View Full Version : Welcome back Cousins... WELCOME BACK WEST COAST!

kilaw
21 Jul 2007, 23:25
Wonderful today, intensity was as good as it has ever been. Cousins, well I don't know how we did anything without the man. How freaking good is the guy? 3 votes for sure!

West Coast Eagles are back.

kilaw
21 Jul 2007, 23:26
To add to that, some more positives out of today:

Staker... speaks for itself
Hansen... as above :D

Lynch needs to get his sh*t together though, had a very avg. game.

Leadfoot101
21 Jul 2007, 23:33
Yeah I reckon Ben had a good game - Ch 10 was saying his best performance was 39 possessions. He got 38.

Arcadion
22 Jul 2007, 00:04
To add to that, some more positives out of today:

Staker... speaks for itself
Hansen... as above :D

Lynch needs to get his sh*t together though, had a very avg. game.
Lynch was good considering the amount of flooding he had to deal with.

Kempie
22 Jul 2007, 00:13
Lynch was good considering the amount of flooding he had to deal with.

Very true that :thumbsu:

16 possies, 10 marks, and our leading inside 50s with 7. Not too bad.

Genesis67
22 Jul 2007, 00:17
Lynch held more contested marks that he didnt. Wasnt too bad, covered a lot of ground.

One of Staker's best, hopefully that will be the breakout that we've all been waiting so long for. Was surprised that he didnt start on Goodes again after Rnd 1, but did up forward very well. Too bad he didnt hold that screamer, but the slips catch was an awesome effort!

WB Hansen. Just the most important Eagle of all.

And last of all, not a bad game by that guy running around in the #9 jumper...

:D :p

since82eags
22 Jul 2007, 01:34
If Lecca can play ablinder like stakes did tonite the Dogs are gone.

kilaw
22 Jul 2007, 02:52
We still got Wirra, Fletcher and Nicoski to come back in :D

pol06
22 Jul 2007, 04:08
cousins is a legend

Juddism
22 Jul 2007, 12:49
West Coast Eagles are back.

not quite...we need to win consecutive games before that can be said with authority. lets wait until we've played next week.

wce4premiership
22 Jul 2007, 15:37
Ben Cousins is a machine, he reads the play better then anyone in the afl.

ManWithNoName
22 Jul 2007, 18:49
It's great to see Cousins back. I reckon he's massively underrated over here in Victoria. He's sensational to watch and never stops running. Pity I'll have to wait until next year to see him run around again.

kilaw
22 Jul 2007, 21:17
It's great to see Cousins back. I reckon he's massively underrated over here in Victoria. He's sensational to watch and never stops running. Pity I'll have to wait until next year to see him run around again.

You can see him this Friday night.

Juddy88
23 Jul 2007, 02:25
Well done Ben.
Absolute champion

jod23
23 Jul 2007, 04:03
What a player. Cousins is a champion footballer in every sense of the word. He will turn our season around!

.Shotties.
23 Jul 2007, 13:00
I was glad to see him back, but the "returning hero" thing was a bit overdone. Did anyone see the sign that said something along the lines of "We applaud what you've been through" (can't remember the exact wording.)? Was I the only one who thought it was a bit odd?

Anyway, not to detract from him, it's great to see one of the best players in the game back, however bitter my words a few weeks ago of "I can't wait to see him back tearing other teams to shreds" taste now.

Keyser Soze
23 Jul 2007, 13:29
I was glad to see him back, but the "returning hero" thing was a bit overdone. Did anyone see the sign that said something along the lines of "We applaud what you've been through" (can't remember the exact wording.)? Was I the only one who thought it was a bit odd?

Anyway, not to detract from him, it's great to see one of the best players in the game back, however bitter my words a few weeks ago of "I can't wait to see him back tearing other teams to shreds" taste now.

Gotta say that I pretty much agree with these sentiments.

It was great to see him back playing again but I did feel that the returning hero vibe was a bit over the top. Well done to Cousins for battling his addiction, but the reality is that his problem was a self inflicted one.

His game on Saturday night just underlined how important he is to our team and I can't help but wonder where we might be this year if he had been available from Round 1. The club and Cousins only have themselves to blame for that though.

Alphanumeric
23 Jul 2007, 13:53

Yeah I agree with you.

I think we have to remember though that he hasn't killed, raped, assaulted or robbed anyone.

He has done something that alot of people in today's society have done, including myself. He has let down alot of people and made himself and the footy club look stupid.

Time to move on.

ManWithNoName
23 Jul 2007, 19:18
You can see him this Friday night.
That would require watching a neutral game, something I haven't done since watching the last quarter of last years GF.

I meant see him live at the game.

Ted Ed Fred
23 Jul 2007, 19:26
We're far from 'back'. Losses at home to ordinary teams such as Brisbane have done a lot of damage to our season, the 1 point loss to Essendon was costly too in hindsight.

I thought we were 'back' after the Adelaide game, look what happened after that :thumbsd:

The boys have got a lot of work to do yet.

mrs_richo
23 Jul 2007, 19:44
We're far from 'back'. Losses at home to ordinary teams such as Brisbane have done a lot of damage to our season, the 1 point loss to Essendon was costly too in hindsight.

I thought we were 'back' after the Adelaide game, look what happened after that :thumbsd:

The boys have got a lot of work to do yet.

As an opposition fan and an admirer of Ben Cousins all i will say is WELCOME BACK CHAMP.

Bunga_From_65
23 Jul 2007, 19:45
we'd best take it one game at a time. we lose next week and we're ****ed.

cuz was great but lets hope the whole team can keep it up.

kilaw
23 Jul 2007, 20:33
That would require watching a neutral game, something I haven't done since watching the last quarter of last years GF.

I meant see him live at the game.

You should try it! Being a Victorian Eagles fan, I don't get much West Coast live, but I often go to Essendon, Hawks and Melbourne matches with my mates. It feels sorta good not caring who wins.

ManWithNoName
23 Jul 2007, 21:34
You should try it! Being a Victorian Eagles fan, I don't get much West Coast live, but I often go to Essendon, Hawks and Melbourne matches with my mates. It feels sorta good not caring who wins.
I used to watch as many games as I could. Now the game is a soft, weak, pathetic imitation of what it once was. Can barely stand 10 minutes of a game invovling Essendon if I'm not at the ground, let alone a neutral game.

shoe
23 Jul 2007, 22:11

Yeah, i'd noticed that too, at the time I thought it was kind of overdone and had a bit of a chuckle.. but after giving it some thought something occurred to me. The mob went on and on about footy players being poor role models over this whole fiasco (and not without some basis), but I would hazard a guess that the way the story has ended (at this point, anyway) would be a good inspiration to a fair few people. Everyone's going to make mistakes in their lives and really Cuz has shown a lot of impressionable kids that it is possible to work hard, overcome terrible problems (even if self inflicted) and get your life back of track - and then some.

I don't know if i've romanticised that, looking through my rose coloured glasses and all, but I think it's a valid observation. Welcome back Cuz, keep fighting those demons mate. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

.Shotties.
24 Jul 2007, 01:19
Oh I don't mean to put crap on him, but at the same time, it seems as a neutral (my opinion is pretty neutral since I despise all sorts of drug testing and the moral outrage from an angry mob who stank of tobacco and alcohol rose bile) that this is kinda the opposite to the lynch mob.

Overcoming addiction is a difficult process that breaks people more often than not, but at the same time, I struggle to grasp the image that's been presented from some quarters of Judd as someone who fell foul, was unfairly treated and against all odds returned to prove everyone wrong.

No one brought his addiction on but himself, he was not disadvantaged or living in desperate circumstances. When he did admit to his problem (a long time coming, judging by a few incidents) he was able to afford the best rehabilitation centre and had his recovery and return to football aided by a team of -ists.

Again I should clarify that I'm not attempting to hang on him, any player could spend Saturday night railing whatever they wanted, as long as they turned up fit for training on Monday, but at the same time, I feel as though his return has been a tad over-romanticised by some.

ps: It's late and I'm tired, advanced apologies for any writing irregularities that may arise.

Keyser Soze
24 Jul 2007, 01:21
Oh I don't mean to put crap on him, but at the same time, it seems as a neutral (my opinion is pretty neutral since I despise all sorts of drug testing and the moral outrage from an angry mob who stank of tobacco and alcohol rose bile) that this is kinda the opposite to the lynch mob.

Overcoming addiction is a difficult process that breaks people more often than not, but at the same time, I struggle to grasp the image that's been presented from some quarters of Judd as someone who fell foul, was unfairly treated and against all odds returned to prove everyone wrong.

No one brought his addiction on but himself, he was not disadvantaged or living in desperate circumstances. When he did admit to his problem (a long time coming, judging by a few incidents) he was able to afford the best rehabilitation centre and had his recovery and return to football aided by a team of -ists.

Again I should clarify that I'm not attempting to hang on him, any player could spend Saturday night railing whatever they wanted, as long as they turned up fit for training on Monday, but at the same time, I feel as though his return has been a tad over-romanticised by some.

ps: It's late and I'm tired, advanced apologies for any writing irregularities that may arise.

It definitely must be late:D.

kilaw
24 Jul 2007, 01:50
Can't judge him though Shotties. Only one Man can.

Don't care how the commentators made it seem, he was missing for 16 weeks, and it was great to see him back on the ground. Everyone deserves a second chance.

Eagle_Eye_Dim
24 Jul 2007, 03:17
I think some people might be reading into it a bit too much. Why has Cousins' standing ovation had so much criticism and being labelled as "over-done"?

Has anyone paused to think that the standing ovation, the loud cheers, etc aimed at Cousins were through pure enjoyment at seeing him just back on Subi oval again? I am not undermining the great comeback itself and the respective initial standing ovation for what he has been able to overcome, but as to the prolonged enjoyment and excitement, I would bet my bottom dollar that the 40,000 fans were just happy to actually see him on the field again.

Quite frankly for those four quarters he was out there on the oval (after the standing ovation), I don't know about you, but I forgot about all the polictics - I just watched in absolute amazement and joy as Cousins racked up the possessions.

Kempie
24 Jul 2007, 03:52
I think some people might be reading into it a bit too much. Why has Cousins' standing ovation had so much criticism and being labelled as "over-done"?

Has anyone paused to think that the standing ovation, the loud cheers, etc aimed at Cousins were through pure enjoyment at seeing him just back on Subi oval again? I am not undermining the great comeback itself and the respective initial standing ovation for what he has been able to overcome, but as to the prolonged enjoyment and excitement, I would bet my bottom dollar that the 40,000 fans were just happy to actually see him on the field again.

Quite frankly for those four quarters he was out there on the oval (after the standing ovation), I don't know about you, but I forgot about all the polictics - I just watched in absolute amazement and joy as Cousins racked up the possessions.

Sadly I wasn't there, but I most likely would have joined the standing ovation just because he was finally playing again, without so much as a thought about drugs, media coverage, AFL politics - they wouldn't have entered my mind.

kellzzbellzz
25 Jul 2007, 00:11

It was great, absolutely awesome.

Another reason to stand up was that the person in front stood up so you couldn't see unless you stood up too ;)

GO EAGLES
25 Jul 2007, 00:48
Sadly I wasn't there, but I most likely would have joined the standing ovation just because he was finally playing again, without so much as a thought about drugs, media coverage, AFL politics - they wouldn't have entered my mind.

CAROLINE WILSON is a bitch