View Full Version : Best Man for the job
Bateman
20 Jul 2007, 14:31
I couldn't believe it when the Worst said this morning that Sumich wouldn't be considered for the job because he is from Wet Toast.
I have absolutely no love for the eagles but surely we must consider all options.If some of the directors can't see this then they should not be on the board and certainly not involved in the selection process.
After 13 years of riding the rollercoaster I don't care where the new coach comes from as long as he can make us into genuine premiership contenders instead of pretenders!
Get your head out of the sand and consider all available.
I'm sick of being a laughing stock!
Honest question Fremantle supporters - do you not want Sumich because he's from WC or because you don't think he is the best man for the job?
If Woosha was available, would you want him? Or is he too "West Coast"?
ImperialPurple
20 Jul 2007, 14:48
Honest question Fremantle supporters -
Q1: do you not want Sumich because:
A: he's from WC or
B: because you don't think he is the best man for the job?
Q2: If Woosha was available, would you want him? Or is he too "West Coast"?
Q1: B (and a little bit of A... well OK a lot of A)
Q2: Yes. And probably but at least he is proven.
Whoosh has proven himself.
When WC themselves (Woosh & Micale) start putting up Suma's name for us alarm bells start ringing for me.
Yeah, to be honest, I'm glad Sumich is just our assistant, wouldn't want him to have the main job. Would probably choose Micale before him.
ImperialPurple
20 Jul 2007, 14:54
I'd certainly look at Tony Micale.
theGav56
20 Jul 2007, 15:41
If Sumich had gone to a different club as an assistant he would have improved his possibility of being considered, but as it stands his footy culture is drawn from too narrow a band.
Honest question Fremantle supporters - do you not want Sumich because he's from WC or because you don't think he is the best man for the job?
We interviewed Worsfold when we interviewed Connolly.
The problem here isn't Freo, it's the media making statements that aren't backed up with reliable sources. A complete joke of an argument and article, as with Ray Wilson's 'prophecy' on Farmer.
It doesn't matter, but Sumich certainly isn't the person for the job in my opinion.
sumavich
20 Jul 2007, 16:01
We interviewed Worsfold when we interviewed Connolly.
The problem here isn't Freo, it's the media making statements that aren't backed up with reliable sources. A complete joke of an argument and article, as with Ray Wilson's 'prophecy' on Farmer.
It doesn't matter, but Sumich certainly isn't the person for the job in my opinion.
I'm with Hoogs !!
dockertor
20 Jul 2007, 16:09
I would look a Micale no problem but sumich no way.
wizard_9
20 Jul 2007, 17:14
My issue with Sumich is he isn't a good communicator, we can see that by the fact he cant speak the language properly. The whole WCE thing ha sno bearing for me, in fact i think the club should look at him if he is a worthy candidate.
Captain Pump
20 Jul 2007, 17:20
I think the media is running their own little campaign here. Heard Sattler yesterday say pretty much that "Freo are losers" for not wanting Sumich. To the best of my knowledge the only people pushing Sumich are the media.
There are a couple of reasons why I don't think Sumich should coach Fremantle next year.
1) I don't want any assistant who has only coached at the team he played at, regardless of who it is or which team. That is the reason that Harvey left Essendon, he knows that playing/coaching the one team makes you less attractive as a senior coach. Worsfold was the same.
2) I don't think Freo need another rookie AFL coach. We have been down that road too many times, with no success.
If no senior coaches were an option I would definitely consider Micale. Even Guy McKenna (although I know next to nothing about his coaching) or Don Pyke. Who gives a rat's who they played for, it is their coaching that matters.
The important thing is getting the right man for the job. The media are creating a nice little rock/hard place scenario very very well. The rock is that they are screaming for Freo to keep the WA/Freo connection and not get someone from over east. The hard place is that the only candidates they like are from WCE. So if Freo dont get a WCE they are ignoring their heritage. Which makes no sense.
Luckily the media don't chose coaches, they only get them sacked.
scorpion2466
20 Jul 2007, 17:25
I reckon Neale Daniher would be a good fit for Freo. Straight swap with Chris Connolly going to Melbourne.
wizard_9
20 Jul 2007, 17:29
I reckon Neale Daniher would be a good fit for Freo. Straight swap with Chris Connolly going to Melbourne.
I'm so ****ing sick of hearing that.
ImperialPurple
20 Jul 2007, 17:33
I'm so ****ing sick of hearing that.
Me too. No to Daniher. Seriously...
legsakimbo03
20 Jul 2007, 17:49
I couldn't believe it when the Worst said this morning that Sumich wouldn't be considered for the job because he is from Wet Toast.
I have absolutely no love for the eagles but surely we must consider all options.If some of the directors can't see this then they should not be on the board and certainly not involved in the selection process.
After 13 years of riding the rollercoaster I don't care where the new coach comes from as long as he can make us into genuine premiership contenders instead of pretenders!
Who is the so-called Dockers Official quoted in the paper? No named sources - poor journalism IMO. This is just a beat up story by a second...no make that third rate newspaper with arseclown sports editors:thumbsd:
BTW - It's not because he is an E-girl that we don't want Sumich, it is because there are much better candidates than him.
sabre_ac
20 Jul 2007, 19:15
West Coast factor troubles me....
But what really bother's me is he doesn't have a prescence (Unlike Conolly) and doesn't seem tough enough (Like Conolly).
Not interested.
Scotland
20 Jul 2007, 19:30
But what really bother's me is he doesn't have a prescence (Unlike Conolly) and doesn't seem tough enough (Like Conolly).
Not interested.
Frodo tossed up Ken Judge...?
He has a 'presence'. Well he works in the media, he just has no charisma.
He isn't warm and cuddly like Connolly.
You won't find many WC folk who consider him 'ours'.
If you look past the fact he is totally inept, he's the man for the job.:thumbsu:
Freo should get John Dimmer to do the job. He's not soft.
[quote=legsakimbo03;8169005]Who is the so-called Dockers Official quoted in the paper? No named sources - poor journalism IMO. This is just a beat up story by a second...no make that third rate newspaper with arseclown sports editors:thumbsd:
I wonder if the Docker's Official has spoken with the West Coast Officials who believe Peter Sumich is exactly what is needed at Fremantle.
This excuse for journalism raised quite a few giggles in my office, regardless of team allegiances
spring6
20 Jul 2007, 20:54
Really no.
Will be a bit sad if this happens, nice guy and all but no.
docker_azza
20 Jul 2007, 22:06
Frodo tossed up Ken Judge...?
He has a 'presence'. Well he works in the media, he just has no charisma.
He isn't warm and cuddly like Connolly.
You won't find many WC folk who consider him 'ours'.
If you look past the fact he is totally inept, he's the man for the job.:thumbsu:
Judge sucks.
And anything by Fraudo on the AFL board cannot be taken seriously.
dominguez
20 Jul 2007, 22:25
If someone on the board is leaking information to Digby Beacham we have huge problems.
freocynic
20 Jul 2007, 23:00
Who is the so-called Dockers Official quoted in the paper? No named sources - poor journalism IMO. This is just a beat up story by a second...no make that third rate newspaper with arseclown sports editors:thumbsd:
BTW - It's not because he is an E-girl that we don't want Sumich, it is because there are much better candidates than him.
Hahahaha....that made me laugh. Its funny coz its true
EVERYTHING that gutter rag has to say is divise towards the FFC. I don't particularly want Sumich for the job, but if I was on the board I would be keeping my options open. I believe the guys on the board are doing that. Why rule out anyone this early???
It may well turn out that he is the best candidate and we hire him (in which case It'll look like we did a huge back flip)
Or if we don't hire him in favour of a Victorian or an untried coach they will slam us for NOT hiring there boy 'Suma'.
Please Rupert Murdoch start a rival newspaper here!
How about Judge for the main job with Damina Drum, Jeff Gieschen and Wayne Brittain as assistants?
You could do worse.
Actually, on second thoughts ...
chook2734
21 Jul 2007, 15:57
brad hardly has been whining and moaning about Schwab installing his friend in the coaching job at Freo, yet there doesn't seem to be any problem in him pushing for his mates to either get the job, or be involved in the selection of the coach.
Schwab apparently has his own agenda, yet no one else does? If the people outside of Freo want us to take them seriously they need to get off their high horses and see that they are just as incestuous as everyone else.
brad hardly has been whining and moaning about Schwab installing his friend in the coaching job at Freo, yet there doesn't seem to be any problem in him pushing for his mates to either get the job, or be involved in the selection of the coach.
Schwab apparently has his own agenda, yet no one else does? If the people outside of Freo want us to take them seriously they need to get off their high horses and see that they are just as incestuous as everyone else.
Has Hardy said anything about Schwabby asking CC to consider his position after the North Game??? No? Funny that.
NiGHTFuRY
21 Jul 2007, 19:22
The don't ask for a coach who would suck
NiGHTFuRY
21 Jul 2007, 19:23
Umm..... no
have him at Carlton
ImperialPurple
21 Jul 2007, 19:24
The don't ask for a coach who would suck
ROFL... :D
Umm..... no
have him at Carlton
You said it. Say no to Daniher. Nooooooooooooo....... :thumbsd:
dugrene
21 Jul 2007, 19:26
The King is dead.
Long live the King.
Early days but We might just already have him.
malpaso
21 Jul 2007, 19:50
Not interested.
Totally agree. He seems to just be riding the fact that he's a freo boy and he's part of a premiership coaching panel.
I don't see what he's done to prove he's any better than other candidates.
Harvey will win the job, I've no doubt.
dominguez
21 Jul 2007, 20:51
What's with your signature Ripper? Are you disappointed that Connolly stepped aside?