View Full Version : No Coach, No Captain, No Best Player
WTF is happening to our club.
Harvey doesn't accept Coaching role straight away...obviously hesistant about coaching us in long haul.
Pavlich, the Captain, doesn't want to commit & looks likely to do a "Leigh Colbert"
Peter Bell is retiring, if the strong rumours are true.
Farmer does something stupid once again, & ha probably played his last game in the Afl.
I can see HUGE changes to our list & admii by start of next year
DELISTED;
Peter Bell (retired)
Troy Cook (retired)
Jeff Farmer (delisted)
Robert Haddrill (delisted)
Justin Longmuir (delisted)
Shaun McManus (retired)
Shane Parker (retired)
Matthew Pavlich (traded)
James Walker (delisted)
There's 9 for a start....
BIG QUESTION MARKS;
Andrew Browne
Matthew Carr
Ryley Dunn
Calib Mourish
ROOKIES;
Benet Copping (delist)
Andrew Foster (Upgrade)
Darren Rumble (delist)
Chris Smith (remain as rookie)
wizard_9
19 Jul 2007, 17:11
Enough of the damn negativity. Farmer for all we know has done nothing wrong. Pavlich i think will more than likely stay and i cant see Bell retiring either.
Wizard 9 - Smell the coffee mate.
Rick Hart said in Melbourne the other day, it was likely to be Bell's last year. In all this turmoil, you'd think the Captain would want to give the lads a lift & sign up...he hasn't....he's going...get used to it.
Wizard - just plain stupid, obviously doesn't know what last chance means. Mark my words, HE'S GAWN.
WAKE UP
freo grover
19 Jul 2007, 17:31
I think the Fremantle Football Club are starting to fall apart left, right and centre. Like the thread title says, no coach, no captain, no jeff and no heart left in the team what do the players have to play for??
We are in for a tough ride for the rest of the season, and maybe even the coming years!!
Way to hit the PANIC BUTTON. :D
Let's see how things unfold for a couple of weeks before predicting the end of life as we know it. Yes Jeffrey is in trouble, no doubt about it, and I'm not too happy about Harvey's attitude in the past day or so.
But Pav hasn't said he's going anywhere, and nor has Bell. Let's calm down a bit and approach things rationally. There will definitely be a big sweep out at the end of the year, no matter who takes over. But who's to say that isn't a good thing?
Plenty of clubs have decided to go down the youth policy, and now find themselves in contention for a finals berth. Don't be too quick to fall into 'doom and gloom' mode. There may well be a silver lining to all of this.:thumbsu:
No need to panic just yet.
Give things a couple of weeks to settle.
We will have a better idea how things are looking by then.
Dr Ralph Dagg
19 Jul 2007, 18:13
Geez, we are a schizophrenic lot. Last week we're lamenting the same old, same old. This week we're lamenting too much change.
The Chinese do have saying say "be careful of what you wish for."
Apparently. not the same guy who said "Woman who slide down banister make monkey shine."
Don't mind change
BUT
Top3 players at once?
spitlizard
19 Jul 2007, 18:18
Geez, we are a schizophrenic lot. Last week we're lamenting the same old, same old. This week we're lamenting too much change.
LOL damn straight Daggs :D
That's my point: a bit of change is a good thing. Ruffle a few feathers etc. There is some dead wood in this club that needs removing (I am talking about you, Matt Carr;)), hopefully a new coach will bring his yard broom...
Obviously if Pavlich goes and Bell retires, we are up shit creek in the short term.:eek:
Topdock65
19 Jul 2007, 18:24
No need to panic just yet.
Give things a couple of weeks to settle.
We will have a better idea how things are looking by then.
:thumbsu: Spot on Ripper....
Let the dust settle.
Tarkyn_24
19 Jul 2007, 18:26
The least Pav will go for is Rutten and a round 2 pick
Dr Ralph Dagg
19 Jul 2007, 18:37
The least Pav will go for is Rutten and a round 2 pick
Over my dead, flabby corpse. Or did you forget the big smiley face? That's the dumbest idea since Caligula appointed his horse to Roman senate.
Brad Ottens was a broken down hack and Richmond got two first round draft picks. Jonathon Hay was two first round picks. The Jade Rawlings deal.
Adelaide will know that if they want a 70+ goal a year durable forward they'll be looking at at least two top ten picks, and then some change. Besides Rutten and Pavlich would give Adelaide the perfect bookends to build a side around.
NiGHTFuRY
19 Jul 2007, 18:44
WTF is happening to our club.
Harvey doesn't accept Coaching role straight away...obviously hesistant about coaching us in long haul.
Pavlich, the Captain, doesn't want to commit & looks likely to do a "Leigh Colbert"
Peter Bell is retiring, if the strong rumours are true.
Farmer does something stupid once again, & ha probably played his last game in the Afl.
I can see HUGE changes to our list & admii by start of next year
DELISTED;
Peter Bell (retired)
Troy Cook (retired)
Jeff Farmer (delisted)
Shaun McManus (retired)
Shane Parker (retired)
Matthew Pavlich (traded)
James Walker (delisted)
BIG QUESTION MARKS;
Andrew Browne
Matthew Carr
Ryley Dunn
Calib Mourish
ROOKIES;
Benet Copping (delist)
Andrew Foster (Upgrade)
Darren Rumble (delist)
All these what if's.... dont be so negative....
Tarkyn_24
19 Jul 2007, 18:45
Over my dead, flabby corpse. Or did you forget the big smiley face? That's the dumbest idea since Caligula appointed his horse to Roman senate.
Brad Ottens was a broken down hack and Richmond got two first round draft picks. Jonathon Hay was two first round picks. The Jade Rawlings deal.
Adelaide will know that if they want a 70+ goal a year durable forward they'll be looking at at least two top ten picks, and then some change. Besides Rutten and Pavlich would give Adelaide the perfect bookends to build a side around.
If it's Pav's choice, he could just walk away anyway.
Freo need a class defender, they'll still have Tarrant up forward.
Freo Shark
19 Jul 2007, 18:58
Pav is honourable and will not go into the PSD, he'll stay. Despite the fact he shouldnt have taken on the captaincy if he was that uncertain.
If Pavlich was to be traded or so I would like McPharlin to become your captain, he would do a great job.
If it's Pav's choice, he could just walk away anyway.
Freo need a class defender, they'll still have Tarrant up forward.
Yep I reckon Pav is honourable, but why the heck would he want to go in the PSD ?. I can't remember him saying he wanted to go to a Victorian team.
When the dust settles, Pav will stay.
Just looking at your list of possible changes:
DELISTED;
Peter Bell (retired)
Troy Cook (retired)
Jeff Farmer (delisted)
Shaun McManus (retired)
Shane Parker (retired)
Matthew Pavlich (traded)
James Walker (delisted)
BIG QUESTION MARKS;
Andrew Browne
Matthew Carr
Ryley Dunn
Calib Mourish
ROOKIES;
Benet Copping (delist)
Andrew Foster (Upgrade)
Darren Rumble (delist)
How many of those guys have played regular AFL football for the club this year? Suddenly the list of potential changes becomes Bell, McManus, Pavlich, Walker and MCarr. I don't think it's a done deal that any of those 5 players will not be at the club next season, though I suppose I'd be a bit surprised if McManus lines up again. Obviously if all 5 of those regulars move on at the end of the season, that will leave a big hole, but it's a lot less scary than it looks at first glance.
Tarkyn_24
20 Jul 2007, 23:20
Yep I reckon Pav is honourable, but why the heck would he want to go in the PSD ?. I can't remember him saying he wanted to go to a Victorian team.
When the dust settles, Pav will stay.
Can you trade for PSD picks?
ImperialPurple
20 Jul 2007, 23:29
No. Nor can you trade for rookie draft picks. National Draft picks only.
Tarkyn_24
20 Jul 2007, 23:37
No. Nor can you trade for rookie draft picks. National Draft picks only.
There goes that theory.
The only other theory is a team like Carlton picks him up, retains him for a year, and in a pre-arranged deal, then ships him off to Adelaide or Port.
Not a very plausable theory, though.