View Full Version : and to think this all happened because of Scott Thornton's miss
relapse
20 Jul 2007, 10:15
From the Adelaide Advertiser
"Hart admitted Connolly would still be coach if young Docker Scott Thornton had not missed a goal in the dying seconds of Sunday's game to grab victory against the Roos."
Amazing how one shot at goal could change a football club so much
It is a game of inches and seconds.
Macca's stupid free kick when we were in front was worse, IMO.
332docker
20 Jul 2007, 10:57
"Hart admitted Connolly would still be coach if young Docker Scott Thornton had not missed a goal in the dying seconds of Sunday's game to grab victory against the Roos."
This is why Hart needs a muzzle. All the other coaches and players and commentators don't fall for the let's blame one mans shot on goal. Our idiot chairman of the board just can't help himself. What are his credentials footy wise? I reckon the first thing the club should be changing and Harvey should be demanding is that Hart does not speak to the media without someone present to stop him saying something stupid!
I DO NOT BLAME SCOTTY THORTON! NEVER WILL, there are 22 players out there and there was numerous things that people did or not that could have won that game for us.
cheersandbeers 332docker
lol Thornton will never be the same again... he will always feel responsible for Connoly's demise
pistol17
20 Jul 2007, 13:16
Agree bigtime Ripper
Belnakor
20 Jul 2007, 13:18
TWhat are his credentials footy wise? I reckon the first thing the club should be changing and Harvey should be demanding is that Hart does not speak to the media without someone present to stop him saying something stupid!
Hart will take any oppotunity to get his mug on tv, or his voice on radio. His qualifications seem to be 1) ego 2) sold a few fridges
pistol17
20 Jul 2007, 13:19
lol Thornton will never be the same again... he will always feel responsible for Connoly's demise
The whole playing group should feel responsible not just scotty
dockertor
20 Jul 2007, 13:23
And the match review panel, the board, Justins knee ect ect. A lot of factors contributed to get us to that point where young scottie was shooting for CC's tenure.
docker_azza
20 Jul 2007, 13:47
That was a silly thing to say from Hart.
longsuffreosupp
20 Jul 2007, 14:21
If Thornton had've made the shot, CC would still be coaching for what, maybe one more week?
dockertor
20 Jul 2007, 14:27
If Thornton had've made the shot, CC would still be coaching for what, maybe one more week?
If your talking ifs why not add if Pav had kick straighter against collingwood and a few other things which would add up to a different outcome for the season altogether.
ImperialPurple
20 Jul 2007, 14:28
That's a fair assessment IMO.
To use a CC-ism - the players would have been under no illusions as to what the outcome of the game meant in the context of their season, and subsequently the future of their coach.
23 scoring shots to 22 - inaccuracy again cost us.
But in the dying minutes so did:
Macca's stupid brain fade that saw him sit on Archer's head just 15m out from goal, when Grover already had him "under control".
Schammer standing stationary when Josh passed it to him, allowing a Roos player to run at the ball, intercept it and get it and send it back down to Norf's fwd line. (Did you see the spray Josh gave Byron when that happened?)
Dodd wasting time asking for a 50, then going sideways instead of sending it long to the forwards
Thornton's miss
Thornton is a senior player - despite the fact he has only played 50 games, he is 25 years old, and has been at the club only a year less than Pav and Hase. He's not "a kid" in footy terms. He has been backed in by CC time and time again, and given opportunities many other players haven't. He made the lead, he called for the ball from his captain, he was 35-40m out on a medium angle... and he missed. Professional footballers are there to kick goals when they have the opportunity - but he didn't do what he is paid for and it set the wheels in motion.
All of those things contributed in the last couple of minutes of the game, but the bare fact is that if Thornton kicked the goal, CC would still be in charge.
However - it's likely that it just brought the inevitable forward a bit. That kick wasn't the cause for CC's demise - it was just the straw that broke the camel's back.
Sadly for Thornton, and sadly for CC. :(
Cameron_K
20 Jul 2007, 15:32
Let's be realistic here without even considering who said it. Is the comment correct??
Hell I have heard at least 20 people in and around Fremantle say the exact same thing over the last 2 days. It's not a dig at Scotty, it is simply stating the truth.
GentlemanJeff
20 Jul 2007, 16:43
Whilst Hart's comments are correct, it was still an incredibly stupid thing for him to say. Hart is not employed as a "truth teller", he is employed to promote the club's best interests. His remark was stupid and will not reap anything positive for FFC - so why the hell did he say it?
Secondly, People should get of Thornton's case. He had a shot and he missed. But his missed shot on goal and masked the fact that Pavlich should have taken the shot himself.
Pavlich completely bottled it when he passed the ball of to Scotty. Pav is (1) Captain, (2) Our leading goal kicker, (3) the highest paid player in the team.
That should have been Pav's shot at goal. The Captain should be the first guy who puts his hand up to take the winning shot at goal.
Dissapointing Pav.
If your Aunty had nuts she would be your Uncle Board.
ImperialPurple
20 Jul 2007, 16:46
Originally posted by GentlemanJeff
Secondly, People should get of Thornton's case. He had a shot and he missed. But his missed shot on goal and masked the fact that Pavlich should have taken the shot himself.
Pavlich completely bottled it when he passed the ball of to Scotty. Pav is (1) Captain, (2) Our leading goal kicker, (3) the highest paid player in the team.
That should have been Pav's shot at goal. The Captain should be the first guy who puts his hand up to take the winning shot at goal.
Dissapointing Pav.
He was 60 out and on the boundary. If he had've had a shot, people like yourself would have been screaming out how selfish he was when Thornton was in the clear inside 50. :rolleyes:
dockertor
20 Jul 2007, 16:48
That was a red rag to bull wasn't it IP
He was 60 out and on the boundary. If he had've had a shot, people like yourself would have been screaming out how selfish he was when Thornton was in the clear inside 50. :rolleyes:
Something about arguing with idiots comes to mind.:rolleyes:
Tundrawolf
20 Jul 2007, 16:52
The irony of Thornton's miss was that he was recruited as a full forward from Prahran and our other full forward Taz kicked two out on the full.
ImperialPurple
That was a red rag to bull wasn't it IP
Nah not really. I'm pretty peed at Pav for not signing on the dotted line right when his club needs him most - but that was just nonsensical. Pav with the ball in his hands 60 out - sure i was hoping he'd just unload with one of his long-bomb specials. Put it through, he's kicked the ultimate "captain's goal" and wins the game for us and becomes a hero. But it's a low percentage shot - even for the Great One... on the other hand he has a shot and he misses and he's "selfish", but he did the right thing, and history will show that Scotty couldn't finish it off.
GentlemanJeff
He was 60 out and on the boundary. :rolleyes:
He was 55 out. It was kickable - especially for a guy who is in the team for his goal kicking abilities.
I would back Pav over Thornton kicking the winning goal any day of the week.
Pavlich should have stood up and taken the responsibility for winning the game. Succeed or fail, people would have respected Pav for taking the burden regardless. Instead he dished off to a guy who is not a noted goal kicker, and now that guy has got the club Chairman linking his miss with the departure of the coach.
Gutless Pav.
ImperialPurple
20 Jul 2007, 17:06
Something about arguing with idiots comes to mind.:rolleyes:
Yep
He was 55 out. It was kickable - especially for a guy who is in the team for his goal kicking abilities.
Pavlich should have stood up and taken the responsibility for winning the game. Succeed or fail, people would have respected Pav for taking the burden regardless. Instead he dished off to a guy who is not a noted goal kicker, and now that guy has got the club Chairman linking his miss with the departure of the coach.
Gutless Pav.
:rolleyes:
malpaso
20 Jul 2007, 17:12
This is why Hart needs a muzzle. All the other coaches and players and commentators don't fall for the let's blame one mans shot on goal. Our idiot chairman of the board just can't help himself. What are his credentials footy wise? I reckon the first thing the club should be changing and Harvey should be demanding is that Hart does not speak to the media without someone present to stop him saying something stupid!
I DO NOT BLAME SCOTTY THORTON! NEVER WILL, there are 22 players out there and there was numerous things that people did or not that could have won that game for us.
cheersandbeers 332docker
I dont think he's blaming Thornton, just saying that CC probably would not have wilted to the pressure and resigned this week had we won the game. The same thing could have been said about Macca's free kick.
In reality yes, but Thornton is going to feel it more than anyone else. Put yourself in his shoes.
Sure, pav and co. will feel bad, but Thornton will feel far worse
malpaso
20 Jul 2007, 17:15
Gutless Pav.
And he could have easily not made the distance and he was on a worse angle.. He did the right thing, increased the odds of a goal. Scotty's kick was not bad, it just stayed right :) Get over it.
Keyser Soze
20 Jul 2007, 17:18
Pav had a choice - go for the glory and take a shot from outside 50 or do the team thing and pass off to an unmarked teammate inside 50 on a reasonable angle.
Given the rumours doing the rounds of a rift between CC and Pav imagine the fallout if Pav ignored Thornton, took the shot and missed, thereby effectively ending CC's career.
sabre_ac
20 Jul 2007, 19:21
What a joke really...
Macca's free kick was far more serious...But the fact remain's we should never have been in that position in the first place.
Any mention of Thornton been made a scapegoat is utter rubbish.
How is it Pav's fault for passing the ball? :confused: It was a clever pass in the end. If you watch the tape, you can almost see his mind ticking over. It's not his fault that Thornton missed. Watch the tape again, and have a look at the angle Thornton runs in at. The ball travels on this line EXACTLY. Happens in every game of footy, of course, but not usually to such great cost.:eek:
I was saying before the match that winning was only going to delay the inevitable for a week or two. Even if we had won, finals were still a long way off. Let's just be glad that what's happened has happened, and now Harvey has 7 weeks to prove his credentials.
You've got to feel for Scotty though. After the game when CC was addressing the team on the ground, he was just standing there looking totally deflated. I think it was Daniel Motlop who missed a similar shot last season to lose a game. Some players (like JLo and Farmer) are cut out for last minute heroics, and some just aren't.
sumavich
20 Jul 2007, 19:39
In reality yes, but Thornton is going to feel it more than anyone else. Put yourself in his shoes.
Sure, pav and co. will feel bad, but Thornton will feel far worse
Will you for Godddsssake stop changing your Club Moniker ???
??? When did i change it? It became nothing somehow by itself.... and i put it back to port adelaidE?
Any mention of Thornton been made a scapegoat is utter rubbish.
Nobody is saying he should be made a scapegoat/will be made one.
But he must feel TERRIBLE.
spring6
20 Jul 2007, 20:58
Yep. Agreed.
No shit!!!
What was your point again??
sumavich
20 Jul 2007, 21:57
Do you suffer from schizophrenia ???
docker_azza
20 Jul 2007, 22:01
Let's be realistic here without even considering who said it. Is the comment correct??
Hell I have heard at least 20 people in and around Fremantle say the exact same thing over the last 2 days. It's not a dig at Scotty, it is simply stating the truth.
Is the comment correct? Yes.
Is it the comment Hart should have said in front of the media? No.
Theres a big difference between comment being correct and whether it should be said in front of the media by a club president.
Whether the comment was correct or not is irrelevant, Hart should have kept his trap shut.
Connolly and Thronton are compelled to feel much worse than they should when comments are made like that.:thumbsd:
Is the comment correct? Yes.
Is it the comment Hart should have said in front of the media? No.
Theres a big difference between comment being correct and whether it should be said in front of the media by a club president.
Whether the comment was correct or not is irrelevant, Hart should have kept his trap shut.
Connolly and Thronton are compelled to feel much worse than they should when comments are made like that.:thumbsd:
In what context are you taking it azza??
That he was blaming Scotty??
Or that he was simply telling the truth??
Dr Ralph Dagg
20 Jul 2007, 22:18
This whole thread is as dead as dodo if Hart has been misquoted which I'm pretty sure he has. This is a very unlikely scenario. I don't know why you would think The Worst is any better then the Advertiser.
If it came down to one moment I'd opt for Brendon Lade's 60m goal in the third quarter of the game against Port. You could see the Gods were agin' us.
Dr Ralph Dagg
20 Jul 2007, 22:20
He's not sure. He'll just ask his friend sitting right next to him.
Dr Ralph Dagg
20 Jul 2007, 22:31
Hart will take any oppotunity to get his mug on tv, or his voice on radio. His qualifications seem to be 1) ego 2) sold a few fridges
So in comparison, he's a few fridges ahead of you then.
I suspect there might be a couple of million in there as well but don't let that trouble you.
I want to know whether your mother once worked for a guy called Pavlov -- over in the US. Fair dinkum, we ring the bell and off you go.
I can just imagine a dinner party. One friend leans to another, nods your way and says watch this. He says "Rick Hart" and off you go into a frenzied lather sqawking your head off. You calm down and then 5 minutes later they say the same words and you react exactly the same way with your little bits of spittle flying across the table. When they set you off a third time, one of them is laughing so hard he chokes on his pork and apricot. Your tirade gets interrupted by the dire need to do the Heimlich maneuver on one of your protaganists.
So in comparison, he's a few fridges ahead of you then.
I suspect there might be a couple of million in there as well but don't let that trouble you.
I want to know whether your mother once worked for a guy called Pavlov -- over in the US. Fair dinkum, we ring the bell and off you go.
I can just imagine a dinner party. One friend leans to another, nods your way and says watch this. He says "Rick Hart" and off you go into a frenzied lather sqawking your head off. You calm down and then 5 minutes later they say the same words and you react exactly the same way with your little bits of spittle flying across the table. When they set you off a third time, one of them is laughing so hard he chokes on his pork and apricot. Your tirade gets interrupted by the dire need to do the Heimlich maneuver on one of your protaganists.
Stop it Doc.
I am getting a stitch!:D:p
docker_azza
20 Jul 2007, 22:47
In what context are you taking it azza??
That he was blaming Scotty??
Or that he was simply telling the truth??
The problem is, a lot of people will take it out of context and Hart has nobody to blame but himself.
The comment should have been saved for the dinner table and kept well away from any media.
If someone not working at the club had said that, there wouldn't have been a problem.
What are you talking about? That's the second time! explain?