View Full Version : Ryan Murphy!!
The Birch
21 Jul 2007, 12:16
I don't think this young Victorian has been given many opportunities for what ever reason, whether it has been poor form or injuries.
With Ryan being a former victorian junior player, what do you think a Victorian club would have to give up, to get him back over to the eastern states?
Who is your team Bitch!!
I'm sorry...Birch
The Birch
21 Jul 2007, 12:31
Bulldogs , bush pig
Oh sorry, bushie!!:)
Well put em up and stop being a flacid phallus.
wizard_9
21 Jul 2007, 12:47
Dont think he would be on the market, pretty sure he has a contract anyway.
As a hypothetical, from you guys it would take Farren Ray.
dominguez
21 Jul 2007, 13:31
If Pav stays then I'd consider a late first round pick, although I'd much rather trade Kiwi Campbell.
If Pav goes home then Murphy becomes a very important part of our future, both short and long term.
Murphy and Mundy will improve considerably next season under a new coach.
dont bowl there
21 Jul 2007, 15:10
I dont like the guy, seems to have the worst attitude when out on the ground. Didnt deserve a recall and doesnt deserve to come back into the side this year.
pinkus maximus
21 Jul 2007, 15:45
I don't think this young Victorian has been given many opportunities for what ever reason, whether it has been poor form or injuries.
With Ryan being a former victorian junior player, what do you think a Victorian club would have to give up, to get him back over to the eastern states?
FYI he has been suspended this week, not dropped
i think he will be here next year
Considering the bagging Happy Gilmore gets on this board, Murph gets a pretty good run from the Freo faithful on Bigfooty. Disappointing this season, and disappointing today - dropped chest mark swung momentum the Bombers way, with them getting 4 goals in time-on second quarter.
Bradesmaen
12 Aug 2007, 20:34
He didnt have much of an opportunity and he is a foil forward. He provides space for Pav and Tarrant but if needed he can bob up. I think he played well.
Was probably our worst player today and looked mostly disinterested. Maybe he was packing a sad about Campbell getting a 2 year deal.
NiGHTFuRY
12 Aug 2007, 21:11
Was probably our worst player today and looked mostly disinterested. Maybe he was packing a sad about Campbell getting a 2 year deal.
Don't you think thats a bit harsh?. I thought he tryed hard, but nothing much panned out for him.
longsuffreosupp
12 Aug 2007, 21:18
gumbleton anyone?
Bradesmaen
12 Aug 2007, 21:29
What about him? He wasnt that good, he had to stand up when Lucas moved back. We had mutliple goal scorers and Murphy was always a threat to be another.
dont bowl there
12 Aug 2007, 21:32
I dont rate the guy at all. Sure he has the natural ability but his work rate is one of the worst I have seen. So happy that Campbell got the 2 year deal this week, means we can trade Murphy.
freodog
12 Aug 2007, 21:35
I like him but he is suffering badly from lack of confidence. I think he needs to take some angry pills too.
If he did go to a team like the bulldogs he would dominate. He's struggling to figure out how to fit into the freo forward line.
Docker_Brat
12 Aug 2007, 21:53
I'm off the Murphy bandwagon after being a real fan of his last year. Has the ability but not working hard enough.
Needs to look at his run up as well, he's overcooking it.
macka6210
12 Aug 2007, 22:09
i see no reason after todays game of why we need to trade murphy. today showed the advantage of having a mobile yet tall forward line with some good crumbing ability always needed . and i see no possible advantage to our team by having Farren Ray in our team he is too small and far too much of an outside player and i could be wrong but i dont really rate his pace, its great when he is in the clear but in pack situations has none to burn
dugrene
12 Aug 2007, 22:14
I have the idea he might be close to playing his last game this year at least.
When Elvis went forward IMO it sealed it for spud. He (spud) should got the FF spot if Elvis was injured.
Kenny_01
12 Aug 2007, 22:21
Well Murphs was ok but will have to make way for Dodd and Headland returning this week and at a narrow ground in the Dome.
dominguez
12 Aug 2007, 22:36
Well Murphs was ok but will have to make way for Dodd and Headland returning this week and at a narrow ground in the Dome.
Matt Carr will probably play next week too, so you are right Murphy will be ommitted. Foster will probably make way too.
I agree Spud may have to step aside for the returning players. Spud needs a stick of dynamite in a "hot" spot to get him moving. His work rate is ordinary, it almost brings back memories of Danny Parker ................ aghhhhhhhh.
If fit, Dodd straight in.
Don't you think thats a bit harsh?. I thought he tryed hard, but nothing much panned out for him.
Yeah, maybe a bit harsh. But it did come across like he wasn't hitting the contests as hard as he could for a bloke whose career is arguably on the line.
Soft and his redeeming feature, his accurate kicking, has gone to shit
Bateman
12 Aug 2007, 22:50
iwould try him at CHB to get him involved in the game. He needs to be put in a position where he is constantly involved. Running straight at the ball might help.He would also have to work harder and concentrate for longer periods.
Leaving him on the ground for the whole game would also lift his confidence.
I would guarantee to play him for the rest of the year and see if he comes up.
If he doesn't then look at trading him.:confused:
iwould try him at CHB to get him involved in the game. He needs to be put in a position where he is constantly involved. Running straight at the ball might help.He would also have to work harder and concentrate for longer periods.
Leaving him on the ground for the whole game would also lift his confidence.
I would guarantee to play him for the rest of the year and see if he comes up.
If he doesn't then look at trading him.:confused:
I reckon that decision has already been made, both by the club and by him.
It's only a few weeks ago that it was Gilly getting all the critics on his back.
Look at him now: 31 touches and BOG today.
Sometimes a bit of faith goes a long way.
Murph, as with Gilly, was not given much of a go by CC. It does take a toll on your confidence.
He performed well last year in the later part of the season when we were running hot so we know he can play.
Just give him a few games on the trot and I'm sure your will see him back on the score sheets.
ImperialPurple
12 Aug 2007, 23:51
It's only a few weeks ago that it was Gilly getting all the critics on his back.
Look at him now: 31 touches and BOG today.
Sometimes a bit of faith goes a long way.
Murph, as with Gilly, was not given much of a go by CC. It does take a toll on your confidence.
He performed well last year in the later part of the season when we were running hot so we know he can play.
Just give him a few games on the trot and I'm sure your will see him back on the score sheets.
Disagree. He got an extended run last year and then he got injured. He was rushed back into the team for the finals. He was CC's first choice FF for the whole pre-season and in Rd 1 and he failed to fire a shot. CC brought him back into the team as soon as he started to show something at WAFL level... he backed him in time and time again, but he has not grabbed his chance at any time this year.
Ryan Murphy - 6 kicks, 5 handballs, 0 tackles, 0 goals, 0 behinds.
Zero value in the team at the moment.
He was lucky to survive the axe this week, and must go out of the team for now at least. How anyone playing forward of centre in that game could avoid kicking a single score is beyond me. And zero tackles means zero defensive pressure.
Come back next year Spud.:thumbsd:
Anyone else think he looks abit chubby?
Certainly not 'cut'. Maybe its his hair.
I'd take him down at WC.
Reveler
13 Aug 2007, 00:27
He is struggling to play when he is not the sole focus in the forward line.
Needs to work harder and learn from Tarrant. If he could work as hard as Tarrant he'd notice that the number of goals kicked isn't the only stat looked at by the coaches.
Chase, Run hard, Provide Pressure, Keep Leading. Come on Spud, I believe in you!
nezasaur
13 Aug 2007, 02:32
I was sitting at the city end today and I saw Murphy make a lot of good leads when we were 55 out or in poor shooting position. He was ignored many times (Farmer the worst offender), opting to shoot or kick to a contest instead. Murphy is renowned for his elite kicking accuracy so why not take advantage of this and try to get him involved in the game?
theGav56
13 Aug 2007, 12:20
I'll trust Farmer's footy smarts over Murphy. For Souths he drip fed Murphy in the forward line, and there is no way Farmer would not pass to him, unless he was not a good/best option.
Dr Ralph Dagg
13 Aug 2007, 13:30
I'll trust Farmer's footy smarts over Murphy. For Souths he drip fed Murphy in the forward line, and there is no way Farmer would not pass to him, unless he was not a good/best option.
Farmer muffed an early attempt to pass on a lead and I thought he went quiet on that score rather than anything Murphy was doing wrong. The chest mark that Murphy dropped was because Farmer cut in front of him. My block mates around me and the commentators said as much.
There's no doubt he's playing a like a dud but he isn't a dud. I thought his work rate was fine. The question is whether we persist with him or trade him. I'd like to persist with him as I reckon he will be the perfect solution if Tarrant has injuries like he did in 2005.
But whether he wants to stay or to try his luck with an up and coming team is a another matter. I still reckon he would really straighten up the Bulldogs.
As to hardness at the ball, I saw players all over the ground that were weak at the contest and it's something that still needs work.
Belnakor
13 Aug 2007, 13:31
I was sitting at the city end today and I saw Murphy make a lot of good leads when we were 55 out or in poor shooting position. He was ignored many times (Farmer the worst offender), opting to shoot or kick to a contest instead. Murphy is renowned for his elite kicking accuracy so why not take advantage of this and try to get him involved in the game?
Murphy's kicking has been poor ever since someone mentioned he was a good kick at goal. I'd take Pav over Murphy every time when kicking at goal.
Murphy doesn't mind ironing people out though, which is a couple of points in his favor.
theGav56
13 Aug 2007, 13:42
There seem to be a few clubs seeking forwards, and if a good trade is available, then we won't lose much by taking it. As a specialist FF, and offering very little else at this stage, Murphy still only sits as a player with "potential" on our list. his actual contributions are short of deserving ongoing selection, week in week out.
If he was traded then we have very good options as a third tall forward in Drum, Campbell and (assuming we play all of Sandilands, Warnock and Gilmore), a resting ruckman. In addition, Headland has been very useful up there this year, and while not a genuine tall, is at least as good as Murphy coming out of the square at the present moment.
There are some quality midfielders available in this draft, and we need to lift our stcks. Our first round pick should get one. Murphy may help us get a better one.
Belnakor
13 Aug 2007, 14:44
I'm amazed how many people want to get rid of Murphy. We're already dropping, in some peoples estimations, 10 guys from our list. Trading a player for a couple of spots in an average draft would not be on the cards.
Murphy is an average footballer who is an average shot at goal when not directly in front. But he should still not be traded this year.
I'm amazed how many people want to get rid of Murphy. We're already dropping, in some peoples estimations, 10 guys from our list. Trading a player for a couple of spots in an average draft would not be on the cards.
Murphy is an average footballer who is an average shot at goal when not directly in front. But he should still not be traded this year.
Even if he wants to go?
dominguez
13 Aug 2007, 23:40
There are some quality midfielders available in this draft, and we need to lift our stocks. Our first round pick should get one. Murphy may help us get a better one.
I'm not sure about upgrading picks. Obviously if someone offered pick 2 for Murphy and pick 10 I'd take it, but teams very rarely trade picks that early. If Polak didn't have "off field issues" the Polak + 13 for pick 8 would have been a bad deal, but he was damaged goods.
Hypotheticals are difficult because our first pick could be anywhere between 4 and 17 (;)). Lets say we end up with pick 10. I'd rather have pick 10 and trade Murphy for pick 15 and have 2 cracks at the first round than trade Murphy and 10 for pick 6. If we lose this week and end up with a pick in the top 6 without trading I'd still be happy to trade for another first round pick.
Why should we trade him, given that he is definitely not best 22 material at the moment?
You need backup players, and he may regain his best form next year.
Seriously, he would kick 50 goals a year at the Bulldogs.
Unless he actually wants out, I wouldn't push him. We wouldn't get much in return.
Belnakor
14 Aug 2007, 00:20
Even if he wants to go?
if he wants to go, he can wrack off, don't let the door hit him on the way out. But i don't think that is the case.
DOCKER MAN
14 Aug 2007, 00:25
I have been a huge fan of murphy untill yesterday, there were a few times when he was going for a mark he could have taken but it bounced in front of him coz he wasn't sprinting.
theGav56
14 Aug 2007, 11:33
I have no idea if Murphy does or doesn't want to go. But I do assume that, like Polak, he wants to play football at the highest level, and if another club has a place in their best 22 to offer him, then he may want to go.
Things that I personally would consider;
• Murphy for Farren Ray. A good trade for us, though one a lot of posters on here would not like, as they think Ray is a receiver, seagul, soft, Headland-esque etc. But the reality is it is in the midfield we need improvement, and that's where he plays.
• Assuming we sit outside of the picks that are likely to snare Palmer or Masten then I would look at a way of getting a pick that would. That may mean trading pick 12 + Murphy for pick 5 (for example). That would be a hard call, but worth looking at. From what has been written about this darfts depth, pick 12 will get an ordinary player.
if he can be used in some deal to get moody i think we could spare him
Belnakor
14 Aug 2007, 12:03
• Murphy for Farren Ray. A good trade for us, though one a lot of posters on here would not like, as they think Ray is a receiver, seagul, soft, Headland-esque etc. But the reality is it is in the midfield we need improvement, and that's where he plays.
Our midfield would not improve by getting another soft, slow midfielder. We need to add quality to the midfield, just getting a new player into the mix will not improve our midfield unless they are quick.
pistol17
14 Aug 2007, 12:12
Our midfield would not improve by getting another soft, slow midfielder. We need to add quality to the midfield, just getting a new player into the mix will not improve our midfield unless they are quick.
Farren is not soft or slow. Watch some bulldogs games. I might be a bit biased having played footy with him since he first started at 16 but he is definately not soft, his head is always over the ball, always puts his body on the line. He is far from slow, he is quicker than Cooney. Not sure if this fact is still current but he did have the beep test record at the dogs.
Belnakor
14 Aug 2007, 12:30
Didn't get run down by Pav in the bulldogs game?
prattsta
14 Aug 2007, 12:41
Didn't get run down by Pav in the bulldogs game?
Yes, not sure what that proves though.
Belnakor
14 Aug 2007, 12:45
Well pav isn't exactly lightning quick.
pistol17
14 Aug 2007, 12:47
Pav isnt slow
prattsta
14 Aug 2007, 12:59
Faz wasn't exactly sprinting. His biggest problem is h[SIZE=2]e has a bad habbit of only going as quick as he thinks he has too...the problem is, being from Mandurah he aint too smart and he is often wrong about exactly how fast that should be!
He definately isnt slow though, watch the elimination final from last year.
pistol17
14 Aug 2007, 13:02
Faz wasn't exactly sprinting. His biggest problem is h[SIZE=2]e has a bad habbit of only going as quick as he thinks he has too...the problem is, being from Mandurah he aint too smart and he is often wrong about exactly how fast that should be!
He definately isnt slow though, watch the elimination final from last year.
Whats wrong with Mandurah??
GentlemanJeff
14 Aug 2007, 13:03
Whats wrong with Mandurah??
Nothing is wrong with Mandurah, but it is statistically proven that people from the Peel region have a lower average IQ.
You move in Jeff?
Dr Ralph Dagg
14 Aug 2007, 18:53
Farren is not soft or slow. Watch some bulldogs games. I might be a bit biased having played footy with him since he first started at 16 but he is definately not soft, his head is always over the ball, always puts his body on the line. He is far from slow, he is quicker than Cooney. Not sure if this fact is still current but he did have the beep test record at the dogs.
Just want to clarify -- beep test is endurance. Speed is speed.
I've been watching Ray when I get a chance since his name came up earlier. Still can't say he impresses me enough to say he would add much to our midfield mix.
dont bowl there
14 Aug 2007, 18:55
Now with Pav, Tazza and Campbell all at the club for the next 2 years at least the pressure would go on Murphy. If he plays this week he MUST have a big game.
I've been watching Ray when I get a chance since his name came up earlier. Still can't say he impresses me enough to say he would add much to our midfield mix.
I agree
theGav56
14 Aug 2007, 23:14
He definitely adds skill. Plus with Headland being played further forward this year, we have lacked a bit of class bringing the ball into the forward 50.
By comparison, he would play every game for us, compared to Murphy's tally this year of.... well very little. Plus, whatever Murphy could do, Campbell or Drum could do just as well. Their application is 50% better.
dominguez
14 Aug 2007, 23:31
By comparison, he would play every game for us, compared to Murphy's tally this year of.... well very little. Plus, whatever Murphy could do, Campbell or Drum could do just as well. Their application is 50% better.
Ray would certainly be in our 22, but you've got to ask whether he'd help us win games of footy. McManus plays every game, but IMO we wouldn't win less games if he was out. From what I've seen Ray would be similar.
theGav56
15 Aug 2007, 11:02
Ray would certainly be in our 22, but you've got to ask whether he'd help us win games of footy. McManus plays every game, but IMO we wouldn't win less games if he was out. From what I've seen Ray would be similar.
That is a pretty high bar to set for a trade. I don't think we will get a match-winner in a trade for a player who is not in our best 22. But if he does improve the team, then that does help us win games.
Dr Ralph Dagg
15 Aug 2007, 13:43
Go back to the start of the year and have a look at how many times Macca was in our best players. Of course he helps us win games. We lost games because players who are supposed to better than him weren't.
dont bowl there
15 Aug 2007, 15:12
I dont think Ray would add anything a Peake, Schammer or Ibbo couldnt do. I would not trade Murphy for Ray, i would be after some draft picks.
theGav56
15 Aug 2007, 20:11
I dont think Ray would add anything a Peake, Schammer or Ibbo couldnt do. I would not trade Murphy for Ray, i would be after some draft picks.
Ray has much better delivery skills than either Peake or Schammer.
Ray was taken at pick 5, and if you do not value him, then he is a really good example of the way draft picks are over-valued.
dominguez
15 Aug 2007, 23:36
That is a pretty high bar to set for a trade. I don't think we will get a match-winner in a trade for a player who is not in our best 22. But if he does improve the team, then that does help us win games.
I don't expect a Judd/Pavlich/Riewoldt who can win a game single handedly, but someone who after a win you will be thinking "gee, player X was bloody good today".
Murphy for Ray would be a great trade for us. Is this on the cards, or are we just dreaming?
theGav56
16 Aug 2007, 11:07
Murphy for Ray would be a great trade for us. Is this on the cards, or are we just dreaming?
Just speculation based on the two clubs needs. They badly need a tall forward, we badly need to bolster our midfield. While I agree that Ray is not the exact match for what we need in the midfield, and Murphy likewise for the Doggies forward line, the strengths/weaknesses of the respective clubs compliment each other.
wizard_9
18 Aug 2007, 17:28
Changed my mind, either trade him or send him to CHB.
Cameron_K
18 Aug 2007, 17:29
Get rid of him, useless as tits on a bull.
ImperialPurple
18 Aug 2007, 17:29
Changed my mind, either trade him or send him to CHB.
Yeah. Pathetic for the third week in a row... :thumbsd:
wooostace
18 Aug 2007, 17:32
Ryan "Doogs" Murphy.
Except that Murphy has actually played a few good games.
Freo Big Fella
18 Aug 2007, 17:47
Flog him off to the bulldogs.
He's making Freo-era Polak look committed.
David_Brent
18 Aug 2007, 17:54
Except that Murphy has actually played a few good games.
McDougall kicked 35 goals in a season and bags of 4 like Murphy. Very little difference in reality.
Murphy has been gifted games too long. He's actually losing trade value with each game he plays.
Bradesmaen
18 Aug 2007, 18:02
Murphy didnt have much of a chance today... 3 talls in a forward line at the Dome never works especially when all three talls are good leading players.
I can pretty much 100% guarantee you he is getting traded at years end. Its already being discussed by higher ups at Fremantle
NiGHTFuRY
18 Aug 2007, 18:10
Other teams need forwards... we need midfielders.... If he is to be traded then its clear what we want in return
Its not as simple as that. You need midfielders who want to join. Bulldogs, Essendon are the main two teams being discussed. I imagine Farren Ray is the main target. Now the seasons over the club would be silly not to leave Murphy in the team. Dropping him will decrease his trade value. Play him as the loose man in defence and let the value go up
Anti Gold Coast
18 Aug 2007, 18:26
What round draft pick would you expect? 2nd-3rd, or a player?
Bradesmaen
18 Aug 2007, 18:28
First round.
Tony_Clifton
18 Aug 2007, 18:29
I can pretty much 100% guarantee you he is getting traded at years end. Its already being discussed by higher ups at Fremantle
Did you see him drinking at Crown last night too? ;)
Cameron_K
18 Aug 2007, 18:40
First round.
No chance in hell
2nd is what the club will get
No chance in hell
KPP dont go for 2nd round picks. You will get a first round pick for sure otherwise he will stay. Club wont be held to ransom
Cameron_K
18 Aug 2007, 18:57
I just can't see it. The guy has done nothing at all to warrant a 1st round pick. If Cameron can get that for him then it will be the best move he ever made
ImperialPurple
18 Aug 2007, 18:58
No chance in hell
What about if we packaged our 2nd round pick (likely to be early 20s) + Murphy and traded up to another first round pick. Maybe the Dogs might go for that. They'll have a pick somewhere soon after our first - maybe pick 7-8.
I just can't see it. The guy has done nothing at all to warrant a 1st round pick. If Cameron can get that for him then it will be the best move he ever made
Do Bulldogs really have a choice though. Freo is in the position of power. They dont have to trade him. He can stay if they like. Fev wont leave Carlton it seems which leaves Ryan Murphy as the only real target for them besides Damon White. Supply and demand will mean you get a first rounder for him or he will play for your lot next year
Cameron_K
18 Aug 2007, 19:06
They don't need him, they have doogs :D
ImperialPurple
18 Aug 2007, 19:07
I think last week, one of the commentators ("special comments" person) was saying that the Bulldogs will have to bite the bullet and trade their first round pick for a Key Forward this year. Hopefully they do, and Murphy being a Victorian, is the one that they go for...
They don't need him, they have doogs :D
In that case Essendon will be a option. They are being talked about. No idea what youd want from them or why they would want Murphy for though. Only thing I can think of is Andrew Lovett
Cameron_K
18 Aug 2007, 19:09
As long as they keep Bradley I don't care.
Club obviously want something from Essendon. Those are the two clubs they will be making offers too. Obviously Essendon have no coach so who knows what they are thinking.
Bradley for Murphy would be a spastic trade
sabre_ac
18 Aug 2007, 19:30
Club obviously want something from Essendon. Those are the two clubs they will be making offers too. Obviously Essendon have no coach so who knows what they are thinking.
Bradley for Murphy would be a spastic trade
Eagle board bit boring of late buddy?
Seems to be a fair few of your lingering..
Eagle board bit boring of late buddy?
Seems to be a fair few of your lingering..
Pretty much. Im waiting for my lift and im home alone. What else am I supposed to do :D
sabre_ac
18 Aug 2007, 19:37
Pretty much. Im waiting for my lift and im home alone. What else am I supposed to do :D
Rip there you go buddy...Freo board is the superior board.
Job well done!
Everyone else is going to the game id think....
Job well done!
:D :D :D :thumbsu:
NiGHTFuRY
18 Aug 2007, 19:38
Its not as simple as that. You need midfielders who want to join. Bulldogs, Essendon are the main two teams being discussed. I imagine Farren Ray is the main target. Now the seasons over the club would be silly not to leave Murphy in the team. Dropping him will decrease his trade value. Play him as the loose man in defence and let the value go up
Please.. go back to the west coast board.
:D :D :D :thumbsu:
Dont get your hopes up. Im leaving now. I have somehow decided that Eagles flogging Richmond is more entertaining than this. It was a tough tough choice
Murphy!
Why are you still in the team?:confused::confused:
5 kicks, 2 handballs, 4 marks, 0 goals 0 behinds.
Absolutely useless again.:mad::mad:
I heard Stan Alves going off his brain, saying Murphy was wide open and Bell refused to kick it to him?
He said something like "it shows me they have no confidence in him"
He's lost confidence in himself. What happened to the Spud who kicked over 20 goals last year with virtually no behinds??
They should drop him now.