View Full Version : Bay 114 - Review of Bay 114's performance V Freo
Legoman_Carl
22 Jul 2007, 18:58
We seemed to be a little low on numbers, but I thought we did really well.
Feels as if some of the songs are really starting to flow easily :thumbsu:
Some ideas;
* "Oh Adelaide" should be directly followed up with "Adelaide, CLAP, CLAP, CLAP" they are both fast paced with lots of clapping.
* "Come on You Crows" is best suited when things are quiet as its a bit slower.
& a question...
Are we there to sing for the *whole* game? Or do we only sing when we are winning?
I was a little dissapointed how quiet things got when we went 4 goals down in the last qtr.
My opinion is that we should be trying to support the team vocally, win, lose or draw.
Surely the time the team needs us the most are when they are down?
raikkonen
22 Jul 2007, 20:12
Need some new material we do i think.
NSWCROW
22 Jul 2007, 20:15
Heard ya's early...............
Southerntakeover
23 Jul 2007, 01:15
I was a little dissapointed how quiet things got when we went 4 goals down in the last qtr.
My opinion is that we should be trying to support the team vocally, win, lose or draw.
Surely the time the team needs us the most are when they are down?
We were pretty good with that really. When the game was still able to be won, were were trying to lift the boys. We werent singing 'always look on the bright side of life' when we were 4 goals down 10 seconds before the final siren, sure, but **** it, it was depressing.
topjars
23 Jul 2007, 07:39
I heard one long chant early - well done.
But who turned you and the rest of the crowd off after that?
The next biggest noise I heard were the engines starting in the carpark when most people left with 11 -12 minutes to go.
21knights
23 Jul 2007, 10:18
It does get harder once we are down by a fair bit. Will still did okay though. Once we are totally gone it is near impossible to bother.
Campbell's Chunky
23 Jul 2007, 10:23
You guys should do a song each week to the tune of the oppositions theme song.
Mr_Smooth
23 Jul 2007, 11:09
we tried the saints one, but we all kinda got lost when the oh how i want to be at st kilda bit.. :D
ICanDressMyself
23 Jul 2007, 11:38
The next biggest noise I heard were the engines starting in the carpark when most people left with 11 -12 minutes to go.
Sorry mate, maybe next time you can come down and start the chants when your side is losing by 4 goals with minutes to go.
Mr_Smooth
23 Jul 2007, 11:48
Sorry mate, maybe next time you can come down and start the chants when your side is losing by 4 goals with minutes to go.
in fairness, i think we were all a little shocked and shattered to be cheering at that stage
barring 10 minutes, we were loud and proud. i think we did pretty well considering the outs we had
Legoman_Carl
23 Jul 2007, 12:09
we tried the saints one, but we all kinda got lost when the oh how i want to be at st kilda bit.. :D
I want to be here at West Lakes :thumbsu:
Southerntakeover
23 Jul 2007, 12:10
Its easy to say we quietened down..
Thats always going to happen though, ive usually nearly lost my voice by 1/4 time ;)
Vic Crow
23 Jul 2007, 12:36
You guys should do a song each week to the tune of the oppositions theme song.
This has been suggested before and I don't like the idea. From a distance it will just sound like we're singing the opposition club song.
topjars
23 Jul 2007, 12:41
I'd love to;) but you'd get sick of my incessant chanting to sounds of silence.
Please dont take offence to my review; I know what 80% of fans at AAMI are like...they are mutes who need a rocket up 'em!
This has been suggested before and I don't like the idea. From a distance it will just sound like we're singing the opposition club song.
Not a fan of the Saints theme. I think it brings bad luck. I am making a formal request to remove this from our list.
I think Go you Crows and Adelaide clap clap clap get the best reaction from the crowd and can be flowed from one to the other nicely. Simple and very very effective. :thumbsu::thumbsu::D
In regards to our performance I beleive it was our best yet. When left of the bay would drop off the right hand side would step up. Well done to all that made it. Fantastic effort by all. :thumbsu:
Matty again brilliant even if the 'we hate you coz you wear purple' got rejected.
Southerntakeover
23 Jul 2007, 12:54
Matty again brilliant even if the 'we hate you coz you wear purple' got rejected.
Just got to learn timing... trying to start a chant when the crowds still roaring from a goal is a waste of time ;)
ICanDressMyself
23 Jul 2007, 12:58
Just on Matty ... great enthusiasm and whatnot but at times he's leading our chants... not too sure about everyone else but I'd prefer the leader of our chants to have a powerful, strong and deep voice. I also think that someone had better have a quiet word to him about his persistance with the "I'm actually your father" chant :D:D
Mr_Smooth
23 Jul 2007, 13:04
Just on Matty ... great enthusiasm and whatnot but at times he's leading our chants... not too sure about everyone else but I'd prefer the leader of our chants to have a powerful, strong and deep voice. I also think that someone had better have a quiet word to him about his persistance with the "I'm actually your father" chant :D:D
no doubting his enthusiasm, and when he's a couple of years older, he will be a gun
but the sound of that voice was really going right down my spine ;)
ams4crows
23 Jul 2007, 13:13
well I couldn't make it due to Sporting Comitments but I'm glad you guys stuck it out and If it helps I've lost my voice after the walabies Socceroos and the netball it's prety much gone
but the next home game is V Port now we need to be the loudest we've ever been cos it's going to be a very important match!!!
ICanDressMyself
23 Jul 2007, 13:14
but the next home game is V Port now we need to be the loudest we've ever been cos it's going to be a very important match!!!
Saturday night game as well so we should have a decent turn out
Mr_Smooth
23 Jul 2007, 13:15
are we getting tickets for that game?
NikkiNoo
23 Jul 2007, 13:28
are we getting tickets for that game?
I don't think we are getting tickets as they will be at a premium. I think Kitch or Pete may be able to answer this best but I can remember something about it previously.
writeoff
23 Jul 2007, 14:37
Just back to Matty. Brilliant enthusiasm and energy and will no doubt be a future leader of Bay 114. But having him stand behind me all game with his piercing voice hurt my eardrums, gave me a headache and drained me of energy. That was the quietest I have ever been in Bay 114. Basically I believe he should be a follower and not a leader of Bay 114. And I still can't figure out what "I'm actually your father" means from someone yet to reach puberty.
Dandy_GO
23 Jul 2007, 14:37
Aye tickets to the Port game are off the menu by all accounts, which means we've got two more official bay 114 games to make sure we make a real difference (given that it's much easier to organise the group when we've got tickets together and seats available for those who can't fit into the standing room) - we can't bank on the club facilitating this next year so the games against the doggies and the lions are super important. We need results this season. We make plenty of noise ourselves, but the problem (and overall goal) has always been getting the rest of the crowd to sing along. What the solution to that is I'm afraid I'm not sure. Perhaps more emphasis on using the simpler chants - making sure that we keep the chants going for as long as possible. Smooth's banner was a tops effort which got our photo into the paper and Nikki had a chat on radio about us, so we're now an identifiable group to some degree, so perhaps we should try to increase our media presence with the help of one of the advertisers writers - I see no reason why they wouldn't want to write a puff piece about us as it'd pretty well be mutually beneficial.
I've missed the last two games so I'd be interested to know how much of an effect on the rest of the crowd around us we've had, given that we've now firmly established ourselves as the weekly inhabitants of the bays standing room.
Dandy_GO
23 Jul 2007, 14:38
And I still can't figure out what "I'm actually your father" means from someone yet to reach puberty.
I doubt he knows either.
writeoff
23 Jul 2007, 14:46
Looking around the bay the chant of "Lets go Adelaide lets go" *clap clap* seemed to get the most support from others. I distinctly remember a father with 3 kids about 3-4 rows down from us joining in and clapping the hands of his youngest who was sitting on his lap. The others joining in also seemed to be fairly young as well. I think we still need to find other simple catchy chants to get the rest of the crowd involved.
Mrs_Smooth
23 Jul 2007, 14:53
Just back to Matty. Brilliant enthusiasm and energy and will no doubt be a future leader of Bay 114. But having him stand behind me all game with his piercing voice hurt my eardrums, gave me a headache and drained me of energy. That was the quietest I have ever been in Bay 114. Basically I believe he should be a follower and not a leader of Bay 114. And I still can't figure out what "I'm actually your father" means from someone yet to reach puberty.
I know what you mean most of the game he was behind me too, great he was trying but may need to tone it down just a notch (for the sake of peoples eardrums)
:)
ams4crows
23 Jul 2007, 15:04
well thoose of us that are going no matter what will we still be around the standing room behind Bay114 what's the go with this?
Vic Crow
23 Jul 2007, 15:35
I will be there and I will be standing at the back of Bay 114 in the likely event that we don't get tickets.
Mr_Smooth
23 Jul 2007, 15:44
we will try and get there, but can't guarentee that we can get tix :(
Legoman_Carl
23 Jul 2007, 16:13
Just got to learn timing... trying to start a chant when the crowds still roaring from a goal is a waste of time ;)Great point mate :thumbsu:
Nothing wrong with waiting 10-15 seconds before we get going, same when the opposition scores. All about timing.
Mr_Smooth
23 Jul 2007, 16:18
correct, we should be looking to make the most noise when the ball is about to be bounced IMHO, not 30 seconds before hand
RoosterLad
23 Jul 2007, 16:23
I agree. The leader needs to be a bloke who can actually shout loud, good on him for having passion but it's a bit embarrassing and ineffective having a 6 year old kid leading the cheersquad!
I didn't think it was embarrasing and I recon the load was shared around. I started one or 2, my mates started a couple. I recon a few had a go and this is the way it should be. This should be encouraged.:D
The only thing with Matt was the choice of chants (purple one etc). Having someone young start a couple is good too. Other young lads will go, 'gee I can do that'.
I really think we do away with other teams themes like the Saints one. Might be good occassionally but not every second chant. This is bringing bad luck plus older people, some females and kids just don't get into it and to everyone else it just the saints theme.
Yeah I agree with the timing issue. Fire kept going out before the bounce. All is good though and I think we are all starting to gel really well. Iron a few things out and we go to the next level. :thumbsu:
RoosterLad
23 Jul 2007, 17:34
I don't mind sharing the load around, it's just we need a strong voice to lead them.. I have no problem with you and your mates starting them off as you are lads who love a beer so you will be loud. Plus his voice does grate as others have mentioned, he should join in with the rest of us because in the future he could well end up being a CS leader but for now he should chill and learn the ropes! Starting new chants every 2 minutes isn't really the way to go either and makes it sound a bit disorganised.
raikkonen
23 Jul 2007, 18:21
"If you're 13th on the ladder sack your coach" :D :thumbsu:
We could be 13th after this week. :eek::p
I don't mind sharing the load around, it's just we need a strong voice to lead them.. I have no problem with you and your mates starting them off as you are lads who love a beer so you will be loud. Plus his voice does grate as others have mentioned, he should join in with the rest of us because in the future he could well end up being a CS leader but for now he should chill and learn the ropes! Starting new chants every 2 minutes isn't really the way to go either and makes it sound a bit disorganised.
I suppose I am used to my mother in laws voice yelling in the Northern. Maybe I have become immune to grating. :p
Agree with the 2 minutes thing. Yeah and I recon we have pumped him up over the last few games a bit too much. Got him too excited maybe. :cool:
Robfan100
23 Jul 2007, 19:20
I had told Matt to read this post as there were several comments about him. After reading them all, I wished I hadn't. Yes, he is young (although not 6!!), yes he is loud (sorry, isn't that the object of bay 114???), yes he is enthusiastic (ditto previous point), yes he is now crushed as he thought he was doing the right thing and had friends within the bay. It's good to know it's not only the players who cop a canning from the 'supporters' but the kids as well.
ICanDressMyself
23 Jul 2007, 19:32
I had told Matt to read this post as there were several comments about him. After reading them all, I wished I hadn't. Yes, he is young (although not 6!!),
Yes he is.
yes he is loud
Yes
(sorry, isn't that the object of bay 114???)
Direct me to the post where anyone was angry because he was too loud?
yes he is enthusiastic
No questioning that :thumbsu:
yes he is now crushed as he thought he was doing the right thing and had friends within the bay.
Come on mate, I don't think the comments were that harsh. He's a little legend and a lot of it is construcive criticism. Make sure he knows that he is very welcome in Bay 114.
It's good to know it's not only the players who cop a canning from the 'supporters' but the kids as well.
Yeah, cos we 18-30 age group don't cop it at all.
Legoman_Carl
23 Jul 2007, 19:38
I had told Matt to read this post as there were several comments about him. After reading them all, I wished I hadn't. Yes, he is young (although not 6!!), yes he is loud (sorry, isn't that the object of bay 114???), yes he is enthusiastic (ditto previous point), yes he is now crushed as he thought he was doing the right thing and had friends within the bay. It's good to know it's not only the players who cop a canning from the 'supporters' but the kids as well.I for one really loved to hear young Matt leading us.
Embarrasing? WTF, who cares what anyone else thinks of it. If people want to lead, then they can lead.
Like someone said, it sets a great example for encouraging others around us to join in.
Matt, you've got my vote (but lay off the "we hate you cause your ...." chants ;) )
RoosterLad
23 Jul 2007, 19:41
Having a young kid leading your cheers is embarrassing - stop trying this political correct crap on. It's supposed to be a cheer squad not a creche, and standing near him when he is screeching out cheer after cheer every 5 minutes gets a bit irritating.
I had told Matt to read this post as there were several comments about him. After reading them all, I wished I hadn't. Yes, he is young (although not 6!!), yes he is loud (sorry, isn't that the object of bay 114???), yes he is enthusiastic (ditto previous point), yes he is now crushed as he thought he was doing the right thing and had friends within the bay. It's good to know it's not only the players who cop a canning from the 'supporters' but the kids as well.
Just out of interests sake, I would like to know who he was with at half time as he had some very interesting questions to ask me afterwards relating to pipes. Names please????
Yes I have to agree regarding the object of the Bay. I also as has been previously mentioned by everyone, think Matty is a Gun. It was also mentioned that he would be a great leader of the Bay one day. Maybe the grating comments were harsh, I certainly didn't notice it the grating just enthused youth.
I think if you look at the positives that were written they should make him feel better. Maybe some of us had the feeling that he doesn't read the posts. I suppose I would hate to read something about me especially if I was referred to as a third party. The other question about pipes I can't answer as I was in the pig pen sinking a total of 3 pints.
Hey Matty you rock mate. Make sure you there next time mate.
RoosterLad
23 Jul 2007, 19:48
For the record I am not bagging him as kids like him are the future of the club, I would just prefer that he join in with us instead of trying to start chants.
Robfan100
23 Jul 2007, 19:49
Having a young kid leading your cheers is embarrassing - stop trying this political correct crap on. It's supposed to be a cheer squad not a creche, and standing near him when he is screeching out cheer after cheer every 5 minutes gets a bit irritating.
yes, much better to have peace and quiet and some older, more sensible people involved. Heaven forbid if we cheer too much. Knit one, purl one anyone???
RoosterLad
23 Jul 2007, 19:53
yes, much better to have peace and quiet and some older, more sensible people involved. Heaven forbid if we cheer too much. Knit one, purl one anyone???
Oh turn it up. I am hardly quiet myself so I don't want a quiet environment at footy park. It is just better if we have strong voices (like Stazza for instance) starting the chanting instead of hearing Matty screaching.. plenty of others have complained so don't you think there is some truth in it?
I know you are defending your kid as it is natural instinct to do so but don't have a sook at me and accuse me of being a ****ing knitter and wanting the crowd to be library-like because I said I don't like a young lad screaming in my ear all day in his high pitched voice and starting a chant every 5 minutes.
****ing jesus.
Robfan100
23 Jul 2007, 19:59
Oh turn it up. I am hardly quiet myself so I don't want a quiet environment at footy park. It is just better if we have strong voices (like Stazza for instance) starting the chanting instead of hearing Matty screaching.. plenty of others have complained so don't you think there is some truth in it?
I know you are defending your kid as it is natural instinct to do so but don't have a sook at me and accuse me of being a ****ing knitter and wanting the crowd to be library-like because I said I don't like a young lad screaming in my ear all day in his high pitched voice and starting a chant every 5 minutes.
****ing jesus.
Sorry, I thought it was my kid that was copping a bagging not you!!
Don't worry about him coming anywhere near bay 114 again. He's better off with the grannies.
{edit}
You've certainly found a scapegoat for this week. Pity he's only 13. Gutsy!!!
ICanDressMyself
23 Jul 2007, 20:00
Sorry, I thought it was my kid that was copping a bagging not you!!
Don't worry about him coming anywhere near bay 114 again. He's better off with the grannies.
You've certainly found a scapegoat for this week. Pity he's only 13. Gutsy!!!
Gee don't go overboard or anything :o
RoosterLad
23 Jul 2007, 20:02
I already mentioned that I wasn't bagging him. I just disagreed with him starting a stack of chants, I already said I wanted him to join in and one day he could be the leader of the Bay 114 CS if it is still around in a few more years.
No scapegoats here my friend, stop trying to build it up bigger than it is. You are as bad as maccasno1.
It is quite typical of a chick to go well over the top but we won't go there as Nikki will end up bitch slapping me because you are mates.
Robfan100
23 Jul 2007, 20:08
I already mentioned that I wasn't bagging him. I just disagreed with him starting a stack of chants, I already said I wanted him to join in and one day he could be the leader of the Bay 114 CS if it is still around in a few more years.
No scapegoats here my friend, stop trying to build it up bigger than it is. You are as bad as maccasno1.
It is quite typical of a chick to go well over the top but we won't go there as Nikki will end up bitch slapping me because you are mates.
No. 1 - if you disagreed with his chants, you had ample opportunity to speak to me about it on the day.
No. 2 - I am not your friend.
No. 3 - sexist comments always get dragged up when a valid argument fails (no. 1 rule of law - I'm assuming you're not in the profession as you'd know this).
No. 4 - keep to the point being argued - Rule no. 2 above.
ICanDressMyself
23 Jul 2007, 20:08
Well how about you sit him down and talk to your child? Explain to him that he's still welcome in Bay 114 but should let the stronger voices LEAD the chants. God, it's not the end of the world :eek:
Robfan100
23 Jul 2007, 20:14
Well how about you sit him down and talk to your child? Explain to him that he's still welcome in Bay 114 but should let the stronger voices LEAD the chants. God, it's not the end of the world :eek:
Have talked to him. With all the 'constructive criticism', he's received from this thread I'm sure he'd love to come back!
raikkonen
23 Jul 2007, 20:16
How did this get into a full blown argument. He was trying to have fun, and I dont mind who leads the chants. I feel it is just harder for Matt to start the chants because his voice isnt as strong and doesnt carry as far. However, good on him for trying. I dont have the voice to lead the chants, so it is good to know that there are (were???) others who are willing to.
The only time I saw him was in the Shed when he handed me the little yellow stress footy thingo's. I was down the other end to where all the noise was from (the 'welcome' end of the banner), so I have no idea. :confused:
RoosterLad
No. 1 - if you disagreed with his chants, you had ample opportunity to speak to me about it on the day.
No. 2 - I am not your friend.
No. 3 - sexist comments always get dragged up when a valid argument fails (no. 1 rule of law - I'm assuming you're not in the profession as you'd know this).
No. 4 - keep to the point being argued - Rule no. 2 above.
Technically no, I am not in law but I am close enough ;)
I'm not sure if talking to you about it on the day would have helped at all and I wasn't exactly in the mood to sit down and chat to you about some kid's chanting. Plus, the way you are acting on here I don't think it would have been much good at all!
It's a pity you can't accept my opinion - and a bit of constructive criticism - without that there is no hope of improvement. I also come from a different background (another reason why your knitting comment was ridiculous) so my idea of cheering may be a lot different to others and I am putting forth my view on things. Carry on whining though please, I haven't been involved in a petty argument on this board for quite a while.
ICanDressMyself
Have talked to him. With all the 'constructive criticism', he's received from this thread I'm sure he'd love to come back!
Well that's up to Matt. Has he read all the good things we've said about him? We'd love to have him there but if you want to stop him then we can't do much about it.
Robfan100
23 Jul 2007, 20:18
I don't get offended if anything is valid or has merit but the bagging he has copped on this thread today is over the top, narrow minded and totally unnecessary - from some people.
RoosterLad
23 Jul 2007, 20:20
I don't get offended if anything is valid or has merit but the bagging he has copped on this thread today is over the top, narrow minded and totally unnecessary - from some people.
It's not like he has been abused, called names, threatened etc. It's just quite a few people would prefer someone else leading the chants - by all means he can join in with them and have a laugh doing that. You have just put on your Drama Queen blouse and taken it too far, you are the one making it out to be more than it actually is yet you accuse us of going 'over the top'.
Robfan100
23 Jul 2007, 20:24
It's not like he has been abused, called names, threatened etc. It's just quite a few people would prefer someone else leading the chants - by all means he can join in with them and have a laugh doing that. You have just put on your Drama Queen blouse and taken it too far, you are the one making it out to be more than it actually is yet you accuse us of going 'over the top'.
I think you should go back over the thread and have a look at exactly what criticisms have been levelled at him. Then you can go back to reading your Luntz.
RoosterLad
23 Jul 2007, 20:27
Ok I actually took the time to have a quick squiz and I don't really see much at all? Are you planning on sending him to high school? You may well be in for a rude shock if you think this thread is over the top.
Blue Red and Gold
23 Jul 2007, 20:31
As a bit of an outsider with this threadm as I wasnt there on the weekend I can sit back and see both sides of the story.
Sure some of the comments could of been worded better and Im sure if they thought Matt would be reading it they probably would of. However I think there has been a bit of an over reaction.
There have been many points made about how is the best way to get bay114 happening, in regards to certain chants, the speed of the chants, timing of the chants etc etc. We are putting these suggestions across as we want to work out the best way to get bay 114 up and running.
Personally I dont think having a young kid is the way to go trying to engage the crowd, same as I dont think some of the overly aggressive yelling is the way to go. I think the people of bay 114 have been pretty good to little Matt the last few weeks, they have accepted him and made him a part of it, but some people just feel at the moment it needs to be toned down a bit so bay 114 has the best chance of surviving.
raikkonen
23 Jul 2007, 20:33
Ok I actually took the time to have a quick squiz and I don't really see much at all? Are you planning on sending him to high school? You may well be in for a rude shock if you think this thread is over the top.
I must say. having quickly looked again, nothing was really directed at Matt, people were just discussing the effect he has, and how he would be more suitably used. :) Nothing can be taken to heart surely.
Robfan100
23 Jul 2007, 20:34
He's already there Einstein.
Let's see - he's loud, voice is gratey, hurts eardrums, gives headaches, cheers every 5 minutes. I would've thought most of them were key attributes for being in a cheer squad. Most posters on this board get upset (myself included) if someone disagrees with them. All of the criticism (not the positive comments) towards Matt today have been personal. They had nothing to do with him being naughty, disruptive, swearing, causing trouble etc. etc. They were about his personal attributes (i.e. tone of voice) that he has no control over.
How would anyone here like it if anyone was to criticise their personal attributes? There are certain players who you can't criticise yet a 13 year old is open slather?
Yes, I have/will defend him. Yes, it is a natural reaction. Yes, a vast majority of the criticism directed to him is unwarranted and misdirected by people who are still angry over the result of the game.
Take your frustrations out on the ones who could have impacted upon the result, not the people who were wanting the same outcome as yourself!
Dandy_GO
23 Jul 2007, 20:36
I think we just miss Kitch's leadership.
Matt, you're okay little buddy :thumbsu:
ICanDressMyself
23 Jul 2007, 20:38
a vast majority of the criticism directed to him is unwarranted and misdirected by people who are still angry over the result of the game.
Take your frustrations out on the ones who could have impacted upon the result, not the people who were wanting the same outcome as yourself!
Could not disagree more.
Has absolutely nothing to do with the result of the game and are just discussing what's best for Bay 114.
Robfan100
23 Jul 2007, 20:41
As a bit of an outsider with this threadm as I wasnt there on the weekend I can sit back and see both sides of the story.
Sure some of the comments could of been worded better and Im sure if they thought Matt would be reading it they probably would of. However I think there has been a bit of an over reaction.
There have been many points made about how is the best way to get bay114 happening, in regards to certain chants, the speed of the chants, timing of the chants etc etc. We are putting these suggestions across as we want to work out the best way to get bay 114 up and running.
Personally I dont think having a young kid is the way to go trying to engage the crowd, same as I dont think some of the overly aggressive yelling is the way to go. I think the people of bay 114 have been pretty good to little Matt the last few weeks, they have accepted him and made him a part of it, but some people just feel at the moment it needs to be toned down a bit so bay 114 has the best chance of surviving.
He wasn't loud at all on the weekend compared to previous weeks. There was very little to cheer about. He did try to get some chants going himself which was more often not successful than successful. I put that down to trying to fire everyone up as there was very little cheering from any quarter. He does go over the top at times and when I'm aware of it, I tell him off.
For what it's worth, the current supporter group is too old and the idea of having a younger, louder group is ideal. However, not when they get rubbished for it. The whole idea is to encourage noise/support throughout the bay and to attract younger (not necessarily kids but they shouldn't be discouraged) from joining in. I had another two children there on Saturday who loved it and it can be a great environment for them but don't shoot them down for being kids and enthusiastic. It would also help if there was a definitive leader of the group although I realise this has been difficult with Kitch away the past two weeks.
RoosterLad
23 Jul 2007, 20:43
****ing hell you talk absolute shit. Now you are saying we are only putting across our opinions because we are angry about losing the game? That is a weak cop out sister. Stop turning on the waterworks, it seems everybody else can see that the criticism is constructive and not a personal attack on Matt but you still seem to want to carry on your pathetic assault on us. (Yes I too can act all womanly and over react, hence my 'pathetic assault' comment).
Dandy Go, Kitch just came on MSN so maybe he will be here shortly.
I must say. having quickly looked again, nothing was really directed at Matt, people were just discussing the effect he has, and how he would be more suitably used. :) Nothing can be taken to heart surely.
I disagree
Some kid come and joins this club sponsored priviledge we have and next minute we mildly attack (constuctive as it may be) a 13 year old who is giving his all for the club. Now this is no big deal to us.
Please try and see this in the eyes of Matt for just a minute coz this is why it has started. This is the reason for this ridiculas out of control thread.
I know if I was 13 and had read all previous posts the previous week I would go in this week with the attitude that everyone loves me and simply try even harder. Then a couple of days later you read some posts and get shot down. I would be heart broken coz I looked up to these dudes. Now coz Matt hasn't defended himself he simply breaks down. So the parents take to the fight.
This is why this thing has gotten way out of hand and for Matt this has been harsh for sure so I would only ask for people to accept that.
However at the same time I do not appreciate threats regarding BAY 114 and I do think it is a slight over reaction. This is unfair to those that know nothing about this pipe thing and for those that have had nothing to say here.
Now remember everyone this all started becasue Matt got upset over some posts that were written and that's all :thumbsu: so based on this please let's all make up.
I want Matt in Bay 114. Come back Matt.
Now everyone kiss and make up. :o
Robfan100
23 Jul 2007, 20:44
Could not disagree more.
Has absolutely nothing to do with the result of the game and are just discussing what's best for Bay 114.
That is exactly what I am saying. People are angry over the game, had we won by 10 goals no-one would've said anything at all about anyone's yelling or cheering. Everyone is annoyed at the moment and edgy. What is best for bay 114 is to be noisy and supportive - that can't happen while we're playing ordinary football.
I thought I'd cruised into a womens hair salon for a minute there.
No-one was bagging your kid, they were just suggesting that someone with a louder voice that can project the sound further, should be starting the chants. Not sure why you've got your knickers in a knot over this.
Robfan100
23 Jul 2007, 20:52
I disagree
Some kid come and joins this club sponsored priviledge we have and next minute we mildly attack (constuctive as it may be) a 13 year old who is giving his all for the club. Now this is no big deal to us.
Please try and see this in the eyes of Matt for just a minute coz this is why it has started. This is the reason for this ridiculas out of control thread.
I know if I was 13 and had read all previous posts the previous week I would go in this week with the attitude that everyone loves me and simply try even harder. Then a couple of days later you read some posts and get shot down. I would be heart broken coz I looked up to these dudes. Now coz Matt hasn't defended himself he simply breaks down. So the parents take to the fight.
This is why this thing has gotten way out of hand and for Matt this has been harsh for sure so I would only ask for people to accept that.
However at the same time I do not appreciate threats regarding BAY 114 and I do think it is a slight over reaction. This is unfair to those that know nothing about this pipe thing and for those that have had nothing to say here.
Now remember everyone this all started becasue Matt got upset over some posts that were written and that's all :thumbsu: so based on this please let's all make up.
Now everyone kiss and make up. :o
Agree with you on all points. Matt loves being in bay 114 and spends the week walking around the house chanting.
He is only 13 and a typical 13 year old at that. Do I want him smothered - no. Do I want him respected - yes and he has been at all times whilst in the bay. That is appreciated.
He is very upset by the posts he read - which fortunately I stopped him reading before I started posting. He doesn't want to come back.
raikkonen
23 Jul 2007, 20:53
No one didnt want him there, just some opinions on how he could be used more effectively were presented. Its like a coach on match day, if someone could be of better use in another possie, then make the move. Thats the way I see the issue.
My personal opinion. I dont care who leads the chants - if Matt wanst to try let him try, if RL wants to do it, let him. I know I dont have the voice to lead the mob though, which is why I am keen for others to do it,
I thought I'd cruised into a womens hair salon for a minute there.
No-one was bagging your kid, they were just suggesting that someone with a louder voice that can project the sound further, should be starting the chants. Not sure why you've got your knickers in a knot over this.
This is the point. Matty read the post so he is hurt and so would you be if you were 13 and read some of that stuff. When you're that young their is no such thing as constuctive critism.
Everything on this thread is an over reaction to Matty broken heart. If everyone can stop for a minute and see this then we would all get over it very quicky.
ICanDressMyself
23 Jul 2007, 20:57
That is exactly what I am saying. People are angry over the game, had we won by 10 goals no-one would've said anything at all about anyone's yelling or cheering. Everyone is annoyed at the moment and edgy. What is best for bay 114 is to be noisy and supportive - that can't happen while we're playing ordinary football.
For the last time none of the comments were because of the loss :eek: I was pissed off after the game for about 30 minutes then did a few shots of black sambuca, had a spew, partied all night and compltely forgot about the day. I'm not one to dwell on crap I can't change so you couldn't be more wrong girlfriend - looking forward to the Essendon match :thumbsu:
No one didnt want him there, just some opinions on how he could be used more effectively were presented. Its like a coach on match day, if someone could be of better use in another possie, then make the move. Thats the way I see the issue.
My personal opinion. I dont care who leads the chants - if Matt wanst to try let him try, if RL wants to do it, let him. I know I dont have the voice to lead the mob though, which is why I am keen for others to do it,
The only issue here is how we have made Matt feel. That's all. It's never been about what anyone said. It's about Matt's feeling. Fix that and problem solved. :thumbsu:
This is the point. Matty read the post so he is hurt and so would you be if you were 13 and read some of that stuff. When you're that young their is no such thing as constuctive critism.
He's 13, not 7. Understanding constructive criticism shouldn't be a problem.
Dandy_GO
23 Jul 2007, 21:02
Agree with you on all points. Matt loves being in bay 114 and spends the week walking around the house chanting.
He is only 13 and a typical 13 year old at that. Do I want him smothered - no. Do I want him respected - yes and he has been at all times whilst in the bay. That is appreciated.
He is very upset by the posts he read - which fortunately I stopped him reading before I started posting. He doesn't want to come back.
I must say I don't think it was a particularly grand idea to let him read them in the first place, just as I don't think it was particularly smart to publicly post even vaguely negatively inclined comments towards the little tucker. For what it's worth, I agree with everything AC9 said as well. Matt's more than welcome in Bay 114 as far as I'm concerned and I enjoy the presence of he and his friends. Bay 114 is all about good times.
He's 13, not 7. Understanding constructive criticism shouldn't be a problem.
Maybe for some 13 year olds but obviously not Matty.
Matty's parents have arked up becasue Matty got upset and I can see how he would have got upset.
So the only way we fix this is speak to Matty. Can we get Matty a log in?
ICanDressMyself
23 Jul 2007, 21:03
Oh jesus did cry.
We have a ton of respect for matty and the point of Bay 114 IS to be committed and LOUD. But for Bay 114 to work effectively, we have to work out what would make it work best - and a strong, powerful voice to lead chants would get the majority of the votes over a weaker, higher voice. Nothing against Matt.
Blue Red and Gold
23 Jul 2007, 21:04
Oh jesus did cry.
We have a ton of respect for matty and the point of Bay 114 IS to be committed and LOUD. But for Bay 114 to work effectively, we have to work out what would make it work best - and a strong, powerful voice to lead chants would get the majority of the votes over a weaker, higher voice. Nothing against Matt.
That is it in a nutshell
That is the only point trying to be made
RoosterLad
23 Jul 2007, 21:05
ICDM just won the thread.
That is it in a nutshell
That is the only point trying to be made
Well said.
So to some it up in a perfect nutshell from both sides of the argument.
1)we at Bay 114 have to work out what would make it work best - and a strong, powerful voice to lead chants would get the majority of the votes over a weaker, higher voice. Nothing against Matt
2)Matty read some comments which hurt his feelings. That's understandable. Can we explain this to him please?
raikkonen
23 Jul 2007, 21:10
That would be no point because we have been told he isnt coming back? :confused:
Anyway, I am off to get some shut eye before work @ 3. Hopefully next time Im back online, all us blokes have stopped acting like a bunch of women. How this is now a full blown debate is simply ridiculous. Anyone's welcome to join in at Bay 114 is my view, I am there to watch the footy and have a good time, not to worry about anything else. Footy is my downtime after a hard week at work, as it is for many others; where I have no other concern other tahn the team I am supporting - the reason we all go - to support. :)
Lataz
Dandy_GO
23 Jul 2007, 21:12
Oh jesus did cry.
This'll be a non-issue once Kitch returns. It's true that we need a person we collectively recognise as the leader starting the right chants at the right time to maximise the effectiveness of our group (because we do have a goal to achieve), but by the same token we have no problem with Matt or anyone else starting their own chants. Observing that most of the work is being left to a 13 year old is more of a criticism of ourselves than it is of him. Good on the lad for picking up the slack :thumbsu: In the end, Bay 114 is all about having fun and including as many people as possible in this. I can, however, understand why Matt's feelings were hurt here and some of the earlier posts regarding his input were perhaps not worded as tactfully as they could have been with his youth in mind.
Robfan100
23 Jul 2007, 21:18
Maybe for some 13 year olds but obviously not Matty.
Matty's parents have arked up becasue Matty got upset and I can see how he would have got upset.
So the only way we fix this is speak to Matty. Can we get Matty a log in?
Spot on.
Matt's in bed. He told me he was only trying to do the right thing and help cheer.
I think given the current tone of the post, it wouldn't be a good idea to get him to log in.
I'll have a chat to him in the morning.
NikkiNoo
23 Jul 2007, 21:25
ok just logged on to check what had been written as I read it earlier in the day and it was only 3 pages and now..... :eek:
Ok my thoughts on this - RL and ICDM I can see what point you are trying to make but you have been going about it the wrong way.
An adult can understand constructive critiscim a lot easier, especially in an internet forum, than a 13 year old boy would.
I can understand how upset Matt would be.
You all know that this site is visited and read by 13 year olds (hello bay 13 for proof of that :p). We have a 'pg' rating on BF. Hence the swear filter and other 'rules'.
The way that terms like sister and girlfriend were used by you two..... A little bit too much aggro going around at the moment. That was just disrespectful.
Yes Robfan is a friend of mine and that is how she and her family found out about BF and she is someone that used to be involved in a cheersquad for her sanfl side so she knows all about it. Any parent would be protective of their child, but would also allow them a little freedom in an environment where they seemed to be safe and liked.
She has been watching her kids fairly closely for the last couple of times to see how they were treated / reacted to and this was the first time he was allowed to go with some of you guys at half time with out us with him. If you were a 13 year old boy amongst a group of older guys would you want your mother with you?
To the others, thanks for what you wrote but I think Matt will not come back to Bay 114 now. :(
Mr_Smooth
23 Jul 2007, 21:26
WTF happened here???? :eek:
Super Goalie
23 Jul 2007, 21:35
The most interesting thread on Bay 114 yet?
Mr_Smooth
23 Jul 2007, 21:37
ok, just read the threads
i think everyone needs to take a step back before we all kill eachother next time we get together
i'm a little bit disapointed that robfan100 has turned this into a bit of an issue, we were only trying to give him a bit of constructive criticism, which we all though was harmless. we all think this kid has a shitload of potential, we were just saying that he should perhaps follow at this stage rather than lead the chanting. leave it upto the guys with the bigger deeper voices that echo a bit better. matt reminds me a lot of myself when i was his age, very easily excitable (not a bad thing!)
matt, if you read this, please don't stop coming. we want you there, but you don't need to start chants up all the time. leave it upto us and by all means join in :thumbsu:
phew, ok, lets all kiss and make up!
(and please RL, don't let this deter you from coming over)
Blue Red and Gold
23 Jul 2007, 21:39
The most interesting thread on Bay 114 yet?
by a country mile
Southerntakeover
23 Jul 2007, 21:40
This has gone on way too far for what it is. Ill make a few points, as someone who's put alot of time and effort into this thing, and then hopefully we can stop fighting amongst ourselves. Thats foolishness.
1) I want Matt at bay 114, i always have. I hope he doesnt stop turning up, as that will be a shame for the whole lot of us.
2) I think we in bay 114 have been very good towards Matt when hes been around us. I know a few of us have made the effort to make sure hes been included. I however dont want the responsibility for what he sees at the football. I dont particularly like the idea of what he could be exposed to either, but unfortunately, thats not something that i can control. If it was still inside the gate however, it had nothing to do with us, we were outside.
3) Matts probably being made the scapegoat for what is a general problem in the bay 114, in that we havent properly outlined how we're going to get chants started. Alot of the time we've had the informal chant leader in Kitch, and i recognize Dandy feels it would be fixed with him there (although, you werent there on Sat, so fair enough to say you dont know the whole situation.), but Staz has been playing a similar role. I think we probably need a figure head 'chant starter' for some of the more complicated chants. Nothing against Matt, but a voice like Staz's will carry far further on 'Adelaide is wonderful' etc, and Matt was overdoing some of the chants a bit on Saturday. It was a bit over the top of some of us to say that his voice hurts, i think that was just a bit of a joke, and his being loud isnt the problem. We just get maximum effectiveness if we're all pulling in the same direction. Thats not his fault, or anyones, we can just organise it better next time.
Legoman_Carl
23 Jul 2007, 22:58
One point I would like to make is that Matt taking the lead isn't stopping anyone else from leading.
Why have a go at someone else if you aren't willing yourself?
Southerntakeover
23 Jul 2007, 23:10
One point I would like to make is that Matt taking the lead isn't stopping anyone else from leading.
Why have a go at someone else if you aren't willing yourself?
A very valid point.
Im not sure that was the problem though. More a case of too many chiefs, not enough indians at some point.
raboyle
23 Jul 2007, 23:18
Geez... I don't come to one game and look what happens!!!
Vic Crow
23 Jul 2007, 23:27
I haven't been to a game with Matt coz I was only over for the Richmond game, but from the sounds of things hopefully I do get to go to a game with him in a fortnight when I come over.
Speaking in generalities, I know what it's like to be a 13 year old trying to do too much with an undeveloped voice. I've always had an interest in public speaking and have had the opportunity since I was 13 years old (funnily enough) to do some announcing at sporting events as my Dad owns a sports stadium. At that age I was no good at it because my voice hadn't developed yet. It was high pitched and did not fit the role at all.
I took a year or two off and by then my voice was a bit more developed and from then I have done a lot of public speaking - including awards nights for sporting associations, national tournaments and these days I even call ice hockey games on radio (www.doublex.com.au ;)).
When I was 13 I was flatly ridiculed for even trying. However, I could also understand that the criticisms (believe me, what's been said is VERY tame compared to what I got) were valid and the only reason I took some time off was that I knew I just had to be patient and let personal development take it's course.
The whole point of this long winded and uninteresting story (apart from plugging my radio gig) was that there needs to be a bit of middle ground here. It sounds to me as though Matt is wanted. Even the most vocal poster criticising Matt (RL) never said he doesn't want Matt in Bay 114. He just needs to understand that his young voice will mature a lot over the next couple of years and in that time maybe just needs to play a role, so to speak. By the sounds of things he already has the confidence and charisma to be a fantastic leader in a few years.
Surely if he can't understand all of this then at the very least you should. At no stage have you conceded that perhaps Matt shouldn't be LEADING chants given that from all accounts he hasn't got a fully matured voice. What do you think about the actual issue being discussed? Because it seems everything you've been arguing has been the nature of the discussion rather than the issue at hand.
Geez... I don't come to one game and look what happens!!!
Tell me about it, can we just delete this thread.
Vic Crow
24 Jul 2007, 00:36
But my post took so long and was awesome.
Campbell's Chunky
24 Jul 2007, 10:25
For the record I am not bagging him as kids like him are the future of the club, I would just prefer that he join in with us instead of trying to start chants.
Maybe the fact that he is the one starting the chants says something about bay 114's performance. ;)
I don't think the problem was because anybody was missing or away. The issue was that Matty's feelings got hurt and it got turned into a big drama. No one here could have predicted or stoped Matty reading a thread and taking it the wrong way. I think we all handled it well in the end. :thumbsu:
Don't delete the thread as some good points came out of this and that would be a cop out. Besides I played a good part in resolving the conflict. :o
And for those that have been away I personally thought the BAY had one of it's best outings yet considering the loss and missing personel. We got ourselves in the Media too via the banner. Well done to all those that made it and Matty for giving so much.
Southerntakeover
24 Jul 2007, 14:18
Maybe the fact that he is the one starting the chants says something about bay 114's performance. ;)
Maybe you should rock up next time and see for yourself ;)
Blue Red and Gold
24 Jul 2007, 15:51
I
Besides I played a good part in resolving the conflict.
Was that your trumpet I hear?