View Full Version : CC on The Footy Show
ImperialPurple
19 Jul 2007, 21:29
CC is one of the guests on The Footy Show tonight. Might actually make it worth watching for a change.
wizard_9
19 Jul 2007, 21:37
Havent watched a full show all year but will be in front of the box tonight.
dugrene
19 Jul 2007, 23:31
Could someone post a media replay if they get a chance.
cheers.
I would love to have a watch also if someone can youtube it.:thumbsu:
Whatever you think of his coaching, the man is all class. :thumbsu:
Reveler
20 Jul 2007, 01:34
spot on. dead set top bloke.
Cameron_K
20 Jul 2007, 01:37
One of the best blokes you could ever come across. Shame the club will lose such an amazing person.
"I'm a freo person for life" :thumbsu:
Totally.
It's a real tragedy the way things have worked out for him, but there's not even a hint of bitterness in the man.
The irony is that he's now so thoroughly 'purple' it'll be that much harder for him to coach any else.
ImperialPurple
20 Jul 2007, 01:42
Class act. Absolute class. :thumbsu:
"I'm a Freo person for life".
I started bawling at that point and then sat through the rest of his spot bawling - and I still am.... Can't stop bloody crying. (What a girl....) :o
For him to sit there and speak with such passion and emotion for the club and all involved at the club, and to speak so positively about the future, and to still be spruiking and urging the members to stay with the club - is such a credit to him.
He has purple in his veins - geez it would be good to see him still at the club in some capacity... I know that's not really possible, but it's such a shame to be losing someone of such integrity who loves the club as much as he does.
chook2734
20 Jul 2007, 01:47
"I'm a freo person for life" :thumbsu:
That's the great thing about Freo - Neesham, Drummy and now CC - regardless of how the club has treated them or what has happened during their time, they all still love this club and want nothing but the best for it. I think that's a pretty good trait for us to have developed.
PS - Good to see the great man back IP - it just wasn't the same reading your posts without him. He's looking very smart in that pic!
pistol17
20 Jul 2007, 01:54
All class from CC. Dont know if it was just an old habit but did anyone else notice he still talked like he was part of the club. On a few occasions he threw in a line "WE have some very exciting things happening in the short and long term"...
Got me thinking there might be a board position available or something similar.
He did rate Harvey very highly too.
Class act. Absolute class. :thumbsu:
"I'm a Freo person forever".
I started bawling at that point and then sat through the rest of his spot bawling - and I still am.... Can't stop bloody crying. (What a girl....) :o
For him to sit there and speak with such passion and emotion for the club and all involved at the club, and to speak so positively about the future, and to still be spruiking and urging the members to stay with the club - is such a credit to him.
He has purple in his veins - geez it would be good to see him still at the club in some capacity... I know that's not really possible, but it's such a shame to be losing someone of such integrity who loves the club as much as he does.
Bloody well said and I agree wholeheartedly.
But I didn't cry........................well maybe just a little.:(
Footy is a tough gig.
P.S. Notice that dog Jakovich couldn't help the "sacked coach" bit.:thumbsd:
He took it back but he meant it alright.....once a slime...
Kenny_01
20 Jul 2007, 02:01
I'm not ashamed to say I cried too.
CC is a great man.
Saints Premiers 2006
20 Jul 2007, 02:11
not trolling in any way shape or form but....
you find your opinion of a coach changes when he becomes your ex coach...usually negative to positive considering the animosity that lead to his dismissal
i liken this to the grant thomas situation where every saint member and beyond had major issues with his start 22 and positioning however that was all soon forgotten once he was shown the door
you might cry tonight and feel pride that he feels so much love towards his club...but it will slide and he will not be returning to your club ever again
hard to let go much like gt (regardless of your opinion of him) but its for the best and will happen
all the best
ImperialPurple
20 Jul 2007, 02:12
I couldn't stop - it was like the floodgates opened... I bawled and bawled... :o
Although listening to that little Dockers kid on Street Talk made me laugh - the eyes finally dried up... now writing about it I'm off again...
Holy crap... :(
Keyser Soze
20 Jul 2007, 02:32
Bloody well said and I agree wholeheartedly.
But I didn't cry........................well maybe just a little.:(
Footy is a tough gig.
P.S. Notice that dog Jakovich couldn't help the "sacked coach" bit.:thumbsd:
When you walked the plank were you pushed or did you jump?
The end result is that you ended up wet so it matters little.
I actually came in here to say that regardless of what you may think of CC's ability as a coach you could not question him as a person. His appearance on the footy show was all class.:thumbsu:
Maybe he was just too nice a guy to be a successful coach?
I've been out all day and didn't even realise he was going to be on the show so two things:
1. In relation to him considering himself a dockers supporter still which is the impression I got from earlier posts, it is interesting to note that in an article I read somewhere, he said that he was basically unsure of his future, but he will be following the coming Dockers games and then he will decide his future. I was surprised by that statement. Compare to Danaher who his first weekend off stated publicly a number of times something like, I wont be watching the game this weekend, I'll packing the car and me and the kids are driving out to the country and leaving it all behind ...
Nothing against Danners at all don't blame him at all for his tact, and I would expect similar from CC, but shows the heart CC has for his (ex)club. We have lost a terrific bloke, even if we do come out better in the end in terms of on field stuff.
2. Please, oh please will someone post the interview if they can. Just the CC segment is all I'm interested in.
Docker_Brat
20 Jul 2007, 09:29
They tried to goad him into saying negative stuff about certain individuals but he stuck to his guns. Total class.
raffrox
20 Jul 2007, 10:19
Unbelievably classy individual.
I think his time was up at Freo but he'll be a very good senior coach for some one else soon enough. He'll his Freo experience and go far.
They tried to goad him into saying negative stuff about certain individuals but he stuck to his guns. Total class.
Lol, Loved the bit where he credited the WA press with helping turn Freo into the 3rd biggest club in the land.
Biggest backhander ever. :thumbsu:
332docker
20 Jul 2007, 10:52
3 facts no one can argue:
1.He is a fantastic coach!
2.He will continue to be for a long time.
3.FFC will be wishing they didn't force him to resign.
Hats of to you Chris, i doubt anyone else out there would have remained so composed. I just hope our players can start to follow this mans lead in their actions on and off the field.
cheersandbeers 332docker
dignity is the word that sticks in my mind about cc and his performance on the footy show,the bloke oozes dignity ,
i went to bed with a warm fuzzy feeliing about our club,its not panic stations ,just simply time to move on
pity we couldnt retain him in some capacity as a board member or the likes,but its time for him to move on as well
onya cc:thumbsu:
Notice that dog Jakovich couldn't help the "sacked coach" bit.:thumbsd:
Jako's freudian slip but its not as if the football community doesnt believe he was pushed. Resigning makes it look "honourable". Nice spin. Same result.
CC talks a lot but alas, like his players, no one listens. Hasnt got that ability.
Jako's freudian slip but its not as if the football community doesnt believe he was pushed. Resigning makes it look "honourable". Nice spin. Same result.
CC talks a lot but alas, like his players, no one listens. Hasnt got that ability.
Considering the widely acknowledged class that CC has shown this week, I thought it was an unnecessary and deliberate slander on him.
Take a shot at the club if you wish Jako, but to do it on National TV, after interviewing the coach was just a dog act and typical of the guy.
Jako is a showpony. See the images of him carrying on after the international rules win . .
Belnakor
20 Jul 2007, 15:20
Considering the widely acknowledged class that CC has shown this week, I thought it was an unnecessary and deliberate slander on him.
Take a shot at the club if you wish Jako, but to do it on National TV, after interviewing the coach was just a dog act and typical of the guy.
Your giving Jako more credit than he deserves i think. Theres nothing going on behind the scenes with Jako, he just truly is that dumb.
Would still like to see the footage................................. can anyone help?
There's a thank you in it for ya...Some karma might go your way too, if you believe in that.
EddieBettsIsAChamp
20 Jul 2007, 18:06
CC Is definately the funniest coach ever:P
Would still like to see the footage................................. can anyone help?
There's a thank you in it for ya...Some karma might go your way too, if you believe in that.
I second that, anyone got the footage.
Unfortunately I was unaware of his appearance on this show. The Footy Show to me usually has a sentence containing the words touch and barge pole.
patsmith
20 Jul 2007, 19:00
Hats off to CC. You could question his coaching at times, but he is clearly a top bloke.
sumavich
20 Jul 2007, 19:56
Jako's whole vocabulary is a Freudian Slip !!!
Can't help making a Freo thread about the Eagles somehow can you? ;)
I enjoyed watching Connolly last night, affirmed my opinion that he is a genuinely nice guy, didn't back down from any of the questions that were asked and didn't seem to be bitter about the whole process at all. Quality.
Freo Shark
20 Jul 2007, 20:27
I'm not sure Jako deliberately took a potshot. IMO hes not a particularly intelligent guy and infact hes probably on the lower than average IQ side.
If he was ever entertaining the idea of being on a Sumuch, Micale card ar Freo he wouldnt have deliberately sounded off.
After his efforts at the Bombers elimination final efforts he was never going to get a job @ Freo.
spring6
20 Jul 2007, 21:48
3 facts no one can argue:
1.He is a fantastic coach!
2.He will continue to be for a long time.
3.FFC will be wishing they didn't force him to resign.
Hats of to you Chris, i doubt anyone else out there would have remained so composed. I just hope our players can start to follow this mans lead in their actions on and off the field.cheersandbeers 332docker
1. Not a fact and very unlikely, in my humble opinion
2. If he could have got them to do that while he was coach he would still be there.
I wish him all the luck in world though, he seems a very nice man.
:( anyone?
ImperialPurple
20 Jul 2007, 23:29
I would, I swear... but I don't know how... :o
dockers_bengals
21 Jul 2007, 11:16
I would, I swear... but I don't know how... :o
Nooo!I misssed it too.Maybe some has it recorded and can tell us somethings that where said like the lead up to the Jack(o)ass comment or Questions-answers.
No offence I.P. but if you where like that with CC how are you going to be when Pav goes eventually?
dominguez
21 Jul 2007, 13:50
On Wednesday I was jumping for joy, one of the blokes at work said that he thought I had won the lotto when he saw my reaction to the news that Connolly had stood down. After watching The Footy Show I feel a little guilty now, he's a fantastic public speaker and face of the club. It's just a shame he couldn't get the best from his players.
Gary Lyon mentioned that he thought Connolly was poorly treated as a Victorian coaching in WA. That's a load of nonsense, but it seems to be the popular belief in Victoria which will almost guarantee Connolly coaches again.
Good luck CC.
dominguez
21 Jul 2007, 13:55
I hadn't seen this before.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I9_qhiJ4W2w&mode=related&search=
92.9 have been playing the audio every time they announce that Connolly has resigned. :mad: