View Full Version : The Silence of Ben Cousins...
SOSBenny
22 Jul 2007, 14:49
is because he generally resents the media for the way they have carried on about it for the last 4 months! I think he is very angry about it all, and if he had the chance...he'd tell them all where to go.
The way he brushed Goss off last night at the end of the game, it just looked as if he was going to continue to refuse to talk because of the way they just continued on...the speculation, the innuendo and continued rumors.
Remember, we STILL don't know the full story! I reckon it'll be a hell of alot different that what the media have told us!
Good on him for not talking to anyone.
Let the man play footy!
Imagine 6 more 38 possie matches - some rough Brownlow chance id Say ;)
And to think the lions thought they were bringing him back because we didn't respect them...
Good on Cuz last night i think a lot of the teams that didnt respect us will be a tad more worried.
is because he generally resents the media for the way they have carried on about it for the last 4 months! I think he is very angry about it all, and if he had the chance...he'd tell them all where to go.
The way he brushed Goss off last night at the end of the game, it just looked as if he was going to continue to refuse to talk because of the way they just continued on...the speculation, the innuendo and continued rumors.
Remember, we STILL don't know the full story! I reckon it'll be a hell of alot different that what the media have told us!
sooner or later i think he will come out and give a decent lashing to the media in particular the writers of the age. either it will happen at the end of the season or after he retires. the way how they pushed him around with false facts (only legit one was substance abuse) would get under anyones skin.
SOSBenny
22 Jul 2007, 15:08
I wanna put Caro in a boxing ring with Ben..
ooohhhh baby...I'd love to watch him beat her/him up :D
i dunno guys, cuzzy is too professional to really worry about the media and to come out and publicly lash them.
generally i think he's always obliging to the media and extremely friendly, but last night he understandably declined comment as its not really something we need at the moment.
maybe you guys are just hoping he would burn the media to satisfy your/our/my hate for them.
wce4premiership
22 Jul 2007, 15:44
Cousins is naturally good natured and will find it hard to hold a grudge, but i hope he does.
The_Eagles
22 Jul 2007, 15:57
oops didnt mean to post in this thread
crazzzy_grrl
22 Jul 2007, 16:06
I don't think he really brushed of Goss, just politely declined to speak and Goss respected that
jorel6669
22 Jul 2007, 16:17
I think he just wants to play footy now. He would have had enough of the media circus and he knows the job is far from done.
arfadunger
22 Jul 2007, 16:24
Don't paint all media with the same brush. While Gossage carries on like a pork chop sometimes he is a good supporter of WA footy.
def. agree.
He doesn't have to talk to anyone.
The media can go and get stuffed - they are nothing!!!
WELCOME BACK BENNY :thumbsu:
Eagles 4 Mine
22 Jul 2007, 17:13
I was that excited about this game obviously with Cuzz back I thought it was a GF.:D
happy_eagle
22 Jul 2007, 17:45
I was that excited about this game obviously with Cuzz back I thought it was a GF.:D
well we played like it and we were versin sydney
had that feeling to it didnt it, so much anticipation
slidetribe
22 Jul 2007, 17:56
The guy is a clown... its no surprise he's been relegated to boundary riding, he's a terrible commentator and created that piece of shit 'W' thing that half the supporters now think is cool to do.
His bum buddy from the western front (Cant remember his name) is also a chopstick, he obviously barracks for the dockers, and makes it obvious that he wants to root haselby.
arfadunger
22 Jul 2007, 19:11
The guy is a clown... its no surprise he's been relegated to boundary riding, he's a terrible commentator and created that piece of shit 'W' thing that half the supporters now think is cool to do.
His bum buddy from the western front (Cant remember his name) is also a chopstick, he obviously barracks for the dockers, and makes it obvious that he wants to root haselby.
I didn't say he was a good commentator, or the Western Front is a good show, I said that he is a good supporter of WA footy, and he is. He gives WAFL air time, he coaches the Subi colts, he's umpired a reserves (or maybe colts) game to get a more balanced view. I've also seen him at WAFL games with his family while he's been on holidays. So he's not super smooth but he's a real football supporter, not just a fake media performer like a lot of the others.
He umpired a colts game and was absolutely useless at it. I was a player in that game. East Perth vs West Perth. I was the one on the highlights giving him a mouthful, and copping a fifty metre penalty for it lol.
SOSBenny
22 Jul 2007, 23:48
I agree, as much of a tool as he can be!!! I full respect the fact that he didn't chase him down last night, any Melbournian journo woulda just kept on sticking the mic in his face...regardless of what he said!
Barwick17
23 Jul 2007, 00:15
Great to see the king of gut running back!
Interested to hear your guys thoughts on how Ben is required to speak to the public when he is ready (which he obviously thinks isn't yet) yet he is deemed fit enough (mentally) to play AFL again. Seems a bit weird to me
patsmith
23 Jul 2007, 00:37
Why would he need to talk to the media? Surely a 38 possession comeback says everything that needs to be said.
Barwick17
23 Jul 2007, 00:46
Why would he need to talk to the media? Surely a 38 possession comeback says everything that needs to be said.
Im pretty sure the AFL stipulated that he needed to talk to the media about his problem when he was mentally ready
Boy from the West
23 Jul 2007, 00:52
I reckon he will talk after the season. That is his focus - playing and continuing his rehab.
Rehab is not complete just because he has now played a game - it will be ongoing.
He made the comeback of a true champion.
So what if he doesn't talk to the chooks - Peter Bell has had a self imposed personal media ban on all year (Probably needed the time to spend knifing their coach in the back).
Benny's playing footy and thats what he gets paid for and that's all that we want- because now we can win the flag.
patsmith
23 Jul 2007, 01:26
Im pretty sure the AFL stipulated that he needed to talk to the media about his problem when he was mentally ready
And that just shows the stupidity of the AFL throughout this whole ordeal. If Ben wants to talk, he will. If he doesn't feel comfortable talking to the media (who have made every attempt to crucify him) then he won't, and shouldn't be made to.
fullbull
23 Jul 2007, 01:40
After last night's performance, the last thing the club and Ben needs is for him to get caught up in a media carousel where he becomes distracted from what he should be focusing on, which is playing good footy.
Clearly whatever he is doing is working well, because what took place last night was simply astounding. I'm pretty sure no-one expected him to play like that in his first game back.
When he feels ready, he will deal with the media. To expect him to do that at the moment is unfair, and I'm sure Demetriou and co will be well aware of where Ben is at, and won't place unjust expectations on him until at least seasons end...
Bring on the doggies!!!
His actions spoke louder than any words!
Go Cuz!
P.s, Im pissed off that he pulled a come back game like that against us though!