View Full Version : Mark Harvey Report Card - Game #1 Coach

Roost
21 Jul 2007, 18:45
Well, I gotta admit, I liked what I saw.

A few new players in there, and working for each other :D

raffrox
21 Jul 2007, 18:56
The things I noticed...

Finally as promised all pre-season Mundy, Johnno, Hayden all played forward of the centre more than any other game of the season. Their class running forward is awesome.

A youngster not just got a game but got decent gametime (Drum). Even when Drum turned it over a few times to begin with, he stayed on the field.

Looked good but its only been one game.

Tundrawolf
21 Jul 2007, 18:59
Our most successful coach with a 100% winning record:D

David_Brent
21 Jul 2007, 19:03
Harvey would have had basically no impact on todays result. He ran one 40 min training session. You cant tell me he implemented a new gameplan or anything like that. The players won it today which is both encouraging and a worry that it took all this for them to stand up.

westy1
21 Jul 2007, 19:06
:thumbsu:more pressure on the opposition ball carrier

players more likely to get take possesion and move foreward immediately

drum 4 goals speaks for himself

haselby raises a sweat and takes some overhead marks

duff given a good run

no backwards handballs just direct footy

no silly free kicks and stupid 50 m penalties

players didnt seem to be constantly looking at the umps looking for free kicks

i havent decided who i would prefer as coach next year but today was a step in thre right direction for harvs :thumbsu:

krustyman
21 Jul 2007, 19:18
good away win for freo against quality opposition, harvey has implemented some positive steps to reserect the side.

Ripper
21 Jul 2007, 19:18
I liked the way He moved the players around a bit more, made us a bit more unpredictable.

Looks good so far, Hope we can repeat the dose next week.

Wing Commander
21 Jul 2007, 19:30
I told you last week. He will be a good one. He had a long apprenticeship under the best in the business.

dugrene
21 Jul 2007, 19:41
I liked the way He moved the players around a bit more, made us a bit more unpredictable.

Looks good so far, Hope we can repeat the dose next week.

Listened to most of the game on abc radio. (working).

Without any WA commentators it was a bit hard to pick up the moves but I had no doubt that there were changes around the ground by who was getting the ball where and when.
It all sounded positive (not by the commentary).
Saw the last qtr and by that time we had fought off a couple of surges and our guys where in charge.
You bloody beauty...

A few toast supporters where in the crib room and when the camera picked up the Crows supporters leaving before the game finished I pointed out that it looked like an Eagles game when they are losing.:D

malpaso
21 Jul 2007, 19:45
Harvey would have had basically no impact on todays result. He ran one 40 min training session. You cant tell me he implemented a new gameplan or anything like that. The players won it today which is both encouraging and a worry that it took all this for them to stand up.

True to a degree. But he made changes that have not been made all season. It's his first game as Head Coach and guess what, you can't take it away from him. It's a win and I'm damn happy.

We did not start the game in a defensive manner, we attacked the ball and the man ALL DAY!

The inclusion of Drum and Duffield speaks volumes.

Harvey will make changes, he's schooled under Sheedy who's famous for making radical game day decisions that pay off!!

NiGHTFuRY
21 Jul 2007, 19:46
I told you last week. He will be a good one. He had a long apprenticeship under the best in the business.

He certainly has...

Dr Zoiburg
21 Jul 2007, 19:52
Not as much rotations. Leave them on if they are getting the ball .

NiGHTFuRY
21 Jul 2007, 19:59
Over the upcoming three home matches in a row - two of which are quality sides.. we'll get a bit of an accurate idea on the Harvery factor.....

Betfair Pro Punter
21 Jul 2007, 20:10
Fremantle Coach For 1st Round Of 2008 Season

Daniher 4.00, Harvey 4.50, Laidley 5.50, Other 6.00, Sumich 8.00, Bond 10.00, McKenna 11.00, Pyke 11.00, Voss 11.00, Longmire 26.00, Riley 34.00, Viney 34.00

why is neale daniher still favourite? or is the 4.50 being offered for harvey simply generous. I just have a linguring doubt he may want to come back and coach his old team, Essendon.

Billy Hunt
21 Jul 2007, 20:24
betting the yuppie will get his other mate a job.

Freo Shark
21 Jul 2007, 20:38

WHTP Board ! :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Just cant make some people happy can you !

Billy Hunt
21 Jul 2007, 20:48
I'm as happy as a pig in mud:thumbsu:
All the young guys have confidents to show a bit of flare that was sadly missing all year. Very disciplined all day, again sadly missing all year. Harvey's the man.

chook2734
21 Jul 2007, 20:52

I still don't believe this garbage from the CC appointment, but seeing as that is long past, I'll let it go.

In regards to appointing a coach for 2008 season, the club is so far in front of where it was in 2001 that it is simply not the same place. We have a strong board in place and I'm sure I've seen suggestions that the committee for selecting a coach will involve the likes of Ben Allan and Tony Buhagiar. These guys are not going to be rail-roaded by Schwab because he wants his mate to get a job. They will do their job to select the best coach available and what is in the best interests of the Fremantle Football Club.

Billy Hunt
21 Jul 2007, 21:01
I hope your right chooky, I hope your right.

docker_azza
21 Jul 2007, 21:13
Harvey is the first freo coach to coach the side to a win in his first game.

chook2734
21 Jul 2007, 21:20
I'm really pleased that the boys stepped up for Harvs today. He genuinely seemed to have been quite upset and rattled by the events of the week - understandable I guess when he's never been through a sitution like this before. He has handled everything in a very dignified manner and coached the boys really well today.

The big test for the players will be next week though - Geelong are playing some seriously good footy and the committment will need to be there or they will be found out pretty quickly. Lets hope the leadership group show the way again and play with the same passion - I'd love to see Harvs stay on for 2008.

BWST
22 Jul 2007, 17:10
Keep him, offer him him a contract. Ive been waiting for the day to see Harvs coach.

I dont think Freo will regret it. Hopefully he wants the job.

earthquake
22 Jul 2007, 17:29
Adelaide had , Rutten , Bassett , Biglands , Bode , Hentschell, Porplyzia, Ricciuto,Vince ...OUT
Fremantle had, Farmer , Longmuir , Sandi , Murphy ..OUT

too early to celebrate Freo .

ImperialPurple
22 Jul 2007, 17:31
Adelaide had , Rutten , Bassett , Biglands , Bode , Hentschell, Porplyzia, Ricciuto,Vince ...OUT

And Peake and Schammer...

Porplzyia and Vince are fringe players for them.

So that's 6 for them and 6 for us. Pretty even number of outs there really. :rolleyes:

Tony_Clifton
22 Jul 2007, 17:44
I thought playing the extra man in the midfield rather than the backline worked well.

gravy
22 Jul 2007, 18:15
Yeah everything seemed to work better.

Matt Carr had one of his best games ever. Didn't seem to be playing that much of a shutdown game, and was therefore more creative. The use of Macca as a tagger on McLeod was pretty good.

We didn't worry so much about what their better players were doing and concentrated on winning the ball.

I always felt CC wanted to negate the oppositions A-game first and then make the play from there.

Rob
22 Jul 2007, 18:30
:thumbsu:more pressure on the opposition ball carrier

no silly free kicks and stupid 50 m penalties

The 2 biggest differences. We were far less inclined to play this zonal crap when the opposition had the ball and started to put direct pressure on the ball carrier. Funny how when you do that, they're more likely to turn the ball over.

Dr Ralph Dagg
22 Jul 2007, 23:18
Let's face it. No one would be stupid enough to try to tell you anything. If you can't see differences in the structure and player positions why expect us to point them out to you.

Dr Ralph Dagg
22 Jul 2007, 23:26

Not to mention Peake, Browne and Hadrill.

David_Brent
22 Jul 2007, 23:31
Let's face it. No one would be stupid enough to try to tell you anything. If you can't see differences in the structure and player positions why expect us to point them out to you.

Your right, I'm stupid. Please inform me of these masterstrokes.

dugrene
22 Jul 2007, 23:48
Your right, I'm stupid. Please inform me of these masterstrokes.

He probably didn't do anything that hasnt already been done. ie. Roger in the forward, rotations, letting Hasleby spend more time forward, getting Bell sweeping the backline, Drum at FF.
What he seems to have had was.. 'timing'. Probably something he learned from Sheedy.

Most people will have all the moves but without timing you could easily miss out. If your a bloke you'd probably understand.

Topdock65
23 Jul 2007, 11:35
Early days yet , But loved what i saw ...

Players seem happy and played with passion and commitment.
Pav turned it on.
Few changes like Hayden to forward line, drum and duffield in the game. Gilmore getting more confident. Warnock unreal !!!

Loved the way Mark Harvey handled himself in the media... no spin, or worn out sayings ..

We got nothing to lose against the cats ....

Harvs WELL DONE MATE ...

Dr Ralph Dagg
23 Jul 2007, 19:07
Did you check page 5 of the post-game footy liftout in today's West. It's all neatly explained for you.

Admitteddly I only noticed three out of five. But, I could feel the vibe baby, I could feel the vibe.

Dr Ralph Dagg
23 Jul 2007, 19:11
He probably didn't do anything that hasnt already been done. ie. Roger in the forward, rotations, letting Hasleby spend more time forward, getting Bell sweeping the backline, Drum at FF.
What he seems to have had was.. 'timing'. Probably something he learned from Sheedy.

Most people will have all the moves but without timing you could easily miss out. If your a bloke you'd probably understand.
Roger up forward was new as far as I can tell. I've been fantasizing about that for at least 3 years -- ever since he had to play FP in an Essendon game due to injury, and carved them up.

Letting Matty Carr run a loose tag was new. Putting Macca on McLeod was genius. Leaving Parker out was different to what CC was saying early in the week. Putting Solly in the centre changed the mix around.