F Hogan N. Ablett West
R King Tenace Djerrkura
Int (from): Barnes Foss Urie
Hollmer Firman Lovick
Cheep Clarke

Ladder positions
2nd - Geelong 13 9 4 0 1 0 1468 1053 139.41 36
6th - Port Melbourne 13 6 6 1 1 0 1270 1233 103.00 26

Match preview from GFC website - Five in line to return (http://www.gfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/3933/Default.aspx?newsId=47562)

Discuss...

thegerman
20 Jul 2007, 16:49
Cats should be too classy, although Port have some good players. Would like to see Nath really step up a gear and kick a few.

Same goes for Gamble, would really like to see him take the game on and just take off like he did at the end of last year.

Is anyone going to this ??? Can we have updates ??? Bit hard to see what is going on from Canberra.

CatmanForever
20 Jul 2007, 16:58
you can keep up with scores here:

http://www.sportingpulse.com/comp_info.cgi?a=ROUND&round=15&client=1-3020-0-52851-0&pool=-1

at the end of the game they usually post a match summary as well

But thanks to our die hard Cats fans who attend the VFL games and report back to us we greatly appreciate it.

jess_555
22 Jul 2007, 12:47
-Bump-

I'll be going to this match... by myself :( Couldn't drag any friends to go with (thanks a lot Shell :mad:) hehe
Should be a good match!
Go Geelong!!

PS: Can't wait to see Spriggsy after all these years. :thumbsu:

Metallica_Man
22 Jul 2007, 12:55
Anyone know if its on radio?

re cat
22 Jul 2007, 13:20
Not on 1611, unfortunately.

Ricardo
22 Jul 2007, 13:25
I would've gone but the Pre-season Melbourne Victory match is on down here at 2pm.

Why couldn't they schedule a Geelong match for next weekend, of all weekends we have to have a bye (?) when Geelong goes to Perth.

MightyFighting
22 Jul 2007, 13:32
Anyone know if its on radio?97.7 fm

http://202.130.204.44/3serlive.asx

re cat
22 Jul 2007, 14:04
97.7 fm

http://202.130.204.44/3serlive.asx

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:;)

chapmanmagic35
22 Jul 2007, 15:05
The link for Casey Radio isn't giving me any football...anyone in the same boat?

MightyFighting
22 Jul 2007, 15:08
The link for Casey Radio isn't giving me any football...anyone in the same boat?I'm getting football right now.

Ramsay Bogunovich
22 Jul 2007, 15:11
The link for Casey Radio isn't giving me any football...anyone in the same boat?

It came through alright for me - Geel 1.1 Port 0.2 early in first

chapmanmagic35
22 Jul 2007, 15:11
I'm getting football right now.

Am too now :p

Cheers :)

re cat
22 Jul 2007, 15:32
Can we have some score updates. Won't work for me for more than a minute, maybe cause dialup or says something about a firewall which I don't understand.

Ramsay Bogunovich
22 Jul 2007, 15:33
1/4 time: Geel 4.2.26 Port 3.4.22
1/2 time: Geel 10.3.63 Port 5.7.37

Stripey PJs
22 Jul 2007, 16:50
Can we have some score updates.
Just caught a quick update before darting off again, Re Cat.
Cats = 15.3.93
Port = 7.7.49

Davenport's snared 6, the only multiple goalkicker.

re cat
22 Jul 2007, 17:11
Thanks.

CatmanForever
22 Jul 2007, 17:18
2007 TRUenergy VFL Seniors
Port Melbourne 3.4 5.7 8.7 .
Geelong 4.2 10.3 17.5 .

cats2rise
22 Jul 2007, 17:20
I doubt we will lose this one like last week... :)

re cat
22 Jul 2007, 17:35
can we have some details of who is playing because can't get the link.

benny's buddy
22 Jul 2007, 17:36
Davenport's snared 6, the only multiple goalkicker.

My Lord that boy's a star.

Stokes-Selwood-Prismall
22 Jul 2007, 17:38
i hope davenport gets a gig this year for the seniors.. 8 goals as a mid is ridiculously good

cat_fanatic_21
22 Jul 2007, 17:40
Stats:

Davenport: 8 goals, 27 possessions

Lonergan, Ablett: 2 goals

Grima: 16 kicks, 9 marks

Tim Callan 39 possessions, 9 marks

West: 12 Hit Outs

King: 42 Hit Outs

Tudor mentioned he was very happy with Steven Kings game

crosby123
22 Jul 2007, 17:42
Final score:

Geelong: 23 - 11 - 149

Davenport: 8 goals

8 goals! From a midfielder! That's astonishing. Am wishing he wasn't a rookie.

Ricardo
22 Jul 2007, 17:49
What accuracy in the first 3 quarters!

How many has Davenport kicked for the year? Cause that 8 seems out of the blue.

cat_fanatic_21
22 Jul 2007, 17:56
What accuracy in the first 3 quarters!

How many has Davenport kicked for the year? Cause that 8 seems out of the blue.

He has played predominately as a midfield throughout the year whereas today he spent more time in the forward line.

JUBJUB
22 Jul 2007, 17:59
What was the bloody score ?

:confused:

YOTC
22 Jul 2007, 18:06
What was the bloody score ?

:confused:

149 - 64

CatmanForever
22 Jul 2007, 18:17
2007 TRUenergy VFL Seniors
Port Melbourne 3.4 5.7 8.7 9.10 (64)
Geelong 4.2 10.3 17.5 23.11 (149)

GOALS:
Port Melbourne: Cotchett 2 Fanning 2 Nahas McMahon Livingston Langford Carroll
Geelong: Davenport 8 Foss 3 Firman 2 Lonergan 2 Ablett 2 Byrne Hogan Gardiner Grima Varcoe Clarke

BEST:
Port Melbourne: Livingston Baird Cotchett Spriggs Hazell Fanning
Geelong: Davenport King Playfair Varcoe Callan Owen

REPORTED PLAYERS:
Port Melbourne: nil
Geelong: nil

winty
22 Jul 2007, 18:21
Anyone know how Varcoe and Djerrkura played?

Ricardo
22 Jul 2007, 18:25
Varcoe in the best is good to see, as is King.

finrod
22 Jul 2007, 19:00
Stats:

Davenport: 8 goals, 27 possessions

Grima: 16 kicks, 9 marks

Tim Callan 39 possessions, 9 marks

West: 12 Hit Outs

King: 42 Hit Outs

Tudor mentioned he was very happy with Steven Kings game

:eek: Some top performances there!! No wonder our seniors are playing so well! They all know that their spots are on the line.
Can somebody tell me how many rookies you are allowed to upgrade at the end of the year? Because at the moment we would want to upgrade both Grima and Davenport, and maybe even Lonergan...

Does anyone know Varcoe's stats? Was he getting more of the ball than in the seniors? Also what position was he playing?
Poor Timmy Callan - the forgotten man again!! If he doesn't get traded to another club at the end of the year it would be a great injustice to him.

Rosella
22 Jul 2007, 19:03
:eek: Some top performances there!! Can somebody tell me how many rookies you are allowed to upgrade at the end of the year? Because at the moment we would want to upgrade both Grima and Davenport, and maybe even Lonergan...

Does anyone know Varcoe's stats? Was he getting more of the ball than in the seniors? Also what position was he playing?

I imagine you could upgrade all of them if you make space on the list. You have to change 3 anyway, so that would make 6 - may not be a bad idea - next year's draft isn't as good and we won't get a decent pick anyway.

Should think they have to decide on Grima (2 years a rookie) and Lonergan (over the age limit?).

foxdoog50
22 Jul 2007, 19:09
Poor Timmy Callan - the forgotten man again!! If he doesn't get traded to another club at the end of the year it would be a great injustice to him.[/quote]

here here i totally agree with u there, just a bugger he cant get game, bein a fan of him, but just to hard for him to get a game

smelly cat
22 Jul 2007, 21:48
Davenport kicked 8 goals?? WTF? I know he is inconsistent and often can't his the side of a barn, but crap, noone scores 8 goals in the VFL without at least a smidgeon of talent. I always thought of him as purely a VFL player, but maybe we'll have to start taking him seriously...

Port Melb: 9-10-64
Geelong: 23-11-149

Port Melbourne
Goal Kickers: D. Fanning 2, L. Cotchett 2, M. Carroll, R. Nahas, T. Langford, L. Livingston, R. McMahon
Best Players: L. Livingston, J. Baird, L. Cotchett, D. Spriggs, T. Hazell, D. Fanning
Goal Kickers: J. Davenport 8, H. Foss 3, M. Firman 2, N. Ablett 2, T. Lonergan 2, J. Byrne, C. Gardiner, S. Clarke, S. Hogan, T. Grima, T. Varcoe
Best Players: J. Davenport, S. King, H. Playfair, T. Varcoe, T. Callan, S. Owen

Metallica_Man
22 Jul 2007, 21:58
King and Varcoe in the best, interesting
Also good to see Ablett kick a couple
Davenport though :eek:
He will be a star

Tristagi
22 Jul 2007, 21:59
Port Melbourne
Goal Kickers: D. Fanning 2, L. Cotchett 2, M. Carroll, R. Nahas, T. Langford, L. Livingston, R. McMahon
Best Players: L. Livingston, J. Baird, L. Cotchett, D. Spriggs, T. Hazell, D. Fanning
Goal Kickers: J. Davenport 8, H. Foss 3, M. Firman 2, N. Ablett 2, T. Lonergan 2, J. Byrne, C. Gardiner, S. Clarke, S. Hogan, T. Grima, T. Varcoe
Best Players: J. Davenport, S. King, H. Playfair, T. Varcoe, T. Callan, S. Owen[/quote]

some good signs too, Nathan Ablett is obviously fit again and Varcoe gets in the best.. I think Nate will be brought back in to go west and Varcoe might as well

finrod
22 Jul 2007, 22:07
some good signs too, Nathan Ablett is obviously fit again and Varcoe gets in the best.. I think Nate will be brought back in to go west and Varcoe might as well

Please don't bring Varcoe back after one game in the 2s!! It will take a bit more consistency to convince me...

JUBJUB
22 Jul 2007, 22:10
Davenport kicked 8 goals?? WTF? I know he is inconsistent and often can't his the side of a barn, but crap, noone scores 8 goals in the VFL without at least a smidgeon of talent. I always thought of him as purely a VFL player, but maybe we'll have to start taking him seriously...

Port Melb: 9-10-64
Geelong: 23-11-149

Port Melbourne
Best Players: J. Davenport, S. King, H. Playfair, T. Varcoe, T. Callan, S. Owen

FFS,open your bloody eyes (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=350341)
:rolleyes:

Partridge
22 Jul 2007, 22:40
Please don't bring Varcoe back after one game in the 2s!! It will take a bit more consistency to convince me...

I'd be amazed if they did. Personally I thought Byrnes was pretty solid on Friday night. He certainly got a lot more of it than Varcoe was so I can't see them dropping him.

Tonycam*
22 Jul 2007, 22:43
I'd be amazed if they did. Personally I thought Byrnes was pretty solid on Friday night. He certainly got a lot more of it than Varcoe was so I can't see them dropping him.
Think they might leave Byrnes in for the big ground this week. what with Wocjinski likely being rested . what do you think

Just do something
22 Jul 2007, 22:46
Think they might leave Byrnes in for the big ground this week. what with Wocjinski likely being rested . what do you think

Owen name keeps poping up in the best any chance???

jess_555
22 Jul 2007, 22:48
Pretty good game by the VFL catters today. Our pressure around the ground was great, our midfield was flowing well and our backline was steady. I know we won by heaps but our forwards can definitely improve before finals time. I thought we struggled taking clean marks inside 50... particularly players with the last names of Ablett, Grima and GARDINER. In the first half Port Melbourne were still very much in the game, they provided pressure and as soon as there was a turnover they would rebound fast. The 2nd half we blitzed and Port just dropped off.

I didn't see the chant man today unless he was down the other end of the ground. There was some other guy filling in doing the usual "Nathan Nathan Nathan Oi Oi Oi!"

Davvers -Kicked a whopping 8 goals!!!!!! He was on fire! He is so quick, you see him get a mark and kick it on and then the next kick will go to him again and he would be right down the ground... unless there were to Davvers out there. hehe

N Ablett -I think he struggled today. He wasn't leading fast enough, and was trying to mark from behind. Tried to get more into it in the second half chasing players and scored 2 goals in the end. I don't think I'd play him in the seniors this coming week but maybe Tommahawk needs a rest(?).

Varcoe -Trav is a gun. Chasing players down when they least expect it. He was fantastic today. He deserves a spot in the seniors this week. Out: Byrnes (sorry Eliza) IN: Varcoe.

Kingy -In the 'bests' once again but to me he looked... what do you call it... old. His tap outs, more like slap outs were great but around the ground he was slow and looked tired when getting up from the ground. Hmmm tough call whether to put him in to replace Blakey or not.

Ryan 'Vegas' Gamble -would have loved to see more of him today. His heart and mind were there but his body held him back. Obviously suffering still from injury (ankle/calf?) he was limping badly. He shouldn't have played but he did what he could and even went up for a few high flyers.

Turbo Tenace - I'm not sure if it's just me but I thought Tenace had a shocker. His kicking was all over the place! Will not be in the seniors this week.

Gardiner - you've gotta love him don't ya... :( hehe He tried hard but dropped 10 million marks. I was a bit disappointed with him (that might be a bit harsh).

~~~Seeing Spriggsy again was exciting, even though he was playing for the other team! :) He did very well.

jess_555
22 Jul 2007, 22:53
Owen name keeps poping up in the best any chance???

Not just yet. He needs more time to develop. I think with the intense speed and toughness of the AFL he would struggle. Give him a year or 2 and he will be as good as gold. There are other players in line before him anyway.

chapmanmagic35
22 Jul 2007, 22:55
Good reports everyone :thumbsu:

Thumping win - good to get back on the winners list after losing to Casey last week.

Metallica_Man
22 Jul 2007, 23:00
Thanks for the reports everyone
How did Djerrkura go?

finrod
22 Jul 2007, 23:27
Varcoe -Trav is a gun. Chasing players down when they least expect it. He was fantastic today. He deserves a spot in the seniors this week. Out: Byrnes (sorry Eliza) IN: Varcoe.

FFS, when are you people going to drop your hard-on for Varcoe!?! He was far from anything special in his last few weeks of AFL, and needs to have more than 1 good game in the 2s to prove himself! Byrnes did nothing wrong.

YOTC
22 Jul 2007, 23:29
FFS, when are you people going to drop your hard-on for Varcoe!?!

When he doesn't have the most tackles in the forward 50 for the league.

Stripey PJs
23 Jul 2007, 04:11
~Seeing Spriggsy again was exciting, even though he was playing for the other team! :)
I heard a few minutes online, the squeeeeals of delight carried over the effects mics.

Top review, Jess, you've covered the areas of immediate interest to me. Thanks. Did you notice whether Trav's confidence had lifted? I'm glad he still chased hard, but did he actively seek the ball or was his work mainly defensive?

FFS, when are you people going to drop your hard-on for Varcoe!?!
I think she'd find that anatomically troublesome.

chapmanmagic35
23 Jul 2007, 07:57
FFS, when are you people going to drop your hard-on for Varcoe!?! He was far from anything special in his last few weeks of AFL, and needs to have more than 1 good game in the 2s to prove himself! Byrnes did nothing wrong.

Varcoe brings more to the team than Byrnes. Not necessarily saying that Varcoe will play this week (even though I believe he is a best twenty-two player and I hope like hell he is there finals time), but I am still scratching my head as to why they brought in Byrnes.

A proven non-finisher, ineffective and hardly in our best side. Harsh but true.

DanA
23 Jul 2007, 08:45
Varcoe brings more to the team than Byrnes. Not necessarily saying that Varcoe will play this week (even though I believe he is a best twenty-two player and I hope like hell he is there finals time), but I am still scratching my head as to why they brought in Byrnes.

A proven non-finisher, ineffective and hardly in our best side. Harsh but true.

I am guessing Byrnes is on his last chance. If he doesn't perform he will be traded/delisted at years end.

With Wojak injured and Tenace having a dog of a day could Callan finally get a run for the Cats. Certainly been in red hot form.

HenryP
23 Jul 2007, 15:53
Thanks for the reports everyone
How did Djerrkura go?

didn't play......

injured his quad again at training apparently.

year of the cat
23 Jul 2007, 19:01
Went down there with my daughter and caught most of the last half of the match until she cracked it and we went home.

For what its worth my observations were:

1. I reckon we have a lot of players that are if you like too good for VFL but not quite up to it to make an impact at AFL level. In that category I would include Playfair, Gardiner, Davenport, and at this stage Grima and Tenace. Grima to me looks like he may lack a yard but perhaps it was the heavy conditions that made it look that way.

2. Tenace was obviously trying to improve the defensive side of his game but didn't get much of the footy from what I saw.

3. Byrne, the skipper, if he had more leg speed would be an absolute gun. Reads the play well and is a real general out there. Would have been a very good player back in the 70's.

4. Nathan Ablett looked classy out there but lacked intensity in my opinion. Hope he isn't going back into his shell.

Budda 230
24 Jul 2007, 17:26
I was playing senior footy against Jason Davenport only 2 years ago. Although he was a reasonable country footballer, he never really showed signs of such improvement! He played in a team that got thumped by 150 points each week!

I really didn't want Geelong to draft him (mainly due to nasty rumours and what I felt was overrated form), but I'm glad to say I've been proven wrong. If he keeps up this sort of form, rookie promotion with Grima is certain.

catattack
24 Jul 2007, 18:05
Davenport stars as Cats power home (http://www.gfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/3933/Default.aspx?newsId=47800) from the GFC site.

finrod
24 Jul 2007, 18:48
"Nathan Djerrkura was a late withdrawal and will be sidelined for a month after he injured his quad at training on Thursday."

:(:mad:

Disappointing. I was thinking he would be the breakthrough rookie this year, rather than Selwood, but it hasn't turned out that way. Doubt we'll see him play seniors in 2007, but hopefully he'll string a few games together in 2008.

DanA
26 Jul 2007, 09:08
What's with Geelong getting all these quad injuries? I think we have had 3 or 4 in the reserves get them. Pretty unusual injury to get.