View Full Version : Coach the Rockers
em eraps
19 Jul 2007, 23:20
Black Rock Football Club, playing in the Southern Football League Division 3 competition and a genuine premiership chance in 2007 (currently second on the ladder), is offering the highest bidder a once in a lifetime opportunity to coach its senior side for the week.
Bids will take place on E-Bay commencing 1pm Friday 20th July 2007
Bids are open to anyone 18+ years of age.
We do ask that the person is NOT currently involved (in any capacity) in a fellow SFL club.
More details will be discussed on air friday 20th on SEN 1116 at 1pm..
Vulture_72
20 Jul 2007, 09:28
Black Rock Football Club, playing in the Southern Football League Division 3 competition and a genuine premiership chance in 2007 (currently second on the ladder), is offering the highest bidder a once in a lifetime opportunity to coach its senior side for the week.
We do ask that the person is NOT currently involved (in any capacity) in a fellow SFL club.
Bahahahhaha. That is funny. Either this is a joke or Black Rock are selling their soul.
xxscubaxx
20 Jul 2007, 09:53
that is a disgrace! unless they are in some real financial strife.
Tigerarmy88
20 Jul 2007, 13:38
i might teach black rock a lesson for treating sth yarra with contempt the coaching staff may meet the committee and we might go to the races that day and forfeit the game.id like to see how there day goes then......
I think you will find that unless the winner has a coaches certificate then this will not happen. I am sure that the league will advise in due course ?
Also the winner would also need to understand that as the coach they may be held liable for any actions that individuals do as a result of his/her instructions !!!
PS I thought that this competition has been running at the club for over 10 years just look at the previous coaches ! :D:D
goal kicking wingman
20 Jul 2007, 15:10
would rather coach the GOON "NAR NAR":thumbsu:OK USA
For once i agree with you GOON "NAR NAR":thumbsu:GO yarra.
There's only one good thing about black rock, the jumper:D
Frankencow
20 Jul 2007, 15:44
Was considering bidding and telling the Rockers to flood the wing. Nick Owen, of course, would be on the bench. I'd put him in the twos but we don't want to play against him there. "Duck" in the twos is a nice enough guy, but not sure how he'd go rucking against Jules Smith in the ones at 5'5".
goal kicking wingman
20 Jul 2007, 15:48
When are black rock going to purpose doing this extravaganza?
Frankencow
20 Jul 2007, 15:54
The highest bidder, (if the reserve is reached) will have the unique opportunity to coach the senior side versus South Yarra FC at MacDonald reserve, in its Round 15 match on Saturday 4th August 2007. This match is for premiership points! The ‘Real Life Dream Team’ coach will also be required to run training on the preceding Tuesday and Thursday nights. The winning bidder will also be actively involved in the selection meeting/ process after Thursday night’s training.
Tigerarmy88
20 Jul 2007, 15:58
The highest bidder, (if the reserve is reached) will have the unique opportunity to coach the senior side versus South Yarra FC at MacDonald reserve, in its Round 15 match on Saturday 4th August 2007. This match is for premiership points! The ‘Real Life Dream Team’ coach will also be required to run training on the preceding Tuesday and Thursday nights. The winning bidder will also be actively involved in the selection meeting/ process after Thursday night’s training.
south yarra commitee not impressed that they were not given a courtesy call regarding the extravaganza the races are firming for the 4th august......
azzajobe
20 Jul 2007, 16:02
whats the link for this ?
flying dutchman
20 Jul 2007, 16:06
south yarra commitee not impressed that they were not given a courtesy call regarding the extravaganza the races are firming for the 4th august......
Yeah we havent got anything to play for and i think the races are at caulfield that weekend, let get on it:thumbsu:
PeterDean
20 Jul 2007, 16:37
Was considering bidding and telling the Rockers to flood the wing. Nick Owen, of course, would be on the bench. I'd put him in the twos but we don't want to play against him there. "Duck" in the twos is a nice enough guy, but not sure how he'd go rucking against Jules Smith in the ones at 5'5".
'Duck' Avery - with a chest like Ablett. He must be getting on now?
The_Cat
20 Jul 2007, 17:08
whats the link for this ?
500 Bucks... I think I'd rather get the jousting sticks!!!
Master of Cooks
20 Jul 2007, 17:27
i might teach black rock a lesson for treating sth yarra with contempt the coaching staff may meet the committee and we might go to the races that day and forfeit the game.id like to see how there day goes then......
What arrogance!
I hope Yarra give em a flogging.:D
I wonder what happens when Black Rock are down by a few goals at 3 quarter time. Are they gonna tell the stand in coach to @#*! off.:rolleyes:
Frankencow
20 Jul 2007, 17:54
What arrogance!
I hope Yarra give em a flogging.:D
I wonder what happens when Black Rock are down by a few goals at 3 quarter time. Are they gonna tell the stand in coach to @#*! off.:rolleyes:
Their Coach is a playing coach normally, as if he wouldn't just tell them what to do on the ground. Who would pay $500 (reserve price) for this?
mrfuglier
20 Jul 2007, 18:45
Read what the SYFC president has to say!
www.syfc.org :thumbsu:
Frankencow
20 Jul 2007, 18:47
Read what the SYFC president has to say!
www.syfc.org (http://www.syfc.org) :thumbsu:
Saw that. I had to cringe. He spelt "way" as "whey" as in Little Miss Muffet and curds and whey and stuff...
Shoot To Thrill
21 Jul 2007, 00:53
I agree with the Coaches Certificate and stuff, it might work. Anything to promote the SFL and its clubs must be good. It might be a huge day, only time will tell. Here is the eBay link below:
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/REAL-LIFE-FOOTBALL-DREAM-TEAM_W0QQitemZ110150512802QQihZ001QQcategoryZ31248QQssPageNa meZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
chaddles
21 Jul 2007, 08:34
Wow, I cant believe Black Rock are really doing this!! I don't think I have ever heard of anything more disrespectful to a club and league in my entire life!!
Maybe it is time for the SFL to step in and save the credibility of the league. You wouldn't hear of this in the VAFA, Northern, EDFL or any other league for that matter.
I have it maybe Richy Rich will bid !!!:D:D:D
Festerdb5
21 Jul 2007, 18:27
I can't believe the rubbish I'm reading. You're talking about a local football club that has been fighting to survive for years and continually scrape the bottom of the barrell financially. No players are paid unlike many other clubs, everyone there plays because they want to. Then the club comes up with an innovative way of raising funds and it's construed as disrespect to the opposition. As local footy teams we should be supporting each other in every way possible not squabbling like children. Otherwise teams have to fold (like for the past 2 years hey!).
mrfuglier
22 Jul 2007, 02:05
It's disrespectful to the opposition, the SFL and it's sponsors. The SFL 3rd division struggles enough with attracting top players and sponsors. Why turn it into a circus? There are many ways to raise money, this is not one of them. I'm sure South Yarra have found it hard to raise funds, and it's only their first year back. Why make a mockery of the day and the competition?
scratcha
22 Jul 2007, 10:22
I have it maybe Richy Rich will bid !!!:D:D:D
I have it on good word that Paul 'Licka' Wilson is bidding for it. Anything to worm his way into a coaching job!!! ;);)
GoalSneak38
22 Jul 2007, 14:07
As coach I question how seriously they would take your instructions. Imagine some crazy wins and says everyone sit in the goal square. Would they do it?
Frankencow
22 Jul 2007, 17:05
As coach I question how seriously they would take your instructions. Imagine some crazy wins and says everyone sit in the goal square. Would they do it?
Flood the left wing!
Jascave
22 Jul 2007, 18:25
I reckon there is a high-risk mark in all this. Imagine if Black Rock are 10+ goals down at 3/4 time (and remember they are second on the ladder ). Or if Black Rock coast to a 10 goal win, and the players say, 'We don't want Steve Anderson in charge, the new guy can take over.' Can you imagine a club like Collingwood, want to auction Mick Malthouse's job, to take charge of things like match-day selection, training etc.What would Mick be thinking?
xxscubaxx
22 Jul 2007, 20:10
funny you say that, Collingwood have a comp going where the winner gets to sit in the coaches box during the game. not really here nor there just thought it was interesting.
Jascave
23 Jul 2007, 09:24
We know that South Yarra are not happy about the Black Rock 'coach auction' situation, claiming they were not given a courtesy call (something the Rockers should've done before putting up the senior coach's job up for auction to make sure there's no trouble) and threating to forfeit the game in protest, but what's does the SFL think of all this?
Frankencow
23 Jul 2007, 16:57
This talk of ferfeit is crap. The whole thing's a good idea, and if South Yarra can't win with this sort of motivation we never would have anyway. Sure they should have maybe been given a call, but does it really make much of a difference? If the club decides to forfeit the day, of course I'll go along with it because it's a club decision and stuff, but I play Ressies and we pumped theirs last time so I want to play. The amount of talk it has generated has been great publicity I would have thought for the SFL and Black Rock. Maybe we should stack our ones team with twos players, since the Ressies have three on the trot. :D
Jascave
23 Jul 2007, 17:33
I'm just wondering, if Phil Stevens was still CEO of the SFL, would he had approved or disapproved of Black Rock's 'coach auction'?
Uncle Mick
24 Jul 2007, 09:25
It's irrelevant Jase. Phil Stevens has got more on his plate to worry about than what's happening in the SFL. Simple fact is, it's a novel idea that has attracted a great deal of attention to the club and the league. It's not to the detriment of either, so it should be embraced. The only negative being that there should have been a courtesy call as a heads up to South Yarra. It's rumoured that it'll be on the Footy Show on Thursday night, which brings the greatest exposure to the footballing community, and effectively proves it a stroke of genius.
goal kicking wingman
24 Jul 2007, 10:30
It's irrelevant Jase. Phil Stevens has got more on his plate to worry about than what's happening in the SFL. Simple fact is, it's a novel idea that has attracted a great deal of attention to the club and the league. It's not to the detriment of either, so it should be embraced. The only negative being that there should have been a courtesy call as a heads up to South Yarra. It's rumoured that it'll be on the Footy Show on Thursday night, which brings the greatest exposure to the footballing community, and effectively proves it a stroke of genius.
I'll put my hand up for any media commitments:thumbsu:
PARK PLAYER
24 Jul 2007, 12:29
NEWS FLASH
Garry Rowan has just put a bid in on coaching the rockers
Jascave
24 Jul 2007, 17:32
Yes, Uncle Mick, I know it would bring exposure to Black Rock and to the SFL as a whole, but remember, Black Rock are second on the ladder, and South Yarra are on the lower rungs on the ladder. If the Rockers lose this one to South Yarra then the possiblity of getting the double chance come finals time gets that much harder. I think what South Yarra might do is that rather than forfeit the game, play the match under protest, which means that they'll give a half-hearted effort rather than give 110%, and also would probably field an skeleton side rather than the strongest senior team named on August 4th.
Sanigav
24 Jul 2007, 18:03
I see some peanut has put a bid on, what a waste of money to coach a pack of arrogant wanna-bes.
Frankencow
24 Jul 2007, 22:06
Yes, Uncle Mick, I know it would bring exposure to Black Rock and to the SFL as a whole, but remember, Black Rock are second on the ladder, and South Yarra are on the lower rungs on the ladder. If the Rockers lose this one to South Yarra then the possiblity of getting the double chance come finals time gets that much harder. I think what South Yarra might do is that rather than forfeit the game, play the match under protest, which means that they'll give a half-hearted effort rather than give 110%, and also would probably field an skeleton side rather than the strongest senior team named on August 4th.
Have you seen our Ressies lately? If we picked Ressies we could steal the win! :D We didn't need any help to knock off Black Rock's Ressies last time, that's for sure. I think we at South Yarra have to not be so precious about it and have a fair dinkum crack. Big crowd, plenty of motivation, I'll be disappointed if the Seniors don't play one of their best games.
The Enemy Within
25 Jul 2007, 10:48
A big chance that the great Sheedy might coach them !!!! He loves the colors,That Is All:p
The_Cat
25 Jul 2007, 11:14
A big chance that the great Sheedy might coach them !!!! He loves the colors,That Is All:p
Well he might have some spare time now.
BigPete38
25 Jul 2007, 12:15
Well he might have some spare time now.
Tim sim should bid.
Go Rockers
25 Jul 2007, 12:59
Tim sim should bid.
I think this whole debate is good publicity for a league, that let's admit, is not as good as others in Victoria, and good for a division that, let's face it, kinda attracts a poor standard of footy.
But you know what?......I still love playing in it! We are all passionate about our clubs we play for, and that's the best thing about grass roots footy, cause you're at the club because you choose to be there. Sick of these big try hard teams that pay ridiculous amounts of money to win premierships in 3rd Division (Parkmore). Where do their players, who know they are 10 times better than us, get any satisfaction from playing?
We have a great rivalry built up with Sth Yarra over the years, and as much as I hate them (not literally), I have respect for them as individuals, and for the fact that they too just want to play footy with their mates. Let's just enjoy it for what it is. A way to make a few bucks on the side for the club, good publicity for 3rd Division, and 2 hours of having a kick on a Saturday and then having a beer and a chat after the game with the opposition. EVERYONE......STOP STRESSING ABOUT IT!!!!!
P.S: Tim Sim would be a great coach! Just gotta keep his temper down. Ha ha.
goal kicking wingman
26 Jul 2007, 13:54
I think this whole debate is good publicity for a league, that let's admit, is not as good as others in Victoria, and good for a division that, let's face it, kinda attracts a poor standard of footy.
But you know what?......I still love playing in it! We are all passionate about our clubs we play for, and that's the best thing about grass roots footy, cause you're at the club because you choose to be there. Sick of these big try hard teams that pay ridiculous amounts of money to win premierships in 3rd Division (Parkmore). Where do their players, who know they are 10 times better than us, get any satisfaction from playing?
We have a great rivalry built up with Sth Yarra over the years, and as much as I hate them (not literally), I have respect for them as individuals, and for the fact that they too just want to play footy with their mates. Let's just enjoy it for what it is. A way to make a few bucks on the side for the club, good publicity for 3rd Division, and 2 hours of having a kick on a Saturday and then having a beer and a chat after the game with the opposition. EVERYONE......STOP STRESSING ABOUT IT!!!!!
well said, lets drop the bull$hit hopefully we can have a good win then a few frothies to celebrate after the game:thumbsu:
Sanigav
26 Jul 2007, 18:13
And the bidding on this fine item is just going off!!!!
Zero bids and looks as though they've had to extend the auction length.
Looks like no-one wants a bar of coaching Wank Rock.
ausde13
27 Jul 2007, 07:47
And the bidding on this fine item is just going off!!!!
Zero bids and looks as though they've had to extend the auction length.
Looks like no-one wants a bar of coaching Wank Rock.
I know I should not give this old mate a slice of attention he clearly seeks in doing nothing but giving hateful and sinful comments based on nothing but insular views of the world but I have to..
As usual a knob who has no innovation and outside the square thinking. If you poke your head out said box at 5.30pm today on Channel 10 news you will see free promotion of the SFL thanks to Black Rock you cretin.
Stick to the same staid, old tricks while we try new and different ways of attracting sponsors and potentially players to our fine club.
100 years old in 2008, get onboard now!
BigRich
27 Jul 2007, 12:22
I know I should not give this old mate a slice of attention he clearly seeks in doing nothing but giving hateful and sinful comments based on nothing but insular views of the world but I have to..
As usual a knob who has no innovation and outside the square thinking. If you poke your head out said box at 5.30pm today on Channel 10 news you will see free promotion of the SFL thanks to Black Rock you cretin.
Stick to the same staid, old tricks while we try new and different ways of attracting sponsors and potentially players to our fine club.
100 years old in 2008, get onboard now!
It's a pitty the poor sucker who forks out the cash will only sit there like a dumby due to the fact you need a level 1 coaching certificate to actually coach the game!
the kid3
27 Jul 2007, 13:09
Well said,i could not agree more
mrfuglier
27 Jul 2007, 13:45
:thumbsu: Several problems with this whole concept;
1/ Opened a riff between South Yarra and Black Rock.
2/ If Black Rock do beat South Yarra without a coach, South Yarra will struggle to keep there own sponsors for next year. It's tough been 2nd from the bottom with a competitor playing against you without an accredited coach. The current sponsors are dismayed at this decision.
Why would they sponsor a club that can't beat a side without a coach?
How would the current committee convince them of improvement over 2007? They can't and hence the sponsors won't sponsor next year.
3/ I'm sure the committee won't allow this to happen, there are several options available to them.
4/ The advertising we have received (3rd Division) is for all the wrong reasons, sponsors look to sponsor both clubs and leagues that are progressive in their thinking, not gimmicks.
5/ If Black Rock can't attract sponsors the same way all clubs do, then either work harder or change their committee, not attempt to embarrass another club.
Jascave
27 Jul 2007, 15:26
mrfuglier, I agree with all the points you raised, especially the first one about South Yarra and Black Rock disagreeing about the coach's auction. Would it be better if the coach auction took place during the pre-season, when there's noting at stake, unlike this one, where 4 premiership points and the possibilty of the double chance await Black Rock?
The Enemy Within
27 Jul 2007, 15:37
Initiative for sure good thinking by their Pres, has already generated publicity but be serious any person who thinks a Crash test dummy off the street is going to be in control has got Rockers in there head.It won't happen.Imagine this,they lost against MT maybe lose against Cerberus and then you have the rampaging Yarra if they lose that they may as well book there end of season trip to the looney farm.That Is All.
Frankencow
27 Jul 2007, 16:05
I take it you're not bidding Enemy?
BigRich
27 Jul 2007, 16:06
Initiative for sure good thinking by their Pres, has already generated publicity but be serious any person who thinks a Crash test dummy off the street is going to be in control has got Rockers in there head.It won't happen.Imagine this,they lost against MT maybe lose against Cerberus and then you have the rampaging Yarra if they lose that they may as well book there end of season trip to the looney farm.That Is All.
Yarra's arent all that fussed as we have inside info that like i said in my previous post who ever wins the coachs role unless they are accredited level 1 coach all they will be is standing around looking like a dick as under the AFL Vic rules you cant coach without a minium level 1.
The Enemy Within
27 Jul 2007, 16:13
I take it you're not bidding Enemy?
I'm not allowed too,any way who wants to sit there looking like a JERRY GEE doll i don't do you.That Is All
Vulture_72
27 Jul 2007, 16:18
Yarra's arent all that fussed as we have inside info that like i said in my previous post who ever wins the coachs role unless they are accredited level 1 coach all they will be is standing around looking like a dick as under the AFL Vic rules you cant coach without a minium level 1.
It's not insider info Rich. Everyone is aware that the winning bidder will be doing **** all, as their regular playing coach will still be playing. At the moment they haven't even got a single bid. Homer Simpson at least got a doughnut for his soul.
THE BEACON
27 Jul 2007, 16:47
It was Bart who sold his sold.
Vulture_72
27 Jul 2007, 16:55
It was Bart who sold his sold.
Bart also sold his soul. But homer sold his to the devil for a doughnut.
azzajobe
27 Jul 2007, 17:24
was all just on chanel 10 news !!
Sanigav
27 Jul 2007, 17:35
Really newsworthy stuff too, especially if noone bids on it
donkey kong 43
30 Jul 2007, 08:01
All this nonsense about level 1 coaching requirment is over the top. According to the league as long as the person is enrolled to do the next course available (nov. is the next) then that person is allowed to coach. That would mean the person who wins the auction only has to enroll in the course to be allowed to coach on that day.
The Enemy Within
30 Jul 2007, 16:20
Any progress on the Jerry Gee doll,keep us informed.That Is all.:o
Frankencow
30 Jul 2007, 18:05
All this nonsense about level 1 coaching requirment is over the top. According to the league as long as the person is enrolled to do the next course available (nov. is the next) then that person is allowed to coach. That would mean the person who wins the auction only has to enroll in the course to be allowed to coach on that day.
Our club got told that Black Rock can advertise it as a coach for a day, but the Captain Coach will be coaching and the other guy will effectively just be holding the board for him. This is due to legal ramifications if players act on instructions from the unaccredited coach, which I can only assume means instructions similar to "Fix up that number 32" or whatever.
The blokes name who wins the bidding won't get his name on the team sheet, the accredited and registered coach with the SFL will have it on there. Besides that there is nothing stoping him/her from giving the address at the breaks or running the board as long as that coach on the team sheet is present at the game.
Jascave
31 Jul 2007, 21:20
How's the 'coach auction' going? Do we know who's going to be coaching Black Rock this week?
The Enemy Within
1 Aug 2007, 08:17
How's the 'coach auction' going? Do we know who's going to be coaching Black Rock this week?
Stop the press, 2 candidates Ron Blaskim and his mate Jerry Gee will be doing the moves and a chance Happy Hammond might be the runner.That Is All
The Enemy Within
3 Aug 2007, 08:36
Any news yet hee hee That is all
The Enemy Within
3 Aug 2007, 08:54
Any truth to the rumour Chopper Reid got the job...... The players would be all ears at the breaks Chop Chop that Is All :D