View Full Version : why byrnes?? oh dear..

Pages : [1] 2

kinggaz29
19 Jul 2007, 18:51
Why would you bring in shannon byrnes for varcoe?
He cant kick or find the footy plus wouldn't lay a tackle if his life depended on it! Maybe bit harsh but trav adds alot to our forward line and i think this is a step backwards.
Thoughts?

lohnro
19 Jul 2007, 18:54
we still won last week without varcoe contributing, atleast byrnes will kick a few behinds!

cat_fanatic_21
19 Jul 2007, 18:56
How about that gaz, we agree on something. Hope he proves us all wrong.:o

finrod
19 Jul 2007, 18:57
Byrnes can't find the footy?? He can definately find the pill better than Varcoe can at the moment. I am actually happy with the inclusion - I can't see any reason why Byrnes can't apply the same forward pressure as Varcoe has been. And even if we bring Varcoe back for the finals or something, he will have got a good kick up the butt and be raring to go at the next opportunity. Good move Bomber! :thumbsu:

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
19 Jul 2007, 18:58
Byrnes can't find the footy?? He can definately find the pill better than Varcoe can at the moment. I am actually happy with the inclusion - I can't see any reason why Byrnes can't apply the same forward pressure as Varcoe has been. And even if we bring Varcoe back for the finals or something, he will have got a good kick up the butt and be raring to go at the next opportunity. Good move Bomber! :thumbsu:
I can. Varcoe has been the best at it in the competition. I don't mind Byrnes generally, but I feel this is a step backwards. When King comes in it will be the same.

afl genius
19 Jul 2007, 19:00
A forward who gets the pill and might snag a few behinds
or
A forward who lays a large amount of tackles, but doesnt really get it enough

finrod
19 Jul 2007, 19:01
Byrnes has been in the best in the 2s for the last couple of weeks now... give him a chance please! (lol maybe I should change my nickname to *Byrnes_girl and I can be *koula_girl's twin sister).

kinggaz29
19 Jul 2007, 19:01
we still won last week without varcoe contributing, atleast byrnes will kick a few behinds!
i like your thinking!!
Too everyone sitting on level one tmrw night at both the lockett and coventry end especially in the forward pockets i seriously fear for your safety.
Please think before you go tmrw and pack some type of shield because if shannon is running into goal after having two bounces down the wing...... LOOK OUT!!!!!:o

ablett5
19 Jul 2007, 19:05
is nathan djiekeera fit [i know i spelt it wrong]

CatFan79
19 Jul 2007, 19:07
I can. Varcoe has been the best at it in the competition. I don't mind Byrnes generally, but I feel this is a step backwards. When King comes in it will be the same.

I don't think Varcoe has been keeping his work rate high enough the last couple few games.. Hopefully he'll take the positives out of this and come back a more consistent player, after all he's still very young.

From reports Byrnes has been performing well in the reserves so I can't really see a problem.. Obviously if Byrnes contributes little he gets shipped back.

dmc82
19 Jul 2007, 19:13
Good on ya Byrnes... get in there and show everyone why I love ya!!!

I really hope he's definitely in the team and not withdrawn later on for an unknown reason.

sarbbo
19 Jul 2007, 19:24
****ing hell:thumbsd: Poor Varcoe doesn't get a fair go. Knew he'd get dropped again.

finrod
19 Jul 2007, 19:26
****ing hell:thumbsd: Poor Varcoe doesn't get a fair go. Knew he'd get dropped again.

Fair go?? He's had something like 8 possesions total in the last 2 games!

Stripey PJs
19 Jul 2007, 19:26
i like your thinking!!
Too everyone sitting on level one tmrw night at both the lockett and coventry end especially in the forward pockets i seriously fear for your safety.
Please think before you go tmrw and pack some type of shield because if shannon is running into goal after having two bounces down the wing...... LOOK OUT!!!!!:o
LOL! Ahh, little Shannon Byrnes. "E's a beewdiful kick at goal." </phil cleary>

He touches the ball 20 odd times a match and kicks 1 goal 3. If he turns that around, collecting 20 possies and kicking 3 goals 1, he's a genius. So far this year, he's kicked 2.5; last year it was 3.11. Anyone wanna stab at this week's effort? He deserves a spot on VFL form, when Trav's been a little quiet.

I hope Bomber challenges Varcoe to scream for the ball in his return to the VFL. Give him license to wave his arms around and spray team-mates who don't pass to him, shake his reactive playing style, even if the confidence is manufactured.

tommahawk
19 Jul 2007, 19:30
this has actually pis sed me off bringing in byrnes for varcoe why change a winning team? he adds so much to our team little varks and byrnes adds nothing!! bad move real bad move!!

haywood jablome
19 Jul 2007, 19:32
Byrnes will kick 3 points !

sarbbo
19 Jul 2007, 19:37
Fair go?? He's had something like 8 possesions total in the last 2 games!

A lot of what he does doesn't end up on the stat sheets. He's been prematurely dropped several times, what's bomber got against him?

Stripey PJs
19 Jul 2007, 19:46
A lot of what he does doesn't end up on the stat sheets. He's been prematurely dropped several times, what's bomber got against him?
Several times? Only after his second game in Rd 3, and he was straight back in the following week.

Bomber hasn't got anything against Trav, in fact he respects his defensive work inside our forward line. The Coach is only keeping a close eye on players who are showing signs of lethargy, that's all.

CatFan79
19 Jul 2007, 19:46

Varcoe is still very young and although he's put in some good performances has not been consistant enough to warrant a permanent spot in our team.

Byrnes deserves a go because of his good reserves form and if Varcoe is as good as you think, he'll use this to his advantage and come back a better, hungrier player.

sarbbo
19 Jul 2007, 19:49
Varcoe is still very young and although he's put in some good performances has not been consistant enough to warrant a permanent spot in our team.

Byrnes deserves a go because of his good reserves form and if Varcoe is as good as you think, he'll use this to his advantage and come back a better, hungrier player.

Hope you're right, though with the awesome form we're in it'll be bloody hard to break back in to the team if he's out for any length of time.

winty
19 Jul 2007, 19:53
In the one game where we need defensive pressure in our forwardline, we go and drop the best exponent of it in the league. Go figure. Byrnes may get it a lot more than Varcoe, but what's the use of getting the pill if half the time he gives it straight up again? Absolutely pathetic selection IMO.

CatFan79
19 Jul 2007, 20:11
In the one game where we need defensive pressure in our forwardline, we go and drop the best exponent of it in the league. Go figure. Byrnes may get it a lot more than Varcoe, but what's the use of getting the pill if half the time he gives it straight up again? Absolutely pathetic selection IMO.

Varcoe has been the best exponent of forward line defensive pressure but his lack of interest and commitment to contests in the past 2 weeks screams the typical signs of a young player who needs a run in the 2's.

Byrnes knows he'll have to make the most of this chance or his career at the club will be questioned.

I can see the justification for this selection.

winty
19 Jul 2007, 20:22
Varcoe has been the best exponent of forward line defensive pressure but his lack of interest and commitment to contests in the past 2 weeks screams the typical signs of a young player who needs a run in the 2's.

Byrnes knows he'll have to make the most of this chance or his career at the club will be questioned.

I can see the justification for this selection.

I highly doubt it'd be a lack of interest on Trav's part. Like has been suggested elsewhere, other clubs have worked him out and block him out a lot, plus the fact he was recovering from the flu last week might seem he lacks interest, but I've seen him still dart about and attempt to contest. He may not apply as much direct pressure as he has before the Essendon game, but the perceived pressure he creates is just as good.

MmkMrMackie
19 Jul 2007, 20:26
Why does this forum have such a soft spot for Varcoe? He was good for a while, but has massively overstayed his welcome. Had a few of Byrnesy's kicks been a few meters left or right, you'd all have been singing his praises. You rubbish King and say he must earn his spot through the VFL. Well hasn't Byrnes earnt a spot in this manner?

If Byrnes played the football he has been in the VFL and didn't receive a call up in place of Varcoe, who has done nothing over the past few weeks, then the senior guys would get complacent. If their spot is not at risk then they will stop performing. It happened last year with guys like Ling, when Thompson refused to drop them.

Yes, we have been winning, but its been far from convincing. Varcoe, in my mind has definately been one of the weak links in our squad.

Also, why should we replace a fast forward pocket for a 'deceptively quick'/slow tall forward as has been suggested by some is beyond me. If anyone can play Varcoes role, then Byrnes is the man. We always make the same mistake when we play against the Bulldogs. We try and push them for height and fill our forward line up with talls. They kill us with run out of the backline and make us look slow and lumbering. This IMO caters for the Dogs favoured style of play.

DanA
19 Jul 2007, 20:44
It is possible that Varcoe is still a bit run down from the flu.

Varcoe has kicked more goals and has more score assists this year than Byrnes has in his entire career.

Geelong_Sicko
19 Jul 2007, 20:48
A forward who gets the pill and might snag a few behinds
or
A forward who lays a large amount of tackles, but doesnt really get it enough

Easy one - I'd pick the tackle-laying forward, every time. The idea is to keep it in your own forward fifty as much as possible. Our forward pressure should be well past the pulling-out-hair stage for opposition coaches. The more time it stays up at our end, the less time it's up theirs...

Interestingly, I've still got Byrnes' very first senior game on VHS (vs Swans, KP, taped it meself) and he actually laid some brilliant tackles as well as drilling through a 'clever' goal from fifty metres. I hope he gets his 'dying to impress the selectors' form back.

sexyhunk
19 Jul 2007, 21:15
my two scents...

varcoe definately the best candidate to get drop in the alst two weeks, but i question the player coming in.

I wonder what this means for DJ, to get overlooked for someone like Byrnesy of anybody!?

and tenace for that matter!

Catman
19 Jul 2007, 21:18
Was this change really necessary? What will Byrnes bring to the table that Trav can't?

haywood jablome
19 Jul 2007, 21:20
Was this change really necessary? What will Byrnes bring to the table that Trav can't?
-20cm in height and 3 points. :thumbsu:

Catman
19 Jul 2007, 21:22
-20cm in height and 3 points. :thumbsu:

:D

It's worth it then if we win by 3 points! Who needs Trav kicking goals when you can rely on Byrnes' uncanny ability to kick points!

spanna050
19 Jul 2007, 21:59
Had a few of Byrnesy's kicks been a few meters left or right, you'd all have been singing his praises

Quote of the year for mine. And if I could play golf, I'd be Tiger Woods.

finrod
19 Jul 2007, 22:03
Why does this forum have such a soft spot for Varcoe? He was good for a while, but has massively overstayed his welcome. Had a few of Byrnesy's kicks been a few meters left or right, you'd all have been singing his praises. You rubbish King and say he must earn his spot through the VFL. Well hasn't Byrnes earnt a spot in this manner?

If Byrnes played the football he has been in the VFL and didn't receive a call up in place of Varcoe, who has done nothing over the past few weeks, then the senior guys would get complacent. If their spot is not at risk then they will stop performing. It happened last year with guys like Ling, when Thompson refused to drop them.

Yes, we have been winning, but its been far from convincing. Varcoe, in my mind has definately been one of the weak links in our squad.

Also, why should we replace a fast forward pocket for a 'deceptively quick'/slow tall forward as has been suggested by some is beyond me. If anyone can play Varcoes role, then Byrnes is the man. We always make the same mistake when we play against the Bulldogs. We try and push them for height and fill our forward line up with talls. They kill us with run out of the backline and make us look slow and lumbering. This IMO caters for the Dogs favoured style of play.

Top post :thumbsu: I agree this forum definately overrates Varcoe!

Cheshire Cat
19 Jul 2007, 22:13
Agree with MrMackie also, Varcoe up until this point has been a protected species in the team, he'd chase someone down and that would earn him a spot for another three weeks. Varcoe had to go, even if it is the Bulldogs, as posters have rightly noted, if players aren't under pressure for their spots complacency with grow. Prismall is another who is overrated in this board. Time and time again I see his name on the suggested changes and I'm not sure why.

As for Byrnes, I'm not his biggest fan, but if his VFL warrants it, why shouldnt he get a game? His output MUST at least be greater than Varcoe, and Byrnes is quite quick. Its a completely logical and understandable selection change. Of course there are those who say 'dont change a winning formula' its silly to overlook deficiencies in the team simply because we are winning, there is ALWAYS room for improvements. Of course if we lose the superstitious amongst us will single this out as the reason, and of course it will have nothing to do with it. I'm looking forward to seeing how Byrnes goes.

Duskfire
19 Jul 2007, 22:15
Should wait until after the game before condemning Brynes. I remember a few people saying how Enright should be dropped, and then in the game straight after that (against Sydney I believe) he was good and has been good ever since. Brynes will play his heart out and is obviously playing for a spot in the side - he might do a good job.

Catman
19 Jul 2007, 22:23
its silly to overlook deficiencies in the team simply because we are winning, there is ALWAYS room for improvements.

That's the thing though, many don't see this change as an improvement.

hobart cat
19 Jul 2007, 22:27
Prove us wrong Byrnesy.

Play your role - dont try and be a hero by taking flying cracks at goal.

Chase, tackle, generally be like Varcoe.

Cheshire Cat
19 Jul 2007, 22:33
Prove us wrong Byrnesy.

Play your role - dont try and be a hero by taking flying cracks at goal.

Chase, tackle, generally be like Varcoe.

No, don't be like Varcoe. Be better, get possessions, kick goals

crosby123
19 Jul 2007, 22:41
I'm in favour of this change. I actually (and I'll get heckled for this) would rather have seen Charlie Gardiner come in, though. I think our current hand-pass to running receiver style would really suit him, as it removes the need for him to make a decision about who to kick to. Think about it! Surely we can admit that he's pretty good at getting into space on the lead, just that he runs into trouble after that.

Copernicus
19 Jul 2007, 23:12
Well, this could either be a change that will shake us up a little up forward and get us back into gear a little, or it'll be a disaster as young Shannon kicks 4 points and an out of bounds on the full. I guess he's been getting a lot of it in the twos and Varcoe has hardly seen it the last few weeks, but he'll have to work his guts out in the forward line because I have a bad feeling we're going to see Gilbee running it out of there more often than we would like.

thirtyseven
19 Jul 2007, 23:32
I have been to the few VFL games and Shannon Byrnes gets the ball but he kicks it straight to the opposition!

Rosso
19 Jul 2007, 23:41
I'd imagine that Monty would be treating this as a make or break game as far as this year goes anyway. Had Djerka had a few more games under his belt I'm backing that he would've been given the nod.

Monty probably won't play much as a forward pocket, more so on a flank or wing with Stoka & Chappy crumbing the Tommahawk & Moons.

g-thing
19 Jul 2007, 23:50
To win a flag you need more than 22 players playing at AFL level. There needs to be players bought in to cover all contingencies.

Also I continue to wonder at the mentality of posters who bag Geelong players - Byrnsie included.

I wish Travis all the best with his AFL career but it is time for him to have a spell.

For the people giving Shannon hell about his kicking - cast your minds back to every shot Varcoe has had at goal when he's been more than 20 metres away from goal (mostly touched through or marked).

Nevertheless I won't bag Travis for that - he's young, he's trying hard, does some good things and will continue to get better.

So give all our guys a fair go and not just Travis!

PS Byrnsie has been named in the best in all NAB, AFL and VFL games this year except for about four occasions.

Sean Sheep
20 Jul 2007, 00:29
A shame to see Varcoe out, but I agree he probably needs a rest. It still staggers me though how some people just don't see what he brings to the team.
Contrary to many, I think Byrnes is a good inclusion. He'll bring some speed and tenacity into the side, something we are really going to need against the Doggies. Hopefully his errant kicks into the forward line will be well handled by Steve J's ground skills.

Tay29
20 Jul 2007, 00:45
Wow. Can't believe all the support for Varcoe on here. Some of you need to go look at his stats. Great tackler? Apart from rounds 3,5-9 his ability to tackle has dropped off. Those 6 rounds he averaged 4.6 tackles a game. Since then he's down to 2.5. He was also kicking goals in games before round 10. In the last 2 matches he hasn't even kicked a behind. His form has strayed and that forward pressure isn't any longer there or in enough quantity to cause turnovers.

The guy is only 19 so you're going to expect his performances are going to be up and down. It's currently down so it's about time that he was sent back to the seconds. As other posters have said it may put a bit of fire in his belly.

Although Brynes frustrates me no end with poor disposal, if he's playing better than Varcoe, I don't see a problem with him coming into the side. Who says winning teams shouldn't make changes? We did last week and we still won.

piesflag07
20 Jul 2007, 01:39
Agree with MrMackie also, Varcoe up until this point has been a protected species in the team, he'd chase someone down and that would earn him a spot for another three weeks. Varcoe had to go, even if it is the Bulldogs, as posters have rightly noted, if players aren't under pressure for their spots complacency with grow. Prismall is another who is overrated in this board. Time and time again I see his name on the suggested changes and I'm not sure why.

As for Byrnes, I'm not his biggest fan, but if his VFL warrants it, why shouldnt he get a game? His output MUST at least be greater than Varcoe, and Byrnes is quite quick. Its a completely logical and understandable selection change. Of course there are those who say 'dont change a winning formula' its silly to overlook deficiencies in the team simply because we are winning, there is ALWAYS room for improvements. Of course if we lose the superstitious amongst us will single this out as the reason, and of course it will have nothing to do with it. I'm looking forward to seeing how Byrnes goes.

Understatement of the year.

Ricketts
20 Jul 2007, 01:44
The stupid thing about it is, he won't even be playing as a small forward staying close to goals. He'll be up outside the 50, leading towards the wing, and whenever he gets the ball the forward attack will abruptly end.

Linx
20 Jul 2007, 02:48
Don't worry fellow cat fans. Bomber is just freshening up Varcoe for a few weeks before he is bought back in rejuvenated from the break. After all, this is Varcoe's first season playing senoir football and he sure doesn't have the body able to handle the riggers of a full season.. Brynes will be back in the magoos soon enough.

hoody
20 Jul 2007, 03:38
Perhaps Byrnes may now be more aware of what is required of him to stay at the top level.
His figures aren't all that bad for a bloke that has played only 33 games. He has averaged 13 disposals and 2.7 tackles and has spent a fair portion of his time on the bench.
You wouldn't describe his speed as Varcoesque, but he is fairy nippy and he can 'carry' the ball. He is strong enough to shrug a tackle and he will almost certainly 'win' more of the ball than Varcoe did.
I understand that the major point of contention is his disposal but maybe, just maybe, he is on the improve in that area. The selectors must have seen something in him.
Varcoe has been like a breath of fresh air in our forward line and if he is good enough he will get back in again this season. He is an exciting prospect when talking about the future of the club.
As for Byrnsey, his big chance is at hand and you can be sure that he knows it.
Finals footy awaits. If he is good enough he will experience it.
Bugger the doomsayers and all their negatives.
He is wearing the Hoops.
May his God give him strength.

chapmanmagic35
20 Jul 2007, 07:54
Woeful decision. Absolutely woeful.

Proven to struggle at the highest level, doesn't hit targets and is basically not up to it.

Hunt and Byrnes in the same team is always a worry. One is worrying enough.

scottydeewah
20 Jul 2007, 08:28
Wow... I agree Byrnes is not the best kick when at full pace, but nothing I have seen of Vercoe suggests he is either (bloke has barely had 6 kicks since he has been in the side).

I am surprised that people are surprised. Vercoe has looked VERY ordinary the last few weeks. He does put pressure on but no better than Byrnes does.

Byrnes will go alright this weekend.

Selwood07
20 Jul 2007, 09:07
I have been to the few VFL games and Shannon Byrnes gets the ball but he kicks it straight to the opposition!
Or he kicks a behind. This was obviously going to be a contentious inclusion. I've watched him in the VFL and he is a ball magnet - let's just hope that he steps up tonight because he has talent. He's not a kid any more (23, I think) and this will be a genuine test of his ability to match the level achieved by the rest of the team this year. Good luck Byrnesie!

Tommy the Cat
20 Jul 2007, 09:13
My guess is that Byrnes is in the team because Prismall is injured

They must be of the opinion that Varcoe needs to do more and one way to enforce that is make sure that no one in our team gets a free ride, so he can play in the VFL till his workrate increases.

Wouldn't surprise to see Prismall in next week if Varcoe doesn't get renstated.

Ling Sting
20 Jul 2007, 09:22
I'm not the hugest fan of Byrnes but if his one role is to apply forward pressure I'm hoping he can at least hold up his end.

It's when the bloke gets possesion of the ball that the problems begin.

Basically the last roll of the dice for shannon in the hoops really. I hope that is enough of an insentive for him to think clearly and dispose of the football to the teams advantage.

MrGFC
20 Jul 2007, 09:38
Don't worry fellow cat fans. Bomber is just freshening up Varcoe for a few weeks before he is bought back in rejuvenated from the break. After all, this is Varcoe's first season playing senoir football and he sure doesn't have the body able to handle the riggers of a full season.. Brynes will be back in the magoos soon enough.

I think this has captured the real point for Byrnes inclusion. His inclusion has some realistic concerns right through most posts, but I must admit young Trav needs a run/rest in the magoos to freshen up and find the spark that's been dropping off slightly.

I'll be curious to see how he goes with the big boys, I don't think he's up to it TBH. BOG in the magoos is one thing, stepping up to play senior is another. It's more than possible Bomber is testing the field to see where Byrnes is really at and whether we need to look at his position with the club for next year. Of all the times, you would probably say this is the right time to do this.

Trav will be back, I'm sure of that, and it will be in a week or 2. Even Bomber would admit that he would have been hesitating on dropping Trav back, but considering it's his first year.. it was more likely than not to happen. Let's say you can't see The General being dropped any time soon because his form has been sensational and he actually seems to be going against the trend of first year performers and has been lifting. Young Joel would be the exception here.

rizzo
20 Jul 2007, 09:46
If shannon deserves a go after a few good weeks, then timmy callan deserves a game after 12 months of solid football :rolleyes:

Prismall32
20 Jul 2007, 10:58
I'm not the hugest fan of Byrnes but if his one role is to apply forward pressure I'm hoping he can at least hold up his end.

It's when the bloke gets possesion of the ball that the problems begin.

Basically the last roll of the dice for shannon in the hoops really. I hope that is enough of an insentive for him to think clearly and dispose of the football to the teams advantage.
We'd all hope - his kicking does let him down and this will be his last chance for sure. I would really like to see him do well - again would emphasise our depth. He is faster than Tim Callan and he won't get a game while Bomber is still there anyway.

kinggaz29
20 Jul 2007, 11:00
If shannon deserves a go after a few good weeks, then timmy callan deserves a game after 12 months of solid football :rolleyes:
Well yeah that is quite true.
I think most of us agree that trav needed a spell just a query on his replacement...
Should we have gone
a) NAblett
B)Gardiner
c)Keep trav in
D)play djerkurra
e)neither play with 21 men!!!

Prismall32
20 Jul 2007, 11:11
I think most of us agree that trav needed a spell just a query on his replacement...
Should we have gone
a) NAblett
B)Gardiner
c)Keep trav in
D)play djerkurra
B) CHARLIE??? Spare us! If you think Shannon's kicking is wonky, you should have seen some of Charlie's shanks in front of goal in the VFL!

Budda 230
20 Jul 2007, 11:18
I think playing Byrnes is very dangerous. He turns the ball over too often. You can't afford to turn the ball over much against the doggies because they rebound so quickly and hurt you.

This includes kicking points. Missing easy shots against the dog's often turns into an 11 point turn around. Coast to Coast goals need to be avoided.

We won't see Byrnesy providing the forward pressure that Varcoe delivers. Sure, Byrnes will get a few more touches than Varcoe, but the Doggies will also get an extra 3-4 free possessions from brainless turn overs.

Please Byrnesy, prove me wrong, but I don't see why such risks need to be made.

cat_fanatic_21
20 Jul 2007, 11:20
Woeful decision. Absolutely woeful.

Proven to struggle at the highest level, doesn't hit targets and is basically not up to it.

Hunt and Byrnes in the same team is always a worry. One is worrying enough.

Haven't seen your posts for a while mate? At least some one is talking a bit of sense in this thread. I rate Hunt though and value him much more highly than Byrnes.

Should we have gone
a) NAblett
B)Gardiner
c)Keep trav in
D)play djerkurra

I like your thinking.;)

There are 2 issues being discussed here:

1. Varcoes ommision
2. Byrnes inclusion

I dont think any one is questioning the former, it is the latter that seems to be raising a few eyebrows.

I really hope he can string a solid 4 quarters together and dispense many a pie portion of the humble variety to his doubters.

haywood jablome
20 Jul 2007, 11:33
Please prove us wrong Byrnes....

Hood007
20 Jul 2007, 12:53
Let's get behind the kid.
His overall game has been severely and unfairly criticized.
I'm actually in favour of the move.
A bit sad to see Varcoe go but think Byrnes deserves his chance...
Good luck to him...

Cattery
20 Jul 2007, 13:02
No argument with the decision from me, Byrnes has been ripping it up in the reserves week in week out apparently while we've practically been playing one man short the past couple of weeks with Varcoe contributing virtually nothing.

Bit of a break won't do Travis any harm and hopefully he'll get back to the form of earlier in the year, in the meantime Byrnes can play a similar role and also win far more of the ball then Varcoe; also don't think his disposal is as bad as some here are suggesting.

tommahawk_07
20 Jul 2007, 13:50
this has actually pis sed me off bringing in byrnes for varcoe why change a winning team? he adds so much to our team little varks and byrnes adds nothing!! bad move real bad move!!

i hate the fact you stole my name mate but i couldnt agree with you more! when they were sowing the cats team and it said outs: varcoe i said to my old man "if theyve brought in byrnes they will lose" sure enough on the next page ins: byrnes i was not happy at all...

varcoe
20 Jul 2007, 14:16
We lost finals cause blokes like byrnes, kingsley, Haynes, Gardiner and playfair etc were in our team, we have got rid if all that junk this year and r better off, no way should byrnes even be considered for finlas footy, his skills r awful and i mean if u go back to that Hawks games in tassie, his 2-3 easy misses and Kings dodgy handball to crawford cost us, if king, Byrnes come in i really am not that comfortable, i hope Thompson doesnt try and be to smart the next few weeks

We can't have byrnes playing
We can't play Blake, king and ottens cause Ottens is a ruckman only and is very avg inside 50 for mine, is a gun ruckman

we cant have tenace either cause his skills under pressure r pathetic

stick to what has worked bomber and dont try and be smart.

CatmanForever
20 Jul 2007, 15:02
No argument with the decision from me, Byrnes has been ripping it up in the reserves week in week out apparently while we've practically been playing one man short the past couple of weeks with Varcoe contributing virtually nothing.

Bit of a break won't do Travis any harm and hopefully he'll get back to the form of earlier in the year, in the meantime Byrnes can play a similar role and also win far more of the ball then Varcoe; also don't think his disposal is as bad as some here are suggesting.

exactly right. Travis will be back, he is a terrific player.

GeeCat
20 Jul 2007, 15:24
What worries me, after abit more thought about it, is that Bomber will stick with Stokesy in that (permanent) forward pressurer role, and leave Byrnes to do his handywork further up the ground (which has pretty much been Stokesy's role for the past few weeks now, and hence would be a step backwards for mine..)

Would pretty much render all this Byrnes/Varcoe comparison to be irrelevant..

PoidaCat
20 Jul 2007, 16:16
Byrnes....this is it...now or never...

I say never. But he can prove us wrong.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
20 Jul 2007, 16:26
What worries me, after abit more thought about it, is that Bomber will stick with Stokesy in that (permanent) forward pressurer role, and leave Byrnes to do his handywork further up the ground (which has pretty much been Stokesy's role for the past few weeks now, and hence would be a step backwards for mine..)

Me too.

Bryceson
20 Jul 2007, 17:06
Shannon Byrnes has racked up nearly 100 possies in the last 3 weeks in the vfl and varcoe has got about 20. Yes he has been great this season with his tackilng, forward pressure and 1 or 2 goals a game, but it is time for a rest. You cant keep your spot with 4 possies in a game even if u lay 500 tackles. He will benifit from the vfl, hopefully get alot more of the footy and get back in the side in a few weeks.

Byrnesy deserves his spot, so lets get behind him hey?:thumbsu:

Doog
20 Jul 2007, 17:14
I don't mind the inclusion for giving Varcoe a rest before the final 6-8 week campaign and exchanging pace for pace against the Bulldogs.

GeeCat
20 Jul 2007, 17:19
I don't mind the inclusion for giving Varcoe a rest before the final 6-8 week campaign

I don't think many mind giving Travis a rest either, the issue (other than that of the replacement in Byrnes) is the timing of his demotion. If there was one week to not drop Varcoe, this was probably it.

Ricketts
20 Jul 2007, 17:30

That is exactly what will frustrate me tonight.

Watch the Doggies:
a) mop up any crap delivery into the 50 from Byrnes
b) and then run the ball out of the 50 because Byrnes isn't even there to tackle them.

Rik E Boy
20 Jul 2007, 17:31
I'm in favour of this change. I actually (and I'll get heckled for this) would rather have seen Charlie Gardiner come in, though. I think our current hand-pass to running receiver style would really suit him, as it removes the need for him to make a decision about who to kick to. Think about it! Surely we can admit that he's pretty good at getting into space on the lead, just that he runs into trouble after that.

Charlie ack! I just fell over laughing..or was I mimicking his ability at falling over when the ball is within five metres? Sorry crosby couldn't resist! You know Charlie is always going to be 'the fall guy' LOL.

regards,

REB

crosby123
20 Jul 2007, 18:10
Charlie ack! I just fell over laughing..or was I mimicking his ability at falling over when the ball is within five metres? Sorry crosby couldn't resist! You know Charlie is always going to be 'the fall guy' LOL.

regards,

REB
I like him. I say give him one final chance, given this will be most likely his final year of AFL football. If he shows something, give him one year.

SaccaGents
20 Jul 2007, 18:42
Give the lad a go,

I think Varcoe is too 1 dimensional and could do with the a little more experience in the shirt tearers. Perhaps gain some skills in getting the ball. At the moment he is letting his opponent lead him to the ball. Thats why he his tackle count is high.

Byrnes will add a lot of value in the forward line. He actually has a fair bit a penetration with that left foot, (although not acurately), can take a reasonable grab for his size, is quick off the mark and tackles hard. He'll go alright.

SG

cat in sydney
20 Jul 2007, 21:49
How's he playing tonight?
Just looking at the realfooty stats site, Byrnes has made 4 errors out of 12 possies. As bad as it sounds?

MmkMrMackie
20 Jul 2007, 22:27
How's he playing tonight?
Just looking at the realfooty stats site, Byrnes has made 4 errors out of 12 possies. As bad as it sounds?

Byrnes has made a few mistakes, but so far he has been good. Provided some awesome run, and played some magic footy. He has even run a few guys down and laid some tackles. Definately been more productive than Varcoe. :thumbsu:

Duskfire
20 Jul 2007, 22:47
I imagine they will give Brynes another go next week - keep Varcoe in the 2's for at least another week or so. Who knows, but Brynes has played decent today.

Hood007
20 Jul 2007, 23:29
15 touches.
Decent effort.

haywood jablome
20 Jul 2007, 23:31
How many points did he kick?

Hood007
20 Jul 2007, 23:42
None.
Think he had one that went out on the full though...

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
21 Jul 2007, 00:00
How many points did he kick?
Had the ball in the goalsquare and turned it over once...

crosby123
21 Jul 2007, 00:37
Reasonable game, I suppose. Certainly better than Varcoe has been. Incredibly indecisive once he got the ball, though.

Skeppersap
21 Jul 2007, 00:38
Very good game by Byrnes. Will hold his spot.

Renegade
21 Jul 2007, 00:40
Good game nothing.
He just makes stupid decisions and doesn't have the disposal skills to warrant a spot. Varcoe should be back next week for him. Either that or Scarlo is for him and DJ stays.

Geelong_Sicko
21 Jul 2007, 00:41
I reckon that the fear of losing a regular place in the team will keep a lot of players honest and trying. A definite benefit to having a top senior side, a top reserve side and plenty of depth in between.

GARN THE CATTERS!

tommahawk_07
21 Jul 2007, 00:50

you have got to be joking? did you actually watch? renegade is spot on bring varcoe back next week at least he is clean and knows what to do when he gets the pill, byrnes couldnt choose an option then turned it over most times he got it...

Skeppersap
21 Jul 2007, 00:53
you have got to be joking? did you actually watch? renegade is spot on bring varcoe back next week at least he is clean and knows what to do when he gets the pill, byrnes couldnt choose an option then turned it over most times he got it...

Ok, ok, reading back over it, I think I said 'very good game' because I wasnt expecting much. In the end, he was one of our worst, but still satisfactory. Did more than Varcoe has done in the last 2. He should stay in to give Varcoe a longer rest in the 2s.

If it came dowm to a choice between Byrnes and Tenace by the way, Byrnes every time!

Akalon
21 Jul 2007, 01:05

You're kidding right? May have got the pill, but didn't have the slightest of what to do with it.

finrod
21 Jul 2007, 01:07
Did okay I thought. Better than Varcoe has been the last few weeks anyhow. Laid a few good tackles too. Not quite sure what position he was playing though...

hoody
21 Jul 2007, 01:36
Gee whiz. Maybe it is just a case of Varcoe-love, but I reckon that some of the posters on this thread are being a bit harsh on Byrnes.
Just because you didn't want him in the side in the first place, there is no reason other than your own egos to mark him so poorly.
Sure he wouldn't get the votes but he was a long way from playing badly.
The comment blaming him for turning the ball over in the goal square is absolutely ridiculous. Surrounded by three bulldogs, he attempted to handball over the top to Chappie. What exactly was he supposed to do better?
He had fifteen possessions and some want to talk about the four that didn't find team mates, not the eleven that did.
Some of his 'chase-downs' were, dare I say it, Varcoe like.
He also laid five effective tackles.
The Champion Data rankings system (see AFL website) had him placed in front of 20 (yes that is twenty) other players on the night.
Those lower ranked players include his Skipper, six other Geelong players and thirteen of the opposition.
Now I am by no means suggesting that he starred, but his game was certainly worthy of another and if he can continue with those numbers and perhaps improve as he readjusts to the tempo of the "Ones", he may well participate in our finals campaign.

DanA
21 Jul 2007, 01:39
Gee whiz. Maybe it is just a case of Varcoe-love, but I reckon that some of the posters on this thread are being a bit harsh on Byrnes.
Just because you didn't want him in the side in the first place, there is no reason other than your own egos to mark him so poorly.
Sure he wouldn't get the votes but he was a long way from playing badly.
The comment blaming him for turning the ball over in the goal square is absolutely ridiculous. Surrounded by three bulldogs, he attempted to handball over the top to Chappie. What exactly was he supposed to do better?
He had fifteen possessions and some want to talk about the four that didn't find team mates, not the eleven that did.
Some of his 'chase-downs' were, dare I say it, Varcoe like.
He also laid five effective tackles.
The Champion Data rankings system (see AFL website) had him placed in front of 20 (yes that is twenty) other players on the night.
Those lower ranked players include his Skipper, six other Geelong players and thirteen of the opposition.
Now I am by no means suggesting that he starred, but his game was certainly worthy of another and if he can continue with those numbers and perhaps improve as he readjusts to the tempo of the "Ones", he may well participate in our finals campaign.

I agree in principle with what you wrote but regarding the highlighted bit he should never have called for the ball. He should have indicated to Mooney to hold onto it. That was a mistake by Byrnes IMO.

hoody
21 Jul 2007, 01:57
I agree in principle with what you wrote but regarding the highlighted bit he should never have called for the ball. He should have indicated to Mooney to hold onto it. That was a mistake by Byrnes IMO.

Fair enough DanA.
As an alternative viewpoint, I suppose you could also say that Mooney should never have given it off.

foxdoog50
21 Jul 2007, 14:54
I think Byrnes played a really good game, he carried the ball and his presure tackiling was 2nd to none. Very good game. I think the people who said bad stuff bout him should own up ere and say sorry..... GO THE MIGHTY CATS!!

Ricketts
21 Jul 2007, 15:39
Byrnes won't be dropped for Varcoe next week.

Hood007
21 Jul 2007, 15:49

That's stupid.
Never should've called for it?
Mooney's a big boy, twas his fault...

nananana catman
21 Jul 2007, 15:51
For mine it was the same old same old from Byrnes last night.

Still has rubbish disposal and makes poor decisions, which is he was dropped to the VFL in the first place. No better highlighted last night when he was running into open goal muffed a handpass to someone else and we missed out on an easy goal.

nananana catman
21 Jul 2007, 15:52
Good game nothing.
He just makes stupid decisions and doesn't have the disposal skills to warrant a spot. Varcoe should be back next week for him. Either that or Scarlo is for him and DJ stays.

For once I whole-heartedly agree with you.

If Varcoe played as far up the ground as Byrnes did anyway he would also get 15 touches, but they'd be quality.

MmkMrMackie
21 Jul 2007, 16:07
For once I whole-heartedly agree with you.

If Varcoe played as far up the ground as Byrnes did anyway he would also get 15 touches, but they'd be quality.

You seriously overrate Varcoe. His disposal is nothing brilliant.