View Full Version : Bays hold on over Port
eastaugh36
4th May 2002, 19:33
My heart was in my mouth. But unlike last year when we should have won, we held on. We had Kane Cornes out too.Who did you think was our best, uncle steve ? I thought Sudjai Cook did well and Handby was strong overhead. Byrnesy as usual and Mckenzie was solid. Kelvin Maher too. The frustrating thing about having such a young team is the inconsistency but I am proud of todays effort.
Anyway well done bays and up yours Richard Williams !!!!!
Macca19
4th May 2002, 19:46
Originally posted by eastaugh36
Anyway well done bays and up yours Richard Williams !!!!!
:confused: :confused:
What has a self confessed Port hater and cheating umpire have to do with anything?
eastaugh36
4th May 2002, 19:50
Originally posted by Macca19
:confused: :confused:
What has a self confessed Port hater and cheating umpire have to do with anything?
Glenelg Hater more like it, he cost us in the corresponding game last year.
Ten years or so ago I heard he took graham cornes to court for suggesting his umpiring bias against Glenelg in a final against Norwood
ThePowerFromPort.com
4th May 2002, 19:51
Well I guess there's more than one team he hates!
RoosterWedgie
4th May 2002, 20:34
Impressive effort by the bays to beat the umpires and Port, unfortunately we could only beat Port and not the umpires a few weeks back.
Match of the round next week: North v Glenelg!
:p
dreamkillers
4th May 2002, 21:01
Well done to the Bays........
Has Uncle Steve left the bar yet.........:D
Well done to Glenelg. The win was much needed by them.
Without taking anything away from Glenelg - but this was the worst Port side (on paper) that I can ever remember. Mark Wade rucking and no one capable of taking a mark in a pack in the forward lines.
Consider:
Tessman, Ilett and Lokan first year players.
Rhino's replacement (who I have not seen play) a first gamer.
Phiilpou, Wade, Ashley and McGuinness with all respect will not win us a flag.
I have doubts over Green and Holmes as well.
Harwood should be in the 2's.
Sure O'Connor, Bamford, Wait, Ackland, Steed and possibly Beinke will make a difference but I feel we need to find a key forward urgently.
I think we are in big trouble for 2002 !
Port spirit required now.
eastaugh36
4th May 2002, 21:14
Originally posted by Nod
Without taking anything away from Glenelg - but this was the worst Port side (on paper) that I can ever remember. Mark Wade rucking and no one capable of taking a mark in a pack in the forward lines.
Consider:
Sure O'Connor, Bamford, Wait, Ackland, Steed and possibly Beinke will make a difference but I feel we need to find a key forward urgently.
I predicted Port for 5th I think, thought I had got it wrong when they won a couple early but now I feel they might not be the power they once were and my prediction may be true.
Uncle Steve
4th May 2002, 22:59
Originally posted by eastaugh36
My heart was in my mouth. But unlike last year when we should have won, we held on. We had Kane Cornes out too.Who did you think was our best, uncle steve ? I thought Sudjai Cook did well and Handby was strong overhead. Byrnesy as usual and Mckenzie was solid. Kelvin Maher too. The frustrating thing about having such a young team is the inconsistency but I am proud of todays effort.
I thought Cooky was quiet, by his standards.
My best: Handby, Willett, Maher, McKenzie.
In the club, best were (from 5th to 1st) Koster, Byrne, Irvin, McKenzie, Shir. Winstanley got the coaches gong. I can't agree with Irvin or Shir - but that's just my opinion.
Really though, it was an "all played well" effort. Every player was prepared to make a contest. After last week's non-effort it was refreshing to see the boys have a dip like they did today. Backing each other, roving the packs, getting into the contests and doing the one percenters. Even if they'd gone down I'd be happy, 'coz they played like a football team should play.
How was Kelvo's "soccer" goal in the third quarter? Sheer class... Forget Arsenal and Chelsea, thay haven't got a patch on our Kelvin Maher!
It is about 9 months since the Bays last had a win (v Norwood). They needed that one like a bloke dying in the desert needs a glass of water.
Good also to see the junior grades both win at Alby. Neither has had a loss yet. Sadly though Jonny Symonds' reserves got a pants-down caning, belted by a good 11-12 goals. Simon Hele and Martin Mellody both came back in the reserves this week - this will aid the Bays' depth no end.
For Port - Carter played well - whenever I bagged him, he did something special. I stopped bagging him quickly. Warrior was good. McGuinness managed a few crucial touches. He's a real nuisance - a very average player, but the one player in the SANFL who you'd always back to kick a jaggy goal when his team needs it. On the whole Port looked underdone. I hope the Tigers don't get too carried away with the win, because the opposition was ordinary - no offense intended, Port fans... Port was very flat today.
Finally....
<ahem>
GO YOU BAYS!
<cough><cough>
Uncle Steve
4th May 2002, 23:02
Originally posted by dreamkillers
Has Uncle Steve left the bar yet.........:D
Left the club after the speeches at 7:30ish. Went for a noisy curry at the Pride of India and have staggered in the front door at 10:30 PM.
Thanks for asking :D
Macca19
5th May 2002, 00:55
Originally posted by RoosterWedgie
Impressive effort by the bays to beat the umpires and Port, unfortunately we could only beat Port and not the umpires a few weeks back.
What a load of crap. You wasted your oppurtunities in the last quarter and you paid the price. If Ebert had of kicked one of his 3 or 4 slack shots on goal you would of won. He missed his oppurtunities...Port pounced and took theirs. The fact you reckon the umpires lost you that game screams of sour grapes
dreamkillers
5th May 2002, 01:04
Originally posted by Uncle Steve
How was Kelvo's "soccer" goal in the third quarter? Sheer class... Forget Arsenal and Chelsea, thay haven't got a patch on our Kelvin Maher!
[/B]
If that's who I think he is there might be a Darwin club claiming him as theirs.........:D ............he's a flashy player who continues to do the amazing at times.........I'm surprised I haven't heard that much about him but did know he was playing down the Bay.
Left the club after the speeches at 7:30ish. Went for a noisy curry at the Pride of India and have staggered in the front door at 10:30 PM.
Thanks for asking :D
Nothing like ending the night with a good curry.........I'll have to get recommendations for good Indian and Thai restaurants later in the year for my trip south in September..........I'd say things have changed a bit since I lived in Adelaide 10 years ago......
Macca19
5th May 2002, 01:13
Originally posted by Nod
Consider:
Its definatly the worst Port team i can remember. We are now too young and inexperienced and our basic first team is the worst its been since at least 1986-1987. We do seem to have a few players out on the sidelines. Poole, O'Conner, Steed, Wait, Bamford, Ackland would help a lot. We were also missing Carr (one of our most important players) and Ellen (who has been playing fairly well) as well.
Green, and especially Holmes, are too good young players that will be the future of the Magpies. Holmes is a very good player.
I actually thought Phillipou retired after he did his knee last year. A pity he decided to play on as he is not SANFL standard. Ashley cant kick over a jam tin. Wade is alright as a bits player, but Mcguiness is past his best now. We seem to be playing a half reserves side here at the moment.
Coudraye replaced Rhino....i havent even heard of him before :confused: They must of pulled someone from the crowd!?!?!
You look at our side and i think we will be doing well if we make the finals this season. Harwood is badly out of form and struggles to touch the ball let alone kick some goals. Lokan, Illet, Tessman....altho they are good youngsters, they are still raw, inconsistent and should probably be playing reserves footy.
Its definatly our most inexperienced team since i can ever remember. From the side today...Illet has played 2 games, Tessman 3, Lokan 4, Coudraye 1, Green 15, Holmes 24, S Burgoyne 20, Wilson 25. Weve only got a handful of guys with experience out there. We are missing Carr, Wait and Steed...and Mcdowall as well. Bamford is our vice captain but cant string any more than 3 games without doing a hammy...Pooley are captain is rooted....to be honest Port are in a lot of trouble this year.
We'll see how we go if we can get most of our first team back on teh park, but the next few weeks arent looking good for the Magpies
:(
McAlmanac
5th May 2002, 01:24
Worse than when Russell Ebert was coaching?......
raboyle
5th May 2002, 04:11
Central or Norwood beating Port is one thing.
But Glenelg?! Bloody hell! :eek: :eek:
Port Adelaide 1870
5th May 2002, 08:55
Originally posted by McAlmanac
Worse than when Russell Ebert was coaching?......
Them Thars....Fightin words !!!!!
Not that making grand finals is good enough...but..
;)
PA1870
Ford Fairlane
5th May 2002, 10:44
Port Magpies are going through the kind of generational change (I won't use the dreaded 'R' word) that we haven't had to endure since the Ebert days. While Russell was relatively unsuccessful as a coach he entrusted a number of young players with responsibility at the club that set us on the road to the glory days of the late 80s and 90s. Players like Anderson, Bradley, Ginever, Dwayne Russell, Leslie, Rohan Smith, Darren Smith, Mahney, Hodges, Hynes, Obst, Harris, Hutton, Fiacchi and Delaney were either brough through the system by Russell or were given team leadership roles after earlier appearances in the Jack Cahill Premiership sides of 1979, 80 and 81.
Unfortunately the current selection committee don't seem to be handling it that well and the Bay game was a classic example. Three players lost to injury in the selected team and who are brought in? Three players who have been solid contributors over a number of years but are now ageing, suspect to injury and probably not up to the pace of league footy any more. Yet when Rhino withdrew they pulled in Leigh Coudraye (who BTW is the 2001 U19s Premiership ruckman, 200cm and quite a strong body for his age) who has 2 reserves games experience and then supported him with Mark Wade as a ruckman! Wadey is like Meady as a ruckman in the AFL. Good 15 min party trick for shock value, but that's it. Wadey rucked probably an entire half for 3 hit outs. Callum Crook should also have been added for back up. At least he has a couple of year reserves experience behind him as a ruckman. I thought Stephen would have learned from the 1997 GF the folly of going into a game with one recognised ruckman.
Where the Bays really hurt us - and despite the closeness of the scores and how much it pains me to say this I thought the Bays genuinely deserved to win the game - was in their leg speed and their ability to get numbers to a contest and keep us under constant pressure, especially in front of goals, hence our high points tally. I include missing set shots in that because it's all psychological pressure. The players we have out through injury will on the whole not alleviate that problem. The players brought in certainly didn't.
There's a swag of 2001 U19s premiership players in the reserves at the moment who are playing good footy. I would have brought in three of those as well as Coudraye to get some leg speed back into that side. Sorry Macca but I disagree about it being too inexperienced. I think there are too many older players in there that aren't pulling their weight and don't have the leg speed to do so. Nod summed it up pretty well in an earlier post as to who was struggling.
The time has come to bite the bullet and give more of the young players some game time (especially with the injuries we have). Youthful enthusiasm will carry us over the line in some games and sure we'll crash and burn in others. But at least we'll see the benefits of development. There is no development room left in recycling players who have had their chances before.
Ingall
5th May 2002, 11:28
Originally posted by Ford Fairlane
Unfortunately the current selection committee don't seem to be handling it that well and the Bay game was a classic example.
Three players lost to injury in the selected team and who are brought in? Three players who have been solid contributors over a number of years but are now ageing, suspect to injury and probably not up to the pace of league footy any more.
Just a case of chalking this one down as a win too early perhaps, thinking that they were going to win no matter who they selected.
The time has come to bite the bullet and give more of the young players some game time (especially with the injuries we have). Youthful enthusiasm will carry us over the line in some games and sure we'll crash and burn in others. But at least we'll see the benefits of development. There is no development room left in recycling players who have had their chances before.
But Port supporters want results now don't they? Can the Alberton faithful wait for these youngsters to develop? And anyway, it was just one game. There are always going to be upsets in any season. I remeber when the Bays were a decent side (it's true, there was a time ), and we lost a few times to Sturt (who were less than impressive back then). I wouldn't turn on them just yet.
Macca19
5th May 2002, 12:02
Originally posted by Ingall
But Port supporters want results now don't they? Can the Alberton faithful wait for these youngsters to develop?
If missing the finals this year means we will be in premiership contention next year or the year after then im willing to have that as a sacrifice. I do know that when our youngsters do come thru we will be a top side as i beleive we have some of the best juniors in the state. Lohde, Tessman, Illet x 2, Crook, Lokan, Ebert, Johncock (Jeremy), Eichner all have the raw talent to succeed at sanfl level.
I remeber when the Bays were a decent side (it's true, there was a time ),
See now you are just making things up ;)
Ingall
5th May 2002, 12:15
If missing the finals this year means we will be in premiership contention next year or the year after then im willing to have that as a sacrifice. I do know that when our youngsters do come thru we will be a top side as i beleive we have some of the best juniors in the state. Lohde, Tessman, Illet x 2, Crook, Lokan, Ebert, Johncock (Jeremy), Eichner all have the raw talent to succeed at sanfl level.
[b]
See now you are just making things up ;)
never let the truth get in the way of a good story :)
and if missing the finals is the sacrifice that has to be made to build a strong team, just you guys wait til we get it right. It stands to reason that we'll win the next 10 premierships (or am I making things up again) :)
Eago77
5th May 2002, 13:56
We aren't travelling too well at the moment. Injuries obviously don't help but i do agree that perhaps trying some youngsters instead of recycling older 'hasbeens' (sorry). Some of the juniors they have trailed so far have been resonably impressive but they do need a few older heads to help them through, again injuries aren't helpful in the regard. Although in Williams defence i think he would of thought that the team we had (which does look a bit crappy) would of been good enough to win, however the players intensity may be more to blame. Whatever the problems, we need to sort things out, hopefully with our backs to the wall we will be able to come up with some gutsy wins in the next few weeks.
RoosterWedgie
5th May 2002, 16:39
Talking about Port's great future it was a stroke of genius recruiting Simon Peucker!!!! LMAO!
BTW Im not normally one for conspiracies but its pretty obvious why the Power picked Kane this weekend to not play a game anywhere.
Some could argue that Primus was in doubt but Kane Cornes aint exactly a ruckman, very obvious Port and good to see the Magpies god their just deserts with this foul play.
eastaugh36
5th May 2002, 19:25
Talking about Port's great future it was a stroke of genius recruiting Simon Peucker!!!! LMAO!
BTW Im not normally one for conspiracies but its pretty obvious why the Power picked Kane this weekend to not play a game anywhere.
Some could argue that Primus was in doubt but Kane Cornes aint exactly a ruckman, very obvious Port and good to see the Magpies god their just deserts with this foul play.
spot on. And it aint the first time they have done something like that with sanfl players listed to power who happen to be playing against the magpies until taken by the power. I know a few people who believe in that conspiracy too
sapaul
5th May 2002, 20:33
Yes, and you still believe in Santa Claus do you?The Crows have played Ben Nelson every week except the week Sturt had a bye, should I think that is a conspiracy theory?
Macca19
5th May 2002, 20:56
I dont know much about him....can you tell me about him??
Considering we had Lade and French in the side already does this mean that if Primus didnt play should we have had Brogan as a emergency?? Why should the emergency be another ruckmen??
Conspiracy theories....what a load of rubbish. Maybe this week the power will promote Derek Murray, Dean Brogan, Allan Murray, Chris Hall and Jaxon Crabb....and drop Meady, Poulton, Burgoyne and Tredders just so the Magpies can have a win :rolleyes:
Uncle Steve
6th May 2002, 00:13
Originally posted by Ford Fairlane
I thought Stephen would have learned from the 1997 GF the folly of going into a game with one recognised ruckman.
Perhaps he thought he could get away with it since Glenelg also started with only one recognised ruckman (Golding) - and in recent weeks he's seen more of full back than ruck! :confused: Full marks to Winstanley for his super effort. Where the hell has he been all year, languishing in the reserves?
Where the Bays really hurt us - and despite the closeness of the scores and how much it pains me to say this I thought the Bays genuinely deserved to win the game - was in their leg speed and their ability to get numbers to a contest and keep us under constant pressure, especially in front of goals, hence our high points tally. I include missing set shots in that because it's all psychological pressure. The players we have out through injury will on the whole not alleviate that problem. The players brought in certainly didn't.
I agree with that completely. Glenelg had a genuine dip, every player was prepared to make a contest. Port - with a couple of notable exceptions - looked lethargic. Glenelg still has a way to go in terms of skills, but they more than matched Port for intensity and desire.
I only hope the Bays can keep check with reality. Had the game gone for 5 more minutes, Port would have won it. The bottom line is that Glenelg managed to beat an ordinary team (no offense intended) by only 3 points. Yesterday it was a good reason for celebration, and deservedly so - it's been 9 months ferchrissakes - but the team's attitude must evolve. The team must progress to the point where a win over an average side at home is expected, and a margin of 3 points is cause for concern - not celebration.
RoosterWedgie
6th May 2002, 10:28
I dont know much about him....can you tell me about him??
Simon Peucker would be about 28, has played for North for about 7 years and did not have the skills to get in our league side.
He was actually our Vice Captain for one year under McDermott.
When Hart gave him the arse Stephen Williams rang him up and invited him out to training.
Originally from Mildura.
RoosterWedgie
6th May 2002, 10:30
OMG, dont believe some actually thought I was serious about the conspiracy theory!
Hell, Ill have to stop going to my mums place at Fishermans bay to get a feed of fish as you dont even need bait in here!
lmao!
sapaul
6th May 2002, 10:47
I didn't think you were but I have a feeling Easty did.
Jars458
6th May 2002, 11:26
What a load of crap. You wasted your oppurtunities in the last quarter and you paid the price. If Ebert had of kicked one of his 3 or 4 slack shots on goal you would of won. He missed his oppurtunities...Port pounced and took theirs. The fact you reckon the umpires lost you that game screams of sour grapes
Stop talking about last years game Macca
This is 2002
You lost to Glenleg - what a disgrace!:D
sapaul
6th May 2002, 11:41
Originally posted by Jars458
Stop talking about last years game Macca
He was referring to a game played 3 weeks ago.
Jars458
6th May 2002, 12:18
Originally posted by sapaul
He was referring to a game played 3 weeks ago.
ahhh
thought he was on about Glenelg v Port last year
Hollypig
6th May 2002, 16:31
OMG, dont believe some actually thought I was serious about the conspiracy theory!
Hell, Ill have to stop going to my mums place at Fishermans bay to get a feed of fish as you dont even need bait in here!
lmao!
load, cast,wsssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssplonk,bingo
bugger you wedgie I`m casting over here.
what`s the bet June 8th Adam Morgan will be sitting on his arse at Colonial, after another little phone call from Anthony to mark.
Still remember Squizzy & Morton getting called up for Port games only to be dropped the next week.
See how we go here, pass another can wedgie.
RoosterWedgie
6th May 2002, 17:16
If Adam Morgan isn't playing for Port in the near future there's something seriously wrong.
While Im quite happy for him to dominate the SANFL at Centre Half Back he quite clearly has more skill, guts and football ability in his little finger than someone like Darren Mead or Josh Francou could ever dream of having.
Hollypig
6th May 2002, 17:37
load,wssssssssssssssssssssss, damn still waiting.
Macca19
6th May 2002, 18:29
If Adam Morgan isn't playing for Port in the near future there's something seriously wrong.
While Im quite happy for him to dominate the SANFL at Centre Half Back he quite clearly has more skill, guts and football ability in his little finger than someone like Darren Mead or Josh Francou could ever dream of having.
You idiot.
Althought ive been calling for Morgs to get a game all year....to say he has more skill than Meady or Francou is ridiculous. Francou is one of the best players in the AFL...Meady has dominated CHB for a long long time.
Morgan hasnt got a game yet. He has a long way to go!!
I do agree that hes a bloody good player and i cant wait for him to finally get a go in the Black White and Teal
dreamkillers
6th May 2002, 18:35
Now now.......looking for some bites there........:D
I agree with Macca in that he appears to have the goods but it is a big step up to to the big league and in time he will get his chances.........
As for more football ability in his little finger than Meady and Francou.......I think you should cast out again with some new bait.........;)
Santos L Helper
6th May 2002, 18:38
Originally posted by Hollypig
load, cast,wsssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssplonk,bingo
bugger you wedgie I`m casting over here.
what`s the bet June 8th Adam Morgan will be sitting on his arse at Colonial, after another little phone call from Anthony to mark.
Still remember Squizzy & Morton getting called up for Port games only to be dropped the next week.
See how we go here, pass another can wedgie.
That must be some special kind of phone.
:rolleyes:
dreamkillers
6th May 2002, 18:39
RoosterWedgie & Hollypig.......
Just thought you may want to know the latest on Damon White that has come through from the Port club today.........it looks like his season in 2002 is over......
This was in the weekly email we get from the club today........
'Having met with the surgeon last week, it was found that in addition to the fractured fibula and dislocated ankle, Damon White has some ligament damage. Recovery from this is usually around four months, which means that Damon is unlikely to play again this year.'
Not good news for Port.....and North........
We hope he has a full recovery and comes back bigger and stronger next year........
dreamkillers
6th May 2002, 18:42
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Didn't pick up on that before.......but typical......at least they could get some of the facts correct.......
RoosterWedgie
6th May 2002, 19:17
thanks for that Dreamkillers, damn that's a shame, the poor lad, looked a good grab too (he impressed me more than Brooks).
And Macca, wtf? Morgan has no game? He'd be the best centre half back in the comp, hell do you get out to games at all, did you see him against the Magpies? Well he wasn 5 times better again against the Eagles.
Mead is solid, reliable but not up to AFL standards. The sad part about it is there is a severe shortage in centre half forwards in the AFL so he'll probably subdue a couple of hacks and keep his spot.
And as for Josh Francou, where did he come in the Port club championship a couple of years ago? Something like 16th?
I think someone said it beautifully a couple of years ago when discussing Francou, there's no better player in the league at running to where the ball isnt! He would be the most overrated player going around and would struggle to get a run in our midfield at North, mind you hed probably be handy in the back pocket or on a flank.
Perhaps if Francou or Mead ever lead you to a finals win I'll change my mind.
dreamkillers
6th May 2002, 19:27
thanks for that Dreamkillers, damn that's a shame, the poor lad, looked a good grab too (he impressed me more than Brooks).
And Macca, wtf? Morgan has no game? He'd be the best centre half back in the comp, hell do you get out to games at all, did you see him against the Magpies? Well he wasn 5 times better again against the Eagles.
Mead is solid, reliable but not up to AFL standards. The sad part about it is there is a severe shortage in centre half forwards in the AFL so he'll probably subdue a couple of hacks and keep his spot.
And as for Josh Francou, where did he come in the Port club championship a couple of years ago? Something like 16th?
I think someone said it beautifully a couple of years ago when discussing Francou, there's no better player in the league at running to where the ball isnt! He would be the most overrated player going around and would struggle to get a run in our midfield at North, mind you hed probably be handy in the back pocket or on a flank.
Brooks was always going to be a longer term prospect.......but both had been playing well from the reports we heard.....
Macca actually said he hasn't got a game yet - meaning he hasn't played an AFL game yet......not the fact he doesn't have the goods.......Macca has actually been saying for a few weeks that he should get a call up.......
I'd have Morgan just behind Thurstans in getting a call up only because Thurstans had a few good minutes during the Wizard Cup......but I can't go on SANFL form as we no longer get ABC SANFL broadcasts in the NT.........I'd say one will get a game in the coming weeks as the expense of one of the 3 ruckmen currenly in the side.......
As for Mead and Francou's form in the AFL.....both have been playing well over the last few weeks......earlier this year Mead looked like he may have been on the outer but the last 2 weeks has been leading the backlines in his performances.......it's pretty hard to drop players who are getting in the best players each week.
Obviously our coaching and selection panels have a different opinion to yours......and I'm happy to go by their judgement.......:D.........
and I'll ignore your last piece of bait......it's getting a bit stale......
Macca19
6th May 2002, 19:44
Were you born an idiot or do you just choose to act like one?? Did you even read my post?? Or did you just read what you want to read? You obviously didnt see me say "ive been calling for Morgs to get a game all year" and "I do agree that hes a bloody good player and i cant wait for him to finally get a go in the Black White and Teal"
I said Morgan hasnt had an AFL game yet so to say he is better than Francou and Mead is ridiculous.
Next time before you sprout your mouth off.....read the actual post :rolleyes:
Mead is solid, reliable but not up to AFL standards.
No of course not. Hes only a best and fairest winner...should of been a double all australian player at CHB, and despite his age has held down CHB and continuously beaten the majority of the CHFs in the AFL. Yeah...hes not up to AFL standard at all is he. Now i have to ask you what you asked me....do you get out to games at all?? Have you seen a Port game in the last two years?? By your moronic statements youd think youve lived in a cave the last couple of years. Maybe you should return there before you make a bigger fool out of yourself by not reading peoples posts and going off at them for things they didnt say!
How much of a **** are you?? You are going by Best and Fairest two years ago? LOL!!!! Yeah...tahts a real sign :rolleyes: 16th in his worst AFL season. Where did he come in the Brownlow last year mate?? Was it third??? I think so.
You are a fool of the highest order
Alberton Lad
6th May 2002, 19:48
Francou was so overrated, he finished third in the Brownlow Medal voting last year, if my memory serves me correctly RoosterWedgie. Can't be too bad for a so-called "overrated" player. And as for him not being able to get a run in The Hens' engine-room, he not only compiled 26 disposals and kick a goal, he had 6 clearances from ball-ups (the most by anyone on the ground yesterday) - which proves your comments about him running to where the ball isn't, to be an uneducated and reckless accusation. I think you should practice what you preach and get out and see a few more Port Adelaide games, if you think that Francou's last 12 months haven't been consistently superb. If he couldn't get a gig in The Hens' centre square, then Scotty Bamford doesn't have a mullet! ;)
PS; That's two good footballers that we've (The Power) given you, that have suffered badly broken legs/ankles (White & Morgan). You Hens are a bluddy jinx! ;) Good to see Morgan improve and develop this year, after a rare full pre-season.
Eago77
6th May 2002, 20:00
Sorry but the amount of crap that you have written has got to me. Didn't Francou win some kind of medal when he played at North, something about the best player in the SANFL. Didn't he come third in last years BROWNLOW too? - gee he must be sh*t. You are a knob. As for Mead, not up to AFL standard, my god you may have some good insights into the SANFL but please try and have some perspective when it comes to the AFL.
Macca19
6th May 2002, 20:29
Just to show you again how much of an idiot you are, here is some of my quotes of Adam Morgan during this year:
"I hope he can stay fit, cos he certainly can play "
"- Thurstans and Morgan looked great in defence "
"K Cornes, Thurstans, Shaun Burgoyne, Crabb and Morgan all looked like they could play in the first round. "
"Michael Stevens, Brendan Lade, Chris Hall, Adam Morgan, Toby Thurstans and Allan Murray look ready to play AFL this season"
"S Burgoyne, A Murray, Morgan, Thurstans, Hall, Cassisi are all ready to play AFL."
"Morgan played a great game at half back as well and would be battling with Lockwood for a call up as well. "
"Morgan is another who would now be pushing for selection"
"Morgan - Is now putting his hand up. After a few years in the injury wilderness he has strung a few games together and is really pushing for selection. "
"Morgan continues to get in Norths best players and would also be fairly close to selection i would think"
"Please Mark....give Morgan a go!!!"
but of course.....according to you, i dont think he can play :rolleyes:
Hollypig
6th May 2002, 20:36
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Your right santa ,eeeeeeeeeeeediot (Me I mean)
apoligies to port people
White out for season is a disaster, bad luck for the lad ,he`s a goodie. I thought port may have let Morgan go last season, after not giving him a go, but to their credit they showed some faith.
Darrel Hart showed some nouse giving up last years mini draft it seems,another Gilligan (Angwin) would have the Rooster fans spewing.
RoosterWedgie
7th May 2002, 18:28
Morgan hasnt got a game yet. He has a long way to go!!
Geez silly me, I thought when you said Morgan hasnt got a game yet, you meant he hasnt got a game yet!
Perhaps you might want to learn to express yourself a little more clearly ie if you mean he hasnt played a game yet, write "played' as saying someone hasn't got a game means to humans that he hasnt got game! Some of us don't talk feralnese! Geezus, hook line and sinker!
Were you born an idiot or do you just choose to act like one??
LMAO! Its a replica at Magpies game, even though the Maggies are usually up by at least 10 goals, the poor Port supporters around me get so frustrated at not being able to compete with wit they resort to nasty personal remarks like that!
LMAO! Thanks Macca, after seeing the ugh boot and mullet patrol out Alberton way I couldnt think of a bigger compliment than being called names by a Port supporters as it has the inverse affect on the normal populous! lmao!
Im an idiot because you cant state clearly what you mean! lmao!
You're a classic champ!
Here fishy fishy fishy.
:D
Alberton Lad
7th May 2002, 18:36
Rooster ya slappa!
RoosterWedgie
7th May 2002, 18:50
hey hey Alberton Lad!
Missing me at work yet?
Macca19
7th May 2002, 18:58
Perhaps you might want to learn to express yourself a little more clearly ie if you mean he hasnt played a game yet, write "played' as saying someone hasn't got a game means to humans that he hasnt got game! Some of us don't talk feralnese!
If i wanted to say he 'hasnt got game' (im not American by the way...and i dont use Americanisms like 'hes got game') i would of written 'he is *****!'.
But of course.....claim you were fishing....we believe you :rolleyes:
LMAO! Thanks Macca, after seeing the ugh boot and mullet patrol out Alberton way I couldnt think of a bigger compliment than being called names by a Port supporters as it has the inverse affect on the normal populous! lmao!
I cant remember ever seeing Port supporters at Alberton wearing Ugh boots. The only person ive seen where ugh boots is the Eagles raffle guy.
Love the stereotypes tho. If North Adelaide actually had more than 15 supporters im sure that everyone could come up with some great stereotypes for them too!!!
Im an idiot because you cant state clearly what you mean! lmao!
You're a classic champ!
I would of thought it was straight forward what i was talking about. I dont use Americanisms like 'hes got game'....maybe you are a homie and use stupid phrases like that...if i wanted to say he 'didnt have game' i would of said he cant play football. Also notice i said he 'hasnt got a game yet'....after just mentioning Francou and Mead who are AFL players. Pretty straight forward if you ask me.
And even so.....are you completley idiotic?? I say 'ive been calling for Morgs to get a game all year' and 'I do agree that hes a bloody good player and i cant wait for him to finally get a go in the Black White and Teal' in the same bloody post. Use your eyes next time.
RoosterWedgie
7th May 2002, 19:08
LMAO! Now Im a homie!
Well I do admit I follow most sports in the world, so if following basketball classifies me as a homie then so be it!
You've never seen an ugh boot at Alberton (I notice you didn't bring up the mullets! lmao), well champ, I think its either time you get some glasses or you havent been going to games at all, or for very long! lmao
"I said Morgan hasnt had an AFL game yet"
Umm no you didnt champ, Ive already quoted you, you clearly said "Morgan hasnt got a game yet".
Cant even read your own posts now?
LMAO!
And the crack about Roosters supporters, well let me tell you champ, it takes a lot more character to go take on 1000s of other fans when you have only 14 other supporters when your team is **** than to follow a highly successful side with 1000s of other ferals behind/next/on top of you!
All I can do is speak for myself and my family and we're at every game (hell the missus used to be a Glenelg fan, till I set her on the straight and narrow) but I usually end up waving the kids flag! lol
And if you want to generalise us, feel free to make some comment about beer as we have the cheapest beer in the SANFL!
;)
BTW Damn that Eagles guy selling the raffle tickets annoys me! lmao!
Alberton Lad
7th May 2002, 19:22
Hey there RoosterWedge.. Your desk is already taken. Who are you again?? :D lol
Just keeping to the topic, WTF can you possibly summize from Macca's postings that he was insinuating that Morgs was dud?!?!? ROFLMFAO!! :D You crack me up! :cool:
The King of Frivolous Squabbles.. :D
PS; Not far away from stringing 3 together on Sat..
RoosterWedgie
7th May 2002, 19:29
he he, you know I cant resist an idiot!
I know about my desk, she was ****ing well in it before I even signed off on Friday when I was at the pub!
cheeky bitch! lmao!
The basket's full, I'm hoping theres no inspectors around tonight!
he he
(PF in training ;) )
RoosterWedgie
7th May 2002, 19:38
Originally posted by Alberton Lad
Just keeping to the topic, WTF can you possibly summize from Macca's postings that he was insinuating that Morgs was dud?!?!? ROFLMFAO!! :D You crack me up! :cool:
Just seeing how gulliable (?) and/or stupid someoene could be, I think its quite obvious that Macca thinks Morg's can play, cant believe I manage to string the dumb arse on for so long!
I really shouldn't take pleasure in picking on those less fortunate me, but Aleberton Lad, you know I cant resist and its soooo much fun! he he
LMAO!
Alberton Lad
7th May 2002, 19:49
And who better to wrile up than Port supporters? Well, Crows supporters, to be honest, but you get my point... ;)
PF would be proud indeed... :D
It's great for the Roosters and the comp. to see them competing strongly once again. I know it must give you a lot of heart, having watched many a thumping in the last 5-6 years. And a good thing that McLeod is back and firing with Goody & Roo etc. to keep Ladhams down there for most of the year, probably.. ;)
Heath Younie doing some good things down there as well. Shame about losing White & McGahey to busted legs for most of the year. Daniel Ebert continuing to impress. No wonder The Felch (Cooky) is stuck in the back pocket.. :D
Macca19
7th May 2002, 20:01
And the crack about Roosters supporters, well let me tell you champ, it takes a lot more character to go take on 1000s of other fans when you have only 14 other supporters when your team is **** than to follow a highly successful side with 1000s of other ferals behind/next/on top of you!
I went fishing, as you did, and caught a bite :D
And if you want to generalise us, feel free to make some comment about beer as we have the cheapest beer in the SANFL!
;)
Is that because its warm?? Last time i went to Prospect (last year), the only beer they had was warm....and that was before the match :(
BTW Damn that Eagles guy selling the raffle tickets annoys me! lmao!
He bugs the life outta me too.
GEEEETTTTT your raffle tickets HEEEEEEEEEEERRRRREEEE
RoosterWedgie
7th May 2002, 20:02
I reckon Cooky should still be on the ball as we miss his experience and hell, why play the club champion in the back pocket? Mind you he is great back there, perhaps Harty's trying to prolong his career and bring on the youngsters a bit quicker.
Younie's bog performance against West was the best thing for him, you could just see him play with so much more confidence against the Eagles and he was good once again.
Morgs has been fantastic, he's probably my fav player beside Gerald Cornelius in the reserves, I told Mrs Wedge that I might even giving a cheer for the Power when he plays for them as I could never barrack against him, mind you I can dream he gets traded to Geelong ;)
In regard to being happier, yeah kind of, Id rather lost games by 100pts than 13 or 3pts to tell the truth, and it does confuse other supporters that I actually stay till the end.
I'll only be truly happy when we're a premiership threat, here's hoping maybe next year or the year after.
The Centrals game disheartened me as they showed the difference between the top side and the middle of the road sides, there is a huge gap!
I don't know who I have more fun riling, Port or Crows supporters! lmao!
Actually I had a ball at a showdown 3 years ago when I had arguments going with both lots of supporters at the same time! lmao!
Alberton Lad
7th May 2002, 20:30
Yeah, there are slappa's supporting all Clubs, mine included.. It's just society I'm afraid. Avoid Power night matches when the full-moon is out... ;)
Younie, Ebert and even McGahey (until Saturday) have taken huge strides and most of it comes back to being confident at that level. They've been around for a few years now, so it's only natural that they get better once they fill out and get more experience.
The next trick is to stop them from getting snapped up in the draft, like Jamar (Damn Melbourne and their rookie list.. ;)
Definitely moving in the right direction though.
toinzer
8th May 2002, 00:05
[i]
I don't know who I have more fun riling, Port or Crows supporters! lmao!
Actually I had a ball at a showdown 3 years ago when I had arguments going with both lots of supporters at the same time! lmao! [/B]
How in the hell do you manage to keep track of your arse!? You must have proclaimed to have lauged it off about a billion times now! :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:
Santos L Helper
8th May 2002, 08:10
Originally posted by toinzer
How in the hell do you manage to keep track of your arse!? You must have proclaimed to have lauged it off about a billion times now! :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:
I actually think it's to convince himself that he's funny. I also think it's great that new (non Port supporters) people come to Big Footy's regional board with the aim of showing that they have a grasp on social stereotypes in their vain attempts to form witty posts. It usually takes around 50 posts to get some sensible footy discussion out of them, so I guess Wedgie will be ready soon too, but that's not to say I haven't enjoyed watching his fishing exploits.
ps. I know Easty is the exception to this 50 post rule.
Ford Fairlane
8th May 2002, 10:55
cant believe I manage to string the dumb arse on for so long!
I really shouldn't take pleasure in picking on those less fortunate me, but Aleberton Lad, you know I cant resist
it takes a lot more character to go take on 1000s of other fans when you have only 14 other supporters when your team is **** than to follow a highly successful side with 1000s of other ferals behind/next/on top of you!
Its a replica at Magpies game, even though the Maggies are usually up by at least 10 goals, the poor Port supporters around me get so frustrated at not being able to compete with wit they resort to nasty personal remarks like that!
Looks like someone out there is suffering from a bad case of self-adulation ... and that's only from the quotes off one page!!!
RoosterWedgie? "Tickets" more likely cos someone seems to have a few on himself. Now what was that saying about self praise being no recommendation ... hmmm, I'm sure it'll come to me soon.
Still, I feverishly await your no doubt self proclaimed brilliant comeback which will most likely involve such original and witty concepts as "ugg boots", "mullets" and some variation of the word "feral".
RoosterWedgie
8th May 2002, 18:22
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Macca19
Is that because its warm?? Last time i went to Prospect (last year), the only beer they had was warm....and that was before the match :(
[b]
You must go to the wrong beer Macca, bullit's never sold me a warm one yet (the southern bar).
Or maybe he keeps warm ones under the counter for Port supporters? he he
RoosterWedgie
8th May 2002, 18:25
Originally posted by toinzer
I'll apologise for most things I get up to but being happy isn't one of them, if laughter upsets you guys so much Id suggest you get a job in a funeral parlour!
lol!
BTW, couldnt be bothered quoting Ford Fairline, but I cant believe I got more bites when I'd confessed!
LMAO!
guys, dont get upset, enjoy life, if you havent got the wit to keep up with others and it upsets you then get a personality transplant or study hard!
he he
Alberton Lad
8th May 2002, 23:36
I am but a mere disciple, Mr Dice Clay.. A common mortal... :cool:
I'm a dead-set Dice freak, fair dinkum. The man is a living Lej.. I hope to evolve into his persona as I get older. Good Ol' Mother Goose... :D
Hey Wedge, you'll be amused to know that Simon "Peter Shearer" Puecker got ko'd in the last 5mins of the ressies on Saturday. He wasn't named in the paper, but my source has confirmed that he definitely did line up, and that he went nighty-night in the dying stages. Peter Shearer have obviously slashed their commercial budget drastically..
"And he goes by the name... Simon Peucker!" LMFAO! :D