.us/img464/6387/patfullwn2.jpg

Date: 15/5/2003

Norwood player Joel Patfull who is fourth in line of Norwood players. His Uncle, Grandfather and Great Grandfather all played for the club. He is pictured with the 'family' locker (no 37).

Drummond
27th September 2007, 00:10
http://i21.tinypic.com/ogvtky.jpg

Date: 15/5/2003

Norwood player Joel Patfull who is fourth in line of Norwood players. His Uncle, Grandfather and Great Grandfather all played for the club. He is pictured with the 'family' locker (no 37).
I was at the Norwood reserves game 2 weeks back and I saw Joel there with a few of his Norwood mates. He catches up with mates whenever he has the chance and he loves his NFC.

Patful. :thumbsu:

Grimreepah
21st October 2007, 21:53
Article (http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,21709049-21543,00.html) written in May

Joel makes himself at home
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_theadvertiser.gif (http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/?from=ni_story)
ZAC MILBANK
May 11, 2007 02:15am

THERE was a very real possibility Joel Patfull could have been wearing a Crows guernsey tomorrow night at the Gabba.
Seeking an extra year on the original one-season deal Patfull was offered at the end of 2006, the former Norwood utility had caught the eye of Adelaide and the Power.
Those who know Patfull are aware of his strong connection to friends and family, so the lure to come home was strong from an off-field perspective.
But once he got the contract he was after, Patfull didn't hesitate to stay in the Sunshine State.
"Absolutely, I always wanted to stay here - it's a great place to live and I'm loving it. I'm very happy up here," Patfull, 22, said. "It's just the fact I enjoy the footy club, it's a great place and since the first minute I was here, I've enjoyed every aspect of it.
"The playing group is really approachable and everyone is really close and gets along well. It's a really good culture to be around."
The only downside is the tyranny of distance but Patfull is in regular contact with Adelaide, particularly with former Redlegs team-mate Scott Borlace.
"I talk to Scott and my mates from Norwood at least once a week and my mates from school, I talk to them every now and then," he said. "Family and friends, I miss them and that's the hardest part. I get to come back (to Adelaide) every now and then I suppose."
While Patfull's future was up in the air during summer, his commitment could not be questioned.
The 190cm Lion hardly missed a beat during pre-season training and as a result, has established his place in a thriving Brisbane line-up.
"I only missed one or two training sessions for the whole summer so I had a good base to work on and I'm pretty fit," Patfull said.
"It's an enormous bonus. I can get to more contests and work further up the ground. Running my opponent around really helps me out too."
Chiefly stationed in the goalsquare this season, Patfull has at times been thrown into defence by coach Leigh Matthews.
It is this versatility which had both SA clubs salivating over Patfull, especially when the former Power rookie handles his change in assignments so impressively.
"The past couple of games I've been thrown down back a little bit if we need another tall player down there," Patfull said.
"I don't mind it at all. When I was at Norwood I was up forward and down back, so I'm very used to it. It doesn't bother me too much.
"They (Brisbane coaching staff) know I'm happy to play wherever."
Learning from Matthews and his assistants isn't Patfull's only method of gaining experience - he is in awe of team-mate Jonathan Brown.
"Just playing anywhere near Browny you learn a fair bit," Patfull, who has played 21 AFL games since making his debut last year, said.
"He has a word to you and tells you what you need to work on and where to run, so that's really helpful.
"It's not the fact he kicks goals it's just the presence he has. You can't really replace it and it's extremely valuable. That's one of the things I need to do more of - be able to attract more of the ball and get more involved in contests."

*note: Patfull was Port Adelaide's 1st round pick in the 2003 rookie draft (pick 14) and Scott Borlace was Port's 2nd round pick (pick 30).

http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/7119/patfullsl2.jpg

Grimreepah
2nd November 2007, 11:18
End of Season Player Review

Going into 2007 many considered Patfull as just a depth player with limited upside. It was debatable whether he was a starting 22 player, but with an impressive NAB Cup he was rewarded with a spot. When the season started he played mainly up forward, and was showing a tremendous ability in his contested marking. But overall he was not contributing enough, scoring 11 goals in half a season, and with Brown being double and triple teamed it would be fair to say Patfull wasn’t making his opponents accountable enough.

Patfull would also be thrown back into defence as a plan B, and showed he was very good at performing shut down roles on key forwards (eg. Lucas and Pavlich) when needed, often switching with Brennan who was playing at CHB. After a while, it seemed plan B was working better than plan A, and a permanent switch was made, with Brennan moving forward and Patfull taking over at CHB.

From that point on Patfull had a terrific 2nd half of the year, regularly stopping his opponents from having any influence. The only time he was really beaten was against Franklin in round 19. A feature of Patfull’s game is his versatility. In round 14, small forward Le Cras was causing us the most problems, so Patfull was shifted onto him and Le Cras was quiet from then on. But he also played on the likes of Russell Robertson and Travis Cloke with equal success.

Patfull is deceptively strong, and he wins a lot of contests just by outbodying his opponent. He is also terrific at keeping his feet in the contest. He is not a big possession getter but he uses the ball well when he does get it. He has a good motor and can cover a lot of territory if needed. At 190cm there is a question mark about whether he is tall enough to be a genuine key position player, but so far that hasn’t been an issue (Franklin beat him more with pace than height).

Joel would have played every game had he not broken his collarbone in round 21. He has come a long way in 2007, finishing 10th in the B&F. After starting out as a fringe player, he is now firmly entrenched in the side and is an important component of our new look defensive unit.

http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/811/patfullja0.jpg

Grimreepah
13th December 2007, 16:26
http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/4893/patfullfh7.jpg

Patfull probably edges out Stiller as Brisbane's most under rated player. If, as Leigh says, reputation trails performance by 6 months he should start to get some recognition early next year.

danielcanberra
13th December 2007, 17:34
Patfull probably edges out Stiller as Brisbane's most under rated player. If, as Leigh says, reputation trails performance by 6 months he should start to get some recognition early next year.

This thread has it on record that BrownDog, Tim the Toolman and I rated and gave him recognition long ago.

There you go.

Grimreepah
19th February 2008, 20:55
http://img512.imageshack.us/img512/6126/patfulliq0.jpg

IMO was our best player in the round 1 NAB Cup loss to Essendon. Don't expect him to get any recognition though. The perception is still out there that we lack a centre half back.

LIONOFZION
20th February 2008, 07:10
What he lacks in size he more than makes up for in footy smarts - body positioning, ability to keep his feet (as mentioned above), timing, reading the play etc. Also has great hands and fine disposal - his kicking is fine (contrary to some other posters opinions), and can make a long handpass to a running teammate look ridiculously easy, dare I say it a la Vossy? :thumbsu::) (OK maybe I'm getting a tad excited with the Vossy handball comparison bit :eek:)
Why did Port not see this?

Lace Out
6th March 2008, 11:33
Have to keep reminding myself of how effective he was in the backline last year.I hope he can improve even more and become a gun stopper on guys like Brad Johnson,Delidio and Mark Williams.

Grimreepah
16th March 2008, 00:04
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23379647-10389,00.html)

Alastair Lynch:

They (the Lions) also need to develop a second tall defender to partner Daniel Merrett. Joel Patfull did a terrific job last year but he's too short for some opposition.

http://img397.imageshack.us/img397/9967/patfull3aw3.jpg

Cousin Jed
20th March 2008, 19:31
Joel talking it up

Size doesn't Matter (http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,23409110-23211,00.html)

March 20, 2008
SIZE doesn't matter to Brisbane Lions defender Joel Patfull.

The 23-year-old is the first to admit that the Lions' undersized back six are their potential Achilles heel, especially against a West Coast outfit that boasts towering forward Mark Seaby.

But Patfull has backed arguably the AFL's most underrated defence to hold up their end of the bargain for a rejuvenated Lions in their season-opener against the Eagles at Subiaco.

"We are probably going to be a little bit undersized," Patfull said.

"They will play a few talls up there which may stretch us but we all play a bit taller than what we are so it is not a huge concern for us."

The Lions' forward stocks look impressive for 2008 with the return of Daniel Bradshaw from a knee reconstruction.

And the already classy midfield has been injected with former Demons onballer Travis Johnstone.

But defence looms as the weak link on paper - especially against the Eagles where 190cm, 89kg Patfull is tipped to line up against the 200cm, 100kg Seaby.

The 196cm, 104kg Daniel Merrett is the focal point of Brisbane's defence after negotiating a steep learning curve at full-back.

But the rest of their defence appears vertically challenged, particularly without the likes of the 192cm Jason Roe (quad).

The Lions named Merrett, Patfull, 188cm Josh Drummond, 186cm Cheynee Stiller, 187cm Joel Macdonald and 188cm Irishman Colm Begley as their back six for the Eagles clash.

But Patfull has adopted a "the taller they are, the harder they fall" philosophy, particularly for his expected clash with Seaby.

"He is a bit taller than me but I've played on some talls last year (and) I'm pretty comfortable," he said.

"Roey would have helped us. He is important for us, but we can cover him.

"Joel (Macdonald) can play taller than he is - we are not concerned at all."

The stat sheet doesn't faze Patfull either - the Lions have won at Subiaco just twice since 2001.

But the Lions roared the last time they played in Perth, upsetting the Eagles by 27 points last year to snap a seven game win-less run.

However, Patfull said there was no chance of the Lions flying under the radar this weekend.

"Absolutely not. They will be fired up ready to go, but we will go about it the same way as we did last year," Patfull said.

Patfull was not shying away from previous teammates' talk of September action and a top four finish for the Lions.

"It doesn't put any pressure on us at all. We've all played a few years of footy together now, we are all keen to play finals footy," he said.

"That's the goal we have set ourselves. Come September we will be ready to play finals."

Cousin Jed
17th April 2008, 08:30
There's a story in the Courier-mail today (not online) that Joel was down for about 10 minutes receiving treatment on a hip complaint. Looked to be in alot of trouble, but did get up and join in afterwards.

Grimreepah
24th April 2008, 10:04
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=58450)

Patfull learns a Buddy good lesson
Author: Simon White
9:00 AM Thu 24 April, 2008

ALTHOUGH respectful of the opponents he will face in coming weeks, Brisbane Lions defender Joel Patfull is definitely glad to see the back of Lance Franklin.

Patfull was the third Lion to try his hand at stopping Franklin last weekend, as the Hawks ace exploded for eight majors and 14 shots on goal.

He says the experience was beneficial from a learning perspective but will be happy not to run into Franklin again before the round 19 rematch in Launceston.

”Every team has a couple of quality forwards but at the moment (Franklin) is probably the toughest to play on,” Patfull told lions.com.au.

”With his size and athleticism, he’s just a complete player and can pretty much do it all.

"But you definitely learn a fair bit playing on him. You can figure out where he likes to lead and get the ball, and hopefully that will be helpful down the track.”

Patfull is likely to square up against a familiar foe on Sunday at the Gabba – high leaping Melbourne forward Russell Robertson.

The 23-year-old played one of the best games of his young career in the corresponding fixture last year, restricting Robertson to a single goal.

While he’s looking forward to the challenge of again standing the three-time leading Demons goalkicker, Patfull says he won’t be sledging Robertson about his singing prowess.

With Melbourne winless through the season’s first five rounds, Robertson delivered some unconventional joy for Demon fans by finishing runner-up in television’s It Takes Two singing competition.

”A few of the boys have been telling me I should give him a bit of a dig, but I think I’ll give it a miss,” Patfull said.

”My singing isn’t too great, so I don’t think there’s much I could say.

"He’s a great player and can hurt you in a few different ways, so I’ll have to be on my toes.

”He’s good on the lead but then, as he showed last week, he can also jump right over a pack and take a screamer.”

The Lions can take their season record to 3-3 with a win over the Demons, with Patfull believing that the key to victory is starting well.

Hawthorn kicked the first two goals of the game last week and the Lions’ two wins to date – against Collingwood and Port Adelaide – have been the result of dramatic final quarter comebacks.

”We’ve spoken a bit in the last couple of weeks about how important it is to get a good start,” Patfull said.

"On the weekend, we weren’t too bad and ended up being in front at quarter-time.

”But we haven’t really taken control of a game yet. Hopefully we can get a few goals on the board early this weekend and put ourselves in a winning position early in the game.”

http://img206.imageshack.us/img206/1903/patfulluc6.jpg
Joel Patfull had his hands full with Lance Franklin last week

danielcanberra
24th April 2008, 13:27
Steely edged Joel.

He's so mature that I forget how young he still is.

Grimreepah
27th April 2008, 02:20
Lethal's Lowdown (http://lions.com.au/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=57882)

On former Port Adelaide rookie Joel Patfull:

“He’s done a really good job. I’m really pleased with him.”

“He was an unlisted player who was playing really well in the SANFL so we decided to draft him with a pick in the mid fifties.”

“Now he and Daniel Merrett are the anchors of our defence.”

“Joel is reasonably quiet and sometimes it can take these types of guys a while to believe in themselves. But the more he plays, I think the more he believes in himself.”

Gabbatoir
5th May 2008, 19:30
Brilliant game versus Geelong, backed himself and toweled Mooney. Finding his best form :thumbsu:

mish33
5th May 2008, 19:38
Brilliant game versus Geelong, backed himself and toweled Mooney. Finding his best form :thumbsu:

can't agree more. He's backing himself to run off his man now too. Looks really solid with his disposal, we'd be ____ed down there without him atm.

Can't wait to see Roe and Drummond in there to help him out. How much run has that back six got :eek:

chopperduck
7th May 2008, 08:48
can't agree more. He's backing himself to run off his man now too. Looks really solid with his disposal, we'd be ____ed down there without him atm.

Can't wait to see Roe and Drummond in there to help him out. How much run has that back six got :eek:

very good run, but at the same time, they are all great defenders too which is fantastic, as usually you have to give up some defense skill for a bit of run.

best part is next time we play we should have so many players back, could have 5 or 6 very big ins vs the blues.

Gabbatoir
7th May 2008, 18:27
very good run, but at the same time, they are all great defenders too which is fantastic, as usually you have to give up some defense skill for a bit of run.

best part is next time we play we should have so many players back, could have 5 or 6 very big ins vs the blues.

I might have to bust out the U word with regards to our defense.

under____ed. ;)

But don't tell the other 15 clubs that, you'll be laughed at :rolleyes:

chopperduck
7th May 2008, 18:34
its funny cos its true. on other forums ive mentioned the likes of patfull and merrett and got replies of 'who' and 'he was lucky last time cos player x had a bad game last time.'

no one seems to want to admit our defense is better than most

TheBrownDog
7th May 2008, 19:41
We conceded the 5th least points against last season.

We're currently 8th in that department this season, and considering the teams we've played, thats pretty impressive, especially with Begley, Drummond and Roe being absent for most of it.

:thumbsu:

Happy with how things are going down back myself.

chopperduck
22nd May 2008, 17:56
just when we thought we saw it all from patfull he seems to have found another gear in the last few weeks, and not just spoiling, but rebounding out of defense. just a player that keeps improving.

dare i say, he is nearly the most important part of our backline. i always thought he would make a gun forward when he started too. is very likely to be the next bradshaw

Cousin Jed
28th May 2008, 16:52
Look out Joel - Anthony Hudson has spotted you (http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=60362)

Still in the back half the two Joels – Patful and McDonald – are key factors in Brisbane’s renaissance.

The Lions were struggling in defence and Patful was failing to have an impact in attack. He now looks right at home covering the second key forward, while McDonald has provided much-needed run and 22 disposals each week.

Grimreepah
6th June 2008, 00:47
Michael Voss (http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/lions-open-window-of-opportunity/2008/06/05/1212259009404.html?page=2)

Patfull has really surprised me. At 190 centimetres, he has been able to shut down some of the game's biggest and best opponents at centre half-back while also taking on some of the more dangerous medium-sizers.

bears2lions
6th June 2008, 09:09
Steely edged Joel.

I like that description of him. Sharp and focussed.

Grimreepah
12th June 2008, 14:09
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=61282)

Patfull prepared for diverse Dogs
By Simon White
9:39 AM Thu 12 June, 2008

IT ISN’T often a defender can find reasons to look forward to playing on a six-time All-Australian with more than 300 games and almost 500 career goals to his name.
But that’s the apparent conundrum Joel Patfull could face on Saturday night, when the Brisbane Lions take on the Western Bulldogs at the MCG.
In past clashes, Patfull has had the unenviable task of picking up 300-gamer Brad Johnson – three times the Dogs’ fairest-and-best and on four occasions the club’s leading goal-kicker.
Still, having spent much of last weekend’s clash with Fremantle giving up 12kg to Matthew Pavlich (101kg), manning the 87kg Johnson will represent a welcome return to Patfull’s weight class.
“Obviously a guy like Brad Johnson is a really difficult opponent but generally I’d prefer to play on a mid-sized forward like him,” Patfull told lions.com.au.
“It can be a bit hard to pick, because you normally wouldn’t expect the bigger guys to run as much – and a player like Pavlich can really run as well.
“But when it’s a matter of being 10-15kg lighter than your opponent, like I was last week, I’m a lot more comfortable going one-on-one against smaller forwards.”
Although history would point to the job on Johnson being his, Patfull will spend this week preparing to play on any number of opponents.
The Dogs are an AFL rarity in that they don’t have a genuine key forward. That said, the likes of Johnson (182cm), Scott Welsh (188cm) and Robert Murphy (186cm) are more than handy overhead and have already combined for 61 goals this season.
“Most weeks I’d get DVDs of maybe three opposition forwards – this week I’ve got pretty much the whole Bulldogs forward line to study, five or six of them,” Patfull said.
“Most teams have at least a couple of real key forwards, but the Bulldogs don’t have any really, which changes things.
“The last couple of years I’ve played on Johnson but I could easily be on Welsh or Murphy instead this weekend. And they can all take a good mark.”

http://img391.imageshack.us/img391/9871/patfullig4.jpg

Lace Out
12th June 2008, 14:49
I think Murphy is the big danger-like to see Joel start on him.

Grimreepah
21st June 2008, 22:07
Tonight Burton was Patfulated.:D

Was hearing footsteps by the end of the night.

dlanod
21st June 2008, 22:17
Tonight Burton was Patfulated.:D

Was hearing footsteps by the end of the night.

He's going to wake up in the middle of the night screaming "PATFULLLLLL!!!!" ;)

mish33
22nd June 2008, 14:13
Joel had 12 1%ers last night:eek: but only 26 DT points :rolleyes:

konstas_87
22nd June 2008, 16:00
Joel is fast becoming one of my top 4-5 favourite players.
week in week out he fights well out of his weight divison, managing to get that important spoil almost every time when it looks impossible.

Our backline with Merrett, Patfull, Macdonald, Mcgrath back there looks super solid at the moment, and very exciting.

Grimreepah
22nd June 2008, 18:03
I think he has to be an All Australian Contender

I can't see him getting an AA guernsey. I think he lacks the attacking side of his game to be considered in that company. He would have to be behind Macdonald, and I can't see two Lions making it in the AA back 6.

Grimreepah
23rd June 2008, 19:45
Patfull is due to play his 50th game against the Demons. Since making his debut in round 8 2006 he has only missed one game, round 22 last year.

TheBrownDog
23rd June 2008, 19:59
Patfull is due to play his 50th game against the Demons. Since making his debut in round 8 2006 he has only missed one game, round 22 last year.

He's come a long way since Lions fans uttered a collective "Joel WHO?" when his name was read out in the 2005 draft.

Grimreepah
23rd June 2008, 20:26
He's come a long way since Lions fans uttered a collective "Joel WHO?" when his name was read out in the 2005 draft.

To play your first 50 games without ever being dropped (missed one game with a collar bone injury) is a fairly rare achievement.

From the 2005 draft only two players have played more games: Thomas (54) and Birchall (53).

xplo
24th June 2008, 08:48
Yeah, fair get that. I remember everyone going Joel F&!@#4n Who?!?! and scrambling for SANFL game reports to try to piece together what we'd done.

Very similar to the Dalziell situation last year -- mature age, no profile, state league player from leftfield. Both drafted in the low 50's from memory too.

We'll be stoked if Bradd has a comparable start to his career with us.

Tim the Toolman
24th June 2008, 09:56
So glad I went out on a limb and bought his guernsey from the special match last year in Melbourne. I reckon the way he's going it's going to be worth heaps one day.....not that I'd every want to part with it.

Grimreepah
24th June 2008, 16:56
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=61627)

Lions defender Joel Patfull has been nominated for an AFL army award. In the 2nd quarter Burton jumped on top of an opponent's head and was about to take a hanger, only for Patfull to come from nowhere and punch the ball out of his hands.

http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/7800/patfullow2.jpg

kizzel
25th June 2008, 12:33
After watching the other army award nominations, I think Joel's actually looks the best. Unfortunately I find these voting systems generally come down to popularity votes, but fortunately for Joel, there are no Essendon or Collingwood players up for nomination.

Joel pretty much ruined mark of the week, someone should win something from that play - and it ain't Burton!

Grimreepah
25th June 2008, 19:19
Link (http://news.theage.com.au/sport/lions-backline-deserves-praise-patfull-20080625-2wqy.html)

Lions backline deserves praise: Patfull
June 25, 2008 - 6:16PM

Defender Joel Patfull believes it's time the Brisbane Lions' no-name backline earned some recognition, having helped put the club on track for the AFL finals.
While many point to forwards Jonathan Brown and Daniel Bradshaw and some classy midfielders as the reasons behind the Lions' improvement in 2008, the backline has kept opposition sides to scores under 100 in five of the past six games.
The Lions won all of those games, with the round 12 defeat to the rampant Western Bulldogs the only blip on the recent form line.
Patfull, whose spoiling of Adelaide's Brett Burton was a feature of the Lions' win over the Crows last Saturday night, said it was nice for he, fullback Daniel Merrett and their unheralded teammates to win some plaudits.
"We get forgotten about a bit up here, so it's good to get a bit of recognition," he said.
"We've been playing together now for a while and the games we've played we're getting a good bond back there.
"Joey Mac (Macdonald) and Josh Drummond as well are all playing good games, so it's all helping out."

http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/6458/patfull15ex5.jpg

notliondown
29th June 2008, 16:34
So glad I went out on a limb and bought his guernsey from the special match last year in Melbourne. I reckon the way he's going it's going to be worth heaps one day.....not that I'd every want to part with it.

So it was you!!! :D

Joel has been a favorite for a few years now... its great to finally see him getting some credit lately... and today again he just worked and worked and worked.

Its amazing how he can take on someone bigger and quicker and still keep them to low scores. They say hes as strong as an ox... and he looks it in action... but hes nearly always undersize for the man hes on.

His work ethic is just awesome... he just wears em like a glove to the point where they cant breathe... and now that hes really starting to break the lines he looks good on the run too.

Probably not one of the Powers better moves...:rolleyes:

Tim the Toolman
1st July 2008, 12:32
Actually, I am open to offers as I really need the cash!

Grimreepah
17th August 2008, 01:10
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=65678)

Matthews was also pleased with the efforts of key defender Joel Patfull, who had a tough outing against Hawthorn's Buddy Franklin last week but was influential against the Dogs.

Patfull’s well taken running goal from 35m in the last quarter proved decisive and he kept the dangerous Robert Murphy to 16 possessions and one goal.

"We actually thought Joel was okay against Buddy. To keep him to seven scoring shots was a bit of an heroic effort, because he normally has about 12," Matthews said.

“I thought the defensive group was pretty solid tonight. Joel was sent out to play on Murphy and it was good that he actually ran forward and had a couple of shots and kicked a goal."

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/6194/patfullms8.jpg

Grimreepah
24th August 2008, 01:11
Link (http://sportal.com.au/afl-news-display/blues-storm-home-over-lions-55367)

While Daniel Bradshaw had a night out at one end, Brendan Fevola didn't at the other for Carlton. Joel Patfull did a terrific job on him and Fevola managed just two goals to take his tally to 92 for the season.

http://img183.imageshack.us/img183/6411/patfull9sl6.jpg

TheBrownDog
24th August 2008, 01:12
Patfull may have cost Fev the 100.

Lehmo87
24th August 2008, 16:53
Patfull may have cost Fev the 100.

I hope he did. Last thing we need is for that over inflated ego to get more air pumped into it.

Patfull has had a great year IMO. Consistantly gets the job done.

Grimreepah
27th August 2008, 01:30
Most minutes (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,24247990-19742,00.html) played in 2008 (so far)

1. Harry O'Brien (2517)
2. Brendan Fevola (2499)
3. Joel Patfull (2482)
4. Dale Morris (2480)
5. Lance Franklin (2468)
6. Daniel Merrett
7. Brian Lake