View Full Version : Staker
Lion El'Johnson
22 Jul 2007, 00:30
STAAAKEEEERRR!!!
Where have you been hiding? :D Some great looking work today and magical stuff to watch. Our inclusions - Hansen and Staker (7 goals) and Kerr, Cousins, Stenglein (How many possessions?) absolutely amazing.
Genesis67
22 Jul 2007, 00:33
If only he'd taken that screamer.....would just have topped his best game in the blue and gold off!
Keyser Soze
22 Jul 2007, 00:36
If only he'd taken that screamer.....would just have topped his best game in the blue and gold off!
Would have been a serious contender for mark of the year.
He really added some bite to our side tonight. Tired towards the end a bit but with 3 or 4 weeks out with a leg injury that is understandable.
Alphanumeric
22 Jul 2007, 00:42
I reckon Staker has been good all year.
Stenglein's a Champ!
22 Jul 2007, 00:45
How about his one-handed horizontal grab?!
Genesis67
22 Jul 2007, 00:47
Beat that Mark Waugh!! :)
And yes Alpha, he has been.
bassmanx
22 Jul 2007, 00:48
He played like a man possessed tonight.
Great to see.
George_A_Romero
22 Jul 2007, 00:49
He played fantastic tonight, but what's the bet he's hardly sighted next Friday night?
Isandula
22 Jul 2007, 00:51
Was fantastic no doubt, exactly what position is his best? thought he was good in the foward line tonight :thumbsu:
Isandula
22 Jul 2007, 00:52
He played fantastic tonight, but what's the bet he's hardly sighted next Friday night?
Geez do you have to put a negative spin on things http://www.aflonline.com.au/forums/style_emoticons/default/rolleyes.gif I hope he proves you wrong.
Monkey Worshipper
22 Jul 2007, 00:54
Superman eat ya heart out
weagles_fan
22 Jul 2007, 00:54
We could really hurt the Dogs next week if we play all of Staker, Lynch and Hansen in the forward line. I mean any or all of them could kick a bag on the Dogs crappy KPD's.
George_A_Romero
22 Jul 2007, 00:59
Geez do you have to put a negative spin on things http://www.aflonline.com.au/forums/style_emoticons/default/rolleyes.gif I hope he proves you wrong.
So do I. :thumbsu:
Isandula
22 Jul 2007, 01:04
So do I. :thumbsu:
Great to see optimism http://www.aflonline.com.au/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif lets hope Sydney have kick started another winning streak http://www.aflonline.com.au/forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbup.gif the only prob is playing at the slippery TD for 3 games....
italia_champions69
22 Jul 2007, 01:07
Im a passionate Collingwood fan and to tell ya the truth dont rate him. Whenever west coast play the pies Clement absolutely towels him. Cant play well against the best defenders and thats why he aint good to stand up in finals
sdb4884
22 Jul 2007, 01:08
Well Im glad that we didn't trade him for that hack Tarrant. Im sure that he'd fit nicely into your 22.
Stenglein's a Champ!
22 Jul 2007, 01:10
Im a passionate Collingwood fan and to tell ya the truth dont rate him.
That cuts deep, real deep.
Played a very good game tonight.
Monkey Worshipper
22 Jul 2007, 01:13
Im a passionate Collingwood fan and to tell ya the truth dont rate him. Whenever west coast play the pies Clement absolutely towels him. Cant play well against the best defenders and thats why he aint good to stand up in finals
Well...
I know I'd rather 1 of of WCE players to fail in the finals, rather than the whole team (The Wobbles).
Get back in ya box.
italia_champions69
22 Jul 2007, 01:20
Well Im glad that we didn't trade him for that hack Tarrant. Im sure that he'd fit nicely into your 22.
He reminds me of Tarrant, plays one good game a year.
italia_champions69
22 Jul 2007, 01:21
Well...
I know I'd rather 1 of of WCE players to fail in the finals, rather than the whole team (The Wobbles).
Get back in ya box.
its hard to fail in finals when your on drugs!!!!
sdb4884
22 Jul 2007, 01:25
I'd like to use one of Didak's guns to do a number on you now.
Monkey Worshipper
22 Jul 2007, 01:27
its easy to fail in finals when your team dresses up in ballerina dresses to prance around on "dancing with the poofs".
Stenglein's a Champ!
22 Jul 2007, 01:33
You could've at least come up with something half witty.
since82eags
22 Jul 2007, 01:33
Poor old Collingwood I was only 8 when they last won a flag more Victoiran envy please.
italia_champions69
22 Jul 2007, 01:38
I'd like to use one of Didak's guns to do a number on you now.
At least thats an off-field incident - where your team are CHEATS.... Last years flag will be tarnished forever.
Milkman
22 Jul 2007, 01:48
Freakish talent.
If this guy ever manages to keep his confidence up for an extended period, he's got 'star' written all over him.
Jimmy_the_Gent
22 Jul 2007, 01:49
He's just turned 23 and he's getting to that stage of his careers where he'll become comfortable with being in the side and showing what he can do more consistently. He's not a guy we should be expecting to dominate finals because he's still raw, but the time will hopefully come when he's expected to play a large part in big games.
Personally, I'd compare his development to that of Hunter. Not saying they're similar players or anything but I remember when Hunter was younger a lot of poeple got on his back for brain fades, now they're non-existant though. Same will happen with Staker, I think, and he'll stay in games for longer periods too.
In the end he'll most likely end up as the ultimate icing on the cake player. (Don't use the obvious 'ice' pun please).
Monkey Worshipper
22 Jul 2007, 01:50
At least that's an off-field incident - where your team are CHEATS.... Last years flag will be tarnished forever.
The blood of an innocent lays at the hands of your club and yet you do nothing. DISGRACE.
Your players pi$$ on the grave of Darren Milane by embracing alcoholism & drugs at nightclubs and escape punishment. DISGRACE.
Your so called champion captain (a broken down uncontested backline 30 possie reciever) sold out from the Bears and will NEVER win a flag. POETIC JUSTICE IS SERVED. And he's a DISGRACE.
Keyser Soze
22 Jul 2007, 01:56
At least thats an off-field incident - where your team are CHEATS.... Last years flag will be tarnished forever.
Just how did we cheat dickwad?
The only guy under any sort of suspiscion just collected a lazy 38 possies which should prove his previous perfomances had nothing to do with drugs and everything to do with the fact he is a reasonably talented footballer.
Jimmy_the_Gent
22 Jul 2007, 01:58
The blood of an innocent lays at the hands of your club and yet you do nothing. DISGRACE.
Your players pi$$ on the grave of Darren Milane by embracing alcoholism & drugs at nightclubs and escape punishment. DISGRACE.
Your so called champion captain (a broken down uncontested backline 30 possie reciever) sold out from the Bears and will NEVER win a flag. POETIC JUSTICE IS SERVED. And he's a DISGRACE.
Someone remind me never to piss this guy off.
Honestly, you should go to the main board. We need people like you over there helping with minor footy propaganda and what not.
italia_champions69
22 Jul 2007, 02:02
You know what mate, YOUR A DISGRACE for being one of those clowns who believe Didak is responsible for that mans death. And COUSINS AND KERR ARE A DISGRACE,, contact with known drug dealers and the biggest cheats in the AFL. they are a disgrace to our great game and i wouldnt be surprised if their connection with gang members are those of the Hell's Angels. You never know with the West Coke Eagles!!!!!! and again referring to off-field incidents...when ya win a flag without the losers and drug cheats in your team, give me a ring then i may give them some respect!!:thumbsd:
Keyser Soze
22 Jul 2007, 02:12
You know what mate, YOUR A DISGRACE for being one of those clowns who believe Didak is responsible for that mans death. And COUSINS AND KERR ARE A DISGRACE,, contact with known drug dealers and the biggest cheats in the AFL. they are a disgrace to our great game and i wouldnt be surprised if their connection with gang members are those of the Hell's Angels. You never know with the West Coke Eagles!!!!!! and again referring to off-field incidents...when ya win a flag without the losers and drug cheats in your team, give me a ring then i may give them some respect!!:thumbsd:
Coffin Cheaters >>> Hells Angels:thumbsu:
At least we hang around with real bikies.;)
You tool.:rolleyes:
Stenglein's a Champ!
22 Jul 2007, 02:12
Ok, now this is just getting annoying.
We didn't cheat on-field ********.
Lion El'Johnson
22 Jul 2007, 02:16
monkey worshippers post is absolutely hilarious... if you take it lightly anyway. It's also kinda scary.
Just ignore the troll. He's got more posts than braincells.
TheBigUnit
22 Jul 2007, 02:34
Very impressive performance. Did some freakish things. Will be interesting to see how he's used by Woosha for the rest of this year as he's had some very good games both down back and up forward.
patsmith
22 Jul 2007, 02:52
Hopefully a watershed game for Stakes. Played reeally well, and looked every part the AFL player that he should be,
Mastablingbling
22 Jul 2007, 11:44
His past performances would suggest that last night was a once off.
Don't mind him doing it more often though and proving me wrong :)
Only KPP in the game who can move like that is Buddy Franklin for mine. Stakers speed is insane and his agility matches it. He has ZERO footy smarts but it doesnt matter when you move like that. He glides almost
bunsen burner
22 Jul 2007, 11:53
At least thats an off-field incident - where your team are CHEATS.... Last years flag will be tarnished forever.Settle down champ, I've seem players from your club out at clubs on drugs.
West Coast 06
22 Jul 2007, 12:17
His past performances would suggest that last night was a once off.
Don't mind him doing it more often though and proving me wrong :)Where were you earlier in the year?
Staker has been very good this year. I give you round 1's towelling of Goodes as exibit A.
He is becoming important, he really wants to be important to our team as being left out of last years finals cut deep and he doesn't want that to happen again. Good on him, just wish that enthusiasm and passion would rub off on a few others who did get a premiership medalion.
Ambrose Burnside
22 Jul 2007, 12:37
I was hoping he'd play as a tagger on Goodes (like he did in Round 1) because I was convinced his brain fades would cost us dearly as a KPP.
I was wrong.
However, he is still the very definition of inconsistent, and he probably attempts to burst through packs too often. Last night he pulled it off, but I've seen him get pinged for holding the ball far too many times. It looks awesome when it works though. Remember his huge fend off and goal! :eek:
He is an athletic freak. I just want him to play like he did last night all the time, because I call stuffing up big time "pulling a Staker" :D and based on last night's performance it's a bit harsh but I still think he'll be back to his bumbling "best" soon enough.
Prove me wrong again Staker!
West Coast 06
22 Jul 2007, 12:39
Im a passionate Collingwood fan and to tell ya the truth dont rate him. Whenever west coast play the pies Clement absolutely towels him. Cant play well against the best defenders and thats why he aint good to stand up in finalsShould be right if we meet you in the finals then, do you think Clement will be playing by then?;) Actually how many games has Clement even played on him, be interested to know?
For your info he doesn't only play up forward, in fact has played in defence on more occassions this year. Has also had a few tagging jobs which he has done very well at against good opposition. If you think he is the Staker you saw in the 05 GF, you are a long way off the mark.
Mastablingbling
22 Jul 2007, 12:59
Where were you earlier in the year?
Staker has been very good this year. I give you round 1's towelling of Goodes as exibit A.
He is becoming important, he really wants to be important to our team as being left out of last years finals cut deep and he doesn't want that to happen again. Good on him, just wish that enthusiasm and passion would rub off on a few others who did get a premiership medalion.
To say that he has been very good would be wrong.
He has been better but let's not get carried away. It's his 5th season and he only turns it on when he feels like it.
eaglerock
22 Jul 2007, 13:05
had a great game tonight needs to perform on a more regular basis hopefully he can.
Eagles 4 Mine
22 Jul 2007, 13:18
I had lost a lot of respect for Staker but he is slowly turning into a very good footballer , WELL DONE STAKER:thumbsu:
Has Robert Walls hijacked this thread? ;)
Staker sensational play mate, I hope you back it up this Friday night! :thumbsu:
Ted Ed Fred
22 Jul 2007, 15:18
We might be cheats but your team are bigger cheats... everyone knows you get an unfair advantage in the draw every year and you still can't achieve anything of note :)
wce4premiership
22 Jul 2007, 15:42
That mark in the square was a classic.
Been fantastic this year. Played a sensational game last night. :thumbsu:
italia_champions69
22 Jul 2007, 17:46
Settle down champ, I've seem players from your club out at clubs on drugs.
HAHAHAHAAH, name when and where? lol, ur giving me a McStitch....
You're suggesting all Collingwood players are clean? Haha. :o
Anyway, back on topic, this thread is about Staker. :)
mudgeathon
22 Jul 2007, 17:53
Saying McStitch and using 'Mc' in general isn't actually funny; no matter how many times you say it
italia_champions69
22 Jul 2007, 17:55
Should be right if we meet you in the finals then, do you think Clement will be playing by then?;) Actually how many games has Clement even played on him, be interested to know?
For your info he doesn't only play up forward, in fact has played in defence on more occassions this year. Has also had a few tagging jobs which he has done very well at against good opposition. If you think he is the Staker you saw in the 05 GF, you are a long way off the mark.
Round 16 2006 - 8 possessions, 2 goals
Round 7 2006 - 3 handballs and thats it, played %100 of the game
Herald Sun footy site is my source
Enough said really....didnt really improve from 05 but there is the proof
and the 2nd paragraph was a weak argument, any player can do those defensive roles
Mighty Eagles
22 Jul 2007, 18:27
Without a doubt last night was his best game, in his entire career. After 4 seasons in the AFL I believe he has been inconsistant and I don't think he has elite skills, but last night was a terrific game.
94_Eagles
22 Jul 2007, 19:20
Was fantastic no doubt, exactly what position is his best? thought he was good in the foward line tonight :thumbsu:
Been pretty consistent this year when he has played. With Bulldogs lacking height in defense I expect 2 or 3 strong grabs in the goal square. Can't wait for friday night!
Ambrose Burnside
22 Jul 2007, 19:25
We usually play three tall forwards and last night was similar to the way we played the bulk of last year: Lynch, Hansen and Staker.
It looked good.
West Coast 06
22 Jul 2007, 20:28
Round 16 2006 - 8 possessions, 2 goals
Round 7 2006 - 3 handballs and thats it, played %100 of the game
Herald Sun footy site is my source
Enough said really....didnt really improve from 05 but there is the proof
and the 2nd paragraph was a weak argument, any player can do those defensive roles
Thats nice, show me where it says he played on Clement for the whole game.
Besides that, I think the general gist of the thread is the improvement he has made this season.
italia_champions69
22 Jul 2007, 20:37
Thats nice, show me where it says he played on Clement for the whole game.
Besides that, I think the general gist of the thread is the improvement he has made this season.
Well it sounds just as bad if he didnt line up on Clement (best defender in the comp) as he then played on a defender of lesser ability. Also one good game doesnt mean he has improved from last season. Improvement is when you have good games consistently not once every 16 weeks.
West Coast 06
22 Jul 2007, 20:47
Well it sounds just as bad if he didnt line up on Clement (best defender in the comp) as he then played on a defender of lesser ability. Also one good game doesnt mean he has improved from last season. Improvement is when you have good games consistently not once every 16 weeks.Well perhaps Mick should have tried putting Clement on Lynch for a while in that round 7 game since he kicked 5 goals?
Read the thread again, Staker has had more than one good game this year. How many has Clement had?
Isandula
22 Jul 2007, 20:54
Well it sounds just as bad if he didnt line up on Clement (best defender in the comp) as he then played on a defender of lesser ability. Also one good game doesnt mean he has improved from last season. Improvement is when you have good games consistently not once every 16 weeks.
Go back to your own board feral collingwood supporter, and your trolling sucks big time http://www.aflonline.com.au/forums/style_emoticons/default/rolleyes.gif
italia_champions69
22 Jul 2007, 20:57
Well perhaps Mick should have tried putting Clement on Lynch for a while in that round 7 game since he kicked 5 goals?
Read the thread again, Staker has had more than one good game this year. How many has Clement had?
Thought the thread was on Staker but your bringing up Lynch :confused:
Clement has only played 5 or 6 games this year but has probably still had more of an impact than Staker. Staker is giving you false hope!!!
Milkman
22 Jul 2007, 21:00
Clement has only played 5 or 6 games this year but has probably still had more of an impact than Staker. Staker is giving you false hope!!!
Damn, we'd better inform Worsfold that some random on BigFooty knows Staker is giving us false hope.
Stenglein's a Champ!
22 Jul 2007, 21:50
Any member with 69 in their name immediately loses respect.
Posting tends to just make it worse.
Monkey Worshipper
22 Jul 2007, 22:37
And I thought this was a thread was about WCE and not Collingdud aka The Wobbles.
Nonetheless...
The only false hope I'm getting from this thread is the false hope that incest / inbreeding / knocking up ya Mum maybe on the wane down at Collingdud.
Feral's like you tell me that this country has a long way to go.:thumbsd:
Dodgy Barry
22 Jul 2007, 22:40
And I thought this was a thread was about WCE and not Collingdud aka The Wobbles.
Nonetheless...
The only false hope I'm getting from this thread is the false hope that incest / inbreeding / knocking up ya Mum maybe on the wane down at Collingdud.
Feral's like you tell me that this country has a long way to go.:thumbsd:
You the man:thumbsu:
Monkey Worshipper
22 Jul 2007, 22:44
Hmm... Santa Maria 69
Seems you take great pleasure in rubbishing every player on every board... Goodes.. Hawks... the list goes on.
And for the record... Dale Thomas = FRAUD, which you are as well.
I herbey decree SHENANIGANS.
Stakers is finally coming of age this season. hes always been a long term project player. He has been great this year and will only continue to improve. The only thing that hes lacking is size. While hes a lot bigger now, he still needs to fill out a little more.
Someones made a great point before that Staker is as agile and quick as Buddy Franklin. Staker is a dynamic freak for his size and can do alot of special things but just needs time to grown in confidence and mature. Hes definately on his way..
Wet Toast Rule
22 Jul 2007, 23:45
Staker has been really impressive last few games. He was good down back early, but in the game against Essendon showed he can be used out of the square as well.
Hes got awesome hands, and his agility is remarkable for his size. He reminds me a little of Judd with his ballhandling as well - one handed pickups, twists out of trouble etc.
The really good thing is that for a relatively shy guy he's coming out of his shell now and i imagine he's thinking "i dont give a sh*t im just going to show what i can do ".
I'm just waiting for him to really break it open and get a bag - 5/6 goals. Then everybody will start noticing.
He seems to have a bit more confidence about him, something which Lynch and Embley in particular seemed to lack last night and which really does make a big difference to performance.
When confidence is high you see players back themselves more, and play better, and we saw that with Staker and his attempted screamer, as well as that terrific mark and the goal which I don't think he would have done last year. Probably playing for a spot in the team and gave it his all which was fantastic to see. Needs to back it up though.
flyinghi64
23 Jul 2007, 01:51
I just want to see him back it up next week and the week after etc etc
Staker was pretty impressive...that goal after charging out and giving Schneider the 'dont argue' was a beauty.
Let's hope its his breakout performance. He reminds me of Embley, you know he has all the tools to be a star but can never put it altogether. After years of frustration, Embley finally did and now he is star. Let's hope Staker does the same.
The boy needs a haircut though! aerodynamics, he probably would have got to that screamer!
Everyones always out for Stakers head and im glad he had a great game. Took some fantastic marks in the Goal Square which is what we need(re Lynch Thread :P ) and yer the push off in the was hilarious.
That game made my night. Shame we lost the lkead by so much
Ambrose Burnside
23 Jul 2007, 17:41
Everyones always out for Stakers head
That's because 9 times out of 10 he doesn't use it. I hope he keeps playing like he did against Sydney though because he was awesome.
Consistency has always been his problem though.
Staker has a mark AND goal nomination this week, everyone vote for him!
http://www.afl.com.au/markgoal/
Mighty Eagles
27 Jul 2007, 23:58
Career best form, although quite 2nd half
Isandula
28 Jul 2007, 00:00
Career best form, although quite 2nd half
At least he back it up though http://www.aflonline.com.au/forums/style_emoticons/default/thumbup.gif and consecutive wins for West Coast, since round 6, been a long time between drinks!
Keyser Soze
28 Jul 2007, 01:29
A comment during tonight's game got me thinking - Staker was referrred to as our swingman which was Hunter's forte.
Based on form this year has Staker gone past Hunter?
George_A_Romero
28 Jul 2007, 01:31
Thanks for proving me wrong, BS.
TheBigUnit
28 Jul 2007, 01:49
although quite 2nd half
Keep in mind he was on the pine for most the time.
Genesis67
28 Jul 2007, 02:04
Keep in mind he was on the pine for most the time.
Wonder if there was a flare up of the shin splints.
TD is a sod of a ground.... :thumbsd:
Mastablingbling
28 Jul 2007, 10:37
Another good game.
I can't remember the last time he strung a couple of quality ones together.
Bravo :thumbsu: :)
STTAAAAAAAAAAAKER!!!!!!!!!! Played very well last night.
I hope his shins are OK. :thumbsu:
Ambrose Burnside
28 Jul 2007, 11:23
Just keep him in the goal square :thumbsu:
daddy_4_eyes
28 Jul 2007, 11:38
Staker has the safest pair of hands at the eagles. One grab overhead marks look routine for him.
Another great game from him last night, but i wonder why he didn't spend much time on the ground in the 2nd half? Was clearly our most potent forward.
Ambrose Burnside
28 Jul 2007, 11:46
Was clearly our most potent forward.
Not anymore!
Seriously though, he was probably benched for the same reasons as Judd, Cousins and Glass. Rest :thumbsu:
:D. Staker is going to be a gun, Leave him be. Who needs Fev when we have SuperStaker.
He has really improved some of his body work was outstanding and he had three direct assists that I counted. Could be our X factor come finals as he seems extremely hard to match up on.
wce4premiership
29 Jul 2007, 14:11
It seems he nows what he has to do now and his marking is quite amazing.
I never knew how good his set shots were either but he seemed very good.
His set shots have improved out of sight since coming back from injury.
Staker marking has always been good but now he is backing it up with good kicking.
Great signs. :thumbsu:
94_Eagles
29 Jul 2007, 15:21
I now rescind my 'Staker is useless' thread of 2-3 years ago.
Too late !
It's there to be *bumped* for eternity :)
Gunnar Longshanks
18 Aug 2007, 21:15
We need more from Staker.
He did bugger-all against the Kangas last week - should be able to have an impact against the Tigers.
Thewlis Dish
18 Aug 2007, 21:51
Ridiculous report.
greennick
19 Aug 2007, 00:11
Ridiculous report.
Yeah, I think the umpire obviously saw it differently from his angle. Should be right at least.
He will be fine.
Stupid charge.
Missing Doogs
19 Aug 2007, 00:34
Report will get thrown out.
He played well tonight, much better than last week.
When he gets out on a lead and puts up the dukes, just seems alot cleaner than seasons gone by. I remember when he played CHF when Ash was out in the past he was pushed out of contests and couldn't take a contested mark for his life. Much more confident tonight and good awareness around the goals for two oppurtunistic snaps.