View Full Version : Harvey
blueskies
19 Jul 2007, 10:10
Thought it worthwhile posting this.
Heard from a colleague who has close ties to a number of BIG football identities that Harvey will be Carlton coach IF Connolly remains at Frementle. I got this mail 2 weeks ago.
I have also had it confirmed from another source that Carlton spoke to 3 coaching candidates 2-3 weeks ago, with one being Harvey.
Interesting then to read that Harvey is not sure if he wants the Freo gig for the rest of 2007. He has pleaded with Freo to be given 48 hrs to decide. Now Harvs has been picky in the past and there might be a multitude of good reasons why he would prefer to coach elsewhere, but I wonder if his apprehension has to do with the possibility of coaching the Blues, given the two corroborating rumours I have heard.
Harvey's bogan persona makes him unpopular with Carlton fans, but he is probably the most experienced assistant coach going around, having served a long apprenticeship under Sheedy and most recently at Fremantle.
Anyhow, I could be totally wrong on all of this and he might take the Freo job today, but I thought it worthwhile posting this anyhow.
Thought it worthwhile posting this.
Heard from a colleague who has close ties to a number of BIG football identities that Harvey will be Carlton coach IF Connolly remains at Frementle. I got this mail 2 weeks ago.
I have also had it confirmed from another source that Carlton spoke to 3 coaching candidates 2-3 weeks ago, with one being Harvey.
Interesting then to read that Harvey is not sure if he wants the Freo gig for the rest of 2007. He has pleaded with Freo to be given 48 hrs to decide. Now Harvs has been picky in the past and there might be a multitude of good reasons why he would prefer to coach elsewhere, but I wonder if his apprehension has to do with the possibility of coaching the Blues, given the two corroborating rumours I have heard.
Harvey's bogan persona makes him unpopular with Carlton fans, but he is probably the most experienced assistant coach going around, having served a long apprenticeship under Sheedy and most recently at Fremantle.
Anyhow, I could be totally wrong on all of this and he might take the Freo job today, but I thought it worthwhile posting this anyhow.
i reckon our young players would like harvey.:thumbsu:he was one of the most courageous footballers to play in the 80's and 90's.
Blues_Man
19 Jul 2007, 11:09
Harvey is an absolute moron...we can and should do a lot better than that bummer low life
Harvey is an absolute moron...we can and should do a lot better than that bummer low lifeand you know this for fact?
thylacine60
19 Jul 2007, 11:22
It seems to be the general consensus although he has always been a good media performer. I think he would still have the reek of Sheedy on him - just too much Essendon around the place.
Peter Dyson
19 Jul 2007, 11:28
:eek::eek::eek::eek: no no no no no no no no no please no:(
blueskies
19 Jul 2007, 12:06
Harvey is an absolute moron...we can and should do a lot better than that bummer low life
Well that was an insightful post.
scorpion2466
19 Jul 2007, 12:58
Harvey would be the last person on earth that would take the Carlton job. He hates us so much that not even all the money in the world would sway him.
No chance.
Harvey would be the last person on earth that would take the Carlton job. He hates us so much that not even all the money in the world would sway him.
No chance.
How do you know this? :cool:
blueskies
19 Jul 2007, 13:49
There's some terribly knowledgeable people at BF.
BlueWorld
19 Jul 2007, 14:59
All these people with inside mail here. Is it Harvey or Voss who are certainties to coach Carlton next year!:rolleyes:
diesel1
19 Jul 2007, 15:10
All these people with inside mail here. Is it Harvey or Voss who are certainties to coach Carlton next year!:rolleyes:
Its all a load of crap, noone is a certanity, that is of course Pagan does resign.
blueskies
19 Jul 2007, 15:22
I don't think anyone knows that Blueworld.
But I have heard two different people who have very good sources, both mention Harvey's name.
One of these people also mentioned Voss, and we know Kevin Bartlett says Voss has been interviewed by the Blues three times.
I think where there's smoke there's usually fire, and I am pretty confident Harvey and Voss are among the shortlist.
But yes, nobody knows for sure and I doubt very much a deal has been made.
Interesting to read in the paper today Swann is apparently a fan of Laidley. My gut feel is the club are taking their time, now whether that's because there's some resistence to sacking Pagan (which I have been told) or because they have not made their mind up yet on a replacement (eg : maybe Laidley is in their sights, or maybe they're still trying to lure a BIG name like Williams, after all we do have more money than anyone else), I don't know.
But the whole thing is reading like a huge mystery novel and I for one am fascinated by all the machinations and developments. But then I am a footy tragic. :)
Harvey would be a step in the wrong direction. Imagine a man that has been too scared to take on the head coaches position on a number of occasions previously and who appears to procrastinate, "should I, Shouldn't I"....no. I have the feeling he doesn't like risk taking, doesn't back himself in enough. Besides he's a bomber at heart!
Go McKenna and/or Ratten
scorpion2466
19 Jul 2007, 16:42
Voss is the front runner to take the Carlton job. Harvey would be at the end of the list and Rats along with McKenna would be somewhere in the middle. That's how it stands as we speak. Ofcourse when the interview process starts after Denis leaves then things could change. A few names might pop out of left field like Bond, Longmire, Hardwick or even Roos.
blueskies
19 Jul 2007, 16:43
The not wanting to take risks thing is an interesting point, but it could also be totally wrong.
Maybe he's just a very, very shrewd customer, who knows all too well the pitfalls of coaching and wisely wants to be extremely sure before he makes the big leap. After all, he is still seen as a young prospect and I'm sure he's getting paid handsomely as an assistant and is learning on the job every day.
Look, I don't know if I personally want him at Carlton, but really my laymans opinion should be worth very little. I mean what's to say he can't be a gun coach? I thought Clarkson was a ridiculous appointment, because he was a bland no-name, but look at the Hawks now.
I doubt hardly any of us know the real Mark Harvey, so dissing the guy's coaching ability based on lounge chair speculation is a bit weak really. Give me facts. Is he a moron? Is that fact? Is he chicken sh1t? Or just patient and content as an assistant for now?
I don't know much about Voss, except that Brisbane rated him highly as a possible coach (so I read anyhow) and I think the obvious attribute he brings to the table is leadership qualities. But that's where it starts and ends in terms of my views on Voss (based on what I have read and seen about the man).
JeffDunne
19 Jul 2007, 16:45
The question is how does Sticks view Harvey?
I suspect he rates him highly.
The question is how does Sticks view Harvey?
I suspect he rates him highly.
As a player yes, but I think there is a preception about Harvey that he should've taken the step from Assistant to Senior Coach some time ago. He seems quite reluctant to take that step if you ask me. Pehaps he was in Sheeds' shadow to long! :cool: