View Full Version : Gotta Keep Farmer
Goal Square
19 Jul 2007, 21:36
We just have to keep Jeffrey Farmer at out club.
He is in our top 3 best players and showed against Carlton this year how much he is missed and how much he gives to our team.
Allan Didak rides around with strippers and gun wielding bikies, Ben Cousins admits to substance abuse, Daniel Kerr does well, too many to list, and these clubs all keep their players. I am not condoning what Farmer has done on this occasion, nor his indiscretions in the past. But he is very much the heart and soul of the team, he lifts those around him, and he is a required member of the Fremantle Football Club.
couldn't have said it better myself
ImperialPurple
19 Jul 2007, 21:41
I agree.
If the rumours of Bell retiring are true, and Pav decided to leave, and Jeffrey gets pushed out... That would be our 3 best players to add to the departed coach... Not good.
I wish Jeffrey would just straighten himself out and concentrate on playing footy. Can't he feel the love??? :(
to repost what i wrote on the rick hartless and schwrong thread:
i am utterly infatuated. thanks for noticing.
short memory:
http://bigpondguide.com/rd13bestgoals_1_96 (http://bigpondguide.com/rd13bestgoals_1_96)
we have all been looking for reasons to explain why our season declined as it did. i think in round 13 we witness our answer.
so if you would like us to continue giving people with zero football ability their onfield nine lives. by all means go ahead. but SOME fans would like to watch football played by people with flair, charisma and ability.
i go to the football to watch it - i don't give a shit if they are nice. i would like to see our team go forward. did you ever hear west coast fans talk of wanting to get rid of cousins? no, because they like winning. it is fans like you, and the two pot screamers at dockerland, that continue to slow the growth of our club.
put your seatbelt on and strap yourself in for a great season in the wafl watching parker, mcmanus, walker and all those other trons who make me yawn.
i hope to be watching jeff. and if i am not, well i won't be watching anything at all.
summerthebat
19 Jul 2007, 21:46
I would hate it if we axed him.
HATE IT.
Everytime we get sucked in by this media shit storm we lose sight of why we love our team and why we love the players, if you are actually 'upset' with this latest development your emotions are better served watched 'The Bold and The Beautiful.'
Jeff's off field incidents do not effect the other players ability to play, it only effects how the nation sees our club. I am not one bit concerned how we are percieved, we are already the laughing stock of the AFL.... the only people worried about how we are scene are the one's who make the decisions and that is really scary.
We watch football, we support GREAT footballers, Farmer is a GREAT footballer....... getting drunk, smashing a side mirror or punching someone should never equal someone taking away that from him and taking that away from us.
I feel so strongly about this.
estibador
I agree. There's plenty of players in the AFL with a list of indiscretions far longer than Farmer's.
We only have to look down the road to see a prime example of one. Almost identical charges actually - one case of assault, one involving damage to cars (including assault). Plus throw in a case of fraud and involvement in a drug sting. Yet no one in the media ever suggest this unnamed player should be suspended let alone sacked.
wehavethepassion
We just have to keep Jeffrey Farmer at out club.
He is in our top 3 best players and showed against Carlton this year how much he is missed and how much he gives to our team.
Allan Didak rides around with strippers and gun wielding bikies, Ben Cousins admits to substance abuse, Daniel Kerr does well, too many to list, and these clubs all keep their players. I am not condoning what Farmer has done on this occasion, nor his indiscretions in the past. But he is very much the heart and soul of the team, he lifts those around him, and he is a required member of the Fremantle Football Club.
Agree.
Now that Didak has been slapped on the wrist by Colonwood - AFL were weak as piss.
We can plead we are going to rehabilitate jeffery. Cutting him lose would be counter productive to his long term well being
wizard_9
You damn hippy skippy. :thumbsu:
docker_azza
19 Jul 2007, 21:47
I agree. Lets hope the powers aren't foolish in bowing down to the ones who consistently love to get on their high horse.
wehavethepassion
19 Jul 2007, 21:50
jeffery is just a flawed genius.
Freo Hitman
19 Jul 2007, 21:51
Farmer - As great aplayer he is , is bad news. Do we let him go on his merry way ??? or doe we try and harness his brilliance. I reckon fod him off and we may snag a 20 something draft pick
summerthebat
19 Jul 2007, 21:52
jeffery is just a flawed genius.
It's just the worlds way of balancing him out!
Can't be the purple jesus on the field without paying for it off the field!
Let's face it watching Freo play is better with him than without him.
F|_|CK THE HATERS.
summerthebat
19 Jul 2007, 21:53
Farmer - As great aplayer he is , is bad news. Do we let him go on his merry way ??? or doe we try and harness his brilliance. I reckon fod him off and we may snag a 20 something draft pick
Get out of this thread.
Freo Hitman
19 Jul 2007, 21:55
Get out of this thread.
Why dont you !!!
Whats your problem !!!
wizard_9
19 Jul 2007, 21:55
It's just the worlds way of balancing him out!
Can't be the purple jesus on the field without paying for it off the field!
Let's face it watching Freo play is better with him than without him.
F|_|CK THE HATERS.
Exactly, i havent enjoyed watching us all year except for the game and a half that Jeff played. The guy no matter what the score is makes you sit back and smile at his passion and genius.
summerthebat
19 Jul 2007, 21:56
Why dont you !!!
Whats your problem !!!
GET OUT
"or doe we try"
nuff said.
wizard_9
19 Jul 2007, 21:57
Why dont you !!!
Whats your problem !!!
You are the weakest link......... goodbye.
His trade value would be nearly zilch anyway, over 30+ and has a bad track record. Wouldnt get anymore than a late 3rd rounder for him.
Doesnt matter to me though, his value to the team is more than his trade value.
Freo Hitman
19 Jul 2007, 22:02
Wizard wannabe & Summerbat off & Joffa what are you's.
How can you defend these idiotic acts of our flawed genius. You punks were probably laying in the boots to Ben Cousins and his illness and when it comes to Jeffrey , No one can speak ill of Lord allmighty , retards get a life
dominguez
19 Jul 2007, 22:02
Reading this thread you would think that Farmer is the victim. Because of his anger, stupidity, and problems with alcohol he has cost us our season and Chris Connolly his job. Regardless of his onfield ability, the guys a d1ckhead.
I don't like Cameron Schwab and Rick Hart, but if Farmer isn't at the Fremantle Football Club in 2008 he has no one to blame but himself.
summerthebat
19 Jul 2007, 22:04
Reading this thread you would think that Farmer is the victim. Because of his anger, stupidity, and problems with alcohol he has cost us our season and Chris Connolly his job. Regardless of his onfield ability, the guys a d1ckhead.
I don't like Cameron Schwab and Rick Hart, but if Farmer isn't at the Fremantle Football Club in 2008 he has no one to blame but himself.
Jesus christ are you totally brain dead?
The thread is about keeping him at the club, nothing else. Dude I hope you are not responsible for the communities well being at your day job. I really hope you are a bar tender or something useless.
summerthebat
19 Jul 2007, 22:07
Wizard wannabe & Summerbat off & Joffa what are you's.
How can you defend these idiotic acts of our flawed genius. You punks were probably laying in the boots to Ben Cousins and his illness and when it comes to Jeffrey , No one can speak ill of Lord allmighty , retards get a life
At what point were we defending his 'alleged' acts?
personally for the sake of the game I hope Freo DO NOT sack him. love the bloke and it wasnt a catastrophic crime that he committed (unlike some of my mob I horribly admit). the only question i wanna ask is what was he doing out on the night connolly resigned. is he maybe upset that connolly is gone? is the relationship between him and mark harvey non existant that could end his career prematurely?
summerthebat
19 Jul 2007, 22:16
personally for the sake of the game I hope Freo DO NOT sack him. love the bloke and it wasnt a catastrophic crime that he committed (unlike some of my mob I horribly admit). the only question i wanna ask is what was he doing out on the night connolly resigned. is he maybe upset that connolly is gone? is the relationship between him and mark harvey non existant that could end his career prematurely?
I think he was at the Danny Green fight, I presume he knew he would not make the trip to Adelaide.... had a couple of drinks and followed the momentum!
Freo Hitman
19 Jul 2007, 22:16
Agreed Dominguez
Freo Hitman
19 Jul 2007, 22:19
Jesus christ are you totally brain dead?
The thread is about keeping him at the club, nothing else. Dude I hope you are not responsible for the communities well being at your day job. I really hope you are a bar tender or something useless.
We dont need ********s at the club , Now Summer batoff just a little question for you , what is your infatuation with jeffrey
ImperialPurple
19 Jul 2007, 22:22
Who knows why he was out, and who knows why he was on the grog while injured. Club rules say players are not allowed to drink while recovering from injury - and better judgement should have suggested that a night in would have been a better choice for him to make.
I would think that Harvey won't make any big calls on ending his career, unless he is going to be put in place as the coach for 2008 and beyond - and then really, it's his call how he wants to build his list, and who he wants playing under him. Until that point (which may not eventuate at all) he is the caretaker coach, and any big decisions should be left to the incoming senior coach when he is appointed.
I would also hope the the CEO, President and / or Board respect the rights of the incoming Senior Coach in determining who he wants on the list from those that are a Fremantle player at this point in time, and don't make any grandiose decision regarding jeff's future without consulting the "new bloke".
mick ryan
19 Jul 2007, 22:24
He is an incorrigible undisciplined overpaid idiot and should be given the flick.
Freo Hitman
19 Jul 2007, 22:24
At what point where we defending his 'alleged' acts?
Well you seem to be trying to gather support for him in some lame effort to save him being dismissed from the club. The guy as brilliant as he is chould just be gone.
All you morons trying to condone his continued indiscretions, need to take your blinkers off and see him for what he is, a waste of space and a disruptive influence. Face facts, if he played for another club, you would all be saying sack him.
ImperialPurple
19 Jul 2007, 22:34
All you morons trying to condone his continued indiscretions, need to take your blinkers off and see him for what he is, a waste of space and a disruptive influence. Face facts, if he played for another club, you would all be saying sack him.
Probably, but he doesn't play for another club, he plays for our club. He is also one of our Top5 players who offers us something on-field that no other player does. So while he is a loose cannon off the field - there is something about the Wiz that makes you love him while at the same time you want to kick his arse. It'll be a sad day when Jeffrey Farmer is no longer entertaining the Purple Army with his genius and wizardry. Whether that day is "effective immediately" or after another couple of years, I know I'll be feeling the worse for it.
And until you declare who your club is - well you can just bugger off out of here. :)
I would be saying sack him, so that he would come and play for us.
His offfield indescretions mean little to me. It only means something to fans who think that their own shit don't stink.
The type of indescretion that i notice occur onfield. For example, I do think it an indescretion for chronically injured Haselby to ask for an increase on his $450000 per annum pay packet.
summerthebat
19 Jul 2007, 22:39
How does Farmer smashing a side mirror, or punching a dude you didn't know effect any of you in that small 3 hour window per week? That small 3 hours should be the only thing we are concerned with when it comes down to this media inflated horse shit?
If Farmer was a late inclusion this weekend, would any of you Fremantle FOOTBALL club fans be upset?
Freo Hitman
19 Jul 2007, 22:47
How does Farmer smashing a side mirror, or punching a dude you didn't know effect any of you in that small 3 hour window per week? That small 3 hours should be the only thing we are concerned with when it comes down to this media inflated horse shit?
If Farmer was a late inclusion this weekend, would any of you Fremantle FOOTBALL club fans be upset?
i assure you Farmer will not be a late inclusion and if he was 12 goals in a famous win will only be the option of his return to save the club any embaressment yet again.
also, any disruption his offfield shit might cause, is made up for the fact that he is one of very few who ALWAYS tries onfield. that is a good example for other players.
pavlich could learn a thing or two.
Freo Hitman
19 Jul 2007, 22:52
Haselby to ask for an increase on his $450000 per annum pay packet.
Yoau are kidding right ??????????????
This fat git and his fat manager should concentrate on selling homes . Hasleby is trade bait at best in my eyes , a wasted talent , a lazy footballer , a man who has no hunger for the contest unless he is stuck in a queue at Maccas.. I am at a loss to ask why this clown wants a raise in his pay when our run into last years final in my eyes was due to him being out of the team and our form this year due to him being in the team , I am at a loss to speak my true feelings about Hasleby asking a pay rise.
summerthebat
19 Jul 2007, 22:52
i assure you Farmer will not be a late inclusion and if he was 12 goals in a famous win will only be the option of his return to save the club any embaressment yet again.
I am not even going to try and decipher that mess of words and letters, which leads me to the conclusion that you are thoroughly obtuse. I will no longer be paying attention to anything you say from here on.
Yoau are kidding right ??????????????
This fat git and his fat manager should concentrate on selling homes . Hasleby is trade bait at best in my eyes , a wasted talent , a lazy footballer , a man who has no hunger for the contest unless he is stuck in a queue at Maccas.. I am at a loss to ask why this clown wants a raise in his pay when our run into last years final in my eyes was due to him being out of the team and our form this year due to him being in the team , I am at a loss to speak my true feelings about Hasleby asking a pay rise.
i am glad we can agree about something hitman.
you are wrong about farmer. but correct to despise haselby.
his manager said he would be seeking 'a modest increase'.
i am EMBARRASSED for him.
Freo Hitman
19 Jul 2007, 22:59
I am not even going to try and decipher that mess of words and letters, which leads me to the conclusion that you are thoroughly obtuse. I will no longer be paying attention to anything you say from here on.
If you didnt understand what I typed well nick off then , You start your own AFL club and bring Farmer in, good player , crap attitude and no role model for young kids being bought into the club.
Freo Hitman
19 Jul 2007, 23:03
i am glad we can agree about something hitman.
you are wrong about farmer. but correct to despise haselby.
his manager said he would be seeking 'a modest increase'.
i am EMBARRASSED for him.
Jeffle here you gotta understand my psyche , I am no ones friend , no ones enemy & I am my own. If I put your nose outta joint what I have o say so be it , respect is the key word to these boards , agree to disagree if you must but the beauty of bigfooty.com is freedom of speach which is something not to be seen in dockerland
dockers_bengals
19 Jul 2007, 23:06
what jeff does off field effects the club .Sponsors,young fans,media all connect him to Freo .Clubs need money and his off field dramas effect it and when he signs the contract he is told what is expected and has almost no excuse.I hope he plays on because like it has been said he has done nothing compared to others and they are still playing but FFS what do you do to teach these guys.Fines and suspention hasn't helped whats next?
dominguez
19 Jul 2007, 23:06
I would also hope the the CEO, President and / or Board respect the rights of the incoming Senior Coach in determining who he wants on the list from those that are a Fremantle player at this point in time, and don't make any grandiose decision regarding jeff's future without consulting the "new bloke".
I agree.
Tell him to bugger off to South Freo for the rest of the season, then give him the opportunity during the first month of the preseason (if he wants it) to prove to the new coach that he wants to play, like we would with a prospective rookie.
ImperialPurple
19 Jul 2007, 23:08
I agree.
Tell him to bugger off to South Freo for the rest of the season, then give him the opportunity during the first month of the preseason (if he wants it) to prove to the new coach that he wants to play, like we would with a prospective rookie.
:eek: Oh no, please no dom.... ;)
Jeffrey needs to play one more game to qualify to play finals for Souths. That would suck wouldn't it? Well for Subi and Claremont it would... ;)
JoondalupJ
19 Jul 2007, 23:12
I agree.
If the rumours of Bell retiring are true, and Pav decided to leave, and Jeffrey gets pushed out... That would be our 3 best players to add to the departed coach... Not good.
I wish Jeffrey would just straighten himself out and concentrate on playing footy. Can't he feel the love??? :(
When oldies, and ones that don't want to be there, and half brains that never learn, leave your club, beleive me the future WILL be bright .
Don't walk backwards walk forwards and look to your future NOT to quick fixes!
dominguez
19 Jul 2007, 23:14
:eek: Oh no, please no dom.... ;)
Jeffrey needs to play one more game to qualify to play finals for Souths. That would suck wouldn't it? Well for Subi and Claremont it would... ;)
You're in a win / win situation!
Can you bet on the WAFL premiership? Bringing Murphy, Farmer and Gilmore into the South's line up will make them bloody hard to beat during the finals.
JoondalupJ
19 Jul 2007, 23:22
I would hate it if we axed him.
HATE IT.
Everytime we get sucked in by this media shit storm we lose sight of why we love our team and why we love the players, if you are actually 'upset' with this latest development your emotions are better served watched 'The Bold and The Beautiful.'
Jeff's off field incidents do not effect the other players ability to play, it only effects how the nation sees our club. I am not one bit concerned how we are percieved, we are already the laughing stock of the AFL.... the only people worried about how we are scene are the one's who make the decisions and that is really scary.
We watch football, we support GREAT footballers, Farmer is a GREAT footballer....... getting drunk, smashing a side mirror or punching someone should never equal someone taking away that from him and taking that away from us.
I feel so strongly about this.
Have another think , he is not the be all and end all of Freo in fact he,s a backward step. Clean out and clean up, change everything and watch your club grow. To have long term strength you need people with long term character and mugs never fit, they keep getting found out, and, that sort of
thing travells with them onto the feild . Demons in the head and heart don't help, and you take them onto the feild too .You can't win like that, or grow.
theGav56
19 Jul 2007, 23:24
I would be saying sack him, so that he would come and play for us.
His offfield indescretions mean little to me. It only means something to fans who think that their own shit don't stink.
The type of indescretion that i notice occur onfield. For example, I do think it an indescretion for chronically injured Haselby to ask for an increase on his $450000 per annum pay packet.
So negotiating a contract is an onfield incident??? i would have thought eye gouging an opposition player is a little closer to the game itself. Everyone negotiates their price.
Farmer's behaviour this year is the single biggest factor in our poor showing. In addition his poor response to his last suspension shown by this latest incident is a red light saying "I don't give a stuff about the club/team and it's rules."
Have another think , he is not the be all and end all of Freo in fact he,s a backward step. Clean out and clean up, change everything and watch your club grow. To have long term strength you need people with long term character and mugs never fit, they keep getting found out, and, that sort of
thing travells with them onto the feild . Demons in the head and heart don't help, and you take them onto the feild too .You can't win like that, or grow.
can we PLEASE start by culling the people that can not play.
this season has proved how important he is. he sparks the team, he always tries.
it is football if you want to worship go to church. oh that's right, bad people go to church too. the piety.
theGav56
19 Jul 2007, 23:27
I agree.
So, does he already have a contract when he comes along to preseason? At this stage an absolute minimum wage one year contract is all that I would offer him.
dominguez
19 Jul 2007, 23:33
So, does he already have a contract when he comes along to preseason?
No. When was Cookie re-signed last year, IIRC he was still uncontracted when the PSD rolled around in December. Our preseason will start a couple of weeks after the grand final, that gives Farmer plenty of time to prove himself to Sheedy/Pagan/Bond/Harvey.
JoondalupJ
19 Jul 2007, 23:34
Its never a catastrophic crime for Farmer its just that he keeps committing them,If something good doesn't happen in this blokes life then his post football life could be a train wreck. I'm off this thread now because I think I may be a little old for you kids who have a bit to learn in life. Remember Jeff may be your hero now but when his footy is over none of you will give a stuff. He wasn't born to entertain you nongs .See ya girls!
Don't worry Joondalup.
You have made some very relevant and salient points.
Cheers for not trolling, a lot of us have had a pretty upsetting week, and some take it better than others.
So negotiating a contract is an onfield incident??? i would have thought eye gouging an opposition player is a little closer to the game itself. Everyone negotiates their price.
Farmer's behaviour this year is the single biggest factor in our poor showing. In addition his poor response to his last suspension shown by this latest incident is a red light saying "I don't give a stuff about the club/team and it's rules."
asking for more money effects our salary cap. i believe this to be vile given his performance over the past two years. he has a persistent back injury. how he can ask for more than his already ridiculous $20000 per game is greedy to me. you clearly don't think so, all i can do is urge you to review some of the games - start with the games in which we lose - you won't see him.
agree that jeff's behaviour has led to our poor form - he is brilliant. we realise this now more than ever. the LEADERship group decided to ban him for six weeks.
i do not think it is a red light message to the club. i think he is a man who has anger problems due to circumstances quite beyond our comprehension. i don't think he can help it - it is him. an angry man who is good at footy - hardly the first.
ask judd about eye-gouging. has his star fallen?
summerthebat
19 Jul 2007, 23:47
How is cutting him going to improve his life?
Look at all his problems over his whole life, they happen when he is NOT playing football. All his problems at Melbourne happened in the off season.
If you're willing to take the 'humane' attack on this issue then I think you should easily be able to recognize that with him staying at the club, would be better for his life?
I think he is a man who has anger problems due to circumstances quite beyond our comprehension. i don't think he can help it - it is him. an angry man who is good at footy - hardly the first.
I know I'm bound to be taken the wrong way but *shrug*.
Have any of you given consideration to the possibility that he might be an alcoholic ? That's not meant to be a criticism, just a possible explanation for his behaviour. If it is the case then treatment is the proper solution, not banning, dropping, suspending, sacking et al.
chook2734
19 Jul 2007, 23:51
How is cutting him going to improve his life?
Look at all his problems over his whole life, they happen when he is NOT playing football. All his problems at Melbourne happened in the off season.
If you're willing to take the 'humane' attack on this issue then I think you should easily be able to recognize that with him staying at the club, would be better for his life?
I think the best thing that could happen for Jeff is for him to walk away from it all - maybe give us one last goodbye game - and then take up a job with Neesham at Clontarf. The lessons in both football and life that he could pass onto the young guys there would be invaluable, not only for them, but probably also for him.
theGav56
19 Jul 2007, 23:54
asking for more money effects our salary cap.
Just checked. Salary cap is not an onfield incident.
theGav56
19 Jul 2007, 23:56
No. When was Cookie re-signed last year, IIRC he was still uncontracted when the PSD rolled around in December. Our preseason will start a couple of weeks after the grand final, that gives Farmer plenty of time to prove himself to Sheedy/Pagan/Bond/Harvey.
Sound slike a good option then. But I would still only offer an absolute minimum wage and a 12 month contract, perhaps with a more lucrative 2nd year extension if the club thinks he has met expectations.
longsuffreosupp
20 Jul 2007, 00:02
Id give him somewhere close to minimum, with a clause that gets him his usual pay if he doesn't stuff up for the season.
freocynic
20 Jul 2007, 00:04
Absolutely amazing that some people want JEFF cut! NO WAY!!!!
theGav56
20 Jul 2007, 00:06
Absolutely amazing that some people want JEFF cut! NO WAY!!!!
Yeah. Why would you have any reservations about a guy whose own action have alm,ost single-handedly derailed the entire season?
Just checked. Salary cap is not an onfield incident.
you know what i mean. read it in context.
so you believe that haselby is worth more than $450000 per year? keeping in mind his chronic injury?
IF anyone on this board thinks that he has any right to ask for that kind of cash please step forward.
NiGHTFuRY
20 Jul 2007, 00:13
I think you besmuged the good name of Ninja. You should have really called yourself Troll. looking at your profile, there all "quality:o" troll like posts. Face facts - you be the moron methinks;):p
Yeah. Why would you have any reservations about a guy whose own action have alm,ost single-handedly derailed the entire season?
the ****heads that thought it a good idea to ban him for six weeks derailed the entire season.
the very same ****head who believed in his team enough to be captain... but not enough to resign.
the ****heads that thought it a good idea to ban him for six weeks derailed the entire season.
the very same ****head who believed in his team enough to be captain... but not enough to resign.
Jesus Christ!!
Haven't you made a big enough fool of yourself already???
I was going to offer you a bigger shovel but it seems that you have already hired an excavator.
Keep digging.
Jesus Christ!!
Haven't you made a big enough fool of yourself already???
I was going to offer you a bigger shovel but it seems that you have already hired an excavator.
Keep digging.
hee hee
i enjoy being scandalous.
i am absolutely traumatised at the thought of losing jeff.
i will go and dig myself to bed!
farewell bushcat.
incidently
i stand by my remarks.
pav should have signed.
hee hee
i enjoy being scandalous.
i am absolutely traumatised at the thought of losing jeff.
i will go and dig myself to bed!
farewell bushcat.
Watch that the door doesn't slam you on the arse on your way out!!
And don't forget to kiss Mummy goodnight.:thumbsu:
Watch that the door doesn't slam you on the arse on your way out!!
And don't forget to kiss Mummy goodnight.:thumbsu:
traumatised, completely, utterly
will do, thanks for your advice. :)
You can't have people around the club that will not be their best by following club rules. Those sort of people act as a cancer - they drag down the less smart (i.e ******* idiot) players to their level, and football clubs tend to have a lot of those. You can't set 1 rule for some players and 1 rule for others, and you can't let things go unpunished.
It would be a real shame if he was to never play again, but if that's what it takes to change the culture of the club, then so be it.
theGav56
20 Jul 2007, 01:31
you know what i mean. read it in context.
I think you are the one who needs to look at your own posts "in context". You created the context, then ignore it.
so you believe that haselby is worth more than $450000 per year? keeping in mind his chronic injury?
IF anyone on this board thinks that he has any right to ask for that kind of cash please step forward.
As for this bit, it has absolutely zero to do with the thread or your *cough* argument. It is not a thread about what Haselby is "worth", and like a lot of players coming out of contract he is entitled to negotiate the best deal possible. What exactly is the problem with that?
martorius
20 Jul 2007, 10:03
People who truly want to see the club do well would have no reservations about keeping him because we've all been witness to our form without him, and if he's not there this will probably continue. for the rest of this season and probably into the next. do you guys really want our on field performance go down the gurgler because of some moral high ground about jeff smashing someone's rear view mirror? it think this needs to be put into context. HE DAMAGED SOMEONE'S REAR VIEW MIRROR. Repeat that over and over to yourselves and think about whether that justifies cutting off our nose to spite our face.
Have not commented on it so far . but here are my thoughts.
Given the timing of the events only hours after CC resigned ,We should be prepared cut him a bit of slack this time becuase of that.
Wiz would have been well aware that He was most probably the reason that CC and the season is gone.
No doubt he would have been reminded of that in the hours preceeding the incident , and being injured had robbed himself of any chance of redeeming the situation.
I reckon if I had let everyone down like he did I would have gotten pissed and a bit angry at the world as well.
In a way it is a sign that He does have a concience which is good.
dugrene
20 Jul 2007, 11:20
Given the timing of the events only hours after CC resigned ,We should be prepared cut him a bit of slack this time becuase of that.
Wiz would have been well aware that He was most probably the reason that CC and the season is gone.
No doubt he would have been reminded of that in the hours preceeding the incident , and being injured had robbed himself of any chance of redeeming the situation.
I reckon if I had let everyone down like he did I would have gotten pissed and a bit angry at the world as well.
Pretty much spot on Rip.
I'd also add every family, work place, school yard, team has it's eccentric genius/trouble makers. These people come in all shapes and sizes and have differing affects on the environment they are in. In a school yard for instance where you have impressionable kids you have to maintain some discipline to set the example.
By the time you've become an adult most people can tell the difference between a some one who is just plain bad as as opposed to some one who cannot help their self destructive streak.
Jeff is some one who needs help not retribution. The Club has an opportunity to realize they have a flawed genius in their midst. Do whatever it takes to keep him on track but accept the fact he is who he is.
It would be something the Club would forever be ashamed if he was cut lose and deteriorated into just another petty pleb trouble maker.
Jeff could yet become a person of standing within the community he exists our Club could take responsibility for helping him to achieve this standing.
If he fails then we can say at least we tried.
dockertor
20 Jul 2007, 12:09
Hit it on the head Rip. the ones who would benefit most from us axing Jeff would be opposition clubs. You only had to hear the glee in that f-wit sattler's voice yesterday to know that's the truth. Do what's best for the footy team this time and screw the media hype. We want Jeff on the field doing what he is paid to do.
docker_azza
20 Jul 2007, 12:16
Hit it on the head Rip. the ones who would benefit most from us axing Jeff would be opposition clubs. You only had to hear the glee in that f-wit sattler's voice yesterday to know that's the truth. Do what's best for the footy team this time and screw the media hype. We want Jeff on the field doing what he is paid to do.
Agree and agree.
We will really show the rest of the AFL clubs a thing or two if we suspend Farmer heavily again. Look at where Collingwood and the Eagles are on the ladder and look at where we are on the ladder.
I think you will find that a lot of us who are on Farmers case over this are arguing against posters who simply want to let this last incident slide and pretend it never happened.
No-one wants to lose him, and personally I reckon he will get another suspension and a heavily discounted and disciplined contract next year.
But the club may well have painted itself into a corner on this and he may well be gone.
Either way Jeffery you need a good slap and a big mirror.
dockertor
20 Jul 2007, 12:29
I think you will find that a lot of us who are on Farmers case over this are arguing against posters who simply want to let this last incident slide and pretend it never happened.
No-one wants to lose him, and personally I reckon he will get another suspension and a heavily discounted and disciplined contract next year.
But the club may well have painted itself into a corner on this and he may well be gone.
No more club suspensions! it only serves to damage the club, surely we have learned the lesson. The overreaction last time cost us dearly. Lets not make the same mistakes again. IP used the quote recently, keep doing the same things and you will get the same outcome and in this case it means losing games and sending the club down
Bomber57
20 Jul 2007, 12:35
So when he beats up an old lady will you still want him? the guy is a couple off cans short of a 6 pack.
Certainly can't let the incident slide. He needs to be slapped , but should not be sacked because there are mitigating circumstances IMO.
If it were me I would banish him to Sowf's for a few weeks or even the rest of the season.
Harsh I know. ;)
That way He is diciplined and still can play footy
No more club suspensions! it only serves to damage the club, surely we have learned the lesson. The overreaction last time cost us dearly. Lets not make the same mistakes again. IP used the quote recently, keep doing the same things and you will get the same outcome and in this case it means losing games and sending the club down
So what do you propose as an alternative?
Certainly can't let the incident slide. He needs to be slapped , but should not be sacked because there are mitigating circumstances IMO.
If it were me I would banish him to Sowf's for a few weeks or even the rest of the season.
Harsh I know. ;)
You are a hard man Rip!!
But I think that IP and I could live with that.:p
dockertor
20 Jul 2007, 12:50
So what do you propose as an alternative?
Do what the other clubs do, fine him and get on with winning games of football.
Was there media hysteria calling for his sacking when Daniel Kerr committed his umpteenth offence? Lets not listen to the media calling for us to burn the witch.
Do what the other clubs do, fine him and get on with winning games of football.
Was there media hysteria calling for his sacking when Daniel Kerr committed his umpteenth offence? Lets not listen to the media calling for us to burn the witch.
Well lets take out $100,000 out of his salary for next year and keep it in escrow...and explain to Jeff that it is being withheld because we just know that he is going to stuff up and we need it to cover his fines.
Seriously, as a Duty of Care issue we cannot just go down the road of fining him.
It doesn't help Jeff at all and it certainly doesn't help the club, and in particular the playing group.
dockertor
20 Jul 2007, 13:06
Well lets take out $100,000 out of his salary for next year and keep it in escrow...and explain to Jeff that it is being withheld because we just know that he is going to stuff up and we need it to cover his fines.
Seriously, as a Duty of Care issue we cannot just go down the road of fining him.
It doesn't help Jeff at all and it certainly doesn't help the club, and in particular the playing group.
It's a great idea, better than suspending him, which did no good at all. Especially to the playing group. I don't think any of them would be feeling good about the consequences of the last time now.
dont bowl there
20 Jul 2007, 13:10
Well it is obvious the threat of being suspended doesnt deter Jeff Farmer, maybe he needs to be hit in the hip pocket? Some penalties work better for different people.
pistol17
20 Jul 2007, 13:11
There are 2 Jeff Farmers.
The one who gets himself into trouble by making the wrong decisions on the drink.
Then theres the one who we call "the wiz" the one who can turn a game in a quarter. A proven matchwinner.
If we lose Pavlich and Bell then Farmer. 3 Matchwinners will leave Fremantle.
Compare Jeff to Shane Warne. Shane might not have had assault charges but he did have a number of off-field indiscretions including a 12 month ban for using a banned substance. Did Cricket Australia terminate him? No, because he is Shane Warne, how do you sack a matchwinner like Shane. Same goes with Jeff Farmer, although we cant accept this behaviour we cant sack Jeff Farmer.
Good Morning Bush Cat
It is Jeff's duty to play football. It's the club's duty to start winning.
Honestly, all of these people looking for role models, should really look elsewhere. He can only be a positive onfield role model for his all too often lazy, arrogant metrosex team mates.
thats probably the best description of what could have happened. it has been coomon to hear that every freo cynic have said from farmers indiscretions in the past few months have may caused ccs downfall. however that is totally unfair to farmer and the team should be blamed as a whole for their horrible 3 game start. (especially the lead against port)
Harsh I know. ;)
I agree.
Contract slashed for next year and put on a performance based contract.
Stuff up, he doesn't play = no money
JoondalupJ
20 Jul 2007, 15:03
Don't worry Joondalup.
You have made some very relevant and salient points.
Cheers for not trolling, a lot of us have had a pretty upsetting week, and some take it better than others.
Well said and thanks. I am not trying to be a nasty in any of this. Everyone knows Freo have a huge future ahead but you got to get the prioritys right first. Good luck Fremantle.See ya folks.
dont bowl there
20 Jul 2007, 15:21
Bushie is a ******** but that was a strange post.
bobshoby
20 Jul 2007, 15:50
It seems to me that Farmer typifies the Fremantle problem and I honestly believe that the best thing that could happen for the culture of the Fremantle football club is to sack Farmer. He's highly inconsistent, he can be a genius in one game and not touch it the next. He's ridiculously undisciplined and his off and on-field behavior is often absolutely disgraceful. Finally he's had a number of chances now to show that he can improve and quite frankly he hasn't done it. Sack him now, draw a line in the sand for the other players in the side and for once look past the short-term costs and focus on the long-term benefits that removing his malignant influence from Fremantle could have.
Or don't of course, that would probably help everyone else in the competition :D
Bushie is a ******** but that was a strange post.
I am having an off day dbt.
So could you explain that to me.....slowly please.
dont bowl there
20 Jul 2007, 16:08
I am having an off day dbt.
So could you explain that to me.....slowly please.
Hahaha it seems the post i was refering to got deleted and mine was kept on making me look like a ********.
Cameron_K
20 Jul 2007, 16:09
Farmer as the player on the field I would love the club to keep. The problem is I think it has got to a point now in which Farmer the off field persona is almost making that impossible.
He's highly inconsistent, he can be a genius in one game and not touch it the next.
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
dockertor
20 Jul 2007, 16:15
It seems to me that Farmer typifies the Fremantle problem and I honestly believe that the best thing that could happen for the culture of the Fremantle football club is to sack Farmer. He's highly inconsistent, he can be a genius in one game and not touch it the next. He's ridiculously undisciplined and his off and on-field behavior is often absolutely disgraceful. Finally he's had a number of chances now to show that he can improve and quite frankly he hasn't done it. Sack him now, draw a line in the sand for the other players in the side and for once look past the short-term costs and focus on the long-term benefits that removing his malignant influence from Fremantle could have.
Or don't of course, that would probably help everyone else in the competition :D
What a load of crap. He is very consitant on the field. Of course you would love to see us lose him.
Hahaha it seems the post i was refering to got deleted and mine was kept on making me look like a ********.
Fair enough mate:):thumbsu:
Like I said yesterday you can be a bit obtuse at times, but you completely lost me for a while there.:D
Was someone being mean to poor old bushie??:(
dont bowl there
20 Jul 2007, 16:24
Fair enough mate:):thumbsu:
Like I said yesterday you can be a bit obtuse at times, but you completely lost me for a while there.:D
Was someone being mean to poor old bushie??:(
What do you mean by "a bit obtuse"? Yup it was one of the great bigfooty sprays i have seen, wasnt clever because most of it was just these "*****"